Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MindNode page
MindNode free download for Mac

MindNode Reviews

22 June 2021

Elegant mindmapping application.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
AlexReyes
AlexReyes
Jun 7 2021
2021.2.1
4.0
Jun 7 2021
4.0
Version: 2021.2.1
keeps me productive
iksretep
iksretep
Feb 3 2020
7.0.1
0.0
Feb 3 2020
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
This is a great app and I’ve used it for some projects ... I happily paid upgrade fees every time a new version came out, but I will bail on the subscription model. While Pages and Numbers are not as intuitive, for the type of mind mapping I do both are quite enough. It’s not about being cheap, it’s about owning software and not wanting to rent it. I’m all for supporting app development but between kickstarter campaigns and subscriptions that some developers introduce it’s just getting out of hand in my opinion.
Filou53
Filou53
Jan 22 2020
6.1.2
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 6.1.2
it's now version 7 with a "new business model" ! "a subscription-based pricing system." Yes they did it :-( Sayonara MindNote...
1920 Riverside
1920 Riverside
Sep 16 2019
6.0.6
2.0
Sep 16 2019
2.0
Version: 6.0.6
Good but very expensive. I am done.
Luhengqi
Luhengqi
Apr 17 2019
5.2.6
4.0
Apr 17 2019
4.0
Version: 5.2.6
Looks good.
albertoluengo24-1
albertoluengo24-1
Mar 28 2019
5.2.6
0.0
Mar 28 2019
0.0
Version: 5.2.6
Hey, I want to know if this app works with macOS 10.13.6??
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Dec 14 2018
5.2.3
0.0
Dec 14 2018
0.0
Version: 5.2.3
Further Clarification.

The initial download allows users to 'unlock' a Two Week Trial for the full version. After that time, it reverts to what's described in the FAQ for the free version. (See neeklamy's post below).

COSTS:
• Upgrade from MindNode 2 = $14.99
• Full version purchase = $39.99
Rafaciana
Rafaciana
Jun 15 2018
5.0.11
0.0
Jun 15 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0.11
Is this really free?
Sandra S.
Sandra S.
Feb 13 2018
5.0.5
2.5
Feb 13 2018
2.5
Version: 5.0.5
This app is not free.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Dec 19 2017
5.0.3
0.0
Dec 19 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0.3
NO, it's NOT free. It costs $39.99. The upgrade from v2 costs $14.99. A two week trial is free.
franticfreddie
franticfreddie
Dec 3 2017
2.5.5
3.0
Dec 3 2017
3.0
Version: 2.5.5
There is a new version MindNode 5 paid upgrade for macOS (and iOS). They are free to download with In-App purchase for full-version unlock, or a free 14-day trial. Former users get a lower upgrade price. Without payment, it serves as a viewer-app. More info here:
https://mindnode.com/news/2017-11-28-mindnode-5-it-starts-with-a-thought
cig0
cig0
Sep 13 2017
2.5.2
4.0
Sep 13 2017
4.0
Version: 2.5.2
This app is delightful. However developers take their time to deliver bug fixes which sometimes can be annoying -- and I'm thinking about a specific Preferences issue that made impossible to customize the app and lasted for well two or three months. Other than that I highly recommend it, it's my daily driver for dumping ideas into a canvas.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Sep 17 2016
2.3.5
5.0
Sep 17 2016
5.0
Version: 2.3.5
Great app. I also use iThoughtsX, but have trouble deciding which is my favorite.
hisham-1
hisham-1
Sep 17 2016
2.3.5
5.0
Sep 17 2016
5.0
Version: 2.3.5
Great tool. Highly recommended. Together with the iOS version this is a pretty slick way to mindmap.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Jul 14 2015
2.0.1
5.0
Jul 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
I use this app routinely and recommend it without hesitation. There are several apps that allow you to create mind maps and you should look at them all on their websites to see which one may suit your needs. I have found this one works simply, elegantly and reliably. It also has the added benefit of syncing to iOS devices that also run an iOS version of the app.
Cyberchriss1973
Cyberchriss1973
Jun 27 2015
2.0.1
5.0
Jun 27 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Great App!
