Back to Clips page
Clips free download for Mac

Clips Reviews

2.0.5
14 February 2012

Clipboard management utility.

Flash1296
12 September 2008

Most helpful

The price is thrice its value.
Like (14)
Version 1.0

Read 51 Clips User Reviews

Rate this app:

Chessiesystem
02 April 2014
I, too, have used Clips as my primary clipboard manager since I secured it via MacHeist. I have found it easier to use than the 8 other clipboard managers I have including CopyPaste. I exclusively use it in the panel mode & like the idea of hiding it or bringing it up with the option/sapcebar combination. I do wish there was a faster method of removing items from the panel other than the option/click. Maybe there is and I haven't found it yet. I do agree that since moving to Mavericks, the memory allocation has increased by the nature of Mavericks handling method of memory.I contacted Conceited Software two days ago and have yet to receive a confirmation that they have received my concern. My wish list would include scroll ability in the Panel. I do not have to be connected to the net to use it. Regardless, I have demonstrated Clips to my Mac User Group and I have received great responses from the members who have acquired Clips 2.0.5.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Canadianpj
14 August 2011
Add me to the list of people who feel screwed out of a 2.0 version of the software. I have since uninstalled it completely.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Mac007
03 August 2011
After buying again at the App store I decided I don't like the new version because it gives you only one way to organize your clipboards whereas the older version gives you 3 options. I also don't like the fact that they make you pay for this again without at least some notification before hand.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Dcannis
02 August 2011
Warning: it does not work on MS Office!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
Fightingcat
07 May 2011
I'm a customer of this app in the past over macheist.com. I bought version 1.5 with the bundle and a lot of other users do it to. BUT... This software has a big bug and was unusable with it. A big memory leak... Over one year the users try to talk with the developer without any new facts or an update and now... Whops... Version 2.0 but only over the app store and a short time ago for free. But no customer got an information about that. Hey guys... shame you!!!!
Like (9)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Sasasushi
Sasasushi
09 May 2011
I can NOT agree enough on this! These are the lamest developers on earth! I got so tired of checking for the promised Clips update that after about a year I stopped bothering. Then they go ahead and release the new version WITHOUT NOTIFYING ANYONE and only offer it for free for a limited time?!?! What an unbelievably pathetic way to do business. This is not to mention that the version of the app that came in the Macheist bundle was so buggy as to be completely unusable. Avoid these guys like the plague.
Like (5)
Mart°n
Mart°n
31 July 2011
I only can agree with Fightingcat & Sasasushi. I’ve also got Clips via MacHeist and found it unsusable due to the huge memory leak which would eat up all your RAM and slow down your Mac to crawl. No update in ages to solve this issue. For real work I could recomend PTH Pasteboard. It doesn’t look as nice as Clips but it’s a real workhorse. Clips on the other hand looks really nice but often gets in your way and feels a little bit slow.
Like (3)
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
14 August 2011
Hi there. You can try to go in contact with the developer. I explain that I have bought version 1.0 over macheist and that I'm not really happy about the steps who they made with the upgrade. The developer gave me a feedback (first time) and promised me that I get a code for the app-store until the next update, because the codes are very limited for each release by Apple (50 Codes each version). After the last update a few days ago, I got the promised mail and download version 2 for free. But I wait for that a longer time... And I got the info in the mail, that I must be fast to download it with the code.
Like
Lvdoc
20 April 2011
I can't try a demo? App Store just cost you a potential sale. You should chat with them about that. There's no way I'm plunking down $5 on something I can't take for a spin. Sorry, but I have only so much money to spend on a clipboard program. Right now I'm shopping. And the App Store just forced me to move on.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
23 July 2011
Their old version was a complete waste of money. Very nice design with great potential but the functions simply did not work and it crashed. The registration system ultimately de-registered the app on several conditions. Honestly not worth stealing in 1.x and from what they are saying, 2.0 is no better. Steer clear of this company. Pretty design, awful implementation, awful customer support.
