Back to ExpanDrive page
ExpanDrive free download for Mac

ExpanDrive Reviews

7.2.6
10 September 2019

Access cloud storage just like a USB drive.

Arobulack
18 December 2014

Most helpful

I've had a ton of problems with this app when using OneDrive: Finder freezes when deleting files, app crashes when saving files (I've lost a ton of work this way, Safari freezes when browsing pages. Uploads and downloads in general are very slow, as well. I love the concept here, but I've found the app to be very undependable.
Like (13)
Version 4.2.1

Read 280 ExpanDrive User Reviews

Rate this app:

mathieudulondel
25 September 2019
We aprecions, simplicity and speed of the ExpanDrive. It is also excellent to work with the best cloud storage services such as Dropbox, One Drive, Google Drive, Box and others. Moreover the customer service by chat is really good.
Like
Version 7.2.6
jleehardin
19 September 2019
GREAT APP! I have only had it installed for a few days and already love it. Having an unlimited google drive is a pain when using googles own software cause it downloads all files to your machine. So this is a very welcome alternative.
Like
Version 7.2.6
dgaff
18 September 2019
I've been using ExpanDrive to access multiple GSuite accounts to great success. App has been helpful for the most part. I had a config issue early on and got instant support from the online chat. Pleased, overall.
Like
Version 7.2.6
giffny
16 September 2019
This app has come a long way over the years. For me, ver 7 is dramatically faster and having it also work on Linux is a real plus. The tools out there for connecting to storage as a drive are many, but this stood head-and-shoulders above the others for my use-case.
Like
Version 7.2.6
mick-adams
09 September 2019
I downloaded ExpanDrive as I needed to get a simple file/ directory level access to my Amazon S3 bucket. I had used several S3 browsers in the past but on my mac I was looking for something that allowed me to view and manage my S3 data in finder. I downloaded the trial, installed and configured it in minutes and was immediately working with my S3 bucket contents interchangeable with my local file system on my mac with simple drag'n'drop. So for me the application did exactly what I needed it to do in a seamless and easy way.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.6
Jcandu
09 September 2019
This has been a lifesaver for me connecting to Sharepoint on my Mac. The ability to map multiple sub sites has been a lifesaver for our company.
Like
Version 7.2.6
me-383
08 September 2019
What a piece of crap. The app crashes or hangs. The text cannot be resized so half of it is not visible in the interface. The app consumes a ton of memory and spawns a bunch of processes. Their support is terrible, seems like one guy in his mom's basement (yes the founders are in their late 30s.)
Like
Version 7.2.2
j-brownjohn
25 August 2019
I installed this because I need to use two versions of Google Dive on the same mac. I now avoid using it and have to find a different solution. I faced a number of problems, despite installing the latest version and following the feedback form tech support: 1) Folders are not updated on my macbook. Yes, of course I tried everything! 2) work done on a word document edited on imac is gone. Twice. 3) proliferation of odd extra files with alphabet soup just appear. Tech support said send the log files. I did. A week ago. Silence. I''m not impressed, why are there so many gushing 5* reviews? They all seem to like being able to collaborate. Guess what, other solutions, which work, are available -but with limits if you bend software, like I seem to.
Like
Version 7.2.2
martinblack
22 August 2019
ExpanDrive is a no-nonsense solution for connecting to cloud-based servers and services. It is simple to use, requires no special IT knowledge and as fast as anything that connects to the outside world can be. For me it is an effective and indepensable tool that works across pretty much all platforms. Whilst it's true that that are other solutions out there, ExpanDrive has the advantage of being incredibly easy to use so can be recommended to users of all levels of competence. To be balanced about the product, I think the GUI needs a little work but this is really a very minor issue. I'm sure that as it matures this point will be adressed. No software is perfect but if you are looking for something to use to connect to cloud-based accounts that is effortless, you should give ExpanDrive serious consideration. The software has a free trial period so there is no obligation to buy it unless it meets your needs.
Like
Version 7.2.2
michaelmkamal
15 August 2019
Expandrive is Awesome .. MUST HAVE Setup was extremely easy, took less than 2 min. and I was able to access my files on onedrive as if it is on my local storage. Gave me the ability to work from home while keeping up with my team
Like (1)
Version 7.2.2
Rob-h
23 July 2019
Sorry but this is one of the bugiest apps I have ever had the misfortune of using! Version after version, bugs remain unfixed whether it's failing to connect or telling you it's constantly updating when it's not. This latest version prompts me to login to OneDrive so I click the button and up pops a window asking me to enter my OneDrive username (email) ... only you can't type anything in because the main OneDrive window continually steals the focus back telling you to login!
Like
Version 7.0.17
macupdate-615
06 April 2019
Excellent if you are looking to leverage your cloud storage. I don't have to install many apps - this is one apps rule them all. It's fast and act like local. Pretty much set and forget. I sometimes forget it's cloud drive rather than a local drive. definitely recommend it for cloud drive.
Like
Version 6.4.5
nathan-41
31 January 2019
I have yet to see a software so well thought out. If you have limited space on your hd you can benefit from this in a very extreme way, you can have all your files online and only access the ones you need since all your folders will be connected. It doesn't matter where your files ae stored.
Like
Version 6.4.3
figcrostic
28 January 2019
I am an avid google drive user, and have a terabyte package, problem is the sync. It eats up your local drive. Didn't even notice until I started storing videos and large items. I found out about ExpanDrive on reddit, and it's super simple, works amazing. Maps your googledrive (they have a bunch of other providers) like a network drive, this helps when you download or upload regulary via a scheduler, because you can just point it to that drive and it's super seamless and easy. I highly highly recommend ExpanDrive. by far one of the easiest prodcuts I've ever used.
Like
Version 6.4.3
cig0
07 January 2019
I can't see ANY SINGLE REASON to buy this incredible expensive app when CloudMounter (from Eltima) does more, like allowing you to encrypt your remote data, a superb feature when storing information on a public cloud -- at HALF THE PRICE..

