Back to Kodi page
Kodi free download for Mac

Kodi Reviews

18.5.
23 November 2019

Powerful media center tool for Mac or Apple TV (was XBMC).

Just-Fred
25 April 2019

Most helpful

I'm curious about this. I've never used Plex, or a media server per se, but I've been using VLC for quite a while. I can open VLC on my Mac and stream to my AppleTV, and there's an app for the AppleTV. But the AppleTV app is now badly broken, so I would like to be able to fetch content from another Mac's attached storage and play it on my TV. Is Kodi useful for that? Is it better than VLC, or are they apples and oranges?
Like (2)
Version 18.2.

Read 137 Kodi User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
11 September 2019
Not compatible with Catalina.
Like (1)
Version 18.4.
Just-Fred
25 April 2019
I'm curious about this. I've never used Plex, or a media server per se, but I've been using VLC for quite a while. I can open VLC on my Mac and stream to my AppleTV, and there's an app for the AppleTV. But the AppleTV app is now badly broken, so I would like to be able to fetch content from another Mac's attached storage and play it on my TV. Is Kodi useful for that? Is it better than VLC, or are they apples and oranges?
Like (2)
Version 18.2.
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
23 November 2019
I use Plex. The difference is Plex organizes your media library. For example, if it's a TV series, you get the synopsis of each episode, the cast, director, etc. It also adds artwork. It puts the next episode "on deck" so you can pick up where you left off. I control it from my Roku, so I don't have to go to my Mac and pickup a video, and set up the streaming, etc. I haven't used Kodi, but it looks like a similar media server.
Like
Version 18.5.
Sleek
25 August 2018
Version for MacOS 10.6 does not work on MacOS 10.6, When I try to start it does not even start, just quits and I have to delete it from my Drive.
Like
Version 17.6.
Macinman
03 August 2018
I've used KODI in the past, and I have MrMC for Apple TV, which seems to be a clone. What I am curious about, since this discussion thread hasn't been updated lately is,: Is it true KODI is dead, or dying? I've recently seen a bunch of videos popping up on Youtube regarding KODI, and legal issues, and the development being shutdown. Was just wondering, how much truth there is in this, or is it just overblown hype? I don't use KDOI like I used to, so haven't followed real close.
Like
Version 17.6.
1 answer(s)
davw
davw
07 August 2018
Kodi is neither dead nor dying. If you are looking for updates and background info check out the blog: https://kodi.tv/blog
Like
ashishcompuiting
20 July 2018
kodi is best
Like
Version 17.6.
Barry5p
27 March 2017
It is the best media player period. 4K no problems.
Like
Version 17.1.
lumajen
26 March 2017
Kodi 17.1 is out: https://kodi.tv/kodi-v17-1-krypton/
Like (1)
Version 16.1.
1 answer(s)
todmcgraw
todmcgraw
19 March 2018
Kodi All version with configure setting http://bit.ly/vpnforkodi
Like
Zeebie
17 February 2017
Dear developers, the machine I tried to run this software is a Mac whose operating system is well-known and popular for its consistent user interface. I am not a 12 year old gamer kid who might appreciate your efforts to make your software look like some ego shooter from 2003. I am sorry to tell you that I wasn't able to stand its sight for more than a minute before I had to quit it and kick it out of my hard drive. Hence I didn't get round to explore its functionality at all.
Like (4)
Version 16.1.
3 answer(s)
davyboy
davyboy
26 March 2017
Huh? A half star rating for an app you didn't even ATTEMPT to try - and a free one as well? Just ignore it then - don't add a useless review just to insult an open source developer.
Like (6)
Tim27
Tim27
26 March 2017
davyboy, the user interface is part of the app. If it's difficult to use or makes no sense, then the app is worthless. He obviously did try it because he installed it. That said, I don't think it deserves just a half star. However, I also think that it is nowhere near as nice as Plex, both in UI and functionality.
Like (3)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
05 November 2017
Seems the Plex fanboys are out in force to discredit Kodi. If you don't like the interface then use a different skin - there are plenty.

