Back to MindNode Lite page
MindNode Lite free download for Mac

MindNode Lite Reviews

1.9.3
10 December 2012

Mindmapping application.

Dnem41
06 July 2008

Most helpful

hi everyone. i noticed this app doesnt NEARly get the same amount of downloads as its "competitors". first of all, MindNode (whether intentionally or not), fits users that are more visually-geared. i mean by being able to easily manipulate the visual location, color, and position of a group of nodes with the child nodes, all with little effort and thinking makes this app very appealing to me. there was a lot in that sentence. there are like 2 keyboard shortcuts for you to know, then you can drag and place: a single node, a group of nodes either fellow sibling nodes and/or its child nodes and organize them in a way that makes the most sense for you. im really surprised this app doesn't get infinite downloads a week. but i tried a look at the other apps (like MyMind, MindJet, NovaMind & FreeMind) to see what the reasons might be that they are so much popular. first i notice they are much more text based. i mean that you write an outline, then it shows you a visual representation of a mind map. now you can move around the nodes in the mind map and they pretty just change the order of topics in the outline. now, this is good because it keeps your outline updated. there are set of rules in order to make that happen, so you cant really put the nodes any-gosh-darn-where you freely choose. now i guess that's good because it keeps your outline updated, but what if you don't give a fuck about an outline just yet? you, being a visual thinker, just want to put your ideas somewhere and arrange them visually. after some rearranging you will pretty much have a better idea of which are the main(est) ideas, separated into topics, subtopics, facts and analysis. so in short, this is the best mind mapping software for visually-based thinkers. while the others help you focus on writing the outline/paper while a mind map helps you visualize. obviously no software is perfect, which is why i gave 4 out of 5 stars under value. so developers, please perfect it. sorry to leave you hanging, but i don't feel like getting to much into it right now. im tired.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.1

Read 29 MindNode Lite User Reviews

Rate this app:

Blackmacdaddy
14 August 2012
What an awesome little app to explain basic concepts to my students! The is the perfect foil against some of my text heavy documents. I saw that someone mentioned there's no grid option (which I was also looking for.) However there is a free 131k utility on MacUpdate called GoldenMeanGrid that can help here. Great app for 'non-busy' big picture explanations. Thanks IdeasOnCanvas!
Like
Version 1.9
3 answer(s)
Blackmacdaddy
Blackmacdaddy
14 August 2012
There's also Leopard & Snow Leopard older versions on the developers website, Google will get you there.
Like
Blackmacdaddy
Blackmacdaddy
14 August 2012
Free Ruler 1.7b5 2 is doing a great job for lining things up. You just need to position it outside of your MindNode document's boarders and it's the 'bee knees.'
Like
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
22 December 2012
Thanks for suggesting FreeRuler. It doesn't quite do the trick, but its definitely better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick! My issue is that FreeRuler has not seen development since 2007, but its still a band-aid that has value. The handles in MindNode are not necessarily where you want to measure if you use FreeRuler. FreeRuler doesn't appear to add gridsnap in my quick test. The Pro version of MindNode does not add grid. The biggest thing MindNode brings - is promise of future development & ease of use for simple charts. MindNode does that well without a lot of complication & it imports/exports OPML so you can use it with OmniOutliner (not even OmniGraffle seems to import/export OPML) & you can use it with CircusPonies Notebook.
Like
alexbrown
05 March 2012
Very easy and useful. All my thoughts are under control
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Doug-Engelbart
02 January 2012
MU says "Requirements: PPC/Intel" and "Platform: PPC/Intel", but it downloads an Intel version only!!! Please correct this, MU...
Like
Version 1.7.4
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
02 January 2012
Thanks for the heads up!
Like
Doug-Engelbart
Doug-Engelbart
03 January 2012
There is (!) a PPC/UB version which should be linked here. Please correct this, MU...
Like
Tbrizitsky
16 November 2011
Probably one of the best apps of its kind.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Vinkri
04 November 2011
MindNode is a free mindmapping tool. Elegant, with bright colors and light interface. Easy to use with fast keyboard navigation. It's very good for what it does: write your ideas, organize your thoughts and thoroughly explore the topics you study. It's really a "tool" with a simple goal: it presents your ideas in a nice way, but some features are missing: personalize rtf exported data, for example. It's free, and therefore a very great software: can't beat the price, can you? But Freemind is better for its features. However, its defaults are Mindnode's qualities: stability, speed and look-and-feel. Free-Node would be great, then!
Like
Version 1.7.4
Joeshmoe200us
05 May 2011
Freemind is a lot more advanced and also free. Yet a slight bit more of a learning curve then MindPro. However, MindPro has a simpler user interface, a good and quick way to get into mindmaping. Once your'e ready to move on to more advanced features, I would upgrade to Freemind to get all the bells and whistles, not the paid MindPro program.
Like
Version 1.6.3
Barisart
23 February 2011
This piece of software lets you organize your thoughts very quickly. Its user interface is very elegant and easy to use. If you work on small projects and you don't have to think about really complex problems MindNode is perfect. Sometimes you wish you could add some notes or links to your nodes but I guess you then have to use a more complex program or buy MindNode Pro.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Cocoanut
07 February 2011
Very nice app. Thanks for making it free.
Like
Version 1.6.1
NateuMacs
14 December 2010
I Love MindNode. Would like to have just a bit more functions like some form of alignment or a grid to work on. Also connecting multiple nodes back to 1. In some cases this would be very helpful. But overall great app!
Like
Version 1.6
Filp
10 December 2010
If you need a hundred dollars worth of program, maybe you need Omnigraffle. But if what you want is, as the man says, "elegant" mind mapping, you can't do much better than this. And dev has been very responsive to problems.
Like
Version 1.6
Ang
27 May 2010
This software is great ! Just like Freemind or others, but mac GUI is beautifull here. Very light, its open in 3 seconds. The very best and rare feature is the multi parents nodes. Freemind centralize each map with ONE parent node where mindnode is able to add thousand of parents node. The needs : - actually if you put the background color in dark, the URL colors are not modifiable ; - with a very big map, the best would be a shortcut to easily drag the map (curio and others use "SPACE+left click"); - full screen is not compatible with mac os spaces.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
4 answer(s)
markus-17
markus-17
28 May 2010
Thank you for your review: - Links: I'm aware of this issue and it will be fixed in a future release. - Drag Canvas: I removed this feature in MindNode Pro 1.5 as it was colliding with QuickLook support and as it's not a very mac-like behavior. - Spaces: I'm not aware of any bugs with Spaces. Could you please provide more information. Thank you, Markus
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Ang
Ang
28 May 2010
Glad to read you. - Drag Canvas: many software use this function : Curio ; all Adobe products ; omnigraffle... The idea is to have a big canvas easily dragable... Without this function, the behaviour is more "internet explorer-like" :) with vertical and horizontal scrollbar... I think it would be best to leave the choice of shortcut in prefs. So by default, the canvas would not dragable. I have just tested the quicklook function... It's a good idea, but when i choose an item, this message is displayed "no items selected". - Spaces : When in full screen, if i change to antoher space, when I return to the space with MindNode, i loose the full screen... maybe it's because i use "Warp" ? Thanks for your answer and congratulations for your work.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
markus-17
markus-17
28 May 2010
-Drag Canvas: To my knowledge no Apple application has this functionality and I think it's a lot easier to navigate a canvas using a multi-scrolling mouse (magic mouse, mighty mouse) or a trackpad. If you really want to have the old behavior back and are comfortable with using the command line, drop me an email. - QuickLook: Only works when you use it with a linked file. - Spaces: I copied this behavior from Pages. When the application losses focus it exits fullscreen mode. Starting with 1.5.1 using fullscreen mode on a secondary monitor behaves a bit different. Markus
