Back to fruux page
fruux free download for Mac

fruux Reviews

2.2
29 August 2013

Sync your address book, calendars, tasks, and bookmarks between Macs.

Joeles
12 September 2008

Most helpful

Installation and setup was very easy, but there is zero documentation (thats the reason for just 4 stars). I guess the lack of documentation is okay, because the app is still in beta and their support is very responsive (they replied literally within seconds to my email). Installation and setup is like this: - download the app - unzip (doubleclick the zip file) - doubleclick the unzipped prefpane - select "install only for current user" (got this hint from their support) - the app/prefpane starts - enter your emailadress, a password and a password confirmation - after a few seconds you get an email with your activation link - click it - activate "always synchronize" in the prefpane - click "synchronize now" in the prefpane - ready of course the app isn't very helpful if you don't install it on another computer. so do the same on another computer (i tried it on my imac and my macbook). of course you shouldn't create a second account, but use the one you created on the first computer. their support told me, that installation is easier if you decide which computer has your "master" addressbook and install on this system first, sync with the server, than delete the addressbook on the "slave" computer and install fruux there, too.
Like (11)
Version 0.6

Read 55 fruux User Reviews

Rate this app:

ZeroDark:30
07 November 2018
Thank you, MacUpdate, and, thank you, Fruux.

Here it is, late 2018, and I'm trying to extract myself from the caved-in "silo" of the Apple ecosystem in regards to calendar, contacts, and more that no longer "play well" with each other across multi-vintaged Apple OS/iOS products.

I really enjoy and use BusyMac products, which no longer worked effectively with a growing number of our resources/tooling due to new Apple security processes, including their implementation and the performance of two-factor authentication.

I appreciate Uncoy's info tidbit, along with others, so, finding this page as part of a Google search is a blessing!

In our DCC (Digital Content Creation) work and consultancy, I appreciate having parity across iOS, MacOS, Windows, Android, and Linux systems without relying on the Google interface and limitations.

While there are certainly a number of details to work out, including bringing in Thunderbird, at least Fruux, BusyMac, and other resources have some pretty awesomely lucid and workable Help available! Wow!

Thank you for keeping this page extant!
Like
Version 2.2
Uncoy
20 April 2015
Here's the lowdown guys. Syncs great to your phone. Apple's Address Book on the other hand has a very buggy CardDAV implementation and you will lose data. Here's how to live well with Fruux.

1. On desktop use Fruux in the browser.
2. Sync to your multiple phones, tablets.

Changes show up instantly and reliably.

Don't try to use groups (groups do not work consistently across devices/systems). You can use multiple address books (with pro account).

Fruux makes Blackberry 10, Android, Windows Phone viable for Mac users (Blackberry is best for productivity, Android for flexibility, Windows Phone for photography as examples of why you might want something other than iOS.

