Back to Mail Notifr page
Mail Notifr free download for Mac

Mail Notifr Reviews

1.3.5
24 July 2015

Open-Source Gmail notifier.

Doug-S-
30 October 2008

Most helpful

This is an app that has potential but still a ways to go before it's ready to dethrone Google Notifier. There are some nice things about this app, such as the fact that it allows you to choose how often to check for new mail. For some people this might not be a big deal but it's still nice to have the option. It also looks rather nice and seems pretty stable. There are also a few small flaws though. First and foremost is the lack of Growl support. Just by adding Growl support this app would already be every bit as good as Google Notifier and it's something the developer has stated he plans to implement soon, which is great. Another issue is a small one but still very annoying, you can't copy and paste in passwords. For most people this probably isn't a problem. But if you're like me and use 1Password then you have a randomly generated 18 character alpha-numeric password with a symbol or two thrown in. This is not fun to type out... Copy and paste would be much appreciated. The final issue is more of a request as it's something that even Google's own Notifier does not have. I would like the ability to check multiple accounts. As a web designer I have a few Google accounts since I use DreamHost and they host their web mail with Google. Because of this I have a few accounts. Right now I have them all feeding into one main account but I would definitely prefer having them all separate if the option was given. Needless to say I'll be keeping a close eye on this app and very much look forward to the next version. If it has Growl then I'm in. If it has support for multiple accounts all the better.
Like (6)
Version 0.1.3

Read 67 Mail Notifr User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lollo4
09 March 2018
Worked perfect so far... Until i set up the 2-step verification. Now a password error pops up. Any solution? Thx.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Gog4
11 October 2015
Hi, What is the security warranty users have about the developer's ability to access users emails at any moment? Thank you.
Like
Version 1.3.5
1 answer(s)
James Chen
James Chen
13 December 2016
Your email credentials are saved in OSX's Keychain securely.

If you're concerns about the app's code stealing your password, FYI it's open source.