Like
Version 1.5.1
Px9-855
Px9-855
23 October 2010
Thank you MARKUS for making the space behavior optional in preferences. I second ANG's spacebar wish. As an avid Illustrator-user I'm also used to being able to pan by holding down space and left-clicking. If not the spacebar for panning, then the reflexes turn to middle-click and using the wheel to zoom, i.e. AutoCAD-style operation. Both are industrial standards (as in real professional - 'pro') for panning and navigating large digital surfaces although we all know by now Apple's attention to the professional is... lacking. The Magic Mouse is ergonomically horrible for prolonged use and I've yet to SEE another illustrator, cad-worker etc. that use a trackpad exclusively to draw/operate. A mouse is still faster. Consumer navigation is another matter altogether and in that regard I like the trackpad too. Again, thank you for maintaining the streamlined pro' workflow (and in making it OPTIONABLE). MindNode is a great application.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Utrunn
15 May 2010
Works well and is simple. FreeMind always would hang whenever I tried to launch it but I've had no probs with MindNode.
Like
Version 1.5
Maced
14 January 2010
simply the best and slickest mindmapping app out there. i really hated mindmaps until i saw (and started using) mindnode. well done!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.4
No-One
23 December 2009
This app is brilliant. Enough said.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Tekl
11 May 2009
I really like MindNode. I tried the Pro version but I'm missing some advanced Features. - A special node which contains a title and some descriptive content, the title should have different text and background colours - Curve adjustments like on the connections lines, - Decision, if the branch is left or right from the text (try to move a right aligned branch to the left - Style templates or at least a styles palette - The ability to paste graphics - Free movable objects (texts , boxes, circles? - More shape for filled nodes I think most features can be implemented without loosing the easy of use. Or can someone recommend an easy to use Mind Mapper with more advanced layout features? I tried NovaMind, where just moving nodes is complicated and OmniGraffle which is to powerful and complex.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
07 October 2009
I am a fan of ConceptDraw MindMap. And don't let comments scare you, the app has been vastly improved over the last major releases.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Danemcgregor
10 March 2009
Sweet and simple, like the developer said. Yes, XMind is more complex, but-- it's more complex :-). With MindNode, my kid could sit down, and with less than two minutes instruction from me she was creating mind maps for her class. Try THAT in Xmind. I also find it great for super-quick brainstorming where I don't want to get hung up on fiddling with the details (font, box shape, color, etc)-- having ADHLAH* makes this an all too common problem for me with XMind. Great app, thanks for the free version. *ADHLAH: Attention Defici- Hey Look! A Hummingbird!
Like (3)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
10 December 2009
ADLAH! That's funny :)
Like
Version 1.4.4
ehd
17 February 2009
XMIND is a MUCH more powerful and free alternative. The only reason I can think to use this elegant application is if you need Cocoa or Cocoa-based Services.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
markus-17
markus-17
19 February 2009
I won't argue that XMind offers much more features than MindNode, but adding every possible feature to the application was not my design goal. I wanted to create a nativ and easy to use application that allows to quickly create mind maps and I think for this use the application works great. Markus
Like (5)
Version 1.3
Dnem41
06 July 2008
hi everyone. i noticed this app doesnt NEARly get the same amount of downloads as its "competitors". first of all, MindNode (whether intentionally or not), fits users that are more visually-geared. i mean by being able to easily manipulate the visual location, color, and position of a group of nodes with the child nodes, all with little effort and thinking makes this app very appealing to me. there was a lot in that sentence. there are like 2 keyboard shortcuts for you to know, then you can drag and place: a single node, a group of nodes either fellow sibling nodes and/or its child nodes and organize them in a way that makes the most sense for you. im really surprised this app doesn't get infinite downloads a week. but i tried a look at the other apps (like MyMind, MindJet, NovaMind & FreeMind) to see what the reasons might be that they are so much popular. first i notice they are much more text based. i mean that you write an outline, then it shows you a visual representation of a mind map. now you can move around the nodes in the mind map and they pretty just change the order of topics in the outline. now, this is good because it keeps your outline updated. there are set of rules in order to make that happen, so you cant really put the nodes any-gosh-darn-where you freely choose. now i guess that's good because it keeps your outline updated, but what if you don't give a fuck about an outline just yet? you, being a visual thinker, just want to put your ideas somewhere and arrange them visually. after some rearranging you will pretty much have a better idea of which are the main(est) ideas, separated into topics, subtopics, facts and analysis. so in short, this is the best mind mapping software for visually-based thinkers. while the others help you focus on writing the outline/paper while a mind map helps you visualize. obviously no software is perfect, which is why i gave 4 out of 5 stars under value. so developers, please perfect it. sorry to leave you hanging, but i don't feel like getting to much into it right now. im tired.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
markus-17
markus-17
06 July 2008
Thank you for your very nice review of my application. I would be very interested in hearing your thoughts on how to improve MindNode. Please contact me via markus >AT< mindnode (.) com Thank you!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Dumond
12 May 2008
This looks like a neat little app; however, it lacks the cool features and control you'll find in the free mind-map application MyMind. (Unfortunately only PPC)
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Xplicit
18 April 2008
