Back to CheckBook Pro page
CheckBook Pro free download for Mac

CheckBook Pro Reviews2.6.15

16 September 2020

Manage personal checking accounts.

5
gingyf
31 October 2019
Version: 2.6.8

Most helpful

I rarely review products but I've been using CheckBook Pro for two years and am still as happy with it as when I first started. The learning curve is not too difficult--when I suggested that things could be added to it, the support team got back to me immediately to tell me that many of the things that I wanted were already there--and then gave me instructions as to how to implement them. Things are not difficult with this program--and it's everything that I need!
(1)

How would you rate CheckBook Pro app?

Read 31 CheckBook Pro User Reviews

5
chucklazer
15 June 2020
Version: 2.6.13
I think it's a terrific program. Straightforward, easy to use and functional. When Quicken and Mac went their own separate ways -- again -- it was time to find a new checkbook app. I transferred my Quicken data in 2 minutes, and cleaned it up in 20. It does everything I need a program like this to do. And when I had a couple questions, Checkbook's support staff were helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. I couldn't be happier!
(0)
5
leeataylors
13 June 2020
Version: 2.6.13
Have used Quicken for more than a decade on a PC & now I'm new to the "Mac" world. With my husbands help, who an iMac Desktop, we were able to basically create a Cash Flow report using the customize the Category Details Month, Year report which blows away anything we could get on Quicken. When on the Checkbook, Entry, we were able customize the look. This cuts the time by 2/3 for entry into my monthly Income-Expense spreadsheet. Also, when using the Trial Version, we had some questions & got a response the next day! Superb customer support. Excellent piece of software, scalable, very user-friendly. So happy we tried this product. We would highly recommend it.
(0)
5
gingyf
31 October 2019
Version: 2.6.8
I rarely review products but I've been using CheckBook Pro for two years and am still as happy with it as when I first started. The learning curve is not too difficult--when I suggested that things could be added to it, the support team got back to me immediately to tell me that many of the things that I wanted were already there--and then gave me instructions as to how to implement them. Things are not difficult with this program--and it's everything that I need!
(1)
5
george-cumming
24 April 2019
Version: 2.6.8
Undoubtedly one of the most useful Apps around. Simple to set up and track your expenses. I use it daily and not sure what I would do without it. Think it deserves a 10!
(0)
3
Dixie44
27 March 2019
Version: 2.6.8
I had used CBP for al long time. I waited and waited and waited for the iOS version which they said they were working on several times, but to no avail. I need the iOS version for when I’m traveling when I use my iPad and iPhone for expenses/deposits. Are they ever going to introduce an iOS version? If they do I’ll return to CBP.
(0)
5
yi3ydhjln3fo
19 November 2018
Version: 2.6.7
I have been using Check Book Pro for more than 9 years as my only money-tracking program. It behaves so much more clearly and intuitively than anything else I've tried. It has never failed or acted ambiguously. At tax time every year, I thank my lucky stars I found this application and am not using any of the others I once had. I can get ASCII files into and out of the program's data base with zero effort. On the one or two occasions I have asked questions, their staff answered immediately, attentively, in fluent English. There aren't many good texts out there about the theory, practice and ethics of good user-interface design--the authors of this program ought to consider writing one, or perhaps they have.
(1)
5
marc-yergin
06 March 2018
Version: 2.6.4
I was using another check program. They decided to update it to 2018 version. I didn't want to update but I kept receiving ads prompting me to update. I looked for an alternative and came across CheckBook Pro. Boy howdy am I glad I did. It was the easiest install and use app I have ever come across. It really is intuitive. Even with an easy install there are always questions. The guys at Splash.com have the best after sales help of anyone I have ever run across. During the day I'd send a query. Within a few minutes the answer and solution to whatever came back. In addition to being an awesome product, the price for it is almost impossible to believe --- but it is real and well worth it. It is an absolute bargain. Really well worth it.
(0)
4.5
mgj203456
26 June 2017
Version: 2.5.15
