Back to Glims page
Glims free download for Mac

Glims Reviews

1.0.42
26 November 2013

Optimize Safari with an array of supplementary features.

Yazsoft
30 October 2008

Most helpful

This is hands down the best Safari enhancer we have used. Rock solid and superbly implemented. Congratulations to the developers. Awesome work!! Johnny --- The Speed Download and ShareTool team
Like (10)
Version 1.0b10

Read 280 Glims User Reviews

Rate this app:

ben-marko
30 June 2018
I miss this so much. I would happily surrender 50% of a pair of body parts meant for reproduction if it meant Glims would come back. I miss narrow Safari tabs so much. OMG <choke, sob>
Like
Version 1.0.42
A3k
10 January 2018
I used this one for years without any problems but for some reasons I needed to update from 10.8 to 10.11 now :-( What I really miss are the automaticly dated download folders! Found no other solution so far...
Like
Version 1.0.42
Derekcurrie
19 June 2017
DO NOT INSTALL. This is Abandonware. It hasn't worked in Safari for years.

For incomprehensible reasons, MU is currently listing GLIMS as "Popular Recent" software. NO IT'S NOT! The developer abandoned it four+ years ago (as of the moment) and will NOT be updating it. GLIMS does NOT work on may modern Mac, specifically any Mac running macOS 10.10 or above.

Before it died, GLIMS had gone the sad way of becoming adware. A tragedy.
Like
Version 1.0.42
PunkNugget
15 February 2017
First thing to do is: DON'T INSTALL GLIMS. But if you're like me and didn't read the recent reviews, then you'll eventually come back to see this review. This app no longer works properly on the newer OS X (like El Capitan or above). If you decided to install it, be prepared to go through the mini-headache (that I did) trying to manually delete the files. If you don't want to delete manually then you can download and use Glims Uninstaller and it will get rid of all the files so Safari can work properly again. http://www.machangout.com/node/9 or you can download it from here: http://www.machangout.com/dwnlds/Glims-UnInstall.dmg.zip
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
c0000
c0000
10 January 2019
I ran Glims-UnInstall.dmg. It removed GlimsSafariLoader.dylib, but GlimsLoaderMinimal.dylib is still there (in the GlimsAdditions.framework/Library folder). Can I go ahead and manually delete this folder and file? Are there other files that I need to delete?
Like
Alex-Macinsky
30 January 2017
PLEASE update this for El Capitan. Can't compute without it. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.42
Aargl
09 August 2015
Glims is dead and its website too.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
In its current incarceration, I would not recommend this to anyone.

This application, while an interesting concept, made Safari unusable. It removed the titles in the tabs, and pushed Safari into several death spirals, as I tried going from one link to another. … I had to force restart repeatedly as I was trying to get this to work well.

To make matters worse, there is no easy uninstall. Getting rid of all the parts had to be done by hand. …
Like
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
defrag
defrag
31 August 2015
Never got such kind of problems with this app. The only reason I'm still using Mavericks is this app.
So there's something wrong with your OS
Like (2)
ben-marko
ben-marko
07 September 2016
I never had that problem with this app.
Like (1)
ben-marko
11 April 2015
I WOULD HAPPILY FORK OVER MONEY IF SOMEONE WOULD PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE BRING THIS BACK. I AM REALLY EAGER TO GET RID OF WIDE TABS.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Marcossi
Marcossi
23 June 2015
Don't waste your time. The guys behind it is to ignorant to even answer or put any kind of info.
Like (2)
MacGueurle
05 April 2015
Argh ! I finally decided to upgrade to Yosemite today, thinking all my software would be compatible. Unfortunately the newest version of Safari does not support Glims which I dearly love and find so useful, especially for automatically adding convenient download folders with dates on them instead of the mishmash of loose download files in the Downloads folder. Does anyone have a suggestion for a good replacement app or plugin I could use that would have close functionalities?
Like
Version 1.0.42
MacGueurle
05 April 2015
Argh ! I finally decided to upgrade to Yosemite today, thinking all my software would be compatible. Unfortunately the newest version of Safari does not support Glims which I dearly love and find so useful, especially for automatically adding convenient download folders with dates on them instead of the mishmash of loose download files in the Downloads folder. Does anyone have a suggestion for a good replacement app or plugin I could use that would have close functionalities?
Like
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
09 August 2015
Did you try Hazel? ;-)
Not free but very efficient to make a lot of operations on downloaded files! (from renaming to moving in some folder, etc.)
Like (1)
MacGueurle
MacGueurle
09 August 2015
@Aargl Yep, I'm using Hazel now. It doesn't do everything Glims did, but it's quite useful, thanks! :o)
Like (1)
Steve K
29 March 2015
I'm using it with 10.10.3 Public Beta and the latest version of Safari. Safari simply won't function with every Glims option enabled. But all I ever used Glims for was the extra bookmarking features, "Add Bookmark Here", etc., and for that it still works perfectly. Ideally, I wish Apple would just let you hover over a Favorites Bar folder while dragging-and-dropping a url, so the folder would open after a couple seconds and you could then place the bookmark in a subfolder. Slims adds a nice workaround until my wish comes true. :)
Like
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
Jcr0
Jcr0
11 April 2015
Better double-check! Although GLIMS adds the items to the bookmark bar menus, they are non-functional. Selecting "Add bookmark here" does nothing.
Like (1)
Steve K
Steve K
12 April 2015
@ Jcr0: Doh! Your're right. It's purely cosmetic. :(
Like
PedantMac
29 January 2015
Perfektní doplněk a pro mě nejdůležitější, že vytvoří každý den při downloadu novou složku spojmenovanou datem vytvoření. Jinak to má spoustu dalších nastavení.
Like
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
Tryme
Tryme
03 February 2015
Glims je opravdu nádherný. Beru to tak, že nepoužíváte Yosemite, uvědomte si, že to není kompatibilní s Safari 8. I silně spoléhal na pár funkcí v Glims, protože modernizace ztrátu těchto funkcí výrazně ovlivnila můj pracovní postup. Byl jsem schopen najít náhradu. Je Yosemite stojí ztráta jednoho z můj klíč go-to nástroje? Pro mě ne.
Like (1)
PedantMac
PedantMac
02 December 2015
Tryme : Ba ne, pod Yosemite jsem to (po krátkém boji) rozběhal a normálně to funguje, teď mám pár týdnů El Capitan a tam mě to nefunguje (zatím) ale také ho jako prioritní zatím nepoužívám (nefunguje mě tam tiskárna) .
Like
Mistersquid
14 January 2015
Glims is, alas, dead. LinkThing has similar functinoality http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35880/linkthing.
Like
Version 1.0.42
3 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
11 February 2015
I guess Glims is dead since it doesn't work with Yosimite's Safari. However, I did find this trick to get the only reason I use Glims to work with Yomsimite's Safari:

Favicons on tabs:

http://include.aorcsik.com/2014/12/04/add-favicons-to-safari-8-tabs/
Like
ben-marko
ben-marko
17 February 2015
Yes, it looks like Glims is truly dead. Very sad...

:(
Like
Vitaly
Vitaly
18 April 2015
safari stand will add favicons
Like
haydnhkim
17 December 2014
Hi there. Do you want to adds favicons to tabs on OS X yosemite? checkout this link. it works good for me! http://include.aorcsik.com/2014/12/04/add-favicons-to-safari-8-tabs/
Like
Version 1.0.42
Andy-Hewitt
30 November 2014
It's a shame that this does seem to have died out now, but like others, I'd only used this really to set a couple of options, such as narrow tabs and default search engine. For those Interested, Safari Stand is still being developed, and works in Yosemite, http://hetima.com/safari/stand-e.html. Also, for those wanting to uninstall, I have copies of their uninstallers for the normal and dev versions. I could probably bung them onto a share folder in GDrive or Dropbox if anyone is desperate and wants to personal message me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
19 December 2014
I forgot all about Safari Stand I checked out that link and immediately remembered why I stopped using it: it uses SIMBL. Every time I install SIMBL I run into mysterious problems and slowdowns and crashes.. I used to use it with aFloat—i miss that so much!
Like (1)
Bruseth
15 November 2014
I love the app/plugin, but after upgrading to Yosemite and Safari 8.0, I kept getting Bing results when I did searches in Safari, even though I had selected other Search Engines in Safari’s Preferences. After a couple of hours of trying this thing and that thing, I uninstalled Glim, and now I'm able to get search results from the Search Engine I’ve selected. I’ll be glad if and when the folks at Glims sort all this out. Gotta give this version 3 stars at the most ;-( Sorry.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
28 November 2014
The Glims site is down and apparently abandoned by its owner. The most recent version doesn't work on Yosemite. It appears that Glims is dead. Can somebody tell me how to deinstall it?
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 December 2014
NO, the Glims website is NOT down, not permanently. Meanwhile, there is no sign of interest from the developer in updating it for Yosemite. :-(

