Back to Stars page
Stars free download for Mac

Stars Reviews

5.1.2
16 December 2017

Rate iTunes songs from the menubar.

Dr-Girlfriend
05 September 2009

Most helpful

You know how you start listening to iTunes, putting it in the background so you don't get distracted from your work, then a new song comes on that you really like, so you go back to iTunes to rate it, then you notice the song is from a compilation and it's tagged all wrong, so you start re-tagging it, then you notice that the entire album the song came from is also tagged wrong, and the artwork is missing (or worse, it's a 50kb x 50kb square photo that you grabbed from google images when you were drunk and burping up beer and pizza fumes so toxic it nearly melted your monitor), and the albums next to it are also tagged wrong because the dillhole who uploaded it put the genre down as "Spoken Word" instead of "Rock" and embedded his stupid sig, BiGgIe B@LLz MuZiK BoY!, in the comments? Now you have no choice but to drop everything you're doing to address these crimes against your music library and once you get started, you simply can't stop, and the next thing you know, it's 5pm - time to go home! You just wasted your entire flipping day fixing your iTunes library. Again. Well one day, my friend, you will realize that "perfecting" your iTunes library is an impossible goal -- iTunes is The Rock and You are Sisyphus. Give up. Relax. Enjoy your music again. As long as you have it tagged with album title and artist, who cares about the rest? Toss it in there and press play. Then fire up I Love Stars to rate your music without looking at iTunes and you'll never be distracted again. Tested and working fine in Snow Leopard.
Like (6)
Version 3.1

Read 39 Stars User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aetnaria
28 November 2019
Used to work great. No longer displays the rating in stars at the top nor lets you "Rate songs with a single click" on the current macOS. Support does not respond.
Like
Version 5.1.2
MisterE
09 June 2013
It's a pretty nice idea but, for me it uses up too much precious menu bar space. You can rate songs, as they're playing, using keyboard shortcuts and do a whole lot more for free with the awesome app Quicksilver. I use it for almost everything from launching apps to moving files, searching my computer, etc.
Like
Version 4.3
1 answer(s)
MisterE
MisterE
23 October 2013
Maybe if it was just 1 star in the menu bar and then a vertical drop-down where you set the rating. That would use very little menu bar space.
Like
MackinTush
26 April 2013
Great little gem. This little great program makes Apple computing so much more fun.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Lounge-Deluxe
06 June 2012
I've tried ILS and indeed it does what is says. But no matter how much I would like to use start rating the thing that keeps me from it is the fact that (at least to my knowledge) there is no way to save and export the star ratings for your music library. Of course this has nothing to do with I Love Stars but all with Apple, and I've given up hope that Apple will ever save the star ratings hard coded in at least AAC and Apple Lossless file formats (as tag information).
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
3 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
22 June 2012
The file "iTunes Music Library.xml" on your computer holds the ratings you have set for each and every track in your iTunes library (along with a ton of other info, of course). iTunes -> File -> Library -> Export Library... Check out Doug's AppleScripts for iTunes: http://dougscripts.com/itunes/itinfo/importfromtext.php
Like (2)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
22 June 2012
Exactly my point, the star ratings are saved in the iTunes library file which is a bad way to save these ratings. If a music file or folder is moved or renamed and then re-entered into the iTunes library then the iTunes library file is clueless about the star ratings issued to those music files. Also if you decide to move your iTunes library to an external drive or simply copy the library to another computer you own, the iTunes library file forgets all about star ratings. So we either need Apple to include star ratings in the music file tag or have clever third party apps find and recognize music files that had star ratings before and have those star ratings applied to the moved or re-inserted files.
Like
MisterE
MisterE
09 June 2013
I agree, ratings should be embedded in the tags so when you take the file to another device your rating goes with it. Even play counts could be embedded this in tags this way for portability. It would be awesome if play counts were still stored in the xml library as they are now but add an option to embed the play count info all at once. This would cut down on Time Machine backups getting huge from constantly modifying the file every time it's played to update the 'playcounter' field. Changing the rating is a one time thing though. id3 tag field mappings: http://help.mp3tag.de/main_tags.html#MM
Like
dwp-1
29 March 2012
I Love Stars does just what it claims to do and very simply. It's perfect!
