Back to Dragon Dictate page
Dragon Dictate free download for Mac

Dragon Dictate Reviews6.0

30 September 2017

Premium voice-recognition solution.

OhEssex
07 October 2009
Version: 1.5.5

Most helpful

Yea, I paid $200 a while back for this and it was just awful - no easy corrections or dictionary expansion capability. It was a buggy, sloppy port of DNS to the Mac. Then they fixed some of those bugs and had the hide to charge some outrageous upgrade price shortly afterwards that truly bent the majority of their user base out of shape. At the very least they should include a big "L" sticker and a tube of lubricant in every box. To the makers of Dictate: How do you take a quality product like DNS, that Mac users have been craving for years, and turn that golden opportunity into something that consistently seems to draw the anger of your users. Way to go...
(14)

How would you rate Dragon Dictate app?

Read 143 Dragon Dictate User Reviews

2
Ajmac25
25 October 2018
Version: 6.0
Good program and bad customer support. Just discontinued for the Mac last week. Sigh
(1)
Show comments (2)
4
Psychiatry
01 October 2017
Version: 6.0
Dragon Dictate has two features: 1) The best voice recognition software for dictation 2) An attempt to give you voice interface control of your computer. If you expect Dragon Dictate to do more than voice recognition, realize that any such attempt is a hack on the operating system - Windows or Mac. Voice control is not built into the major operating systems. Our major operating systems are not built for voice control. Any complaints should be tempered with this recognition. I would recommend forgetting about using it to control your computer. Just do dictation. The primary use for Dragon Dictate is for DICTATION. For voice dictation, Dragon Dictate is simply miles ahead of the competition. And this includes: 1) Mac OS's built in voice recognition and 2) Siri. Dragon simply does a much more accurate job than Mac OS's voice recognition or Siri for dictation. And accuracy is crucial with voice recognition since you have to spell check manually aftewards. And this is a lot of work if if has > 2% error rate. Yes, it doesn't work with every app. Dictate into apps work it works then copy and paste to those which aren't compatible. If you are a writer, just dictate. Transfer the text at a later time. For writing via voice recognition, Dragon Dictate is indispensable, totally worth it, highly recommended. Try paying for transcription services. You quickly realize how much less expensive Dragon is. It works really well with my inexpensive Plantronics C435 USB headset.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Jimw
30 September 2017
Version: 6.0
This from what I can make of it is NOT an upgrade or update from the current version. The current version is 6.07 and has not been updated in months. As far as I can tell no changes have been made for High Sierra but it does run under High Sierra. However given the instability of the product that I have incurred since V6 was released, combined with the abysmal tech support that I have been given (4 documented issues and questions that have not received closure since April when they were asked/reported)

My personal recommendation would be to avoid this product at all costs unless you absolutely have to have it.

However in all fairness in the short time I have been using it in High Sierra, it does seem more stable in High Sierra than in Sierra.

However High Sierra has also introduced some new issues in Dragon Dictate; particularly in Apple Mail as caching and correction no longer seems to work. I have not reported this to Nuance as their seems to be no point to wasting my time to do so, given their seemly reluctance to fix anything - i.e. the Dragon Safari extension has been crashing randomly since V6 came out many months ago and that has been reported.

I would not be suprised if Nuance comes out soon with a new expensive paid upgrade which turns out to be primary bug fixes for this version, along with the usual marketing spiel about how it is now High Sierra compatible and runs faster, as they usually do with likely another price increase. I feel they are able to get away with all of this, as they know they have no competition on the Mac Platform and seem to do their very best to take full advantage of that fact.

As previously pointed out if you decide (in my opinion) to be glutton for punishment by purchasing this product I would second the previous recommendation regarding not getting their headset, but finding a good one, preferably wireless to use with it. FYI: Bluetooth headsets are not recognized by Dictate.unless it has a USB dongle or USB connection in its stand.

I use a Plantronics Savi 740 wireless that give superb results and connects to my computer, my landline (or VOIP) and my mobile phone and has a range of over 300 feet that allows me to roam while speaking or dictating. It allows connections between the various inputs and the long lasting rechargeable batteries are changeable on the fly. It also does a fairly good job receiving dictation with the headpiece sitting in its stand. While a bit pricey it I feel it is worth every penny for what it does.