I love this app. It is simple to use and easy to search. Does everything I want but not overloaded with features. Please keep it up!
(1)
5
Jude22
12 May 2017
Version: 2.5.15
I am intimately acquainted with Checkbook Pro for as long as it has been out. I just finished writing Splasm with an exhaustive email where I recounted the problems and fixes that have made Checkbook Pro an inexpensive alternative to the likes of Banktivity 6 and Quicken 2017 for Mac! Splasm has always moved almost frustratingly slowly in implementing changes to the software even when users ranted that the company was doing just that on their forum. But Splasm is a conservative company and the long patient wait has allowed them to refine the app. There is no question that in its register searches and summary reports it is damned powerful! I have always called Checkbook Pro by my nickname for it ... The Toy Program. The reason is that the red and green font and the icons they provide are light-hearted and I think meant to be fun. Some think that the red and green produce an eye-sore, but in preferences you can change the colors. Isn't it an achievement though that an app that now sells for $19.95 can actually compete with the likes of Banktivity 6 and Quicken for Mac 2017? Of course it is much more limited in what it can do than Banktivity 6 or Quicken 2017! But Checkbook Pro kicks ass when it comes to working with the data from your bank accounts and credit cards!!! There is only one area where improvement of the app is sorely needed and I wrote Splasm about it and I pray they do something about it in the next Version 3.0 if I should live long enough to ever see it written... hee hee. And that is that when one prints out the register reports in hardcopy, they strike one as utilizing too small a font and the layout is not aesthetic. In short, register reports are powerful like the dickens but look like cash register receipts! The summaries are fantastic and improved so that one can print out, for instance, a category detail report on all line items grouped and subtotaled by category for the complete date range of all your accounts!!! The screen puts out a descent rendering of this summary but as yet, the hardcopy printout is crowded if only because they should be in landscape instead of portrait In order to gain the room to layout everything in a lovely fashion. Larger font capacity for printouts plus the ability to change format on the fly would be a nice thing to provide in the next Version 3. Otherwise, count your blessing on what you get for such an inexpensive price. Checkbook Pro is HOT!!! It is reliable, intuitive enough, never clunky and ever so clever!
(0)
5
david-haywood
10 March 2017
Version: 2.5.15
I've used Checkbook on a daily basis since 2005 and cannot praise it enough. It's intuitive, very easy to use and has never let me down. If you want to keep track of all your bank and credit card accounts etc., look no further.
(1)
Yazarim
27 January 2015
Version: 2.5.6
As usual, almost 40 days after the release, we AppleStore registered buyers are left waiting for the update to become available. I know it depends on the long procedures of AppleStore, but in my opinion the developer should wait and upload here when his software becomes available also on AppleStore. I am pretty annoyed
(0)
Show comments (2)
jroseseattle
28 December 2014
Version: 2.5.6
Question ... can CheckBook Pro be used for balancing credit card accounts, loan accounts, mortgage accounts?
(0)
Show comment (1)
4.5
BarryE8597
05 June 2014
Version: 2.5.4
CheckBook Pro has become a mainstay in managing our daily finances. We have used it for nearly 3 ½ years. Reconciliation is easy and can be a major help. If you have several daily credit card transactions created by multiple people, you can balance as often as needed. In our case, daily reconciliation (balance to the online amount) has simplified our life and prevented fraud. There have never been performance issues such as beach balling. The app was used on a Mid 2010, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB memory, Hard Disk MacBook Pro, that was upgraded this year to 8 GB memory and Solid State Disk. It has worked well from Snow Leopard to Mavericks (10.6.8 to 10.9.3). Enhance your experience by using the help files and videos. Remember to backup often. With Time Machine, there is no excuse to not backup! It is your responsibility. If you have an issue, problem or complaint, contact support. You will be helped. My support experience has been at the highest level in technical expertise, concern for the customer and response time!
(2)
5
Penguirl
16 June 2013
Version: 2.5.1