Like
Version 3.6.2
big-rod
06 December 2011
MacApp-store only, means it's basically unusable for me since I don't use the MAS. The earlier versions worked fine, it does what it does - just get an older version. Don't encourage the developer by buying this on MAS and give Apple 30% and your personal info for free.
Like (2)
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
Gmapper
Gmapper
26 February 2012
Instead of "Don't encourage the developer by buying this on MAS", how about not discouraging the developer by giving a useful little 99 cent app a half-star rating because you personally don't like the Mac App Store? Are you going through all of MacUpdate marking down everything that sells through the Mac App Store, and giving 5 stars to everything that doesn't? Next time, review the app fairly, and take up your complaints about the MAS distribution method somewhere more appropriate.
Like (11)
Giovanni-Marcucci
17 June 2011
It's perfect!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.4
Mart°n
16 June 2011
I really like I Love Stars and have used it for several months, even before it switched to the Mac App Store. It works very well, and is the first app that really brought me to apply a star rating to most of my songs. The subtle blinking and the sound are a great “reminder“ to apply your rating now. I would have preferred an non MAS-version as I dont’t like to wait for an Apple approved version if a new or bugfix version is to be released. But I have paid for it anyway simply to support the developer. It never crashed on my Mac and makes me a happy camper. It would be a full 5 star rating but I have to cut a half star off because of the Mac App Store only approach.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.4
xati-ba
03 March 2011
Excellent app! I especially like the shortcut functions. If you could add one for 0 stars (unrated) it would be perfect. It would have been nice to have this app for free but $1 is quite reasonable, the people would complain about the price and the app store have probably wasted about the same amount of money in terms of lost productivity simply by expressing their views on Macupdate.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.2
2 answer(s)
xati-ba
xati-ba
03 March 2011
Oops. Unfortunately it seems that SizzlingKeys does everything that this app does and much more for free.
Like (2)
TomEck
TomEck
15 June 2011
I bought SzzlingKeys Pro (§ 4.95) just to support its developer a long time ago and I agree that it is a very good app. However, I also have a copy of I Love Stars just for the reason that it is able to assign half-star ratings what SZ still doesn't provide (as far as I know). In adition, the menu bar approach of ILS is quite nice and some of the functions of SK you don't need on an MacBook because of the function keys.
Like (1)
Mette
16 January 2011
I have really enjoyed the free version of this app, and currently have version 3.4.1 on my Mac. I see no mention anywhere that this version does not work on OS X 10.6.6, but that must be the case, as it no longer launches. The developer's website no longer mentions the app at all, so perhaps he will respond on this site with information on version compatibility.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
11 February 2011
3.4.1 still runs fine on my MacBook Pro with 10.6.6 installed. It forgets to launch itself (ie I have to do it), but otherwise works just fine. Truly a terrific app.
Like
Jazzizm
Jazzizm
11 February 2011
3.4.1 runs like a charm on my 10.6.6 iMac. No need to upgrade.
Like
consumerx
10 January 2011
Review is for 3.2 version... Firstly, I am disappointed that I discovered this application too late. And by that, of course I mean the newly initiated App Store requirement. I have no issue with paying a few bucks for the app, 'tis just that I am still running that ever so old 10.5 OS X version. However, I discovered the freeware 3.2 version still hosted on that other software website .... softronic . (At least until the dev reads this review, I suppose. ;-P ) **************** In short, this application does exactly as described. I discovered accidently that holding down the command key provides 1/2 star rating. A pleasant surprise! On a slight aside, my Mac Mini is tethered to an Apple Bluetooth Aluminum Keyboard that has the multimedia keys. If there was some way to remap the useless brightness keys (no compatibility with non-Apple monitors) to interface with I Love Stars (or iTunes) as rating keys, I would be super pleased. My searching on remapping the special multimedia keys has been unsuccessful. Any ideas people?
