Back to Dragon Dictate page
Dragon Dictate free download for Mac

Dragon Dictate Reviews

6.0
30 September 2017

Premium voice-recognition solution.

OhEssex
07 October 2009

Most helpful

Yea, I paid $200 a while back for this and it was just awful - no easy corrections or dictionary expansion capability. It was a buggy, sloppy port of DNS to the Mac. Then they fixed some of those bugs and had the hide to charge some outrageous upgrade price shortly afterwards that truly bent the majority of their user base out of shape. At the very least they should include a big "L" sticker and a tube of lubricant in every box. To the makers of Dictate: How do you take a quality product like DNS, that Mac users have been craving for years, and turn that golden opportunity into something that consistently seems to draw the anger of your users. Way to go...
Like (14)
Version 1.5.5

Read 143 Dragon Dictate User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ajmac25
25 October 2018
Good program and bad customer support. Just discontinued for the Mac last week. Sigh
Like (1)
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
22 January 2019
Tidbits just posted this info today. Needless to say, Nuance has yet to inform its users of this decision. I suspect that sales tanked after their ridiculous price increase for the last update. Hopefully some more user centric company will step up to the plate to fill the gap. Frankly this does not come as a surprise given Nuance's abysmal support of the product and jaded history. It was one of my concerns when they took over the product from MacSpeech years ago. That said Tidbits also listed some links that describe how to use Keyboard Maestro & Automator with Apple Dictate to get much of the same functionality. The url is: https://forum.keyboardmaestro.com/t/this-is-how-i-integrate-osx-dictation-with-km-so-i-can-assign-voice-commands-to-macros/2656?utm_campaign=website&utm_source=sendgrid%20email&utm_medium=email
Obviously there is no voice training or correction window.

I have no legal experience but I would sure be pleased to join a class action lawsuit against Nuance for suckering Mac users to pay for buggy products that never worked correctly and then abandoning the product without informing their them. If anyone has any information on anything like this happening, I would invite them to post it here on MacUpdate.
Like (2)
Rfg
Rfg
29 May 2019
Agree. I have had issues previously and would be willing to participate in a class action lawsuit. No consideration for all the money received from MAC customers.
Like (1)
Psychiatry
01 October 2017
Dragon Dictate has two features: 1) The best voice recognition software for dictation 2) An attempt to give you voice interface control of your computer. If you expect Dragon Dictate to do more than voice recognition, realize that any such attempt is a hack on the operating system - Windows or Mac. Voice control is not built into the major operating systems. Our major operating systems are not built for voice control. Any complaints should be tempered with this recognition. I would recommend forgetting about using it to control your computer. Just do dictation. The primary use for Dragon Dictate is for DICTATION. For voice dictation, Dragon Dictate is simply miles ahead of the competition. And this includes: 1) Mac OS's built in voice recognition and 2) Siri. Dragon simply does a much more accurate job than Mac OS's voice recognition or Siri for dictation. And accuracy is crucial with voice recognition since you have to spell check manually aftewards. And this is a lot of work if if has > 2% error rate. Yes, it doesn't work with every app. Dictate into apps work it works then copy and paste to those which aren't compatible. If you are a writer, just dictate. Transfer the text at a later time. For writing via voice recognition, Dragon Dictate is indispensable, totally worth it, highly recommended. Try paying for transcription services. You quickly realize how much less expensive Dragon is. It works really well with my inexpensive Plantronics C435 USB headset.
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Ajmac25
Ajmac25
25 October 2018
Totally agree with all. Too bad they killed it for the Mac platform this month
Like
Jimw
30 September 2017
This from what I can make of it is NOT an upgrade or update from the current version. The current version is 6.07 and has not been updated in months. As far as I can tell no changes have been made for High Sierra but it does run under High Sierra. However given the instability of the product that I have incurred since V6 was released, combined with the abysmal tech support that I have been given (4 documented issues and questions that have not received closure since April when they were asked/reported)

My personal recommendation would be to avoid this product at all costs unless you absolutely have to have it.

However in all fairness in the short time I have been using it in High Sierra, it does seem more stable in High Sierra than in Sierra.

However High Sierra has also introduced some new issues in Dragon Dictate; particularly in Apple Mail as caching and correction no longer seems to work. I have not reported this to Nuance as their seems to be no point to wasting my time to do so, given their seemly reluctance to fix anything - i.e. the Dragon Safari extension has been crashing randomly since V6 came out many months ago and that has been reported.

I would not be suprised if Nuance comes out soon with a new expensive paid upgrade which turns out to be primary bug fixes for this version, along with the usual marketing spiel about how it is now High Sierra compatible and runs faster, as they usually do with likely another price increase. I feel they are able to get away with all of this, as they know they have no competition on the Mac Platform and seem to do their very best to take full advantage of that fact.

As previously pointed out if you decide (in my opinion) to be glutton for punishment by purchasing this product I would second the previous recommendation regarding not getting their headset, but finding a good one, preferably wireless to use with it. FYI: Bluetooth headsets are not recognized by Dictate.unless it has a USB dongle or USB connection in its stand.

I use a Plantronics Savi 740 wireless that give superb results and connects to my computer, my landline (or VOIP) and my mobile phone and has a range of over 300 feet that allows me to roam while speaking or dictating. It allows connections between the various inputs and the long lasting rechargeable batteries are changeable on the fly. It also does a fairly good job receiving dictation with the headpiece sitting in its stand. While a bit pricey it I feel it is worth every penny for what it does.