Mac-30
Mac-30
Feb 24 2015
1.11.1
2.5
Feb 24 2015
2.5
Version: 1.11.1
I'm very disappointed with this developer not offering a reduced and fair price to long-time users. The $20 price that is the same for old and new customer alike rubs me wrong. There is no loyalty shown to those who have supported this app with reviews and recommendations to prospective buyers. I like the former version and may stay with it, or "invest" in one of the other highly rated apps in this genre. The rating is based on my experience with the old version; and my disdain for this developer's pricing policies.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Sep 9 2014
1.10.6.1
3.0
Sep 9 2014
3.0
Version: 1.10.6.1
Cannot update. The app constantly crashes when I try to download and install the latest version (non-AppStore!). Sadly there’s only a demo version available on the developer’s site. What gives? How can I update my registered MindNode Pro?
Aargl
Aargl
May 6 2014
1.10.6
3.5
May 6 2014
3.5
Version: 1.10.6
Really nice and easy to use! I regret they abandoned the colored icons, after version 1.8 — luckily, not all the dev's feel like entering the grey and dull world… ;-) One thing I miss, compared to other tools such as Xmind or MindManager, is the ability to attach notes to a node: you can find a workaround by folding/unfolding a node, or attaching an external text file to each node, but it's not as convenient. Except for that, it's so amazingly easy to use that no other product gets close to it on that matter!
xcoxco
xcoxco
Dec 19 2013
1.10.5
4.0
Dec 19 2013
4.0
Version: 1.10.5
Great app, and nice integration among OSX and iOS devices via iCloud. And, unlike some other reviewers, I happily bought my license via the App Store. My prior mind mapper experience is with NovaMind Pro and MindJet's MindManager.
csale
csale
Jan 18 2013
1.9.4
0.0
Jan 18 2013
0.0
Version: 1.9.4
Will I be able to install it to multiple computers (3) that I use my app store account for (1 iMac, 2 Macbooks) or will each need an individual registration number? I'm a teacher and would like to use this program for pre-writing exercises
Max-G
Max-G
Dec 10 2012
1.9.3
0.0
Dec 10 2012
0.0
Version: 1.9.3
Developer, please reconsider only working with the AppStore. I hate it, as many, many users do. Otherwise please explain here why it is too much trouble to make it available through your site or MU.
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
Dec 8 2012
1.9.2
2.0
Dec 8 2012
2.0
Version: 1.9.2
This app does what it says it will do. Without clutter. Which means your tool bar is empty. I had high hopes for this. It shows promise, but will it deliver? There are free apps that do more than this Pro version. I can't complain about the free version. I am more unsettled about the "Pro" version. A "Pro" app should be more feature rich to use that in its name & to cost more than a few dollars. The app been around for a few years now & the development seems to be slow.
Max-G
Max-G
Nov 8 2012
1.9.2
0.0
Nov 8 2012
0.0
Version: 1.9.2
Huh? Only in the App Store? I bought this thing quite some time ago, wanted to update and am now pointed to Apple. I do not want to get things there. Developer, can you please take care of an alternative route?
Valerioz69
Valerioz69
Aug 24 2012
1.9
4.5
Aug 24 2012
4.5
Version: 1.9
SImple but useful. This application have several limitations, compared with others, but...it is fast to use. On the other side, mindnode is extremely importaent to catch the flow of thoughts and I guess this is maybe its most imoprtant facet. You can quickly and easily have a clear and clean map of your thoughts. the cost is extremely reasonable.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Aug 14 2012
1.9
4.0
Aug 14 2012
4.0
Version: 1.9
This is a good Mind Mapping application, with lot's of potential. But the functionality and control over the output (layout) is quite basic at this stage, even in the Pro version. I am a long time Mind Manager user, which has much more functionality, albeit poorly implemented in my view. MindNode Pro has the potential to be more useful than Mind Manager. And it need not replicate all of Mind Manager's capabilities to be so. But it needs to become more than what it is presently ... I am hopeful.
Xplicit
Xplicit
Jun 1 2012
1.8.1
5.0
Jun 1 2012
5.0
Version: 1.8.1
The non-MAS version can be found here: http://www.mindnode.com/download/MindNodePro.zip
normfields
normfields
Apr 27 2012
1.7.6
4.0
Apr 27 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7.6
This is a very easy to use app for creating and taking notes with mind maps. I would have given it five stars if it had a Keynote/PowerPoint export option.