Moreover: why would I pay this kind of money for an app with limited functionality when I can get A LOT MORE with Finder replacements like ForkLift from Binary Nights or Commander One PRO from Eltima Software?

Buying Expandrive makes no sense at all.
Like (2)
Version 6.3.0
admin-209
30 December 2018
ExpanDrive - a must-have drive mapping solution for Dropbox (and others) Having recently taken the plunge and taken out a Dropbox Business account, after being an avid user of Dropbox (the free version) for many years, but constantly butting against the upper limit of space available. The greatest benefit of moving to an unlimited cloud storage solution is also its greatest weakness, insofar as you have access to a potentially limitless amount of online storage for (in the case of Dropbox Business) a flat fee, but this means you are regularly accessing an archive that is ultimately likely to significantly exceed your ability to store that data locally. The issue, then, becomes how you can access your data in a quick and easy manner. Dropbox itself does not have a solution in place at present to enable you to do this - you can either download the Dropbox application to your computer, which enables auto-syncing of the entire archive, or just specific folders if you wish; or you can access the Dropbox site via its online portal. These are adequate, but inelegant solutions to the problem. Enter ExpanDrive. ExpanDrive is a solution so simple and yet so elegant, it is everything you could wish for in this situation. It enables you to map a virtual drive to your operating system, and use that to gain access to your online storage space. In my instance, for example, this means I can map my unlimited online Dropbox Business storage space to my local drive, and simply cut/copy-paste my content up into my cloud storage, completely hassle-free ! The product is available to trial for 7-days for free, and was a complete doddle to set-up, taking less than 2 minutes from download to full-drive access. Now I can have the comfort of knowing I have ready access to all my Cloud-stored data, not just that which I can physically fit onto the device I am using. Thank Heaven for ExpanDrive ! :) Additional considerations • Whilst I have only used this product in conjunction with Dropbox Business, it also works with various other cloud storage solutions including Amazon Web Services (AWS), Google Drive, OneDrive, and SharePoint; • ExpanDrive is compatible with both Windows and Mac OS'; • ExpanDrive does not route your data through any of their own servers, so your connection with your Cloud-stored data remains pristine; • Mapping as a virtual drive means you can access your Cloud content without having to download it locally and work on an offline copy of the data.
Like
Version 6.3.0
YHC
11 December 2018
A Lot of Fake Reviews! GROSS!
Like (3)
Version 6.3.0
1 answer(s)
DavidR2280
DavidR2280
18 February 2019
Just reading other reviews. It seems people get a free license for reviewing this software on social media - hence some of the over the top reviews. Thanks for taking the time to point out fake reviews... it helps others.
Like (3)
Wim Hofman
24 November 2018
I use it on Mac and on Windows.