Dictate is also supposed to work with Mac built-in microphones, so if you have such a system, you might want to try that first before investing in a headset.
(1)
Dualist
29 September 2017
Version: 6.0
Wasn't this the company that hoodwinked Jobs into letting them announce its coming to Mac during one his events several years ago? If they added unfettered translations to this app it *might* make for a worthy product. Seems pretty high priced.
(0)
0.5
higherterrain-com
29 September 2017
Version: 6.0
Every time I see this app the price continues to go up in price and remains about as useless tits on a boar.
(2)
1
Achim2
02 September 2016
Version: 4.0.7
I just purchased Dragon "Professional" Individual v6. It's impossible to open the Commands window – so you have to guess what to say. Not to speak of adding new commands for your applications. They promise to support Scrivener, which was the reason for me to buy it – but it's not even possible to get correct quote signs, and corrections often delete parts of what you dictated before without any apparent reason. Support is non-existent. QA apparently as well or else there wouldn't be those blatant bugs in a 300$ app. Don't buy this – wait for an update or for better built-in speech recognition in OSX. For me it will be the first and last time I fell for their big-mouthed advertising.
(0)
Show comment (1)
3
Frodo_life
16 October 2015
Version: 4.0.7
the software does quite well what it says it does however the update policy is ridiculous every year $150 without any major changes or improvements is just to expensive. Every major update is 75% of the purchase price without any new features really
(3)
Rufty-Tufty
20 September 2015
Version: 4.0.7
Has anyone who has successfully upgraded from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7 noticed any significant changes? Particularly in the areas of: - bug fixes: when working in MS Word, the editing commands would sometimes result in strange results (duplicated words, etc.), that really hurt the usability - stability: 4.0.6 crashed fairly often for me - that was the biggest reason I finally stopped using dragon completely after a couple of months (on top of the editing bugs). - recognition quality: I considered recognition to be adequate in 4.0.6, but I'm curious if they've actually improved, as they are claiming in their marketing emails for the new version.
(0)
4
cycling-matt
15 September 2015
Version: 4.0.7
It works, but better to use a real USB headset microphone than the one supplied with the product. Once I made that change, accuracy is about as they claim, and I'm able to use it with a wide variety of apps. The "transcription" module is half-baked if you're trying to use it for interview transcription. It would work fine for someone dictating notes into a digital recorder (with punctuation etc) and later running it through for transcription.
(0)
4
neartheredrocks
01 September 2015
Version: 4.0.7
I seriously don't understand why this application is getting only negative if not hateful reviews. I have a strong German accent and I am writing this with Dragon Dictate. Without any corrections. I would think that such an application meets training to work well. But in my experience Dragon Dictate does exactly that. Therefore I have to give it four stars [only four because it got one word here wrong].
(1)
Show comment (1)
Pierre-Jean
31 August 2015
Version: 4.0.7
Au début, il est assez performant, mais au fur et à mesure de l'utilisation, il devient chaotique, reconnais difficilement la voix, s'autorise des commandes non voulues, et en fin de compte, obligé de quitter l'application pour la relancer si on veut continuer à travailler. Pénible, et personnellement très déçu.