As for uninstalling it, from the website:
"If you wish to uninstall Glims, you can use our uninstaller (http://www.MacHangout.com/dwnlds/Glims-UnInstall.dmg.zip)"
Like (1)
tyasjstewart
14 November 2014
Since Glims isn't working for Safari 8 on OS X Yosemite, I've used this updated version of SafariStand to show favicons...and it WORKS! http://www.reddit.com/r/osx/comments/2lof1l/favicons_in_safari_tab_bar_this_seems_to_be_a/?sort=new
Like
Version 1.0.42
anonymous-snipe-277
23 October 2014
There is a Beta version 1.0.43 here http://wiki.machangout.com/howdoi/glims-development-build It is working better than 1.0.42 under Yosemite.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
10 answer(s)
Mcdj
Mcdj
23 October 2014
I really only use Glims for narrow tabs and type-ahead find in page. Those are not working for me in Yosemite with any version of Glims.
Like
Drdul
Drdul
26 October 2014
I had to uncheck "Other Tabs Improvements" in version 1.0.43, as I wasn't able to open additional tabs otherwise. So there's no favicons on tabs. Other features are working, however, like custom search engines and search keywords, "add bookmarks here" and horizontal separators in the bookmarks list.
Like
anonymous-snipe-277
anonymous-snipe-277
26 October 2014
Add Bookmark Here doesn't work but that is now built in. I use it to organize downloads and the alphabetize function still works. Doesn't look like they are supporting it anymore but we shall see.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
27 October 2014
What does work is add search engines, which allows me to add encrypted search engines other than those already found on Glims.
Like
Drdul
Drdul
27 October 2014
I spoke too soon with my earlier comment. Even though the custom searches worked, they were somehow interfering with the standard search, and all my searches were getting redirected to some website (the name escapes me) that Safari bombed out on. I might have been able to resolve the problem by disabling the search engine feature, but by this point there were so few features of Glims that I wanted that were still working properly that I ended up uninstalling it.
Like
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
31 October 2014
Still unstable. First thing I tried was to Cmd+click a URL to open in a new tab (with disable wide tabs checked) - and Safari crashed. It didn't even freeze up like 1.0.42 did. We still have to deal with wide tabs....<snif>. (crying)
Like
wm_sharp
wm_sharp
11 November 2014
For me, Glims 1.0.43 is worse than nothing. I installed it in hopes that it would put favicons on the otherwise unreadable, grey-on-grey Safari tabs in Yosemite. But no. Favicons still were not shown, but a host of new problems occurred. New tabs were unlabeled, the array of favorite websites didn't appear in the window of a new tab, and old tabs were not correctly restored after restarting Safar. I really, really hope the Glims developers can develop a Yosemite-ready version, and I would be happy to pay a reasonable amount for it. Without Glims, I find Safari almost unusable.
Like
Marcossi
Marcossi
13 November 2014
Link to beta not working. Glims guys don't even answer if they will or if it's possible to make it work with Safari 8.
Like
Stormchild
Stormchild
14 November 2014
That beta is quite old — several months before Yosemite was even announced. Doesn't appear to work much better than the current version, nor is there any sign that it'll ever be fixed.
Like
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
15 November 2014
This doesn't work. Same effect the previous version has...it freezes up Safari when you try to add a tab.
Like
Tjums
22 October 2014
It doesn't work with Yosemite. To bad. I really like this lille extension. Let's hope the develeper make an update very sone
Like (2)
Version 1.0.42
jar77
21 October 2014
If you don't want the ads, download directly from the developer's website. Macupdate appends the adware to your download. Just FYI. Glims is cool. Let's see if they update if for Safari 8/Yosemite. :)
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 October 2014
NO. MacUpdate specifically NEVER appends adware. If they ever did change to an adware, customer-abusing model, I'd be one of those raving at them to stop. VersionTracker sadly went that direction, prompting me to post a blog article in directing people here instead.

The situation is that Glims offers ad support for their add-on. You can change the setting for ad support within the Glims preferences. That is the full extent of the situation.

So far, there is no sign of the developers further updating Glims for Yosemite. I hope that changes.
Like
Ulyssesric
20 October 2014
Glims 1.0.42 is removed during Yosemite install. You can try to re-install Glims 1.0.42 and fixed the preference panel following @Clwguy's instruction. However, it's not compatible with Safari 8.0. Features such as Favicon, Undo history, and Disable Wide Tab are not working. Search engine is locked to Bing.com regardless setups. Guess We have to wait for the update.
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Clwguy
Clwguy
20 October 2014
Ulysseric is right except I did fix the Bing problem by changing the search engine preference in the Glims prefs panel. If you can't see the Glims prefs panel as a separate icon under Safari Pref's then you need to follow the instructions below.

I still use Glims for the bookmarks menu separator... at least it's still good for one thing
Like
Mac007
19 October 2014
Does not work on Mac OS Yosemite. Needs an update.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
Marcossi
17 October 2014
Any plans to release Glims for Safari 8 in Yosemite?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
sabirs
17 October 2014
Just upgraded to Yosemite and Glims is not compatible. Is there an ETA when it will be available for Yosemite?
Like
Version 1.0.42
gravitime
21 August 2014
Does it support Yosemite and Safari 8?
Like
Version 1.0.42
7 answer(s)
Fvdg
Fvdg
18 September 2014
No.
Like (1)
DanBuchan6937
DanBuchan6937
08 October 2014
YES IT DOES!!!