Am I wrong or is it not possible to insert a node between two existing nodes?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
markus-17
markus-17
22 April 2008
I'm sorry for taking so long to get back to you. Sadly this is currently not very easy to accomplish. You can use cut and paste to achieve this, but this is not a very ideal solution. I'm aware of this issue and I'm working on improving it.
Like
Version 1.0.1
gcoghill
11 April 2008
I've only just demoed this a short while, but it works really fluidly and seems to be a perfect little application for mind-mapping (which admittedly I don't know much about). This seems like it will come in handy.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
leslieh18
21 March 2008
I'm so glad to see a new Leopard version of this applic. I tried MindNode a few months ago but decided to uninstall it after a few system freezes. I hope this version has solved those glitches because the interface is lovely and, as another commenter says, "MindNode makes mind-mapping fun." Best wishes to the developer for continued success with this application. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Dalahast
09 March 2008
Very fun, very easy to use. This makes mapping an enjoyable activity, something you might do for the fun of it. In fact, I have done some maps with this for the fun of it. MindNode is something you want to take out every day and make something interesting with it. Organise thoughts, collect information- MindNode does it all in a convenient, sleek package that captures the essence of the Mac- extra little bits and pieces that you don't need aren't present, and the user interface is intuitive, simple, and powerful. Very nicely done, fives all around for a pwnage app.
Like
Version 0.9.16
n4nln
08 March 2008
The app is nice, but if you care about cross-platform use, FreeMind is a Java app which lets me move maps back and forth between Mac and Windoze boxes. in fact, i have a USB drive with the app and the maps. FreeMind has more features, but it's not materially more complex.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.16
1 answer(s)
mswfujowdffyc
mswfujowdffyc
08 March 2008
as i see it you have the option to export the mindmap to oplm. so it should be fairly easy to share. maybe the developer has an open eary for supporting other export-formats? regards
Like (1)
Version 0.9.16
Madmaxmedia
28 February 2008
The best of the freeware mindmapping apps IMO, covers the basics very well. The author is responsive to emails and suggestions, and I look forward to seeing how this app develops. There are a few $100+ full-featured mindmapping apps that are very feature-rich, but I just want something that does the basics very well at a freeware/shareware price.
Like
Version 0.9.15
Fishnchips
26 February 2008
What an excellent bit of software. Sure it's not exactly feature rich but it's simple and lightweight and does exactly what I need it to do - basic mind mapping. I'll be following this with interest as it continues to develop.
Like
Version 0.9.15
Musubana
18 February 2008
(Here I go again…) Is there any technical reason this app is Leopard-only? I mean, it looks simple and cocoa-esque, so why this limitation? If it has anything to do with Spaces, or Leopard Preview, or TimeMachine - is there a file or a line in the pref file I can delete to make it work in Tiger? Sorry for this double rant, but I think it would be crazy to buy Leopard just to get a free mind mapping app…
Like
Version 0.9.14
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
18 February 2008
Here's a free mindmapper app: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19325/freemind there may be others as well, not sure... do a search?
Like
Version 0.9.14
Musubana
Musubana
18 February 2008
Thank you. But that one’s java... Almost easier to draw it by hand... :-/
Like
Version 0.9.14
markus-17
markus-17
19 February 2008
Dear Musubana, I can understand where you anger is coming from. Tiger is a very solid operating system and I realize that not everybody wants to upgrade to Leopard. I originally started developing MindNode as a little application for myself to learn Objective C 2.0 and play around with Core Animation. But the project grew and I saw that my approach to mindmapping was something also other people enjoyed. I thought a lot about making the application work on Tiger, but removing all the ObjC 2.0 code and making the application work in non-garbage-collected mode would have required a lot of time and I preferred to spend this time tweaking the application. I think the Screenshots don't show the real strength of the application: the interaction and the process of creating a mind map with it. This is really were it shines and achieving the same level of polish would have required considerable more time on Leopard. My answer is probably not what you wanted to hear, but please feel free to drop me an email or contact me on iChat/Skype (The nicks are available on my website). Kind regards, Markus
Like
Version 0.9.14
Musubana
Musubana
19 February 2008
Thank you for your kind reply. I’m not really angry! :-) I realize it is only a question of time till every developer will do like you. Till then I will happily continue using Tiger, and unhappily have to live without your most interesting application. If I knew more about programming, I would remove the superfluous code and make a Tiger version for my own use. I see that the differences between Tiger and Leopard are more complex than I thought. (Not just superficial things like Spaces and a transparent menu bar.)
Like
Version 0.9.14
markus-17
markus-17
19 February 2008
I think you will be fine using Tiger till Apple ships 10.6. Apple always tries to target the previous and the current releases of its operating system for its major consumer applications. Other developers normally try to do the same. Leopard really changed a lot for developers. ObjC 2.0, Garbage Collection, Core Animation, many new default user interface elements, a set of standard icons are only a few things that make life as a developer a lot easier. Especially as a small developer it's really hard to resists. I understand that by focusing on Leopard I decrease my target audience by quite a bit, but on the other side it helps me to be more productive and focus on improving my "product".
Like
Version 0.9.14
Pdwal
18 February 2008
A very elegant little app, and already quite useful for simple mind mapping and for making quick lists. If I could add notes to the nodes in a side or bottom or floating panel I could get some serious work done with this. I will certainly follow the development of what might be a gem.
Like
Version 0.9.14
Musubana
18 February 2008
Please make this app available for Tiger users… There are a lot of us still!
Like
Version 0.9.14