Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to TimeMachineEditor page
TimeMachineEditor free download for Mac

TimeMachineEditor Reviews5.1.9

11 May 2021

Change the one-hour interval of Time Machine backups.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dperin572
dperin572
May 9 2021
5.1.8
0.0
May 9 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1.8
Perfect for what I need! I have a 2012 MacBook Pro that I've upgraded to max Ram and a nice 2TB solid state drive. It still flies, and in this day of iOS devices, it gets used, but not as often as several years back. In 2021, the OS must now stay where it is, which will be useful for years to come. But it does NOT need to clog my external drives with backups over and over. If you've ever used the preferred method of deleting backups by entering Time Machine, you know it can be slow and ponderous. Rather than worry about keeping on top of that process, I'd just as soon have the backup process run less often. Now, instead of several times a day, I have TimeMachineEditor schedule the built-in Mac backup once a week. Most of the time, I still won't have changed much on the HD, if anything at all, as it is. I've been using this app for a few months now, and never had a single problem. It's amazingly easy and uncomplicated ... just make sure you disable Automatic Backups in Time Machine Preferences. Fear not- the backups are still done by Time Machine as always. They just happen at the schedule that YOU pick. TimeMachineEditor is a godsend, IMHO.
claudeandre
claudeandre
Apr 12 2021
5.1.8
5.0
Apr 12 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
It is simple and it works.
oonkhenk
oonkhenk
Jan 18 2021
5.1.8
5.0
Jan 18 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
A great and stable app !!
Gog4
Gog4
Jan 12 2021
5.1.7
3.0
Jan 12 2021
3.0
Version: 5.1.7
Is there a way it could mount and unmount the volume?
KellyK4882
KellyK4882
Jul 28 2020
5.1.4
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.4
Stable and reliable.
idbforward
idbforward
Jul 28 2020
5.1.4
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.4
Works great, very happy, does exactly as advertised and is 100% reliable.
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Jul 2 2020
5.1.2
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.2
You Mac users who gave this developer & his work 1 Star, need to check yourselves. You are lame, selfish, undisciplined children, who strut this world with an air of entitlement, believing every-single-person-and product made on this Planet, must conform to your exact standards & criteria. Or brother –– watch out. First off, this is a FREE application, geniuses… Secondly, I’ve used TimeMachineEditor since its inception, without a single problem, whatsoever. You sit back & nit-pick about things the developer has nothing to do with: (Example—▶︎) “I want this to work, but my Time Machine backup is stuck on "Preparing backup.” For this he gave the app 2 ★★. Let me say what I’ve said before in this review section years before: This is a flawless application, which does, every time, what it says it will do for you & your Mac. Period. I’m a Mac diagnostic technician who charges $175 an hour to come to your house to fix your Mac’s Hardware/Software issues. Stop reviewing if you don’t know how to use your Mac and/or the Program! It works –– some of you don’t. I’m indebted to this developer and I’m donating today, because I looked in my Software Folder and found no PayPal receipt. I was ashamed because I just assumed I had donated, as I most often do for programs I use daily, and cannot imagine being without. Knock it off with the 1 & 2 ★★ reviews.
suescanlan
suescanlan
Jan 21 2020
5.0.8
4.0
Jan 21 2020
4.0
Version: 5.0.8
Please help. I downloaded this several days ago because I was fed up with automatic back up slowing everything down. It tells me that I have installed it as per my back up instructions but I can see nowhere to show it is backing up. I need to know it is backing up. The dialogue box for the Time Machine itself just says last back up was before I installed the software. I am getting anxious now.
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Apr 10 2019
5.0.5
5.0
Apr 10 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
For many years a great, reliable help. Thank you!
jeremydscott02
jeremydscott02
Mar 21 2019
5.0.4
2.5
Mar 21 2019
2.5
Version: 5.0.4
I want this to work, but my Time Machine backup is stuck on "Preparing backup"
Raven-
Raven-
Feb 5 2019
5.0.4
5.0
Feb 5 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
Works!