At first it is good enough, but as you use, it becomes chaotic, difficult to recognize voice, he is authorize unintended commands, and ultimately forced to leave the application for the raise if we want to continue working. Painful and personally very disappointed. (excuse me Google translation....)
(3)
0.5
mrsidoric
30 August 2015
Version: 4.0.7
Dragon Dictate is an obscene ripoff. After a miserable install process on a new machine – accuracy is abysmal with practiced diction, and enunciation. Hugely disappointed that after all the hype and hoopla – there is no perceptible improvement in ease of installation, use, or accuracy. Use Apple's Dictation instead – Nuance is stealing from customers.
(3)
1
Bob-a9f1ee95
30 August 2015
Version: 4.0.7
So disappointed! I can't even get this to install. I get a "flawed installation" message every time. I so wanted this to work. Once upon a time it did work, quite well actually. Not now. :-(
(2)
pazdera
21 August 2015
Version: 4.0.6
my version 2.5.2 will not work under 10.10.4 on my MBP nor iMac Would anybody be willing to swap a v.4.0.6 for a v 2.5.2 ? and I can also spare the French data-set-disc (seldom used) - Paul
(0)
Lord-Lightning
19 August 2015
Version: 4.0.6
Now these highwaymen and bandits are back with "Dragon for Mac", saying it is new, but in reality, they are passing off an update as an upgrade by giving it a new name. It is claimed to be 15% more accurate than the 4.0.6 version. In my books that is not a new app - that is an update and should be called version 4.0.7.
The evil Nuance empire strikes again - I have ZERO trust in this mob. Absolutely Zero.
(3)
Show comment (1)
1
migret-ph95
07 February 2015
Version: 4.0.6
It will be good when Apple improves their dictate app so Nuance doesnt get away with this nonsense - it took me 15 hours to "upgrade" Dragon to 4 too.
(1)
0.5
LeMerlot
18 November 2014
Version: 4.0.6
Dragon Dictate version 4.0.6 crashes… – ALWAYS while trying to launch with a new microphone… – and then later with or without external microphone attached. Definitely has to be worked on.
(2)
Show comments (2)
0.5
Lord-Lightning
06 November 2014
Version: 4.0.6
Every time I perform the update form 4.0.5 to 4.0.6 it falls over. That applies EITHER to the Dragon dictate in app update or the automatic update provided by MU. I have never installed an application over the last 20 years that has caused so much grief. Nuance can not be contacted by email and the account I have with them refuses to accept my account details - and yet tells me that there is already an account with those details. GRRRRRR!!!
(2)
5
Rlevent
10 September 2014
Version: 4.0.4
Although I agree that the upgrade pricing is a little steep and that the prior versions were not that accurate, this new version 4 is working very well for me. It is making virtually no errors in its transcription. I am therefore very pleased with it.
(1)
Show comment (1)
John-Lockwood
11 August 2014
Version: 4.0.4
Could anyone possibly post a direct download link for the 4.0.3 update. Yes I know 4.0.4 is now out and I have been able to download that via MacUpdate but I missed the 4.0.3 update. It actually will be useful to have my own copy. Unfortunately the ghastly Nuance website makes it impossible to search for Mac updates on it.
(2)
Show comments (3)
5
LeMerlot
10 August 2014
Version: 4.0.4
After my ruthlessly candid review of Dragon Dictate version 4.0 (see below) now it's time (and fair) to write a new one for version 4.0.4: Seems that with its new update Nuance fixed all annoying bugs I found in 4.0. While my older version 3.04 already impressed with its voice recognition it froze from time to time on my MacBook Pro. 4.0.4 seems to be stable now. Voice recognition (in German) is now really impressive and reliable with a top-quality microphone – and if you use this software like me for professional purposes I would highly recommend the upgrade to this new version 4 (4.0.4). Yes, it's not cheap but – at least for me – it saves a lot of time working with text and emails.
(1)
Macbookpro
05 August 2014
Version: 4.0.3
After updating to 4.0.3, it then updated to 4.0.4.
(1)
0.5
LeMerlot
27 July 2014
Version: 4.0
Wow!! I paid for the upgrade to version 4.0 since I'm using Dragon Dictate a lot – for me it's a huge time saver not only for business. But I wondered why voice recognition was worse with v4 than with version 3.0.4. So I used this weekend to make several extensive tests with both, Dragon Dictate v4 and my reinstalled v3.0.4 – on a high end MacBook Pro with 16 GB RAM, very fast SSD, OS 10.9.4 and 2 professional microphones. I even tested both with – and without USB hubs attached. Surprise: With my reinstalled older version v3.0.4 of Dragon Dictate voice recognition is much better again – much better than with 4.0 !! So I'll archive version 4.0 until this is fixed by Nuance and will use version 3.0.4 again. Needless to say that I cannot recommend the upgrade to version 4 until they worked on it.
(4)
Show comments (2)
1
Shotgun21
02 June 2014
Version: 4.0
Expensive, updates to make everything work that should work, and you get the added bonus of paying for the updates.