It works like a charm with the latest Yosemite GM. I just installed it, and everything works!
Like (1)
Mcdj
Mcdj
16 October 2014
@DanBuchan6937 what version of glims did you install? I installed 1.0.43 and nothing works.
Like (1)
Clwguy
Clwguy
17 October 2014
It was removed by the Yosemite installer. I downloaded 1.0.42 and so far it's working just fine. Will report back if I find any problems
Like
Clwguy
Clwguy
17 October 2014
I just discovered the new Bing switcheroo tactic. What a f'n disappointment. And I see no way to turn if off. I revert my search to Google but Glims keeps switching it back. I wonder how much money the developer got for that one. Pathetic
Like
Clwguy
Clwguy
17 October 2014
One more update: The Glims pref panel was missing from my Safari Preferences which seems to override the default search engine to Bing. This restored the Glims Pref panel and i was able to turn off the damn Bing problem.

CLOSE THE SAFARI PREFERENCES WINDOW BEFORE TRYING THIS FIX!!!

If you don't do that, it won't work and you'll just have to do it again.

Now, on to the FIX.

=========

GLIMS is great. GLIMS is wonderful! GLIMS is better than chocolate… I take that back. It's almost as good as chocolate. But GLIMS has had a nagging problem through several iterations. The GLIMS Preference Panel fails to show up after a new install or upgrade. Well here's the good news.

The FIX is EASY.
Open Safari.
Make sure that the Safari Preferences Window is CLOSED! !!! This is CRITICAL !!! If the Safari Preferences Window is open when you quit Safari, this won't work!
Quit Safari.
Go to ~/Library/Preferences (to get to ~/Library, Option-Click on the "Go" menu in Finder and select "Library")
Move the file "com.apple.Safari.plist" to the Trash. (This file will be recreated upon restarting Safari. If you had left the Safari Preferences Window open when quitting Safari, then the file would be re-created from Cache and this would not work.)
Re-start Safari.
Open Safari Preferences and you should see the GLIMS Preference Panel at the far right in the Preferences Tabs.

I have not tested my theory about installs yet. But it seems reasonable to assume that the reason why some people have this missing Preference Panel problem and some don't, is because the people who have this issue had the Safari Preferences window open when they quit Safari, before installing GLIMS. If anyone wants to try installing GLIMS with the Preferences window open and then again, with it closed, to verify this theory, I'm sure that lot's of people will appreciate whatever you have to say about it - especially the developers at MacHangout.

I've had people tell me that this didn't work, but in EVERY case, the Preferences window had not been closed before quitting Safari and it worked after this step was included, so I'll nag you about it one more time.