https://foliovision.com/2011/11/people-who-buy-iphones-are-image-conscious-fad-following-idiots
Like
Version 2.2
D9
13 November 2013
I guess I was anticipating this being more on the lines of BusyCal or Spanning Sync which would sync iCloud Calendar < > Google Calendar (e.g. - iCloud Work calendar syncs with Google Job calendar). Instead, this appears to be a substitute for a cross platform calendar like Google Calendar (can be set up on Mac OS X, iOS, Android). There appears to be no way to have these entries automatically sync with existing iCloud and/or Google calendars. I assume Contacts works the same way.
Like
Version 2.2
Beamy
28 June 2013
I click download, but then nothing downloads and nothing can be downloaded from Fruux. Therefore the "downloaded" program has no features, is not usable and gets a bad rating.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
29 August 2013
Historically fruux was an application, we made it better and removed that requirement. These days it's just natively supported in your existing apps. See the spot on comment from Rob below.
Like
Penguirl
14 February 2013
This is *not* an app, so why is it listed on MacUpdate? You can't download and install it…
Like (4)
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
29 August 2013
Historically fruux was an application, we made it better and removed that requirement. These days it's just natively supported in your existing apps. See the spot on comment from Rob below.
Like
Rampancy
21 December 2012
I find it really annoying that this is still on MacUpdate, even though it is completely a webapp. There is no desktop client to download, or app to install; the fruux staff who've commented on this argue that they still support their old prefpane, but there's no clear link to download it anywhere on their site. By extension, should MU list all webapps on their site? This entry pretty much amounts to linkspam, as it misleads users into signing up for their service when they may have been expecting a desktop app-based system. Sad.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
anon1212121
anon1212121
03 January 2013
I disagree. The logical alternative would be to develop some bogus little application just for the purpose of having a presence here, and on other download sites. I applaud someone who goes the other direction: Fruux went from requiring a prefpane to requiring nothing but the free stuff you already have. Lots of other sharing-type services (often ones using readily available tech like SH, VNC, file sharing, web dav, etc etc) require you to download applications that are nothing more than switches to turn on something or run a simple terminal command. You DO get a "desktop app-based system." You can use Contacts, Calendar, Safari, SOHO Organizer, BusyCal, or whatever else you want. Go Fruux!
Like (3)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
13 February 2013
We've chosen to continue listing fruux because it was once a prefpane; the same can't be said for most web apps. I agree that it's an unusual decision on our part, but some of users find this listing valuable (including Rob_gendreau).
Like (3)
Dana-Sutton
04 June 2012
Dear developer: let me see if I understand this correctly. Since in the "Requirements" section of this page only PPC/Intel Macs and OSX are mentioned, are we to assume that this new Fruux scheme does not work with iOS portable devices?
Like
Version 0.5.0
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
05 June 2012
We support OS X, iOS and tons of other systems. We have a list on http://fruux.com - basically every device that supports the open standards CardDAV and/or CalDAV will work fine with fruux.
Like (2)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
23 February 2012
It's too bad that fruux went to a web-based service and is no longer a Mac app. They were really cool.
Like (4)
Version 0.2.0
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
24 February 2012
Joel, we still are. If you have suggestions, feature requests or questions: Lets talk! Click "Email us" at http://support.fruux.com
Like (3)
SickTeddyBear
23 February 2012
"Note: The new fruux is based on open standards and is no longer a Mac-only application." It appears that it's no longer an application, period, and is now only a service which works with existing applications like iCal. I'm not sure what the MU rules are in regards to listing services which don't have companion applications for their functionality (e.g., web apps).
Like (2)
Version 0.2.0
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
24 February 2012
The legacy fruux still exists and we'll continue to run it. As for the new fruux: A companion app for the core functionality is no longer needed because we're supporting open protocols to make that happen. However there are plans to offer companion apps in the future that will help with stuff like account management and setup etc. - We'd love to hear your ideas. Click "Email us" at http://support.fruux.com
Like (1)
misterjspencer
23 February 2012
