Back to Movist page
Movist free download for Mac

Movist Reviews

2.2.15
04 January 2020

Media player with a high-quality caption feature and more.

Flavum
07 May 2019

Most helpful

Just an FYI, folks. I've been a huge fan since Movist's introduction and agree that the update to v2.0 was bit bumpy. Loss of features, less intuitive and just a bit buggy. But if you've bought Movist from the MAS, you can get a free update to Movist Pro via the author's Web site. http://cocoable.com. Movist Pro is a breath of fresh air. Very much like v1.0 in that it just works well, smoothly and consistently. I swear I'm not a shill. The Pro version is hands-down the best video player I've ever used. Go for it.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.11

Read 192 Movist User Reviews

Rate this app:

ahmedhatata-ah
14 January 2020
this application is the best media player for Mac seriously , it works out of the box with the ability to handle almost all video formats like magic , high quality playlist with extensive subtitle support with all movies , tv shows and videos also the pro version is awesome as i can watch the videos included in the web page with Movist. Just click the button on the Safari toolbar. (Safari extension is provided.) and play videos right away without downloading from Network Servers. Supports SMB, SFTP, FTP, WebDAV (including HTTPS). Because Movist Pro handles buffering automatically and with air play that will come with future update this application will be the all in one for me to use on my Mac , very handy and powerful . it deserves more than 5 stars .
Like
Version 2.2.15
Aargl
28 November 2019
Well, I can't understand why the hell they removed some great feature from v1? We used to be able to sync subtitles in a very fine-grained way: one set of shortcuts for the basic sync and another pair of shortcuts to set the relative speed of subtitles — it happens very often that downloaded subtitles are too slow compared to my tv recordings, so that was essential to me. Of course, if you don't need those features Movist (Pro) remains a nice player, but I'm forced to stick to v1 until they re-implement them.
Like
Version 2.2.12
1 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
03 December 2019
While I don't recall the ability to change the speed of subtitles, have you contacted the developer with your concern? He's pretty receptive.
Like
Version 2.2.13
Flavum
07 May 2019
Just an FYI, folks. I've been a huge fan since Movist's introduction and agree that the update to v2.0 was bit bumpy. Loss of features, less intuitive and just a bit buggy. But if you've bought Movist from the MAS, you can get a free update to Movist Pro via the author's Web site. http://cocoable.com. Movist Pro is a breath of fresh air. Very much like v1.0 in that it just works well, smoothly and consistently. I swear I'm not a shill. The Pro version is hands-down the best video player I've ever used. Go for it.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.11
3 answer(s)
Evermore
Evermore
09 May 2019
Thanks. Very helpful.
Like (2)
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
11 May 2019
Thanks a lot Flavum!
Like (1)
Spudboy
Spudboy
27 May 2019
Thanks for the info. I went ahead and purchased it again to support the developer.
Like (2)
aaffonso
21 March 2019
This is the best player I've tested on Mac (and I've tried a lot). It's simple, customizable and plays most of the popular media file formats. Streaming is a feature I personally don't use but I hope they can sort this restriction imposed by Mac App Store. Considering version 2 wasn't a paid upgrade and I've been using this app for many years without anything to complain about, I wouldn't mind buying it again from their own store just to keep it alive.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
4 answer(s)
Spudboy
Spudboy
13 April 2019
I agree. I too tried many and glad I found Movist.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
13 April 2019
Is Movist sold outside the App store? usually in those cases the non app store versions have more features. With this said i bought this a while back and i'ts just been sitting in my purchases. I finally installed it about a week ago to see what's changed. Looks pretty nice now.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
25 April 2019
I just purchased it from within the app and not on the App Store.

