Back to Viscosity page
Viscosity free download for Mac

Viscosity Reviews

1.8.5
02 April 2020

Graphical user interface for OpenVPN.

Atalantia
25 March 2019

Most helpful

Doesn't configure the DNS Addresses for the VPN provider. It stays with the same given by the normal internet provider. Some services work, some not. Shimo works on that issue.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.14

Read 58 Viscosity User Reviews

Rate this app:

Macs-Pain
24 May 2019
Newest version is always crashing. Not usable...
Like
Version 1.7.15
1 answer(s)
Pirx
Pirx
13 December 2019
I have been using Viscosity to jump over the Great Firewall of China for many, many years. If Viscosity was using the Chinese internet provider's DNS server (it does not), it would defeat the very purpose of using VPN altogether. I have not experienced any such issue with Viscosity. I have also not experienced Viscosity crashing, ever.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.3
Atalantia
25 March 2019
Doesn't configure the DNS Addresses for the VPN provider. It stays with the same given by the normal internet provider. Some services work, some not. Shimo works on that issue.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.14
2 answer(s)
Atalantia
Atalantia
25 March 2019
How to delete a review? Maybe I'm wrong and I simply have to enable a checkbox in the service preferences.
Like (2)
Atalantia
Atalantia
25 March 2019
But anyway the review is correct. It doesn't work properly.
Like
Macjogi
19 January 2019
Best VPN tool ever seen. Using it also on Windows. Pro: You can double connections if e.g. the company profile only using company addresses but you want to be VPN'd on all ports.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.13
Big Johnson
17 January 2019
Developer is a LIAR.

It’s been more than 4 years since they said "we are currently working on adding a feature to Viscosity to easily block traffic leaks from occurring."

Instead they’re worried about trivial things like "compatibility with menu bar managers" and "main menu automatic resizing and positioning"

No kill switch = NO WAY should anyone use this dangerous app!

Users are putting their security and privacy at risk and may end up receiving a copyright infringement notice if the connection is dropped while downloading.

Lack of a kill switch led me to purchase a VPN service whose app DOES have one. Now if I could just remember to always start it before opening my torrent client.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.13
1 answer(s)
Pirx
Pirx
13 December 2019
That is a bunch of horse. If you are behind the great firewall of China, then neither a kill switch nor rare leakages matter, as long as you can scale the Great Firewall, which is what Viscosity has been aiding reliably for many years. A two phase workflow shouldn't be too much for the average adult to remember.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.3
Retired Under Attack
30 December 2018
The price is wrong, here is $ 9 but when I go buy it tells me $ 14. We call this misinformation. The user environment has changed from the older version. I do not know if this makes its operation more complicated, but I can not rate it with speculation.
Like
Version 1.7.12
macjogi
10 April 2018
Most of us knowing Tunnelblick, yes. I use Viscosity because it is much more smoothy and very low cost. Only a green or red bubble nothing more. Great!
Like (3)
Version 1.7.8
aarongoldstein
13 February 2018
very useful and easy to use app
Like (3)
Version 1.7.7
Mindplay
09 January 2018
Working pretty well to me :)
Like (3)
Version 1.7.6
Samadams
20 October 2017
What's going on with sparklabs.com? The site has been down for over 2 weeks. Have they gone out of business? I've recommended to several people in the past week that they buy Viscosity. But now the app can't even be downloaded to try out, let alone to purchase.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Big Johnson
15 September 2017
STILL NO GD KILL SWITCH!!!

Went to be last night with torrents downloading, woke up to find Visocity yellow and "authenticating" while downloads were proceeding at nearly 1 MBps.

Now more than THREE YEARS since SparkLabs said "We are currently working on adding a feature to Viscosity to easily block traffic leaks from occurring."

I believe the spark has died!


Still no way to disconnect from multiple VPNs at once - you must click each connection individually.
I often add up to five or more before one connects, then I must click each of the others to disable, and that takes two clicks for each because the menu closes each time you click one.

Stupid annoyance that should have been fixed LONG AGO like the critical traffic leak!