What have you done to this excellent little piece of software. All this sign up at the website make fruux the default in your address book. Is this going where i think its going which is tied to you and then it becomes fully commercial. Look I know everyone has to make a living, but this isn't a piece of software anymore its a lifestyle choice.
Like (3)
Version 0.2.0
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
24 February 2012
Macmend, fruux is a living project. Make yourself a part of it and lets talk. Click "Email us" at http://support.fruux.com If you prefer the legacy fruux app: We'll continue to run it!
Like (1)
Andrewm8
13 October 2011
Seems that update to Lion 10.7.2 broke fruux, unless there is again a problem with fruux servers....
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7.1
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
28 October 2011
Sorry for the late response. Unfortunately we get no notifications from MacUpdate when new comments arrive. Next time: http://support.fruux.com and we'll help you asap. There are no problems with 10.7.2. Let us know (via http://support.fruux.com) if the problem persists for you and we'll get you up and running again asap.
Like (1)
Dale-Garrison
08 September 2011
I feel like I've finally wandered out of a wilderness. Fruux at last offers an easy, even transparent way to sync my Macs' To-Dos, Bookmarks, etc. It took a minute to figure out, in part because it's easier than it seems it should be! Had one day where the server was apparently off and on, but otherwise no problems. Do make sure you understand how to delete data on a "target" Mac so you don't have duplicates after syncing, but this is one great program.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
1 answer(s)
Lolita
Lolita
05 January 2012
Dale, what do you mean when you say that we should “understand how to delete[s] data on a "target" Mac so you don't have duplicates after syncing”? I thought the only way fruux can delete info on a target Mac is to use its “Reset This Computer” button in the “Revert” tab to “reset the data on this computer with all the data in the cloud.” Is that what you’re referring to, or does fruux have some other capability I’m not aware of? Does the “Synchronize Now” function under the “Sync” tab also have the ability to nuke data on a target Mac?
Like
mitchump
22 June 2011
Really good product. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Plus, when I did have a problem (user error), the guys at Fruux sorted me out quickly and efficiently. Highly recommended, though it looks like iCloud will duplicate much of what it does. We'll see.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Rofra
08 May 2011
Ever since I discovered fruux, I habe been using it on my 2 MacBooks and my iMac. Initially i experienced some troubles, but they were always solved by the fruux-guys, consistently and speedy. Now, the software is as reliable as the fruux-team itself! Have been trying MobileMe several times, but in the end the Apple-feature is no match for the combined efforts of fruux and Dropbox. Wherever i go in Europe and abroad, my MacBook(s) are up-to-date and i have all my appointments, addresses and files at hand. Looking forward to include my iPhone in the sync-process; a feature which is - as I understood- under development.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Wolfgang-Kaps
07 May 2011
Should i buy mobileme or fruux? That's the question. No question. The answer is fruux. Great features, very easy to use, much less expensive, ok there is no webspace, but you can get webspace for free at every corner in the web, so the only problem you have is to synchronize your devices. Synchronize with fruux is very easy. Install the preferance pane in (all of your macs) the system control (very easy, you can download from the fruux website), create an account and you can start at the moment. The support is perfect. If you have any problem, write to the guys and they are working hard to solve the problem. Fruux is one of best and important little helper in mac universum. Fruux gets a full buy recommendation.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7.1
Hammersb
06 May 2011
The Fruux app was working fine then an update caused some confusion. Most people were fine after another update but I had lingering problems. The support crew stayed with the problem until it was solved and the response time was quick. Rarely will you get this high level of support under any conditions. Now all my syncing is done automatically and my Macs are happy again!!!
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Fracai
06 May 2011
Fruux is one of those apps that you forget about until something goes wrong. And then it's the end of the world. And then you contact the developers and they have a fix in just a few days (in my case 0.9.7 to 0.9.7.1). And then you wonder how you could have ever forgotten about such a wonderful tool that provides so much, asks so little, and doesn't get in your face while you use it. Fruux is in that class of apps with DropBox and LaunchBar that takes on a task, executes flawlessly, and requires zero interaction to be just plain awesome. And to top it off, the developers are helpful and dedicated.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Novascotian