I've been using CheckBook Pro for about eight years now and I have never regretted it. The developer was responsive when I had questions about an unsupported feature which is far more than I can say about most developers. 2.5.1 is a nice update and it's still UB (YAY!). I find it easy to use, though it can be a little daunting at first the learning curve isn't very steep. The only thing I might suggest is more graphing options but that's not a big deal for me.
(1)
5
Echoz
02 June 2013
Version: 2.5.1
Been using since 2003! Never a problem. Simple features of a checkbook register are just what I want. Provides me with an instant history.
(0)
1
Berniedahl
05 December 2012
Version: 2.3.2
Most frustrating application I ever tried to open. It opens with a msg saying it can't find the data file and gives me 2 choices. 1) Quit or 2) find the file manually. Well if it can't find the file how am I ever going to find it among the hundreds of thousands of files on my HD. Since this is the first time I’ve open Checkbook Pro I’d be very surprised it there is a file. One Star as worthless!
(0)
3.5
Yazarim
25 July 2012
Version: 2.3.2
A good software. Takes some time to understand it in its many features - often confusely hidden —, but then it works very well. The manual could be much better, though. And it could be local and not only online, unbearably slow.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Helen-D
06 March 2012
Version: 2.3.1
I jumped around to choose between CheckBook Pro and Numeric Notes for finance calculations. I ended up with both of them, and seems both apps more complementary than competing. I calculate all stuff in NN and if I want collect this information, I just put it into the CheckBook.
(2)
Show comments (2)
Anon-Bud
22 August 2011
Version: 2.2.1
I just had to add a comment: I spent a few weeks in Scotland this summer and was happy to find that CBPro has the capability of translating exchange rates between currencies. This has been great in keeping my finances together. I've even got a separate petty cash account that keeps track of my British Pounds. Still waiting for the iPad/iPhone version. Can't wait!
(1)
5
Anon-Bud
22 July 2011
Version: 2.2.1
All together now: It's still the best. Better than all the rest... 'nuff said!
(3)
5
gm-wil
30 June 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Ever since I started using Checkbook Pro, balancing my account has never been so easy. I'm pretty computer savvy, but get very frustrated and extremely lazy when I'm forced to learn something complicated that shouldn't be. All I wanted was a simple, click-minimum program to keep a record of my account and not accidentally go overdrawn by a few bucks by a forgotten entry. Simple, easy, and to the point. I don't need graphs, formula's, or mind-boggling graphical representations of my spending at the coffee shop. Debt, Deposit, Balance. I've saved a ton of pesky bank charges by keeping my numbers straight. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 on Stability is because having all 5 stars looks unrealistic. My affection for CB-Pro is as deep as my love for MAC.
(5)
3
Mark-Lee
09 June 2011
Version: 2.1.1
— Can't work with anything beside US dollars. — Even though it says it pulls date formats from System Preferences, it doesn't. — Text becomes hardly readable when you select it.
(0)
Show comments (3)
4.5
Eodtech
02 February 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Prior to CBP I had used Quicken, Money Dance and several other financial s/w. I really have any need for graphs, pie charts, reminders, etc. I wanted a down and dirty program to keep bank accounts ( savings, checking, MMA , etc ) . I started with the original CB and upgraded to CBP. A couple nice features: You can print the register for your checkbook to a PDF file which is handy for year end expense verifications and permanent written record. Backing up the CBP files is a snap and restoring the info is a snap. Columns, entries, etc can be customized to your needs. Program has never crashed, very stable in the MAC environment. 100% happy camper with this app.
(3)
4
Penguirl
26 June 2010
Version: 2.1.1
I have been using CheckBook Pro since the 1.x days and I am very happy with it. It suits my needs better than any other finance app I've tried including Quicken, ChaChing, Buddi, and Economix. Also the developer support is excellent - when I wanted to move the db to Dropbox so I could access it from both my desktop and notebook the developer gave me the information I needed so I could make it happen. And the price is reasonable to boot, especially when compared to other shareware/commercial finance apps. For me the only shortcomings I can see is that the summary graphs are not the easiest to read, you have to do some scrolling which makes it hard to do a visual comparison of the different items. Also the split function could be a little more intuitive with an auto-fill of the remaining transaction balance and payee. But these are both so minor they have little impact on CheckBook Pro's usefulness.
