Back to ExpanDrive page
ExpanDrive free download for Mac

ExpanDrive Reviews

7.4.11
14 February 2020

Access cloud storage just like a USB drive.

chasegallarza
08 January 2020

Most helpful

I use ExpanDrive currently for my small business needs, and can't thank them enough for this solution! I was pricing out NAS devices that would have started around $500 and have limited storage space and physical drives that puts the liability on me. I was up and running within minutes, and freeing up storage on my device for both personal and business needs!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.6

Read 263 ExpanDrive User Reviews

Rate this app:

chasegallarza
08 January 2020
I use ExpanDrive currently for my small business needs, and can't thank them enough for this solution! I was pricing out NAS devices that would have started around $500 and have limited storage space and physical drives that puts the liability on me. I was up and running within minutes, and freeing up storage on my device for both personal and business needs!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.6
liningzh
04 January 2020
I think the software is excellent. In my current work, I need a lot to remotely access the cloud storages, or ssh servers. However, it is not convenient to log on the Google Drive, Onedrive. The ExpanDrive is an excellent software, that can help me use the cloud storage, and the remote server as the USB driver. It significantly alleviate my efforts to get the files on the remote servers or cloud storages, e.g., google drive, onedrive, etc. I strongly recommend using the ExpanDrive if you have these demands.
Like
Version 7.4.5
Colin-☕
18 December 2019
It's tragic what's happened to this app. From 5 stars for v5, to something that was unusably buggy (for SFTP -- can't say about other protocols) in v6, to this (v7.4.2) that's crashy and has a rickety UI and far worse UX. I'm not even going to try trusting it with my data; It seems like it's had zero QA testing. I can't understand what is motiving this drive to increasingly worse product.
Like
Version 7.4.2
jacksausagegray
17 December 2019
So far so good. Initial software setup was a little cumbersome with an immediate licensing issue, but online support was quick to fix this for us. Also had issue with linking OneDrive account, but not an issue as the main reason we need this software was to link SharePoint document libraries live on a Mac OS which seems to have worked well.
Like
Version 7.4.2
idevankush
14 December 2019
Here's what I feel about Expandrive: 1. The most responsive team in my experience 2. Intuitive User interface with extreme ease to use 4. Cooler features than I could imagine 3. v7 is way smarter and better in performance(I've had the Trial Version)
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
17 December 2019
And You are not related to the Expandrive team by any mean?
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
ankush951234
13 December 2019
Here's what I feel about Expandrive: 1. The most responsive team in my experience 2. Intuitive User interface with extreme ease to use 4. Cooler features than I could imagine 3. v7 is way smarter and better in performance(I've had the Trial Version)
Like
Version 7.4.1
matthewgkay
12 December 2019
Completely nonfunctional app. Unresponsive support. Save yourself the time and avoid.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
stefrey
27 November 2019
I wish those positive reviews were true. The tool fails miserably on the mac. When I try to copy files to OneDrive, I sometimes get an error message from the Finder, sometimes it thinks it has succeeded, but only a small fraction of the files actually made it to the OneDrive. So - not even the most basic functionality works. Even more problems with NextCloud and with offline items. Hoping for a refund…
Like (2)
Version 7.4.1
3 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
05 December 2019
@stefrey These positive reviews you refer to are all fake. A few examples: jleehardin, nickmortongrant, mathieudulondel all give Expandrive 5 stars, they all had only one visit to MacUpdate, posted only 1 review on the day they registered, so these are all fake reviews. On the basis of these fake reviews and your review indicating that Expandrive fails miserably on the mac, it seems that Expandrive is software to be avoided.
Like (3)
Version 7.4.1
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
05 December 2019
Thank you guys for bringing up this issue! I just went through the reviews for ExpanDrive and removed the comments/reviews posted by throwaway accounts. Thank you for keeping our community clean!
Like (2)
Version 7.4.1
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
13 December 2019
The positive reviews are mostly left by paying customers, which all seem to have been now erased. Viktor - can you please contact jmancuso@expandrive.com
Like
Version 7.4.1
mick-adams
09 September 2019
I downloaded ExpanDrive as I needed to get a simple file/ directory level access to my Amazon S3 bucket. I had used several S3 browsers in the past but on my mac I was looking for something that allowed me to view and manage my S3 data in finder. I downloaded the trial, installed and configured it in minutes and was immediately working with my S3 bucket contents interchangeable with my local file system on my mac with simple drag'n'drop. So for me the application did exactly what I needed it to do in a seamless and easy way.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.6
me-383
08 September 2019
What a piece of crap. The app crashes or hangs. The text cannot be resized so half of it is not visible in the interface. The app consumes a ton of memory and spawns a bunch of processes. Their support is terrible, seems like one guy in his mom's basement (yes the founders are in their late 30s.)
Like (2)
Version 7.2.2
j-brownjohn
25 August 2019
I installed this because I need to use two versions of Google Dive on the same mac. I now avoid using it and have to find a different solution. I faced a number of problems, despite installing the latest version and following the feedback form tech support: 1) Folders are not updated on my macbook. Yes, of course I tried everything! 2) work done on a word document edited on imac is gone. Twice. 3) proliferation of odd extra files with alphabet soup just appear. Tech support said send the log files. I did. A week ago. Silence. I''m not impressed, why are there so many gushing 5* reviews? They all seem to like being able to collaborate. Guess what, other solutions, which work, are available -but with limits if you bend software, like I seem to.
Like
Version 7.2.2
Rob-h
23 July 2019
Sorry but this is one of the bugiest apps I have ever had the misfortune of using! Version after version, bugs remain unfixed whether it's failing to connect or telling you it's constantly updating when it's not. This latest version prompts me to login to OneDrive so I click the button and up pops a window asking me to enter my OneDrive username (email) ... only you can't type anything in because the main OneDrive window continually steals the focus back telling you to login!
Like
Version 7.0.17
cig0
07 January 2019
I can't see ANY SINGLE REASON to buy this incredible expensive app when CloudMounter (from Eltima) does more, like allowing you to encrypt your remote data, a superb feature when storing information on a public cloud -- at HALF THE PRICE..

