Back to Movist page
Movist free download for Mac

Movist Reviews2.6.7

02 April 2021

Media player with a high-quality caption feature and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
iWare
iWare
May 13 2021
2.6.7
0.0
May 13 2021
0.0
Version: 2.6.7
It's very much worth the expense. You will never need another media player!
OhEssex
OhEssex
Oct 31 2020
2.4.4
3.0
Oct 31 2020
3.0
Version: 2.4.4
A pre-purchase email to their customer service yielded no response at all. For me anyway, that's enough to not bother with this software.
smarties2k
smarties2k
Jun 9 2020
2.2.19
1.0
Jun 9 2020
1.0
Version: 2.2.19
A modern media player with no airplay functionality is a NO-NO to me!
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Jan 14 2020
2.2.15
5.0
Jan 14 2020
5.0
Version: 2.2.15
this application is the best media player for Mac seriously , it works out of the box with the ability to handle almost all video formats like magic , high quality playlist with extensive subtitle support with all movies , tv shows and videos also the pro version is awesome as i can watch the videos included in the web page with Movist. Just click the button on the Safari toolbar. (Safari extension is provided.) and play videos right away without downloading from Network Servers. Supports SMB, SFTP, FTP, WebDAV (including HTTPS). Because Movist Pro handles buffering automatically and with air play that will come with future update this application will be the all in one for me to use on my Mac , very handy and powerful . it deserves more than 5 stars .
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 28 2019
2.2.12
3.0
Nov 28 2019
3.0
Version: 2.2.12
Well, I can't understand why the hell they removed some great feature from v1? We used to be able to sync subtitles in a very fine-grained way: one set of shortcuts for the basic sync and another pair of shortcuts to set the relative speed of subtitles — it happens very often that downloaded subtitles are too slow compared to my tv recordings, so that was essential to me. Of course, if you don't need those features Movist (Pro) remains a nice player, but I'm forced to stick to v1 until they re-implement them.
Flavum
Flavum
May 7 2019
2.0.11
5.0
May 7 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0.11
Just an FYI, folks. I've been a huge fan since Movist's introduction and agree that the update to v2.0 was bit bumpy. Loss of features, less intuitive and just a bit buggy. But if you've bought Movist from the MAS, you can get a free update to Movist Pro via the author's Web site. http://cocoable.com. Movist Pro is a breath of fresh air. Very much like v1.0 in that it just works well, smoothly and consistently. I swear I'm not a shill. The Pro version is hands-down the best video player I've ever used. Go for it.
aaffonso
aaffonso
Mar 21 2019
2.0.5
5.0
Mar 21 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0.5
This is the best player I've tested on Mac (and I've tried a lot). It's simple, customizable and plays most of the popular media file formats. Streaming is a feature I personally don't use but I hope they can sort this restriction imposed by Mac App Store. Considering version 2 wasn't a paid upgrade and I've been using this app for many years without anything to complain about, I wouldn't mind buying it again from their own store just to keep it alive.
mmmjohnson
mmmjohnson
Mar 17 2019
2.0.5
4.5
Mar 17 2019
4.5
Version: 2.0.5
Fantastic media player, the new 2.x interface is slick as hell. My favorite Mac player for years, with a totally refreshed new design & better performance. (Only iiNA is comparable IMHO.) Unfortunately, Apple is messing with them, and has removed it from the App Store. Boo hiss to Apple. I hope the developer can start selling it through their own website; I'd much prefer to pay them directly anyway, and leave out Apple's 30% cut. (And they actually HAVE a website now, which is another Movist breakthrough!)
Katuzero
Katuzero
Feb 9 2019
2.0.5
2.0
Feb 9 2019
2.0
Version: 2.0.5
movist player not available on app store
Andrew8042
Andrew8042
Nov 19 2018
2.0.1
4.5
Nov 19 2018
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
Много лет ждали, наконец дождались. =)
Aargl
Aargl
Jan 8 2018
1.4.2
3.0
Jan 8 2018
3.0
Version: 1.4.2
Of course, there are plenty of free players around (Mac Media Player is one of my favourites, but I'm also going to give mpv a try), VLC is of course the most polyvalent one but Movist is a must-have when it comes to precision about settings (especially subtitles), it has some functions and customizations that VLC hasn't. And for just five bucks, it's really worth it.
Andy49
Andy49
Oct 12 2017
1.4.2
1.5
Oct 12 2017
1.5
Version: 1.4.2
STUPID decision to move controls to the top. What makes this selfish developer think that after years of getting used to it being at the bottom that we want it changed to the top?
Ola
Ola
Jun 7 2017
1.4.1
0.5
Jun 7 2017
0.5
Version: 1.4.1
Half star! They think it's ok to take my money, but no way to get support! So, stay away!
