Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to ImageOptim page
ImageOptim free download for Mac

ImageOptim Reviews

16 December 2018

GUI for PNG and JPEG optimization.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 19 2020
1.8.8
5.0
Dec 19 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.8
All the positive reviews here are deserved, but I want to add something that's essential, from my point of view, when dealing with PNG: you get even better results when using first ImageAlpha (by the same dev), it then automatically sends its result to ImageOptim and can achieve up to 90% gain!
ismailamiry13
ismailamiry13
Aug 14 2020
1.8.8
5.0
Aug 14 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.8
hello, thank you for your nice app (ImageOptim), but here we have one problem that, when we are going to comprise the images after comprise it giving us back-up the original image in the trash, can you please help me with it! Thank you.
Tim27
Tim27
May 14 2020
1.8.8
4.0
May 14 2020
4.0
Version: 1.8.8
This is a really good app for compressing images, especially PNGs. However, if you run it on a lot of images it kicks the computer fan on pretty hard. Not sure why.
timhurt
timhurt
Apr 24 2020
1.8.8
5.0
Apr 24 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.8
It's so good that I actually want to pay for a free app. I use it everyday. Great support for many formats. Integrates with sites and automatic processes too. Thank you for this great tool. Very sporting of all contributors to open source to make it free.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Oct 17 2018
1.8.1
5.0
Oct 17 2018
5.0
Version: 1.8.1
★★★★★ A long-time favorite with many photographers for fast & easy optimization of PNG and JPEG images for web use. Highly recommended! Support development with a donation if you enjoy using it!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Mar 20 2018
1.8.0
5.0
Mar 20 2018
5.0
Version: 1.8.0
Very nice, this update includes SVG optimisation!!! This adds to an already totally brilliant and essential tool for anyone. I use it to optimise figures before creating PDFs as I have more control in ImageOptim than any of the PDF optimising tools... It works just brilliantly, and integrates with services, so for example for screenshots I use a service that resizes the screenshot 50% and then runs automagically through ImageOptim with lossy enabled to get a PNG reduced by more than 80% in size on average from the original!
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
1.8.0a1
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 1.8.0a1
This is fantastics, and it’s free. Recommended.
Liliannaw9135
Liliannaw9135
Mar 9 2017
1.7.0.1
4.0
Mar 9 2017
4.0
Version: 1.7.0.1
It is really not bad for a free app. Recommend
peterbro
peterbro
Jan 12 2017
1.6.5
4.5
Jan 12 2017
4.5
Version: 1.6.5
Nice app. Comprehensible. Easy to use.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Nov 25 2016
1.6.3
5.0
Nov 25 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6.3
Any possibility to have an option to disable automatic installation of new updates?
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
Nov 1 2016
1.6.2
5.0
Nov 1 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6.2
Thanks to the developer Kornel Lesiński and all 3rd party related developers for this great app! Cloud storage space and data transfers come at a cost, and whenever possible, size of a file should be reduced. Especially so when a file is shared with other people—thinking in the best interests' of others always pays off. ImageOptim is very helpful in this regard.
wintermute
wintermute
May 17 2016
1.6.1
0.0
May 17 2016
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
Caution! ClamXav claims this software is infected with "PUA.OSX.InstallCore".
anonymous-mollusk-5346
anonymous-mollusk-5346
Oct 18 2015
1.6.1a1
3.0
Oct 18 2015
3.0
Version: 1.6.1a1
Still the only app I've ever encountered that insists on auto-updating without user intervention, and without providing a means of disabling it. The only warning you get is the sudden appearance after quitting the app of a dialogue advising that, "Autoupdater" would like to make changes to the system. Not a single mention of ImageOptim anywhere in that dialogue. The only clue is when you look in the Trash and see the discarded version there. The dev, when contacted, could offer no good reason for this behaviour, and refused to change it. I've disabled it manually, but this shouldn't be necessary.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Aug 13 2015
1.6.0
5.0
Aug 13 2015
5.0
Version: 1.6.0
This is an excellent update, allowing a temporary lossy option and an extension to compress images *within* Mail, really great!