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 2 2012
1.7.6
3.5
Mar 2 2012
3.5
Version: 1.7.6
Very elegant and easy to use indeed, but I miss a few features: - quicklook on text documents - integrated notes attached to each node and displaying as quicklook or popup or dedicated window
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Jan 20 2012
1.7.5
0.0
Jan 20 2012
0.0
Version: 1.7.5
WHAT'S NEW Version 1.7.5: Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated. Sure... very informative.
wilykyley
wilykyley
Jan 4 2012
1.7.4
4.0
Jan 4 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7.4
I use this application quite a bit, and I love that it is available for iPad and iPhone.
Vinkri
Vinkri
Nov 26 2011
1.7.4
4.0
Nov 26 2011
4.0
Version: 1.7.4
A good mind mapping application. With a Mac interface. Easy to use and efficient. A bit overpriced compared to the free version (Mindnode), but I guess some users need the full features. I use it all the time. very responsive with the keyboard. a good app.
JetsSetter
JetsSetter
Nov 6 2011
1.7.4
5.0
Nov 6 2011
5.0
Version: 1.7.4
Review is coming soon… Best Regards Vitaly.
Iank
Iank
Aug 12 2011
1.7.2
3.0
Aug 12 2011
3.0
Version: 1.7.2
It works. That's all you can really say about it. It's not feature rich, but I'm not sure if it's meant to be. It works well in OS X Snow Leopard and Lion. I just don't have any reason to give it more than an average rating. Heck, it's so simple, it may as well be free, or maybe as expensive as the cheap iOS apps.
Paolo-Tramannoni
Paolo-Tramannoni
May 7 2011
1.6.3
4.5
May 7 2011
4.5
Version: 1.6.3
A very elegant small app, that hides its (not so limited) power behind the easiest-to-use user interface. Mindmapping is a matter of just thinking to your ideas, not to the tool you are using to think. Other apps might save you a bit of money in exchange of a clumsy interface - this one saves you some good ideas with its beautiful design.
Joeshmoe200us
Joeshmoe200us
May 5 2011
1.6.3
3.0
May 5 2011
3.0
Version: 1.6.3
Freemind is free and offers a lot more features then MindNode Pro, but has a bit more of a learning curve to use those features. MindNodePro has a much simpler user interface, but I dont' think it's worth the (~$25) price for it's limited features. The one cool feature I do like that Freemind doesn't have, is that you can drag and drop pictures/documents and it will show the actual image/contents in your mindmap.
Mtcobra
Mtcobra
May 4 2011
1.6.3
0.0
May 4 2011
0.0
Version: 1.6.3
Release notes for 1.6.3: MindNode Pro 1.6.3 Change Log Added support for unfolding one level at a time. Fixed an issue with the Spotlight importer that would prevent the indexing of node titles. Correctly apply line width when importing OPML and FreeMind documents. Updated the style preferences to better support devices with smaller screen (like the 11" Mac Book Air). Fixes a memory leak.
oscar-e
oscar-e
Mar 23 2011
1.6.2
4.5
Mar 23 2011
4.5
Version: 1.6.2
Slightly pricy for the limited features, would like to see easy integration of web links into the text. Easy to use and great for brain storming though!
Trekker
Trekker
Feb 25 2011
1.6.2
4.5
Feb 25 2011
4.5
Version: 1.6.2
Insanely great program! Simple and easy to figure out and use so that's there's an extremely minimal learning curve. Does everything I need without being bloated like most other mindmapping software. I use it everyday for many different uses, and have even outlined a complex book I'm writing with it. Simply the best!
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Dec 10 2010
1.6
5.0
Dec 10 2010
5.0
Version: 1.6
What can I say? Simple. Elegant. Easy to use. All of these and more. I also have OmniGrafflePro, but I find myself using MindNodePro more and more. This app makes mapping out sermons and story illustrations a snap. And it's companion app for the iPhone is great. Every time I use MNP, I feel like a child exploring a new world of possibilities. It's really fun to use!
E-sapwater-%aze
E-sapwater-%aze
Jul 15 2010
1.5.1
0.0
Jul 15 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
MindNode Pro is so straightforward and intuitive it immediately solved some project outline hurdles. Downloaded the demo and within 1 minute purchased it. Haven't had this much creative fun in a long time. Thanks!