Like (1)
Mondele
02 April 2011
My experience is a little different than the bulk of these reviews. I actually found Clips to be very useful, and I had discontinued the use of a different clipboard management program. Unfortunately, the program puts itself in demo mode if you don't let it report home, even after you've registered it. This is not acceptable (I have worked in places where I don't have regular or reliable Internet access) and I won't have a program like this in my regular toolset. Pity.
Like
Version 2.0
Tinge
02 March 2011
Worked great for awhile. All of a sudden it doesn't work anymore. Now it starts to crash at startup and pretty much locks my machine up until it's done with it's slow death.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
29 March 2011
Neat design to this app but horrible support. Has been broken for a long time and now they are charging $5 on the MacApp store for the 2.0.1 fix. Highly dubious software & company. Highly recommend avoiding Conceited Software
Like
Px9-855
01 February 2011
Move along, nothing to see here. If I could give this -5 stars across the board, believe me I would. It's that bad. And more.
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Antonyh
03 January 2011
This is a terrible application with non-existent support from the developers. It crashes on my MacBookAir on startup, and despite raising a support request they have given me nothing more than a ticket number. I have used this software, and it looks neat but it just doesn't load. I paid for this and used it briefly on my MBP but thought I'd give it another chance on the Air. I recommend that anybody considering this try 'Stuf' by The Escapers first, it's very good and much lighter on memory than this too.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Bordsenius
28 December 2010
Excellent idea. Good functionality, but a complete memory-hog. Uses more than 500MB ram on my machine when idle. I still use it ocationally, but only when I know I'll really need it. 10 points for app, 1 point for implementation.
Like
Version 1.5
Mac007
13 December 2010
I've had this software for quite awhile now and although the price is high I figure it's worth it. Some folks are evidently having problems with it but as for me it works and that's all I care about.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
L-G-S
L-G-S
15 December 2010
Clips woks, yes of course. But eats a lot of memory and some features are broken. One year later and they haven fix the problems. Sure they wrote in their blog some moths ago telling people an update was coming and asking for beta testing. At first i help them testing and reporting bugs, they never say thanks, they never keep me post with new builds, and one they they just cut communication with me, and the update never saw day light. Clips its a great idea, but when you leave it just like a unfinished idea, buggy... well. This is what happen. I switch to Stuf some couple of weeks ago. Isnt eye candy but doesn't eat much ram and make the work that is supposed to do. Yeah Clips works... but no as it's supposed to do.
Like (2)
pl-svn
14 October 2010
... just an advice for the guys at Conceited Software: read *carefully* this article http://goo.gl/lHH on how to prevent software piracy without nagging your customers (for the lazy ones, here's the conclusion: "The best way to prevent piracy? Make great apps!" ;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.5
It just locked me out too after I thought I would give it a try again. PopCopy2 is simple, works and why it is not supported or open source I will never understand. I paid for it and feel a bit left out in the cold but as it works so well, no complaints. Clips… is a buggy mess. They are more concerned about treating their buying customers like thieves than they are about producing stable and reliable software. All sho, no go.
Like (4)
Version 1.5
Flashmech
06 August 2010
This software has a lot of potential, and i really want to like it a lot. Some of its features that I really like are shortcut keys that I can use to manage my clipboard, keeping a floating panel to allow click-and-paste, as well as my top favourite, abbreviations. What abbreviations does is say I type "eemail", and my token will be replaced by my actual email in my clipboard. This has a permanent space in the application and I really like it a lot. Now what bugs me most is of course, the bugs. On initial launch, the abbreviations will work fine. After working for some time in other applications, I tried to use the feature again, but it failed. It is miserable. To get it to work again, I basically have to restart Clips. *doh~* There are also some stability issues, which causes a crash a couple of times in a day. I really want to like this app. Please do an update soon. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.5
pl-svn
12 July 2010
Got it from a bundle and happily used it on my MacBook Air untill... I started a six month trip. That's when I discovered that this app *checks online* registration everytime you boot and, if you're not connected (as it often happened to me)... it just disables itself!!! =:-0 Wrote to developers and had not a single word in reply :-/ So... beware! (... back to Stuf: simple and reliable! ;-)
Like (6)
Version 1.5
Maclover1-1
07 July 2010
When I said CS5 I meant Photoshop CS5...
