Back to Hyperspaces page
Hyperspaces free download for Mac

Hyperspaces Reviews

1.1.1
26 June 2011

Ultimate way to customize your spaces.

Bloke048
15 April 2009

Most helpful

Unfortunately for me this does not go far enough. Spaces and the other virtual desktop options (apart from you control desktops), and even the limited enhancement of different backgrounds provided by hyperspaces falls well short of the stock standard work spaces found in linux. "You control desktops" appears to be the only Mac alternative that emulates that provided in linux. I see little point in just changing the just the background. When I move from work space to work space I want a clean desktop or a desktop with documents and files etc relating to the workspace I am in (not just the application). If hyperspaces was able to provide this in the future it would be a godsend. I am sure I am not the only MAC person who dabbles in other OSes, but I am beginning to wonder if others know just how limited Spaces is. If anybody knows of any other utilities out there (other than "You control desktops") that provide a true multiple work space experience, linux style on the MAC please let me know.
Like (9)
Version 1.0b5

Read 22 Hyperspaces User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mac007
08 July 2014
Sadly Hyperspaces does not work on Mavericks either. It crashes on launch. Looks like this software is dead and abandoned.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Sgginc
17 February 2013
Above download link points to v1.1. Developer’s site has v1.1.1 Thanks ... Ken
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Mac007
21 July 2011
Hyperspaces no longer works on Lion. Apple strikes again. Well at least the developer let everyone know on his web site.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.1
Shock-J
20 June 2011
Hyperspaces still needs better control of Labels. I use other desktop applications that "cover" Hyperspaces and I can no longer see the desktop label. There should be a setting that allows you to control the Window level and put the desktop label on top of EVERYTHING. See TunesArt if you need an example. I can set the floating album cover window to be "always on top."
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Jeff-Nailen
19 February 2011
Very responsive developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Drdul
10 February 2011
Works for me. Easy to use and doesn't mess up my system. Here's a tip: I'm a visual guy, and I want to see something other than a not-very-meaningful number to indicate what space I'm in. I replaced the default space names in Hyperspaces with "Geometrical Shapes" from Character Viewer, specifically the four "White Square with xx Quadrant" ones. These symbols match the 2x2 grid I use for my four spaces. Now I can see at a glance what space I'm in.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
FreddyAnderssen
30 November 2010
I'm one user who uses spaces and I love it.
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
10 February 2011
I'm a second user who relies on spaces. I find a Mac without spaces to be confusing. Spaces is key to my workflow. And Hyperspaces makes it even better.
Like
Rubaiyat
06 July 2010
Well I get around a lot, consulting and training. Most users either ignore Spaces or don't even know it exists. Due to the inadequate way Apple implemented it. Hyperspace at least makes it easier to distinguish where you are with labels and colored backgrounds. Still not enough though to overcome the confusion that comes from mentally trying to track what is where and waste time resolving issues of why documents and applications don't necessarily appear where you left them. Until Apple fixes the UI problems of Spaces it is dead in the water for most users. It falls into one of those geekish categories where the user supports the machine and not the other way round. OSX has too much of this already and adding to their woes is the last thing users want.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
06 July 2010
I was actually being soft on Spaces. Not ONE user I know actually uses it. I've tried it several times, with and without Hyperspaces and it is just too much work.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Galileo14
11 May 2010
Aside from allowing the user to have different backgrounds on each desktop, it's not clear to me why one would use this over Expose(?) Moreover, Expose graphically displays the application windows in each space, which is far more important than having different backgrounds in each space.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Ast03
20 April 2010
This app should add a feature were the desktop background can be random in every space. I have the background on my mac randomly switch pictures upon waking . It would be awesome if every space randomly chose a different picture... At least I think that would be cool.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
Mactraxx
28 March 2010