NO STARS FOR YOU! ½ only. Come back one year!
Like (3)
Version 1.7.4
4 answer(s)
Samadams
Samadams
11 October 2017
The whole kill switch thing is a concern. I tend to suspect though that implementing one is probably a whole lot more complicated an undertaking than we may appreciate.

I'm a PIA subscriber and have found their app to be buggy and unreliable as can be. For that reason I don't trust their built in kill switch and won't use the app at all. It's caused OSX, Windows and Linux users innumerable problems for at least 2 years now, and each new update only creates additional problems and seldom fixes old ones. I've been pretty happy with Viscosity instead and have found the lack of a kill switch unnecessary.

There are two things I do to stay safe in the event of a vpn disconnect:
1 I connect via a PIA vpn server and config my bittorrent app to also route through a PIA proxy server. Multi-hop, if you will. Should the vpn go down I'm still routed through a proxy server.
2 I configure my bittorrent app "Network Interface" to connect only through the vpn (in my case "utun1"). Should the vpn go down all bittorrent traffic dies immediately. Not all bittorrent apps allow for this, so select one that does (e.g. qBittorrent).

On the whole this configuration is far more stable and reliable than any so-called kill switch, at least for bittorrenting concerns.
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
12 October 2017
I really doubt a kill switch is more complex than any other part of the coding which allows connections to be made to servers around the world.

The icon changes colors when connections are made and lost, so it's obviously detecting the change.

If Viscosity can detect when a connection is lost, then it should immediately disable the network interface.


First you complained about how buggy and unreliable PIA is, then you said that using Vicosity with it is "far more stable and reliable than any so-called kill switch."

How's that possible with an unreliable and buggy VPN?

Sure, a VPN is the safest (and most expensive) way to go, but a CONCERNED and COMPETENT developer should be able to add an effective kill switch within an update or two.

Even an UNconcerned and INcompetent one should be able to do it in THREE YEARS!

That should be top priority above all else, because protecting users is of utmost importance.

Instead, what do we get?
Interfaces renamed, OpenVPN updated and Various bug fixes and enhancements.

WHOOP-DE-FREAKIN-DOO!


I've been contemplating a subscription to one of the top-rated torrenting VPNs - currently IPVanish and NordVPN.

Viscosity's developer should pay for it since it wouldn't be necessary if the GD app worked like it should!
Like
Samadams
Samadams
12 October 2017
Implementing a kill switch isn't difficult. Getting it right is. It must function instantly and perfectly every single time. Even just a 1 second delay leaves you exposed. A poorly functioning kill switch is worse than no kill switch at all because it lends a false sense of security. Most vpn providers that have their own app haven't implemented a kill switch at all for that very reason. Those that have have often failed miserably, PIA being just one example. No need to go back and forth with you further on this. Just read my MacUpdate review of Private Internet Access. It explains it all.
Like (3)
Pirx
Pirx
13 December 2019
Again a rant of irrelevance. Simple workflow's shouldn't be asked too much of an average adult.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.3
Macs-Pain
06 June 2017
Does no longer reconnect after a disconnect. Please fix.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
Big Johnson
17 November 2016
Oh look:
Another update with "bug fixes and enhancements."

BUT STILL NO KILL SWITCH!
This is a vital component of a VPN app!
Without it a user's privacy (and maybe their freedom) is at risk.

It’s been more than 2 years since the dev said "We are currently working on adding a feature to Viscosity to easily block traffic leaks from occurring."

PROVE IT ALREADY!
Why is Viscosity the only VPN app without one?
This app shouldn’t even be sold until the security leaks have been addressed!

Like (3)
Version 1.6.7
Atalantia
01 November 2016
This app does not even start under 10.9 Everything else works except this program. So it is simply useless.
Like
Version 1.6.6
Mcr
13 September 2016
To second the comments by @BigJohnson, I posted a comment on THIS macupdate page several months ago, outlining numerous security issues, missing features, and unfullfilled promises by the developer, and that comment has now disappeared from this macupdate forum. Which begs the question, did Sparklabs as the developer have the ability to remove a post on MacUpdate, or did MacUpdate assist them?