And BTW, the app just uses the very old Gmail RSS feed. It doesn't access any write operations from the application.
Like
Mosskeeter
01 November 2014
This is great and worth twice the price. Sorry I didn't find it earlier.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Andrewm8
22 April 2014
the best out there....
Like
Version 1.2.1
Andrewm8
17 April 2014
Just updated to version 1.2.1 in the Mac App Store. Changes menu icon to the ugly and annoying blue filled envelope - please bring the old red outlined menu icon envelope.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
22 April 2014
Mail Notifr just got updated in Mac App Store to version 1.2.2 (148). Thanks to the developer for getting rid of the blue fill of the menu icon envelope - if the envelope's outline color for mail notification could change back to red it would be great.
Like
larrymcj
18 January 2014
This would be the perfect notifier to replace the Google Notifier that will die on Jan 31, 2014 except for one problem. If installed for multiple users, the menu bar icon turns red and has the new message count badge for only the first user. When you add a second user, the app functions fine, but the icon doesn't alert the second user to new messages. This problem occurs when the first user logs out and the second user logs in.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.0
mymon
27 October 2013
Can't get it working after upgraded to Mavericks Hopefully there will be an update soon as its really a great app - one of my "must have"
Like
Version 0.8.0
1 answer(s)
mymon
mymon
28 October 2013
sorted (disabled Gatekeeper and all back to normal)
Like (1)
siamlotus
24 March 2013
Brilliant app. It no longer shows up in the iStat Pro widget for it's memory usage which is great. I am on 10.7 and have not experienced any crashes or problems.
Like
Version 0.8.0
Forn
18 March 2013
Do NOT upddate on 10.7. It crashes every few minutes and brakes the system. Back on 5 Stars when it is repaired.
Like
Version 0.8.0
dantelectro
13 March 2013
At 90+ MB memory usage - compared to Google Notifier's 11 MB - it doesn't feel small.
Like
Version 0.7.0
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
17 March 2013
Next version will go back to smaller below 20MB. The binary size will reduce too. The current large footprint is due to the bundled MacRuby framework.
Like
Ketcheup
08 January 2013
Good application! Just Retina support please for icon in menubar and application will perfect
Like (1)
Version 0.7.0
benjibee
16 October 2012
I've tried just about every other Gmail notification system out there, and I always go back to this one. It's clean, it's simple, and does exactly what I need. Best of all? It's open source, on GitHub, even! Mountain Lion Notification Center support is minimal, but even with some basic integration this would blow every other paid and buggy app out there away!
Like
Version 0.7.0
Timmyb
17 September 2012
Is the app signed with a dev ID? Is the Sparkle updater using signed updates?
Like
Version 0.7.0
1 answer(s)
ashchan.com
ashchan.com
17 September 2012
Timmyb, > Is the app signed with a dev ID? No. I don't have a Mac Developer ID; the app is not on App Store. > Is the Sparkle updater using signed updates? No (in earlier version it did use DSA signature, but I had problems signing it when updating to Snow Leopard). But it delivers update and appcast through SSL. (one of the two things Sparkle requires for security concern. Plus, this app is fully open source.
Like
Sirhumphalot
16 September 2012
Really nice to see this back - it's the best free option for multiple Gmail accounts.
Like
Version 0.7.0
2 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
16 September 2012
Thanks James for your hard work. I can now update my main Mac to Mountain Lion - I just couldn't move to ML without working Gmail Notifr. James - did you consider to make the Notifr at least a donationware? I'll be happy to PayPal you a donation and I believe that many other would like to do it too.
Like
ashchan.com
ashchan.com
16 September 2012
@Andrewm8, I really appreciate it. There is a 'Donate...' (yes via PayPal) item on the status bar menu :)
Like
Andrewm8
30 August 2012
really...??? Over a month since the official release of Mountain Lion and still crashing Notifr keeps me from updating my main computer to MLion
Like (1)
Version 0.6.4
2 answer(s)
ashchan.com
ashchan.com
12 September 2012
Guys sorry for the delay. The MacRuby framework has a SSH issue on 10.8 which caused the crash. I wasn't able to bypass this issue until very recently some nice guy helped fixed it. An update is coming soon.
Like (2)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
16 September 2012
thanks James for letting us know that you work hard and that our wait will be worth it
Like (1)
iGMX
22 July 2012
Not compatible with Mountain Lion GM, crashes on startup.
Like
Version 0.6.4
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
27 July 2012
Same here - tried to make it work on several macs, half of them with clean install of Mountain Lion and the other half simply upgraded to Mountain Lion. Crashes instantly on every one.....
Like
-M-S-
12 July 2012
Crashing a lot on 10.8.
Like (2)
Version 0.6.4
Devsh0p
21 September 2011
I've had to discontinue use of this as Activity Monitor reports it's using 100% of cpu, causing my system to get extremely hot. Too bad because it could be a very useful tool.
Like (1)
Version 0.6.2
1 answer(s)
Jqk18
Jqk18
18 January 2012
You could try an earlier version. I'm running 0.5.2 which is super slim -- 0.0% CPU most of the time, 1.5% briefly when it's checking mail. The older version is still available for download at https://github.com/ashchan/gmail-notifr/downloads.
Like (2)
Andrewm8
27 July 2011
Thanks a lot, Notifr with version 0.6.1 works again.
Like
Version 0.6.1
Andrewm8
26 July 2011