Kodi also works better with local media and doesn't require personal information and registration (why is that needed for the free version anyway???)
Like (1)
sk018r6431
13 October 2016
Ugly software, dreadful installation procedure. Just Clunky.
Like (2)
Version 16.1.
2 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
05 November 2017
Another troll to disparage Kodi? Is Plex getting that desperate?
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
12 December 2017
Markus, it's funny how you think anyone who dislikes your precious Kodi is a basher from the competition.

I'll bet you heard that on Faux News.

You can read my negative review below and I'm not associated with Plex - in fact I've never used it.
Like (1)
lemonb3519
13 May 2016
As a media center Kodi by far is the best when you add on your selection of available repositories you have access to the largest available selection of media sources on the planet. I have had no issues with XBMC now named Kodi and I have used it going back to the days of Mountain Lion. I read some of the negative reviews and I have to laugh. Read the instructions people and then do your research for the repositories. Condemning one of the finest and free apps out there because you don't know how to use it is absurd.
Like (2)
Version 16.1.
echocard
21 April 2016
WAS WONDERING if someone can please tell me how to use Kodi under a different log in user? I just got done customizing Kodi but come to find out; under a different user name, i would have to redo all the customization settings?
Like
Version 16.1.rc1
RogerKatz
06 March 2016
version 16.0 "Jarvis" (20 Feb 2016) is available at the developer's website
Like (2)
Version 16.0.beta1
starsizzle
19 November 2015
The default skin "Confluence" needs to be brought into modern times. It looks aged. Would be great, if Kodi supported media transcoding, which it may, but if it does, I was unable to figure out how to use it. The Plex media server does that and it's great, because it allows you to stream your own media to all your devices, even if you are not in your local LAN but in any outside WLAN. Kodi has a few odd defaults. E.g. when in the music section > album view, all tracks are displayed with album name. You can change that - but why have that default? Obviously the user just navigated through the album title to get to the track listing. Another example is the recently added feature: Why are watched movies also displayed? Default should be to only show unwatched recently added to give the user a quick overview over unwatched items. There is a ton of such minor things which would be great to have ironed out. But often it's very difficult to convince devs.
Like (5)
Version 16.0.beta1
1 answer(s)
MikeChip
MikeChip
24 April 2016
Kodi 17 will bring Estuary as default skin addressing the skin issue.
Like
Big Johnson
05 September 2015
Interface is a confusing mess!
And who has time to browse through the thousand or so add-ons?

It's cool that I can play songs from any of my iTunes libraries.
But when I start a song, there's no visible controls - I must click the "play" button in the corner, then a controller window appears with artwork right in the center of the screen, AND IT'S UNMOVABLE!

I never did manage to find an equalizer, it doesn't seem to have one and that's a necessity for any player I use.

It just has way too much going on - take me back to good ol' VLC!
Like (1)
Version 15.1.rc1
2 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
13 May 2016
Rating an app 2 stars because you don't know how to use it is bogus. Leave a comment next time which would make sense. Your complaints with Kodi are founded in your lack of desire to learn. Everything you mention is easily found under settings and some repositories have thier own settings.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 June 2017
@lemonb3519, if it's that hard to figure out, then it's not a well written app. And that's what Big J is saying, right?