spamlessuser
spamlessuser
Nov 8 2018
5.0.4
1.0
Nov 8 2018
1.0
Version: 5.0.4
Downloaded (highly rate?!) TimeMachineEditor.app on my iMac in order to perform a 1x daily backup (instead of hourly, which can't be changed) with MacOS High Sierra. Did it to salvage an old backup drive which eventually ended up unsalvagable, so I bought a bigger new backup drive and deleted the app as space is no longer an issue... NIGHTMARE!! I have deleted the TimeMachineEditor.app (using uninstaller on "CleanMyMac 3"), emptied the trash, restarted (several times) and STILL I get this time machine error: "The default one-hour scheduler of Time Machine has been disabled since you are using TimeMachineEditor instead. You can disable TimeMachineEditor from its application if you do not wish to use it anymore..." Only thing I haven't done is remove its preferences is the following recommendation as I cannot find the hidden TImeMachineEditor files!? I'm tempted to throw all of these folders out as I think they probably, replace themselves and might solve the problem. HELP!? Anyone have the same problem or have a fix?? Search for the items with the name of TimeMachineEditor 4.2.1 in the following locations: /Library /Library/Caches /Library/Preferences /Library/Application Support /Library/LaunchAgents /Library/LaunchDaemons /Library/PreferencePanes /Library/StartupItems
stephen-69
stephen-69
Jun 6 2018
5.0.3
1.0
Jun 6 2018
1.0
Version: 5.0.3
So, I installed this app because the time machine quit working on my mac that I had macOS server. Once installed and backup intervals set, I received a notification from Server that Volume 36A09335-1A67-4B37-9D77-1983D53024C9 not responding. This can't be good. If the time machine editor affects any volume on your server this is not a good sign.
RRbob
RRbob
Aug 30 2017
5.0.1
5.0
Aug 30 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Yes, my update kept quitting and a new install did the same. However, an email to the developer resulted in a very quick reply, and a link to a version that works as expected. I am very impressed with the service and have always liked the app as it does what it says and is updated on a regular basis.
adezigns
adezigns
Aug 25 2017
4.5.8
0.0
Aug 25 2017
0.0
Version: 4.5.8
I downloaded this as an Update. My old TimeMachine Editor worked fine. But what used to work, no longer works. Every time I try to open, all I get is a "TimeMachineEditor Quit Unexpectedly" notice (and "reopen" has the same results). What happened??? Any ideas on how to resolve? I'm running Sierra.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Mar 6 2017
4.5.7
5.0
Mar 6 2017
5.0
Version: 4.5.7
Yeah, love it for giving me control over how TimeMachine works. Apple should've built such functionality into their app, of course, but well, that's Apple for you.
RavenManiac
RavenManiac
Feb 21 2017
4.5.5
0.0
Feb 21 2017
0.0
Version: 4.5.5
Will this wake up a Mac running Sierra to perform a scheduled backup?
sheik-yerbouti-1
sheik-yerbouti-1
Jan 15 2017
4.5.4
5.0
Jan 15 2017
5.0
Version: 4.5.4
What a wonderful little app. I've been struggling for years using Terminal to adjust the backup timing but never could get it quite right. This app give me exactly what I want and more!
Lightning
Lightning
Sep 27 2016
4.5.2
5.0
Sep 27 2016
5.0
Version: 4.5.2
I love it. It makes Time Machine useful and not disruptive.
june8
june8
Sep 16 2016
4.5.1
5.0
Sep 16 2016
5.0
Version: 4.5.1
What a useful application. Many thanks to author.
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
Sep 8 2016
4.5.1
5.0
Sep 8 2016
5.0
Version: 4.5.1
Great little app that does exactly what its supposed to do!
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Aug 8 2016
4.5
5.0
Aug 8 2016
5.0
Version: 4.5
Works fine! I use it, to make Backups just once at night in the sleeping mode of my Macbook Pro (SSD). Thanks.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Mar 8 2016
4.4
5.0
Mar 8 2016
5.0
Version: 4.4
This app continues to work well and the developer keeps it up to date. I always update from within the app to avoid any add ons which some sites attach. This app is much better than one I paid for some time ago in the Apple Store which does not play well with El Capitan and is not being actively updated.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Jan 10 2016
4.3.2
5.0
Jan 10 2016
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
I'm glad to see that this app is actively being updated. I have been using it for a long time and it just works and works well. And it's free. There was a similar app I paid for and it turned out to be a waste of money. Did not work as well as TimeMachine Editor.
yogawithdonna
yogawithdonna
Dec 16 2015
4.3
3.0
Dec 16 2015
3.0
Version: 4.3
I have Time Machine and Time Machine Editor. I keep getting a message saying I have to turn one of them off. I don't know which one to turn off. Why would I need to?
