Back to Base page
Base free download for Mac

Base Reviews

2.4.12
26 March 2017

Create, design, edit, and browse SQLite 3 database files.

Morgan4
23 February 2009

Most helpful

I haven't needed to register yet because my needs haven't grown that far. But I did use the trial for a some quick changes to a REALbasic .rsd database, and it worked great. This would be a worth addition to a REALbasic developer's toolbox. It solves the chicken-end-egg problem, that your REALbasic DB app can't run until it has a database to load, yet it can't create a database until you run it! The solution is to code blind (no thanks) or enter some starter data externally--which is exactly what I did with Base. It's a simple app that fills a need. (I certainly don't see the justice in those who give it a low rating for the trial policy--that's not an honest rating of the actual product. And in my case, the trial was plenty.)
Like (3)
Version 1.2

Read 19 Base User Reviews

Rate this app:

Itistoday
18 October 2013
My go to software for sqlite3. Fast, intuitive, well designed and stable. Priced a bit high IMO. Worthy of a MacUpdate pick (red highlight) IMO.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.7
Jimw
24 March 2012
Not really. There are no ulterior motives. as the previous comment might suggest. I am just trying to communicate two things: - That users should not confuse this with another product of the same name. - To inform the developer by naming the product the same as another product that is under the umbrella of a megacorporation that is not known for altruistic acts, the developer could be risking a legal action. What do I get from this -- nothing. I am just trying to be helpful, reduce possible confusion from prospective customers, and help the developer avoid a potential lawsuit.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
28 September 2012
Please reply at the appropriate place and do not open new threads to post a reply to an earlier discussion. No one will know what you're talking about. Some might even think you are a person with a serious attention deficit.
Like (8)
Steve-Cholerton
06 February 2012
I really like this app. It' simple and functional. I occasionally have to switch to sqlite manager for something but that is rare. Great job dev :-)
Like
Version 2.2.1
goosesensor
07 April 2011
Great app. 'Had been using MesaSQLite as a simple GUI for my occasional SQLite work. It worked, and was free, but was awkward and glitchy and wasn't compatible with newer SQLite formats. This app is nothing too crazy for fancy, but it's clean and intuitive and nice. It does just what I need and does it well. Good purchase.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Macgruder
04 March 2011
Oops. Version 2 seems to have lost the ability to add a column to a table. Where there were 3 buttons to Add Index, Remove Index, and Add Column now the Add Column one is missing. I can only imagine this is a temporary oversight as it seems good software. If the ability is still there then there's a interface issue as it must be well hidden somewhere.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Macgruder
Macgruder
04 March 2011
I finally tracked down that there is a 'alter...' dropdown in the area to the left (the area visually for the database as a whole rather than the individual table), but selecting it brings up the same dialogue box as clicking the + symbol to its left so no luck there. I wonder what happened to the add column icon. Weird. Sure it'll be fixed soon.
Like
Macgruder
Macgruder
04 March 2011
Ha, Seems the Cog > Alter... does work after all. Seems that there's a small bug that manifests itself with certain tables, and that previously didn't work for me. That said, I'm not sure why the developer hid the "Add Column" away from where it was before.
Like
Menial
Menial
05 March 2011
Since the table creation/editing code & UI have had an overhaul for Base 2.0, I thought it best to remove the add column button in favour of a more consolidated UI. Sorry the change threw you off track a bit. - Ben
Like (1)
Jimw
19 February 2011
This product should not be confused with the Base database in OpenOffice.org and LibreOffice, both free packages that have most of the same features found in MicroSoft Office. Base is similar to Microsoft Access in OpenOffice and may be a copyrighted name by OpenOffice and/or Oracle. Calling this product "Base" in my opinion is a very bad choice of names since Base in Open Office is licensed under a GPL and may not be sold - only given away (nominal fees may be charged for distribution and support may be fee based). I would strongly suggest the developer remove this product from sale until the copyright issues regarding the name is determined or change the name immediately as Oracle does have a high powered legal staff that is not shy about lawsuits and collecting big bucks when an opportunity presents itself.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
01 April 2011
who cares
Like (4)
Pripyat
Pripyat
24 March 2012
You sure like to sound important, do you?
Like (1)
Peternsteinmetz
19 February 2011
