Back to Dropbox page
Dropbox free download for Mac

Dropbox Reviews

81.4.195
20 September 2019

Cloud backup and synchronization tool with Finder integration.

Shane-Smith
16 May 2013

Most helpful

My only complaint is the update feature. It never seems to update when a new version comes out. Please introduce sparkle for updates.
Like (36)
Version 2.0.12

Read 587 Dropbox User Reviews

Rate this app:

Slurp
29 August 2019
In spite what is described here, this version is NOT compatible with OS X 10.9.0.
Like (1)
Version 79.4.143
evoth-1
09 July 2019
Prefer more than 3 devices.
Like (2)
Version 75.4.142
cjred
04 July 2019
Getting suckier and suckier and focusing on higher pricing and still promoting useless features. And did i tell you the new desktop app is a crappy electron app.
Like (4)
Version 75.4.142
misterjspencer
01 July 2019
Bye bye drop box, I have moved everything to BT Cloud (no integration with files app yet) and iCloud Drive. The features of drop box become purposeless at 3 devices. the opportunity to link 2 computers an iPad and an iPhone are no longer possible. No doubt Bezos has put up the cost of AWS or they are just greedy.
Like (3)
Version 75.4.141
Jokyo
30 June 2019
I tried Dropbox paid against iCloud a couple of years ago. iCloud won, it works so seamlessly with all my devices. I kept dropbox on my 6 or so devices for old times sake. But, now I think dropbox became history for me. I am not looking for a way to make life more complex. Three devices just don't cut it. By Dropbox, thanks for all the fish.
Like (4)
Version 75.4.141
Jer
25 June 2019
The new interface is a big step back in readability and usability. I wish they would just keep it to the basics and stop adding in more crap.
Like (4)
Version 75.4.141
Slurp
25 June 2019
Although MacUpdate is not to blame, it is good to know that this new version, in spite what is mentioned (OS X 10.9 or later), it's not anymore compatible with OS X 10.9, but only up from OS X 10.10 and higher.. With OS X 10.9 one only can use Dropbox directly on the site via one's browser.
Like
Version 2075.4.141
slagell
14 May 2019
Dumped it. My wife had to log back in to 1password but couldn't in an emergency. The problem was that dropbox silently stopped letting you login with more than 3 devices, and we used dropbox to sync vaults. Since that was the main purpose of Dropbox for us, I dumped it. iCloud has better sync capabilities with out the third party kernel extensions that always scare me. And Google or a dozen other services let me share large files with friends temporarily.
Like (6)
Version 72.4.136
Mark•Grubbs
18 April 2019
Bottom line, giving Dropbox 3-stars because it works, but I'm switching. Like many other reviewers, I've used Dropbox for years but recent terms "updates" force me to find an alternative to their free service in order to keep working the way I have been. I'm currently syncing 8 devices, and I don't begrudge a company charging for the service they provide, but let's compare: Dropbox is $99 for 1TB, Sync.com is $96 for 2TB (or $49 for 500GB, an option Dropbox doesn't have). Plus, Sync.com is "zero knowledge" in that all your files are encrypted before they leave you computer, and only you have the key to decrypt. There's no way for Sync.com to decrypt your files even under a court order, while Dropbox can scan them anytime they want, for any reason.
Like (2)
Version 70.4.93
Eric•Woehler
14 March 2019
Limiting to 3 devices DB has quietly set a limit on Free accounts to 3 devices - see https://www.engadget.com/2019/03/14/dropbox-basic-three-device-limit/ If you have more devices linked to your account, you can keep them but won't be able to add any new until you go under your new limit. Forcing us all to go to paid/subscription service bye bye Dropbox - once you were useful, now becoming less so
Like (5)
Version 68.4.102
4 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
14 March 2019
more info at
https://appleinsider.com/articles/19/03/14/new-limits-on-free-dropbox-accounts-are-a-problem-if-you-have-more-than-three-devices
Like
qb
qb
18 March 2019
I fully agree and will change to a different service. Perhaps my own NAS. DB now sux and wants to suck us basic users dry of our $$$.
Like
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
25 March 2019
Yeah, this really chafes me. I already had it on 5 devices so they are all "grandfathered in", but I ordered a new iMac right before they announced this. And the iMac is the one that I will most need it on, which means I will have to remove DropBox from a couple other devices before I can get it up on the new one. Well, that or start paying for Dropbox. Honestly, it's been a free lunch so I don't feel like I have the right to complain, and thankfully my usage of it has been very slim, so I'm just going to migrate the little I have on it to iCloud.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
09 April 2019
Just received email from DB 'advising' me to 'upgrade' as I have reached my 'limit' Email delightfully has Subject as "You can't sync new devices with Dropbox" - clearly there is no interest in supporting their user base.