I didn't have to learn how to use Plex.... it was intuitive.
Like
Shallowp
08 August 2015
Formally I was using VLC a lot but I never liked the GUI. Kodi has a great GUI and plays anything VLC does. Support for subtitles is great too. It automatically finds a plays associated subtitles files, something VLC fails time after time. Recommended.
Like
Version 15.1.rc1
lemonb3519
23 July 2015
They may have changed the name but this app is still the best out there as a media hub. I have had no issues at all with KODI and the resources have been quick to update. This is an app I use everyday so if there are bugs they are hiding quite well. Now one guy here has had a meltdown over the Weather app which I don't use but his life seems to depend on it so he could take his rant to the forums at http://forum.kodi.tv We don't need a whacko on the loose because he can't look out his window to see what his local weather is.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.
1 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
23 July 2015
Update: I just went into System prefs in this KODI build, selected a weather resource and entered my zip. Weather works perfectly.
Like (1)
Haliomaster
15 June 2015
Strange new name :-) Still the best multi-media-play-it-all app.
Like
Version 15.0.beta2
CDavid
25 May 2015
I quite like this media player. Since I don't have many apps installed and running in background, I don't pay much attention to the amount of RAM used by a particular program. It runs smoothly on my Mac and that's the main point for me. The design of this player reminds me the design of a computer game. Really awesome. What is also great is that using Kodi I can open media files from my iPod when it's connected.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.beta1
Stef-Vandenabele
25 May 2015
Really good media player. Except this version is a bit heavier on the CPU compared to the previous incarnation XBMC
Like (1)
Version 15.0.beta1
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
16 June 2015
You realize version 15 is still in BETA....
Like
Mondele
13 January 2015
Well, given the amount of misinformation in the other reviews, here's my .000002 bitcoin. Kodi/XBMC is a marvelous tool for centralized media usage. There are some tricks that need to be done in order to use dvdmedia archives of DVDs, but once the advancedsettings.xml file is correctly configured, and the names adjusted to match the online databases, these work just fine. ISO disk images, also, play beautifully, and more smoothly than they did with Apple's DVD Player (which is why we started looking for another utility). All media we are using is coming from a NAS4Free box on the local network, and Kodi is running on the client machine, the files being shared by AFP. Our library is not so large as some mentioned here, but it is large enough that I will probably need to keep tweaking in order to eventually have everything as I wish it, but I like the weather display on the main UI (I wonder, sometimes, why Jazzyguy let himself be bought out by a conglomerate. His old posts were so much better) and once I figured out how to display cover images instead of list view I even like the display of the movies and tv shows. One caveat: because of Amazon's policies (DRM) there is apparently no way to connect Kodi to Amazon Prime streaming, unless I find a plugin somewhere that allows linking to a web browser. The system is so flexible, I wouldn't be too surprised to find something of the sort. In short, I'm very pleased to have found this solution, and renaming it from XBMC helped me to see its potential, I think, since I don't have an Xbox, nor even a television. Kodi, on the other hand, allows my technophobic wife to watch what she wants without needing too much assistance.
Like (2)
Version 14.0.
Tim27
27 December 2014
"10-foot user interface for use with televisions and remote controls" What does this mean? 10-foot user interface?
Like
Version 14.0.
3 answer(s)
Stongey
Stongey
28 December 2014
It means a user interface intended to be used from about 10 feet away (normal TV viewing distance), and controlled through a TV style remote rather than a mouse and keyboard.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10-foot_user_interface

Like (3)
martinb2
martinb2
02 February 2015
And why does the description of Kodi say "featuring a 10-foot user interface ..."? If I take a look at its screenshot here, then it does (in my opinion) probably not offer a 10-foot user interface. Or can you recognize the lower 9 covers in the screenshot from 10-foot if you make it fullscreen?