My observations were spot on, but apparently Sparklabs can't handle users exchanging thoughts and relaying their experiences on a open, PUBLIC forum for all to read.

I WAS a user of Viscosity but got tired waiting on promises to fix holes and upgrade features.
1) implementing KIll switch fucntion requires user to manually input scriptiing code...seriously, in this day an age to require the user to type in scripting commands for critical feature? This has to be done manually for EVERY connection definition you may have. As a user of PrivateInternetAccess, there are literally dozens of servers available.
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/article/preventing-network-and-dns-traffic-leaks/

2) on top of that, the scripts provided to implement kill switch protection, IS FLAWED. I personally watched while during a download, I lost the VPN connection and my download continued on an unprotected connection.

3) Developer admits on their site that the licensing code in their Mac version has been hacked by pirates for years, and promised to implement cross-platform licensing. That's been YEARS since that has been on the website and not fixed, meaning if you want Mac and Windows you have to buy separate licenses, and since pirates know now to hack the activiation, legit users are paying for others to use the app.
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/article/can-i-use-my-viscosity-for-mac-license-on-windows/
Seriously, if you are going to admit on your own site that your app has been hacked, and you don't do anything about it for YEARS, what confidence is that supposed to engender from end users?

There were many other flaws I mentioned in my initial post, won't bother repeating it all here as i wouldn't be surprised if I come back in a few weeks and this post is no longer here...
Like (3)
Version 1.6.6
Timmyb
06 September 2016
How is using one of the third party standalone apps such as Viscosity better than using the built-in VPN connections from the macOS Network settings?
Like
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
Broz
Broz
01 October 2016
With macOS Sierra, OpenVPN is not supported. My router doesn't offer any of the supported, built in protocols.
Like
Big Johnson
27 August 2016
BE MINDFUL WHAT YOU POST HERE!

After posting some critical comments below, I've been banned from the Sparklabs forums.
I never actually received a "banned" notice and my account is still active, but my posts never appear anymore, whereas I had no trouble posting before. Tried to contact the developer but the contact page doesn't work right. So I created a 2nd account and tried to post my question there, but it never showed up either - evidently the dev. is as thin-skinned as Trump (or should I say Drumpf. Google it!).

After you post you get this message, "This message has been submitted successfully, but it will need to be approved by a moderator before it is publicly viewable. You will be notified when your post has been approved." Obviously mine are no longer being approved.

Because of the critical security leaks that were never fixed, as well as other missing features, and the dev. being a vindictive A-HOLE (had no qualms taking my money for his buggy app, though!), I'm giving it the lowest possible rating. There's no way it deserves the 5-star ratings it received with the problems it has!
With the existing leaks it's too easy to receive a warning from an ISP.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
OnBrink
OnBrink
20 October 2016
I believe TorGuard ditched them for security reasons too and for problems with the developer, that’s who i had my license through but they removed Viscosity from it and now offering there own bespoke app which is by far more secure than any i have tried, especially Viscosity.
Like (1)
TCalhau
17 February 2016
The new version of Viscosity 1.6 has just been released! =D
Like (3)
Version 1.5.11
Psychiatry
30 January 2016
I started on Tunnelblick. Then I started using Viscosity. I LOVE VISCOSITY. I love how Viscosity makes it so easy to connect to my VPN. Viscosity is excellent software.

However, I have since abandoned Viscosity and Tunnelblick because of one SERIOUS SECURITY AND FATAL FLAW that leaves you completely exposed and unprotected.

The problem is that if your ISP changes your IP address - and they do periodically unless you pay more for a fixed IP address - or if your VPN server goes down, then both Viscosity and Tunnelblick lose their connection to your VPN.

After they have lost their connection to your VPN, Viscosity and Tunnelblick immediately expose your IP address to the wild. Any internet activity your apps are doing do loses its VPN encryption and protection. Anyone can now monitor your activity, obtain information you are sending and know your IP address.

