Back to GaragePay page
GaragePay free download for Mac

GaragePay Reviews

1.8.1
02 October 2019

Download, view, search, archive all your PayPal transactions.

Jan13
02 July 2008

Most helpful

EXPENSIVE !!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1

Read 17 GaragePay User Reviews

Rate this app:

Joseluismen
07 April 2019
Version 10.8 requires the use of operating system 10.12 as a minimum. On its website, the previous version 1.7.2 works from 10.7. It is automatically updated until 1.7.5, at least 10.11. Therefore, the download of the current version 1.8 is incompatible.
Like
Version 1.8
aglessi
11 October 2014
It works fine under Mavericks, but there aren't recent updates. In the meanwhile the PayPal web interface has greatly improved and frankly I don't see many advantages in using it. It seems to me also very risky in terms of security management.
Like
Version 1.7.2
pettifogger0712
25 November 2013
Does anyone know which was the last version that worked with a PPC Mac running Leopard?
Like
Version 1.7
typofonic-com
24 September 2013
Doesn't work at all and doesn't transfer anything from Paypal despite having followed their instructions, and they don't reply to support requests. So nothing good to say about this piece of software.
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
12 April 2014
Seconded! Just spent the last 30min requesting - and re-requesting API credentials - and it still didn't work despite following their instructions to the letter [which - BTW - are also out of date]. Avoid until these shortcomings are rectified
Like
Bazar
11 March 2013
Seems to charge you a fee for transaction made through the api of Garagepay. For instance, a payment of 50€ is charged 0.85€ with Garagepay but making the transaction through the Paypal site is free for this amount. The advantages of seeing the totality of your transactions through Garagepay seems very much offset by the fees collected through Garagepay.
Like
Version 1.6.11
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
21 June 2013
It's been ages since I tried this app for a few minutes and never returned so I might be a bit hazy and apologize if I am wrong, however I do not think garagepay even has the functionality to pay someone/business through the app. It is merely aimed at putting a pretty UI, well it's not pretty, but anyways it's to make your paypal transactions more manageable as you can either download the transaction info from paypal and open it in 50 other good db applications or use this app to get the information streamlined and hurrying up your workflow. It is not a browser replacement for paying people via paypal's API so I don't see where your charges are coming from and thank goodness you have this app to spread all the info out and you can finger the culprit! Sorry if I am wrong, I just don't think that is the app's aim or even capability.
Like
twinturbine
25 June 2012
Great app for quickly tracking purchase history and printing shipping labels quickly for my online & eBay store. I know it's a completely different system, but Amazon payments would be useful too.
Like
Version 1.6.9
Xk13
10 May 2009
I like this app. It saves me a lot of time. Please add shortcut for the search.
Like
Version 1.5.2
waryuser
14 January 2009
This is a great app. I got it on MUPromo for a great price, I don't think I'd buy it for it's full price. It's a better way to load PayPal data in public because you don't need your password to log on. You can just open it, look through and search through transactions - even find them without internet. It's stability could use some help, I've had a few crashes - though it's still great. They should make a mobile version (iPhone) because the PayPal app for iPhone requires you to enter your password every time... I use 1Password, I can't really remember it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Funkelectric
05 August 2008
Cool, connecting to my Paypal account was very easy. Nice app, nice gui and workflow, but a bit too expensive for a "normal" paypal account (with no shopping cart etc...). Maybe you should think to do a Lite version.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Tankknight
01 August 2008
I love being able to launch this app to look at my current PayPal status. It is also invaluable to perform PayPal searches on my desktop. However after beta 6 this has become an app that I hate. It decides which transactions to download and not download, which to transactions have details and which don't. I finally gave up and went back to beta 6 and all is working again. So, I would normally give this 4 stars, but this 1 star rating is for versions after beta 6.
Like
Version 1.1
Glioma
02 July 2008
This is a useless program. It does not download the item descriptions. You can get more information by downloading the QIF file format from PayPal and importing into a financial program, such as iBank. That way you obtain all the information for each transaction that PayPal offers. The developer's response is that the PayPal toolkit doesn't offer the item description. Too bad they don't tell you that before you buy the program.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Jan13
02 July 2008
EXPENSIVE !!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
thec13
thec13
02 July 2008
Great app and one I would love to have, but I agree with you; it is entirely too much $. Hopefully it will be on the MacUpdate Promo or macZOT soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
waryuser
waryuser
02 July 2008
It only seems that way, but the price is probably what it is because the USD is so worthless.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Chas-m
Chas-m
07 April 2009
Agreed. $25 is waaaaay too much money for this one-trick pony. Call me when it's $9.99 or less. Or better yet, a $1.99 iPhone app.
Like
Version 1.5b2
Lupinglade
19 June 2008
Add a feature to print UPS shipping labels!
Like
Version 1.0
Dcheckler
19 June 2008
Great 1.0 product. Anything that keeps me off of the PayPal website and within a speedy, online-offline OS X app is a good thing. Currently the app is geared towards reviewing completed sales from you PayPal account. There is no "Capture Funds" feature in this version. Future integration with OS X Address Book, iCal, and shipping company address books would make this a complete app. An iPhone version of this app would allow me to manage my day-to-day business from anywhere. nudge, nudge.
Like
Version 1.0
Bluloo
19 June 2008
Nice idea but too pricey for something that's freely available in any web browser. YMMV
Like
Version 1.0
Stormchild
29 May 2008
Dumb name. What does PayPal have to do with a garage?
Like
Version 1.0b3
2 answer(s)
tim-dehring
tim-dehring
30 May 2008
I think the price is a bit steep for what it does, but it looks like another solid product from this company! And for the original author, as the MacUpdate Admin politely implied, do your research before complaining.
Like
Version 1.0b3
iGaucho
iGaucho
05 June 2008
It's pretty much a brand name. This company also makes GarageSale and GarageBuy which work with eBay.
Like
Version 1.0b6
Nice start, but needs many more options for creating smart folders. Specifically by month and date ranges. You can sort-of get there by doing a 'less than' 'greater than' months old, but that isn't static like a true date range would be. It would also be cool if you could issue refunds, etc from the UI.
Like
Version 1.0b2
1 answer(s)
Everyday-Software
Everyday-Software
02 June 2008
To follow up on my previous review, the new date ranges in the new betas are nice, but once you have the data, there is no way to analyze it quickly. The totals listed for basically all categories would be great.
Like
Version 1.0b4