Dictate is also supposed to work with Mac built-in microphones, so if you have such a system, you might want to try that first before investing in a headset.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Dualist
29 September 2017
Wasn't this the company that hoodwinked Jobs into letting them announce its coming to Mac during one his events several years ago? If they added unfettered translations to this app it *might* make for a worthy product. Seems pretty high priced.
Like
Version 6.0
higherterrain-com
29 September 2017
Every time I see this app the price continues to go up in price and remains about as useless tits on a boar.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Achim2
02 September 2016
I just purchased Dragon "Professional" Individual v6. It's impossible to open the Commands window – so you have to guess what to say. Not to speak of adding new commands for your applications. They promise to support Scrivener, which was the reason for me to buy it – but it's not even possible to get correct quote signs, and corrections often delete parts of what you dictated before without any apparent reason. Support is non-existent. QA apparently as well or else there wouldn't be those blatant bugs in a 300$ app. Don't buy this – wait for an update or for better built-in speech recognition in OSX. For me it will be the first and last time I fell for their big-mouthed advertising.
Like
Version 4.0.7
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
10 September 2016
Frankly this does not surprise me. Their so called upgrade seems nothing more to me than bug fixes and a little cleanup. Nuance seems to be trying to turn what should be in my opinion, free updates into a subscription model - i.e keep customers paying $100 a year for staying with the latest version. This year I reported some major command editing bugs. Instead of fixing them, they removed the feature! If you examine their legacy the company seems to have much less than a 'clean' , and moral driven history. As for me, at least for the present time, I choose to ignore this "upgrade" , unless I there are reports or I find out it has some significant value to do it. Often, after the first introduction the price of the "upgrade" is reduced as well. So I will adopt a 'wait and see' attitude and position. If their was viable competition, I wouldn't think twice about abandoning the product. Unless other users who are reading this are having serious issues with the latest update to version 5, I would strongly suggest they take the same approach - wait and see.
Like
Frodo_life
16 October 2015
the software does quite well what it says it does however the update policy is ridiculous every year $150 without any major changes or improvements is just to expensive. Every major update is 75% of the purchase price without any new features really
Like (3)
Version 4.0.7
Rufty-Tufty
20 September 2015
Has anyone who has successfully upgraded from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7 noticed any significant changes? Particularly in the areas of: - bug fixes: when working in MS Word, the editing commands would sometimes result in strange results (duplicated words, etc.), that really hurt the usability - stability: 4.0.6 crashed fairly often for me - that was the biggest reason I finally stopped using dragon completely after a couple of months (on top of the editing bugs). - recognition quality: I considered recognition to be adequate in 4.0.6, but I'm curious if they've actually improved, as they are claiming in their marketing emails for the new version.
Like
Version 4.0.7
cycling-matt
15 September 2015
It works, but better to use a real USB headset microphone than the one supplied with the product. Once I made that change, accuracy is about as they claim, and I'm able to use it with a wide variety of apps. The "transcription" module is half-baked if you're trying to use it for interview transcription. It would work fine for someone dictating notes into a digital recorder (with punctuation etc) and later running it through for transcription.
Like
Version 4.0.7
neartheredrocks
01 September 2015
I seriously don't understand why this application is getting only negative if not hateful reviews. I have a strong German accent and I am writing this with Dragon Dictate. Without any corrections. I would think that such an application meets training to work well. But in my experience Dragon Dictate does exactly that. Therefore I have to give it four stars [only four because it got one word here wrong].
Like (1)
Version 4.0.7
1 answer(s)
cycling-matt
cycling-matt
15 September 2015
I think an application like this either works or it doesn't. I would never want to invalidate the experiences of the posters who had terrible results with the software. That being said, I've had very good results, including being able to apply updates.
Like (1)
Pierre-Jean
31 August 2015
Au début, il est assez performant, mais au fur et à mesure de l'utilisation, il devient chaotique, reconnais difficilement la voix, s'autorise des commandes non voulues, et en fin de compte, obligé de quitter l'application pour la relancer si on veut continuer à travailler. Pénible, et personnellement très déçu.

At first it is good enough, but as you use, it becomes chaotic, difficult to recognize voice, he is authorize unintended commands, and ultimately forced to leave the application for the raise if we want to continue working. Painful and personally very disappointed. (excuse me Google translation....)
Like (3)
Version 4.0.7
mrsidoric
30 August 2015
Dragon Dictate is an obscene ripoff. After a miserable install process on a new machine – accuracy is abysmal with practiced diction, and enunciation. Hugely disappointed that after all the hype and hoopla – there is no perceptible improvement in ease of installation, use, or accuracy. Use Apple's Dictation instead – Nuance is stealing from customers.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.7
Bob-a9f1ee95
30 August 2015
So disappointed! I can't even get this to install. I get a "flawed installation" message every time. I so wanted this to work. Once upon a time it did work, quite well actually. Not now. :-(
Like (2)
Version 4.0.7
pazdera
21 August 2015
my version 2.5.2 will not work under 10.10.4 on my MBP nor iMac Would anybody be willing to swap a v.4.0.6 for a v 2.5.2 ? and I can also spare the French data-set-disc (seldom used) - Paul
Like
Version 4.0.6
Lord-Lightning
19 August 2015
Now these highwaymen and bandits are back with "Dragon for Mac", saying it is new, but in reality, they are passing off an update as an upgrade by giving it a new name. It is claimed to be 15% more accurate than the 4.0.6 version. In my books that is not a new app - that is an update and should be called version 4.0.7.
The evil Nuance empire strikes again - I have ZERO trust in this mob. Absolutely Zero.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.6
1 answer(s)
Malby
Malby
30 August 2015
The joke is that Nuance claimed that version 4 was 'up to 99% accurate'. I'm no mathematician, but how much more room is there left for improvement?