Same problem as with the first Lion test version - combining all counts and subject lines from each account into every of them. For example - when I have 3 unread emails in account 1 and none in the other 6 accounts the Notifr shows the total count of 21 unread messages and shows subject lines of all 3 unread messages from account 1 in every of the other 6 accounts. So, I completely removed Notifr from my system (including all preference files) and did the clean install of Notifr 0.6 - now I can only setup 2 accounts in the Notifr, I can't add any more accounts. And the count is 6 unread messages (while in reality there are only 3 unread messages in account 1 and none in account 2) and all 3 subject lines from account 1 show up in account 2 as well.
Like (1)
Version 0.6.0
1 answer(s)
ashchan.com
ashchan.com
26 July 2011
Please download a new build here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/471268/Gmail%20Notifr.app.zip This should fix the account unread issue. For not being able to add more accounts, did you see any error messages in Console.app? I'm spending nights making it more stable and proper in behavior, thank you for testing it out.
Like
logancj
21 July 2011
Just wanted to say that this build: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/471268/Gmail%20Notifr.app.zip works perfectly on Lion. This is what I've been looking for and I love it, so thank you!
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
23 July 2011
Unfortunately it doesn't work properly for me - it loads and checks all 7 Gmail accounts as it should. But the unread count is wrong - it shows all unread messages from all accounts under each of the 7 accounts, it just combines the unread count and subject lines from all accounts and shows all of them in each account.
Like
ckafe
12 July 2011
I love Gmail notifr but it seems not to work with Lion.
Like
Version 0.5.2
3 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
14 July 2011
Concur -- it does not work (it crashes, check your Console crash logs): Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGABRT) Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x000000007075758d Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
Like
Ashchan.com
Ashchan.com
21 July 2011
Please download and try this build: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/471268/Gmail%20Notifr.app.zip Please NOTE: the new version is written in MacRuby. The app bundle embeds MacRuby framework so the size is big. (Lion has MacRuby built in as private framework so apps need to embed the framework). Let me know if this works.
Like (1)
Ashchan.com
Ashchan.com
21 July 2011
And one more thing, I'm planning to release a new version ASAP. So feel free to report any issues on http://ashchan.com/projects/gmail-notifr or drop me a line via twitter ( @ashchan) .
Like
Buligwyf
29 January 2011
Just what I needed. Tried every notifier and SSB for my Gmail accounts. This one is simple, elegant and unobtrusive. With my 3 accounts it fits the bill perfectly. Keep it alive :)
Like
Version 0.5.2
Leo-Telles
21 January 2011
Just what a need. Very simple, low profile, just use growl to inform my new e-mails. Perfect.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
Tsehov
10 September 2010
This could be a very nice app, but now it eats three times more RAM than Google's own notifier. Why should I change to this?
Like
Version 0.5.2
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
12 September 2010
You don't need it if you have only one Gmail account. But if you have more than one then Google's own Notifier won't help you as it can only check a single account.
Like
Version 0.5.2
Multimedia-Pimp
29 August 2010
Since you give the app your login credentials to check for new mail in all accounts, which the app does just fine, is it possible that when you select "Go To Inbox" that the app can automatically log you into the correct account? It did take me right into the inbox of the first selected account, but when i closed that out and wanted to go into my other account, it reopened the first account. So I logged out of the first account in the browser and decided to try it that way, but then it just brings me to the gmail login page and I would have to manually enter my credentials for the 2nd account. Am I doing something wrong here or is this just a limitation of this app? It would be perfect if it could do this, as the official app has this ability.
Like
Version 0.5.2
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
30 August 2010
It's the limitation. I've been trying to handle this for two years without luck. Google still doesn't offer desktop app official api to log your account in via browser. Sorry about this issue. I'll keep trying to fix this.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
Bloobie
20 August 2010
Great little app but will it ever support Google Calendar? That would replace the official Google Notifier completely on my system.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.1
Jon555
14 February 2010
Will it ever be 64-bit?
Like (1)
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
18 March 2010
RubyCocoa itself has some issue with 64-bit so the simple answer is not yet.
Like
Version 0.5
Maboroshi
10 December 2009
Are there any future plans for this to auto log-in to the website when you choose "Open Inbox" like Google Notifier does?
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Maboroshi
Maboroshi
10 December 2009
...more detailed growl messages would be awesome too! e.g. subject/sender
Like
Version 0.5
Timmyb
30 September 2009
I beg of you to support 10.4.x
Like
Version 0.5
razorac
21 September 2009
Is it possible for Gmail Notifr to redirect mailto: links to your mailbox (create new email) like the official Google Notifier? Would be nice indeed, then I could drop Google Notifier altogether.
Like (1)
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
22 September 2009
I'm happy to tell you that this feature in under development and should be turned on in the future release (perhaps one or two versions later). Thanks, James