I have 12+ GB free based on having recommended many people in the past (DB used to reward you with 500MB for every referral), so I obviously was a good sales person for the software in the past.

My sincere apologies to all those people/friends/colleagues for putting them into the same situation. We are simply a nuisance now to this company that has built on our loyalty and support.

Glad there are alternatives, I just wish iCloud had the same options and abilities...

Hey Apple, if anyone there is listening, here is a great opportunity to replace DB with iCloud if you beef up the features you offer...
Like (1)
Pjot
14 December 2018
Best cloud backup there is, been using it for years, upgraded to a 1 TB account and never regretted it.
Like
Version 63.4.107
RunTime
07 December 2018
'Dropbox will be ending support for Mac OS X 10.9.' goodbye old friend... closing down 10 pro accounts. (not all are moving, especially not if there is no real gain (from five to one star))
Like
Version 62.4.103
1 answer(s)
MacNotesGuy
MacNotesGuy
03 April 2019
I do a lot of booting into different versions of the macOS for various reasons, especially software testing. Dropbox keeps discontinuing product versions that worked fine for no good reason that I can see. But if they thought about it, supporting multiple versions of macOS, even back to Leopard, would be just what some customers would need. I wonder if the developer ever reads these comments? I would love to hear the rationale.
Like
TVieceli
04 December 2018
Who doesn’t love Dropbox?
Like
Version 62.4.103
1 answer(s)
MacNotesGuy
MacNotesGuy
03 April 2019
I do love it, but love it less and less the more macOS versions they drop.
Like
Cvmichael1
20 November 2018
App stopped loading at startup every time it required a login every time I tried to log in it said my app was outdated-download latest went to download link - reinstalled, restarted, same result (four times) Uninstalled and will start over. App works fine on my laptop, iPhone, iPad
Like
Version 61.4.95
swalt
05 November 2018
Really excellent and reliable app, available across all my devices. I use it all the time. My needs are pretty simple and being able to view the files I need from wherever I am is a real plus.
Like
Version 60.4.107
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
12 June 2019
fake review
Like
I am old (fashion)at 84 and do not know what it does...
Like
Version 60.4.107
1 answer(s)
MacNotesGuy
MacNotesGuy
03 April 2019
It is a system where a folder is shared across devices. Put a document in that folder and see it on all your devices.
Like (1)
Jeff-Lindstrom
04 November 2018
I find DropBox to be a great tool, available across all my devices, and easy to use. The only thing I wish it would do, is when sending files, not send a link, but actually attach the file. Too many enterprise environments are blocking dropbox that the link doesn't do anyone any good.
Like
Version 60.4.107
hmfwic47
10 October 2018
The MacUpdate email sent to me, 10/0718 Oct 18, shows version 57.4.93. That confused me because I have 58.4.92 installed. Guess I'll install 59.4.93.
Like
Version 59.4.93
sjk
18 May 2018
Surprise, some specific items actually being mentioned in release notes again!
Like (2)
Version 49.4.69
1 answer(s)
loving_big_brother
loving_big_brother
30 May 2018
Don't worry, back to the usual "no changelog happening" state: Version 50.4.71:
Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated.
Like (2)
knappeduivel
24 April 2018
Great program, the most reliable and intuitive webservice available. And it's free!
Like (2)
Version 47.4.74
chongo
12 March 2018
Works well under MacOS 10.12.6
Like (1)
Version 44.4.58
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
18 July 2018
Fake 'review'' - MU Editors please delete.
Like (4)
Robertkreijveld
04 March 2018
Great! All files on all locations, easy and simple!
Like
Version 45.3.88
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
18 July 2018
Fake 'review'' - MU Editors please delete.
Like (4)
Mandingo
03 March 2018
Awesome cloud service that’s very reliable. Cross platform compatibility is well developed also.
Like
Version 44.4.58
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
18 July 2018
Fake 'review'' - MU Editors please delete.
Like (4)
Eric•Woehler
01 March 2018
All these lame 5-star "reviewers" post a single review on the day they sign up here and are never seen again - MU Editors - please remove their bogus "reviews" - likely Dropbox employees
Like (5)
Version 44.4.58
petro-semenyuk13