Low-Flyer
Low-Flyer
Dec 3 2015
4.3
5.0
Dec 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.3
Have been using this app for some time and have not encountered any problems. Makes life easier for the user who doesn't need hourly Time Machine backups. Many thanks to the developer for this most usefull app.
Panocha
Panocha
Nov 29 2015
4.2.1
0.5
Nov 29 2015
0.5
Version: 4.2.1
Doesn't work at all. I have it set to only go when inactive, yet it constantly goes off when the computer is busy, rendering this application completely worthless. I hope they can fix it. I will be active playing World of Warcraft, which is quite resource intensive, and it will start lagging and slowing to a crawl, sure enough, I tab over to the Finder, and Time Machine is in the middle of a backup. I have to select "skip" from the menu bar, then I can return to my game, and the computer is responsive again. So, this application doesn't do it's entire purpose for existing.
Mcfitz
Mcfitz
Feb 15 2015
4.1
5.0
Feb 15 2015
5.0
Version: 4.1
Does one job and does it perfectly. I've used it for quite a while and haven't had a single issue. It's simple to turn off if you need the normal schedule for Time Machine, too. I agree with those who wonder why Apple hasn't added this to OS X.
Guest
Guest
Jul 23 2014
4.0.1
0.0
Jul 23 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
very simple and easy and make what i want from it
Steeps-Patrick
Steeps-Patrick
Jul 11 2014
4.0.1
5.0
Jul 11 2014
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Awesome! Must have for every TimeMachine user.
Guest
Guest
Jul 11 2014
4.0.1
0.0
Jul 11 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
This is awesome ! Really, why didn't Apple include this by default? When you use Timemachine this is a MUST have.
Paulg6
Paulg6
May 23 2014
4.0
5.0
May 23 2014
5.0
Version: 4.0
Fantastic app, should be written into OS X. I can't believe it's free. A very big Thank You to those involved in it's creation.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 3 2013
3.0.3
3.0
Nov 3 2013
3.0
Version: 3.0.3
Well, it's a great app if you don't have external disks connected when it starts backing-up... Every time this happens, it cancels all my back-ups trying to make space for backing-up everything — I suppose, as it displays an "insufficient space" message asking for 60Gb more when I've only selected my Home folder in TC's prefs... I've also put my external disks in TC's exclude list but it doesn't seem to take it in account! Note that, being on 10.6.8, I'm reviewing version 2.5.3, perhaps this behaviour has been cured in some recent version but I can't tell.
kaspersoerensen
kaspersoerensen
Jun 13 2013
3.0.3
3.0
Jun 13 2013
3.0
Version: 3.0.3
Well. It works fine, as long as you are on the network with your TC or have your external HDD connected. Other then that, you will get an error dialog, telling you that your TM is not connected. That's very annoying!
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
May 22 2013
3.0.3
5.0
May 22 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0.3
I've been using this for a number of years without any problems. The application is functional, easy to understand, no bells, no whistles. It's stable, it's free. It's a shame the geniuses at Apple have yet to figure out how to include this (very important) functionality. Too busy counting their money I guess.
Tozzo
Tozzo
Dec 24 2012
3.0.2
0.0
Dec 24 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
Has anyone else experienced where this app will perform the scheduled backup, and then like 20 minutes later perform the same backup? I have it set for once per day, and sometimes it will do it twice for some reason....
Stormchild
Stormchild
Nov 11 2012
3.0.1
5.0
Nov 11 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Fantastic app. Great implementation. No system files or settings are modified; instead, it starts Time Machine backups manually whenever you want, with rules that are simple but flexible. It doesn't even have a background "helper" process; it just adds a file to /Library/LaunchDaemons that trigger the backups (the right way to do it). My new MacBook Air (mid 2012) is the first Mac I've ever had that can actually back up hourly without noticeably slowing down; for all my older machines, this is an essential tool for maintaining optimal performance.
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Sep 24 2012
3.0
5.0
Sep 24 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0
Thank you very much for updating! TimeMachineEditor is such a big help for the use of Time Machine. Can't live without it!
Sw-tester
Sw-tester
Aug 2 2012
2.5.3
1.0
Aug 2 2012
1.0
Version: 2.5.3
After activating this software I forgot about it. Then I started gettting dialogs that the backup was not available when the drive was not connected. Searching for the solution to the problem I found suggestions to repair the drive or sparsebundle. After trying many things I tried one method that damaged my backup. So I turned off time machine, but kept getting the dialog. Finally figured out it was TimeMachineEditor. Their scheduler does not look to see if the drive is on or if time machine is on like TIme Machines built in scheduler does, it just keeps trying to backup. Thanks for wasting my time!
