Back to XQuartz page
XQuartz free download for Mac

XQuartz Reviews

01 April 2021

Community supported update to X11.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
2.7.11
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 2.7.11
If you need Quartz for anything this version is free and powerful!
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Nov 6 2015
2.7.6
0.0
Nov 6 2015
0.0
Version: 2.7.6
The current version is 2.7.8
GeogProf
GeogProf
Oct 19 2012
2.7.4
0.0
Oct 19 2012
0.0
Version: 2.7.4
Could a macUpdate staff member please update the XQuartz short description? It still says “Community supported update to X11 in Leopard,” but if I’m not mistaken (and it’s entirely possible that I am), the last version of XQuartz that ran on Leopard was 2.6.3, and the current version (2.7.4) runs only on Snow Leo, Lion and Mountain Lion. Thanks.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jun 2 2012
2.7.2
4.5
Jun 2 2012
4.5
Version: 2.7.2
XQuartz has already saved my ass once.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 21 2012
2.7.14
5.0
Feb 21 2012
5.0
Version: 2.7.14
This IS X11. This is where Apple contributes to and sources what they provide with Mac OS X as X11. The XQuartz project is typically well ahead of what Apple provide. This is GEEKWARE. It requires knowledge of using the CLI found in the Terminal app for full capability. If you don't know what X11 is, if you don't know what MacPorts are or what Fink/Porticus/PortAuthority/Pallet are, then don't download XQuartz. Don't install it. Don't write a one star review out of ignorance. Learn about X11 and XQuartz first. I use X11 apps and features frequently. I love this stuff. But I am a geek and I have taken the time to learn how to use this. I also have unfathomably patience setting up this geek level stuff. It takes unfathomable patience to use X11 because it is designed by geeks for geeks, not for average or even intermediate users. It is in fact a big, frustrating PITA to use X11 successfully! But the rewards are a lot of fun. ALSO NOTE: Apple are no longer going to provide X11 with Mac OS X! It come with the Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion installer. INSTEAD Apple are going to direct Mac users to download exactly what we have here: XQuartz, the source project for X11. So if you like X11, download the latest stable XQuartz and get to work with it! BUT! Be sure to read ALL the documentation at the source website BEFORE you download or install new versions. Because this is geekware, IT HAS BUGS. Some bugs may mean that it won't install on or work with your version of Mac OS X. Please do your homework so you're ready for the XQuartz's challenges.
anonymous-tapir-4703
anonymous-tapir-4703
Nov 5 2011
2.70
0.0
Nov 5 2011
0.0
Version: 2.70
The application version is 2.7.0 - not 2.70 as indicated in the title (after update MacUpdate keeps complaining).
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Jul 21 2011
2.6.3
0.0
Jul 21 2011
0.0
Version: 2.6.3
FYI, they rolled out one last version for Leopard: http://xquartz.macosforge.org/downloads/Leopard/X11-2.6.3.dmg From the developer: http://lists.macosforge.org/pipermail/xquartz-dev/2011-July/003389.html "XQuartz 2.6.3 is a stability and security release of the 2.6 series. It pulls in various bug fixes found over the past few months including some annoying crashers with RandR, quartz-wm window placement issues, and better support for AFP home directories. In addition, this release includes fixes for the libpng vulnerabilities announced earlier this month. "Due to the nature of these changes, I decided to roll one last release of XQuartz for Leopard. This should be the last release to support Leopard. I previously said 2.6.1 would be the last Leopard release, but this time I mean it ;)"
Nukefixer
Nukefixer
Dec 25 2010
2.6.0
0.5
Dec 25 2010
0.5
Version: 2.6.0
Unfortunately I downloaded this and installed it by mistake and do not want it on my computer. I am a 3 month old MacBook Pro user with snow leopard OS, how exactly do I uninstall this so I can revert back to problem free Mac OS updates as this indicates from now on I will have some conflicts? I would appreciate anyones detailed help. When I go into terminal as its suggested on the developers page and use whats mentioned, the sudo command, I am asked for a password prior to it running, I never installed a password on my computer when initially setting it up? Also is it possible to somehow disable this and use the Apple version from now on? And I'm giving this low marks only because it will not allow me to submit these remarks unless I fill out the stars! Thank you, regards, Gary
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Dec 20 2010
2.6.0
0.0
Dec 20 2010
0.0
Version: 2.6.0
Note to Leopard users from the developer: "If you're a Leopard user, I'm sorry, but your update has been delayed (probably until January). I lost my connection to my Leopard box while creating the package and won't have access to it for a couple weeks. 2.6.0_rc1 should serve you well until then." http://lists.macosforge.org/pipermail/xquartz-dev/2010-December/003062.html Info on RC1 for Leopard, if you can't wait 2 weeks: http://lists.macosforge.org/pipermail/xquartz-dev/2010-December/003053.html
Evilskull
Evilskull
Jul 11 2010
2.5.1
0.0
Jul 11 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
Release notes for 2.5.1 here: http://xquartz.macosforge.org/trac/wiki/X112.5.1
Zx81
Zx81
May 23 2010
2.5.0
0.0
May 23 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.0
Official release or not, it just works and I'm just another happy Gimp user!
