Back to Back-In-Time page
Back-In-Time free download for Mac

Back-In-Time Reviews

5.0.9
03 October 2019

Easy access to all data backed up by Time Machine.

Johan-Elzenga
10 November 2008

Most helpful

The author suggests that Time Machine can only restore to the original location. That is false. Time Machine can restore to any location, including another disk. Select a file in your backup, and choose 'Restore to... from the Action menu.
Like (13)
Version 1.0b81106

Read 49 Back-In-Time User Reviews

Rate this app:

robbiees
05 March 2019
I am backing up my Time Machine backups to an external disk. This is mounted OK and has a Backups.backupdb folder that contains all my backups. Back-in-Time shows the disk as a Time Machine Volume yet it can't find the TM data. Why is this?
Like
Version 5.0.5
2 answer(s)
Tri-Edre
Tri-Edre
07 March 2019
Hello,
The problem is due to Mojave and its access limitations, created by new constraints appeared in macOS 10.14 Mojave. You must explicitly grant access to your disk. Please, read this note:
https://www.tri-edre.com/english/allowaccess.html
Like (2)
robbiees
robbiees
07 March 2019
Thanks, I did post on the Trip-Edre website when I discovered that was where i really should have posted, and I did receive the answer given below. I've since given Back-In-Time the necessary permissions and it's working fine now.
Like (1)
theodorfuchs
12 May 2018
I am very disappointed. The app needs a lot of improvement. Up to now the app is almost useless.
Like
Version 5.0.0
Jimw
04 May 2018
Version 5.Better than the search options that Apple provides for Time Machine, but not great. Mail messages is an especially weak area since you can't search from within the App. Depending on the size and speed of your backup drive, searches can take quite a long time. Occasional crashes occur as well. Interface is not very intuitive.
Like
Version 5.0.0
gkeller-1
19 February 2018
Cool, app worth it
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
ben-marko
13 December 2017
Worked like a charm for me. The GUI is very descriptive and easy to navigate. I installed a clean High Sierra image and realized afterward that I forgot to manually back up my Documents folder. Back in Time was able to find all of my original files and restore them. I would say that this is like DiskWarrior - buy it anyway. Just when you need it you will be REALLY happy you have it.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.4
v-macupdate
23 July 2017
Unimpressed. This product needs bottom-up redevelopment. UI is awkward. Application is unstable and slow. Though, it does seem to perform as advertised. I purchased this product thinking that the advertised features were unique, particularly those around reading and transferring data from other Time Machine backups. As it turns out this product just does a better job at advertising its features. I found competing products able to handle all of what my expectations were from Back-In-Time. While I was trying to figure out how to use Back-In-Time and waiting for the inordinately long indexing process, I was able to download trial versions if other products and use them successfully, to the point where I have, for now, abandoned Back-In-Time. I should have trialed the product before purchasing. Less expensive alternatives seem to be as functional, more responsive and a lot more intuitive.
Like (6)
Version 4.0.3
MysticScholar
14 July 2017
Disappointed to say the least: The program works fine with external hard drives, but it does not work with my Time Capsule. Not only does it not work, but it shuts down access to Time Capsule. I have to delete the program and trash it and then restart the computer. Even then Time Machine takes a long time to get started again with Time Capsule. I'm still worried that the Time Capsule backup might be corrupted, but it seems to work so far. I spoke with Apple support, and the tech there thought that it was possible that Back-in-Time is not compatible with Time Capsule.

Back-in-Time has so far not been able to address my problem. The tech insists that there isn't a problem and that I should mount the hard drive. He does not seem to understand that Time Capsule does not "mount" drives. It does not operate on the same principles as external hard drives. I tried to explain several times, but at first the tech simply kept repeating himself. Then he stopped responding.

Then I requested a refund from MacUpdate. So far MacUpdate has refused, although, after I explained what was going on several times, they said they would consider it. At this point, I purchased a program that not only does not work, but it actually damages my computer by blocking access to Time Capsule.