Like
Version 3.5.1
1 answer(s)
Andy-Kim
Andy-Kim
10 January 2011
Unfortunately, as far as I know, there is no way that an application can override those keys without doing some major hacking around the OS. It's great that you found the 10.5 compatible version. I'll leave it alone if it helps people still on 10.5.
Like (1)
Ikir
09 January 2011
Simple but handy, you can set to show stars only when iTunes i open
Like
Version 3.5.1
MisterE
08 January 2011
This looks like a very interesting app as it might actually motivate me to listen to more than 5% of my 200GB iTunes library so I can rate it. I would love to try it but I won't be forced to go to the Mac AppStore as the sole outlet for the app. Can you even download a demo from the app store or do I have to buy before I try? I want choices and I don't want Apple to be the bottleneck between me and software because in the big picture it gives them too much power. I don't care if it's easier for all involved, sometimes (often times I'd say) what looks like the easy path today turns out to be a nightmare in the long run. I would think that developers would want to retain as much control and choice as possible too. What if one day Apple changes the rules of the game and removes this app because, for example, "it reproduces functionality already available" or "insert other subjective reason here"? Never put all your eggs in 1 basket! I'm not willing to allow Apple to come between my computer and what I want on it and I hope all Mac developers will not allow Apple to become the sole distributor for their software because the long-term implications of them getting a monopoly on distribution are unacceptable to me. If that happens it will finally be time to learn how to use Linux.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.1
1 answer(s)
ultratiem
ultratiem
08 January 2011
People don't care about ideology. They just care about the $$$... sad. Wow it rates songs. Look at all the other projects like VLC, Sequel Pro, BowTie, etc. that provide massive functionality, all for nothing. Not a dime. I'm not saying the developer didn't put it time and effort, but let's put this little program in perspective. "The blind quest for cash is a fool's errand." — Tim Ferriss
Like (3)
Damian Weiss
08 January 2011
To make it short: I loved "I love stars" because it's really easy to use and does what I want. I accept that the developper wants to earn money with his app. But I can't accept that I have to buy it in the Mac App Store. I won't use it, and I won't take account of any apps that are solely offered in the Mac App Store. That's why I give "I love stars" a low overall rating.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.1
Algos
07 January 2011
It seems the previous version (3.4.1) has disappeared completely. While I can understand that they're not keeping it around, as it will probably hurt sales, it's a shame for Leopard and PPC users who now won't be able to use it any more.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.1
1 answer(s)
Andy-Kim
Andy-Kim
08 January 2011
If they already have a copy on their Mac, they can still use the old version fine. People are not required to upgrade. I've thought long and hard about making it exclusive to the App Store for the same reason, but there weren't many Leopard users of I Love Stars anyway and the App Store makes things easier for users and developers.
Like (1)
Dr-Girlfriend
07 January 2011
From the developer's website: "I Love Stars is now available exclusively at the Mac App Store for the price of $1." Boo! How about this, dev? I'll pay twice as much if you don't force me to install the stupid App Store just to download your app. If this is the way things are going, I guess I'll be saving a lot of money this year NOT buying software.
Like (5)
Version 3.5.1
Coolapic
10 May 2010
Fantastic little app, I could not live without no that I'm got used to it ! Only request (not very important !): Is there a way, or would it be possible to add a pref, to force I Love Stars to load as last item (when auto loading at startup) as I'd like to have it on the extreme left of my menulets.
Like
Version 3.4
3 answer(s)
Andy-Kim
Andy-Kim
11 May 2010
You can drag I Love Stars to the bottom in the Login Items System preferences.
Like
Version 3.4
Coolapic
Coolapic
11 May 2010
Hi ANDYKIM, Thanks' for the response ! I already tried this but the login items/apps aren't loading in the order defined by their position in the login items "column"... There is probably another way to force loading order but no idea how/where it is located. Best I found was to manually start I Love Stars or quit/relauch All the best and thanks' for writing this little diamond of an app !