Manfred-Bergmann
Manfred-Bergmann
Mar 27 2010
2.5 rc2
0.0
Mar 27 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5 rc2
There is no trace of this release on the web page. Where does this come from?
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
Oct 30 2009
2.4.1a3
5.0
Oct 30 2009
5.0
Version: 2.4.1a3
2.4.1a3 is an alpha release, with no obvious links on the XQuartz website. I would strongly advise against installing this, and I would also like to know how it was found (I can't find it).
Bbos
Bbos
Oct 17 2009
2.4
0.0
Oct 17 2009
0.0
Version: 2.4
Hi guys, I'm having a similar problem to that reported by RODJEN. {code} 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM defaults[27340] The domain/default pair of (org.x.X11, dpi) does not exist 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] xauth: creating new authority file /Users/bsmith/.serverauth.27313 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] xauth: (stdin):2: unknown command "f60c7923c75ea2b00b5b1141d27a1f69" 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] xauth: (stdin):3: unknown command "f60c7923c75ea2b00b5b1141d27a1f69" 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] Xquartz: X11.app = /Applications/Utilities/X11_crashing.app/Contents/MacOS/X11 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] Xquartz: Starting X server: /Applications/Utilities/X11_crashing.app/Contents/MacOS/X11 --listenonly 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] dyld: Library not loaded: /Appli 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] cations/Utilities/X11.app/Contents/Frameworks/Sparkle.framework/Versions/A/Sparkle 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] Referenced from: /Applications/Utilities/X11_crashing.app/Contents/MacOS/X11.bin 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.startx[27313] Reason: image not found 17/10/09 1:48:31 PM org.x.privileged_startx[5656] font_cache: Updating FC cache 17/10/09 1:48:33 PM org.x.startx[27313] font_cache: Done 17/10/09 1:48:33 PM org.x.startx[27313] waiting for X server to begin accepting connections 17/10/09 1:48:33 PM org.x.startx[27313] waiting for X server to begin accepting connections 17/10/09 1:48:33 PM org.x.privileged_startx[5656] font_cache: Done {code} I found Sparkle 1.5b6 http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/20366/sparkle Should it be ok just to install this? Will it help and not break anything else. I don't have any unusual installs afaik. Thanks, Brooke
Rodjen
Rodjen
Aug 15 2009
2.4
0.0
Aug 15 2009
0.0
Version: 2.4
I downloaded XQuartz 2.4. I originally put a copy of X11 in my Applications folder in my home folder. I used the previous version for GIMP with no problem. This version keeps crashing and trying to reload. This is the Apple report: Process: X11.bin [1487] Path: /Users/jenness47372/Applications/Terminal/X11.app/Contents/MacOS/X11.bin Identifier: X11.bin Version: ??? (???) Code Type: X86 (Native) Parent Process: X [1486] Interval Since Last Report: 55820 sec Crashes Since Last Report: 12 Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 0 sec Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 11 Date/Time: 2009-08-15 11:06:24.035 -0400 OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L30) Report Version: 6 Anonymous UUID: 3E485B87-A5BA-4471-9D15-9D57BA5D6259 Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000 Crashed Thread: 0 Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: /Applications/Utilities/X11.app/Contents/Frameworks/Sparkle.framework/Versions/A/Sparkle Referenced from: /Users/jenness47372/Applications/Terminal/X11.app/Contents/MacOS/X11.bin Reason: image not found
Che-powerbook
Che-powerbook
Apr 24 2009
2.3.3
0.0
Apr 24 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
OSX 10.5.7 ? seems like we run back from future
ivanovitch
ivanovitch
Apr 24 2009
2.3.3
0.0
Apr 24 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
Looking forward to seeing Mac OS v10.7. Good to see that you guys are way ahead of things.