Atalantia
Atalantia
Oct 30 2016
1.4.1
3.0
Oct 30 2016
3.0
Version: 1.4.1
Nice designed player everything is good except... the movies stagnate slightly compared to VLC wich plays the movies fluidly. (10.9.5 C2D 2.6GHz)
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
Oct 8 2016
1.4.0
5.0
Oct 8 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
best player ever version 1.4.1 is released
antoniong
antoniong
May 23 2016
1.4.0
3.5
May 23 2016
3.5
Version: 1.4.0
Good movie player. Only problem is that developer does not respond at all to emails sent.
anonymous-anglerfish-2845
anonymous-anglerfish-2845
Feb 27 2016
1.4.0
5.0
Feb 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
My favourite movie player. I already tried almost all other movie players and this one is by far the best. I agree that we should pay to have it if the price is fair. No one works for free. If it is good we should pay for it, and that's what I have done. Beside, I agree with it at App Store because give me more confidence to install it.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Dec 7 2015
1.4.0
0.0
Dec 7 2015
0.0
Version: 1.4.0
I loved the original Movist, but moved on when it became a commercial app. Why pay for this when MPlayerX, VLC, and Kodi all work better and are free of charge.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Nov 19 2015
1.3.18
1.0
Nov 19 2015
1.0
Version: 1.3.18
It's a pity. The most important feature for me is when the player remembers last play position. Unfortunately, this is no longer working like it used to do. Now it works ONLY if I open the movie by right-clicking on the Movist icon in the Dock.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Jul 31 2015
1.3.17
2.5
Jul 31 2015
2.5
Version: 1.3.17
A great app but there's a bug that is never fixed: Start playing a movie, go to fullscreen, close the app, now drop a new movie on the app - it will start playing somewhere else and not on the current screen. Come on! It's a common workflow
sash5us
sash5us
Jul 11 2015
1.3.17
5.0
Jul 11 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.17
Is it possible to watch a 3D Movie in 2D on Movist?
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jun 30 2015
1.3.17
1.0
Jun 30 2015
1.0
Version: 1.3.17
It was my best video player for years!!! Especially under Snow Leopard it was perfect! Now, under Mavericks, it's not as good as it used to be. Lot's of weird behaviors, especially with fullscreen, but the worst is that it's not remembering play position anymore. Pity...
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
Jun 24 2015
1.3.16
5.0
Jun 24 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.16
i love this player I'm sure this is the best player among all
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
Jun 24 2015
1.3.16
5.0
Jun 24 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.16
version 1.3.17 is released


What's New in Version 1.3.17
• Fixed gray full screen background in OS X 10.7.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Apr 25 2015
1.3.15
1.0
Apr 25 2015
1.0
Version: 1.3.15
It's not remembering last play position. I have tried all possible settings, but when I reopen a movie, it doesn't play from where I stopped at last, but from a previous play position, further back. What's wrong?
nameluo
nameluo
Feb 6 2015
1.3.15
5.0
Feb 6 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.15
11111111
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Jan 27 2015
1.3.15
3.0
Jan 27 2015
3.0
Version: 1.3.15
Although it seems to be the most reliable player, it still has much to improve... since a long time now has not been able to fix a major issue with subtitles which is very irritating, normally it should be able to handle them instead it still overlaps and those normally intended to be on top side are displayed on the bottom, which obviously on files having a song track and dialogs together become a mess, loosing the spoken to the soundtrack. vlc does it very well and its free. i give it 3 stars only as in my opinion, even if it is a nice and for some features it offers very useful, developers should fix the issues instead or releasing newer versions unsolved.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Jan 20 2015
1.3.15
3.0
Jan 20 2015
3.0
Version: 1.3.15
Does not play WMV files which is a bummer. I have to keep Mac Media Player on my computer just for WMV's. Other then that I'm pretty happy with the program.
Air1413
Air1413
Jan 20 2015
1.3.15
4.5
Jan 20 2015
4.5
Version: 1.3.15
Movist is indeed the BEST player out there. It handles every HD single file I throw it (H2.64 1080p MKV, H.265, Hi10p, etc) and works flawlessly. It's VDA hardware acceleration seems to be the most efficient one out there (I've been doing comparisons between Movist, VLC, MPlayer OSX Extended, MPlayerX) getting 20-30% usage instead of 40-50% of CPU usage and it's subtitle handling is just awesome (you have total control and how to display them) Development is going strong and the developer is very enthusiastic about it. The only drawback which doesn't make it my default player is the lack of support for Anime's SSA/ASS subtitles, but the developer has told me that Movist 2.0 which a BETA version is coming in early 2015, will have that feature.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Jan 1 2015
1.3.15
3.0
Jan 1 2015
3.0
Version: 1.3.15
It asking every time for permission to play a video is annoying.
