Back to Silverlight page
Silverlight free download for Mac

Silverlight Reviews

5.1.50901.0
12 October 2016

Cross-platform plug-in delivers interactive applications for the Web.

anonymous-squirrel-4040
23 September 2010

Most helpful

Clean, elegant multi-use plugin. Microsoft got it right here. They're really no more the Evil Empire than any other scarcity-based, fear-mongering capitalist outfit, i.e., all U.S. businesses, including Apple. This is superior to Flash in every way
Like (9)
Version 4.0.50826.0

Read 75 Silverlight User Reviews

Rate this app:

brunette34655
27 December 2016
THANK YOU REVIEWERS. Silverlight and this site is unnecessary and confusing how it brings you to this malware.
Like
Version 5.1.50901.0
RougeCheese12
16 January 2016
The beauty of Silverlight and why you should have uninstalled this crappy software years ago: https://securelist.com/blog/research/73255/the-mysterious-case-of-cve-2016-0034-the-hunt-for-a-microsoft-silverlight-0-day/
Like (2)
Version 5.1.41212.0
2 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
10 October 2016
A lot of services require that you use this software to run things such as Netflix.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
13 October 2016
Any service that requires Silverlight at this time is:
A) Not paying attention to the fact that Microsoft themselves has declared Silverlight at EOL: End of Life.
B) Required to move to OTHER technology immediately.
C) Endangering their customers.

If you're stuck using a service using EOL Silverlight, TELL THEM IT IS *DEAD* and to stop using it NOW. Have them to go Microsoft's site NOW to verify that Silverlight must no longer be used anywhere for any reason as per Microsoft's dictum.
Like
Derekcurrie
08 January 2016
Microsoft themselves recommend that people NOT use Silverlight. They're going to discontinue it in time. Therefore, if you have it installed, ask yourself whether you actually need and want it. If not, then UNinstall it and save yourself from the potential security risks of having it installed.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.41105.0
Sanchai
07 January 2016
Oh again. Installer ofvMicrosoft Silverlight downloaded from Macupdate contains malware that Virusbarrier block and alert. Why Macupdate decide to do all this inclusion of adware IR malware in the installer without notice to user?ni am a paid subscriber to Macupdate, and even I have set to block ad from Macupdate profile, the malware skill sneak in without notice I have to be very careful now with download from Macupdate. After all trust is hard to build but easybtondestroy. Think about this Macupdate!
Like (1)
Version 5.1.41105.0
Panocha
15 August 2015
Thank god I got rid of Netflix and don't need this crap anymore.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.40728.0
2 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 August 2015
Netflix no longer requires Silverlight.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
28 June 2016
It said I needed it last week using Safari. Made me update it...
Like (1)
starsizzle
22 May 2015
Uninstall and gain security. This is not needed anymore.
Like (4)
Version 5.1.40416.0
1 answer(s)
Hymek
Hymek
16 June 2015
Sadly, this is still needed here in the UK: Ordnance Survey, the national mapping agency, specifies it for their useful online application "get-a-map". There used to be a workaround, but that's now been blocked. Now why would they do that?
Like
Nitroxer
13 May 2015
Version 5.1.40416.0, dated 12 May 2015 can't be opened under Yosemite without changing default security settings. Humm...Miscosoft fixes their security problems by delivering a non-conforming package? Is there a technical reason that justifies this? No README in disk image - just Silverlight.pkg. Will not be installing until clarified.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.40416.0
3 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
17 August 2015
Why would you WANT to install this anyway? No websites I know of use it.
Like (1)
freiheit
freiheit
28 October 2015
Well Amazon instant video uses it (unfortunately).
Like
ABC123YouAndMe
ABC123YouAndMe
10 November 2015
If your nick name is "freiheit" you should probably not be using amazon instant video :)
Like
Dgeo
10 February 2015
A closed source plugin for your browser. From Microsoft. Deprecated since 2011. Enough said. Sadly a few (usually very badly written) web pages and web apps still use it for some reason.
Like (9)
Version 5.1.30514.0
3 answer(s)
freiheit
freiheit
28 October 2015
Unfortunately Amazon instant video (and Prime) has discontinued Flash support (which worked well on Mac) and now only allows Silverlight in both Firefox and Safari. Silverlight performance on my 2010 Mac Pro with GeForce 760 video card is very poor, it drops frames and stutters and the quality is low. And I was really looking forward to the new Amazon exclusive show starring the former Top Gear presenters coming in 2016. Now I may not be able to watch unless I choose to give up the great add-on ecosystem of Firefox in favor of Chrome.
Like
chrisB
chrisB
09 December 2015
If you need to support Microsoft's intranet solution "SharePoint", you still need SilverLight, too.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
28 June 2016
You also nee it for Netflix. But it works fine, and is regularly updated.
Like
Nick-Collingridge
06 June 2014
I have recently been getting some highly suspicious dialogs apparently relating to a Silverlight update appearing on my Mac without doing anything to trigger them (like checking for updates, for example). The title is "Microsoft Silverlight Update Available" and it carries on with some text encouraging me to install it. There is a very generic application icon within the dialog but nothing else, and certainly nothing that gives me any confidence that this is genuinely from Microsoft. Every sinew of my body is telling me this is bogus - surely Microsoft of all people would not issue an upgrade prompt that is one of the least believable I have ever seen? There are only two alternatives at the bottom of the dialog - "Remind Me Later" or "Update Now". What is the verdict of others?
Like (1)
Version 5.1.30317.0
5 answer(s)
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
23 June 2014
Another angle on this is that if this dialog is a genuine upgrade prompt from Microsoft, it would be incredibly easy for someone else to fake it and this could represent a very credible way to socially engineer someone to install malware. On the back of this valid fear I have now uninstalled Silverlight entirely as I want to know for certain that any dialogs of this type can and should be ignored. You might want to consider doing the same!
Like (1)
ZeroDark:30
ZeroDark:30
12 September 2014
Thank you for your comments! I've noticed this behavior (or at least something similar) myself over the past month or two. Something "off" about the message. Your thoughts coincide with some "interesting" app behaviors, such as PDFPenPro being a fanatical tracker.