I do use version 4 but it's nothing like 99% accurate.
Like (2)
migret-ph95
07 February 2015
It will be good when Apple improves their dictate app so Nuance doesnt get away with this nonsense - it took me 15 hours to "upgrade" Dragon to 4 too.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.6
LeMerlot
18 November 2014
Dragon Dictate version 4.0.6 crashes… – ALWAYS while trying to launch with a new microphone… – and then later with or without external microphone attached. Definitely has to be worked on.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.6
2 answer(s)
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
01 January 2015
…crashes are still not fixed yet; seems I have to downgrade to version 4.0.5 to be able to work with Dragon Dictate.
Pity, recurring trouble – I really cannot recommend Dragon Dictate !
Like (1)
Daniel-Alex-Finkelstein
Daniel-Alex-Finkelstein
12 August 2015
I'm also getting the crashes on Yosemite 10.10.4 with Dragon Dictate 4.0.6. It's infuriating, and nearly impossible to find the proper support channel on Nuance's web site.
Like (1)
Lord-Lightning
06 November 2014
Every time I perform the update form 4.0.5 to 4.0.6 it falls over. That applies EITHER to the Dragon dictate in app update or the automatic update provided by MU. I have never installed an application over the last 20 years that has caused so much grief. Nuance can not be contacted by email and the account I have with them refuses to accept my account details - and yet tells me that there is already an account with those details. GRRRRRR!!!
Like (2)
Version 4.0.6
Rlevent
10 September 2014
Although I agree that the upgrade pricing is a little steep and that the prior versions were not that accurate, this new version 4 is working very well for me. It is making virtually no errors in its transcription. I am therefore very pleased with it.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.4
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
14 October 2014
It appears that the download to 4 was full priced - so why didn't it give me an upgrade price?
Very peculiar indeed.
Now the pain starts all over again. Is it because the brains behind this are German and think like Meccano sets or abacuses or mass-time equations? Dealing with these guys is like asking some alien to explain emotions. They just don't get it.
Like (1)
John-Lockwood
11 August 2014
Could anyone possibly post a direct download link for the 4.0.3 update. Yes I know 4.0.4 is now out and I have been able to download that via MacUpdate but I missed the 4.0.3 update. It actually will be useful to have my own copy. Unfortunately the ghastly Nuance website makes it impossible to search for Mac updates on it.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.4
3 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
14 October 2014
I'm 8 hours into a download of 4.0.2 - why didn't it provide the latest version - 4.0.5? Oh, it isnow at 25% download - after 8 hours.
I weep! Why do Nuance just keep on shooting themselves in the foot - no one can be that utterly stupid and almost psychopathically devoid of awareness or guilt. They have been doing this sort of thing since the product was introduced. They have learned absolutely nothing in all that time.
Like (1)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
15 October 2014
Now at 24 hours and it is at 39%. It is also downloading version 4.0.2 and they are aware of problems with that version - hence version 4.0.5.
The Download Manager is saying it will take over 7 days to download.
Methinks these clowns need a visit from the Australian ACCC. A breach of Black Letter Constitutional Law is pretty hard to defend. Can't contact anyone about the problem either.
Pure Hell. Nothing but pain.
Like (1)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
15 October 2014
Now into the second day and still downloading 4.0.2. Then I will have to try to upgrade to the latest version. They ship version they KNOW needs fixing.
The Fawlty Towers of software companies.
Everyone at Nuance has been passing the buck - what utter HELL!
Like (1)
LeMerlot
10 August 2014
After my ruthlessly candid review of Dragon Dictate version 4.0 (see below) now it's time (and fair) to write a new one for version 4.0.4: Seems that with its new update Nuance fixed all annoying bugs I found in 4.0. While my older version 3.04 already impressed with its voice recognition it froze from time to time on my MacBook Pro. 4.0.4 seems to be stable now. Voice recognition (in German) is now really impressive and reliable with a top-quality microphone – and if you use this software like me for professional purposes I would highly recommend the upgrade to this new version 4 (4.0.4). Yes, it's not cheap but – at least for me – it saves a lot of time working with text and emails.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.4
Macbookpro
05 August 2014
After updating to 4.0.3, it then updated to 4.0.4.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
LeMerlot
27 July 2014
Wow!! I paid for the upgrade to version 4.0 since I'm using Dragon Dictate a lot – for me it's a huge time saver not only for business. But I wondered why voice recognition was worse with v4 than with version 3.0.4. So I used this weekend to make several extensive tests with both, Dragon Dictate v4 and my reinstalled v3.0.4 – on a high end MacBook Pro with 16 GB RAM, very fast SSD, OS 10.9.4 and 2 professional microphones. I even tested both with – and without USB hubs attached. Surprise: With my reinstalled older version v3.0.4 of Dragon Dictate voice recognition is much better again – much better than with 4.0 !! So I'll archive version 4.0 until this is fixed by Nuance and will use version 3.0.4 again. Needless to say that I cannot recommend the upgrade to version 4 until they worked on it.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
01 August 2014
These guys aren't going to fix squat. You'll probably see the fix in version 5 for another $150, but not before they screw up a few more things to put you on the hook for version 6. Worst customer service and customer upgrade policies in the known galaxy.
Like (5)
Ntd
Ntd
05 August 2014
I saw this update to 4.0.3 so came to look at the latest info regarding this "theft ware"...I see nothing has changed, and I must thank Nuance for their upgrade pricing; as they only caught me once, had the price been around $ 30 to upgrade I may have been caught on version 3 and 4 and into the future dreaming the next one will be it!
Like (3)
Shotgun21
02 June 2014
Expensive, updates to make everything work that should work, and you get the added bonus of paying for the updates.
Like (6)
Version 4.0
Lev
06 April 2014
I'm typing this. That sort of says it all.
Like (13)
Version 4.0
Thaiwest
15 March 2014
One of the most "Evil of the Evils" of software companies. I started out with this software when it was version 1.0. To start with it was great. Then began the problems and the problem just grew greater as the company charged more and more for upgrades and provided less and less support... at the point of version 4.0 and Mavericks, nothing works and trying to get any resolution of any type is like dealing with the door post! There should be a class action law suite. The company ought to be force out of business at best.
Like (6)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
21 March 2014
Whether or not a company or its directors have complied with the law, public perception is paramount and can have reputational, business and personal repercussions that are as severe as any legal prosecution. Apple could apply pressure to this brotherhood of Nuance brigands to behave like decent corporate citizens - but they won't. So Apple is tarnished as well.
Like (1)
Jimw
05 March 2014
After much discussion with Nuance I have negotiated a mutual settlement for Dictate for the Mac running on Mavericks for myself. They have also agreed to consider alternate upgrade policies for other users that have been impacted by the inability to run Dictate 3.x under Mavericks on a case by case basis. Here is what needs to be met as I understand it: - You must have installed Mavericks near the date of official release. - Mavericks must be your primary OS that you do most of your work on. - You must have purchased or updated Dictate to 3.X before you installed Mavericks or purchased it with the indication it would run normally under Mavericks. - Your current version of Dictate must be freezing when running under Mavericks to the point of being unusable. - You must have filed or proceed to file by phone or e-mail a Nuance tech support incident documenting the above and run any tests and/or provide logs of the issues you are having with Dictate. - You must then contact Nuance customer service and request that your issue be examined for special consideration. Since this is done on a case by case basis, I cannot guarantee that the outcome will meet your expectations but I speak from experience that if these procedures are followed with some kind of documentation or evidence of the above you may be considered for an alternate upgrade other than the standard upgrade pricing. Hope this helps.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
4 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
05 March 2014
One other thing I forgot to mention: When speaking to customer service you will need to ask that the call be escalated to a supervisor or manager. It is my understanding that at this time, level 1 agents are not empowered to consider alternative pricing for this issue.
Like (2)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
06 March 2014
No. That is just unfair and ethically bereft. I purchased the app last October. It simply should run properly on Mavericks. No 'ifs', 'buts' , or 'maybes'. This is a nothing update - pretty much designed to run on Mavericks. It really should be v 3.0.5. To call it version 4 is further deception. If they had told me last October it would fall over on Mavericks then I would not have purchased it - plain and simple. They hid that. Kept it from everyone. As I said earlier. Dealing with Nuance is pain, pain, pain. I have now relegated the damn thing to abandon-ware. I am a Psychologist and also involved with several Universities and a national Writer's Guild. Every one I have spoken to has now seen the light and gone elsewhere for a solution. Particularly with the advent of Mavericks. So hopefully their mean spirits have created such bad karma that it will come back to bite them in thousands of dollars worth of lost sales. Purchases made in the last six months or so should be free or at a small nominal fee. I would pay $20 for it - after already having paid for it at 3.0.2 in late October 2013. Finally why do Macupdate and Apple even support this rubbish app?
Like (3)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
06 March 2014
Forgot to mention that Mavericks OSX 10.9 was revealed at Apple WWDC in June 2013. So we have to assume that Nuance had done considerable work on Dictate and knew that they were going to make it compatible with Mavericks. So why did they not tell me that in October when they took my money - Approximately four months AFTER Mavericks was offered to Developers? I hope Apple step in here and demand a remedy for those who purchased this app after WWDC.
Like (2)
Trowbridge
Trowbridge
22 July 2014
This is the only review you really need to read.