tjekov37
tjekov37
Dec 31 2014
1.3.15
5.0
Dec 31 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.15
I love this player. Working correctly and so fast. Read and new x265 codecs :-)))
Wts
Wts
Dec 4 2014
1.3.13
2.0
Dec 4 2014
2.0
Version: 1.3.13
OK, this is more than ridiculous that the web site is STILL under construction. The developer ( or rather MacUpdate ) states that version 1.3.13 Released 02-Dec-2014 works in Mac OS 10.6 ( SnowLeopard ). Well it does not. For that reason i my rating is less than 5 stars. Now my next problem is where can I download the previous version?
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Dec 3 2014
1.3.13
0.5
Dec 3 2014
0.5
Version: 1.3.13
after the update full screen movie wont work what a bad developer shame on him!! here a screen shot of the bug https://copy.com/zeCW0jHSAqqa4Ucl SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!
Gary-box
Gary-box
Nov 15 2014
1.3.12
4.5
Nov 15 2014
4.5
Version: 1.3.12
This is actually a good media player. Plays about anything including reading subtitles files. The only thing I do not like, it is Sandboxed meaning you have to do some trickery to get some things to work. The app does guide you how to do this but it just again shows Sandboxed apps can be tedious to use. Still 4.5 solid gained stars !
antoniong
antoniong
Nov 14 2014
1.3.12
3.5
Nov 14 2014
3.5
Version: 1.3.12
It was my default player but since Yosemite it takes very long before a movie starts playing. All I see is a black window with the rotating symbol.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 30 2014
1.3.11
4.0
Oct 30 2014
4.0
Version: 1.3.11
My default movie player!
nymphe
nymphe
Oct 21 2014
1.3.11
4.0
Oct 21 2014
4.0
Version: 1.3.11
I'm still using the 0.6.9 version which still works flawlessly, at least until I installed Yosemite. Subtitles are essential for me, however how Movist handles the subtitles changed after I installed Yosemite. It seems there is an invisible subtitle box and some sentences won't fit to this box. It is really annoying and practically eliminates the reason why I use this app. Does anyone have this problem with 1.3.11? This app rocks, but lacking a simple website with some kind of support is removing one star from my review.
alanB8048
alanB8048
Oct 21 2014
1.3.11
5.0
Oct 21 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.11
simply the best again and again
Wts
Wts
Oct 5 2014
1.3.10
2.0
Oct 5 2014
2.0
Version: 1.3.10
Wow, their web site has been construction for a long long time. And you can't get to them from the Apple store either.
NotDilbert
NotDilbert
Oct 3 2014
1.3.10
5.0
Oct 3 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.10
I absolutely love this app. It can play almost any video, and at 1/10th to 4x normal speed. My only suggestion for improvement would be a fully stretchable view. It comes with several preset sizes, but I would like infinitely variable. Regardless, I still give it 5 stars without any reservations.
kingofnerds
kingofnerds
Oct 2 2014
1.3.10
5.0
Oct 2 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.10
finally add Chinese locale
alanB8048
alanB8048
Aug 26 2014
1.3.8
5.0
Aug 26 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
one of the best for me 5 stars
Wts
Wts
Jul 29 2014
1.3.7
2.0
Jul 29 2014
2.0
Version: 1.3.7
Good video/audio player that allows setting up different playlists. However i have found that when you get into full screen there no easy way to get back to normal size.
GeogProf
GeogProf
May 20 2014
1.3.7
5.0
May 20 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.7
V. 1.3.7 is buggy. Whenever I use Movist's Step Forward or Step Back keyboard shortcuts ( ] and [, respectively), it works for a few frames then stops,, and the app is frozen, forcing me to quit and restart it.
Palex
Palex
Apr 30 2014
1.3.7
5.0
Apr 30 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.7
Was free
Palex
Palex
Apr 30 2014
1.3.7
5.0
Apr 30 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.7
Was free
atuser
atuser
Apr 23 2014
1.3.5
0.0
Apr 23 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3.5
1.3.6 not displaying DAR properly.
antoniong
antoniong
Apr 1 2014
1.3.5
3.5
Apr 1 2014
3.5
Version: 1.3.5
Good player. Also because it is possible to show more than 1 subtitle it is ideal for synchronizing subs.
M85
M85
Feb 22 2014
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 22 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Great player, clean interface with lots of advanced options (just took me a sec to find them). Much prefer to vlc or mplayer
flash1296gmailcom8977
flash1296gmailcom8977
Feb 19 2014
1.3.4
2.5
Feb 19 2014
2.5
Version: 1.3.4
Still buggy.