06 May 2011
This is beta software, so there are occasional glitches, but overall this is a really great service for keeping a Laptop and a Desktop Mac in Sync for a ton less money than Apple charges. Bearing in mind that I'm in North America and these folks are in Europe, their tech support is near instantaneous. Great program.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
David210
05 May 2011
Yes, there are rare glitches, usually around infrequent server down time or version updates (wish they were not automatically pushed out to client macs without the ability to return to a previous version if things happen to go south). BUT, the support is fantastic and my experiences over a long period of time have been overwhelmingly positive. Overall, I have a high level of confidence in the fruux service - keeping bookmarks, iCal calendars and Address Book data in sync in the background as frequent changes are made here and there on the fly. Seamless! Still, a good idea to archive data, as the 0.9.7 update attests ;-)
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Frevoi
05 May 2011
I've been using fruux for a very long time. With the exception of the quickly fixed bug in 0.9.7, it has always worked flawlessly for me. The support team is very responsive, friendly and helpful. I wholeheartedly recommend this application.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
chazawa
05 May 2011
Uncomplicated syncing. Does what it says it will without any user interaction. The support guys rock. Looking forward to iOS support coming soon.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
jjford5
05 May 2011
Fruux works great as a replacement for MobileMe. I'm very happy I switched. My support questions have always been answered promptly, especially considering the difference in time zones.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Richard-S
05 May 2011
Fruux is well worth 5 stars, IOS or no IOS. It's also very impressive how quickly they addressed the recent issue with the .9.7 update. and how much effort they went to to keep in contact with us and keep us updated.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7.1
bueti
05 May 2011
Very good software, very friendly support. works as advertised. unfortunately there is no iOS support, so i can give it only 4 stars, when this feature is implemented i'll give 5 :-)
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
Alex-Myagkov
04 May 2011
Great software and excellent support! Apart from last issue with 0.9.7 worked for me like a clock for more than a year without any attention from my side. Just did what it was made for - syncing. Guys keep up good work! Thanks a lot!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7.1
macmanMH
04 May 2011
Version 0.9.7.1 works. This is excellent software and it comes with excellent support.
Like
Version 0.9.7.1
PorkPieHat
04 May 2011
No longer works since the 0.9.7 update. Replacing the data in the cloud has no effect — it just says "Syncing..." forever, and it doesn't create any log to help you figure out why. So, it's dead......again. Shame, it was the best of them for a while.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
4 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
04 May 2011
We're working on it. Check: http://fruux.com/faq/read/items/referenced-records-in-relationship-but-did-not-actually-push/
Like (3)
fruux
fruux
04 May 2011
We've just released fruux v0.9.7.1. It's a bugfix release and hopefully fixes the issues some of you have seen since the v0.9.7 release. Sorry for screwing that up. ‎(The update will be installed automatically on your Mac via our built-in updater once the next sync kicks in or when you manually click "Synchronize now") If you are still experiencing issues with this release, please let us know via http://fruux.com/contact/
Like (3)
25 May 2011
I just discovered that the problem I was having with fruux was caused by their change in the way it communicates, which made its previous Little Snitch rule useless so Little Snitch was now stopping its callouts instead of letting them pass thru. I got fruux working again by getting rid of its previous dedicated LS rule, turning the Little Snitch Network Monitor off, then firing up fruux and using its resultant LS callout alert to create a new LS rule for System Preferences to "Allow UDP connections via nmblookup to port 137 (netbios-ns)", which is a very weird way for it to connect, but Oh well. It's working again!
Like
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
25 May 2011
I just discovered that the problem I was having with fruux was caused by their change in the way it communicates, which made its previous Little Snitch rule useless so Little Snitch was now stopping its callouts instead of letting them pass thru. I got fruux working again by getting rid of its previous dedicated LS rule, turning the Little Snitch Network Monitor off, then firing up fruux and using its resultant LS callout alert to create a new LS rule for System Preferences to "Allow UDP connections via nmblookup to port 137 (netbios-ns)", which is a very weird way for it to connect, but Oh well. It's working again!