(6)
0.5
Lev
06 April 2014
Version: 4.0
I'm typing this. That sort of says it all.
(13)
1
Thaiwest
15 March 2014
Version: 4.0
One of the most "Evil of the Evils" of software companies. I started out with this software when it was version 1.0. To start with it was great. Then began the problems and the problem just grew greater as the company charged more and more for upgrades and provided less and less support... at the point of version 4.0 and Mavericks, nothing works and trying to get any resolution of any type is like dealing with the door post! There should be a class action law suite. The company ought to be force out of business at best.
(6)
Show comment (1)
Jimw
05 March 2014
Version: 4.0
After much discussion with Nuance I have negotiated a mutual settlement for Dictate for the Mac running on Mavericks for myself. They have also agreed to consider alternate upgrade policies for other users that have been impacted by the inability to run Dictate 3.x under Mavericks on a case by case basis. Here is what needs to be met as I understand it: - You must have installed Mavericks near the date of official release. - Mavericks must be your primary OS that you do most of your work on. - You must have purchased or updated Dictate to 3.X before you installed Mavericks or purchased it with the indication it would run normally under Mavericks. - Your current version of Dictate must be freezing when running under Mavericks to the point of being unusable. - You must have filed or proceed to file by phone or e-mail a Nuance tech support incident documenting the above and run any tests and/or provide logs of the issues you are having with Dictate. - You must then contact Nuance customer service and request that your issue be examined for special consideration. Since this is done on a case by case basis, I cannot guarantee that the outcome will meet your expectations but I speak from experience that if these procedures are followed with some kind of documentation or evidence of the above you may be considered for an alternate upgrade other than the standard upgrade pricing. Hope this helps.
(2)
Show comments (4)
OhEssex
05 March 2014
Version: 4.0
Just so you know what you're dealing with here: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/15/business/goldman-sachs-and-a-sale-gone-horribly-awry.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
(4)
Show comments (2)
0.5
Lord-Lightning
05 March 2014
Version: 4.0
What? An application I just purchased recently and now I have to pay a shirtload of money just for an update. Actually, more than I paid for the app, brand new, only a couple of months ago. If you are contemplating using this company for any apps just don't do it. They are EVIL.
(5)
2
Whitebuck
05 March 2014
Version: 4.0
Nuance is absolutely rapacious with their updates. I use Apple Dictation and if I must use my Nuance app, I am fortunately, able to use MacSpeech Dictate 1.5.9 (7849) in Snow Leopard and Mavericks, when it becomes unusable or incompatible with OSX. I will uninstall it and bid adieu to Nuance/Dragon Dictate and their skulduggery. There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but there must never be a time when we fail to protest. -Elie Wiesel, writer, Nobel laureate (b. 1928)
(6)
Show comment (1)
JasonE
04 March 2014
Version: 4.0
Another $150 update. I am sorry, but I do not see these updates as $150 each time.
(12)
Show comments (6)
Monkeyjunkey
04 March 2014
Version: 3.0.4
Dragon 4 is out.
(2)
2
Bluestar
25 February 2014
Version: 3.0.4
Ironically, I'm writing this with Dragon Dictate. Mostly accurate but one of the most annoying things is that it seems to jump the cursor up into a previous paragraph or line while I'm dictating and start writing stuff in the middle of another sentence above. This is totally ridiculous. Furthermore it seems to go to sleep after a while when running with other applications and completely stopped working. I have to quit and restart for it to work again. Considering the slow application load this is supremely annoying again.
(2)
Show comment (1)
Jimw
18 February 2014
Version: 3.0.4
Latest inquiry to and response from Dragon Dictate Support: Customer By Web Form 02/17/2014 05:24 PM This is an update and reminder that you have not as yet offered a fix or workaround for this issue and that this issue remains active and therefore Dragon Dictate for the Mac is virtually unusable. I am also formally requesting an estimated time for a patch or update to be issued that addresses this issue. Thank you for contacting Nuance Technical Support. This email is regarding the "Application freeze when giving any command" that you were encountering with Dragon Dictate. There will be an update within the next two weeks. Regards, Brian Nuance Technical Support www.nuance.com
(0)
Jimw
07 February 2014
Version: 3.0.4