I know that I can change the skin / display, but none does offer a 10-foot user interface. Even if it offers a very cool & nice interface...
Like
Stongey
Stongey
02 February 2015
@martinb2:
I think that the 10-foot interface is really a description of its use on a large screen television. On a the smaller screen of a computer... sure, not distinguishable at 10 ft. But I run this on my 42" 720p TV and it looks and works great at about 10 feet.
Like (1)
Shallowp
26 December 2014
Great all round media player and more.
Like (1)
Version 14.0.
Jazzyguy
10 December 2014
NOT as good as XBMC. First of all it disabled my weather which was a useful tool. I don't like the way it works,not as good as the GUI in XBMC. Another conglomerate that ate up an independent application.i give it 1 star.
Like (1)
Version 14.0.rc3
16 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
24 December 2014
So because it's "not as good"as a previous your rating goes from the absolute best to the absolute worst? And the ownership of the program affects your rating as well? Your rating system will always be a mystery to me.
Like (6)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
24 December 2014
IT is Not as good as XBMC. What’s wrong with that? Actually because the weather is not present,something I relied on and other problems with the GUI. Can’t you read? I was very clear in my posting.
Like (1)
Runlevelzero
Runlevelzero
24 December 2014
This IS XBMC. What are you talking about? They didn't change owners either. They simply changed the name. If you don't want to be at the cutting edge and brand new release you should have done what they suggested. Backup your XBMC and try the new one, if you don't like the way it works right now then simply uninstall and install the old version and restore your backup. Or simply wait and get some reviews first.
Like (9)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
24 December 2014
Let me explain again for YOU RUNLEVELZERO .They didn't change owners but FORMATS.and this one stinks. They took out the weather and the GUI is not as nice as it was. OK????
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
24 December 2014
I Also backed up and I have XBMC but unfortunately KODI took the weather out.I hope this post satisfies you.
Like (1)
mwang
mwang
26 December 2014
1. Weather is still there. The Weather Underground addon is broken, but there are other weather addons. And chances are WU will be fixed in the near future. Even if it doesn't, it's hardly Kodi's fault, is it?
2. Kodi is not a conglomerate. Please check the fact before making the accusation. As to why they change the name, please check the website.
Like (3)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
26 December 2014
@mwang I am fully aware of that. Kodi is just a name change. Where all the the other weather add-ons that you referred to. I don't see any add-ons for weather at all. The weather was a useful tool. Kodi never said anything about it.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
26 December 2014
@mwang Are you part of the deveoper's team.I see the fact that you have never appeared on MU before,If you are on the developer's team take a look at my other posts where I tried to join the forum.
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
27 December 2014
You know what really burns me up? I recently bought the highly rated weather app "Seasonality Core" and it refuses to play video files! It doesn't even try to open them, and believe me I've tried over a dozen formats and several different containers.

$25 for a weather app and it REFUSES TO PLAY VIDEO FILES! OUTRAGEOUS! I'M GOING TO GIVE THOSE BASTARDS ONE STAR FOR RUINING MY WEATHER EXPERIENCE ON TEH MAC!



Like (3)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2014
Very Sarcastic and Snide. You must have better things to do than make fun of an application that doesn't do all of the things it was designed to do.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2014
And what's with the capitals ,I never use capitals they equivacate with shouting. Just part of your sarcastic drivel.
Like (1)
mwang
mwang
27 December 2014
@Jazzyguy: I joined MU in 2011, have rated a few programs, but may have never posted anything before yesterday (I thought I did, but there doesn't some to be a way to find what I posted).
Per your questions:
1. You could find other weather services by going to "System - Weather - Services for weather information".
2. Sorry, no, I'm not part of the Kodi team (I'm not a programer).
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2014
These are the choices for weather,Yahoo weather,Oz,and an application in China. Yahoo weather shows that it is 32degrees here.I am in Florida and it is 77Degrees here right now. Oz is a program in Australia and the program in China would not have information about the USA.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2014
I finally got Yahoo Weather to work in XBMC,(I want to use XBMC rather than KODI) I carefully configured the Yahoo Weather app so it showed my location.and i made sure of it. Then after configuring it shows 77degrees which is close to what it says on my barometer.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2014
I hope this works for others that need weather in Kodi and XBMC.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
30 March 2015
Hello yourself.Are you playing with squirrels or are you still hanging around the zoo.
Like
mesacarvin
30 November 2014
First, let me say that I absolutely love XBMC and it has provided me to cut the cord from the cable monster. I pay for high speed (FIOS) and that's it. I find the best connection is via Ethernet then second, WiFi. Most of the time I use WiFi and at times there are minor problems but not enough to toss the software. There are many Skins that have a variety of ways to display the interface. Just find one that works for you. And I emphasize time because many people who complain do not take the time to visit that extensive XBMC forums or the forums for the individual add-ons. There are also many tutorials on Youtube. And the fact that it is open source with a strong community points to the fact that it will continue to grow.
Like (3)
Version 14.0.beta5
8 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2014
This has now become a truly bad application since Kodi took over.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2014
I don't mean to discredit your review but it is negated by the fact that Kodi took over. The fact that they took away the weather gives an indication of what is ahead.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2014
I tried to join the Kodi Forum to make suggestions. (weather etc) They said my password for XBMC was no good. So they sent me another one.I used that password to log in.I copied and pasted it. They refused to log in with that password. So I requested another one. They refused that other one when I tried to log in. I give up! That tells a lot of what lies ahead.
Like (1)
mesacarvin
mesacarvin
14 December 2014
@Jazzyguy....It's unfortunate that you are having issues joining the Kodi forums. Maybe try contacting one of the moderators via email. Have you tried a clean install with software (not OS)? Kodi is just a name change from XBMC. Nothing else has changed. No company purchased or took them over. There will be always bumps along the road that's why they put out Alpha.s, Beta's to flush out the problems.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
14 December 2014
@Mescarvin You can't reach the moderators without joining the forum. It is a catch can situation.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
14 December 2014
@mesacarvin You can't reach the moderators without joining the forum. It is a catch can situation.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
17 December 2014
If it is the same as XBMC why did it disable the Weather? That was a useful tool.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
03 April 2015
Hello Squrrill guy. I hope this entertains you MORON.
Like
FCMDEV
22 November 2014
Welcome in complaint department. On OS X, this player was good maybe 5 years ago. These days it's slow, lagging, full of many UI strange bugs (tested on 2 macs, 2 os versions - disappearing cursor, not disappearing overlay controls, etc..). And these stupid internet updates can't be turned off. "Thanks" to that check each start, and bunch of unnecessary plugins, XBMC starts about 10 seconds every time and works as fast as Crysis on Intel HD 4000. And any UI operation, mouse click, keyboard command lags 0,5 to 1 second. It's just not usable. Multiplatform software is bad and always were. And eats MB battery. I'm searching now for fast, native video player for OS X.
Like (3)
Version 13.2
2 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
13 May 2016
No lag and none of the bugs you mention. Check your Mac.
Like
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 May 2016
Keyboard command lag is a new "feature" that can be turned off in "Seeking" section in system settings. Plugin auto-update can be disabled manually by pressing left arrow key while in system setting screen. Overlay control can be hidden with a simple keystroke. And if you're using a NAS be sure to create connections with NFS and never use SMB.