Pros:
- Easy to install and to use.
- You can see and access all your cloudfiles easily.
- Connection can be made many cloudproviders.
(like: Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Stack, etc)
- Also possible to connect to your own NAS-storage at home.
- Windows and Mac platform are supported.
For the Linux platform a Beta is already available.
- No FULL syncing of your cloudfiles to your local harddisk anymore
(so never an unexpected Full disk which occures during syncing,
and not all your cloudfiles are spreaded on multiple computers)

Cons:
- You need an internet connection to access your cloudfiles.
(because no local copies of the cloudfiles, you cannot work "Offline")
Like
Version 6.3.0
charlie620
06 November 2018
ExpanDrive is awesome! I can access my online files a lot faster, and I love that they automatically mount to my desktop so I always have access to them. I have found myself using ExpanDrive every day, along with using online storage more often too!
Like
Version 6.3.0
pstanna
28 September 2018
This software is great, I can easily mount multiple online drives and transfer files easily amongst them and my computer.
Like
Version 6.1.12
Edeerly
26 September 2018
Fresh install after Mohave upgrade and v. 6.1.12 reports being incompatible, with dialog boxes popping up every five seconds after an attempted connection. Waiting for a new version, I guess., although a blurb on their website would be so useful from the developer.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.12
tylwright
18 July 2018
An almost perfect app! I use it daily to mount different shares/volumes including Hitachi Content Platform namespaces (via WebDAV). As a DevOps Engineer, this saves me quite a bit of time. I wish it had NFS and/or AFP support but maybe that'll come in a future update. Either way, great product!
Like
Version 6.1.12
OutlookIst
17 July 2018
5TB of data which contains 240.000 files, photos and video’s in 3 cloud provider which are Amazon Cloud Drive, Dropbox and Google Drive. Expandrive is the single application to mount as network drive and to work cross-platform for your MacOs and Windows.
Like
Version 6.1.12
max-rao
16 July 2018
This is the only product that reliably works with Google Drive. I have tried competitive products that did not work reliably (failed or paused after several MB upload)
Like
Version 6.1.12
steirx
02 July 2018
I had to quickly set up a Splunk lab to parse CEF logs from a cloud WAF via an AWS S3 bucket. I didn't have enough time to configure and use a more complexe logs collection architecture (ex : AWS Lambda function, Splunk HTTP Event Collector, ...) , so I was very impressed how easy it was to do it with ExpanDrive.
Like
Version 6.1.12
ankush951234
02 July 2018
Hey guys, I used ExpanDrive, the substitute to *nix Platform in terms of ease and portability to work on Servers without switching to *nix. It's really awesome. Must try it if you're a live web developer. This was helpful for me. Hope that helps you too! PS: I'm doing this because their sales team provides a free licence upon sharing this on any social media.
Like
Version 6.1.12
milteknetworking
01 July 2018
I was looking a for a solution to access my Amazon S3 data instead of paying more for iCloud. I did some research and came across ExpanDrive. I downloaded the 7 day trial connected my Amazon S3 account. It seamlessly showed me the contents of my buckets and allowed me to access the data immediately. ExpanDrive allows me to create buckets without logging into my AWS account. I got a new Macbook Pro for my birthday and the SSD drive is 128 GB I had to come up with a solution to store my data in the cloud so that I didn't fill up my hard drive fast. So far ExpanDrive is the solution that I have come up with.
Like
Version 6.1.12
linspb
01 July 2018
Awesome program! All I need!
Like (1)
Version 6.1.12
andy471100
28 June 2018
Well what can I say, this is the best cloud storage I personally have ever come across, and I and tried a few, but nothing ever compares to ExpanDrive, It seamlessly creates a mapped drive on your windows/mac PC and then you can access your cloud storage like you would any other drive. this is a great tool to have, i really do, like it, I can’t express how much, it makes everything so much easier, as now there is no need to login to different area on the internet, just to view or download information from your cloud drive, it’s all in one place, as a mapped drive on the PC, what more could I ask for from this company. It is just amazing and makes downloading and uploading those files a breeze. I really do recommend this product to anymore who is looking for a good solid solution, such as this.
Like
Version 6.1.12
jesse-ramos01
26 June 2018