Your comments inspired me to check "under the hood" for my Netflix and other video playing, and I'm pretty much migrated to using HTML5 with ClickToFlash extension, with the intention of getting away from Adobe Flash as much as I can - I notice it's working with Netflix, without any performance issues I can see, even with streaming set at the HD setting.

So maybe I can dispense with Silverlight as well?

Thanks,
Like (1)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
04 January 2015
For the last week or so, I have had the exact same suspicious Silverlight alerts on my MacBook Pro. They have popped up, for no reason, on a variety of websites that I have visited.
Like
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
04 January 2015
The current, appropriate version of Silverlight can be checked via the following http://www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/get-started/install/http://www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/get-started/install/
Like
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
15 May 2015
I've often gotten the same thing. I never trusted it.
Like
MartinW3784
29 May 2014
It needs too many resources on mac's.
Like
Version 5.1.30317.0
MacUpdate-Lon
18 April 2014
Silverlight works fine on my MBP (early 2011) with OS X 10.8.5. I use it frequently as I am a Netflix subscriber. Never had an issue with it, although it does make my fans accelerate.
Like
Version 5.1.30317.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
18 April 2014
Should say that I'm using Safari version 6.1.3 (8537.75.14)
Like
xgman
18 April 2014
it's silverlite.exe ( windows link)
Like
Version 5.1.30317.0
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
18 April 2014
The download link yields a .dmg… Download and installed with no issues.
Like
CraigC5591
CraigC5591
21 April 2014
same here, you need to download from a Mac I fear. No real chance at getting the dmg any other way... :(
Like
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
30 July 2014
Yes, if you try to download on a Windows machine, it will give you an .exe file since it has been updating on Windows also.
Also, were you downloading from MacUpdate or Cnet?
Like
Boysetsthefire
12 March 2014
You can roll back to the previous version with Time Machine. Files are located in main library/application support/microsoft, main library/internet plugins, and user library/application support/microsoft.
Like
Version 5.1.30214.0
Boysetsthefire
12 March 2014
Silverlight 5 Build 5.1.30214.0 Released March 11, 2014, as Pender stated, this version will not run on Safari7.0.2 in Mavericks. Must resort to Firefox for Netflix and other sights that use silverlight. I was unable to install an older working version of silverlight. Hoping for a quick fix.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.30214.0
PenderW5374
11 March 2014
Silverlight 5 Build 5.1.30214.0 Released March 11, 2014 (KB2934150) is now the latest version. This update was supposed to fix a security vulnerability but causes "Plugin Failure" error in Safari 7.0.2. Recommend not updating your Silverlight if you have a working situation. If you are already stuck like I am, temp workaround is that it works for Netflix in Mozilla Firefox 27.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.20913.0
Neal
15 November 2013
Silverlight 5.1.20913.0 does not work with Mavericks (10.9) Safari 7, Chrome, Firefox or any other numerous Mac browsers when attempting to use the NowTV.com website. No amount of fiddling with the Safari 7 Plug-ins Security settings will allow the site to work. An update is urgently required.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.20913.0
Maveric1968
31 October 2013
no comments. it just works.
Like
Version 5.1.20913.0
Macgecko
08 October 2013
FYI the current version of Silverlight as of October 8th 2013 is 5.1.20913.0.
Like
Version 5.1.20513.0
1 answer(s)
Sgginc
Sgginc
10 October 2013
When I click on the download link I am directed to the Silverlight website and it says: The version of Silverlight installed is: Silverlight 5 (5.1.20513.0) You are ready to use Microsoft Silverlight No way to update it. Thanks ... Ken
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
29 August 2013
I'm a Microsoft basher from way back. I'm also a Netflix subscriber. I have a 2 year old MBP running 10.7.5 and Silverlight works flawlessly and has for more than a year. Installing Silverlight does not put a bunch of crap all over your system installation. It installs an internet plugin, a folder in Application Support, and preferences file(s). Silverlight has in no way compromised my OS installation nor my web browsing experience.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.20513.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
29 August 2013