Moreover: why would I pay this kind of money for an app with limited functionality when I can get A LOT MORE with Finder replacements like ForkLift from Binary Nights or Commander One PRO from Eltima Software?

Buying Expandrive makes no sense at all.
Like (4)
Version 6.3.0
admin-209
30 December 2018
ExpanDrive - a must-have drive mapping solution for Dropbox (and others) Having recently taken the plunge and taken out a Dropbox Business account, after being an avid user of Dropbox (the free version) for many years, but constantly butting against the upper limit of space available. The greatest benefit of moving to an unlimited cloud storage solution is also its greatest weakness, insofar as you have access to a potentially limitless amount of online storage for (in the case of Dropbox Business) a flat fee, but this means you are regularly accessing an archive that is ultimately likely to significantly exceed your ability to store that data locally. The issue, then, becomes how you can access your data in a quick and easy manner. Dropbox itself does not have a solution in place at present to enable you to do this - you can either download the Dropbox application to your computer, which enables auto-syncing of the entire archive, or just specific folders if you wish; or you can access the Dropbox site via its online portal. These are adequate, but inelegant solutions to the problem. Enter ExpanDrive. ExpanDrive is a solution so simple and yet so elegant, it is everything you could wish for in this situation. It enables you to map a virtual drive to your operating system, and use that to gain access to your online storage space. In my instance, for example, this means I can map my unlimited online Dropbox Business storage space to my local drive, and simply cut/copy-paste my content up into my cloud storage, completely hassle-free ! The product is available to trial for 7-days for free, and was a complete doddle to set-up, taking less than 2 minutes from download to full-drive access. Now I can have the comfort of knowing I have ready access to all my Cloud-stored data, not just that which I can physically fit onto the device I am using. Thank Heaven for ExpanDrive ! :) Additional considerations • Whilst I have only used this product in conjunction with Dropbox Business, it also works with various other cloud storage solutions including Amazon Web Services (AWS), Google Drive, OneDrive, and SharePoint; • ExpanDrive is compatible with both Windows and Mac OS'; • ExpanDrive does not route your data through any of their own servers, so your connection with your Cloud-stored data remains pristine; • Mapping as a virtual drive means you can access your Cloud content without having to download it locally and work on an offline copy of the data.
Like
Version 6.3.0
YHC
11 December 2018
A Lot of Fake Reviews! GROSS!
Like (3)
Version 6.3.0
1 answer(s)
DavidR2280
DavidR2280
18 February 2019
Just reading other reviews. It seems people get a free license for reviewing this software on social media - hence some of the over the top reviews. Thanks for taking the time to point out fake reviews... it helps others.
Like (3)
Wim Hofman
24 November 2018
I use it on Mac and on Windows.