And I echo what others are saying about the high quality of the app. (Especially for the price.)
Like (1)
aaffonso
aaffonso
22 May 2019
@Macinman They finally launched their off-MAS version, making it free (until 30th June) for those who previously bought from MAS. I wish I could give more than 5 stars to this dev, will buy it again anyway.
Like
mmmjohnson
17 March 2019
Fantastic media player, the new 2.x interface is slick as hell. My favorite Mac player for years, with a totally refreshed new design & better performance. (Only iiNA is comparable IMHO.) Unfortunately, Apple is messing with them, and has removed it from the App Store. Boo hiss to Apple. I hope the developer can start selling it through their own website; I'd much prefer to pay them directly anyway, and leave out Apple's 30% cut. (And they actually HAVE a website now, which is another Movist breakthrough!)
Like (3)
Version 2.0.5
Katuzero
09 February 2019
movist player not available on app store
Like
Version 2.0.5
Andrew8042
19 November 2018
Много лет ждали, наконец дождались. =)
Like
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
ronald-1**
ronald-1**
19 November 2018
Yeah, right !
Like
JonThaler
JonThaler
03 December 2018
Yes. At last !!
Like
Aargl
08 January 2018
Of course, there are plenty of free players around (Mac Media Player is one of my favourites, but I'm also going to give mpv a try), VLC is of course the most polyvalent one but Movist is a must-have when it comes to precision about settings (especially subtitles), it has some functions and customizations that VLC hasn't. And for just five bucks, it's really worth it.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
27 March 2018
Hmmm... the website has been down for a while, I'm afraid we won't see an update soon. Shame.
Like
Andy49
12 October 2017
STUPID decision to move controls to the top. What makes this selfish developer think that after years of getting used to it being at the bottom that we want it changed to the top?
Like
Version 1.4.2
3 answer(s)
Andy49
Andy49
18 October 2017
Update - I apologize for my comment even though it's the developer's fault. When I updated to the newer version it automatically changed themes and the controls were at the top. I changed the theme. Now it works.
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
08 January 2018
I prefer on top. Tastes... ;-)
Like (1)
gravitime
gravitime
11 July 2018
First, as you already realized, the controls location is effected by themes.
Second, some people may prefer on top because it won't block subtitles.
Like (1)
Ola
07 June 2017
Half star! They think it's ok to take my money, but no way to get support! So, stay away!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Atalantia
30 October 2016
Nice designed player everything is good except... the movies stagnate slightly compared to VLC wich plays the movies fluidly. (10.9.5 C2D 2.6GHz)
Like
Version 1.4.1
Mahdizadeh
08 October 2016
best player ever version 1.4.1 is released
Like
Version 1.4.0
antoniong
23 May 2016
Good movie player. Only problem is that developer does not respond at all to emails sent.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
My favourite movie player. I already tried almost all other movie players and this one is by far the best. I agree that we should pay to have it if the price is fair. No one works for free. If it is good we should pay for it, and that's what I have done. Beside, I agree with it at App Store because give me more confidence to install it.
Like
Version 1.4.0
Penguirl
07 December 2015
I loved the original Movist, but moved on when it became a commercial app. Why pay for this when MPlayerX, VLC, and Kodi all work better and are free of charge.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
Bento de Espinosa
19 November 2015
It's a pity. The most important feature for me is when the player remembers last play position. Unfortunately, this is no longer working like it used to do. Now it works ONLY if I open the movie by right-clicking on the Movist icon in the Dock.
Like
Version 1.3.18
JohnF1664
31 July 2015
A great app but there's a bug that is never fixed: Start playing a movie, go to fullscreen, close the app, now drop a new movie on the app - it will start playing somewhere else and not on the current screen. Come on! It's a common workflow
Like (1)
Version 1.3.17
sash5us
11 July 2015
Is it possible to watch a 3D Movie in 2D on Movist?
Like
Version 1.3.17
Bento de Espinosa
30 June 2015
It was my best video player for years!!! Especially under Snow Leopard it was perfect! Now, under Mavericks, it's not as good as it used to be. Lot's of weird behaviors, especially with fullscreen, but the worst is that it's not remembering play position anymore. Pity...
Like
Version 1.3.17
Mahdizadeh
24 June 2015
i love this player I'm sure this is the best player among all
Like
Version 1.3.16
Mahdizadeh
24 June 2015
version 1.3.17 is released