Like
Version 1.5
Maclover1-1
07 July 2010
With AdobeCS5... Clips does not support transparency anymore :-( Too bad as no other clipboard system does either... I know Photoshop is a weird beast in terms of clipboard export to the system but it was nice being able to create sets of "detoured" images with (transparent areas). No single piece of clipboard software I know of can do this now :-(
Like
Version 1.5
Khongaeng
14 June 2010
Nice feature set and the application looks nice, but it is incredibly buggy. I don't know if I have ever used a piece of software on my mac in the past 10 years that has caused so many crashes and system slowdowns. Because of the draconian activation system, and buggy implementation, I give this 1 star. This application causes Parallels or any other virtualization software to crash hard, even with 4GB of ram installed in the computer. I can tell when the application is running, because it sloows the entire computer down. To the developer: Great Idea. Horrible Implementation.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
Clips doesn't work properly for me. It doesn't save clips and consumes lots of ram. I tried to contact the developer, but he did not react to my mails nor to the bug report I filed on conceitedsoftware.com . My Recommendation: avoid apps from Conceited Software.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Egn
12 May 2010
I think this app is not good. 1. Icons for the app from where the clip was taken overlap the information that is clipped so if you are copying a series of numbers to the clipboard you can't see the first 2 digits. 2. Clips pastes in 2 copies of a clip. 3. Shared clipboards on 2 macs on same network causes clips to crash on both sides. 4. Oftentimes Clips will be "not responding" so any new clips you make never make it there. Have reported these issues twice to the developer. Have not received any reply. Their refund policy seems to be that they give you "x" days to try it out first before you choose to buy. Well, I don't care and I will be bugging for my refund since this is way overpriced anyway. And if it doesn't work correctly a refund should be available. You can't put out faulty apps and charge and then look the other way. If the app ran perfectly then yes, they could perhaps object but not when half the time it doesn't work correctly.
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Good Idea Gone Bad. (spyware?) This is an update to my prior review. After suffering through the multiple bugs Clips inflicts and the poor performance of the graphical interface, the final insult was dished this morning when it deactivated itself. The last straw was Clips sneaky & surreptitious way of calling home on a continuous basis to apparently check my serial number and ship back God-knows-what data to the mother company (remember, they have your clipboards!). This morning Clips could not call home and it deactivated itself. In response I am deactivating it AND the company that produced this bug infested product. (deleting all the companies products from my disk) Rather than spending time on copy protection that disables and inconveniences paying customers, they fix the defects in the software! A couple of final thoughts as you read this... Did you put your credit card number into Clips for easy access? Ever copy anything sensitive like a login password to your bank account? How much do you trust a company that clearly does not trust you, it's paying customer?!
Like (7)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
14 April 2010
(reply to my prior post today) To complete the user experience, the dialog that displays telling you it is has deactivated itself has an OK button to dismiss it. Even that is defective as OK button does nothing. Technical users must kill the invisible task "ClipsHelper" by using Terminal or Activity Monitor to get rid of the dialog. All your clipboards are belong to us! (LOL)
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Macgruder
03 April 2010
The memory on this thing has run up to over 5Gigs for me on a couple of occasions so effectively it's unusable.