I'm using Kodi on a 5 years old low class Mac mini as my HTPC and every symptom you mentioned is fixed by adjusting settings, key bindings, and editing advancedsettings.xml. In short: RTFM & STFW.
Like (1)
Dany888
12 November 2014
I have a dedicated computer plugged into my TV as a media center. I discovered XMBC last week and I am in complete awe of this program. It added all my movies automatically. All I had to do was direct it to the movie folder. I then added my emulator games such as Super Nintendo and Nintendo 64 and XMBC allows you to play them with one click, no more spending 2 minutes trying to get the rom game set up. I've also added all my other normal games, Music and TV shows too. It also has an amazing selection of free stream TV content by using Add-Ons. You can even play free-to-air Digital TV through this, but you will need to buy a USB TV tuner. I am still discovering all the amazing things this software can do, I am glued to all the YouTube tutorials on how to use this at the moment. It looks and feels like Apple TV's user interface and it's free?! You can operate it with a TV remote too. Words cannot describe how amazing this software is. Especially if your using your computer as a media center. Incredible, Amazing, Excellent etc. I love XMBC
Like (1)
Version 13.2
Wts
10 September 2014
When I double clicked to run this application it took over my entire screen and the graphics where spectacular. When I selected my MUSIC folder and selected a song to play i discovered that for some reason you can't do anything else in XBMC or even with other applications such as my browser or mailer because the music playing in the background started to break up. It looks like i may have to spend a couple of hours to make this programme work. At the moment i find this programme really not Mac intuitive. But perhaps in a day or so or even lurking their forum may change my mind. And so my rating at this time very near the bottom of 5 stars: maybe one or two stars. And maybe that's the price of FREE.
Like
Version 13.2
adrianwilliams
29 August 2014
A bit flaky on my mac. Never shuts down properly.
Like (2)
Version 13.2
Timta2
19 August 2014
After using XBMC for years, I can say without a doubt that it's the best media center application I've ever used. It plays everything I throw at it locally or over the network. It's beautiful, elegant, customizable, and easy to use. The XBMC team has also done an incredible job when it comes to the documentation, it's mind-blowing. The only real negative I can point out is the new name - Kodi?
Like (1)
Version 13.2
aguycalledkwest
19 August 2014
man, i don't want to keep repeating how great this app is ...but i did.....lol!
Like (1)
Version 13.2
Baccaroeja
08 August 2014
Just about the best media center for OS X. Great looking and very intuitive interface.
Like (1)
Version 13.2-beta3
aguycalledkwest
06 August 2014
been using this app for 3 years and it keeps better and better ....
Like (2)
Version 13.2-beta3
System77a3c4
21 July 2014
Ugh. What a lousy interface. Typical of a "let's try to port it to Mac OS" mindset. Now I understand why; this was originally developed for the XBox. Figures. I installed this on a NAS box and chose a couple different themes to see if one were better than the other. They all stunk. There is no sense of elegance, intuitiveness or naturalness in the presentation or navigation. I immediately uninstalled and prefer navigating via the Finder, which is horrible itself, but even so, infinitely preferable to XBMC.
Like (4)
Version 13.2-beta1
2 answer(s)
Timta2
Timta2
19 August 2014
So what are you using or have you used that's so much better? Because I've yet to use a better media center.