22 February 2018
I use this application High-quality and comfortable
Like
Version 43.4.49
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
02 March 2018
fake af review
Like (4)
gingerone23
13 February 2018
using it so long, and no reason to search for anything else
Like
Version 43.4.49
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
02 March 2018
fake af review
Like (4)
lamora-1
12 February 2018
I can't imagine my life without it. Very useful for work.
Like
Version 43.4.49
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
02 March 2018
fake af review
Like (4)
iareed0
12 February 2018
Useful app.
Like
Version 43.4.49
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
02 March 2018
fake af review
Like (3)
anonymous-trout-1840
08 February 2018
There is nothing wrong with Dropbox its functionality (except for the circumventing of Mac security maybe). I've been a Plus user, and I didn't renew my subscription. The reason, I don't take a zillion foto's, so I don't need a terabyte cloud storage. There is no other option, it's the free account or the next step is the Plus account. Nothing in between. I've switched to iCloud because Apple allows a 50 GB storage for €1 a month. I don't need more. A Dropbox Plus account was €99 a year (lowest price). You can do the math yourself.
Like
Version 43.4.49
zordavukni
21 December 2017
Nice app, love it. Really helpful
Like
Version 40.4.46
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
18 July 2018
Fake 'review'' - MU Editors please delete.
Like (1)
cjred
01 November 2017
Now i'm re-evaluating Dropbox after the recent changes they made... This time around YES they are still the leader in syncing but i'll just highlight a few irritating things they just did in bullet points: 1. PRO user being downgraded to PLUS to open a new pricing strategy. The new PRO is US$19 a month. 2. Smart Sync which the original pro users were painstakingly waiting. Now only available to business and New PRO plan. Imaging Google File Stream can do that for $10 with a lot of things and services included. 3. Ok US19 but come on 1TB!??! lol so they are just justifying their price increase for Smart SYnc and Showcase (which is worthless by the way just to make and act cool and doesn't really do as much). With all these for US$19 yes it is expensive especially for freelancers and one man businesses. No i'll be full on Google Apps not until Dropbox make up their minds.By the way the new look sucks you should fire your creative agency.
Like (5)
Version 37.4.29
hatrumiknu
13 October 2017
I've been using this app for a long time. I didn't admit any notice that says if i don't update DropBox will automatically stop working in 10 days. I just can't use it now because i've already used all gbs allowed. But the app is great.
Like (2)
Version 36.4.22
Derekcurrie
10 August 2017
v31.4.25 is the current version of Dropbox. They have been rapidly updating their software this past week.
Like (2)
Version 32.4.21
higherterrain-com
07 August 2017
I ditched Dropbox and haven't looked back.
Like (8)
Version 31.4.25
3 answer(s)
ososX
ososX
08 August 2017
I removed DB application and the rest of the similar "always-running-in-the-background cloud" applications from my Macs and from the iOS devices too. I use the clouds through 3rd party applications like ForkLift or CloudMounter. The latter is my current favorite as it enables to mount the cloud-disks as external disks and its fairly stable too.
Like (2)
Odysseus
Odysseus
09 August 2017
What are you using instead? Some apps only use Dropbox for sync!
Like
ososX
ososX
10 August 2017
For synching between my two Macs, two iPods and iPhone I use iCloud. There are many Apps that enable to sync via iCloud.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
31 July 2017
New web interface a nightmare for navigation, challenging to find files/settings etc. have deleted app from my mac, using DB occasionally only through web - more challenging with every day due to 'improvements' and simplifications to web interface. Default login goes to 'recent files' rather than file/folder list - no setting option, no way to change default behaviour . Really wonder what the developers' agenda really is - driving away long time users and making the feature more challengiing to use.
Like (7)
Version 30.4.22
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
10 October 2018
The latest versions are getting slower and the sys does not often update correctly had to down grade to older version for reliable sync.