Like
Version 1.5
L-G-S
03 April 2010
I had use many clipboard applications such as iClip, Savvy, Stuf and CuteClips. All that apps work well and have some nice features, as well some problems. Clips isn't the exception, it have pros and cons. Pros: - Smart clipboard Great idea. If finder allow us to. It let you create you're own clipboards just like you need it. - Application's "Blacklist" Something i never saw in the other clipboard applications i used. Have a record control in the clipboard activity sometimes its handy, specially with applications like 1password or wallet were you store important information and you don't want to let a record in there. - Clips Organizer An application that allow you to organize your clips by Spaces and Applications its just great, specially when you want to know from were you copy what. - Live search Just type any word or some words of the clip you're looking for and Clips will find it you you. - Share your clipboard. Isn't new, Stuf already have that feature, but sometimes it's handy. - Drag & Drop As TAZINTOSH said: Great, we're on a mac right?... However as far as i know this is the only clipboard application that allow you to drag and drop things from or to it. Big con: - Eats a lot of real and virtual memory. Yeah i know... if you want eye candy, it'll spend more memory, but 200mb of real memory + 300 mb of virtual memory... Come on! That's too much.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
I really want to like this software but it does not deliver the base functionality without significant bugs. Abbreviations simply do not work. Clips half the time paste in twice even though you click on them once. Sometimes clicking on a clip in the interface to paste it to your text entry will dismiss Clips's interface and then Clips comes back and shows again. There is NO reason why this application should eat up valuable dock space. Bought the macpromo bundle in part because of this application. I have to switch back to the unsupported PopCopy2 which **works** and at least has the option of not immediately pasting the clipboard after I switch clipboards. (talk about infuriating) Too much time was spent on the fancy interface
Like
Version 1.5
Walruscp
17 March 2010
This is an application that was released a while back with some fanfare, and it's sad to see that it is, at this point, and abysmal failure. It has severe memory leaks, many features are broken, and the developer has been, at best, lazy in releasing updates to fix the problems (6 months since last update). The potential for this application is great, but sadly the developer is seriously lacking in ability to maintain and perfect his product. Avoid this piece of junkware until some serious updates are pushed out... if the developer ever gets around to it.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Delarue
17 March 2010
I also bought this application with the last MacHeist bundle, and it was actually one of the apps I really wanted to have. This application is not working at all, sorry. I have all the issues the reviewers below mentioned, e.g.: - it doesn't track my system clipboard history, there is always only the last copied item in the list. Come on, this is the main functionality, this should really work! - I can't register, or it forgets my registration info. - I don't have a menu bar, dock or menu icon. - Keyboard shortcuts don't work - HotCorners don't work I filed two tickets with their bug tracking system, describing my issues. After the second ticket the company contacted me and I sent them some console log messages. I've never heard from them again. I am really sorry, since the approach seemed nice.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Blikopf
15 March 2010
Some great features and lots of potential. Sorting clips by app is great. But: Maximum 50 clips saved. Huh? Website speaks of "Storing dozens or hundreds of Clips." Huh? (Yes, I have a license.) Being able to search clips is great, but with only 50 does this make any sense? No way to tell how long a clip is or to see it whole. One would expect QuickView to work in the Organizer at least. No way to delete or move more than one clip...unless you want to delete/move all. No way to edit clips-in spite of the fact that "Edit Clip" appears in contextual menu. If you have more than 6 clips, you won't be able to see any but the most recent 6 in the panel *and* there's no way to scroll through them there. Slow and buggy. Crashes too often (three while writing this note!) and loses clips; what else? Submit a ticket, you say? Still waiting to hear about the one from last week. I'll stick with ClipMenu which is fast and reliable, stores as many clips as you want, exports clips as text...and, uh, free!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Blikopf
Blikopf
19 March 2010
If, in spite of everything else, you still want to use Clips but find the limit of 50 clips ridiculously small, you can change this limit by editing the com.Conceitedsoftware.Clips file. The free PrefSetter is easy to use for this.