In short, the program does not work for me and damages my network.
Like
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
Joem
Joem
18 July 2017
I have the same setup, and it does work. You can mount the Time Capsule hard drive (and even use it as network storage). In Airport Utility, there is a tab called "Disks", where you should make sure you have "Enable file sharing" turned on. You can set up a password as well to access the disk. It will then show up in the Finder under Devices (like an external drive). The Time Machine backup will be at the root level and will be called something like "Macintosh HD.sparsebundle" (or whatever the name of your Mac is.
Like (1)
User001
11 February 2016
I bought Version 3 for 30 Euro in german Version from http://www.softdes.net/, now there is a paid Update for 27 Euro. Kidding?
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
2 answer(s)
Conflict
Conflict
01 May 2016
Thank you for the heads-up, as I was just about to buy this because of it's reputation, however with such a high upgrade price this has persuaded me to buy another product and I have bought a competitor product for around $10 USD and free upgrades. I suspect the functionality might be less, but in the end, it performs the same type of restore function as BiT.
Like (3)
Hermie
Hermie
20 February 2018
Same thing happened to me from version 4 to 5. No grace period according to Dev. Switched to the same app as Conflict did.
Like
Drdul
19 September 2015
FYI: The upgrade to version 4 is USD $9.99
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
2 answer(s)
dabcca
dabcca
10 October 2015
No it is 19.99
Like (2)
Drdul
Drdul
11 October 2015
Ha! It was $9.99 when I purchased the upgrade right when version 4 was released. IMO the upgrade was worth $10, but I'm not sure I would have upgraded for $20.
Like (1)
Barry-Chiarello
31 July 2015
I downloaded this a couple of days ago when I was coming to the realization that I could not get rid of Malware in a email attachment from California DMV.
Sophos kept tell me it was in my Time Machine Back Up. The problem was, it was burried deep in the user/library/mail about 15-20 folders deep, which Time Machine does not let you look inside at. I think since Lion. So I fussed around looking at all the instruction on how if possible, to do what was needed. After giving it the old college try and few hours later. Deciding, I turned to "Back-in-Time 3", I remembered, I saw an offer from MacUpdate muPromo at 50% off back in late June. Too bad I did buy it the then.

This tool is great even in demo mode, I removed the Malware after checking the box to "Invisible Item" all hidden files popped up, my user/library file folder. then following the Sophos trail path of file folders after folder, I could delete my Malware zipped file. Now I can again not have to be concerned with a PC Malware getting to my Windows PCs from the Mac side.
Thank you TRI-EDRE
Barry