Kzx72
Kzx72
Jun 10 2012
2.5.3
0.0
Jun 10 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
A nice feature would be to be able to do a time machine backup upon logging into OS X. Have TME run in the background and perform an automatic backup immediately upon starting up the OS. This would prevent missed calendar interval backups if the computer isn't turned on at the scheduled backup hour.
Islandmacman
Islandmacman
Feb 15 2012
2.5.3
5.0
Feb 15 2012
5.0
Version: 2.5.3
A great application to have - easy and neat way to manually configure your backups. AWESOME!
nrota
nrota
Oct 26 2011
2.5.3
2.5
Oct 26 2011
2.5
Version: 2.5.3
I downloaded time machine editor and set it up but I can't find the app. It isn't in Applications or Utilities only in the dmg file. How do I open it after ejecting the dmg file?
Johnnyr
Johnnyr
Oct 21 2011
2.5.3
2.0
Oct 21 2011
2.0
Version: 2.5.3
I can't seem to get this to work at all. I want my Time Machine to make a backup every 4th hour, but Time Machine still create a backup every 30-60 min. I have tried different settings and intervals but Time Machine just ignores it.
Ycnan
Ycnan
Oct 22 2010
2.5.3
0.0
Oct 22 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
I simply can't get it to work. Time Machine is already off, but the program keeps asking me to turn it off. Won't hold changes, because it keeps bugging me with the same "please turn off Time Machine".
Pimster
Pimster
Sep 28 2010
2.5.3
0.0
Sep 28 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
I just downloaded time machine editor. Haven't tested it yet, but if it works it will be a godsend. For the past 18 months Time Machine has been killing me every 30-60 minutes, especially when I use Aperture. If it doesn't work, I will post again, but if it does you have one grateful fan. I love my Macs, but why is it Apple has these blind spots about some of their products?
Francwalter
Francwalter
Sep 16 2010
2.5.3
0.0
Sep 16 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
Not working with me. OSX 10.6.4. When clicking "Enable" or switching the switch to "On", each time i get a MessageBox to switch off Time Machine, though it is already off. The Backup is just not starting, when i put the scheduler on a time and this time is reached. I didn't wait much, but after it didn't work like it should do, i deleted it.
mapski99
mapski99
Feb 10 2010
2.5.3
0.0
Feb 10 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
TME schedule not sticking in 10.6.2. Two completely different systems are backing up at odd hours, not even close to the set schedule. Could be related to the drive mounting.
Philippe-Mac
Philippe-Mac
Dec 14 2009
2.5.2
0.0
Dec 14 2009
0.0
Version: 2.5.2
Thank you for the simple but useful tool
Carlos-Sz
Carlos-Sz
Nov 8 2009
2.5
0.0
Nov 8 2009
0.0
Version: 2.5
Nice concept and implementation. Is it possible to add a confirmation before starting a backup? Like a message box asking whether you want or not to start a time machine backup. Sometimes I do not want to be interrupted at all. In addition, I would also like to see a list of applications that would prevent a backup from starting, e.g. if Parallels is running the backup would not start at all.
Enduserguy
Enduserguy
Oct 8 2009
2.5
5.0
Oct 8 2009
5.0
Version: 2.5
As a former Unix/SunOS/Solaris System Admin, I am addicted to backups. Unix is the power behind the MacOS X systems, and although very stable, people still manage to damage and otherwise destroy files. Backups of your stuff, as George Carlin would call it (RIP), is more important than you know until you destroy something yourself. With that in mind, I'm always looking for backup options. Since the release of Leopard, Time Machine is the answer for the every-day, average user of Macs. However, Apple has a BAD habit of making too many decisions in your behalf. Time Machine lacks flexibility in backup scheduling. It's once per hour, manual (hidden in the Menu Bar menu) or nothing at all. Enter TimeMachineEditor. TimeMachineEditor gives you the options the Time Machine should have had in the first place. Hey, this is free, trying to make life a smoother sail for you. You can always turn it off, but all Time Machine users should give this a try. *I am in no way connected to anything directly or indirectly associated with TimeMachineEditor. I'm only a very satisfied user a=of a great little utility. I also use iDrive and CCC. I sleep very well.