Like
Version 1.5
Tazintosh
12 March 2010
I was using ClipMenu before buy Clips in the bundle for my multiple clipboards needs. Sure I'll go back to ClipMenu, the most efficient and probably powerfull I've tried so far. If only he could support abbreviations…
Like
Version 1.5
Tazintosh
10 March 2010
Ok, I've paid for "this" - yes I'm sorry, that's nothing but "this" - when buying the last MacHeist nanoBundle2. By chance, all the rest of the Bundle looks great, but I'm seriously disgusted given money to Conceited Software. Looking at the online demo on MacHeist, Clips was just looking amazing... but forget about it. Ok, you got a point, not everything is bad and some ideas are great (at least, works): • Clips Organizer (even if I do not use it often, it's a great feature). Organizing clips by Spaces, Apps, etc. give to any people a way to use Clips on his own and it's clearly nice. • Smart Clipboard: very great idea here. • Shortcuts seems to work. • Stats & co, why not, deserved by Smart Clipboard so it's great. • Drag and Drop. Great! We're on mac right? • ... That's all folks... Here's the "best" part: • "Unintrusive system clipboard monitoring" The monitoring is unintrusive, right, but I find intrusive to restart the app at every single edit, because you have many chances for having it not working if not, crossing fingers for your new setting to be taken in consideration, even after restart. I also call multiple crashs "intrusive" in my workflow. • "Clipboard Sharing" My personnal conviction should be to allow sync (MobileMe or so). When I'm at home or at work, I'm generaly using a single computer... so clipboard sharing is not usefull. By the way, sync a clipboard via MobileMe to be always up to date between my work and home computer would be more logical (TextExpander is a great example of this). And about sharing on local network, well, it'll work with sync too. • "Live Search" The app is so badly designed that I've never found this need. • "Abbreviations" This is an amazing possibility... when it works... and here, it works only 1/20th of the time, you type your abbreviation, and nothing appends. So you try again... nothing, ok, let's try another time... nothing. Well, you finally need to find another way to paste your clip. In TextExpander or the great Coda, you can set a delimiter and conditions for the abbreviation to be apply. For example, I've "invit[space]" to paste a whole code for Flickr invitation. So I need to press [space] for the abbreviation to work. With Clips you can not set delimiters (yes they made it!), so if you really want to write "invitation" word, you'll never be able to! An amazing thing: sometime, enter your abbreviation and the pasted content has nothing related with... it's just another clipboard! It's completly badly developped. I was not able to delete a clipboard with an abbreviation, I had to create a new one (painful as you can not even edit or copy-paste a text clipboard right in the app) and I've tried to add an abbreviation. Obviously, as I set the same, my new one was refuse... logic, but I can not delete the other one, I can not even change it... so? I don't remember how I've found the trick, perhaps by restarting multiple times the app and making some "PowerUser" things. Unsuable. The only great this of this app is that I'm actually writting this review to alert you all not making the same mistake. • "Designed with Leopard in mind [...] We've utilized many of the new technologies in Leopard such as Core Animation, Core Data, Cover Flow, and Quick Look to provide you with a rich software experience you'll be familiar with." Too much eye candy things kills the aim of an app. I do not want to see those big and intrusive effects on my screen. And moreover, the UI is not so great. Especially on my 30" ACD. Design and content anti-aliasing are sharp and not smooth. I hardly understand the point of creating a multiple clipboards, with so much great ideas (because some are) for real workers, supposed to be time saver and very effective, and proposing such a UI. • "Made for humans" Definitely, in front of "this", I think I'm not one of them. • Support A fine "open ticket" option in the menubar application, but wait... You said support? I'm always waiting for mine, but I guess they have much to do with such an app for sure... • Why not being able to add shortcuts to left column items of the Organizer? So you could open - on the mouse focus (should be an option) - his content, just pick and boom, it's paste. • No "real" Edit option even for a simple text • Multiple selection of clipboard is impossible in the organizer. You want to move your 40 clips in a new collection? Simple, just drag them one by one. You want to remove multiple clips, simple, just delete them one by one. It's that simple! I've rarely used such non-ergonomic app. • When I copy a URL path to an image, why trying to connect (thanks LittleSnitch) to display the picture? I'm copying a text, a path file, I'm not copying a picture! • Bunch of thing I could find... • Be happy Conceited Software, I'm one of those who buy it... • As I've now a license, I believe in the reliable update, centered on workflow (should be the main aim of such an app) and only after that, playing with effect and fun, if needed. So let's see.