Like
karin-142
15 May 2017
Use it with my colleagues - it's so easy to work on one document simultaneously! It saves much of our time!
Like (2)
Version 25.4.28
mark-anson21
15 May 2017
The most convenient tool for me in my job.
Like (2)
Version 25.4.28
bqyr
09 May 2017
no encryption - at all.
Like (5)
Version 25.4.28
Dropbox Stable Build 23.4.17 Dropbox Community - 214476 https://www.dropboxforum.com/t5/Desktop-client-builds/Stable-Build-23-4-17/m-p/214476#M3839
Like (1)
Version 22.4.24
Eric•Woehler
13 March 2017
On top of everything else, Dropbox now phones home frequently checking for updates. See this thread: https://www.macintouch.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=561&pid=16538#pid16538 Suggest all users seek alternatives ('alternates' for Americans) for this once-was-great-but-now-sucks software.
Like (10)
Version 21.4.25
3 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 March 2017
And? Lots of software checks for updates. How is that a problem?

And Americans also use the word "alternatives."
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
04 April 2017
It's the standard now for applications to phone home specifically to their developer's websites for updates. There is free software typically integrated into modern apps called 'Sparkle' that is designed specifically for that purpose. This is not just a good thing, this is a GREAT thing. So HUH?!

Bad phoning home is when an app dumps your personal data to Google Analytics or other such anti-privacy marketing moron data dumps. Please complain about THAT. Don't complain about apps trying to update themselves, which is actually FAR safer than never updating them yourself. OK?

What's actually NOT good about DropBox is the complete lack of 'Trust No One' encryption. Everything is visible. Therefore, never upload sensitive, precious, important personal data to DropBox. Got that? Never. Either personally encrypt it first (which is what I do via spare bundle disk images made via Disk Utility) or use a 'Trust No One' compliant OTHER cloud service. There are several. Another alternative is Arq, which does the encryption for you as well as uploading and syncing.
Like (5)
knappeduivel
knappeduivel
20 May 2018
It's a feature, not a problem.
Like
Noraa
10 March 2017
Works and works well - the automatic updates don't bother me at all as sometimes a change is made on the backend that can break the front without it being updated. Yes it would be nice if Dropbox provided an option to update or not, but the vitriol around the auto-updates seems a bit over the top.
Like (2)
Version 21.4.25
Merlixir
10 March 2017
It forces automatic upgrades with no way to prevent. So I automatically rate one star. (Tip: get LIttle Snitch or similar software and deny Dropbox's update connection forever)
Like (6)
Version 21.4.25
2 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
12 March 2017
use something else. . .moron. . .[box, torrent sync, g-drive and a slew of others.] I use it and I don't mind. I encrypt everything for security. +1 moron star for you!
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 March 2017
How is that a problem?
Like (2)
k. spencer
07 March 2017
I'm using Dropbox at work and at home. So far haven't found anything more convenient. As it is cross-platform, it can be used on my phone as well and this is a big advantage. I can sync files directly from my phone and use them later when needed.
Like
Version 20.4.19
Eric•Woehler
04 February 2017
another nail in the coffin for a longtime Dropbox user - now automatically udates to current version. No choice. Either you let dropbox update itself on your computer without your knowledge/approval or you can uninstall dropbox app and access YOUR files via web..
Wonderful custmer relations efforts, there.... NOT. Hey Dropbox - give you users some choice how they use your software on their computers!!!

