Back to ImageOptim page
ImageOptim free download for Mac

ImageOptim Reviews

16 December 2018

GUI for PNG and JPEG optimization.

5
Ervins Strauhmanis
01 November 2016
Version: 1.6.2

Most helpful

Thanks to the developer Kornel Lesiński and all 3rd party related developers for this great app! Cloud storage space and data transfers come at a cost, and whenever possible, size of a file should be reduced. Especially so when a file is shared with other people—thinking in the best interests' of others always pays off. ImageOptim is very helpful in this regard.
(5)

How would you rate ImageOptim app?

Read 44 ImageOptim User Reviews

5
ismailamiry13
14 August 2020
Version: 1.8.8
hello, thank you for your nice app (ImageOptim), but here we have one problem that, when we are going to comprise the images after comprise it giving us back-up the original image in the trash, can you please help me with it! Thank you.
(0)
4
Tim27
14 May 2020
Version: 1.8.8
This is a really good app for compressing images, especially PNGs. However, if you run it on a lot of images it kicks the computer fan on pretty hard. Not sure why.
(0)
Show comment (1)
timhurt
24 April 2020
Version: 1.8.8
It's so good that I actually want to pay for a free app. I use it everyday. Great support for many formats. Integrates with sites and automatic processes too. Thank you for this great tool. Very sporting of all contributors to open source to make it free.
(1)
5
Fishboy
17 October 2018
Version: 1.8.1
★★★★★ A long-time favorite with many photographers for fast & easy optimization of PNG and JPEG images for web use. Highly recommended! Support development with a donation if you enjoy using it!
(0)
5
Nontroppo
20 March 2018
Version: 1.8.0
Very nice, this update includes SVG optimisation!!! This adds to an already totally brilliant and essential tool for anyone. I use it to optimise figures before creating PDFs as I have more control in ImageOptim than any of the PDF optimising tools... It works just brilliantly, and integrates with services, so for example for screenshots I use a service that resizes the screenshot 50% and then runs automagically through ImageOptim with lossy enabled to get a PNG reduced by more than 80% in size on average from the original!
(2)
5
Rikyman
04 March 2018
Version: 1.8.0a1
This is fantastics, and it’s free. Recommended.
(3)
Show comment (1)
4
Liliannaw9135
09 March 2017
Version: 1.7.0.1
It is really not bad for a free app. Recommend
(0)
4.5
peterbro
12 January 2017
Version: 1.6.5
Nice app. Comprehensible. Easy to use.
(3)
wickedsp1d3r
25 November 2016
Version: 1.6.3
Any possibility to have an option to disable automatic installation of new updates?
(0)
5
Ervins Strauhmanis
01 November 2016
Version: 1.6.2
Thanks to the developer Kornel Lesiński and all 3rd party related developers for this great app! Cloud storage space and data transfers come at a cost, and whenever possible, size of a file should be reduced. Especially so when a file is shared with other people—thinking in the best interests' of others always pays off. ImageOptim is very helpful in this regard.
(5)
wintermute
17 May 2016
Version: 1.6.1
Caution! ClamXav claims this software is infected with "PUA.OSX.InstallCore".
(0)
Show comments (2)
anonymous-mollusk-5346
18 October 2015
Version: 1.6.1a1
Still the only app I've ever encountered that insists on auto-updating without user intervention, and without providing a means of disabling it. The only warning you get is the sudden appearance after quitting the app of a dialogue advising that, "Autoupdater" would like to make changes to the system. Not a single mention of ImageOptim anywhere in that dialogue. The only clue is when you look in the Trash and see the discarded version there. The dev, when contacted, could offer no good reason for this behaviour, and refused to change it. I've disabled it manually, but this shouldn't be necessary.
(3)
5
Nontroppo
13 August 2015
Version: 1.6.0
This is an excellent update, allowing a temporary lossy option and an extension to compress images *within* Mail, really great!
(1)
5
Henrik-Dalgaard
26 July 2015
Version: 1.5.5
Thank you for making it easier to slim down my web images :-)
(2)
5
TomK9265
25 July 2014
Version: 1.5.4.1
Incredibly useful and easy to use
(4)
gtrsteve
12 July 2014
Version: 1.5.4.1
You've got Version 1.5.3 here instead of 1.5.4.1
(0)
anonymous-mollusk-5346
24 May 2014
Version: 1.5.3
The current stable version available from the website appears to be 1.5.1, not 1.5.3, and is compatible with 10.8+.
(0)
5
bbbc
27 April 2014
Version: 1.5.3
The last version to work with Snow Leopard 10.6 and Lion 10.7 is ImageOptim1.5.4a4.tar.bz2 , which is a beta. Just add the site's domain name in front of this archive's name to download.
(1)
5
Mikael-B
18 January 2014
Version: 1.5.0
Indispensable. I'm looking into getting Codekit and if so I might not need this. But It's been a great tool that always shave off some more with quality retained or make images generally publishable.
(1)
3
anonymous-mollusk-5346
29 September 2013
Version: 1.4.5
Does a good job of reducing file sizes, but I've encountered several instance where it won't complete its task, indefinitely showing the cog icon next to the images being processed. Also, the dev, for some reason best known to himself, has decided to allow the Sparkle updater to download updates without user consent, and without offering a user-facing option allowing the user to disable it. Out of the dozen or more apps I have that use the Sparkle framework, this is the only one to be so coded. After conversing with him by email and presenting what I thought were good reasons to include such a feature, the dev still refuses to do so. Hence, only 3 stars.
(1)
SickTeddyBear
22 September 2013
Version: 1.4.5