Like (1)
Version 0.5
Aikwaar
31 August 2009
I am afraid, that this software does not support proxy settings (to be behind the proxy may be one reason to use this soft, when POP3 is disabled) :-( But overall it's OK
Like
Version 0.4.4
Ashchan
31 August 2009
Just released a fix version for this (v0.4.4), please update it via "Check for Updates...". I have some problem signing the update under Snow Leopard so it's a little bit late:) You could also download a beta version with some new features: http://ashchan.com/gn-beta.zip .
Like (2)
Version 0.4.3
1 answer(s)
Arya
Arya
31 August 2009
Thank u for the quick respond :-) I have tried the beta version. Nice :-) I like the idea of individual setting & action for each account (including the growl notification), while still having the action-for-all option. However, it's kinda weird (but still nice) to hear multiple sound notification when two (or more) accounts received new emails at the same time.
Like
Version 0.4.3
Arya
30 August 2009
I have just upgraded to Snow Leopard, and now the gmail notifr doesn't show the number of mails beside its icon on toolbar. Any suggestion?
Like
Version 0.4.3
momijigari
21 August 2009
Dev, please consider making it Tiger compatible.
Like
Version 0.4.3
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
28 August 2009
This app depends on RubyCocoa, which is installed by default on Leopard and Snow Leopard. It's not practical to embed the rubycocoa framework inside the app, or to ask the user install development tool and rubycocoa by themselves either. So I'm sorry I'm not able to make it run on Tiger. If you have installed rubycocoa manually on Tiger, chances are you're able to run gmail notifr. (I have helped some friends do that and they don't have problem with it)
Like (1)
Version 0.4.3
Nickj
01 June 2009
Nice job, James! Very useful little app. Thanks also for offering up your time and expertise to develop this without even attaching a price tag!
Like (2)
Version 0.4.2
Bru74l
22 May 2009
Doesn't seem to work here.. It just makes my Macbook hang for 3 minutes, and the terminates itself. :(
Like
Version 0.4.2
Pablito
16 February 2009
WOW! the new icon is astonishing, amazing, gorgeous! looks great .. a futuristic 2009 icon that I liked so much! The application is better than ever. Less memory, less threats again ... check updates, numbers of inbox .. all of sudden the best notifier. I strongly recommend instead any other. Easy 5 stars.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.1
Davidfreels
16 February 2009
**********!!!! I just downloaded and installed v 0.4.1. Wow! James Chan is to be congratulated. This is great. It works perfectly. On a side note, I wrote a review the other day and gave 0.3.5 six stars out of five and v 0.4 just one star. Mr. Chan and I have corresponded, and I have told him my difficulties and he has been very generous with his time to try and resolve this. I hope that has been helpful to him because this works great. This gets 10 stars out of five.
Like (3)
Version 0.4.1
siamlotus
13 February 2009
As far as Gmail notifiers go it does not get better than this. Simple to use and not a memory hog. The fans of the 0.4.0 icon will really like this new one.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.1
Davidfreels
09 February 2009
This app was working fabulously until the menubar icon was changed. I have four gmail accounts, and I could use this to monitor all of them. Once the menubar icon changed, all the app does now is generate a spinning beach ball. I emailed the developer several days ago but haven't heard anything back. I would give v 0.35 six stars out of five and one star for v 0.4--it gets one star for not crashing my system and I can shut it down with Activity Monitor. If someone still has a copy of v 0.35 please send a copy to dfwrites@gmail.com. Thank you.
Like (1)
Version 0.4
3 answer(s)
Sjsw
Sjsw
09 February 2009
Why would you give this a 1 star rating? Do you realize that the rating is not a "version" rating but rather an overall rating that aggregates into the total rating of the App? You say in your "review" that you would give previous versions 6 stars which means that you must have been happy with it. Why wouldn't you give the developer the benefit of the doubt and instead write a comment or a trouble comment here? You say that the developer hasn't written you back in a couple of days (your "review" is dated SUNDAY), did you stop to think that maybe he's out of town for the weekend? I understand that you're frustrated that an App that you like and use is not working for YOU at the moment (it works fine for ME), but to come here and give it a 1 star rating is wholly unjustified IMHO. Did you really stop to think about it before you pulled the trigger on a rating that could effect whether other people try the App or not? The rating can never be "undone" (even if you give it a 5 now your average rating would be a 3) and some people just look at the overall ratings of an App without reading any comments as to "why" it was given a low rating. For all of you out there who do happen to read this I want you to know that this is an OUTSTANDING application, perhaps one of the most useful FREE applications that I have ever used. It is MUCH better than the "official" gmail notifier which installs what many believe to be spyware on your computer that runs in the background and cannot be turned off. I have never had a single problem with this program and it is updated and improved (bug fixes and new features) almost on a weekly basis. The developer is extremely responsive to problems and suggestions and has been from the first day that the App was introduced.
Like (4)
Version 0.4
Davidfreels
Davidfreels
09 February 2009