I'd like to add that I can browse any site with Safari and otherwise use my internet connection while a Netflix movie is streaming. I have an Apple Cinema Display that I use to view things such as movies on a large screen. I live in Mexico and TelMex is my ISP, I have a 400 KB/s pipeline.
Like (1)
MacHow2-Com
26 April 2013
If you're having problems with streaming Netflix using Silverlight for Mac, here's how to fix the problem: http://machow2.com/netflix-for-mac/
Like
Version 5.1.20125.0
gofy
28 March 2013
Hmm, the download link on Microsoft's site always redirects me to Silverlight V1 from 2008 … Current version is V5 I think. If you are experiencing similar issues, you could try this mirror in germany: http://www.chip.de/downloads/c1_downloads_hs_getfile_v1_37234602.html?t=1364481689&v=3600&s=97ea93073c41a5ee5d2a8e73eb96a30f
Like
Version 5.1.20125.0
Cowicide
15 March 2013
To this day, the Microsoft Silverlight installer package that comes in the dmg download says NOTHING about what it installs on my system and where. No "read me" file, NOTHING. Just a generic package installer and my fingers crossed Microsoft doesn't install crap onto my system that causes instability and/or slowdown my CPU? I don't think so. To this day, Silverlight stays OFF my computer. Trust Microsoft? Hahahaha... good one! Same idiots who bought out and borged Virtual PC back in the day and their first accomplishment was to screw up the code and have it cause a kernel panic to my entire system (which had literally NEVER happened before on that system, EVER). Then after ruining Virtual PC for Mac, they discontinued it. Microsoft cost many small businesses a loss in competition for a product and lost time/revenue dealing with their ineptitude and greed. And, THIS just scratches the surface. So, am I going to install Siverlight on my Mac when there's OPEN alternatives? HELL NO.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.20125.0
I don't understand all the bad reviews and low marks for Silverlight. The fact that Silverlight enables the VLC Media Player should be worth three stars at least. As for Netflix streaming difficulties, can one be sure this is the fault of Silverlight and not an Internet connection/modem/router issue? How would you test that?
Like (1)
Version 5.1.20125.0
freiheit
14 March 2013
Does anyone know whether this release fixes the sluggishness and general system unresponsiveness while streaming Netflix on the Mac (using Firefox browser and Silverlight plugin)? I no longer have my Netflix account because it was so bad, but would go back if performance is improved.
Like
Version 5.1.20125.0
Sean-Smith
13 March 2013
' "Silverlight.pkg" can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer.' Really? Are you serious, Microsoft? In SIX AND A HALF WEEKS OF TESTING (the installer disk image is dated 25th January) you didn't notice that you'd neglected to sign your installer? It's not that Microsoft is too cheap to pay Apple the $99 per year it costs to sign software; Microsoft's Mac Business Unit has been signing their software for months. (Silverlight comes from a different group at MS.) And to be fair to Silverlight's developers, even though Apple informed developers of Gatekeeper's signing requirements one year ago, this is the first update to Silverlight since the release of Mountain Lion last July. But that Microsoft's release process evidently does not include bothering to test that their installer ACTUALLY OPENS on the current OS with default settings... the mind boggles.
Like (5)
Version 5.1.20125.0
1 answer(s)
Littletree76
Littletree76
14 March 2013
You may open the disk image file and execute the package contained in it by control-click to override Apple verification. Details can be found in Apple Help. You are right, developers in Microsoft have no concept of security at all.
Like
Chrischram
13 March 2013
I can count on two or three fingers sites I've encountered that wouldn't work properly without Silverlight. My solution has been to leave the site and assume they don't want my business. Same goes for Flash. Same goes for Java.
Like
Version 5.1.20125.0
Islandmacman
01 January 2013
Beggars can't be choosers, so I'm glad this is still available. That said, Silverlight is a resource hog, like Flash, and has a few quirks (coming out of full screen mode sometimes keeps the menu bar hidden). This app can certainly use an update if large companies require its use. Alas, it is a Microsoft product and we are Mac users.
Like
Version 5.1.10411.0
limies
21 November 2012
It's non-standard microsoft technology There are many normal and standard Internet plugins or technologies like HTML 5, Adobe Flash.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.10411.0
Cuneyt
20 October 2012
I've found out that it wasn't Flash slowing down my computer, but Silverlight. Removed it. Will install it temporarely only if I need to watch a Silverlight video on the Web.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.10411.0