Like (4)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
12 March 2010
I have PopCopy2 and used it for years. It is unsupported now which in my book means free. it still works great although could use a fix here and there. I wanted something more. I have TextExpander and while it works OK, it hiccups frequently and causes all manner of problems in typing just text. Love the "pop" sound and like that it works 90% of the time but my system has been dogging for months and when I disabled it, the system sprang back to life. By contrast, I like the interface of Clips. I think they did a nice job overall but in sticking to a foreground application, they limited themselves greatly. This app needs to be a background only app that appears from the menu or from a key command. I was REALLY hoping the abbreviations would work so I could get rid of TextExpander. Getting tired of paying for upgrades for TextExpander and not getting it fixed. If it means I perform a couple of extra steps, I may just do it. I will miss typing ttime for the time. Overall this app holds a great deal of promise and I would encourage the developer to 1) fix the abbreviations 2) add an option to just pre-load the clipboard with the selection, not do a paste at the same time. I want to have something on the clip board and paste it when I get to my destination
Like
Version 1.5
Tallis
14 February 2010
After testing it for 3 days I have a feeling I'm not going to buy it. Nice eye-candy taking advantage of core animation - has been mentioned by almost every reviewer. While the User Interface is nice, it just takes too many clicks - or steps in between - to insert something from the Clip list or an archive. Pictures are not displayed in the lists - I don't find it very satisfying to have 10 entries "Picture from Pages" Texts-clips cannot be edited - only the title they are stored under. Assigning keyboard-shortcuts to certain clips is nice, but not easy and fast enough. 90% of the time I need just a temporary shortcut for 3-7 items - not something to store in a library for months or years to go ...
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Maclover1-1
08 February 2010
IF YOU USE PHOTOSHOP THIS IS THE ONLY ONE THAT ACTUALLY COPIES A LAYER WITH ITS TRANSPARENCY... So just for that Big Up !!! I also like the true window access in a very modern Mac fashion..... the many ways you can organize/present your data/lips.. Not sure why it has so few stars... I tried them all...TO ME THIS IS THE ULTIMATE CLIPBOARD. For some reason CopyPaste has taken the spotlight for a long time.. even if it is clumsy and ugly (and does not support Photoshop transparency.. which to me is a biggie).. Where's your head at people ? At least if you are a graphic designer definitely give this one a spin...
Like (3)
Version 1.5
Vterm
18 November 2009
I bought this app last February when MacUpdate had it discounted...OR NOT..... Retail price was 29.99$ like it is now. Suddenly 10 days after the promo was ended the price of the app was magically reduced to 19.99$!!! Now it's 29.99$ again... I am guessing it's just for a few days, until it snaps back to 19.99$. Conceited software is A JOKE! And i would like to hear what MacUpdate has to comment on this issue... Clips would be a really nice program, if it would actually work and not continuously crash.... I contacted support via email, they replied like 15-20 days later asking for details and crash logs... I provided all that, they replied that a new version of clips is out and i should try it out... I did try it out, it crashed like hell, i sent out the crash logs again, without ever receiving a reply.... A BIG JOKE....
Like (2)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
14 January 2010
Did you send the dev the console error notes or the automatic report which gets sent to apple? Price wise, yes it is becoming very common for prices to go down and up as the dev see's fit. After all it is there work but our money. Our money should be the most important topic and I think you should email the dev stated your case. I believe you have a good one, he/she should refund you $10 in my opinion but then again we are the end users and I am sure a dev will have their own view on the situation. Email the dev and try to get it worked out via email. I think you will get your refund. Most companies will refund amounts when prices go down and you bought the app within a certain period of time. For instance if you purchased it 2 months back everyone of those users should get refunded imo. I hear you though... Let us know your results, if any.
Like
Version 1.5
Kaufi
08 September 2009
Great concept, fantastic eye candy. However, don't use it. It's not at all stable, it's never been. Just had a re-try after months and the app crashed on startup, repeatedly. Also, it's heavily bloated and uses too much RAM. I'm sorry to say that this app is far from being mature. Hint: Clip Menu does most of the features offered here, with less eye candy, but very handy, using very few resources and for free.