Pros:
- Easy to install and to use.
- You can see and access all your cloudfiles easily.
- Connection can be made many cloudproviders.
(like: Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Stack, etc)
- Also possible to connect to your own NAS-storage at home.
- Windows and Mac platform are supported.
For the Linux platform a Beta is already available.
- No FULL syncing of your cloudfiles to your local harddisk anymore
(so never an unexpected Full disk which occures during syncing,
and not all your cloudfiles are spreaded on multiple computers)

Cons:
- You need an internet connection to access your cloudfiles.
(because no local copies of the cloudfiles, you cannot work "Offline")
Like
Version 6.3.0
charlie620
06 November 2018
ExpanDrive is awesome! I can access my online files a lot faster, and I love that they automatically mount to my desktop so I always have access to them. I have found myself using ExpanDrive every day, along with using online storage more often too!
Like
Version 6.3.0
Edeerly
26 September 2018
Fresh install after Mohave upgrade and v. 6.1.12 reports being incompatible, with dialog boxes popping up every five seconds after an attempted connection. Waiting for a new version, I guess., although a blurb on their website would be so useful from the developer.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.12
OutlookIst
17 July 2018
5TB of data which contains 240.000 files, photos and video’s in 3 cloud provider which are Amazon Cloud Drive, Dropbox and Google Drive. Expandrive is the single application to mount as network drive and to work cross-platform for your MacOs and Windows.
Like
Version 6.1.12
max-rao
16 July 2018
This is the only product that reliably works with Google Drive. I have tried competitive products that did not work reliably (failed or paused after several MB upload)
Like
Version 6.1.12
steirx
02 July 2018
I had to quickly set up a Splunk lab to parse CEF logs from a cloud WAF via an AWS S3 bucket. I didn't have enough time to configure and use a more complexe logs collection architecture (ex : AWS Lambda function, Splunk HTTP Event Collector, ...) , so I was very impressed how easy it was to do it with ExpanDrive.
Like
Version 6.1.12
ankush951234
02 July 2018
Hey guys, I used ExpanDrive, the substitute to *nix Platform in terms of ease and portability to work on Servers without switching to *nix. It's really awesome. Must try it if you're a live web developer. This was helpful for me. Hope that helps you too! PS: I'm doing this because their sales team provides a free licence upon sharing this on any social media.
Like
Version 6.1.12
milteknetworking
01 July 2018
I was looking a for a solution to access my Amazon S3 data instead of paying more for iCloud. I did some research and came across ExpanDrive. I downloaded the 7 day trial connected my Amazon S3 account. It seamlessly showed me the contents of my buckets and allowed me to access the data immediately. ExpanDrive allows me to create buckets without logging into my AWS account. I got a new Macbook Pro for my birthday and the SSD drive is 128 GB I had to come up with a solution to store my data in the cloud so that I didn't fill up my hard drive fast. So far ExpanDrive is the solution that I have come up with.
Like
Version 6.1.12
jennifeysaunkeys
26 April 2018
I love this app! Very useful and convenient.
Like
Version 6.1.12
Andreore
15 March 2018
Outstanding tool to manage WebDAV drives. It integrates seamlessly with macOS and provides a fast and reliable connection to the cloud drives.
Like
Version 6.1.12
dklooney10
14 February 2018
Well, I'd like to try how it works.
Like
Version 6.1.11
czumes2
12 February 2018
Has been great accessing our Sharepoint tenant on Mac, the tools MS offers leave a lot to be desired
Like
Version 6.1.11
robhasslen
10 February 2018
I’ve loved being able to unsync all my cloud data and access it on demand. Multiple accounts on these services is also super useful. Well done.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.11
Biox
09 February 2018