Has anyone tried to run the software without the
Dropbox app>Contents>Resources>DropboxMacUpdate.app
removed from the app package???
Like (4)
Version 19.4.12
1 answer(s)
Filou53
Filou53
09 February 2017
I totally agree with you: I want to have the choice to update or not Dropbox at the right time for me !
Sometimes, I want a fast start of my Mac and Dropbox starting i so slllooowww...
Like (3)
Zx81
10 January 2017
If you look into the Dropbox app, there is a ressource called "DropboxMacUpdate.app". Anyone knows what this is? (Dropbox app>Contents>Resources>DropboxMacUpdate.app)
Like (3)
Version 16.4.30
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
12 January 2017
This is inside the app I downloaded from Dropbox site, not the MU install.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
03 February 2017
It's used for this:

Dropbox Update for Mac - Dropbox Help - Dropbox
https://www.dropbox.com/help/9300
Like (2)
MalcolmM_
16 December 2016
Want to leave here my 5 stars for Dropbox! Excellent performance, easy operation, I'm loving this syncing tool.
Like (1)
Version 16.4.29
Eric•Woehler
16 December 2016
Final nail in the coffin!! Following on from my October 2016 posting , where the number of shared folders is limited to 5 (currently have 15), just received email from DB to tell me my Public shared access folder is now to be privatised and no longer a public/shared folder. Long time user of Dropbox, with many successful recommendations that have seen many friends become users, this email from CB is final nail in coffin. Have started advising others to drop DB. DB clearly not interested in supporting long time users/supporters of their product - I see no reason to support them.
Like (3)
Version 16.4.29
Tim27
10 December 2016
I just downloaded Dropbox from their website and it says the version is 15.4.22, so the version number listed above is not correct.
Like (2)
Version 16.3.27
2 answer(s)
LS7160
LS7160
11 December 2016
one day later: I did the same: Dropbox itself distributes 15.4.22. This 16... is maybe a modified file or a beta....
Like
Chocky
Chocky
11 December 2016
According to Dropbox's current versioning scheme x.3.x would be a beta version.

Here's a link to the FAQ at Dropbox: https://www.dropboxforum.com/t5/Desktop-client-builds/New-Versioning-Scheme/m-p/182393

Here’s a hypothetical example:
9.3.30 ← first beta build in the v9 release series
9.3.31 ← second beta build in the v9 release series
9.3.32 ← third beta build in the v9 release series
9.4.33 ← first stable build in the v9 release series
9.4.34 ← second stable build in v9 release series
Like (1)
idariofdc
01 December 2016
Nice tool.
Like
Version 15.4.22
SegN3rd
01 December 2016
I know I'm not the first person to notice this, but when I downloaded it, I got a proprietary MacUpdate Installer that tracks your actions and insists that "everybody's doing it nowadays." This is the day MacUpdate became a scam.
Like (4)
Version 15.4.22
2 answer(s)
Ward
Ward
09 December 2016
How did you determine the installer from this page differs from the offline installer from Dropbox.com?

I just downloaded both installers. Get Info shows they have identical Size and Created timestamp. The only differences I see are (1) the Modified timestamp (when I did each download) and (2) the More Info > Where from URL.
Like
Zx81
Zx81
09 January 2017
MU download (not install...) of Dropbox created :
~/Library/LaunchAgents/com.dropbox.DropboxMacUpdate.agent.plist
~/Library/Dropbox/DropboxMacUpdate.app/Contents/MacOS/DropboxMacUpdate -check periodic

Checked with Etrecheck and Easyfind.
SegN3rd is right.
Like (1)