1 answer(s)
Cuneyt
Cuneyt
20 October 2012
By computer, I actually mean my internetbrowser Safari
Like
Bray-Mitchell
23 August 2012
worst thing ever cant believe i have to use for work
Like (3)
Version 5.1.10411.0
Jeff-H-
19 August 2012
You know I've watched my poor PC unenlightened friends rip their hair out every time they have to install Microsloth garbage...I've watched the circular endless loop that Microsloth in their infinite wisdom puts them through...maybe MS does it as a goof? Then after they're all installed them making 8 moves to my one to get the same thing to happen. I've never had to experience this myself until Silverlight...they make it next to impossible to even download this c**p!
Like (1)
Version 5.1.10411.0
-rick-v-
22 May 2012
Like most people here, I too hate that we’re required to have Silverlight install, just because of Netflix. As is “best practice”, I run with as few plugins as possible, as each one represents a real or potential security hole. (You can physically remove plugins by looking here: ‘/Library/Internet Plugins/’ and here: ‘/Users/YourUsername/Library/Internet Plugins/’). Netflix chose Silverlight because at the time it was the only cross-platform codec that supported DRM at the time. (And, as you can guess, DRM was required by the movie studios so that Netflix didn’t turn into a movie-downloading site). Speaking objectively, Silverlight does have some really nice features that are unmatched by Flash or Quicktime. Namely, not only the ability to throttle down due to bandwidth congestion, but more importantly the ability to throttle back up as congestion loosens. I also like Silverlights way of handling scrubbing thru a movie. And, as others have pointed out, it looks like Microsoft has depreciated Silverlight in favor of supporting the industry-adopted h.264. This, of course, is a good thing. Hopefully those Silverlight-developed features will be rolled into the next version of h.264 (h.265?). Yes, it sucks that we have to have Silverlight installed for essentially the one website on the entire planet that uses it. But, as far as the plugin itself is concerned, it’s not all that bad. It doesn’t suck down your machine like Flash does, for example.
Like (5)
Version 5.1.10411.0
Magosilvan
22 May 2012
I already have this version installed since April 11. I just use it to see some TV. Is this really a new version?
Like
Version 5.1.10411.0
FTBZ
22 May 2012
I use this software to watch TV with my ISP. Generally the software is stable, I never encountered a major problem.
Like
Version 5.1.10411.0
Penguirl
22 May 2012
I seem to remember reading somewhere lately in an article about Microsoft's roadmap that development of Silverlight was dead or all but dead. Regardless, I don't have Flash installed on my Mac Pro (I use Chromium instead) and I'm not going to install Silverlight either. If I could dump Java I would do that too. Flash, Java, and Adobe products are full of security holes. I wouldn't be surprised if Silverlight were the same.
Like
Version 5.1.10411.0
Mac5
22 May 2012
I was quite surprised when I found that I needed Silverlight installed on my iMac before I could effectively run Netflix. Surprised, because I was under the impression that damn few people ever ran this piece of troublesome software on the PC's, far less on Mack's.. Its pretty useless in todays world.
Like
Version 5.1.10411.0
umaromc
30 April 2012
Keeps crashing. I wouldn't have this pos installed if it weren't for Netflix... time to walk over to my Roku... >:/
Like
Version 5.0.61118.0
Satcomer
04 April 2012
Hopefully Microsoft will continue this!
Like
Version 5.0.61118.0
Davekct
14 March 2012
I installed Silverlight on my MacBook Pro and now i'm not able to view a slideshow of pictures that are attached to an email in hotmail. Prior to this a slideshow screen would pop up and I could sort through the pics. Now a blank screen pops up and freezes my hotmail. Any suggestions on what to do about this?
Like
Version 5.0.61118.0
Big-Mac-XXL
17 February 2012
Silverlight? Deader than a Zune!
Like
Version 5.0.61118.0
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
30 April 2012
Unfortunately its needed to watch Netflix on your comp...
Like
Darren-Grant
15 February 2012
I have managed to keep this rubbish off of my mac until I subscribed to LoveFilm that requires silverlight. It causes the mouse pointer to disappear and sometimes doesn't even play videos so I have to quit the browser and reopen it. Just give it up Microsoft you couldn't make worse software if you tried.
Like
Version 5.0.61118.0
umaromc
02 January 2012