Expandrive is the solution I've been looking for! Great for remote office applications This solution actually maps a network drive in explorer. Acts just like a network drive. No syncing between computers required. This avoid sync errors. No built in folder configuration. (i.e. cannot omit private folders from file tree) I have remote computers that share documents and database files. Now I can have these computers share these files in the Expandrive. Previous attempts using solutions like OneDrive and Dropbox brought sync errors and multiple file versions randomly. No such issues with ExpanDrive. Works just like a local network folder.
Like
Version 6.1.12
tanaytopac
19 June 2018
If you rely on various cloud services and you're storing many files in those drives, cloud drive services are lifesaver to access all of your files easily, and without killing your free disk space. Having tried various cloud drive alternatives, Expandrive shines with superior stability and support for largest number of services. One thing lacking in the own clients of Dropbox, Google Drive and OneDrive is being able to see non-synced files & folders in Finder/File Explorer. If you have a small storage SSD drive and frequently create/access many files in these cloud services, you well know what I mean. Expandrive provides a great and extremely stable solution for seeing/accessing all your files without any hassle, plus it provides right-click options such as "link sharing" like the original clients.
Like
Version 6.1.12
sgerou2003
28 April 2018
I have to say that, I am testing the ExpanDrive 15 days now, without any problem at all. I have two cloud providers : OneDrive & DropBox. I am developer for SMB and I was seeking for an easy and robust solution-connection to the cloud (any cloud) in order to communicate with my application. Excellent connectivity, without any issue at all. Very usefull. When I asked customer service about an issue that I had, their response was in 5 minutes. Excellent after sales. It's worth it. So far so good. Thanks again.
Like
Version 6.1.12
jennifeysaunkeys
26 April 2018
I love this app! Very useful and convenient.
Like
Version 6.1.12
info-2087
26 April 2018
Esta é realmente uma aplicação essencial para quem usa mais do que um serviço cloud ou tem necessidade de aceder a ficheiros remotos por SSH, FTP ou WebDAV, por exemplo. Nestes casos é completamente obrigatória! Uma aplicação única para gerir todos os serviços cloud.
Trata-se realmente de uma aplicação 5 estrelas que poderá pesar na sua utilização pelo preço da licença que é de 49.95 dólares. No entanto, poderá usar a licença de avaliação para testar e procurar um dos descontos para estudantes ou projectos sem fins lucrativos.
Like
Version 6.1.12
hatran915
18 April 2018
This is a great app. Working like a USB allow to free my HDD storage space.
Like
Version 6.1.12
Andreore
15 March 2018
Outstanding tool to manage WebDAV drives. It integrates seamlessly with macOS and provides a fast and reliable connection to the cloud drives.
Like
Version 6.1.12
dklooney10
14 February 2018
Well, I'd like to try how it works.
Like
Version 6.1.11
czumes2
12 February 2018
Has been great accessing our Sharepoint tenant on Mac, the tools MS offers leave a lot to be desired
Like
Version 6.1.11
robhasslen
10 February 2018
I’ve loved being able to unsync all my cloud data and access it on demand. Multiple accounts on these services is also super useful. Well done.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.11
Biox
09 February 2018
Just tried the 6.1.11 update, as SFTP has been horribly unreliable and corrupted files since v6. Result: 6.1.11 doesn't even pull up a current view of the remote files! All of the files shown are a minimum of months old. I can copy, delete or modify/update them in Terminal using vi, but nothing actually happens on the remote server. In contrast, ForkLift sees the current files and I can edit/update them just fine in BBEdit. ExpanDrive is still a disaster.
Like
Version 6.1.11
1 answer(s)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
10 February 2018
Sorry you’re having such a bad experience, something definitely is amiss. can you ping jmancuso@expandrive.com and I assure you we will fix it.
Like (2)
wanderpelo
26 January 2018
Have been using this since the early days and it has treated me quite well. Nice to offload data to the cloud. Sort of like dropbox Smart Sync for any cloud type.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.9
OhEssex
24 January 2018