BEFORE TRYING TO APPLY THIS FIX, OPEN SAFARI, CLOSE THE SAFARI PREFERENCES WINDOW, AND QUIT SAFARI!
Like
Clwguy
Clwguy
18 October 2014
update: bookmarks separator works but "add bookmark or folder here" does not work
Like
eljeffe58
21 March 2014
I love Glims, and those of you moaning about ads, just turn them of for God's sake. Self-advocate. Next, phew. Tab restore does not seem to be working for some time now. Is that the same as windows restore from native Safari preferences? I believe it is, So I use that instead, but it would be nice if the one inside Glims worked. Thank God for the add bookmark, sort alpha, and add folder features.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
BobUN
BobUN
05 September 2015
ouai, mort
Like
MicheleB
28 January 2014
Such a pity this extension was spoiled with the ads etc., especially browsing tabs with ,. was great, and overall - it really made Safari much better... Haven't found a useful alternative yet, unfortunately :/
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
8 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
03 February 2014
The ads are optional
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 February 2014
What remains NOT optional is having stupid MS Bing shoved on the top of your list no matter what you do to turn it off. To Mac users, that is an ultimate insult. The developer lied that they were planning to patch the 'bug' as nothing has been done to fix it for months at this point. If your Mac ran an earlier version of Glims well in the past, I suggest going backwards to that earlier version. 1.0.42 is forced ADWARE thanks to this forced Bing rubbish, something I consider entirely unwelcome on the Mac platform. Happy note: I have NOT seen the Bing 'Bug' on my OS X 10.9 Mavericks Mac, for which I added no personalized search scripts. So you might be fine. Also, anything previous to 10.0.42 will CRASH Safari 7, which is exclusive to OS X 10.9 Mavericks. And Microsoft: Please take Bing and shove it.
Like
MicheleB
MicheleB
10 February 2014
Yeah noticed too instability issues, well when so much annoyance comes together it's clear I'll remove the stuff... I don't understand this isn't clear to the devs - they never should've added this ad-BS in the first place, but ESPECIALLY at that point in time, when Safari 7 came out... Would have been far better FIRST fixing bugs, and then selling this on the mac app store or similar without bugs or ads or bing - I would've have cared to pay a moderate price... Pity for the devs themselves, I'd say most of all, I suppose now this project is more or less dead anyway :/
Like
reflexiv
reflexiv
20 March 2014
I noticed it is possible to switch Safari back to searching Google by default after Glims switches it to Bing by selecting Google from the Search Engines selector in the address bar. This seems to persist after closing and reopening Safari.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 March 2014
Thanks reflexiv. I've verified this is the case. Bing is back where it belongs.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
20 April 2014
Ads should be off by default, but it's not a big deal to turn them off. This is freeware so you all need to either quit your bellyaching or buy something that doesn't require you to open preferences and uncheck the "ads" box. I realize that's a heavy lift for some of you, but seriously, TRY turning off the ads and see how it works. You may be surprised! Also, what's up with the Bing whining? I've used Glims for years and have no idea what has your panties in a bunch. "Google" is at the top of my search engine list, which is ordered alphabetically. You do use keyword searches, right? It's one of the top Glims features and saves a lot of mousing. Just type the search engine shortcut followed by your search terms, no need to dicker around with drop down menus. You'll need to configure the shortcuts in Glims preferences, which is far more difficult than turning off ads.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 April 2014
Thanks Xenophile for making a comment worthy of a troll. The Bing situation is well documented here. So please close your ignorant trap until such time as you can have a civil, informed contribution to make to the conversation. I won't be responding further to any further flames you have to offer. (o_0)
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
17 May 2014
Bing isn't shoved to the top of the search engine list on my Glims installation - the search engines are arranged alphabetically. Mavericks 10.9.2, Safari 7.0.3, Glims 1.0.42. Derekcurrie, you need to take a deep breath and unbunch your panties. Open Safari Preferences and click on the Glims pane. Select "Search Engines List" on the left column. You'll see a list of search engines. Click and drag to arrange in the order your prefer them to show up in the search engine drop down menu. Simple, easy, and quick. I'll bet you spent more time bellyaching about BING's position than you did fixing the problem.
Like
Derekcurrie
14 January 2014
On 30 November 2013, Machangout.com (developer) commented on the bug in v. 1.0.42 that forces Bing to the top of your search engine list, no matter what you do to try to stop it. Machangout said: "The bug has been reported we are fixing it right now." On 13 January 2014 I say: We're still waiting! Hello! Please fix this bug yesterday! Like you promised! BTW: I went bashing around inside the Glims software and found no method of stopping this, ahem, 'bug'. It's hard coded into the software. If this, ahem, 'bug' isn't removed this month, don't expect my support of Glims in the future. Instead expect 1-Star reviews. Foisting Bing on users, especially Apple users, is NOT forgivable or tolerable, ever. OK? Just fix the 'bug' and we'll be all happy again.
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
20 April 2014
I'm using version 1.0.42 and Bing is in alphabetical order on the drop down search engine list. Glims is on all three of my Macs and Bing isn't out of order on a single one. Have you tried selecting a different search engine? Why are you using the drop down list anyways? It's far easier to use shortcuts for the search engines, actually that's the main reason many of us use Glims.
Like
dottd4234
12 December 2013
On 1.0.42 If I close a tab and restore it with cmd-z, no history of that tab is restored
Like
Version 1.0.42
Apikoros
29 November 2013
I love Glims, and I agree that the authors should simply charge a modest fee, rather than screwing around with ads. My complaint, though, is that in this new version I CAN'T GET RID OF BING! No matter how many times I uncheck it in the search engines list, it's re-checked and listed at the top— i.e., is now the default— of my search engines after every restart. As for choosing which is to be the default, I see only the option to choose which to make the search suggestions source, and I chose Google. Nevertheless, Bing keeps reasserting itself. Boo. Hiss.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.42
2 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
30 November 2013
The bug has been reported we are fixing it right now.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
14 January 2014
As of a month and a half later… No 'bug' fix! Are you sure this is a 'bug'?
Like
Kernos
29 November 2013
Many are getting blank, full screen pop-unders when clicking on a link in Safari 5, 6 and 7. I solved this problem by going to Safari Prefs->Glims->Ads/Shopping-> And check Off. Mine was on Hit Me, the default. This started after installing this weeks Glims update
Like (2)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
01 December 2013
We fixed the issue. It was an error on the side of the advertiser. The light option was not affected.
Like