Although, "I'm typing this. That sort of says it all." from Lev *does* sort of say it all.
Like (2)
OhEssex
05 March 2014
Just so you know what you're dealing with here: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/15/business/goldman-sachs-and-a-sale-gone-horribly-awry.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
Like (4)
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
05 March 2014
Thanks. Stunning information. I had no idea. Even though Nuance seem to have the project now I have had nothing but grief with them. You are trying to nail jelly to a tree to get any sense out of them. Just don't go near Nuance or the Dragon disaster. It will break your heart. For example, I upgraded one step to 3.0.4 (which worked automatically) then it would not recognise my serial and previous version registration. Pain. Pain. Pain. These guys were all conceived behind the woodshed. Total retards.
Like (2)
-M-S-
-M-S-
24 March 2014
Worth wrapping up the story if you're going to link to it: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/24/business/goldman-sachs-cleared-in-collapse-of-dragon-systems-sale.html
Like (2)
Lord-Lightning
05 March 2014
What? An application I just purchased recently and now I have to pay a shirtload of money just for an update. Actually, more than I paid for the app, brand new, only a couple of months ago. If you are contemplating using this company for any apps just don't do it. They are EVIL.
Like (5)
Version 4.0
Whitebuck
05 March 2014
Nuance is absolutely rapacious with their updates. I use Apple Dictation and if I must use my Nuance app, I am fortunately, able to use MacSpeech Dictate 1.5.9 (7849) in Snow Leopard and Mavericks, when it becomes unusable or incompatible with OSX. I will uninstall it and bid adieu to Nuance/Dragon Dictate and their skulduggery. There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but there must never be a time when we fail to protest. -Elie Wiesel, writer, Nobel laureate (b. 1928)
Like (6)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
bumper314
bumper314
06 August 2014
I don't think Nuance is as bad as some. Compared to Parallels Desktop (which is on version 9 and charges 70% the original price of the license for an upgrade).