It wasn't so much "Ported to the Mac" as it's cross-platform, and works the same on all devices/OSes. If you don't like the themes users have created, you can always create your own ;)
Like (2)
ron-elemans
ron-elemans
17 August 2015
Try Movie Explorer. It's a 100% native Mac app and definitely better than browsing via the Finder :)
Like
Wts
20 July 2014
For me this application is weird. I lost my mouse and had to resort to using the arrow keys to navigate my way round and then i was lock on some settings page and could not get back and had to resort to QUIT. This application may be great if you are a gamer or this generation of device users using their thumb to navigate but not for a simple point and click Mac Guy here.
Like
Version 13.2-beta1
2 answer(s)
Timta2
Timta2
19 August 2014
Wouldn't it be easier to get a mouse, which you will need for your computer anyway, instead of complaining? and then of course there's a list of all keyboard controls.... http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Keyboard_controls
Like
Wts
Wts
20 August 2014
@Timta2 when i said i lost my mouse i should have added i lost my mouse POINTER (curser). My comment was not intended to be taken literally . That's one of the problems here with MacUpdate postings in that there is no opportunity to preview/edit.

You must be the developer of this programme since you seem to have plethora of postings defending this programme. And good on you.

Regardless, i tried it again and it's not what i thought this programme was intended to do.