Henrik-Dalgaard
Henrik-Dalgaard
Jul 26 2015
1.5.5
5.0
Jul 26 2015
5.0
Version: 1.5.5
Thank you for making it easier to slim down my web images :-)
TomK9265
TomK9265
Jul 25 2014
1.5.4.1
5.0
Jul 25 2014
5.0
Version: 1.5.4.1
Incredibly useful and easy to use
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
Jul 12 2014
1.5.4.1
0.0
Jul 12 2014
0.0
Version: 1.5.4.1
You've got Version 1.5.3 here instead of 1.5.4.1
anonymous-mollusk-5346
anonymous-mollusk-5346
May 24 2014
1.5.3
3.0
May 24 2014
3.0
Version: 1.5.3
The current stable version available from the website appears to be 1.5.1, not 1.5.3, and is compatible with 10.8+.
bbbc
bbbc
Apr 27 2014
1.5.3
5.0
Apr 27 2014
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
The last version to work with Snow Leopard 10.6 and Lion 10.7 is ImageOptim1.5.4a4.tar.bz2 , which is a beta. Just add the site's domain name in front of this archive's name to download.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jan 18 2014
1.5.0
5.0
Jan 18 2014
5.0
Version: 1.5.0
Indispensable. I'm looking into getting Codekit and if so I might not need this. But It's been a great tool that always shave off some more with quality retained or make images generally publishable.
anonymous-mollusk-5346
anonymous-mollusk-5346
Sep 29 2013
1.4.5
3.0
Sep 29 2013
3.0
Version: 1.4.5
Does a good job of reducing file sizes, but I've encountered several instance where it won't complete its task, indefinitely showing the cog icon next to the images being processed. Also, the dev, for some reason best known to himself, has decided to allow the Sparkle updater to download updates without user consent, and without offering a user-facing option allowing the user to disable it. Out of the dozen or more apps I have that use the Sparkle framework, this is the only one to be so coded. After conversing with him by email and presenting what I thought were good reasons to include such a feature, the dev still refuses to do so. Hence, only 3 stars.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Sep 22 2013
1.4.5
0.0
Sep 22 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.5
"Now code-signed. (Purchased 1-year Developer ID from Apple to avoid blocking of independent software in OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and 10.9 Mavericks.)" Please donate to the programmer, to help them pay Apple's developer tax: http://imageoptim.com/donate.html
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Aug 25 2013
1.4.4
0.0
Aug 25 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.4
Terrific and free! And boy does it get the crap out of jpegs for web use.
Tom-E-Gun
Tom-E-Gun
Jul 24 2013
1.4.2
4.5
Jul 24 2013
4.5
Version: 1.4.2
PRO: Easy to use, reduces file sizes notably, drag & drop, FREEWARE! CONS: Slow for bigger images, ruins CMYK images, sometimes you need to do a 2nd pass to reduce even more (should be done automatically). This is my feedback to help improve this great app! =)
Afreese
Afreese
Jul 19 2013
1.4.2
5.0
Jul 19 2013
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
Excellent and flexible image compression tool. Use it regularly for all my web projects.
Macfoto
Macfoto
Mar 4 2013
1.4.1
1.5
Mar 4 2013
1.5
Version: 1.4.1
You can't import (flat) Photoshop-files, no preview... and it takes time. ImageOptim will strip the icc-profile (good for websites, bad for photographers). You will save 5-9% of original file size. No lost of quality.
avv3lenato
avv3lenato
Nov 26 2012
1.4.1
0.0
Nov 26 2012
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
Version 1.4.1 crash at launch on my Mac Pro 1,1 OSX 10.7.
hced
hced
Nov 21 2012
1.4.0
5.0
Nov 21 2012
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Useful, usable, quick, actively developed … and free. A serious tool.
Edified
Edified
Nov 1 2012
1.4.0
5.0
Nov 1 2012
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
The two things I would add are: 1. A progress for the current batch 2. Some stats (can be in Console log) to say which algorithms were selected most often. I might spend the time to figure out how but I'm sure the original dev could do it quicker.