For example, if you set Mail to send email at a certain time, yet the VPN connection is lost, your email is now sent unencrypted by Viscosity and Tunnelblick. This is horrific.

This security flaw is completely fatal and can be disastrous.

This means you cannot leave your computer actively using the VPN while you go somewhere else or sleep. You are limited to using the VPN only while at the computer. If you are in a hostile country, where your internet activity is being monitored, your privacy is completely lost and your internet activity is completely exposed along with your IP address if the VPN server connection is lost by Viscosity and Tunnelblick.

This security flaw can be partially mitigated by writing an AppleScript that will automatically quit specific apps you are using when the VPN connection is lost. But you have to manually install it with every server connection - a pain. And you have to continually update it with the apps you use with internet connections. It isn't enough if you have other apps active which you did not add to your script which can expose your IP address by interacting with the internet. Some apps may refuse to quit if they are active. And it still leaves you exposed from the time the VPN connection is lost and the app is quit.

I now use my own VPN provider's Custom VPN Client. It protects against disconnect exposure by performing what they call a NETWORK LOCK.

A NETWORK LOCK means ALL ROUTER AND INTERNET ACTIVITY IS SENT ENCRYPTED AND ONLY TO THE VPN'S IP ADDRESS, NOWHERE ELSE. AND IT STAYS ENCRYPTED EVEN IF THE VPN CONNECTION IS LOST. This includes all activity within your own local network. This means every app and background app's activity is encrypted. You don't have to worry about background apps exposing you. You will not be able to connect even to your local computers and printers unless you specify their IP addresses as OK to connect to.

With a NETWORK LOCK, even if the VPN connection is lost, all router and internet activity REMAINS ENCRYPTED and is still sent to the VPN's IP ADDRESS - nowhere else. Since the VPN's server cannot accept that data, it remains encrypted and becomes lost.

Your network and internet activity remains encrypted and protected at all times. No one can snoop and find what information your are sending or what website you connect to. Your privacy remains protected even if your VPN connection is lost.

Since Viscosity and Tunnelblick do not provide something like a NETWORK LOCK, they don't perform the primary reason for using a VPN - protecting your privacy. And this can be disastrous. Unfortunately, as nice and capable they are - particularly to connect to multiple VPN services - the flaw noted above is fatal to their use.

If Viscosity can do a network lock, it is not well documented. I wish the author of Viscosity includes an obvious NETWORK LOCK FUNCTION so I can recommend Viscosity again.
Like
Version 1.5.11
2 answer(s)
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
02 February 2016
Thanks for posting this; I'm looking at VPN software, and this certainly seems like a concern re: Viscosity. Hopefully the developer will respond.

That said, a quick Google search appears to indicate (to my non-expert eyes) that there is a standard workaround. See, e.g.,

https://airvpn.org/topic/16400-vpn-route-hardening-in-viscosity-possible-with-eddie/

https://torguard.net/blog/prevent-leaks-viscosity/

I was hoping this might be addressed in the docs available at the support site, but important sections of the online docs are "under construction," so no luck there.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
02 February 2016
@TomLoredo:

Conditions where your VPN connection is accidentally disconnected expose you and take away your privacy. And potentially places you at risk of harm from hackers, etc.

So AirVPN's client protects you against this. Private Internet Access's client protects you against this. But general VPN clients such as on your iPhone or Viscosity and TunnelBlick do not protect you.

This is a subtle but forgotten point.