However, "Free" is always nice.
Like
CloudB
15 July 2014
Best media center of OSX.
Like (2)
Version 13.2-beta1
Jazzyguy
14 July 2014
This is a great version. I love to watch movies and listen to music with this software. If this is a candidate for future release. Well developers I say go ahead and make it into a regular version.
Like (2)
Version 13.2-beta1
star-affinity
06 June 2014
Any suggestions for good themes/skins? i don't like the default ones very much.
Like
Version 13.1
2 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
07 June 2014
Try "amber". I like the reduced style. But you can easily download and try other skins from within XBMC (settings > appearance > skins > get more).
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
27 July 2014
I luv Neon
Like (1)
Vikram-Sharma
06 June 2014
Amazing app, I use it on my MBA 2011 with 2 GB RAM runs smoothly. Btw XBMC version 13.1 is out now.
Like (1)
Version 13.1-rc1
Y-Guy
14 May 2014
I've used XBMC since Apple dropped FrontRow back in 2011. I tried Plex and others, but XBMC was the only one that I found easy to setup and get using right away. I use XBMC pretty much for my movie and TV show collections and it handles them very well. The kids find it easy to use, even those that house sit for us find it a breeze to master. The new Gotham v13 came out and update was painless and smooth. Best of all it solved a few issues I'd had. Can't beat the price, and the features are just what I need.
Like (3)
Version 13.1-beta1
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 May 2014
I enthusiastically agree.This is the best app for Movies and Music and the people that down it have nothing whatsoever to say.they are just cowards and morons.
Like (3)
Jazzyguy
06 May 2014
Excellent browser for music,weather,movies.
Like (3)
Version 13.0
4 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 May 2014
I Love it keep downing me .....Doesn't bother me at all.BET it bothers you!
Like (3)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2014
I Don't think so now that it is called Kodi. Everything in the application has an odious aroma now.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
17 December 2014
That was for XBMC not for Kodi which is not the same.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 December 2014
In its present condition it is not good .I tried to delete the previous posting and MacUpdate won’t let me. It refers to XBMC and when all was good .The weather was part of the GUI and the rest of the GUI was good.
Like
Kidsdoc
05 May 2014
Most un-Mac-like. No menu bar. Awkward navigation. Looks like a Windoze app ported to OS X. Has its uses but severely lacking in usability. Can't complain too much, because it's free.
Like (1)
Version 13.0
4 answer(s)
mpiekielnik
mpiekielnik
06 May 2014
You don't get the purpose of XBMC... It is NOT MPlayer replacement...
Like (2)
Kidsdoc
Kidsdoc
06 May 2014
I guess not
Like
MediaFan
MediaFan
07 May 2014
It might be helpful if you would "explain" your statements. One example: "No menu bar": the idea of a media center is to display all available content in the main screen, and not in any menu bar. If you are missing a "menu bar": what would you like to see / control there? And if you say "Most un-Mac-like": compared with which other media center? Or do you compare it with a media player (like Marek suggested) ? Then: you did not get the purpose. Yes, the style is "Windoze" like: I do not like the ".." do move one level up, too. But how would you implement this? But yes: you can complain. Even it is free. Because if you do not pay, but it cost you many hours, then it might be an idea to pay - and spend less time.
Like (2)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
14 May 2014
Huh? It's not really designed to have a menu bar in the first place. XBMC is a cross platform home theater software package that is designed to run on Mac, Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, and others. This is a home theater software, it's not something you really will run on your mac on your desk.
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
06 March 2014
13.0 Beta 1 is out! http://xbmc.org/xbmc-13-0-gotham-beta1-rises/ http://mirrors.xbmc.org/releases/osx/x86_64/xbmc-13.0-Gotham_beta1-x86_64.dmg
Like (3)
Version 12.3
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
02 April 2014
Up to 13.0 Beta 3 now. http://mirror.us.leaseweb.net/xbmc/releases/osx/x86_64/xbmc-13.0-Gotham_beta3-x86_64.dmg
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
24 February 2014
A great Song and Movie viewer
Like (1)
Version 12.3
MediaFan
13 January 2014
Even if I would like to agree, that this free media center is not so bad, I "have to" give low stars. I do not know if everybody else here just have video files (like "mov", "avi" or "mkv"), but most of my (cinema) movies are DVDs and EyeTV files. And I really dislike to open subfolders to start these kind of movies. (And please do not advice me to convert my DVDs to mkv or something similar.) Another point is the cool interface: nothing against it, but it is reducing the important informations. May be I should buy a larger display (having an iMac 27''), but in my opinion is does not comply to the "10-foot user interface". If this application would start to 1.) handle these kind of movies correctly (aka family friendly), 2.) come to the fore the important informations (like the titles and description), 3.) give me direct access to folders (pictures and movies) and volumes as alternative, so I am not forced to use its library (and metadata retrieval), then I will give it more stars.
Like (5)
Version 12.3
4 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
09 February 2014
Try "EyeTV Parser"…pretty cool "video add on"
Like (1)
Sindbad-The-Seafarer
Sindbad-The-Seafarer
09 December 2014
maybe you should take some bucks in your fingers if you are that choosy

you are requiring all features and advantages but they have of course to be free - what a mentality !

I am very thankful for all the hard work the whole number of devs and contributors have invested and an additional clik to enter the eyetv container is truely reasonable imho.
Like
MediaFan
MediaFan
15 December 2014
This is exactly what I finally did after testing the common media centers, but that is not the point. In my opinion, ratings and reviews should give other people hints.