Just tried the 6.1.11 update, as SFTP has been horribly unreliable and corrupted files since v6. Result: 6.1.11 doesn't even pull up a current view of the remote files! All of the files shown are a minimum of months old. I can copy, delete or modify/update them in Terminal using vi, but nothing actually happens on the remote server. In contrast, ForkLift sees the current files and I can edit/update them just fine in BBEdit. ExpanDrive is still a disaster.
Like
Version 6.1.11
1 answer(s)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
10 February 2018
Sorry you’re having such a bad experience, something definitely is amiss. can you ping jmancuso@expandrive.com and I assure you we will fix it.
Like (2)
wanderpelo
26 January 2018
Have been using this since the early days and it has treated me quite well. Nice to offload data to the cloud. Sort of like dropbox Smart Sync for any cloud type.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.9
OhEssex
24 January 2018
I purchased a lifetime license many years ago and so feel obliged to keep on using this, but frankly I've had it with this software. With every version there is always something fatal to my workflow. I'll connect to a remote machine and edit some files I own over there. They start out being editable, but soon issues start cropping up - the editor starts complaining it can no longer do saves, or that the file I'm working on no longer exists (when it definitely does) etc. I'm guessing that some flawed architectural decision for the software was made back in the early days and the author just can't make it work robustly. He is only mildly responsive to issues.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.9
1 answer(s)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
10 February 2018
Can you ping jmancuso@expandrive.com with a few details. We’d like to resolve the underlying issue for you.
Like
Colin-☕
28 November 2017
Such a disappointment. I bought v6 and paid for "lifetime upgrades" because I had been so impressed with v5, wanted to support the company, and because I had come to totally depend on ExpanDrive for my daily workflow. Almost immediately I had to backgrade to v5 because of inconsistent behaviour. Eventually I moved to High Sierra and was forced on to version 6 which, months later, was still as buggy as ever. It's just never worked (at least not SFTP -- I can't speak to other services). I've reported the ongoing issues and received timely emails, but the bugs persist. The worst part isn't that ExpanDrive errors out when transferring files, it's that it gives no error at all and then pretends the files you're looking at "on the remote server" have been uploaded when they haven't. I thankfully have a Transmit license and am falling back to using that.
Like (6)
Version 6.1.6
3 answer(s)
Bioxy
Bioxy
10 January 2018
Yours sounds similar to my experience with ExpanDrive over SFTP. File permissions silently changed to unreadable for user-group-other; writes failing without notice; etc. The situation is horrible. The first time it happened, I was completely dumbfounded and it took a long time to clean up the damage. Use of ExpanDrive (with Finder and vim) used to be very convenient. .Now I use ForkLift and BBEdit--not as fast/convenient, but reliable!
Like (3)
Colin-☕
Colin-☕
14 January 2018
True of most things, but exceptionally important for tools of this sort: No feature or improvement in speed can take the place of RELIABILITY.
Like (1)
OhEssex
OhEssex
16 January 2018
Yes - I'm having exactly the same issues. I spent ages editing a bunch of files on my mounted linux box only to discover after the fact that nothing at all was edited! Really annoyed - this program should be updated to confirm that operations you do on files actually happen :-/.
Like (1)
Greerjb
11 November 2017
I purchased an earlier version of this software wanting it to work. It never did. I recommend Transmit or Forklift instead.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
DrPfaff
03 August 2017