I'd love to hear from the developers about this issue.
Like
User001
20 October 2015
Good programm with Yosemite, but there is no Internet Traffic after successful connection with Viscosity (openVPN).
Like
Version 1.5.11
TCalhau
10 July 2015
Version 1.5.8 | Release Date: 2015-07-10 SHA1: 3a2a8c4562e5c0eec8082d74dacf489b1cf4a189 • OpenSSL updated to version 1.0.2d • Various bug fixes and enhancements
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
lemonb3519
08 July 2015
Developer does not respond to support requests sent by email through their website. Multiple requests and all have been ignored over the last 5 days.
Like
Version 1.5.7
3 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
10 July 2015
My suggestion would be you try:

http://www.sparklabs.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=3

Or on Twitter:

@sparklabs
Like (1)
SparkLabs
SparkLabs
09 September 2015
Hi lemonb3519, We respond to all support requests we receive, and aim to respond to most the same day (if it's a business day). As TCalhau mentions, if you've sent an email and yet haven't received a response from us the best thing to do is get in touch via the forum or Twitter, as it probably means that there is something amiss.
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
16 November 2016
THAT’S A LIE, SparkLabs!

Not only do you NOT respond, but you ban people from your support forum when they complain about critical missing features that you said OVER TWO YEARS AGO would be included someday!

"We are currently working on adding a feature to Viscosity to easily block traffic leaks from occurring. We hope to have such a feature available in a future version of Viscosity, however please be aware that this is not something that will be available soon."

Well, like the great CCR sang, "someday never comes."

There are very few more important features than a kill switch, so where are these awesome "fixes and enhancements" you’ve been working on since 2014?
Like
iMiNiMaL
20 April 2015
I'm testing and I'm loving this app! It will certainly be my next purchase!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
TCalhau
31 March 2015
Updated :-)
Like (2)
Version 1.5.5
Mcr
23 January 2015
Purchased Windows and Mac licenses about 2 months ago, after using the trial. Using it to connect to Private Internet Access VPN service. Viscosity has been more reliable than PIA's own provided client software on both platforms. Connects/Disconnects faster, first try, rock solid, no drops. The ability to tweak the parameters after importing a saved configuration is very helpful. I love the PIA service, but its client software was always temperamental; now with Viscosity, best of both worlds. Viscosity supports AppleScript. Using AppleScript, I can create app shortcuts to auto launch different connections depending on what I what. The additional flexibility in my opinion makes it worthwhile over Tunnelblick; I mean really, at only $9 it is a great value. I took off 1/2 a star because it doesn't support cross platform licensing yet (buy one license for both Windows and Mac), but that is coming they say.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.3
TCalhau
07 October 2014
I'm loving this app! It's been my default VPN application! Works smooth and without mistakes, besides, it supports the OpenVPN Protocol which is the only VPN protocol that I trust! Highly recommended!
Like (6)
Version 1.5
iBelieve
31 August 2014
I would like to find out if anything has been done about SUID helper vulnerabilities leaving root an open playground for hackers? Concerns mostly tunnelblick but also viscosity. Nothing is mentioned about this and I found no solutions on the internet. This is very need to know info before I chip out my credit card and make my purchase.
Like
Version 1.4.10
2 answer(s)
james-4
james-4
16 September 2014
Hi iBelieve,

Recent versions of Viscosity do not use a SUID helper, so Viscosity is immune to SUID helper attacks.

Older versions of Viscosity that did use a SUID helper took a significantly more secure approach than other similar clients, making sure the helper was installed to a fixed secure location, starting with a controlled environment, dropping privileges, etc. None of the reported issues affecting Tunnelblick appear to be relevant to Viscosity. Nevertheless we still highly recommend updating to the latest version of Viscosity if you're using an older version.