Like
PorkPieHat
04 May 2011
How can they continue calling this "beta" software? Have they been 'testing' this free, then not free, then free again service since 2007? I understand the problems they've had supporting it, but it stopped making sense to call this "beta" software like three years ago. If they do it just to avoid liability, can't they just say "it's free, so don't blame us for any issues it may cause on your machines"?
Like
Version 0.9.7
1 answer(s)
fruux
fruux
04 May 2011
We can't say it any better than Tim O'Reilly: "Users must be treated as co-developers, in a reflection of open source development practices (even if the software in question is unlikely to be released under an open source license.) The open source dictum, 'release early and release often', in fact has morphed into an even more radical position, 'the perpetual beta', in which the product is developed in the open, with new features slipstreamed in on a monthly, weekly, or even daily basis. It's no accident that services such as Gmail, Google Maps, Flickr, del.icio.us, and the like may be expected to bear a 'Beta' logo for years at a time." -Tim O' Reilly
Like (2)
Andrewm8
28 April 2011
fruux run perfectly for past several months... until it updated itself today to version 0.9.7 - now no syncing anymore, only "Unexpected error: iSyncSession record validation failure..." now what????
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
9 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
29 April 2011
I did encounter the same problem. Just restarted the Mac and things went back in order.
Like (1)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
29 April 2011
I restarted my Mac few times already with no change, problem still exists. I emailed developer and regardless that it was around 1:30 AM at that time in Germany I received reply asking to submit the log file. Quite impressive response time. If they can only find the solution now....
Like (1)
Nemws
Nemws
29 April 2011
Just wanted to chip in as well. I'm getting a similar error (from the log): "Unexpected error: you referenced the following records (in a relationship) but did not actually push them:" followed by a long list of UIDs. Tried doing a "Replace in Cloud" from each of my two main machines. Whichever one I say "replace" with seems to sync okay, but the other one then starts giving me the above error.
Like
David210
David210
29 April 2011
Exactly the same issues. This may be more widespread than we realize... Sounds like a bug with how fruux works with OSX syncserver. So far my emails to the developer have been returned promptly, but my data and "syncserver problems" are the culprits according to the replies. I don't think so, and am unwilling to screw up syncserver on all of my machines. Funny that all my macs are affected and it started just after the update... Hoping for a resolution soon. Fruux has been a great service.
Like (1)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
30 April 2011
I followed the instructions from the developer and used the Revert tab to replace all items in the cloud with the items from affected computer. All worked nicely and no more sync errors on the said machine. But now other machines, previously not affected are giving me the sync error. Tried to restore them from the cloud with no avail.... Developer, please fix it.
Like
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
02 May 2011
Still no fix from developer - but to add to the misery I am getting all day today the "Service is currently unavailable" error.....
Like
fruux
fruux
04 May 2011
Hi, please send us the data mentioned here: http://fruux.com/faq/read/items/referenced-records-in-relationship-but-did-not-actually-push/ We're investigating and working on a fix.
Like
fruux
fruux
04 May 2011
We've just released fruux v0.9.7.1. It's a bugfix release and hopefully fixes the issues some of you have seen since the v0.9.7 release. Sorry for screwing that up. ‎(The update will be installed automatically on your Mac via our built-in updater once the next sync kicks in or when you manually click "Synchronize now") If you are still experiencing issues with this release, please let us know via http://fruux.com/contact/
Like (1)
David210
David210
05 May 2011
Indeed, once again working flawlessly. Thank you for the resolution. Can't imagine using a mac without this!
Like
Macmend-com
02 August 2010
great product when I can get it to work, the tick wont stay in always synchronise and sometimes it just wont sync
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.7
Stassi
06 May 2010
This is a great tool! But, I do wish it would sync my tasks, without having to sync my calendar. I use Spanning Sync for google calendar sync, so I can also sync with my Blackberry (need that calendar always in tact), but I'd love to use this to replace the fact that Google and my iCal tasks don't talk. I'm glad they gave us choices of what to sync (for snow leopard, anyway), but I'd just love that ONE more choice.... Guess I'm greedy...