I've been happy with Dragon Dictate, but it always feels like a "second class citizen" compared to Dragon Naturally Speaking.
Like
JasonE
04 March 2014
Another $150 update. I am sorry, but I do not see these updates as $150 each time.
Like (12)
Version 4.0
6 answer(s)
Chuckb84
Chuckb84
04 March 2014
Supposedly the update is $99 for a month, and rises to $150 after that. However, I can't find anything on the Nuance pages that lets me order this for $99. I skipped the last update because $150 is more than I originally paid for the software! Anyone find how to order this online for $99?
Like (3)
Chuckb84
Chuckb84
04 March 2014
To answer my own question, this link takes you to a $99 upgrade: http://dr.bluehornet.com/ct/5241119:7800421738:m:N:180644947:F05596EA9054EEA53B821972EC5DACD3
Like (3)
JasonE
JasonE
04 March 2014
Chuck, thank you for looking into this. Unfortunately, I keep getting a server error once I get to the shopping cart. Error: Your data was not saved. Please try again. We apologize for this inconvenience. Error Number: SYS_000006
Like
Thepfef
Thepfef
04 March 2014
Thanks, Chuckb84! Last time I had to call to get the $99 price.
Like
Chuckb84
Chuckb84
04 March 2014
Jason, Go to the link and click the "update" button near the bottom of the page. This looks like you're adding another product to the cart but you can delete it. Then DELETE the microphone from the cart. Make sure your total is only $99. I had the same problem at first.
Like (1)
Beto-Boton
Beto-Boton
05 March 2014
I'll type faster, thank you. MacSpeech dumped because of greediness of the developer. Now Dictate goes TO THE BIN TOO!
Like (3)
Monkeyjunkey
04 March 2014
Dragon 4 is out.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
Bluestar
25 February 2014
Ironically, I'm writing this with Dragon Dictate. Mostly accurate but one of the most annoying things is that it seems to jump the cursor up into a previous paragraph or line while I'm dictating and start writing stuff in the middle of another sentence above. This is totally ridiculous. Furthermore it seems to go to sleep after a while when running with other applications and completely stopped working. I have to quit and restart for it to work again. Considering the slow application load this is supremely annoying again.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
06 March 2014
The going to sleep thing can be fixed easily by going to Preferences > Recognition > Auto Sleep and adjusting the slider.
Like (1)
Jimw
18 February 2014
Latest inquiry to and response from Dragon Dictate Support: Customer By Web Form 02/17/2014 05:24 PM This is an update and reminder that you have not as yet offered a fix or workaround for this issue and that this issue remains active and therefore Dragon Dictate for the Mac is virtually unusable. I am also formally requesting an estimated time for a patch or update to be issued that addresses this issue. Thank you for contacting Nuance Technical Support. This email is regarding the "Application freeze when giving any command" that you were encountering with Dragon Dictate. There will be an update within the next two weeks. Regards, Brian Nuance Technical Support www.nuance.com
Like
Version 3.0.4
Jimw
07 February 2014
Here is the last few messages in my Tech Support Thread to Nuance, earlier ones first, regarding the freezing issue with Dictate after spending many hours going through every troubleshooting steps and sending logs they requested. Please judge for yourselves if you consider this adequate support for a issue that repeatedly crashes the program making it virtually unusable and that has been reported by a number of users for the last 4 months. ------------- Dear JimW, (1) Thank you for contacting Nuance Technical Support. This email is regarding the "Application freeze when giving any command" that you were encountering with Dragon Dictate. Customer's reporting this issue unfortunately has something in common. They came across this issue right after upgrading to Mavericks (10.9) we have already raised this issue to the developers as early as November 2013. Rest assured that they are taking necessary steps to resolve this issue. Once we hear from them we will let you know. We apologize for the inconvenience. Regards, Brian Nuance Technical Support -- (2) [from JimW] Unfortunately I cannot be ‘rest assured’ when Nuance confesses that the problem was noticed about 4 months ago and still has no workaround or patch. What it does instead is telegraph a negative message as to Nuance’s interest in supporting Dictate and its operation in current versions of Mac OSX systems. If as much effort were placed into resolving this issue as is placed in personal sales call to me, trying to convince me to upgrade to your latest version, which I already have purchased and purchase additional equipment, then I firmly believe this issue would have already been resolved. -- (3) *** This is an automatic response *** Dear JimW, Thank you for providing feedback about your Nuance product. - Your bug report will be reviewed for reproducibility - Bugs reported will be triaged for fixing in a future update or version release of the product - No response will be provided regarding your bug report - If you require a response from Nuance, please open a new question and select a Support category - Support categories include: Error Message, Hardware - Setup/Config, How to use Product, Product - Problem/Issue, Product - Setup/Config We appreciate your feedback and help toward improving our products. Best Regards Brian Desktop Support & Service Nuance Communication Inc.--
Like
Version 3.0.4
Jimw
30 December 2013
This program would be useful given that commands can be issued to the computer if it worked reliably. Unfortunately this is not the case. Instead it continues to randomly freeze requiring a "Force Quit." It is also so slow in Mail that it makes the product almost unusable. I can almost guarantee that the command that puts your Mac to sleep "Special Sleep" will freeze Dictate every time it is used. Support for Dictate is terrible. Free support expires after 90 days and their is even a ~$10 per incident charge for electronic submission of support tickets. This makes it very unsatisfactory to report issues or bugs with the product after the 90 days are up, even when the issues are Nunance's. The last update to fix issues was about three months ago from the date of this review. As such I can only recommend this product to someone who is a glutton for punishment.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
16 January 2014
Update; I finally got through to somebody at Nuance that would intelligently discuss this issue with me. As it turns out OSX 10.9.1 has an issue with Dictate 3.0.4. Certain commands that interact with Finder will hang or freeze Dictate. The quick workaround is to relaunch the Finder by engaging "Force Quit" (Cmd-Opt-Esc) by force quiting the Finder. Then Dictate will come 'alive' again. Advanced users can enable the "Quit Finder" menu and launching it again from the Dock using a utility to set this up such as ONYX.
Like
Josetgmac
05 November 2013