Here is the last few messages in my Tech Support Thread to Nuance, earlier ones first, regarding the freezing issue with Dictate after spending many hours going through every troubleshooting steps and sending logs they requested. Please judge for yourselves if you consider this adequate support for a issue that repeatedly crashes the program making it virtually unusable and that has been reported by a number of users for the last 4 months. ------------- Dear JimW, (1) Thank you for contacting Nuance Technical Support. This email is regarding the "Application freeze when giving any command" that you were encountering with Dragon Dictate. Customer's reporting this issue unfortunately has something in common. They came across this issue right after upgrading to Mavericks (10.9) we have already raised this issue to the developers as early as November 2013. Rest assured that they are taking necessary steps to resolve this issue. Once we hear from them we will let you know. We apologize for the inconvenience. Regards, Brian Nuance Technical Support -- (2) [from JimW] Unfortunately I cannot be ‘rest assured’ when Nuance confesses that the problem was noticed about 4 months ago and still has no workaround or patch. What it does instead is telegraph a negative message as to Nuance’s interest in supporting Dictate and its operation in current versions of Mac OSX systems. If as much effort were placed into resolving this issue as is placed in personal sales call to me, trying to convince me to upgrade to your latest version, which I already have purchased and purchase additional equipment, then I firmly believe this issue would have already been resolved. -- (3) *** This is an automatic response *** Dear JimW, Thank you for providing feedback about your Nuance product. - Your bug report will be reviewed for reproducibility - Bugs reported will be triaged for fixing in a future update or version release of the product - No response will be provided regarding your bug report - If you require a response from Nuance, please open a new question and select a Support category - Support categories include: Error Message, Hardware - Setup/Config, How to use Product, Product - Problem/Issue, Product - Setup/Config We appreciate your feedback and help toward improving our products. Best Regards Brian Desktop Support & Service Nuance Communication Inc.--
(0)
1
Jimw
30 December 2013
Version: 3.0.4
This program would be useful given that commands can be issued to the computer if it worked reliably. Unfortunately this is not the case. Instead it continues to randomly freeze requiring a "Force Quit." It is also so slow in Mail that it makes the product almost unusable. I can almost guarantee that the command that puts your Mac to sleep "Special Sleep" will freeze Dictate every time it is used. Support for Dictate is terrible. Free support expires after 90 days and their is even a ~$10 per incident charge for electronic submission of support tickets. This makes it very unsatisfactory to report issues or bugs with the product after the 90 days are up, even when the issues are Nunance's. The last update to fix issues was about three months ago from the date of this review. As such I can only recommend this product to someone who is a glutton for punishment.
(3)
Show comment (1)
4
Josetgmac
05 November 2013
Version: 3.0.4
I use Dragon Dictate quite a lot for long-form writing, and after training the app I can dictate at speeds of 140 wpm (words per minute) with 97% accuracy compared to a typing speed of ~75 wpm with similar accuracy. It's a unique app and a joy to use when it works well! I wrote an ebook "Dragon Dictate: Fast Track to Prolific Writing on Your Mac" which explains how to improve accuracy through the right training tools and even how to use voice commands to work effectively with your writing tools. More details at: http://www.onekerato.com/dragon-dictate.html for those who are interested.
(0)
Lord-Lightning
03 November 2013
Version: 3.0.4
Don't deal with these idiots unless there is absolutely no alternative. They send night trolls in to handle their emails and customer service. I am still waiting after a month to receive part of a DD package and every time I email them they reply with a night troll email. Night trolls specialise in turning serious matters into jelly to see if customers can nail it to a tree. They pass the parcel - even though the transaction record give very clear contact details for concerns. Just do NOT deal with these morons. I'm now taking my DD issue to legal resolution. That'll cheer them up - they happen to be in direct breach of Australin Consumer Law. Let's see if shutting down their Australian operation will be handled by their Night Trolls. Should cost them a shirtload just to defend themselves against a black letter constitutional legal case.
(5)
Show comment (1)
4
Turquoise
31 October 2013
Version: 3.0.4
I wish it would cost less, but like good wine, your appreciation for this application increases with time.
(0)
4
CarolineB3556
26 September 2013
Version: 3.0.3
Its early days but I felt the need to write something to counter the poor star ratings for this product. This download does not work, which is frustrating but it is misleading to not buy the product as a result. I installed today using CD and serial number. Got it at a great price as Education edition and so far it looks to do exactly what it said on the tin. Don't be put off by the poor star rating. My star rating might change (if it lets me) when I've time to really try it out.