Every so often an app or utility comes along that really streamlines my workflow, or just makes using my Mac so much more enjoyable and useful. Hyperspaces is one of those utilities (for the latter). While I've always been a Spaces user since Apple implemented it, it wasn't nearly as easy or "fun" to use as it is with Hyperspaces. After using this for just one day, I knew I had to have it and am really loving it. I can now have a space with a neutral grey background for doing my photo work with PS or Aperture, a green space for when I'm doing books, etc. and it just makes using Spaces visually much more logical and useful. Makes you wonder why somebody (or Apple themselves) didn't come up with this slick capability. I was pleased to find that MU is including this in their current Promo bundle, and while I already own a number of the apps in the bundle, I went ahead and bought it mostly for Hyperspaces and a couple other utilities I'm enjoying like WindowFlow. I realize not everyone will like this, or even be a Spaces user, but for those who do, this really polishes and puts Spaces on steroids. Well worth a try. Personally, I absolutely love it and already have created more Spaces, above my previous 4, to use since it's so much more logical with the help of this little utility. Great work guys. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Yaba-daba-do
19 March 2010
Help! I just got hyperspaces with the spring 2010 bundle ,I like it. But I cannot figure out how to assign programs to hyperspaces or spaces? And I am not sure why hyperspaces does not show a picture of what I have in the hyperspaces cells? like spaces does? so I am kinda using both. I will have to research the hyper web-site for reading material as I have not done yet, but I really dont like reading a long draw out how-to this and that. So It would be great if someone out there can speed up the how-to for me! Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
SawtoothRising
08 March 2010
wtf? 50+MB of ram for this? nothing this app does warrants that amount of ram usage.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Tony-Arnold
Tony-Arnold
13 March 2010
The RAM usage is due to the desktop images - in order to keep the space transitions fluid, the images need to be decompressed in memory. A standard PNG or JPEG document is significantly larger than it's size on disk once it has been read into memory (sometimes an order of 10 times the original size). Most macs these days ship with 4Gb RAM or more so I believe that this is becoming less of an issue, but I'm always looking at ways to bring the RAM usage of my app down.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.5
Maclover1-1
10 November 2009
I do not understand how Spaces can simplify my Life... I tried it but I end up getting more confused with it than without it. I actually find easier to do a Hide Others when I need to hide something and most of my Apps are fullscreen.. so stuff is hidden anyway... yeah Spaces is one of those "wonderfeatures" that ends up being fairly "unwonderful" lol So I gave Hyperspaces a try to see if this Spaces functionality could be tamed in a somewhat useful/efficient way... and the answer for me is: no. Yet more confusion. I'll stick to Hide Others when need be.. which actually is very rare. I 'd love to know the percentage of Mac users who actually use Spaces.. I have a feeling it is quite low... none of my Mac friends use it.. I know that... that's like a 0% user base here lol... and they're all "power users" working in graphics/movies... Anyway...er... that was my take on this.
Like (6)
Version 1.0b9
4 answer(s)
Digger1995
Digger1995
15 December 2009
Exactly my take too. I have continually tried Spaces and HyperSpaces... and they always fail to prove useful. I think it's because applications get confused between spaces, windows get lost, and then I get confused. I think if it/they (or just mac os x) had multiple instances of each application each with it's own prefs & windows for each space it would be more sensible to me.
Like (5)
Version 1.0
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
15 December 2009
I use Spaces all the time. You might not like it, and maybe even the two or three friends you have asked about it don't either, but that does not make for an adequate sample set to talk about percentages among all Mac users. The best use for Spaces is to be had when you assign applications to open in specific spaces, so that they are always to be found in one predictable location. You can then group certain apps together into a space, which is very helpful (for example, I assign iCal, Mail, and Address Book on one space, because I always use them together). Plus, Expose can be used in the Spaces overview to give access to all open windows at once, even though Spaces keeps the unwanted clutter out of sight. Using Hide Others reduces clutter, but at the cost of making those windows inaccessible to Expose. More to the point, your comments are not useful or very much to the point, which is to provide a review of this software. You claim that Hyperspaces only makes Spaces more confusing to you, but you do not say how. I cannot help but suspect that you must not have tried it out properly. The primary function of Hyperspaces is to provide various visual cues in order to make it more immediately obvious which space you are currently in. Even if we grant the premise that you personally find Spaces confusing, I fail to see how adding navigational clarity in order to help you get around could count as increasing confusion.
Like (10)
Version 1.0.1
sjk
sjk
15 December 2009