Like
Version 0.9.6.7
Maclover1-1
03 February 2010
In replacement of my MobileMe I use Dropbox and Fruux and am quite happy with this setup :-) I also have Evernote for quicknote stuff.. which sorts of fits into the equation.
Like
Version 0.9.6.6
Maced
14 January 2010
this tool is a tiny little gem! works like charm and these guys deliver excellent & quick support via email. the only missing link is iphone syncing, but i'll happyily plug-in the usb cord into my iphone in the meantime until fruux syncs my iphone, too (instead of paying the mobileme tax). i thought about rating this tool 4 stars, because the iphone syncing is still missing, but ultimately decided giving a 5 star rating. hopefully we'll see fruux iphone syncing very soon!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.6
E101
11 December 2009
It should be noted that fruux is actually not an application but an online service which does not encrypt your very personal data on their servers (same as the apple mobileme service) readable for them and for any government entity/hacker. Quote from their "privacy" policy (emphasis mine): "Personal data will not be transferred to government bodies or public authorities EXCEPT in order to comply with mandatory national legislation or if the transfer of such data should be necessary in order to take legal action in cases of fraudulent access to our network infrastructure. Personal data will not be transferred to third parties for any other purpose."
Like (2)
Version 0.9.6.5
4 answer(s)
New-User
New-User
14 January 2010
"does not encrypt your very personal data" [citation needed] If you're going to make a potentially inflamatory statement like this, please provide your evidence to support it. In fact at http://fruux.com/faq/read/items/is-my-data-safe/ they state that: "fruux uses industry standard SSL encryption (like your bank does for your homebanking)" However, I can find nothing to support or disprove the idea that data is stored on-disk on their servers in an unencrypted manner.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.6.5
Maced
Maced
14 January 2010
they state everywhere that the data IS encrypted and the part you cited basically says that they wont give it to anyone, unless they are forced by the law. even if they hadn't written it down in their policy, they had to comply with the government. thats perfectly ok. if you buy something at amazon (or your local bookshop), they also wont tell anyone that you just bought a book about chemistry (or whatever), unless you blow up some government building with your new skills and then the police (or some other government body legally) forces amazon (or your local bookshop) to tell them who bought chemistry books during the last weeks.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.6
Maced
Maced
09 February 2010
I guess the physical location is also a non issue. AFAIK fruux uses Amazon Webservices infrastructure like Dropbox. Even if the data would be located in Europe (be in an european datacenter of Amazon or elsewhere) I don't see any issue with it. As far as I know european data protection rights are much stricter then in the US.
Like
Version 0.9.6.6
E101
E101
04 April 2010
@TOMIS: "SSL encryption" only means that the data is encrypted during transmission; mentioning this as an argument that your most personal data is "secure" is an impertinence in my eyes, because that's just not the answer to the question. And they do not write anything else on it (at least I couldn't find it), so I have to assume that the data is not encrypted. If you want an example of a company which is taking more seriously the security of your data, take a look at https://www.dropbox.com/terms#security or https://spideroak.com/engineering_matters#true_privacy
Like
Version 0.9.6.6
Pirx
10 September 2009
I get a 403 forbidden error, when using the download link. This aplies to both, MacUpdate and the developers site.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.4
Penguirl
18 August 2009
MACLOVER1.1 Lets take exaggeration to the extreme why don't we? Leopard was released in October 2007, which means Tiger is 1 year 10 months "out of date" if you want to call it that, and the Mac Classic was discontinued in September 1992 making it 16 years and 11 months old. Don't be ridiculous, there will come a day when your OS of choice is less than two years old and support is rapidly being dropped and you are going to wonder why is a $130 OS out of date less than two years after the release of the "next big thing." Seriously, your lack of maturity is showing. Grow up.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.6.1
3 answer(s)
Fenrisulf
Fenrisulf
19 August 2009