My comment is that the newer versions do not work whereas the older version does work. The one star rating goes toward an app that used to be excellent to one that does nothing but tie up the resources of my system until I open another app to close it out. I would much prefer using the older version to the new--because it worked. I would also gladly pay for an older version--but the developer's web page does not offer older versions. This is obviously frustrating. I used to have an excellent app, but now it's irretrievably gone. I contacted the developer about a week ago and still haven't heard a reply--which is why I posted here. I like the app that works and would like another copy. I would rate v 0.35 six stars out of five and v .4 one star out of five. Part of that one-star rating goes toward not having a way to re-install earlier versions and a lack of responsiveness. Again, I would gladly pay for a working version. It means that much to me.
Like
Version 0.4
Ottonomy
Ottonomy
25 May 2009
Sheesh, David! Why didn't you write a troubleshooting comment? The star ratings are for reviewing the overall performance, features, and value of an application. Developers of commercial software should be expected to have prompt and effective troubleshooting support, but they rarely do. People who give away their effort for nothing, or practically nothing are incessantly criticized here if they take a few days to respond. I don't understand this.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.2
Pablito
07 February 2009
'Reply' Thanks a lot the Dev answer. I really appreciated. I agree all with you. And also I am sure you are doing a great job. I would never use the Google Notifier because I refuse to use their's daemons. You are doing a great improvement programming in Ruby! Update is a good option to be there, and the icon is amazing. I can not image what else you could improve, but let's see, I am sure your mind is ahead! keep going ...
Like
Version 0.4
Pablito
04 February 2009
Sorry, but for the first time I have to say that the previous version (0.3.5) was better than the actual (0.4). The former doesn't have update but: it is lesser (400KB x 1700KB), uses less RAM memory (11MB x 17MB), and less system threats (1 x 5). What's happening?! I am back to 0.3.5 But thanks a lot, I love this program and the new icon. It's really Leopard and cool with the others (system icons!).
Like (1)
Version 0.4
1 answer(s)
Ashchan
Ashchan
04 February 2009
I understand you concern. Here's why I added sparkle automatic update support: 1, many users have required for this, as they don't want to check macupdate or Gmail Notifr project regularly to see if a new version is coming out. 2, adding it really doesn't effect the app's logic, except: * the size is bigger * the memory footprint is larger Don't worry about the thread numbers, though. Modern OSs take advantages of multiple threading to make apps run faster. Normally the previous version also ran more than one threads. For example, when Gmail Notifr checks for new messages, it checks in a separate thread, otherwise the icon and menu would stop responding as the checking might last several seconds if the connection is slow. Now look at the Activity Monitor and look at other apps such as Adium and Safari, do they only have one thread? No, normally they have much more. I really like to keep it simple and small and fast, at least as possible as I can. I listen to users and add what they require and I also agree is good. It's hard for me to make a decision when some users say wow it's good to have XXX while some others blame you for the same thing. Take the new icons for example, some users ask me to switch back to the old ones, but read the old comments, I changed the icons because several users said the old ones just weren't ux friendly (I'm not a designer :> BTW FYI, I'm actually replacing the icons again with some new ones designed by one of my designer friends) So to speak, I could keep it very small, I could've not added growl, multiple accounts. Man I could even don't offer 'Open Inbox", it's a notifier any ways. :) I really appreciate that you comment what you thought and comment so politely. I have several complaining emails in my gmail saying Gmail Notifr is getting worse by each version :( I'm a freelance developer from China. I wrote this because I need one working like this. If there had been some market people telling me what to implement it would have been just easier. Anyway, I'll try my best to keep it updated, and I'll always listen to users, though I couldn't do as you guys suggest on everything. The next big task is to open inbox for an account with automatic signing in.
Like (2)
Version 0.4
Cuneyt
02 February 2009
Please make a Tiger version..
Like (1)
Version 0.3.5
Pablito
01 February 2009
Wow! I really liked the new icon. It's cool and bold. Really better than the Gmail icon, I think. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 0.3.5
siamlotus
01 February 2009
Great little app. for ease of use. I prefer the old icon too though so will stick to older version.
Like (2)
Version 0.3.5
cholywell
01 February 2009
Please give us the option to use the old icon! It was much better. Thanks
Like (2)
Version 0.3.5
Jazzyguy
28 January 2009
I have switched to this application as the "official" Gmail Notifier does not always bring me to my in box but to an error message lately.I really can't understand why any of the ignorant a-holes gave me minus marks when I made an honest mistake taking Gmail Notifier for Gmailnotifr. There are a lot of unpleasant people lurking around waiting for just such a common error for them to criticize. I guess they think they are without fault.,
Like (5)
Version 0.3.4
Jazzyguy
26 January 2009
Sorry I got this one confused with the official Gmail Notifier which I like better. It has more features.
Like (4)
Version 0.3.3
Jazzyguy
26 January 2009
I put the previous version back as this version does not have the Google Calendar incorporated within it.The Calendar in the menu bar is useful and you probably can get it anyway at the Google Calendar web site but I like the style of the previous one vs this version.
Like (5)
Version 0.3.3