Unfortunately, this app still has problems when uploading large files. It tends to work for a few gig and then just stop transmitting data. The finder then becomes incredibly non-responsive. For small files it does well, and it is vastly faster than v4 was. But due to the issues with large files I won't be using this product anymore. It's vastly slower, but I'm going to use Transmit 5. It is very reliable.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.14
Sergesouszero
07 July 2017
I bought version 5 last November. Even though there’s a rebate for upgrading from this version, it’s way too soon to pay again for the new one. Sorry, count me out.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.6
3 answer(s)
Roger-Rodrigues
Roger-Rodrigues
08 September 2017
I agree, gouging
Like (2)
ExpanDrive, Inc.
ExpanDrive, Inc.
13 September 2017
We have upgrade pricing in our store!
Like
Greerjb
Greerjb
11 November 2017
Agree. This software is too buggy to pay for it twice.
Like (2)
PaulDWeiss
22 May 2017
ExpanDrive seems to sort of work with Dropbox, but using it with Box.com is a horror. Box keeps disappearing from the desktop; file copy operation are unusably slow (as in tens of kilobits per second on a 70 Mb/s internet connection); both Finder and PathFinder hang with spinning beach balls during copy operations. I can sometimes see that a copy operation has actually completed by diffing the file and its copy from a terminal, even while the finder program (either one) from which I initiated the copy is still hung. Copy operations silently fail when Box disappears from the desktop — a 300MB file may be truncated to an unparsable and therefore unusable 100MB copy, for instance. I'll have to go back to the clunky web interface provided by the cloud storage provider. Expandrive is not reliable enough to depend on, or is revealing Sierra bugs which it can't work around.
Like (3)
Version 5.4.6
ylluminate
26 April 2017
Still a contender. I'm disappointed by the long time need for a more useful user interface that has some organization capabilities, etc. There have been some cache growing issues and I've been testing this vs Mountain Duck. The jury is still out and I think there's still room for this to come back out on top as it's been around longer than all the other options. A nice niche might be to see it made available as a CLI tool as well and on Linux for server use cases (maybe offering a statically compiled option for s3fs that's well maintained, for example). Hmmm...
Like (2)
Version 5.4.6
evanevans333
06 January 2017
Extremely promising. Even exciting. But after just a few minutes of use, I started noticing the funky behavior. The finder lockups. Files re-appearing after moving them into folders. Then disappearing. I am using a brand new, fresh, MacBook Pro Touchbar laptop with the latest and greatest Sierra. NOTE: I didn't buy the software. I was on trial. But I'm not going to pay $50 for this. Maybe $2 from the App store, as-is. The concept is phenomenal. I wish it delivered on the dream.
Like (4)
Version 5.4.2
delangea
02 December 2016
Extremely disappointing experience. Looked good on paper and worked well initially (for my multiple Dropbox accounts). But it soon stopped working, the log indicated that some files in the queue were stuck. Request for support resulted in a fairly generic, unhelpful response, the request was not even read properly. Further requests (also to Jeff) were totally ignored. I got the app going again, but the update to 5.4.1 broke it definitively and the app will now not even connect to Dropbox. Needless to say, no response from support. AVOID
Like (4)
Version 5.4.2
Big77
24 November 2016
Really clever product supports a lot of protocols. Unfortunately, it doesn't connect to an FTP server I use all the time even though Cyberduck and Yummy have no problem connecting. After creating a test account for support they replied that they don't know why it doesn't work and that was the end of it. I used to like it so much I bought a lifetime upgrade license. Now it sits unused while I use other things which actually work..