PS: I will buy it today!
Like
Version 3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
22 January 2016
Barry-Neat review and good infos for me. My thanks ;-)
Like
Memphisbird
16 July 2015
I was going to upgrade to version 3, but I see that it's $20US, so I'm thinking I won't. I feel like two-thirds of the price of the app is a bit much for an upgrade, especially when there are other apps doing the same thing. Just my opinion, of course.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
Drdul
02 November 2013
Back-In-Time is way faster than Time Machine for exploring and restoring files from a TM backup, especially a Time Capsule one. If I enter Time Machine, I end up waiting about 5 minutes for it to scan my 900 GB Time Capsule backup before it will let me do anything. In contrast, BIT only needs 10 seconds or so to scan the same Time Capsule backup. And if I prefer, I can ignore the Time Capsule backup and work only with another one that I have on an external drive (the problem with TM is that it insists on loading all available backups). Lastly, I have created a virtual copy of my Time Capsule backup in BIT so I can quickly check first to see if the data I want is available before mounting the Time Capsule backup (the virtual copy takes up very little space -- only 650 MB for a 900 GB backup). The other reason I use BIT instead of TM is that I don't get permissions errors with BIT like I often do with TM. I simply drag the files out of BIT to my desktop or whatever folder I want. On the other hand, TM waits until the very last step of the restore process to suddenly tell me I don't have permission to access the files I'm trying to restore. The web is full of suggested fixes for this problem, but why bother when BIT restores files reliably. The other nice thing about BIT is that it doesn't take over my entire screen, and I can use other apps at the same time as BIT. My only (minor) complaint with BIT is that it takes some time and a thorough read of the manual to figure out how to use it. The UI is not very intuitive, but once you get the hang of it, it's a far easier, faster and more reliable way to work with TM backups than Time Machine itself.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
Whaberl
11 September 2013
useful tool.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0
June8
26 May 2013
Compared backed up items with another application does the same job for much reasonable price and noticed that Back-In-Time does not display aliases backed up.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.0
Tamriel
28 December 2012
Try "TimeTracker" instead. So much faster than this! (And free!)
Like (2)
Version 2.3.0
poetaignota
23 November 2012
I've owned Back-In-Time without for some time but have not explored it until today when I needed to delete all backups of a number of folders and Time Machine refused to cooperate. B-I-T seems to have done the job very smoothly for the most part although it failed to delete the most recent backup version of one folder although it had removed all earlier versions. I'm well-pleased so far but I do feel that the GUI is a bit ugly.
Like
Version 2.3.0
Wmud
17 September 2012
I am really interested in this app, but after looking at the documentation, I suspect that it may be unable to do what we need it to do. Does it keep track of multiple backup volumes that are temporarily inaccessible? We use three current disk drives in rotation, with at least one of them always in safekeeping in a bank vault, one in production, and one possibly in transit between sites. Plus, there are several drives that have filled up and also are archived in safe storage. So the question is, can this app display all versions of a file with date and size information and the volume ID on which they are located, so that we can determine which volume must be retrieved from the vault to restore the version that is required? If not, is there another app that can be readily paired up with Back-in-Time to provide the functionality we need?
Like
Version 2.3.0
Hugh-Beaumont
03 September 2012
Just bought this yesterday and have already found it to be incredibly useful more than once. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.0
Voc999
02 September 2012
From reading one of the comments, I decided to check my purchases with MUP and discovered that I had previously purchased this programme, I then clicked the link in MUP, downloaded the file, inserted my serial and Bang! Sorry this is for an older version of the programme. This is not the 1st time this has happened to me on MUP, there was a watermark programme where I got a similar outcome. I won't be purchasing this one, and I think MUP should store versions of the programmes pertinent to the serial numbers issued.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.0
3 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
02 September 2012
What do you expect? Free updates for lifetime, after you bought a program in a (massively price-reduced) bundle? It is not MacUpdate's fault when you don't download and activate the program right after you have bought it. Had you done, you could have used the bought version for a year at least before it was updated, and than update for a reduced price. I did it that way, and still am happy with the program (even though I don't need it much).
Like (3)
Bob-A
Bob-A
18 November 2012
I agree Voc999, I too have had this happen. I now download and archive programs when I buy them. No Frankof. You need to read the complaint better, He wasn't complaining about not being to use the new version, he was complaining that he can't get at the version he purchased. One of the reasons I like MUP is that it keeps my receipts and registration numbers archived for me. But this is of little use when it doesn't keep the programs archived and there is no there way to get the old version. As you say, we need to download and activate the program right away - and archive it too. So what use is it that MUP keeps our registration numbers.
Like (5)
Northern-Steve
Northern-Steve
24 April 2013