Like
Version 3.4
Algos
Algos
07 January 2011
You can try Delayed Launcher to launch it somewhat later than your other login items. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/29931/delayedlauncher/
Like
Dr-Girlfriend
09 May 2010
I Love Stars is, imho, the best iTunes song rating app around. Nothing fancy, just a pleasant, simple interface that's easy to use and doesn't distract you with bells and whistles, allowing you to effortlessly rate songs and stay in The Zone while working. Can't ask for more than that. Thanks again for a fantastic app (and the addition of half star ratings)!
Like (2)
Version 3.4
1 answer(s)
Andy-Kim
Andy-Kim
10 May 2010
It's my pleasure. I'm glad to hear people are finding it useful.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
zx
15 December 2009
thanks:)
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Dr-Girlfriend
24 September 2009
Thanks for another great update. I wasn't having any issues, but I appreciate your efforts and generosity! This is a great little app. Thanks for keeping it free :)
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
2 answer(s)
Gregj66
Gregj66
09 May 2010
Dang. I meant to give a +1 because I agreed with the above comment. Sorry.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
09 May 2010
LOL -- I've accidentally done that myself. Karma.
Like
Version 3.4
Steven-Goodheart
11 September 2009
Apologies! I Love Stars is just working just *fine* on my Snow Leopard machine -- I made a really silly mistake -- don't ask! -- anyway, I love it and find it a most useful adjunct to iTunes 9.0.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Jctull
11 September 2009
Start iTunes and have a song playing, then ctrl-click or right-click the menu item for I Love Stars. That will bring up the option to quit the application. Then you can replace it without any problem. Alternatively, you can find it in the Activity Monitor application and quit the process that way.
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
Mtcobra
Mtcobra
11 September 2009
Activity Monitor! Thanks! It's a utility I had totally forgotten about - time to review Don McAllister's ScreenCast SCO0109. I appreciate your help.
Like
Version 3.2
Mtcobra
11 September 2009
Help me out here.... I saw this upgrade to I Love Stars, so I launched my current version thinking it would advise me of the upgrade and I'd pull in the upgrade, but no such notification. So I quit iTunes and proceeded to download directly the 3.2 version. When I tried to replace the old one, it wouldn't, because the older version was in use. I tried to trash the older version but couldn't do that, it was in use. The menu bar stars had disappeared, iTunes was closed, but ILS was still 'in use.' I'm going to restart my computer THEN move the new version to applications, but this shouldn't be required. What did I miss/forget? 'case something like this happens again? Oh, CMD/OPT/ESC did not list I Love Stars so I couldn't force-quit. Stumped, but not done yet.
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
11 September 2009
That's weird behavior, for sure. I downloaded this update...it ran for a few seconds, and then quit, disappearing from the menu bar. And indeed, the Force Quit menu didn't show it running. If you want to clean everything out and start again, I Love Stars only seems to exist in the Application folder, where you installed it, and: HD:Users:(you):Library:Caches:com.potionfactory.ILoveStars and HD:Users:(you):Library:Preferences:com.potionfactory.ILoveStars.plist ...of course, if you had it as a login item, delete it there. Good luck on figuring this out. I'm curious to see if others can get it to run on Snow Leopard. It won't run on mine.
Like
Version 3.2
Aliendude
11 September 2009
Um, just out of curiosity, why would any one need a rating program? Why would you have low rated songs on your Mac/iPod to begin with?