The only thing I use this for is Netflix and video plays in HD when available and plays well (using via Firefox Nightly Build 12.0a1 as of this writing). Yep. Oddly enough when I was redirected to the Silverlight page it stated I already had this version installed. Go figure.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.61118.0
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
02 February 2012
I can't figure. Indeed, when I went into Hotmail, it said I needed to update Silverlight. It has originally installed along with Flip4Mac, so I don't have an installer per se. But it downloaded a ".exe" file. So then I used the link from MU, hoping to get an installer. It took me to a Microslop page which, in turn, downloaded a ".exe" file. Useless, time-wasting nonsense. No wonder people hate them.
Like
Jeff-H-
16 November 2011
So Microsloth...cant even find a proper download link!!!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.60831.0
1 answer(s)
Mechamania
Mechamania
27 October 2012
It's either them or MacUpdate, 'cause the download link leads to a version that is NOT compatible with 10.4, despite what the description says. One needs 10.5.7, and Microsoft has provided no links to older, 10.4.11-compatible software. Unless you downloaded and archived it, it's almost impossible to find a 10.4.11-compatible version. I've looked all over the internets, too.
Like
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
06 September 2011
Is marginal at best and offers no intrinsic benefit from STANDARD MPEG-4 AVC? Not impressed with the netflix delivery of blurry macro blocks over a 1.3Mb/s line. (they force Silverfish) Someone explain why we need another proprietary "me too" sub standard technology from the Microsoft hegemony factory?
Like (4)
Version 4.0.60531.0
Culture-Of-One
26 June 2011
I needed this update in order to keep using Silverlight in 64-bit mode on Firefox 5. So far so good. Since the upgrade I haven't seen any screen flashing problems like I did on the previous version on Netflix (used to have the upper 1-2 inches of screen flash in a lighter colour on occasion). I'm hoping this means that they've eliminated the bug, but only time will tell. For those looking for a way to configure Silverlight to maximize bandwidth, etc., there is a series of menus for configuring the software. Sadly, it's not as simple as right-clicking on the screen (so I give it a slightly lower ease-of-use rating). When Silverlight is running in regular windowed screen mode (ie not full screen): For menu: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+M For the a/v status: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+D For stream manager: Crtl+Alt+Shift+S For player info: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+P The first one is the crucial one to memorize, as it will get you to the others. Supposedly the following work as well, but I've never managed to get them to function: For download history: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+H For frame rate histogram: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+F For bandwidth history: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+B For buffer level history/prediction: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+V I highly recommend experimenting with the stream manager if you're unhappy with the quality of streamed video on Netflix. You'd be surprised how much just tweaking the buffering can improve picture quality!
Like (3)
Version 4.0.60531.0
3 answer(s)
TheRoxzilla
TheRoxzilla
27 October 2011
Those commands do nothing for me in the lasted Safari with the latest Silverlight. I have tried while running NetFlix and another Silverlight app on another site.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 October 2011
Those keyboard commands do not work for me either.
Like (1)
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
02 January 2012
The first sentence of his review states that he uses Firefox.
Like
Doug-Engelbart
31 May 2011
Where can we download Silverlight 1.0 for our Non-Intel-Macs?
Like (1)
Version 4.0.60310.0
Caleb-Gilbert
15 February 2011
This now works with FF4 Beta 11 as of today.
Like
Version 4.0.60129.0
1 answer(s)
anonymous-toucan-2739
anonymous-toucan-2739
26 June 2011
WTF! Update your Firefox man.
Like (1)
trungpt
17 January 2011
Easy to install, run smoothly. I should learn how to write Windows Phone 7 apps with this technology.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.50917.0
outer
31 October 2010
It would seem, according to this article, http://www.zdnet.com/blog/microsoft/microsoft-our-strategy-with-silverlight-has-shifted/7834, that SilverLight is already a dead-deal so far as Micro$oft is concerned, except as regards its Window$7 phone platform.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.50917.0
OSX-FTW!
30 October 2010
Adobe should buy Silverlight from Microsoft and replace Flash with it.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.50917.0