Edified
Edified
Oct 30 2012
1.4.0
5.0
Oct 30 2012
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Handled 5000+ png tiles like a pro. This app tries a variety of algorithms several times to find the optimal compression method and settings for each png (of jpg or gif). Check out the preferences and you'll see why this is more valuable than simple guis that just pipe through a single command line tool.
rspeed
rspeed
Mar 27 2012
1.4.0
5.0
Mar 27 2012
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Does what it says on the tin with very little effort. The only improvement I cold ask for is for it to run faster on large images, but I know that's not possible without replacing the underlying software.
Eridani
Eridani
Mar 2 2012
1.3.4
5.0
Mar 2 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.4
I love it, got tons of images for my last website optimized in some minutes automatically without any noticeable quality loss. Just drag&drop images to the app window and it does the hard job for you, it let you take a break and eat a slice of pie or continue working without worrying for the monotone task of image optimization. Oh! And its free. =3
Programhappy
Programhappy
Feb 7 2012
1.3.3
5.0
Feb 7 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
This is an absolutely flawless application. It does what it is designed to do better than any application on my computer (I have hundreds). PNG files from my Web site designer get reduced by up to 80% without any discernible loss in quality! ImageOptim is glorious in its simplicity and ease of use. It's drag-and-drop heaven!
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Jan 6 2012
1.3.3
5.0
Jan 6 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Still one the of the best little utilities of its kind. Does one thing and does it well and does with both major web graphic formats. Features rating on this one is a bit pointless and it doesn't really apply.
foobie
foobie
Dec 14 2011
1.3.2
5.0
Dec 14 2011
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
Wow. This is the simplest, fastest and wonderfullest png/gif/jpg optimiser eva! Knocked a good few % off some files even after we had used pngcrush; and supports gifs and jpgs too. The curious part of me would like to see a log showing which of the attempted optimisations was best, but other than that it's just fabulous :-)
Macs007
Macs007
Nov 20 2011
1.3.2
5.0
Nov 20 2011
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
Great app to narrow down bandwidth. But it sometimes struggles with JPEG2000 files creating corrupted files. Any fix for this?
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Nov 19 2011
1.3.2
5.0
Nov 19 2011
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
My last review for this was in 2008, and this is still an essential go-to tool. The perfect minimal UI and an excellent set of options for compression. This fully deserves 5 stars, then and now!
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Sep 9 2011
1.3.0
5.0
Sep 9 2011
5.0
Version: 1.3.0
An essential tool when building a website. Five stars all the way!
Parkerbennett
Parkerbennett
Sep 5 2011
1.3.0
5.0
Sep 5 2011
5.0
Version: 1.3.0
I recently discovered this app while reading about a paid competitor. This recent upgrade has risen the bar considerably for this amazing free app. I couldn't imagine coding a website now without it!
xati-ba
xati-ba
Jul 26 2011
1.2.5
5.0
Jul 26 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2.5
So... It's theoretically impossible for this app to decrease the quality of my images, right? If that is the case, then 5 stars all the way! Very simple to use and efficient. Some images have their size reduced by 40% or more. Great for reddit and 4chan browsers who have large collections of images.
Pripyat
Pripyat
Jun 24 2011
1.2.5
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2.5
Awesome application - this was just what I was looking for!!
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
Jun 22 2009
1.0.10
5.0
Jun 22 2009
5.0
Version: 1.0.10
Great little app. Sometimes reduces the filesize of small PNGs saved from Preview by about 45%! Whenever I develop a wordpress theme, I just drop the folder on this before uploading to the web - couldn't be simpler.
Krystof-Vasa
Krystof-Vasa
Sep 17 2008
1.0.2
0.0
Sep 17 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.2
Note that if your PNG is 24-bit, it gets stripped down to 8 bits only.
Beamy
Beamy
Sep 14 2008
1.0.1
0.0
Sep 14 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Nice program and easy to use. I compared the resulting images with png images optimized by "PNGpong" and PNGpong made smaller files. How do I have to set the preferences in ImageOptim in order to have the same results as with PNGpong ? I prefer ImageOptim because it is a program and not a widget. :-)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Sep 14 2008
1.0.1
5.0
Sep 14 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
This is a wonderful tool; simple to use yet with a whole set of different optimization options available. Drop your images and let it do its magic. It gets a precious space in my dock...