What's New in Version 1.3.17
• Fixed gray full screen background in OS X 10.7.
Like
Version 1.3.16
Bento de Espinosa
25 April 2015
It's not remembering last play position. I have tried all possible settings, but when I reopen a movie, it doesn't play from where I stopped at last, but from a previous play position, further back. What's wrong?
Like
Version 1.3.15
nameluo
06 February 2015
11111111
Like
Version 1.3.15
Helmo-Hass
27 January 2015
Although it seems to be the most reliable player, it still has much to improve... since a long time now has not been able to fix a major issue with subtitles which is very irritating, normally it should be able to handle them instead it still overlaps and those normally intended to be on top side are displayed on the bottom, which obviously on files having a song track and dialogs together become a mess, loosing the spoken to the soundtrack. vlc does it very well and its free. i give it 3 stars only as in my opinion, even if it is a nice and for some features it offers very useful, developers should fix the issues instead or releasing newer versions unsolved.
Like
Version 1.3.15
1 answer(s)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
05 December 2015
Version 1.4
Nothing changed... I guess till the dev will continue to force the player to play the subs on conditional basis, this will stay forever. Didn't you realise that forcing preferences to choose in which position have the subtitles (upper / lower) will make all subtitles overlap? why don't you let the player read the subs as they are?
Well, since i already moved to MPlayerX i'm not so interested anymore in any further development.
good luck
Like
Spudboy
20 January 2015
Does not play WMV files which is a bummer. I have to keep Mac Media Player on my computer just for WMV's. Other then that I'm pretty happy with the program.
Like
Version 1.3.15
1 answer(s)
Air1413
Air1413
21 January 2015
I had no problems playing the WMV files located here: http://www.clipcanvas.com/a/video-clip-downloads/
Like (1)
Air1413
20 January 2015
Movist is indeed the BEST player out there. It handles every HD single file I throw it (H2.64 1080p MKV, H.265, Hi10p, etc) and works flawlessly. It's VDA hardware acceleration seems to be the most efficient one out there (I've been doing comparisons between Movist, VLC, MPlayer OSX Extended, MPlayerX) getting 20-30% usage instead of 40-50% of CPU usage and it's subtitle handling is just awesome (you have total control and how to display them) Development is going strong and the developer is very enthusiastic about it. The only drawback which doesn't make it my default player is the lack of support for Anime's SSA/ASS subtitles, but the developer has told me that Movist 2.0 which a BETA version is coming in early 2015, will have that feature.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.15
Spudboy
01 January 2015
It asking every time for permission to play a video is annoying.
Like
Version 1.3.15
2 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
01 January 2015
Try this: Go to the Movist preferences, click Advanced and then click the Security tab. Now drag your main hard drive (assuming you have it visible on your desktop) into the window. That *should* eliminate the need to grant permissions for viewing each video. Works for me, but I'm still using Mountain Lion.
Like (1)
Spudboy
Spudboy
01 January 2015
So far so good, thanks for the tip.
Like (1)
tjekov37
31 December 2014
I love this player. Working correctly and so fast. Read and new x265 codecs :-)))
Like (2)
Version 1.3.15
Wts
04 December 2014
OK, this is more than ridiculous that the web site is STILL under construction. The developer ( or rather MacUpdate ) states that version 1.3.13 Released 02-Dec-2014 works in Mac OS 10.6 ( SnowLeopard ). Well it does not. For that reason i my rating is less than 5 stars. Now my next problem is where can I download the previous version?
Like
Version 1.3.13
6 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
01 January 2015
You could have been an adult and left a comment instead and contacted the developer. Using the star rating as your petty penalty is lame. Also you blame the Dev and MacUpdate but it doesn't look as though you contacted either. So to solve your "next problem" WHY DON"T YOU CONTACT THE DEVELOPER.
Tired of people abusing the star ratings and killing the whole review process.
Like (2)
Wts
Wts
01 January 2015
@lemonb3519, and how does one contact the developer when his site is down or "still underconstruction" or as of today "coming soon" as i noted in my post ?

