Back to MusicBrainz Picard page
MusicBrainz Picard free download for Mac

MusicBrainz Picard Reviews

2.2.1
20 September 2019

Label and tag your music with correct ID3 tags.

Brionybob
28 February 2009

Most helpful

Fifty megabytes?!?
Like (3)
Version 0.11

Read 19 MusicBrainz Picard User Reviews

Rate this app:

kingjj
16 November 2015
LOVE this program! LOVE this program! LOVE this program! So may screwed up tags -- fixed! No typing, copying, pasting, searching for cover art, etc, etc, etc. Free and works beautifully. One complaint, I didn't download it years ago.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
pasion-beso
19 August 2015
Open source, and free. This is the way it should be. Thank you!!!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
tom-37
01 May 2015
I just reorganized and tagged a pretty messy 25000+ tracks collection with it. It detected about 2/3 correctly, half of the rest was just picking another release - the other half of the rest was in fact hard work with manual searching or filling in data from discogs. But it did the job well. Some minor flaws (not loading all files from a large folder, not matching tracks that have "featuring" stuff in the title), but not a showstopper.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Max-Decroix
11 March 2015
I use this all the time but I'm pretty sure I don't know how to use it. I probably only use 10% of its features.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
CyberSkull
05 January 2015
A great tagger backed by the the best public music database. Several caveats: If your music is very esoteric or obscure, then it may not be found with a fingerprint search or tag search. In which case you should add it to the MusicBrainz database. ;) The only quibbling with the application itself is that it's not very Mac-like in the interface.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Monkeyjunkey
21 November 2014
Great to see development on this. Very handy software and useful database behind it. Thanks for offering this!
Like (2)
Version 1.3
MightyBoo
26 October 2014
v1.4 is up: http://picard.musicbrainz.org/changelog/
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
CyberSkull
CyberSkull
05 January 2015
That's a nightly build.
Like (1)
TobyS8650
01 August 2014
This is a good but flawed app, used judiciously it can match your songs accurately from the muscbrainz site. But it is difficult and confusing to use, only uses muscbrainz, crashes if you use it on more than a 1000 songs and looks very very ugly.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Mikael-B
04 November 2013
This looks good but give too much wrong info (98% or so is wrong as in totally wrong destruction) and couldn't identify a majority of tracks at all without acoustic id (which doesn't seem to work in practice). In addition you can't block correct tags from being "corrected" in any sane way. I went with MPFreaker that at $10 is certainly worth the fee as it actually works · for at least 30% of my files but nothing wrong  — and let's you tell which tags to leave alone.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
04 November 2013
To be fair, of your results will vary depending on what music you have and the state you collection is in, but mine was in pretty good shape, except for release names (album). Also, the complete lack of — or difficulty in finding — prevention of correct tags is the basis for my review.
Like (2)
Gaberdine
11 September 2013
Great work by the dev! This outperforms paid for apps like TuneUp. I would love to be able to add tracks from iTunes but I can live with creating a custom folder and opening that folder in Picard. It isn't entirely intuitive but it still outperforms the overpriced commercial bloatware I just trialled. Be aware that it seems to stall if you scan too many tunes at once for acoustic fingerprints.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
robin-4
robin-4
22 February 2015
Sorry for reply to an old post, but you say this cannot be used with iTunes. I have a large collection of songs in iTunes that need re-tagging - what would you suggest I do to correct them please?
Like
bbw7
21 May 2013
The newest version is 1.2, which has branched into a 10.7+ bundle and a 10.4-10.6 bundle; the source code is also available at the dev's site.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
I-Love-Techno
21 January 2013
The Best Renaming Software I Have Found Will rename all your tracks the same as your tags so saves a lot of time. I have a code that gives me 01 Artist - Trackname and that's just how I like it. Would absolutely love it if it had the option to make all tags TitleCase - maybe it does if you know the right codes but that makes it difficult to use if you're a non coder. Sometimes a little buggy but not too bad really Prefer to do tagging in Itunes though as here you can only do one track at a time I think.
Like
Version 1.1
Peterpan23
05 February 2012
Under http://wiki.musicbrainz.org/PicardTagger you can downloads version 0.16 final !!! (Macupdate should update this entry)
Like (2)
Version 0.15.0beta2
2 answer(s)
MisterE
MisterE
07 September 2012
I would like gere support too but I'd hope they would come from a crowd source like Last.fm
Like
MisterE
MisterE
07 September 2012
genre* support :)
Like
Boulinguiez-Benoit
24 August 2011
Great and turn-key program to tag your music files, all format ogg, mp3, flac ...
Like
Version 0.15.0beta2
Michael-Baeumer
31 October 2010
I am just happy to find some renaming ID3 Stuff with so many possibilities. Please get on that work! My wishes are preferences for genres or other infos- just to get that info inside my ID3. And support for viewing more fields, and please let me decide which one I will save. Some that are o.K. i can not save - so have to do by hand second time - that is not so helpful... o.K. sound like some input... come on I will support this - if you make a step in to now!
Like (1)
Version 0.11
Brionybob
28 February 2009
Fifty megabytes?!?
Like (3)
Version 0.11
2 answer(s)
schmelding
schmelding
01 March 2009
My thoughts exactly!
Like (1)
Version 0.11
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
09 March 2009
WHAT?! 132MB on disk? That's bigger than DVD Studo Pro! X^D
Like (1)
Version 0.11
Corpsecorps
17 October 2008
I second that last review. Is this proceeding at all toward a 1.0?
Like (1)
Version 0.9b1
Corpsecorps
06 September 2008
I hesitate to use software that hasn't had an update in almost a year.
Like (2)
Version 0.9b1
Serhij
08 August 2008
First of all I would like to thank to the developers of this tool for the great work! Now let's start to give some feed-back to let others to give a try to this piece of good software. I had a lot of work to do with my library of music since I moved from PC to Apple and I was looking for some good tool to sort-out my music archive. After it was imported to iTunes it was nightmare %( I tried many of tools (Corripio, iMusicBrainz, etc.) to tag my music and found Picard is the BEST. As the conclusion, give it a try and you will be impressed the trick you can have with this tool. In the same time it have to be improved. Below is points i was missing in the beta: 1. Drag&Drop track from iTunes does not work. It use me to use finder in a middle 2. At macbook there is no [Del.] key and wil be better to map Delete to to Back Delete key as well. 3. In general, key-shortcuts very poor, what gives to a lot of mouse work :( 4. Cover art matching looks like does not work in this beta. 5. It looks like the process of tag matching require wizard style to work. It will be good for the newbies to use this tool with wizard. It takes a time to get to know how to match tracks (user manual a little complicated). 6. I missing tool ("magic wand") to match the set of tracks which have to be in the same album. Picard often proposed a different albums for the tracks expected to be in one. Many thanks to developers and good lack!
Like (2)
Version 0.9b1