I purchased a lifetime license many years ago and so feel obliged to keep on using this, but frankly I've had it with this software. With every version there is always something fatal to my workflow. I'll connect to a remote machine and edit some files I own over there. They start out being editable, but soon issues start cropping up - the editor starts complaining it can no longer do saves, or that the file I'm working on no longer exists (when it definitely does) etc. I'm guessing that some flawed architectural decision for the software was made back in the early days and the author just can't make it work robustly. He is only mildly responsive to issues.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.9
1 answer(s)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
10 February 2018
Can you ping jmancuso@expandrive.com with a few details. We’d like to resolve the underlying issue for you.
Like
The ExpanDrive cloud options consistently work well but In the past I had trouble with Dropbox. That seems to have been cleared up with the 6.1.9 update. I use Dropbox daily and uploads and downloads are now stable and fast. My only complaint is that the icon doesn't show on a dark toolbar - overlooking that seems to be a common and annoying Mac app coding error.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.9
mrmachiatto
12 December 2017
ExpanDrive has served me well for years, great way to edit files on my server within Sublime.
Like (4)
Version 6.1.8
tfriedman1968
06 December 2017
Have loved this for deploying access to Sharepoint on our fleets of Macs, highly configurable and great customer service. We worked with Michael and Jeff to get a customized deployment with everything pre-configured for us.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.7
drothman29
04 December 2017
Bought this app a few weeks ago to access Dropbox as an online drive, has treated me very well. The offline sync feature has been super-useful.
Like (5)
Version 6.1.7
Colin-☕
28 November 2017
Such a disappointment. I bought v6 and paid for "lifetime upgrades" because I had been so impressed with v5, wanted to support the company, and because I had come to totally depend on ExpanDrive for my daily workflow. Almost immediately I had to backgrade to v5 because of inconsistent behaviour. Eventually I moved to High Sierra and was forced on to version 6 which, months later, was still as buggy as ever. It's just never worked (at least not SFTP -- I can't speak to other services). I've reported the ongoing issues and received timely emails, but the bugs persist. The worst part isn't that ExpanDrive errors out when transferring files, it's that it gives no error at all and then pretends the files you're looking at "on the remote server" have been uploaded when they haven't. I thankfully have a Transmit license and am falling back to using that.
Like (6)
Version 6.1.6
3 answer(s)
Bioxy
Bioxy
10 January 2018
Yours sounds similar to my experience with ExpanDrive over SFTP. File permissions silently changed to unreadable for user-group-other; writes failing without notice; etc. The situation is horrible. The first time it happened, I was completely dumbfounded and it took a long time to clean up the damage. Use of ExpanDrive (with Finder and vim) used to be very convenient. .Now I use ForkLift and BBEdit--not as fast/convenient, but reliable!
Like (3)
Colin-☕
Colin-☕
14 January 2018
True of most things, but exceptionally important for tools of this sort: No feature or improvement in speed can take the place of RELIABILITY.
Like (1)
OhEssex
OhEssex
16 January 2018
Yes - I'm having exactly the same issues. I spent ages editing a bunch of files on my mounted linux box only to discover after the fact that nothing at all was edited! Really annoyed - this program should be updated to confirm that operations you do on files actually happen :-/.
Like (1)
Greerjb
11 November 2017
I purchased an earlier version of this software wanting it to work. It never did. I recommend Transmit or Forklift instead.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
DrPfaff
03 August 2017
Unfortunately, this app still has problems when uploading large files. It tends to work for a few gig and then just stop transmitting data. The finder then becomes incredibly non-responsive. For small files it does well, and it is vastly faster than v4 was. But due to the issues with large files I won't be using this product anymore. It's vastly slower, but I'm going to use Transmit 5. It is very reliable.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.14
Sergesouszero
07 July 2017
I bought version 5 last November. Even though there’s a rebate for upgrading from this version, it’s way too soon to pay again for the new one. Sorry, count me out.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.6
3 answer(s)
Roger-Rodrigues
Roger-Rodrigues
08 September 2017
I agree, gouging
Like (2)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
13 September 2017
We have upgrade pricing in our store!
Like
Greerjb
Greerjb
11 November 2017
Agree. This software is too buggy to pay for it twice.
Like (2)