Like (3)
Version 5.4.2
Rjmorita
27 October 2016
I tried both ExpanDrive (ED) and CloudMounter (CM) for about a week. Here are my impressions and comments.
* ED "seems" faster than CM. CM is very slow.
* CM cannot show any thumbnails. It can only show generic icons, which could be a huge drawback if you're working with photographs.
* On the other hand, ED is very unstable. The Finder constantly hung and the only way out of it was to reboot. CM is very stable and I did not run into any problems.
(I'm on macOS 10.12.1)
Like (5)
Version 5.4.1
LKN G-Man
24 September 2016
ExpanDrive version 3 worked well for me and I purchased version 4 when it was released. I also purchased the Lifetime update. It quit working almost immediately. Jeff responded once with basic support. I sent him requested info and I have never heard from him since. I have emailed two more times, but it's just a black hole for me now. Recently I bought CloudMounter from the Mac App Store and it works perfectly! Also unlike ExpanDrive, CloudMounter has a well thought out interface. Other than the money I lost with ExpanDrive, CloudMounter has mad me completely happy! Check it out.
Like (8)
Version 5.4.0
2 answer(s)
ososX
ososX
29 September 2016
Thanks for the tip, CloudMounter seems like a good option, it is $20 less than ExpanDrive and the reviews are better.
Like (1)
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
12 February 2018
It seems I owe another review, and happily so. I have tested each version since version 4 broke. Likewise, version 5 was no better for me. Version 6 works! I have made no changes except install the new version of the software. It works as advertised!
Like
jerry-19
22 September 2016
Doesn't work with official Sierra Release. no word on the developer's web site.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.2
john-1234
21 September 2016
Not so reliable
Like (1)
Version 5.3.2
June8
27 August 2016
It locks the Finder. Even Jeff couldn't help.
Like
Version 5.3.2
npjsmpv
27 June 2016
Really enjoying having Amazon Cloud Drive built directly into Finder. Working well with OS X Sierra, too, after a little help from the developer. Great support.
Like
Version 5.3.0
2 answer(s)
transcriptoma
transcriptoma
15 August 2016
What did you have to do to make it functional under Mac OS Sierra?
Like
john-1234
john-1234
21 September 2016
it does not work on the official release....
Like (2)
canofcrap
03 June 2016
App reads drives ok... problem is when trying to upload actual files (didn't even try directories), the app locks up my finder window and crashes. Avoid this software. I bought it back in 2013 and it was the same terrible experience (was hoping someone fixed it).
Like
Version 5.3.0
1 answer(s)
Expandrive
Expandrive
07 June 2016
Can you contact support and let us know some more details? We'd really like to help out. Or email jmancuso@expandrive.com
Like (1)
lapleader
03 June 2016
Broken after 5.3 update.
Like
Version 5.3.0
1 answer(s)
Expandrive
Expandrive
07 June 2016
Can you contact support if you haven't already and let us know what is going wrong?
Like
PicklePie
17 May 2016
Wish I would have stayed away from this app. I thought it looked promising but it just doesn't work, emailed twice with no response, uninstalling for a less stressful life.
Like
Version 5.1.9
3 answer(s)
Expandrive
Expandrive
17 May 2016
can you ping jmancuso@expandrive.com
Like
PicklePie
PicklePie
17 May 2016
Using El Capitan I get "ping: cannot resolve jmancuso@expandrive.com: Unknown host" when placed in ping network address bar
Like
Expandrive
Expandrive
17 May 2016
Sorry, I meant can you email that address
Like
HarrijM
11 May 2016
Cant get it to work. Connect fine. Drop 1 file and OK. Drop 5 files in one time and it hangs totally, so is the rest of the Mac almost. Wish it WOULD work, if it did i'd love it.
Like
Version 5.1.9
1 answer(s)
Expandrive
Expandrive
12 May 2016
If you haven't pinged support - please do, that should work fine, happy to get this going well for you.
Like