Maybe you have a secret contact point that you could share and i would gladly contact him/her/whom ever. Or perhaps, you are the developer ?

Regardless, it is somewhat immature of you my friend to attack some one by what you said.

Incidentally my review is a review not only of the product but also a review of the "service" by the developer. Obviously the developer could care less since he has not responded in his own defense or clarification as to where is his elusive web site.

I use his software but at this point of time it is not worth full marks which is my opinion my friend so please do not take offense to my rights to express my opinion.

Like (1)
Flavum
Flavum
01 January 2015
Wts: Open Movist, click on the Movist menu (top left) and select "Send Bug Report". This will open a pre-formatted Mail message addressed to the developer. He has responded quickly and been quite helpful in my experience.
Like (1)
Wts
Wts
01 January 2015
Flavum Jan 01, 2015, thanks for the headsup.
Like (1)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
03 January 2015
You have a fast and sharp tongue Wts… No I am not the developer so mind your manners with those wild accusations and assumptions. Oh and when you buy apps, read the instructions before you go on the attack.
Like
Air1413
Air1413
20 January 2015
I am on Snow Leopard (10.6.8) and it does work perfectly. I think you need at least 10.6.6 in order to be able to use Movist.
Like
Alessandro82
03 December 2014
after the update full screen movie wont work what a bad developer shame on him!! here a screen shot of the bug https://copy.com/zeCW0jHSAqqa4Ucl SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 1.3.13
1 answer(s)
alanB8048
alanB8048
03 December 2014
it work perfectly on my MBP 10.10.1....
Like
Gary-box
15 November 2014
This is actually a good media player. Plays about anything including reading subtitles files. The only thing I do not like, it is Sandboxed meaning you have to do some trickery to get some things to work. The app does guide you how to do this but it just again shows Sandboxed apps can be tedious to use. Still 4.5 solid gained stars !
Like (1)
Version 1.3.12
antoniong
14 November 2014
It was my default player but since Yosemite it takes very long before a movie starts playing. All I see is a black window with the rotating symbol.
Like
Version 1.3.12
TCalhau
30 October 2014
My default movie player!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.11
nymphe
21 October 2014
I'm still using the 0.6.9 version which still works flawlessly, at least until I installed Yosemite. Subtitles are essential for me, however how Movist handles the subtitles changed after I installed Yosemite. It seems there is an invisible subtitle box and some sentences won't fit to this box. It is really annoying and practically eliminates the reason why I use this app. Does anyone have this problem with 1.3.11? This app rocks, but lacking a simple website with some kind of support is removing one star from my review.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.11
2 answer(s)
Reem-m
Reem-m
21 October 2014
i do have the same problem, and i don't know how to fix it :(
Like
nymphe
nymphe
23 October 2014
I've tried Movist 1.3.11 at a friends computer and it seems the subtitle bug was fixed. It seems it is time for me to upgrade from 0.6.9 to 1.3.11 :)
Like
alanB8048
21 October 2014
simply the best again and again
Like (1)
Version 1.3.11
Wts
05 October 2014
Wow, their web site has been construction for a long long time. And you can't get to them from the Apple store either.
Like
Version 1.3.10
NotDilbert
03 October 2014
I absolutely love this app. It can play almost any video, and at 1/10th to 4x normal speed. My only suggestion for improvement would be a fully stretchable view. It comes with several preset sizes, but I would like infinitely variable. Regardless, I still give it 5 stars without any reservations.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.10
1 answer(s)
NotDilbert
NotDilbert
03 October 2014
P.S. I've been using Movist for over two years. It has had the occasional issue, but all-in-all I think it's the best Video player I've ever used. Mac or Windblows.
Like
kingofnerds
02 October 2014
finally add Chinese locale
Like
Version 1.3.10
alanB8048
26 August 2014
one of the best for me 5 stars
Like
Version 1.3.8
Wts
29 July 2014
Good video/audio player that allows setting up different playlists. However i have found that when you get into full screen there no easy way to get back to normal size.
Like
Version 1.3.7
5 answer(s)
NotDilbert
NotDilbert
03 October 2014
Put your cursor at the top of your screen, select Video>Exit Full Screen.