winnar
28 November 2013
To my preference, this adware business has soiled Glims. Why not just charge the price you think the software is worth with an honest price tag? Are you afraid that we won't pay you as much as that trick you are doing - trying to catch everybody that haven't seen the default button? And then sell info about them... That is the kind of thing that corporations commonly do. Because they lack morals and ethical standards. If you want to get paid, then put a price for us to pay, don't play with us.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.42
3 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
29 November 2013
When it comes to ads, some people are more sensitive than others… some really don't care about the banners, some like out light shopping version which gives price comparison while shopping, and some like you really can't stand the ads… the bottom line is that after talking with everyone, we agreed that as long as we give the option for users to define what they want, and to be able to turn it all off… it is acceptable… For me, I like the light version and use the price comparison engine all the time…
Like
BATM1898
BATM1898
30 November 2013
I agree in 100 % with you to winnar... Let us the choice pay directly developers and stop with the ad(advertising) and other adware.. Bad choice has my opinion
Like (2)
Tryme
Tryme
01 December 2013
I also wholeheartedly agree with Winnar What on earth were the developers thinking allowing ads rather than charging a fee, which I and many others would gladly have paid?! To support the developers I tried to tolerate the ads - but the advertising style was the most insidious type - utterly destroying the browsing experience and making some sites completely unusable. Either make Adblock shareware or keep it free - don't pollute your software with the very thing that we are using it to escape from. Clearly not a lot of logic was applied to that decision.
Like (1)
Cowicide
27 November 2013
Just a heads up to the devs your FAQ on your website shows an older version (says 1.0.41 instead of 1.0.42). Also, please add a donation link to your website. Why don't you allow donations? Please take my money, devs.
Like
Version 1.0.42
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
27 November 2013
Glims is a wonderful extension to safari. When I installed the update with the new adds, it clearly stated that there will be adds in the future a light version or that you could turn them off. So I decidet to turn on the light version. So only when I'm in an online shop, I get references to other products. At first, this was a little confusing, but now that I know that it is Glims doing this it's ok and to support them, I'll klick on one of these links every now and then. Most free application that don't ask for donation or don't have adds, gain there money by spying on your private data and sell it! Including some very big companies. So what would you prefer? We all have to make a living and nothing is free.
Like
Version 1.0.42
vcall
26 November 2013
I've loved Glims, but this adware integration is a horrible idea. I've installed again and turned it off, but the functionality's presence alone threads a feeling of distrust into its use. I don't trust 'switches'. Sure, it says it's 'off' — but is it still communicating something to somewhere? Is it profiling me? Is it creating a new log or process on my computer that can be hacked or read? (At this point, a dev telling me otherwise is not going to ease my concern. [Trust?]. I appreciate seeing that the developer is highly involved in the comments here and in personally working with the negative comments to find resolve, etc. Respectful. But... I'm sorry, I can't trust you or this app until the functionality is completely removed—and I'll be seeking alternatives until it is. Dev, I believe I can speak for at least some others by saying that my trust can be restored, but the ad thing has to go. Completely. I will happily pay a small fee for your application. Especially if you implement functionality to BLOCK ads. ;)
Like (2)
Version 1.0.42
Ulyssesric
26 November 2013
Updated, launched, searched a term, and being Binged. Yikes! Located Bing at preference, disabled, but can't be removed. Yikes again!
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
26 November 2013
I am trying to understand… since the first version the predefined search engines cannot be removed totally… you can disable or enable a search engine but only custom engines can be removed…. now Bing being the default engine is just a matter of selecting which engine you wish to use….
Like (1)
Noivad
26 November 2013
Installed, used a bit, Ads. popped up Little Snitch lit up deinstalled. Ad-ware is more annoying than nagware. Avoid this unless you like advertisements popping up to “help” you buy things to make your life easier and better with no effort. I can see the Marketing Major’s thought process now: “The internet should be easier to use — maybe if users just had a single button and things just played without needing them to lift a finger. We could insert ads. that ate up their bandwidth, and took over the whole screen—like TV, but betterer because it’s more engaging and requires less of that thinking stuff that hurt’s my head.”
Like (3)
Version 1.0.42
9 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
26 November 2013
During install you have a screen to turn ads off… Also I really don't understand what you mean by "Little Snitch lit up"?…. Our policy is simple… Ads are fine as long as you can turn it off during install or in the preferences…
Like (2)
Jb4
Jb4
26 November 2013
I think we need to clarify that even after "turning ads off" during installation, immediately after installing this update, I am having numerous pop ups and other peripheral advertising that was never this prevalent. As a result, I have also uninstalled Glims, after many years of unobtrusive, happy use.
Like (3)
AndreMeinhardt8463
AndreMeinhardt8463
26 November 2013
Already in the Version before was it possible to turn off ads, and after install of the new version was it still off. I don't see other or more popups or advertisings after install of Glims. Ads on web sites are often related to Products we looked on the Internet, for example we looked for a Brand and model of a Mobile Phone, then we see sometimes related ads. But it has nothing to do with Glims. Except of it that I don't see the announced feature to sort bookmarks by name in Bookmarks Menu of Safari 7, is Glims still a great tool.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
26 November 2013
This used to be a great add on, but the ads are just insulting, even with an option to disable them. @developer: if they can be disabled, then why include them? Leave them out, or make it an option to enable them. Just an idea, but I'd gladly pay $5 for Glims if you stripped it of all adware and spyware.
Like (1)
Jb4
Jb4
26 November 2013
I was getting adds instead of video content with "click to flash" installed as well. As soon as I disabled Glims, the video content went back to normal.
Like
Noivad
Noivad
27 November 2013
Of course you are fine with your policy… Why would you not be fine with your policy? However, just because you are fine with ads. does not mean others are. The install must have not toggled it properly, or completely. And by “lit up” I mean that little snitch intercepted multiple requests to ad-networks/social network sites even after switching off ads. So, I stand by my 1 star review: GLIMS is now adware.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
26 December 2014
If you had bothered to check out Glim's preferences, you would have seen an option to disable the ad pop-ups. With ads disabled Glims does not "light up" Little Snitch.