It appears MUP do in fact store the versions required, at least in this case. There's a download link for version 1.4.8 on this page - see above, under "RELATED LINKS". If you need the new version, the developer offers an upgrade licence for $9.99 - 1/3 of the full v2 purchase price. Open the app and go Register.../Purchase... It all seems pretty reasonable to me.
Like (1)
Moofing
01 September 2012
It's a very handy utility. I find it's faster to look for things this way than use TM on its own. The UI could use improvement to make it easier to use.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.0
Physhbourne
01 September 2012
what an awesome programm – exactly what i was looking for!!
Like
Version 2.3.0
jasseltoff
01 September 2012
Does Back-In-Time allow to set backup intervals of certain applications (e.g. QuarkXPress) individually, i.e. every 5 minutes or even less? Time Machine makes that hourly which is too risky when I work on special projects. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.3.0
2 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
01 September 2012
Back-in-Time does not do ANY backups, nor can you set intervals. That's not the purpose of this program. It is supposed to give you a better access to the backups that were created by TimeMachine, to help recover accidentally deleted or damaged files. And it is really good at this! The other point seems to reflect a misunderstanding of yours about backups in general. Backups are there to help you when something was deleted, or your hard disk crashed and you need to recover the whole system. Backups are NOT for keeping versions of files you presently work on. What you'd like, if you ask for a 5 minutes interval, is a versioning mechanism. Mountain lion can do that for you, if you have a program that already makes use of it (have a look at TextEdit, "Revert To" in the file menu, to see this in action).
Like
Think-Globally
Think-Globally
02 September 2012
@ jasseltoff: Maybe "ForeverSafe" could be the perfect app for you? http://tool-forcesw.com/foreversave/ It's a useful app (even if you have Lion). (There was something about QuarkXPress and ForeverSafe: 7. FAQ: http://tool-forcesw.com/foreversave/faq/ ForeverSafe is not really a competitor to Back-In-Time, as it does something else. Hope this helped :-)
Like (2)
jasseltoff
01 September 2012
Does Back-In-Time allow to set backup intervals of certain applications (e.g. QuarkXPress) individually, i.e. every 5 minutes or even less? Time Machine makes that hourly which is too risky when I work on special projects. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.3.0
Nick-Collingridge
04 August 2012
Worked brilliantly for me. I had to recover a mailbox from a Lion TM backup that Mail had "lost" for some inexplicable reason following the ML upgrade. I was not able to access the TM backup (possibly because it had not been updated post the ML upgrade? Who knows) but this product gives you fantastically flexible and clear access to your TM backup. On the basis of my experience I have to give it great marks.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.0
daveungar
04 April 2012
Won't work and Macupdate won't discuss giving me my money back. I've decided I can't trust MacUpdate.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.0
2 answer(s)
Chris-Ca
Chris-Ca
01 June 2012
Why would MacUpdate give you money back? You did not purchase anything from MacUpdate.
Like (6)
MisterE
MisterE
17 February 2013
Read Think Globally's reply above. It explains the problem daveungar is having much better. It's a legitimate gripe but I'm more inclined to blame MUP than Back-In-Time.
Like
Nicholas-96cd5b16
23 March 2012
Won't register my admin password to open. Any suggestions, otherwise it's garbage?
Like
Version 2.1.0
Dialing-wand
08 September 2011
This application has saved my rear end quite a few times. More importantly, it makes managing specific files within a Time Machine backup much more granular and simple. While the idea of constant-backup with versioning is great, the practice of the Time Machine restore interface was lacking for our setup. We have several Macs at our small office, all have Time Machine backup disk arrays of 4TB or more (one is 10TB at the moment.) Back in Time makes working with the backups simple, even if you're working with a disk or disk image from another machine; which is where Back-In-Time has saved me the most. Look, if this review sounds overly glowing, I can't help it, this utility paid for itself over and over. While there are features I'd like to see the developer has been responsive and forthcoming. I took off half a a star because there are some interface tweaks that could be used to clarify things just a little bit more (like the drive/folder listing) and a more efficient way to search for recently back-up files across ALL disks and arrays, not just a single one - but these are minor quirks for such a useful utility.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0
Maluisa
23 June 2011
I had a problem with my disk and had to restore not all but some applications, application data, documents, etc. With Back-In-Time I restored file from different backups until I got everything in place again. With Time Machine I could not have done this.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
jan-jacob
11 June 2011
Hallo I'm from Holland I hope to write english that you can understand. I have an Imac and I use time machine. This week the power went off and time machine was backing up. Later when the power was back Time machine could not make a backup. I used the disk program and after 1 hour i could see the time machine volume. He made a file that's called in progress. When I could delete the file the problem is over. I did that once , a year ago when the same happened. But now I can't delete or what ever. I took a new disk and made a full time machine back up on it and than I tried to copy the files from the auther disk on it. But time machine said you can't change anything in time machine. My question is: Can I delete the file and copy the files when I purchase back-in-time 2??? please tell me