Like (7)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Mrchips
Mrchips
17 November 2009
@KAUFI I've been meaning to thank you for the tip on ClipMenu. I read your comment and tried it and I've been using it ever since! It was exactly what I was looking for - no eye candy but for my needs it's perfect. So thanks!
Like
Version 1.5
davidwb
03 September 2009
The developer has released another version of his software that doesn't correct one of its most basic flaws - it is impossible to deregister the software from one computer to use on another. If the developer bothered to communicate with his users this might not be a problem but he does not. So I've spent $20 on a program that is permanently registered to a dead motherboard.
Like (5)
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
rambaldi
rambaldi
06 September 2009
Hey, Deactivating a Mac is as easy as clicking the "Deactivate" button in the Registration window. If your Mac died on you before you had the chance to deactivate it then I agree it's a bit trickier - but if you simply email your serial number to support@conceited.net, your Mac will be deactivated in a timely manner. Since Macs aren't supposed to just die on you regularly, I don't think not having a feature to deactivate dead motherboards is a major flaw in the software. Regards, Nicolas
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Fredsmith
Fredsmith
06 September 2009
Wow. And I thought the company name was supposed to be some kind of joke ...
Like (5)
Version 1.5
davidwb
davidwb
01 February 2010
Just to update - three emails to the developer. Three no answers - program still does not work. I'd like to get this developer into Whack a Mole. I'd whack him flat.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
davidwb
25 July 2009
Technical support for this program doesn't exist. I've sent three email messages about the problems I've had with this program and gotten no reply. Avoid this developer.
Like (5)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Fredsmith
Fredsmith
31 July 2009
Same here. All emails ignored. Glad I didn't spend the money on it.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Kobalt
07 July 2009
I actually quite like Clips, but after installing the demo, I found that USB Overdrive quit working properly. Seeing I value USB Overdrive more than Clips, I've had to delete Clips - which I managed to do without a single problem, I'd have to add. Here's where the files are: /Users/you/Library/Application Support/Clips /Users/you/Library/Caches/com.conceitedsoftware.Clips /Users/you/Library/Preferences/com.conceitedsoftware.Clips.plist
Like (1)
Version 1.4
davidwb
13 May 2009
This is a decent program with an unfriendly licensing system without any warning of the restrictions until after you license it. It is for a single computer only - tied to that computer. If you own more than one computer look elsewhere. I own a MacBook and an iMac and obviously cannot use them at the same time. Even companies like Adobe and Microsoft let me install their software on both computers - they just make it impossible to run the software on both at the same time. I've taken this program off my computer and I'm looking elsewhere. meh
Like (4)
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 May 2009
You can actually run your single license on two computers without any problems.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 May 2009
You can actually run your single license on two computers without any problems.
Like
Version 1.3
davidwb
davidwb
05 July 2009
That's interesting: I have TWO computers and whenever I try to run MacBook when the iMac is awake Clips conveniently tells me I have it activated on another computer and deactivates itself. So tell me, when isn't two two?
Like (2)
Version 1.4
Rubaiyat
05 April 2009
Avoid Clips like the plague, which it strongly resembles. Odd things happened in Finder after I installed it. I tried it and, after deciding I didn't want it, was unable to get rid of it. It is like a leech except one you can not find and burn off. The only presence is the app icon in Finder which seems to auto launch and thereafter not show up as a running app. You can't trash the app while it is running, it has no uninstall, nor any information on how to do it. You can not Force quit it in Finder because it doesn't show in Force Quit Applications. I went twice to their site to ask how to unstall it and my postings were simply removed without reply. Eventually I thought to try Activity Monitor, which found it and quit it so I can trash it. I hope that is the last I see of it. EVER!!! There is another nasty ClipsHelper which I can't find to trash. Where is that sharpened wooden stake and silver bullet, just in case it comes back?