Simply pressing the letter Z on your keyboard switches between full and regular screen.
Like
Wts
Wts
03 October 2014
No luck using the letter Z, i just get play speed 1.0x message in the upper left hand corner.

Looking thru the drop down menus for Movist does not show any use of pressing letter Z that it will do anything.
Like
NotDilbert
NotDilbert
03 October 2014
That's very odd. With your cursor on the very top of your screen, you should see the Video drop-down, with Full/Regular screen being the very first option.

I suggest reinstalling. It sounds like your keys have been reconfigured. Movist allows any feature to be reconfigured using Preferences>Shortcuts.

I assume you paid for your software and aren't running a pirated copy. But if you are, forget anything I said. LOL
Like
Flavum
Flavum
08 November 2014
Press the "esc" (escape) key to get out of full screen.
Like
Flavum
Flavum
04 January 2015
Also, the return key toggles between full-screen and windowed views.
Like
GeogProf
20 May 2014
V. 1.3.7 is buggy. Whenever I use Movist's Step Forward or Step Back keyboard shortcuts ( ] and [, respectively), it works for a few frames then stops,, and the app is frozen, forcing me to quit and restart it.
Like
Version 1.3.7
1 answer(s)
NotDilbert
NotDilbert
03 October 2014
Try different video formats to isolate the problem, then alert the developer. Also be aware that there are different versions of video formats. Just because one avi or mpg works, doesn't mean they all will. Keep in mind that some videos are corrupt, making it even more difficult for the video player to render properly.

I give the Movist developers a lot of credit for getting this product to work as well as it does, and for continued free updates. Most definitely worth the five bucks I paid, and then some.
Like
Palex
30 April 2014
Was free
Like (1)
Version 1.3.7
1 answer(s)
nymphe
nymphe
03 May 2014
0.6.9 is still free and can be downloaded
Like (1)
Palex
30 April 2014
Was free
Like
Version 1.3.7
atuser
23 April 2014
1.3.6 not displaying DAR properly.
Like
Version 1.3.5
antoniong
01 April 2014
Good player. Also because it is possible to show more than 1 subtitle it is ideal for synchronizing subs.
Like
Version 1.3.5
M85
22 February 2014
Great player, clean interface with lots of advanced options (just took me a sec to find them). Much prefer to vlc or mplayer
Like (1)
Version 1.3.5
flash1296gmailcom8977
19 February 2014
Still buggy.
Like
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
19 February 2014
how ?
Like (2)
Aargl
09 January 2014
Looks like there is no proper "Developer's Site" any more, just the app store...
Like (3)
Version 1.3.3
2 answer(s)
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
18 February 2014
And, the Movist developer site link on the Mac App Store is dead, too. Makes me uneasy about having anything to do with an app when I don't know who's behind it. I'm surprised that a working developer link isn't required for listing in MacUpdate and Mac App Store.
Like (1)
Flavum
Flavum
30 April 2014
Under the Movist menu is "Send Bug Report" which opens a pre-formatted Mail message. Granted it's an unusual place to find contact info, but it's something.
Like
GeogProf
10 December 2013
This and the last version are buggy as hell. Stay away until the devs get their at together
Like
Version 1.3.3
Alessandro82
09 December 2013
why do the hell in version 1.3.3 find next or previous file ina directory wont work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! go to hell i rellay hope ohter people read it before buyin no support at all stay away
Like
Version 1.3.3