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Thirol
Thirol
15 June 2011
From developer: Back-In-Time can copy and restore data from the Time Machine backups, even from an old disk no longer used by Time Machine (but containing old backups). There is no way to merge the backups from an old disk to your new Time Machine disk (to create a single disk with all your backups). The solution is to connect your old disk and use Back-In-Time when you need to recover data from old backups.
Like (1)
jan-jacob
jan-jacob
15 June 2011
Thank you very much ,I purchad the program . Only the in progress file is not deleted In Back in Time I even don't see the file (or packet) Thank you for your Answer.
Like
Macnolox
31 January 2011
It gives me total control over Time Machine. It's just what it lacks in TM for to be not only easy and reliable but practical and dynamic. No one Time Machine without Back-In-Time.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
asimo
15 December 2010
Very useful for users that want to fully control and manipulate TM backups.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Tachy0n
13 December 2010
The TED updater sees v2.0.2 and keeps downloading 1.4.8 repeatedly. I see from the comments that this is not a free upgrade. The user should be warned that it isn't free.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Ted46
21 October 2010
The Version 1.4.8 is useful product but the store has problems. I've attempted upgrading to 2.0. There are financial transaction problems. I'm left with doubt as to the validity and safety of the transaction. Be careful with this one.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Thirol
Thirol
21 October 2010
We have numerous orders of upgrades (and full versions) without problem every day, and payment on our web store is done on a secure web page. Be sure to enter your correct email address, and you'll receive your serial number immediately after completing the payment. In case of any problem, send an email to support(at)tri-edre.com and we'll solve it. Thierry Rolland
Like
Version 2.0.2
Jeff-Wholeman
17 September 2010
Found it somehow useful for average user. Ok product.... But found that initial version 2 happily upgrade from version 1 recently start show EXPIRED. Look like this app not politely ask people to buy an upgrade but locking itself until you pay. RIP OFF!!! Be aware P.S, Why I cannot use OLD version if I happy with it? Why you force people to buy unjustified update?
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Thirol
Thirol
19 September 2010
Hello, You can of course continue to use Back-In-Time 1. Disable check for updates option in the preferences (to avoid being alerted that there is a version 2). Note 1: Back-In-Time 1 is always available on our website. Note 2: No problem to have both versions 1 and 2 installed at the same time. Thierry Rolland
Like (7)
Version 2.0.1
Tharpold
28 August 2010
Changes to this already very useful utility seem significant and well worth the investment. But has anyone been able to actually get hold of the 2.0 upgrade (the paid upgrade)? I placed an order for this (from the Tri-Edre online store) more than a week ago. My credit card was, I believe charged, but I never received the upgrade serial number, as promised. Repeated emails to their support and sales addresses have been bounced back as undeliverable. I'm beginning to think that something is seriously amiss and that I'm going to have to take the matter up with my credit card company...
Like
Version 2.0.0
2 answer(s)
Thirol
Thirol
30 August 2010
Hello, I am the developer of Back-In-Time. We always reply to emails, so there must be an issue somewhere. You should check your spam folder. If you do not find your order confirmation email with your serial number, contact us at support(at)tri-edre.com or directly send an email to me at trolland(at)tri-edre.com. Thierry Rolland
Like (5)
Version 2.0.0
Tharpold
Tharpold
04 September 2010
The developer contacted me soon after I posted my earlier comment about a failure to receive my 2.0 upgrade serial number. It took several more email attempts to sort this all out -- it appears that my ISP has been blocking email to and from Tri-Edre for reasons that are still a mystery -- and I quickly received my serial number.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.0
Big77
12 August 2010
Looks like Back-In-Time 2 is a paid upgrade. (USD$10).
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
2 answer(s)
Macrobert
Macrobert
13 August 2010
Indeed. From the site of the makers www.tri-edre.fr : Upgrade Price: - In Europe: 9.99 Euros - Outside Europe: US $9.99 What I find really puzzling is the European pricing: since the developer is European (France located), then why charge Europeans more than buyers/users outside Europe? Last time I checked, US $9.99 was about 7.81 Euros!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Thirol
Thirol
30 August 2010
Hello, I am the developer of Back-In-Time. In France, we must display prices including VAT taxes (19.6%), so the Euro price seems higher than the US$ price (we try to have similar prices for both currencies, but the US$/Euro change rate is not really stable ;-) ). Thierry Rolland
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Charles-Miller
15 January 2010
After a quick look, it seems one can't search for a file name in Time Machine. It appears one needs to navigate to the file (which implies knowing it's location). That's a negative for me. Back-in-Time also complained that I have Time Machine turned off. But that's only because I have a third party whigamagig controlling the backups to reduce their frequency. Doesn't seem right for me.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Lee123
Lee123
16 March 2010
There certainly is the ability to search by keyword or filename. Try selecting your time machine drive in the left panel, clicking on the magnifying glass and now enter your search criteria. Be kinda pointless with out the search.
Like (13)
Version 1.4.6
Gianca
11 December 2009