Tiger was released in 2005. (I stood in line for mine). It works on my PPC Mac to this day, as Leopard isn't all that "grand" on PPC's (being a dead architecture at this point...) I do not know what Fruux has that requires Leopard, but it most likely is something that the Tiger libraries do not have. Saying that Tiger's obsolete based on the date of Leopard's release is really not how to view it. Leopard is taking the spot from Tiger (faster/slower.. depends) and as Leopard becomes the dominant OS, Tiger loses "cutting edge" support. Tell the Windows 2000 people about XP's draining of life from their perfectly good OS (and 2000/XP were more similar than Tiger/Leopard are....) Time marches on... My PPC Mac G5 is 6(?) years old. My G4 is 11. They both work fine and will for many years to come... albeit my G4 runs Panther... I think I'll switch it to PPC linux one day soon. But I don't consider developers supporting Leopard only as "ready to abandon" a user when the "next big OS" comes out. It's not like the current version you may be running suddenly dies on you when the developer releases for 10.7. It's all about perspective.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.1
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
26 August 2009
PENGUIRL "... OS of choice ..." Exactly. You've made your choice. You choose not to use the minimum level OS that is required for this software. That's fine, and godspeed to you. But choices have consequences. The consequence of your choice is that you can't run fruux. Those of use who choose to run 10.5 or higher can consequently run fruux. That's just how the world works. There's really nothing else to discuss.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.2
A-prompt
A-prompt
24 November 2009
Quite a realistic point of view. I suggest you tried SyncMate for synchronzation. It's free and possesses a number of useful features, supports Tiger, Leopard and Snow Leopard. This freeware may appear helpful.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6.4
Maclover1-1
17 August 2009
PENGUIRL... I have a Mac Classic with a tiny screen and I cannot seem to make bloatware Photoshop CS4 work on it ?!!! Damn they should support all computers and systems, forever and ever and ever.. actually they should even allow us to blow paint on cavewalls as page layout. E'd call "Quark my Cave". Hello, move on people, move on... or do not deal with computers... I'm wondering if Fruxx can backup my morse code ?! PS: No I do not have a Mac Classic ! lol
Like (6)
Version 0.9.6.1
Rarufu
25 July 2009
great app! just as simple and plain as they promise! quickly responding and continually developing!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.6
—Dan
14 July 2009
Simple interface. Necessary Service. No bugs so far just uncomplicated reliable service. It doesn't get any better than that.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.6
Penguirl
24 April 2009
I would love to try fruux but cannot because it's Leopard only. Leopard is fine for some people, but for me it is bloatware that reduces the efficiency of my PPC Macs. Only supporting one OS version is not good IMO, are all the Leopard users going to be left behind when Snow Leopard comes out?
Like (3)
Version 0.9.5
4 answer(s)
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
02 July 2009
Many of the forms of data fruux syncs is implemented completely differently in Leopard than it was in Tiger. The fruux team would have to write what would amount to an entirely new application in order to work with Tiger. So in effect what you are saying to the developers is "Hey, you guys should reduplicate all the many man-hours of work you've done so that you can cater to my refusal to meet the system requirements of your software. Clearly your time and energy are so worthless compared to mine that I think you should do this-for free-so that I don't need to spend any money on anything."
Like (6)
Version 0.9.6
Penguirl
Penguirl
02 July 2009
No that is not what I'm saying, that is what you choose to see. What I'm saying is that if a developer chooses to support only one version of an OS, then it's very possible that someone could come to rely on your product only to get left behind when the next OS upgrade comes out 18 months later. It has nothing to do with refusing to meet the system requirements of your software. I freely choose not to run Leopard because it is bloated, inefficient compared to Tiger, and I am in the exact reverse scenario I just described with CS 2 Premium. If I could go straight to Snow Leopard I would but CS 2 Premium runs poorly in Rosetta, if it would run on 10.6 at all. If you choose not to support Tiger, that's your free choice. However it makes me leery of ever using any of your products, free or not. If you have an issue with that, so be it. I really don't care.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.6
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
15 July 2009