Like (5)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 May 2009
You cannot trash it while it's running. Like any other application on Mac OS X and all other platforms. To uninstall it, quit it via the Clips menu (Clips icon > Quit), then put it in the trash.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Rubaiyat
21 March 2009
This is one program that has outstayed its welcome and I can't get rid of. How do you uninstall it?
Like (3)
Version 1.3
Inalaop
15 November 2008
I would recommend Clips over most other clipboard managers I've tried. I use Typinator (a great text expander), but it can't handle complex formats. Thus, I was looking for a program that would manage formated clips; that is, tables and combinations of text, tables, and images especially from the Pages word processing program (though Clips can work with all other programs too). In this regard I've tried iClips, Shadowclipboard, and Clipboard Evolved, but feel Clips is the best and is more robust than the others. I've seen some people comment on cost, but you get what you pay for... One of the best features of Clips is that you can assign an abbreviation to any of your clips that will then automatically paste itself, works much like a text expander. For example, I have a large table I made in Pages and copied it into Clips. I then assigned the abbrevation "pheader" to it. Now whenever I want to paste this into a Pages document, I just type "pheader" and instantly it appears. I have abrevations for all my formated clips and is a great time saver. Clips (like other managers) also offers keyboard shortcuts, but I find these less helpful and less intuitive. Again, I know text expander programs use abrevations, but they can't handle the type of formats I needed. The user interface is nice and very iTunes-like. I feel it is somewhat more user friendly vs the others, but this is subjective. When using the program, just remember to turn off clipboard monitoring after you have copied what you want, or you end up with lots of clips you have to eventually delete. One last comment for powerusers is that this abbrevation function brings up many interesting possibilities if you know how to use Applescript.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
dwp-1
21 October 2008
CopyPaste Pro will continue to be my favorite clipboard utility because it use's the standard copy/paste keyboard shortcuts. I select "Command C" to copy and "Command V" to paste, plain & simple. If I need to view previous clips I don't release the "Command" key when I press "Command V" and a list of previous clips pops up in center of window. CopyPaste Pro just works, no need to learn new shortcuts.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
dwp-1
dwp-1
12 November 2008
I feel this has to do with Clips because when you copy/paste because I prefer to use the standard Copy/ Paste command Keys as opposed to memorizing new keys. CopyPaste Pro use the standard command keys and it just works for me. Some other people may be happy learning new keyboard shortcuts. I was alerting users that I thought there was a better alternative.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Flash1296
16 October 2008
EXCELLENT; but it is priced at double what I would pay for it.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1
Robomalo
15 October 2008
I really like this program, but I can't justify the price. I pay for a lot of shareware and this is pretty high.
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Nessuno
28 September 2008
35 bucks? What a joke for a clipboard enhancer... I don't even bother downloading such stuff.
Like (5)
Version 1.1
Olgaz
19 September 2008
Too Expensive! Freezes sometimes....
Like (6)
Version 1.0.1
Markspurr
14 September 2008
WOW!! This is the way a clipboard should work. None of the “other” clipboard enhancers even come close. Works almost like Dashboard. Only drawback is that there is CURRENTLY no hot corner support.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
Turkchgo
14 September 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for to replace my now long-in-the-tooth copy of iClip. Awesome idea and implementation. The custom clipboard, organizer and drop utility are great and the eye candy is awesome and useful as well. The clipboard sharing among computers on the same network another nice touch. Having it identify and keep track/group what application and/or space (if you use spaces) each clipping came from neat too. Not sure what the others are complaining about with memory usage. On my MacPro with 4Gb of RAM Clips uses on average 25-40Mb as a process. Can wait to see where this goes.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
Flash1296
12 September 2008
The price is thrice its value.
Like (14)
Version 1.0
Macsterdam
10 September 2008
It looks fantastic, works great, but uses an insane amount of memory. A real shame, because this is how a Mac clipboard should look! Fix the memory problem (keep it below 25-30mb) and I'll buy it.
Like (2)
Version 1.0