Has development stopped? No updates since July: I would have expected an update for Snow Leopard, to improve speed... Right now is so slow to the point of being unusable.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
Justanthrguyhere
14 November 2009
I have to agree wither others. Nice idea, I can see where it could come in handy, but my needs are pretty modest to the price is a bit steep for for when compared with the price of other shareware products I use every day such as GraphicConverter or DefaultFolder that do a lot more, are FAR more complex to write, used far more often, yet are comparable in price. As a software product manager I would suggest the developer do some price sensitivity analysis. I suspect you will find that you'll make more money at half the price. Worse case your price moves another developer to enter the space at a lower price. Just a comment!
Like (6)
Version 1.4.2
Cerebrl
11 October 2009
Wow, this application is great. It works as advertised and more. You can access any available Time Machine backup, not just the one that is associated with the computer you are on. You can manipulate the data in many different ways, restore in different locations. You can even tell it to rename your current files when you are restoring the backup so the backup files don't overwrite what you have. Pros: Does what it says and more. You can avoid the "going back in time" thing all together. You can access and restore more than just the associated backup. Easy to use. Cons: TOO EXPENSIVE! You don't use it enough to justify a $30 buy. In my humble opinion: $10 would be a awesome deal $15 would be a fair price $20 would be a little high, but reasonable. I am giving it 4 stars because the price is too high. I will change it to 5 if the developer lowers it below $20. Other than that, great product. [Cerebrl]
Like (7)
Version 1.4.2
Gianca
27 July 2009
This seems to complete time machine functionality, but $29 is quite a steep price for it. Like some other commentators, I would buy it for $10. I'm surprised Apple itself hasn't come up with a better manager for time machine.
Like (6)
Version 1.4
Dtruett1
26 March 2009
I'd buy it at half the price.
Like (8)
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
03 June 2009
Me too.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Danco
Danco
30 August 2009
As I noted earlier, the only functionality lost in the free demo version is the ability to copy and delete items. And deletion can be *very* slow in the full version, I guess partly because (unlike Time Machine) you can decide which versions to delete. If you use Time Machine, do yourself a favour and download the free version.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Danco
17 January 2009
The backup drive can get quite full, and there are items I want to delete (things I don't want to keep or have moved from one place to another so that I don't need them in their original location). Apparently this program will let one see what items on the backup have been deleted from the main drive. I reckon this would be very useful. Price is steep, though.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Danco
Danco
17 January 2009
Having downloaded the trial, I find that the developers have been generous. You can't restore files from the trial version, but that's the only limitation. One can really easily find items that have been deleted, see what versions of a file one has, etc. Time Machine itself has to be used to remove unwanted items, though. Given the functionality of the free version, I highly recommend this.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
gotow
12 January 2009
I think this definitely fills some holes in Time Machine. If you're interested in restoring a particular file, Back in Time makes it much easier to see what your options are and what's gone on with the file - the whole "swooshing back through time" thing in Time Machine doesn't really work for me. Back in Time doesn't have as much demo appeal, but is much more useful. I'm a developer, and I was actually considering writing something very similar to this (though with a few other features that I specifically want). The real question is whether it's worth $29 for something you use once in a while. Personally, if I had to restore a file from Time Machine once a week, I'd buy this. But I don't drag things back from Time Machine that often, so I'm going to hold off for a bit.
Like (13)
Version 1.3.1
Rob-h
28 November 2008
I would consider this, if only to give me a little more granular control over looking thru Time Machine backups. However I agree in that $29 is a bit steep.
Like (6)
Version 1.1
Dana-Sutton
17 November 2008
I haven't downloaded and tried this out yet, but I suspect you guys are being a little too rough. This does seem to have a few tricks up its sleeve (such as opening files within TM backups) which I don't think Leopard can do. If I'm right, it's very much up to the individual customer to decide whether they are useful enough to justify the (admittedly rather high) cost of the program.
Like (4)
Version 1.0b81117
Xenophile
13 November 2008
This does nothing I cannot already do with a standard Leopard installation. Time Machine goes back in time and retrieves files, exactly as Apple says it does, and yes, it can copy the files wherever I like. I can poke around in my Time Machine backup volume if I need to. But hey, all you need is a few suckers to drop 30 bucks and you've scored a nice haul for a little Time Machine retread. Don't blow it all on booze and hookers...
Like (4)
Version 1.0b81112
Nessuno
12 November 2008
29,- is steep for an app that just does what any dummy who is familiar with his hard disk and where his files are can do manually.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b81112
Johan-Elzenga
10 November 2008
The author suggests that Time Machine can only restore to the original location. That is false. Time Machine can restore to any location, including another disk. Select a file in your backup, and choose 'Restore to... from the Action menu.
Like (13)
Version 1.0b81106