If you find it reasonable to open a EyeTV folder just to select the movie - perfect. And now the people have two opinions and can think about it...
Like
Runlevelzero
Runlevelzero
24 December 2014
You can browse folders to choose the media you want. The titles and description are at the fore, I have no idea what you are talking about. There are also several views you can change that might suit your needs. What do you mean "handle these kind of movies correctly"? If you put the DVD in then it will show it in XBMC once it is mounted or placed in the DVD tray. I think you just wanted everything to work just how YOU want it out of the box. XBMC takes some tweaking to get it to work the way YOU want it to.
Like
Mlsteve
03 January 2014
It looks like the earlier version works fine on my Mavericks, but only when it’s a 32-bit, the 64-bite doesn’t work at all and won’t output any audio, just like the others said. And also, unlock the lock at the bottom of the window and "Allow apps downloaded from: Anywhere" seems to me like a real problem, too. Is it safe for the Mac? I really don’t think so. As for the app itself, what’s wrong with the exit command? Every time I try to log out the program then something happened and the app would not respond at all. Force out is the only way, it works but I don’t feel like doing that all the time. Anyway, other things are fine. If the developers can notice these problems and finally fix them I’ll be thrilled to keep it with me.
Like (1)
Version 12.3
2 answer(s)
MediaFan
MediaFan
13 January 2014
What makes you thing that "Allow apps downloaded from: Anywhere" makes you computer less safe? If you download an application from internet and you start it the first time, then you must confirm (even with this setting) that you are sure and trust this application. This should be save enough! On the other side, Apple forces every developer to pay 80 Euro to let its application being installed with Gatekeeper. If you really just trust Apple, then you should not visit any web side which is not authorized by Apple.
Like
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
18 January 2014
If you want to open or install an app that doesn't have the Gatekeeper license, just right click or control - click and click Open in the contextual menu. No need to change all those permission things.
Like (1)
Quantumpanda
30 December 2013
I can't speak yet on the quality of the app itself, but I wish MacUpdate would advise developers not to tell users to change their Security settings to Allow Apps from Anywhere without explaining the risks associated with choosing this setting. That setting option really should only be selected by users who are comfortable evaluating the trustworthiness of apps and developers themselves, and willing to accept responsibility for judging that incorrectly. Those who are not "power users" should normally leave this option set to "Mac App Store and identified developers" and approve exceptions on a case-by-case basis. It's definitely irresponsible on the part of the developer to advise making that settings change in this manner, and as users look to MacUpdate as a reliable source of software, I feel it's irresponsible for MacUpdate to let such advice be included in a description without explanation of the risks.
Like (1)
Version 12.3
1 answer(s)
martinb2
martinb2
08 January 2014
Interesting comment and in my opinion worth to open another thread (because it might not be the right place to discuss this here): why should an application not suggest (aka give a hint) to allow installation of applications not verified by Apple? When I first saw the message from Apple "This application can not be launched...", I was very much surprised that there were no button to open the system settings to change this setting. Or a hint what to do... I do not want to say anything again it - except that every developer has to pay 80 Euro each year to satisfy Gatekeeper. Or Apple - which is sometimes very difficult and has nothing to do with security... And that you are informed / must confirm if you have downloaded an application from internet and you start it for first time. Which should be save enough.
Like
Frank-O'Connor
26 December 2013
Earlier versions worked fine, this one won't play anything and doesn't even show up in the applications list to play files that used to be no problem. Avoid like the plagie until they fix it. (Mavericks, 64 bit, iMac late 2012)
Like (1)
Version 12.3
Jazzyguy
26 December 2013
XBMC works in Mavericks but in 32Bit for me.I tried the 64Bit new Version and it didn't play my music at all. When I installed the 32Bit all was OK and it played all of my music,both The Flac and the music in iTunes.
Like (1)
Version 12.3
Jakov
25 December 2013
XBMC 12.3 has been released. It still works very nice on my ATV2, it even feels snappier ;-) than version 12.2
Like (1)
Version 12.2
Mikael-B
07 December 2013
Doesn't work with my bluray rip subtitles that works perfectly when played in VLC (with no effort what so ever). Freezes for no good reason. This in OS X 10.6.8. It may work better in later OS versions. Deleted.
Like
Version 12.2