. > The best use for Spaces is to be had when you assign applications to open in specific spaces, so that they are always to be found in one predictable location. And I like to visualize the entire Spaces grid as a single mega-desktop with most app windows always remaining open, which is more natural to me than trying to efficiently hide/show multiple apps/windows within a single non-Spaces desktop (especially on smaller resolution displays). Certainly the latter will be more comfortable for other people, e.g. coming from Classic Mac OS background and/or with few apps/windows. There are some usage situations when I don't need/miss Spaces (or some other VDM) but will quickly notice cases when I do want and feel hindered without it.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
12 January 2010
I got started using Spaces-like applications on Macs many years ago (Virtual Desktop, etc.). It has become an important and transparent part of my workflow. If Spaces don't work for you, that's fine. But it does for LOTS of us. And as far as I can see from my brief testing of Hyperspaces, it adds significant features to Apple's Spaces.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
Bloke048
15 April 2009
Unfortunately for me this does not go far enough. Spaces and the other virtual desktop options (apart from you control desktops), and even the limited enhancement of different backgrounds provided by hyperspaces falls well short of the stock standard work spaces found in linux. "You control desktops" appears to be the only Mac alternative that emulates that provided in linux. I see little point in just changing the just the background. When I move from work space to work space I want a clean desktop or a desktop with documents and files etc relating to the workspace I am in (not just the application). If hyperspaces was able to provide this in the future it would be a godsend. I am sure I am not the only MAC person who dabbles in other OSes, but I am beginning to wonder if others know just how limited Spaces is. If anybody knows of any other utilities out there (other than "You control desktops") that provide a true multiple work space experience, linux style on the MAC please let me know.
Like (9)
Version 1.0b5
1 answer(s)
Thmghtd
Thmghtd
04 December 2009
For better or for worse, my desktop files are totally integrated into my workflow, so having different desktop files in different spaces would seal the deal for me, for sure.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b9
Shock-J
06 March 2009
I would really like to use this app, but it's still a little buggy and has a major issue for me. I use Path Finder. I use Path Finder's "desktop" instead of the Finder's. Hyperspace's desktop labeling feature is on layer underneath Path Finder's desktop, thus I can't see its labels. I have been using YouControl Desktops, as I do find Spaces feature set lacking, but YCD has some limitations as well. For me, desktop labels (in conjunction with Path Finder) is a must have. When Hyperspaces addresses this issue, I'll check it out again, but for now I have to stick with YCD.
Like (2)
Version 1.0fc4
1 answer(s)
Shock-J
Shock-J
06 July 2009
Four months and three release candidates later, Hyperspaces still has major issues with Desktop labels. Regardless of whether I launch Path Finder or Hyperspaces first, labels continue to be "covered" by Path Finder's Desktop. Back to You Control Desktops.
Like
Version 1.0b7
Sw-tester
03 March 2009
uses between 100MB to 200MB of real memory. whoa! this is not photoshop. what gives? it is only a little add-on for spaces. might be good if the dev gets the memory usage under control and the bugs fixed!
Like (3)
Version 1.0fc4
1 answer(s)
JKT
JKT
05 March 2009
True - feature wise it is very good, but memory usage is terrible. It not only uses a lot of RAM, but it also increments upwards every time you use it to switch a space. As far as I can tell, it also doesn't release RAM until you quit it. fc4, btw.
Like (3)
Version 1.0fc4
Jeff-Nailen
22 January 2009
Great idea to work with and extend Apple's Spaces--seems to be a better approach than the virtual desktop alternatives to Spaces. One thing that would make it essential for everyone: integration of spaces and the dock so that each space can have it's own dock full of apps and files appropriate to that workspace. Dock Spaces attempts to do this but seems to be limited to 4 spaces. Keep up the great work!
Like (2)
Version 1.0fc1
Falknerx
30 November 2008
great app... this goes great alongside dockspaces
Like (2)
Version 1.0fc1
Grafiqdesigner81
26 October 2008
And it might actually help if I rated the software...
Like (1)
Version 1.0pr1
Grafiqdesigner81
26 October 2008
Hyperspaces is something that Apple should have implemented when they introduced Spaces. The idea that you can customize your spaces with different backgrounds and custom labels is brilliant and should have always been features of Spaces. Yes, the software is a bit rough at times, but the developer has been working feverishly to fix bugs and has been very quick to respond to feedback. The only reason I don't rate it a 5 is for the few hiccups I rarely encounter. However, having talked to the developer, I'm confident these issues will be worked out in a timely manner.
Like (3)
Version 1.0pr1
Moleskinegurl
20 October 2008
I bought this app within 5 minutes of trying it. It does everything I wanted Spaces to do. Specifically, I can now name and assign a background to each space. I think it's well worth the price. I have noticed that there is a small lag when changing spaces, but I hope that's something that will be ironed out in future updates.
Like (2)
Version 1.0pre