This is NOT shareware. It is a demo, runs for limited time and has limited functionality. Shareware is where the user decides if and how much to pay for the product. It would be nice if MacUpdate actually insisted on people using the proper categorization.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Menial
Menial
19 February 2011
Base is shareware, although I personally dislike the term. Most people I've spoken to typically define shareware as an app that runs without payment, but is limited in some fashion. This limit could be in terms of features, run time, or number of launches. Base takes a middle ground, in that it can be launched an unlimited number of times, but quits with a notice after 15 minutes. It also limits the results returned from a custom query. I took this approach so that casual users could use the app with little hindrance, but professional/heavy users would need to register. Lastly, MacUpdate lets you categorise software as one of the following: Free, Demo, Shareware, Updater or Commercial. I think Shareware fits the bill better than any of the others. Hope this clarifies matters. - Ben
Like (1)
Xplicit
Xplicit
01 March 2011
The term shareware means only, that you can share the software, that is pass it on to other users. No one ever said anything about "free".
Like (1)
Strider72
Strider72
10 July 2015
No, what you describe is "Donationware". Shareware you have to pay for. The name hearkens back the the pre-Internet days before you could just download everything; as Shareware was intended to be, in part, distributed by users who shared the installers with each other on disks. (As opposed to a lot of corporate product at the time that would copy-protect the disks to explicitly prevent sharing.) The term is a bit meaningless these days, actually. They should probably just call it demo-ware; it's a demo until you pay for it.
Like
Detlevski
16 August 2010
Nice app, does what is needs to do.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Hsoft
02 August 2010
Does what I need, simple interface, cheap. It's a winner!
Like
Version 1.4
Xplicit
26 April 2010
Fast, reliable, good interface, good features and a reasonable price. Excellent. What else is there to say?
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Nascitur
08 March 2010
Fast, easy and beautiful Mac-like UI. Love it.
Like
Version 1.4
Taoeffect
07 March 2010
A wonderful niche product with a beautiful UI. In the month or so that I've been reviewing this it has performed nicely. I'm a bit surprised by some of the low reviews, many of them seem unfounded. Personally, I haven't experienced any problems that would justify a low rating. One thing that I would like though, is for NULL to be highlighted in a different color so that when I make changes or look over results I can be certain that it really is NULL and not the string "NULL".
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Keynesis
01 March 2010
Useless. Can't modify tables after they are created. Looks like someone made this over the weekend.
Like
Version 1.3.3
2 answer(s)
info-802
info-802
03 March 2010
Keynesis, Base does have the ability to alter tables after creation. If you click the little cog at the bottom of the tables list then it pops up a list of actions available. As to the "Looks like someone made this over the weekend", are you referring to visual appearance? I admit the visual design is a bit austere. Anyway, if you get in touch with me (info at menial dot co dot uk) I'd be happy to discuss any specific problems you have with the app. - Ben
Like (5)
Version 1.3.3
Xplicit
Xplicit
18 July 2010
People who are too stupid to use software shouldn't be allowed to write comments on a software website.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Serkol
21 February 2010
I bought and used Base for a couple of months. Recently I have decided to upgrade my ancient license of a competing app, and I switched back to it. The new version of the competing app turned out to be much better then version 1.3.4 of Base. Base version 1.3.4 has very limited set of features (almost no features, compared to the competition) and too many problems that took too much of my time to work around (import-export, clipboard, unicode, browsing large result sets, ...). I've emailed the developer a few times, back in December 2009. He said that he was going to release a new version in the beginning of 2010... I still don't see the new version, and I'm not waiting for it anymore...
Like
Version 1.3.3
3 answer(s)
info-802
info-802
24 February 2010
Serge, I'm sorry you're not too happy with Base. There is a new version coming shortly, it's currently being tested and addresses your problems of improved import/export features and fixes problems with importing/exporting unicode files (which is what you are referring to by 'unicode' problems I assume). I'd love to know which app you've switched to, if you're willing to share than information. - Ben
Like
Version 1.3.3
Serkol
Serkol
24 February 2010