I use Dragon Dictate quite a lot for long-form writing, and after training the app I can dictate at speeds of 140 wpm (words per minute) with 97% accuracy compared to a typing speed of ~75 wpm with similar accuracy. It's a unique app and a joy to use when it works well! I wrote an ebook "Dragon Dictate: Fast Track to Prolific Writing on Your Mac" which explains how to improve accuracy through the right training tools and even how to use voice commands to work effectively with your writing tools. More details at: http://www.onekerato.com/dragon-dictate.html for those who are interested.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Lord-Lightning
03 November 2013
Don't deal with these idiots unless there is absolutely no alternative. They send night trolls in to handle their emails and customer service. I am still waiting after a month to receive part of a DD package and every time I email them they reply with a night troll email. Night trolls specialise in turning serious matters into jelly to see if customers can nail it to a tree. They pass the parcel - even though the transaction record give very clear contact details for concerns. Just do NOT deal with these morons. I'm now taking my DD issue to legal resolution. That'll cheer them up - they happen to be in direct breach of Australin Consumer Law. Let's see if shutting down their Australian operation will be handled by their Night Trolls. Should cost them a shirtload just to defend themselves against a black letter constitutional legal case.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
20 December 2013
And an update... After promising the missing part of the package by personal email they still have not delivered it at the end of December... (two months after I paid for the product). As I said, incompetent, unreliable, zero customer respect and a bunch of night trolls. The product is fine - it's the morons running the business that unsettle me - and should throw doubt on dealing with them.
Like (1)
Turquoise
31 October 2013
I wish it would cost less, but like good wine, your appreciation for this application increases with time.
Like
Version 3.0.4
CarolineB3556
26 September 2013
Its early days but I felt the need to write something to counter the poor star ratings for this product. This download does not work, which is frustrating but it is misleading to not buy the product as a result. I installed today using CD and serial number. Got it at a great price as Education edition and so far it looks to do exactly what it said on the tin. Don't be put off by the poor star rating. My star rating might change (if it lets me) when I've time to really try it out.
Like
Version 3.0.3
KenS1206
13 September 2013
It's on sale now for under US$90 at Amazon with free shipping! Includes USB headset with mic. At that price it is TOTALLY worth it. Yes, it is a bit challenging to get running. It is a quite complex product. Its no small miracle that it works at all. But, your efforts are rewarded with a fantastic dictation program. I have right shoulder issues so typing has become increasingly difficult. This pgm has let me hit me hit "Reset."
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
KenS1206
KenS1206
13 September 2013
Whoops...deal seems to have ended.....
Like
Turquoise
04 September 2013
It is a bit expensive, one must use it quite a lot to justify for the purchase. But it works very well, not with all applications though.
Like
Version 3.0.3
crazyirishman
03 April 2013
I want this to work. I really do. I'm still considering it, even with the overwhelming negative reviews, on here and other sites. SO I decided to try this evaluation install... and true to form, disaster. I DL'd the 27.6Mb zip, unzipped it to a 65.8 Mb file. And I get a "This installation is flawed. Please re-install the software" message. I am running 10.8.3 and have security set to allow Applications downloaded from Anywhere.
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Uhoo
Uhoo
06 April 2013
That's because the download provided is an updater. You can only use it to update your current (full, purchased) installation. Nuance does not provide any downloadable demos.
Like (2)
Johnkranz
06 March 2013
Big discount available TODAY only on all the Dragon dictate products (Mac/Win). Even with the discount and attractive pricing, my interest has really cooled on this given the many negative reviews. Is it even worth the $85 bucks they are asking for Mac Dictate 3 now?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
3 answer(s)
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
06 April 2013
It doesn't sounds like you've actually used Dragon Dictate 3. Is your 2.5 star rating based on an earlier version of the software? Please clarify.
Like (1)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
08 April 2013
No, please don't confuse my rating as a past user. I can not find a way to comment on this web site without having to provide star ratings when starting a new topic thread as I did...so I simply kept things 'middle of the road' as a no opinion vote. I decided to not purchase this product in the end as I'm not coming across any positive remarks about the product. I'll stick to typing I guess....
Like
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
08 April 2013
Thanks for the clarification, John. Posting a star rating for a product you haven't used makes MacUpdate less useful for everyone. A 2.5 star rating is not a "no-opinion vote" — it suggests that you've used the product with mediocre results. Instead, consider replying to someone else's review…this way you dont' have to provide any star rating. I have heard good things about Dragon Dictate 3 from some people that I trust, so have decided to purchase the software to put it through its paces. I'll post a review here once I have a good chance to kick the tires.
Like (2)
Marcossi
07 February 2013
$200. No try,, no buy! Especially with so bad reviews!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
14 August 2013
Yes. I agree completely. It feels like a $30 or $40 app. Does a reasonable job - but not a $200 job. I have used it for a coupe of years off and on. The task it performs for a writer is adequate but I find, at the end of the day, I get the job done faster by just typing. I think it is saying the punctuation that gets in the way for me. Writers try to get 'flow' and DD promises that but my brain flips out of the story world I am in and drags me back to reality with it's technolgy and demands for spelling and accuracy. So dialogue for a character becomes impossible - particularly if you are trying to lay in subtle voice and regional traits. Still, I'd give it three or maybe four stars if I had a need to compensate for a disabilty and needed a way to tell my stories.
Like (2)
db2013
02 December 2012
This software has never worked for me, even though I've bought each new version over the years (stupidly hoping that each new version would improve the faults of the previous). Now, to get v3 I find I need to pay another $150. To add insult to injury I found out that DD 2.5.2 won't run on Mountain Lion, and if I want to use it I must update to 3.0 They must be F*****G out of their minds if I'll ever buy another of their products. This company is run by a bunch of crooks and conmen.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Ntd
Ntd
30 December 2012
I had been considering the upgrade after my feelings of being raped with the upgrade price cooled. I tried M Lion's dictation...this via Time Capsule via a broadband router connection from South Africa....It was 100% accurate although slowish. Good riddance Dragon Dictate!!! As 2.5.2 was buggy.