Pissnaround
Pissnaround
Apr 24 2009
2.3.3
0.0
Apr 24 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
hmmm, 10.5.7 required. did I miss something?
Mr.Ash
Mr.Ash
Jan 11 2009
2.3.2.1
0.0
Jan 11 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3.2.1
Since installing the new version 2.3.2.1 GIMP won't work correctly anymore. After starting X11 the screen turns black/white and als fonts in the windows and menu bars are too big. I don't even see the OSX menubar anymore, so the only solution to is to force quit X11 so i can return to the desktop. This release is very buggy!
Chrischram
Chrischram
May 3 2008
2.2.1
0.0
May 3 2008
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
WARNING: Be sure to have a good system backup before installing version 2.2.1. YMMV, but it rendered my Early 2006 iMac unbootable. Thank the gods for Time Machine!
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
Apr 16 2008
2.2.0.1
0.0
Apr 16 2008
0.0
Version: 2.2.0.1
I give this release 5 stars for the simple reason that it finally ended the nightmare that has been X11 since Leopard. That started out with X11 apps (main ones I have used are GIMP, Gimpshop, and more recently Inkscape) launching and turning up in the Dock but never opening a window. About four months later, things had progressed to the point where I could open the GIMP. actually get a window up, and apply between 3 and 8 clone stamp edits before GIMP crashed. Inkscape continued to not even bring up a window. It launches now but stability not tested yet. And it isn't even represented as Leopard compatible. GIMP tested OK and may actually be usable now. Thanks to the XQuartz community for making X11 useful again.
Freebsd
Freebsd
Dec 25 2007
2.1.1
5.0
Dec 25 2007
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
I've been following this community supported project since the shipping version of Leopard's X11 and Xquartz were hopelessly broken (officially as of 10.5.1). The support has included a number of key members of the Free Desktop project as well as others in the community who have managed to make an incredibly easy to use installation that is for the most part reasonably stable. The codebase has changed from the XFree86 implementation to X.org, which is a significant change and possibly the key reason for the X11 growing pains. However this release supports most basic functions of X11, stuff we normally take for granted but was broken, including suitable UI behavior, alt+tabbing, and proper OS X window management. Their package release is so great because it updates a number of supporting files and binaries that most users don't ever see. Despite having a few funny bugs remaining, it's completely recommended for all users of Leopard who need or may need X11. A sincere thanks to the developers who continue to work on this project!
Neonblue2
Neonblue2
Dec 25 2007
2.1.1
0.0
Dec 25 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Found this a little over a week ago while looking for a more recent version of Gimp. They recommended it and I don't regret it.
Dogbert1
Dogbert1
Dec 25 2007
2.1.1
0.0
Dec 25 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
If you use Linotype FontExplorer, do not install this software. It breaks FontExplorer and there is no way that I can see to revert to the old X11 as there is no uninstaller. I have tried installing the older X11 from the install disk and X11 no longer works. I had to reinstall the XQuartz and disable FontExplorer.
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
Dec 24 2007
2.1.1
5.0
Dec 24 2007
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Excellent. A must have if you use fink or ssh with X-tunneling. It gets rid of that annoying yellow cursor thing and a bunch of other gripes.