In response to MENIAL - Unicode In addition to Unicode file, there's one more problem. I wanted to enter SQL REPLACE statements to replace some English strings with Japanese, but I could not enter Japanese letters, even through clipboard (I press Cmd-V, but nothing appears in the SQL pane. English letters work, Japanese - don't). - I switched to SQLiteManager v3.1.1.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Serkol
Serkol
11 March 2010
I checked out briefly the new version (1.4): + Vacuum button + I can specify the number of rows in displayed result sets - I still cannot enter Japanese letters into the SQL panel. It looks like Japanese letters screw up the syntax highlighting, and as the result they are not displayed at all. Maybe there needs to be an option to turn off the syntax highlighting, if it solves the problem.
Like
Version 1.4
Vera-Tkachenko
16 January 2010
I need to work with SQLite databases, especially after starting iPhone development. Command line sqlite takes much more time to perform some basic db browsing/editing etc. I've discovered lots of SQLite editors, and only Base has native Mac UI (not all this poor looking Java app). Maybe it has less features than other "monster" but if you need to do basic editing Base is a perfect choice.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
barefeettom
26 July 2009
Base is a neat reliable SQLite GUI app. It's good to see tat the latest version has fixed a few problems, such as opening database files on AppleShare volumes and altering (add column or rename) of tables containing a space in the name. The syntax coloring is good (including known functions) but could be improved. The biggest drawback for me is that Base, like many other similar apps, doesn't facilitate editing of data in views. I'd also like to see: 1. The ability to drag entities into the SQL editor, since the entity browser is conveniently always visible. 2. A quick filter and/or search refinement for the entity list and the data viewer. 3. NULL showing as a blank cell but somehow distinct from text (eg a color or something to show it's different to an empty string). 4. Show triggers and indexes with the table/view that owns them. I've published a detailed comparison of Base and other SQLite GUI apps here: http://www.tandb.com.au/sqlite/compare/?mu
Like
Version 1.3.2
Morgan4
23 February 2009
I haven't needed to register yet because my needs haven't grown that far. But I did use the trial for a some quick changes to a REALbasic .rsd database, and it worked great. This would be a worth addition to a REALbasic developer's toolbox. It solves the chicken-end-egg problem, that your REALbasic DB app can't run until it has a database to load, yet it can't create a database until you run it! The solution is to code blind (no thanks) or enter some starter data externally--which is exactly what I did with Base. It's a simple app that fills a need. (I certainly don't see the justice in those who give it a low rating for the trial policy--that's not an honest rating of the actual product. And in my case, the trial was plenty.)
Like (3)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Morgan4
Morgan4
23 February 2009
Just to add: a 10-day trial as requested below would be TERRIBLE for me. I work on my REALbasic project on and off over many weeks, and would barely have had the chance to even touch Base in 10 days. But with a 15-minute limit per session, the trial remains useful after weeks and months have passed. Personal preference for one trial type over another is no reason for a 1-star rating, though. If Base DID use a 10-day trial, which I would hate, I still wouldn't let that affect my rating of the actual product.
Like
Version 1.2
Irvtheswirv
16 January 2009
This looks exactly like something I would like to buy but the horrendously knobbled trial made me cancel and delete the app without even bothering. Shame, you've missed out on a sale. One which might have led to quite a few others too. Change it to a time limited (10 days) or something I might give it a go.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Hobojoe
Hobojoe
25 January 2009
You haven't used the application, yet you feel justified in giving it a one-star review? You could have left a comment, as I am doing, or communicated with the developer, who could have remedied the situation. But your sense of outrage and indignation at such a small offense allowed you to basically deprive the developer of potential income by drastically lowering the perceived quality of his product. What an upstanding person you are! (I have no affiliation with the developer whatsoever. This was an app I was interested in, and wanted to read other users' experience with it.)
Like (6)
Version 1.2
Bridgeyman
17 November 2008
I have been searching for a good, inexpensive sqlite manager for a while now. There are a few freeware options out there, but the ones I have tried have been extremely slow and difficult with limited features. Base on the other hand has a very nice interface and is fun to use. The developer is also very prompt. I had an issue with licensing and sent out a support email. Within half an hour the developer replied and an update was posted. Now that is service!
Like (2)
Version 1.0