(0)
4.5
KenS1206
13 September 2013
Version: 3.0.3
It's on sale now for under US$90 at Amazon with free shipping! Includes USB headset with mic. At that price it is TOTALLY worth it. Yes, it is a bit challenging to get running. It is a quite complex product. Its no small miracle that it works at all. But, your efforts are rewarded with a fantastic dictation program. I have right shoulder issues so typing has become increasingly difficult. This pgm has let me hit me hit "Reset."
(1)
Show comment (1)
4
Turquoise
04 September 2013
Version: 3.0.3
It is a bit expensive, one must use it quite a lot to justify for the purchase. But it works very well, not with all applications though.
(0)
crazyirishman
03 April 2013
Version: 3.0.2
I want this to work. I really do. I'm still considering it, even with the overwhelming negative reviews, on here and other sites. SO I decided to try this evaluation install... and true to form, disaster. I DL'd the 27.6Mb zip, unzipped it to a 65.8 Mb file. And I get a "This installation is flawed. Please re-install the software" message. I am running 10.8.3 and have security set to allow Applications downloaded from Anywhere.
(0)
Show comment (1)
2.5
Johnkranz
06 March 2013
Version: 3.0.2
Big discount available TODAY only on all the Dragon dictate products (Mac/Win). Even with the discount and attractive pricing, my interest has really cooled on this given the many negative reviews. Is it even worth the $85 bucks they are asking for Mac Dictate 3 now?
(1)
Show comments (3)
Marcossi
07 February 2013
Version: 3.0.2
$200. No try,, no buy! Especially with so bad reviews!
(2)
Show comment (1)
0.5
db2013
02 December 2012
Version: 3.0.1
This software has never worked for me, even though I've bought each new version over the years (stupidly hoping that each new version would improve the faults of the previous). Now, to get v3 I find I need to pay another $150. To add insult to injury I found out that DD 2.5.2 won't run on Mountain Lion, and if I want to use it I must update to 3.0 They must be F*****G out of their minds if I'll ever buy another of their products. This company is run by a bunch of crooks and conmen.
(5)
Show comments (2)
ylluminate
20 November 2012
Version: 3.0.1
I have to say, I'm glad Dragon "upgraded" their software and maintained the price point that they have so stubbornly clung to. It has caused me to seriously start using the integrated dictation in OS X 10.8. I've found that it works really well and in many regards has been performing better than Dragon Dictate!
(5)
3
Johnkranz
13 November 2012
Version: 3.0
Quiet here lately. I guess that means those who are using Dragon Dictate 3 don't have too much to complain about?....
(2)
Show comments (7)
a1exey1azar
30 October 2012
Version: 3.0
My convo with Nuanse of October 30th, 2012 ------------- Please wait while we find an agent to assist you... Hello, welcome to Nuance Chat. Please briefly describe your goal or question and I will connect you with the best resource to meet your objectives. Thomas Green: Hi, how may I help you today? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Customer: Thomas? Thomas Green: To clarify with you. What type if environment were you looking to use your Mac in? Thomas Green: of* Customer: Thomas, you realize that your question has nothing to do with an answer I need. Customer: I am a student who has two licenses of Dictate 1.5 and 2 versions and now I just would like to know if the 3rd version of this software would support Retina Display of Apple macs. That it. Thomas Green: I understand you have questions about our products however I am trying to determinate if this is for home use, for a network that has a server on or for medical use office. Thomas Green: Thank-you for your question and clarifying Let me get a product specialist to join our chat, they can answer detailed questions about our products. Would this be helpful? Customer: Home user Customer: Apple Mac OS 10.8.2 Customer: Retina Display Thomas Green: OK, I will invite the product specialist into our chat, it may take a few minutes for them to join us and review our conversation. I may have to drop out of the chat to assist other customers, so please keep the chat window open to maintain your priority sequence. While we are waiting for the specialist, could you please provide your name and phone number? It will not be retained by our system and will only be used to call you if necessary to resolve your request. Thomas Green has left the session. Please wait while we find an agent from the Nuance - Sales Dept Proactive department to assist you. Hi, My name is Kavita Wadhwa. Please give me one moment while I review the information you have already entered into the chat. Customer: THNX Kavita Wadhwa: Could you please explain a bit on Retina Display> Kavita Wadhwa: The program we have for Mac is Speech Recognition...Speech to Text. Customer: http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/specs-retina/ Kavita Wadhwa: One moment please Kavita Wadhwa: Retina Display is a brand name used by Apple for liquid crystal displays which they claim to have a high enough pixel density that the human eye is unable to notice pixelation at a typical viewing distance... Kavita Wadhwa: It is Apple technology. Customer: Thank you for clarification. I was aware of it. Kavita Wadhwa: This is nothing to do with the software we have..Thus Customer: PLEASE, let me know if your SUPER software Dictate 3 for Mac support this kind of technology. Kavita Wadhwa: May I know what are you hoping to accomplish from the technology Kavita Wadhwa: And yes. it does work with macbook pro with Retina display technology. Customer: Kavita, please just answer my question. Kavita Wadhwa: As I stated above. Kavita Wadhwa: What are you hoping to accomplish from the software..( Dragon Dictate)? Customer: Say words and watch them appear on my mac Kavita Wadhwa: Okay, Would it for dictations only or you want to control applications by voice as well? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Kavita Wadhwa: Nuance has a few different products that could work for you. I'd like to take a few minutes to do a quick assessment of your situation so that I can recommend the one that would be the best fit. Most of our customers find this easier to do over the phone - may I give you a call? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Simple question that requires and answer of YES or NO Kavita Wadhwa: Please speak to Technical Support in this regard as I do not have the answer. Kavita Wadhwa: 1 800 654 1187 Kavita Wadhwa: Thanks ---------------------
(6)
Show comments (4)
5
Greg-Er
26 October 2012
Version: 3.0
I'm new to this forum. Last spring, I purchased Dragon Dictate 2.5 after a special offer was made to me. I was quite leery of yet another speech to text program. My first desktop Mac was a Centris 660 AV. The possibility of speaking to a computer and having it do useful things sold me. Alas, I was disappointed with the performance. When ViaVoice for the Mac came out I quickly bought it. I tried getting it to work but found that it was so buggy and all it really produced was massive frustration. I then tried iListen. That was better than ViaVoice and I was able to do some productive work with it. But in the end it proved to be too frustrating of a program. Dragon Dictate 2.5 proved to be quite useful, compared to my prior experiences. I was able to use it to keep a journal for work and important work related notes. Still, though, correcting the mistakes proved frustrating. And doing it via voice control most often didn't work correctly. So, when Dragon Dictate 3.0 was released I wasn't so interested. I decided to continue to limp along with 2.5. But then I came across this forum and all the negative rants about Dragon Dictate caused me to take a look at Dragon Dictate 3.0. Sure, I agreed with everyone's opinion of the excessive upgrade price. But so many of the reviewers gave the product one star only because of the pricing! It almost seemed like several of the reviewers had an ax to grind. After considering what I was doing with 2.5 and reading the Nuance website I gulped and decided to take Nuance up on their $100 upgrade offer. After having used to this program for about a month now I have to say it is so much better than any other speech recognition program I have ever used! I have put time into learning how to correct and manipulate text just with commands. It really works! And it works well! There are mistakes, but if you learn the commands, you can pretty much do away with your keyboard. And it learns as you teach it! I use it in the education field. At first, it doesn't get the names of the students I work with correctly when they are spelled in an unusual way. But after correcting it a couple of times it remembers and spells it that way anytime you use those names. I've found that the more I use it the more I want to improve my use of it. So I looked up commands and hints and tips and put them into practice and now it just flows along nearly mistake free. I'm amazed after so many years of frustrating experiences with using text recognition programs that now all I have to do is speak (with some voice corrections) and there it is on my screen. I've also tried using the free transcription app with my original iPad. If you use the correct punctuation patterns the way you would when using Dragon Dictate, transfer it from the iPad to the Mac, the transcription is wonderful. Another thing I like about this, is that you can use it to open and type in many unsupported applications. I use the word processor Bean. I've created commands within Bean to select menu items and have them run in the window I'm using. I feel like I'm just scratching the surface with Dragon Dictate. I have nothing to do with Nuance software or anyone connected to Nuance software. Though it is expensive, I would recommend Dragon Dictate 3.0 to anyone serious about ditching their keyboard. This was all written and voice corrected, when necessary, with Dragon Dictate 3.0.
(3)
Show comments (3)