Like (3)
JayH2314
JayH2314
17 August 2013
I might add that they no longer offer a descent UPGRADE price for past users whom they have abused with sub-par software. Yes they are crooks and if we STOP buying from them they will have no choice but to lower their price to market demands.
Like (1)
ylluminate
20 November 2012
I have to say, I'm glad Dragon "upgraded" their software and maintained the price point that they have so stubbornly clung to. It has caused me to seriously start using the integrated dictation in OS X 10.8. I've found that it works really well and in many regards has been performing better than Dragon Dictate!
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
Johnkranz
13 November 2012
Quiet here lately. I guess that means those who are using Dragon Dictate 3 don't have too much to complain about?....
Like (2)
Version 3.0
7 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
20 November 2012
Just happy forgetting about Dragon Dictate whilst using Apple's built in transcription in 10.8. :)
Like (5)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
21 November 2012
Are you comparing Dragon Dictate 3 to Apple's built-in dictation in 10.8? It sounds like you didn't upgrade due to their pricing.
Like
ylluminate
ylluminate
21 November 2012
I actually have a friend that owns it. We compared them quite a bit and in the end were left aghast at how nearly identically they performed in the technical area in the trial. Needless to say, I passed on this laughable release. On an interesting note, he was able to get Dragon to reliably crash Pages with one particular word.
Like (1)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
21 November 2012
Hopefully the word wasn't "Save..." ;-)
Like (1)
ylluminate
ylluminate
21 November 2012
LOL. Nope, that would have been a good one. :D But yeah, I'm just glad Pages didn't lose what he was working on with its auto saving now.
Like
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
13 August 2013
I still have the same complaints. I just don't have anything new to add to them, and I thought maybe people were tired of listening to me. Besides that, I find that negative reviews on MU tend to get downvoted even when they are justified, so I believe that complaining is implicitly discouraged here.
Like
JayH2314
JayH2314
17 August 2013
On the contrary - Those who used it in the past are no longer interested in getting robbed.
Like
a1exey1azar
30 October 2012
My convo with Nuanse of October 30th, 2012 ------------- Please wait while we find an agent to assist you... Hello, welcome to Nuance Chat. Please briefly describe your goal or question and I will connect you with the best resource to meet your objectives. Thomas Green: Hi, how may I help you today? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Customer: Thomas? Thomas Green: To clarify with you. What type if environment were you looking to use your Mac in? Thomas Green: of* Customer: Thomas, you realize that your question has nothing to do with an answer I need. Customer: I am a student who has two licenses of Dictate 1.5 and 2 versions and now I just would like to know if the 3rd version of this software would support Retina Display of Apple macs. That it. Thomas Green: I understand you have questions about our products however I am trying to determinate if this is for home use, for a network that has a server on or for medical use office. Thomas Green: Thank-you for your question and clarifying Let me get a product specialist to join our chat, they can answer detailed questions about our products. Would this be helpful? Customer: Home user Customer: Apple Mac OS 10.8.2 Customer: Retina Display Thomas Green: OK, I will invite the product specialist into our chat, it may take a few minutes for them to join us and review our conversation. I may have to drop out of the chat to assist other customers, so please keep the chat window open to maintain your priority sequence. While we are waiting for the specialist, could you please provide your name and phone number? It will not be retained by our system and will only be used to call you if necessary to resolve your request. Thomas Green has left the session. Please wait while we find an agent from the Nuance - Sales Dept Proactive department to assist you. Hi, My name is Kavita Wadhwa. Please give me one moment while I review the information you have already entered into the chat. Customer: THNX Kavita Wadhwa: Could you please explain a bit on Retina Display> Kavita Wadhwa: The program we have for Mac is Speech Recognition...Speech to Text. Customer: http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/specs-retina/ Kavita Wadhwa: One moment please Kavita Wadhwa: Retina Display is a brand name used by Apple for liquid crystal displays which they claim to have a high enough pixel density that the human eye is unable to notice pixelation at a typical viewing distance... Kavita Wadhwa: It is Apple technology. Customer: Thank you for clarification. I was aware of it. Kavita Wadhwa: This is nothing to do with the software we have..Thus Customer: PLEASE, let me know if your SUPER software Dictate 3 for Mac support this kind of technology. Kavita Wadhwa: May I know what are you hoping to accomplish from the technology Kavita Wadhwa: And yes. it does work with macbook pro with Retina display technology. Customer: Kavita, please just answer my question. Kavita Wadhwa: As I stated above. Kavita Wadhwa: What are you hoping to accomplish from the software..( Dragon Dictate)? Customer: Say words and watch them appear on my mac Kavita Wadhwa: Okay, Would it for dictations only or you want to control applications by voice as well? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Kavita Wadhwa: Nuance has a few different products that could work for you. I'd like to take a few minutes to do a quick assessment of your situation so that I can recommend the one that would be the best fit. Most of our customers find this easier to do over the phone - may I give you a call? Customer: Does Dictate 3 for Mac support Retina display rendering? Simple question that requires and answer of YES or NO Kavita Wadhwa: Please speak to Technical Support in this regard as I do not have the answer. Kavita Wadhwa: 1 800 654 1187 Kavita Wadhwa: Thanks ---------------------
Like (6)
Version 3.0
4 answer(s)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
30 October 2012
customer support #fail ... but I'm not sure if this is news to anyone.
Like (2)
Vinkri
Vinkri
31 October 2012
I guess your question about the retina display was a joke... At least, I hope it was. Can't really blame their tech support, as they don't understand the motivation behind your question. If you were serious with your request, then you're puzzling me... Anyway, you didn't try the software... How can you evaluate it?
Like (1)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
31 October 2012
I think if it was a product person, they could have handled the call much better regardless of whether or not that type of feature question would rank high. (if I was PM -- no, it would not rank high at all in terms of other features to focus on). But still, that kind of call was embarrassing in terms of how painful it was. If one doesn't agree with user questions or requests, they can still be handled by the product person much better.