It's not my software. I have nothing to do with it. Heck, I've never even used it. Under no circumstances should my comments be in any way attributed to the developers of fruux. Now, in full recognition that I am just some random person whose views are semi-educated but authoritative for nothing: I doubt fruux will face major problems regarding forward compatibility any time soon. 10.6 continues with the same system used in 10.5. If 10.7 introduces any changes, the fruux team will have access to developer betas of it long before end users, and will therefore have time to implement compatible changes as necessary. The only way to kill fruux going forward would be if Apple removed the Sync Services API, thereby cutting off all third party access to syncing. The chances of that are close to zero. If changes to, say, the iCal format are introduced in 10.7 or later, fruux may have to be updated to deal with the new formatting. That would not be trivial, but it would be doable. And there would be motivation to do it, because the new format would be adopted by many. Going back to support obsolete formats, on the other hand, is not very worthwhile, since they have a dwindling user base. Your own comment, for example, would seem to indicate that you are likely to upgrade once 10.6 comes out, or if not, 10.7.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.6
Veggiedude
Veggiedude
18 August 2009
"if a developer chooses to support only one version of an OS, then it's very possible that someone could come to rely on your product only to get left behind when the next OS upgrade comes out 18 months later" This software was developed when Leopard was the current OS. There is no indication to think they will leave behind Leopard users 18 months from now.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.6.1
Joellevin
27 March 2009
Needs an iPhone app! :)
Like (1)
Version 0.9.5
Babyfett
25 March 2009
This program looks very interesting, but how do we know that other, more sensitive, information isn't being broadcast to the cloud?
Like (3)
Version 0.9.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 March 2009
http://fruux.com/privacy Get in touch if you have further questions: http://fruux.com/contact/
Like (3)
Version 0.9.4
Penguirl
Penguirl
24 April 2009
Use Little Snitch, which is a good idea in any case.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.5
Murryfax
24 February 2009
Not only is fruux a very nice little applications which works seamlessly - until it doesn't. But then this company has something else to offer which is very rare, support which is rapid and to the point
Like (4)
Version 0.9.3
Maclover1-1
24 February 2009
I'd love for this to work.. but when I try synching my computers I get this error message "Cannot deserialize response dicitonary: Conversion". Whatever that means, I tried reinstalling a few times, I can usually get one synch done then the subsequent ones give me the error. SO I am giving up on Fruux, too bad it seemed to be what I was looking for... As for all the other backup stuff (Sugarsync, Oakspider, Mozy etc....) are way more than I need so I guess I'll get it all done thru various little gizmos that let me use Google as a centralized base... though I find all this a little cumbersome... beyond that no matter what one says.. MobileMe, which is too expensive for me at this point, is the only one that truly does things right and simple.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.3
Gregr
20 January 2009
Great stuff. Address Book group syncing lets me get starting on testing this program. It looks exactly like what I need. Simple. I want to keep the AB and iCal on my two laptops in sync. Bookmark syncing isn't super necessary but I'll enjoy the bonus.
Like (3)
Version 0.9
Zeus1
20 January 2009
Does not work behind an http proxy server. I contacted support, received an answer within minutes...They promised to look into it and try to remedy this omission.
Like (2)
Version 0.9
M-t-
20 January 2009
...and SELECTIVE Syncing????????? (see Roadmap fruux)
Like
Version 0.9
2 answer(s)
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
20 January 2009
Yes what about Selective syncing? I would love to use this if this was available.
Like
Version 0.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 March 2009
Coming soon: http://blog.fruux.com/2009/03/19/selective-syncing-sneak-preview/
Like
Version 0.9.4
Erunno
21 November 2008
Great app, also also for people who want to backup their bookmarks and calendars online and don't use Time Machine or just need to sync data between several Macs. After reinstalling my OS X it restored my bookmarks and calendar entries without a hitch. There are still some interface issues which I hope will be resolved in the upcoming versions. An auto updater is still missing so you have to manually check out Macupdate occasionally. I also haven't been able to find a way to change the password after the account has been created. Anyway, thanks to the developers for offering this service for free!
Like (5)
Version 0.8.3
Joshp
18 October 2008
Their claim is NOT that it's a MobileMe alternative. Here is the claim from their site itself: "Just Sync, No-frills!"
Like (11)
Version 0.8.1
1 answer(s)
Joshp
Joshp
18 October 2008
Sorry, that was supposed to be a reply to TimTim. P.S. This program works as advertised and I am happy with it.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Aljuk
16 October 2008
Leopard only? :o(
Like (5)
Version 0.8