Like
Version 3.2
2 answer(s)
Aliendude
Aliendude
11 September 2009
Misha, that makes sense. Thanks for the answer. :)
Like
Version 3.2
Anotherscott
Anotherscott
12 September 2009
re: "Why would you have low rated songs on your Mac/iPod to begin with? " It happens all the time! You download an album you haven't heard to your ipod, you're bound to end up with some songs you don't like. Rating them down is an easy way to note them. Then when you get a chance, you can go into itunes and delete the ones you rated as bad.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Dr-Girlfriend
05 September 2009
You know how you start listening to iTunes, putting it in the background so you don't get distracted from your work, then a new song comes on that you really like, so you go back to iTunes to rate it, then you notice the song is from a compilation and it's tagged all wrong, so you start re-tagging it, then you notice that the entire album the song came from is also tagged wrong, and the artwork is missing (or worse, it's a 50kb x 50kb square photo that you grabbed from google images when you were drunk and burping up beer and pizza fumes so toxic it nearly melted your monitor), and the albums next to it are also tagged wrong because the dillhole who uploaded it put the genre down as "Spoken Word" instead of "Rock" and embedded his stupid sig, BiGgIe B@LLz MuZiK BoY!, in the comments? Now you have no choice but to drop everything you're doing to address these crimes against your music library and once you get started, you simply can't stop, and the next thing you know, it's 5pm - time to go home! You just wasted your entire flipping day fixing your iTunes library. Again. Well one day, my friend, you will realize that "perfecting" your iTunes library is an impossible goal -- iTunes is The Rock and You are Sisyphus. Give up. Relax. Enjoy your music again. As long as you have it tagged with album title and artist, who cares about the rest? Toss it in there and press play. Then fire up I Love Stars to rate your music without looking at iTunes and you'll never be distracted again. Tested and working fine in Snow Leopard.
Like (6)
Version 3.1
Nicaland
27 January 2009
Great, and loving that it's free
Like
Version 3.0
Hendo
24 December 2008
Very clean and simple Really nice, well done!
Like
Version 3.0
Spungee
06 June 2008
let's try this again with perky, top-star-rated goodness added...
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Spungee
06 June 2008
i'm another user who loves this program exactly as it is. perfect tool for the job. many thanks for this one.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Stormchild
21 May 2008
Oh yeah, I do have one feature request: Nothing. Please add nothing to this. It's perfect; keep it exactly the way it is! Let other iTunes add-ons get fat and slow on hotkeys, track info/artwork bezels, and the rest of the usual stuff that seems to get added to every iTunes utility.
Like
Version 2.0
Stormchild
21 May 2008
Excellent and free...two words you don't often hear in the same sentence. The developer targeted a very specific purpose, and nailed it without getting distracted by bells and whistles. This is just a simple little app, but that's the beauty of it; whereas a lot of "simple" programs quickly get bloated with new features, this one is focused and efficient. I've had it running for several days now, and it has accumulated only 25 seconds of CPU time. I like the way it slides out when you're playing music, and hides when you're not.
Like
Version 2.0
Bertobox
18 May 2008
Praises and Kudos to the developer of I Love Stars 2.0 This app is small, beautiful (simple interface) and does exactly what I want. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!! :D After iTunesRating's demise with the arrival of Leopard (apparently they didn't work well together), I searched and searched for an update and now, 7 months later I have found it, I love 'I Love Stars'!! It's perfect for me. thanks!! I would like to request for you not to add anything to this app, I like it just the way it is. :)
Like
Version 2.0
jppereztr
17 May 2008
Very nice app!
Like
Version 2.0
Soulslave
17 May 2008
ok, i love this program! is just what i've been looking for, "a small app that lets me rate my songs from the menu bar". there's another one out there but is way too bulky. this is just perfect for what i wanted.TNX!
Like
Version 2.0
Echro
17 May 2008
I just can't stop loving it!! Great update
Like
Version 2.0
Mac-Devil
17 May 2008
I've forgotten the rating ;-)
Like
Version 2.0
Mac-Devil
17 May 2008
Really cool! I love the "hide itself" option... :-) Thank you!!!
Like
Version 2.0
Bumbleb
16 May 2008
Just what I've been missing for a loooong time. Thanks for making this dear developer!!!
Like
Version 1.0
Wcitymike
16 May 2008
There was a freeware app which did this in the same way, called iTunesRating, but it was never updated for Macintel and was a real memory hog. Great to see this!
Like
Version 1.0