I do believe the ads should be off by default, but Glims is free and it's better than any of the payware Safari add-ons, so I understand their need to sustain their operation.

Like
Noivad
Noivad
27 December 2014
@Xenophile: I did "bother" to check, and deselected it. I am not an amateur user, so the haughty tone should be reserved for someone else — or better yet, not used at all. Even after deselecting ads, I kept getting notices from little snitch about it trying to connect to ad networks. So, either the preference is broken or only there for lip service. Maybe glims is hiding them to not annoy the user, but it could still be connecting and counting them as hits for revenue. It would make sense since it is revenue driven now. Anyway, I stand by my review of it as spamware.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
27 December 2014
@ Noivad:

Listen, I totally agree with you that the ads are insulting and I believe they should be disabled by default. I would prefer to pay for Glims so its development is assured.

That said, the ads are easily disabled, and once disabled, Glims does not "light up" Litte Snitch. I know this because I have both Glims and Little Snitch enabled and I've often watched for odd Safari activity.

Just go to Safari Preferences, select the Glims pane, then select "Ads/Shopping" in the left collumn. Click on the "Off" radio button. Done!

I also disable search suggestions but I don't think those could be mistaken for ads.

One final note: I'm on Mavericks w/Safari 7.1.2. It may be that the ads cannot be disabled in Yosemite/Safari 8. If so then I apologize for questioning your mastery of computers.
Like
eljeffe58
26 November 2013
I have always loved Glims and find the bookmark sorting features invaluable. I use it vs. Safari to restore tabs from previous session. It seems to be broken in 1.0.42 on my Mavericks install on Macbook Air (Summer 2012). That said, I installed it over previous version and am not sure if there is an uninstaller I should have used before overwriting. I am never sure if the auto-update works; I wish there was a way to see when it is updating. Al that aside, I am happy the debs put in an option to show no ads upon install. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
26 November 2013
Can you email me directly so we can find out what the issue is… we have no other report of problems during the installation process… my email is jim at machangout.com .
Like
Aargl
26 November 2013
version 1.0.42 doesn't show anymore in Safari 5.1.10 on 10.6.8. I've tried to revert to 1.0.41, no way, still invisible! (but Glims agent is running in the background)
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
26 November 2013
Had to repair permissions and reboot to get it right! ;-) Now it's ok.
Like
Aargl
26 November 2013
- 1.0.39 is the last version for PPC. - 1b20 is the last version for Tiger. It's a pity that they don't give that information directly in their site and moreover that they don't give links for those versions!!! A few years ago, I had requests from MU users wanting the Tiger version, I was happy to give them a hand but asked MHO to offer a link for that version... I suppose just they throw away old versions as soon as they have a new one and they don't care about PPC users anymore. :-(
Like
Version 1.0.42
AndreMeinhardt8463
25 November 2013
Machangout has Microsofts "Bing Search Engine" added in Version 1.0.42 and sets Bing as the default Search Engine. It is possible to deselect Bing, but the button to delete Bing or one of the other Search Engines is greyed out.
Like
Version 1.0.42
1 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
25 November 2013
Search engines from the default search engine lists can be deselected not removed. The feature has always been like this. Only custom search engines can be removed.
Like
wickedsp1d3r
13 November 2013
Uninstalled also because of this ad thing. I can not trust any application that uses this kind of "functionality".
Like
Version 1.0.41
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
25 November 2013
it's easily disabled, but sure enough, I've searched a while before finding the culprit! Grrrr! ;-) Well it's free, so it's understandable that they try to make money in some way, but what I don't get is that they always refused donations...
Like (2)
Jobby
12 November 2013
Agree re the ads. I've not even installed the new version yet, and I don't really want to now. Could the devs please confirm that setting the switch to OFF in preferences not only doesn't display ads, but doesn't communicate AT ALL with any of the ad companies? Not only don't I want to see intrusive ads, but I don't want my browsing habits sent to a third party for them to build a profile. Seriously, you would have been better off asking for donations. Embedding adware just makes people lose any trust they had.
Like
Version 1.0.41
1 answer(s)
Jobby
Jobby
25 November 2013
Hm, no response from the devs, and no update. Just looks dodgier and dodgier to me...
Like
Big77
28 October 2013
Agreed, the ads are a really bad idea. Please just let us pay a few bucks for the damn thing and stop the silliness with amazon referrals and ads.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.41
1 answer(s)
Maylbu
Maylbu
31 October 2013
I agree, better charge something, or loose customers. I've just uninstalled it.
Like (2)