Felinity
Felinity
Jun 19 2010
1.5.1
5.0
Jun 19 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
I cannot say enough good things about MindNode Pro. It's simple, beautiful and effective. It may not have every feature, but it seems this is because the developer is proceeding in a very apple-like way; realizing that you don't need to cater to absolutely everybody all the time, and adding features only when they are needed. the other thing worth praising is that the demo version, rather than being limited by time, is limited to 20 nodes (and a watermark when printing?). I think this sets the threshold just right. There's no time pressure, so you can happily use it till you outgrow the demo. so with that said, here are some of my humble feature ideas: How about text fields that can be placed anywhere on their own or linked with node/s, that can be shown or hidden easily. I often want to explain something or comment on a specific node but have that text only show up when you want. At the moment you can share with devices on the same wifi network which is pretty neat. Imagine how useful it would be if your mind maps were stored in some sort of cloud. You could hash out some ideas on your iphone, get home, open mindnode on your main computer and automatically have it sync any changes or new mind maps you created when you were on the move. Or how about having more than one person working on the same document? Huzzah. I'd be curious what the developer thinks of that.
hced
hced
May 16 2010
1.5
5.0
May 16 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5
Been using this for a year and a half. Simplicity and productivity are the keywords for this mindmapping app. It certainly doesn't have an excessive amount of features and that's what I like about MindNode. This app focuses on the _collection_ of ideas, more than it does in presenting ideas. The 1.5 release, that now lets you insert document links (of course even other MindMaps, and with instant updates when you edit these documents), MindNode was just bumped from perfect to perfect x 2. The feature letting you add images doesn't hurt either. Love it.
Randalflynn-yahoo-com
Randalflynn-yahoo-com
Sep 30 2009
1.4
0.0
Sep 30 2009
0.0
Version: 1.4
Really like this app but am trying to decide between this and MyThoughts (which costs quite a lot more). Only real advantage of the latter, it seems, is that it allows images and icons to be used (and provides a huge library of them). Do you have any plans to include this kind of feature, and if so, when? And would there be a fee increase (which would be fair, of course)? This is the only feature I'm waiting for. Thanks a lot! Randal.
Lubomir-Herko
Lubomir-Herko
Feb 11 2009
1.1
0.0
Feb 11 2009
0.0
Version: 1.1
I was looking for many things like this.. I have XMIND 2009 license as a part of macheist or macupdate bundle.. but XMIND is just HUGE and I don't like ECLIPSE enviroment.. and this is kind of app what I was looking for.. very simple, COCOA, ... maybe this one is too simple, I miss drawind options and maybe creating custom connections between different nodes (eg. foreing keys in DB model).. cool app though.. Do you plan more features?
gcoghill
gcoghill
Feb 11 2009
1.1
5.0
Feb 11 2009
5.0
Version: 1.1
Great app, good price. Does what it's designed for and keeps it full-featured but also nice and simple.
Stosh1985
Stosh1985
Feb 10 2009
1.1
0.0
Feb 10 2009
0.0
Version: 1.1
I really love this app... the only thing that has stopped me from buying Pro is the lack of cross-connecting nodes and the lack of a time frame for it's implementation. If that feature were implemented I would buy it in a heart beat and even pay twice what the developer is currently asking.
Ticonuck
Ticonuck
Oct 25 2008
1.0.2
0.0
Oct 25 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.2
It isn't obvious to me what the differences between MindNode Pro and MindNode are. Anyone? A nice comparative list of features for the 2 would be ideal, but I didn't see that on the developer's website or in the documentation. Maybe I didn't look hard enough.
Xplicit
Xplicit
Sep 17 2008
1.0.1
5.0
Sep 17 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
MindNode Pro is a lean and easy to use mind mapping application. Want results fast? Use this. The free version is great but the pro version has some nice additional features which make it even better. This app is much more quality than the ones I tried recently. No bugs, no flaws, no glitches. Really good work!!!
E-mathias
E-mathias
Sep 14 2008
1.0
0.0
Sep 14 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0
A great App. I used to play with the original versions : the improvment of the Pro version make this app a MUST HAVE Markus made a very good job ! thanks emmanuel. a fan :)