Back to LimeChat page
LimeChat free download for Mac

LimeChat Reviews

2.42
23 June 2014

Chat using this RubyCocoa IRC client.

Germano60
28 April 2011

Most helpful

Rel 2.23 is back universal :) Thanks to the developer to keep supporting PPC users.
Like (4)
Version 2.23

Read 17 LimeChat User Reviews

Rate this app:

Marcossi
26 December 2013
The look of this app takes me back to the good old nineties.
Like (2)
Version 2.39
1 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
26 November 2015
You're mistaken. Looks like the 80's. We had GUIs in the 90's. lol
Like
Penguirl
26 February 2013
The current version requires 10.7 or newer, the Snow/Leopard version is under Download Older Version.
Like (2)
Version 2.33
Unicorn
05 October 2012
Limechat is a free donation-based app that deserves more credit and attention than what it has now. It was confusing when learning how irc works, but later I was glad to keep using it. I don't know everything about it yet, but I can say that anyone can learn how to use it. I would like to see some simple type of guide included for what to do when first using limechat. I can't really ask for more than what it is, but any additional features are welcomed in the future.
Like (2)
Version 2.33
Pwenzel
30 June 2012
I love the simple bare-bones UI. Colloquy is certainly nice too, but LImeChat just comes with less fluff.
Like (2)
Version 2.30
Moog-Modular
17 May 2012
Download link brought in version 2.30, but when ran said it was incompatible. I'm on a 10.5.8 PPC/Intel Imac. Even tried it in 32 bit mode. No go. Knowing Limeware, it's probably a great app, but it wouldn't run for me. :(
Like (1)
Version 2.30
2 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
30 July 2012
The developer's website states the minimum requirement is Snow Leopard, and has a separate download for 10.6 vs 10.7/10.8. MacUpdate may want to update their listed requirements/links appropriately.
Like
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
15 August 2012
Thanks for the heads up on the architecture issue. Sorry about the inconsistency. It doesn't look like there is a version for PPC, but the 10.6 compatible version is now also listed.
Like (1)
kingofleon86
01 September 2011
Best IRC client ever! Thanks to the developers.
Like (1)
Version 2.28
Germano60
28 April 2011
Rel 2.23 is back universal :) Thanks to the developer to keep supporting PPC users.
Like (4)
Version 2.23
Germano60
19 April 2011
Rel. 2.21 doesn't work on PPC, although it's claimed to be universal. The previous release was working seamlessly (i'm on Leopard on a G5 iMac), but as soon as I downloaded this one... nope, I've lost my IRC client....
Like (1)
Version 2.21
needgoodscreenname
09 February 2011
Amazing app.
Like
Version 2.15
Multimedia-Pimp
31 January 2011
I absolutely love this IRC app! It has every feature that I require, but showing images inline in the chat window is a truly killer feature. Friends post a lot of picture links, some good, some lame, and being able to preview them before clicking the links is just sweet. Keep up the good work, and thank you for a quality piece of free software.
Like
Version 2.15
Aetnaria
24 January 2011
Version 2.16 has been out since December. Changelog: Added override input text font option. Show all thumbnails for multiple image links in a message. Supported inline images on plixi.com and puu.sh. Follow the changes of gist. Updated server list. Fixed a bug in /omsg and /onotice commands. KOI8-R and KOI8-U support.
Like
Version 2.15
Morpe
08 November 2010
report a small bug, by clicking the link in the chat they are loaded but not switch to safari. i use Limechat on 10.6.4 and Safari 5.0.2
Like
Version 2.15
Detto
20 May 2010
This app now completely replaces Adium and iChat for me. I only use IRC and ICQ, but Limechat and the Limelight theme are just extremely satisfying to use. With bitlbee server I can message all my ICQ contacts in this nice interface too. Was kinda surprised to see a youtube preview pic of a YT-link someone sent me. :) Keep up your great work!
Like
Version 2.14
SickTeddyBear
20 May 2010
Version 2.14 was just posted on the developer's web site. MU is way behind.
Like
Version 1.5
Morpe
15 February 2010
the ignore list where is it?
Like
Version 1.5
Ero0
01 March 2009
I've been running this program for about a week and it hasn't had any problems yet. This is the best basic IRC client I've used.
Like (2)
Version 0.20
Detto
27 May 2008
Works very well and does its job fine. Its very lean and fast, makes fun overall. DCC and performing commands after login is also supported, though i didnt test these yet. I was already about to buy Linkinus which is the only attractive IRC client to me, but its already too much in it for my taste. Limechat is pretty and small, i like that.
Like (1)
Version 0.18