Cheers,
James
Like (1)
iBelieve
iBelieve
17 September 2014
Thanks for the info James. I can feel my credit card itching to make a purchase now. ;)
Like (1)
iTruth
18 June 2014
Great software but not working under Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite DP2. I'm sure this will be fixed soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.10
1 answer(s)
james-4
james-4
16 September 2014
Hi iTruth - Yep, versions 1.5 and later have full support for Yosemite. We also regularly post beta versions to the forum for those who like like to live on the cutting edge. :-) Cheers, James.
Like (1)
Raven-
14 June 2014
Great app. does all what it must do! Easy to install, easy to work with it. Very nice layout. Very helpful people at the forum, fast answers back... I love this little VPN app. Super!!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.10
MichaelHaeusler
05 June 2014
Version 1.4.10: still doesn't work on 10.6.8. VPN connection can be established, but most websites don't load.
Like
Version 1.4.10
MichaelHaeusler
05 June 2014
This is just a remark concerning version 1.4.9. I'm on 10.6.8, and the 1.4.9 update doesn't work. I can connect to my VPN provider, but traffic isn't routed through, i.e. websites don't load etc. So there seems to be a serious bug in 10.4.9. After going back to 1.4.8, which you can still download from the dev's website, everything is fine again.
Like
Version 1.4.9
2 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
05 June 2014
I would have to add that updating from earlier versions towards 1.4.8 never produced any problems.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
05 June 2014
I have to add that all the updates leading up to version 1.4.8 produced no problems.
Like
Phantasm
04 June 2014
Have been using daily for over a year now and I cannot recall every having a crash. I had had no prior experience with a VPN before but had no trouble importing my connection and getting things up and running in a just few minutes. Worth every penny of the $9 price tag.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.9
I was looking for an alternative instead of OpenVPN because of some issues. I found a slim and very fast alternative for using "Private Internet Access".
Like (3)
Version 1.4.8
I was looking for an alternative instead of OpenVPN because of some issues. I found a slim and very fast alternative for using "Private Internet Access".
Like (2)
Version 1.4.8
Mcr
10 April 2014
Open Question to anyone: I subscribe to Private Internet Access, a hosted server service with VPN access. (BTW, highly recommended, servers are rock solid, have maintained unbroken connections for DAYS at a time). PIA provides users with their own Win and Mac clients, and I don't have any issues with them, they work as advertised. Is there any advantage to using Viscosity versus the clients provided by PIA?
Like
Version 1.4.8
FalstaffA
20 December 2013
@MacUpdate: The link you've posted for downloading Viscosity 1.4.7, which is dated Dec. 18, 2013, is a dead one. Please correct at your earliest convenience. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.4.7
PRjohnson
05 November 2013
Nothing else comes close to the sheer perfection of Viscosity's one-click OpenVPN connections. Beautiful Mac-like interface with much attention to detail during setup, then immediately gets out of your way via simple on/off menu bar icon.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.6
iTruth
28 September 2013
There is simply no better way to enjoy OpenVPN on a Mac.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.5
1 answer(s)
PRjohnson
PRjohnson
05 November 2013
I'll definitely second that. Nothing else comes close.
Like (1)
Barry5p
05 July 2013
This is a great app for openVPN. It is reliable and easy to use. I love it.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.4
paulsrandall
04 July 2013
I do not how this gets rated so highly. I have to re-enter all of my registration information every time I reboot my computer. That is hardly perfect, even though everything is done quite well.
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
22 July 2013
Hi SparkLabs - I found that it was not Viscosity, but have not yet determined what is causing this problem for Viscosity and a half dozen other applications. What I do with Viscosity and the other half dozen also Menu Extras is to force quit them in Activity Monitor and immediately relaunch them. All of these work and show as registered when I do this. I'd like to find the application or Menu Extra causing this, then to offender will be gone from my system. Thanks for the reply. Again, Viscosity is great because something else is causing issues. I'll find it eventually.
Like
PRjohnson
09 January 2013
Amazingly Mac-like and simple to use. Been using Viscosity for years and is my trusted VPN app to use for my OpenVPN and other secure connections. Manages several profiles at once while maintaining a clearly laid-out set of master preferences for the app. Configuring your VPN connections is as simple as opening a VPN configuration file typically provided by any of the half-dozen leading VPN providers out there. Developers were smart to make Viscosity as powerful as any networking expert would want while at the same time providing an uncomplicated configuration interface that clearly marks the most commonly-used options and their functionality in places that are to find—and then get out of your way. Viscosity is great for any level of skill. If you are looking for nothing more than an ON/OFF VPN switch, look no further. And, as others have also mentioned, you absolutely cannot beat the $9 price tag for such a wonderful app.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