Like (3)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
20 August 2013
What relevance does Retina have, as Dragon Dictate is just an input method? It is OSX that handles how text is displayed.
Like
Greg-Er
26 October 2012
I'm new to this forum. Last spring, I purchased Dragon Dictate 2.5 after a special offer was made to me. I was quite leery of yet another speech to text program. My first desktop Mac was a Centris 660 AV. The possibility of speaking to a computer and having it do useful things sold me. Alas, I was disappointed with the performance. When ViaVoice for the Mac came out I quickly bought it. I tried getting it to work but found that it was so buggy and all it really produced was massive frustration. I then tried iListen. That was better than ViaVoice and I was able to do some productive work with it. But in the end it proved to be too frustrating of a program. Dragon Dictate 2.5 proved to be quite useful, compared to my prior experiences. I was able to use it to keep a journal for work and important work related notes. Still, though, correcting the mistakes proved frustrating. And doing it via voice control most often didn't work correctly. So, when Dragon Dictate 3.0 was released I wasn't so interested. I decided to continue to limp along with 2.5. But then I came across this forum and all the negative rants about Dragon Dictate caused me to take a look at Dragon Dictate 3.0. Sure, I agreed with everyone's opinion of the excessive upgrade price. But so many of the reviewers gave the product one star only because of the pricing! It almost seemed like several of the reviewers had an ax to grind. After considering what I was doing with 2.5 and reading the Nuance website I gulped and decided to take Nuance up on their $100 upgrade offer. After having used to this program for about a month now I have to say it is so much better than any other speech recognition program I have ever used! I have put time into learning how to correct and manipulate text just with commands. It really works! And it works well! There are mistakes, but if you learn the commands, you can pretty much do away with your keyboard. And it learns as you teach it! I use it in the education field. At first, it doesn't get the names of the students I work with correctly when they are spelled in an unusual way. But after correcting it a couple of times it remembers and spells it that way anytime you use those names. I've found that the more I use it the more I want to improve my use of it. So I looked up commands and hints and tips and put them into practice and now it just flows along nearly mistake free. I'm amazed after so many years of frustrating experiences with using text recognition programs that now all I have to do is speak (with some voice corrections) and there it is on my screen. I've also tried using the free transcription app with my original iPad. If you use the correct punctuation patterns the way you would when using Dragon Dictate, transfer it from the iPad to the Mac, the transcription is wonderful. Another thing I like about this, is that you can use it to open and type in many unsupported applications. I use the word processor Bean. I've created commands within Bean to select menu items and have them run in the window I'm using. I feel like I'm just scratching the surface with Dragon Dictate. I have nothing to do with Nuance software or anyone connected to Nuance software. Though it is expensive, I would recommend Dragon Dictate 3.0 to anyone serious about ditching their keyboard. This was all written and voice corrected, when necessary, with Dragon Dictate 3.0.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
30 October 2012
This is quite the glowing review. I was going to say that you better indicate you are not associated with Nuance given your review. Nothing seems to have struck you as needing improvement. I kind of wonder if my mileage would vary, but at least you are saying it's definitely working out well. I'm probably going to purchase pretty soon myself. I don't think I have a speaker/mic that matches there list of preferred headphone mics to use, but since mine is noise-cancelling, I figure it should be pretty good....
Like
Greg-Er
Greg-Er
30 October 2012
In reply to Johnkrantz: After rereading my review, I agree, it's pretty glowing! But for me I had few problems. Dragon Dictate crashed on the first startup after download. Since then, I haven't had a hiccup from it. I suppose my main complaint would be the lack of information about how to optimally use Dragon Dictate. There many things that you can do with this program that you don't know about and can't know about unless you research it. One of the things that Nuance Software touted as a wonderful addition to Dragon Dictate were their interactive tutorials. These I found to be very helpful, but unfortunately, all of the screens in the tutorial do not work. They are set up to guide you through the dictation and voice correction process, among other things. But several the screens do not recognize the script you are reading no matter how you change your reading pace or pronunciation. They just give you an error message. Not a big thing, but added to the lack of guidance and documentation from Nuance it adds up. Dragon Dictate still makes mistakes. But compared to version 2.5 the number of mistakes are fewer. For me, the greatest addition to version 3.0 is the ability to voice correct accurately and the program learns when you teach it through voice correction. For example; my son's name is 'Kazushi'. In version 2.5, I tried repeating and repeating and correcting and correcting but usually Dragon Dictate 2.5 would spell out 'causes sushi'. It was maddening. After so much accuracy I couldn't get it to recognize something important in my daily life. But with version 3.0 when the program put "causes sushi" on the screen, I would say “correct causes sushi" and I would be presented with a correction window. All of the choices were WRONG. So in version 3.0 there is a new feature. You can say 'spell that' and the first choice in the list of incorrect words is highlighted. You then spell out each letter of the word you were hoping to appear. Then, you say "Pick one" and the incorrect word is replaced with your corrected version. And the next time you say 'Kazushi’, Dragon Dictate has learned the correct spelling and from then on out it gets it correct! In my case, that relieved a lot of frustration! Of course, you still need to edit what you've written and correct your mistakes and Dragon Dictate's mistakes that you may not have caught. But overall, the accuracy is up and the frustration is down in version 3.0 compared to version 2.5. As for my mic... I'm using an old USB MacMice Mic I used in my days of frustration with iListen. I don't think it is noise cancelling. As you say, your mileage may vary!
Like (5)
Johnkranz
Johnkranz
30 October 2012
Kazushi -- gotta love that name. Great story. Thanks for providing this additional information. Yes, that auto correct feature sounds very helpful as I'm sure we all have a few special words we'd like to see dictated properly and not have to fix all the time.
Like