(2)
5
Stevenew
15 February 2010
Version: 2.0.4
I was looking to change accounting app, like many others I downloaded a few to try out. Checkbook Pro seemed straight forward & easy to use, however I encountered a problem importing a csv file, so I contacted the developer. I received a reply almost immediately and within a couple of messages the problem was solved. I was so impressed with the quality of support I purchased the family pack version. I now have 3 years worth of 3 accounts all setup and its all been painless. As far as I can see all thats missing from this app is the ability to connect to online accounts (not a problem for me as I just download my monthly statement and import it) and a iPhone app, I believe there are new features going to be added in the very near future, including these.
(3)
Eodtech
05 November 2009
Version: 2.0.4
I am a registered user of CBPro I recently had a "farkle" on my Admin account and had to make a new user account, transfer info, etc When started CBPro it could not find the accounts.plist and neither did Spotlight! So Logged onto CheckbookPro WWW site and took a look at the FAQ. Well all my questions were answered in the FAQ - copied my backup accounts file from my external hard drive and everything was just the way I left it under the old user account FANTASTIC - you are by far way ahead of the competition in this regard, I have never see a FAQ that covers just about all the possibilities of what can go wrong You are to be commended, thanx for 1 less headache
(3)
5
Anon-Bud
21 July 2009
Version: 2.0.3
I've spent hours looking at virtually all the personal finance programs available for the Mac and I've decided to migrate fully to Checkbook Pro. I still really like Quicken--despite it's flaws and non-development--but have been wanting to move away from it due to lack of any real support and continued development from Intuit. CBpro is simple to use, it's interface is really very nice and doesn't get bogged down with a lot of snazzy bells and whistles like a lot of the others have. Right now, CBP is not iPhone ready, but the developers are devoting a great amount of time putting this in place. They are also looking at adding direct connection to financial institutions.. These are not major problems for me right now, as I am willing to wait for their final results in these two areas. Check out this app!
(6)
Chriswan
03 June 2009
Version: 2.0.3
I have tried many alternatives like C**-C****, M********, and several others; But I still stick with this app This app might probably be all I ever need for personal finance Definetly, one of the best small investment I've ever made
(1)
5
-M-S-
21 February 2009
Version: 2.0.2
This is a great app for simple personal finance tracking. It's allowed me to pitch my check book's register and not worry about keeping things in a spreadsheet or using one of the bigger personal finance apps whose features beyond what CheckBook Pro offers I'd never use.
(5)
5
Chriswan
05 June 2008
Version: 2.0.1
Personal Finance for everyone -GUI matched Leopard well, looks very pretty -easy to use, the help is almost useless -lack of unnecessary functions, which is good -heavily discounted, when I bought it
(3)
5
onamac
22 March 2008
Version: 2.0
I bought Checkbook 1.x over 2 years ago, and use it everyday. It has always been extremely stable, never crashed, and always accurate in its calculations. Lately I was wanting it to have more control in terms of reporting and being able to group together expenses in ways it did not yet offer. I started seriously thinking I may have to switch to another app because 1.x wasn't making my tax time as easy as it should be. I had gotten Money and Cha Ching in some bundles, so I tinkered with those for a day, but they weren't as comfortable to me as Checkbook was. Then I saw 2.0 came out, and with the Pro version too, which was perfect timing for me. So, I upgraded to Checkbook Pro. It does those things I needed, and then some! I had also wanted to be able to make column changes on many items at once (a la iTunes), and now it does that. I had over 100 entries that I can now alter the Type, Category, etc. in one step. Nice. WIth 1.x, I wanted running balances and an additional column for Category. Now it has that. And, although it's still the same stable software to which I had been accustomed, it has now become exactly what I need and want. In my opinion, it is the best out there.
(5)