Unit-22
07 July 2012
I’ve tried quite a few VPN clients over time, this is simply the best one and most Mac-like. It runs constantly on my machine for almost a year now, never crashed or lost the connectivity unexpectedly. If you seriously gonna need a VPN client more than once or twice a year, Viscosity is well worth the $9.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.5
Pirx
17 December 2011
Viscosity bundled with 12vpn is support-wonderland. Indispensable to get you through the Great Firewall(s) of China in order to reach freedom from oppression and censorship. Worth every penny.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.5
Macnerd1984
28 November 2011
Well, I figured that after using TunnelBlick for ages I might give this a go. I like TB but it can be flaky on some occasions and the annoying window that pops up notifying you of the open VPN bug is a pain. Unfortunately Viscosity can't even manage a connection - I've tried 3 different servers. Trying the same connections with TB works first time. Additionally, TB has a handy window that pops up during the connection process - It helps you know where to start looking for a failed connection (password etc.); Viscosity doesn't appear to have this. Looks thorough in terms of configuration and the importing of saved servers from TB was handy, but ultimately all the bells and whistles under the sun are no use if it won't actually connect... It could be that I need to dig much deeper within Viscosity to find what is needed to connect, but in that case maybe it isn't really for average bods like me who just want something that you can set up and use quickly.
Like
Version 1.3.5
2 answer(s)
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
28 November 2011
After about an hour of mucking about with settings still couldn't get it to work, then true to form the first time I try it after I write the review saying it didn't work for me, it connects first time. Hopefully it will keep the connection alive. Too early to say whether it's as good as/better than TB since it's only been up for a few minutes, but figured I should at least make a note on here to say that it's finally working. No idea what it was. TB was properly quit, had no browser/mail windows open etc. - Weird.
Like
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
29 November 2011
Update: This has been running flawlessly overnight and hasn't dropped a connection once - Impressed. I'm staying away from the multitude of settings in the prefs since it's working fine. I would still like the little pop-up window you used to get with TB as you connect, but a reliable connection is the most important thing (yes, I know that Viscosity has a window too, but it's different). Like the option of showing the IP Address you're connected to in the pull down menu. At $9.00 it seems well worth it, so I'm off to buy myself a license.
Like (2)
gryphonent
02 August 2011
Best VPN out there! Never had a problem, great support, reliable, fast.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.4
Neil-M
10 June 2011
Right, first things first. I have used a lot of VPN boxes over the years mainly IPsec (and Netgear's) implementation, there have always been little niggles. IPSecuritas has been the only saving grace. Synology just upgraded their firmware to 3.1-1742 and it brings Airplay, but Also VPN support (either PPTP or OpenVPN). I think that OpenVPN. Viscosity is a really elegant, solid VPN client, made a profile on the VPN Server, exported it, imported into Viscosity...connection. A good solid connection. First time. 1 simple thing it does is; push all traffic through the tunnel - Netgear does not. That is worth the $9 alone. Very impressed. Viscosity is the kind of utility that looks like it belongs on the mac.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1
Doc-Renaud
29 May 2011
I can't believe it's already for two years I'm using Viscosity. Never had a problem, not a single crash, always here and working. Perfect!
Like (4)
Version 1.3
Ronl
05 April 2011
I am only a potential Viscosity user, but from the excellent responses (and great detail) that I have received regarding my questions... I am seriously considering purchasing this VPN client even though my VPN service provides a proprietary client. If you don't already have a VPN client... this would __definitely__ seem worth giving a try.
Like (6)
Version 1.2.3
Jacek-Noga
21 March 2011
Absolutely brilliant, looks very good and works as expected and $9 is like for free :)
Like (4)
Version 1.2.3
xati-ba
21 February 2011
Can someone tell me if this is better than Tor?
Like
Version 1.2.3
Nontroppo
02 November 2009
After struggling to get Tunnelblick work on 10.6, I gave Viscosity a try, and boy am I happy I did. It does what it needs and no more; a sleek and functional UI, I like the details pane showing throughput and its configurability. Checking the forums, the developer seems very friendly and fast/consistent answering queries and problems. This is definitely worth the money.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.7