"Now code-signed. (Purchased 1-year Developer ID from Apple to avoid blocking of independent software in OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and 10.9 Mavericks.)" Please donate to the programmer, to help them pay Apple's developer tax: http://imageoptim.com/donate.html
(2)
Show comment (1)
anonymous-tapir-4715
25 August 2013
Version: 1.4.4
Terrific and free! And boy does it get the crap out of jpegs for web use.
(0)
4.5
Tom-E-Gun
24 July 2013
Version: 1.4.2
PRO: Easy to use, reduces file sizes notably, drag & drop, FREEWARE! CONS: Slow for bigger images, ruins CMYK images, sometimes you need to do a 2nd pass to reduce even more (should be done automatically). This is my feedback to help improve this great app! =)
(1)
5
Afreese
19 July 2013
Version: 1.4.2
Excellent and flexible image compression tool. Use it regularly for all my web projects.
(2)
1.5
Macfoto
04 March 2013
Version: 1.4.1
You can't import (flat) Photoshop-files, no preview... and it takes time. ImageOptim will strip the icc-profile (good for websites, bad for photographers). You will save 5-9% of original file size. No lost of quality.
(0)
avv3lenato
26 November 2012
Version: 1.4.1
Version 1.4.1 crash at launch on my Mac Pro 1,1 OSX 10.7.
(0)
5
hced
21 November 2012
Version: 1.4.0
Useful, usable, quick, actively developed … and free. A serious tool.
(3)
Edified
01 November 2012
Version: 1.4.0
The two things I would add are: 1. A progress for the current batch 2. Some stats (can be in Console log) to say which algorithms were selected most often. I might spend the time to figure out how but I'm sure the original dev could do it quicker.
(0)
5
Edified
30 October 2012
Version: 1.4.0
Handled 5000+ png tiles like a pro. This app tries a variety of algorithms several times to find the optimal compression method and settings for each png (of jpg or gif). Check out the preferences and you'll see why this is more valuable than simple guis that just pipe through a single command line tool.
(0)
5
rspeed
27 March 2012
Version: 1.4.0
Does what it says on the tin with very little effort. The only improvement I cold ask for is for it to run faster on large images, but I know that's not possible without replacing the underlying software.
(0)
5
Eridani
02 March 2012
Version: 1.3.4
I love it, got tons of images for my last website optimized in some minutes automatically without any noticeable quality loss. Just drag&drop images to the app window and it does the hard job for you, it let you take a break and eat a slice of pie or continue working without worrying for the monotone task of image optimization. Oh! And its free. =3
(1)
5
Programhappy
07 February 2012
Version: 1.3.3
This is an absolutely flawless application. It does what it is designed to do better than any application on my computer (I have hundreds). PNG files from my Web site designer get reduced by up to 80% without any discernible loss in quality! ImageOptim is glorious in its simplicity and ease of use. It's drag-and-drop heaven!
(1)
5
anonymous-dingo-653
06 January 2012
Version: 1.3.3
Still one the of the best little utilities of its kind. Does one thing and does it well and does with both major web graphic formats. Features rating on this one is a bit pointless and it doesn't really apply.
(0)
5
foobie
14 December 2011
Version: 1.3.2
Wow. This is the simplest, fastest and wonderfullest png/gif/jpg optimiser eva! Knocked a good few % off some files even after we had used pngcrush; and supports gifs and jpgs too. The curious part of me would like to see a log showing which of the attempted optimisations was best, but other than that it's just fabulous :-)
(0)
5
Macs007
20 November 2011
Version: 1.3.2
Great app to narrow down bandwidth. But it sometimes struggles with JPEG2000 files creating corrupted files. Any fix for this?
(0)
5
Nontroppo
19 November 2011
Version: 1.3.2
My last review for this was in 2008, and this is still an essential go-to tool. The perfect minimal UI and an excellent set of options for compression. This fully deserves 5 stars, then and now!
(1)
5
wickedsp1d3r
09 September 2011
Version: 1.3.0
An essential tool when building a website. Five stars all the way!
(2)
5
Parkerbennett
05 September 2011
Version: 1.3.0
I recently discovered this app while reading about a paid competitor. This recent upgrade has risen the bar considerably for this amazing free app. I couldn't imagine coding a website now without it!
(3)
5
xati-ba
26 July 2011
Version: 1.2.5
So... It's theoretically impossible for this app to decrease the quality of my images, right? If that is the case, then 5 stars all the way! Very simple to use and efficient. Some images have their size reduced by 40% or more. Great for reddit and 4chan browsers who have large collections of images.
(3)
5
Pripyat
24 June 2011
Version: 1.2.5
Awesome application - this was just what I was looking for!!
(2)
5
Arvidtp
22 June 2009
Version: 1.0.10
Great little app. Sometimes reduces the filesize of small PNGs saved from Preview by about 45%! Whenever I develop a wordpress theme, I just drop the folder on this before uploading to the web - couldn't be simpler.
(4)
Krystof-Vasa
17 September 2008
Version: 1.0.2
Note that if your PNG is 24-bit, it gets stripped down to 8 bits only.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Beamy
14 September 2008
Version: 1.0.1
Nice program and easy to use. I compared the resulting images with png images optimized by "PNGpong" and PNGpong made smaller files. How do I have to set the preferences in ImageOptim in order to have the same results as with PNGpong ? I prefer ImageOptim because it is a program and not a widget. :-)
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
Nontroppo
14 September 2008
Version: 1.0.1
This is a wonderful tool; simple to use yet with a whole set of different optimization options available. Drop your images and let it do its magic. It gets a precious space in my dock...
(2)