Yes, Glims not working with 10.9 and Safari 7. After upgrading to Mavericks, Safari didn't open/load and close tabs. I was unable to enter Safari's preferences - windows just didn't open. After removing Glims Safari started working fine.
Like
Version 1.0.41
Machangout
24 October 2013
We received a number a emails asking, so YES this version supports Safari 6.1 and Mavericks.
Like
Version 1.0.41
6 answer(s)
Mac007
Mac007
25 October 2013
Unfortunately it causes problems under Safari 7.0 so I had to uninstall it. Hopefully you will be able to fix it.
Like
Machangout
Machangout
25 October 2013
no reports of anything like it. can you email me directly to see what the problem is my email is jim [at] machangout.com .
Like
Mac007
Mac007
26 October 2013
Just installed the latest version and it works. Perhaps I had an older version installed and that's why it made Safari go bonkers.
Like
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
27 October 2013
Tells me that you are not a recognised developer and the app quits.
Like
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
27 October 2013
actual text says: "Glims.pkg" can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer. Now don't get too upset - Mavericks has screwed app after app with the same comment. Why did I think being an early adopter would be OK on an upgraded OS?
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 November 2013
@Lord-Lightning, try turning off Gate Keeper.
Like
APBerlin
22 October 2013
I've used Glims for a long time, and it was essential for me—just a wonderful piece of software that added pretty much everything that i did miss in Safari.. It also fixed the ugly wide tabs, and added other great functionality. This being said, i just can't understand why the devs now felt the urge of sneaking this terrible advertise thing into it. I just spent more than 1 hour to find the reason why i see these UGLY ads for example on Apple's page. If anybody wonders — They're called "Visual Match" with a tacky green animation of scanning an image. Or when you search something in Google. I saw that the Disconnect plugin blocks ajax requests to sites like Superfish. When i google that, i get infos about malware etcetera. Why, guys? Please tell me why you just don't put a price tag on your software, instead of playing this silly game. I would have paid. Reading more reviews, i bet many more people, too. I just uninstalled it and reinstalled it to see if it's communicated. Ok, it's in the install process — a place, where you normally get long texts and press next next next. My mistake, maybe. But kind of bad practise, in my opinion. I would give 5 stars otherwise.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.41
1 answer(s)
Machangout
Machangout
22 October 2013
you know... you can turn it off from Glims preferences... but you are right about the fact that we need to let user opt out not only from the preferences but also from the installations screen...
Like
Smayer97
22 October 2013
Overall I think I like GLIM (since using 1.0.38) BUT a few issues I have. First, I notice that the X to close tabs is gone and do not know how to restore it. I only recently discovered that it installed a publin in my FIREFOX browser TOO. What in the world? I was only looking to install for Safari. I have no idea what it does in Firefox. Reading the notes for 1.0.41 I saw a reference to blekko and have noticed look ups to blekko when browsing in Firefox but had not idea what it was. I do not appreciate GLIMS installing in Forefox without my knowledge or approval! Hence the low rating. Not sure what 1.0.41 will do.
Like
Version 1.0.41
4 answer(s)
Smayer97
Smayer97
22 October 2013
publin -> plugin
Like
Machangout
Machangout
22 October 2013
Glims doesn't do anything to Firefox... we are Safari only... For the close button just go over it with your mouse and you will see the X... the best when you have questions is to email us directly from our website... About Blekko... we used to have it as an option for search references but since they complained about the amount of traffic we had to take it off... Please in the future, let us know if you have any questions. Jim.
Like
Smayer97
Smayer97
24 October 2013
You say it is only for Safari but I have a GLIMS plugin in Firefox too. I know no other place this could have come from. I search internet and I am not the only one that has found this. And why do I see Firefox trying to access blekko when doing searches or browsing? I never noticed that before.
Like
Machangout
Machangout
24 October 2013
I have no other reports from anything like this. The fact is that we don't load as Internet Plugins anymore and we don't have Blekko anymore has search suggestions. I triple check Firefox here and nothing. Can you email me directly so we find out what this is about, my email is jim [at] machangout.com .
Like
Jazzyguy
19 October 2013
This app is invaluable for searches and other features.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.41
A-J-Benamu
17 October 2013
I am wondering if Glims has something to do with tabs being duplicated when Safari 7 / OSX 10.9 launches.
Like
Version 1.0.41
1 answer(s)
AndreMeinhardt8463
AndreMeinhardt8463
18 October 2013
If you have choosen in Safari Preferences “Safari opens with: All windows from last session” , then you should turn off in Glims (General) “Restore Tabs at Launch”.
Like (3)