Back to MusicBrainz Picard page
MusicBrainz Picard free download for Mac

MusicBrainz Picard Reviews

17 April 2021

Label and tag your music with correct ID3 tags.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Scion777
Scion777
Apr 1 2021
2.6.0
0.0
Apr 1 2021
0.0
Version: 2.6.0
Hey! You finally changed the system requirements! LOL!
Scion777
Scion777
Dec 16 2020
2.5.3
0.0
Dec 16 2020
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
Sigh - yet another new version. Is it even worth trying this one out? The developer never addresses our complaints. I don't need another "the application is damaged and to move it to trash" msg.
Scion777
Scion777
Sep 7 2020
2.4.4
0.0
Sep 7 2020
0.0
Version: 2.4.4
and version 2.4.4. joins that long list of ierror msgs "damaged - move to the trash" is this a comedy movie?? DEVELOPER - do you read the comments here??
Philip-e7019ddf
Philip-e7019ddf
Aug 18 2020
2.4.1
1.0
Aug 18 2020
1.0
Version: 2.4.1
Attempted to update this on my MacBook Pro running 10.13.6 and it will not start. macOS says the application is damaged and to move it to trash.
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
Aug 11 2020
2.4.1
0.0
Aug 11 2020
0.0
Version: 2.4.1
same msg - “MusicBrainz Picard.app” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash." I don't understand this - all you have to do is set up a Sierra and High Sierra clean install to see that your latest versions of this app won't work on them anymore. ???
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
May 12 2020
2.3.2
0.0
May 12 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
" MusicBrainz 2.3.2 is damaged and should be moved to the trash " -- Mac OS 10.12.6 Developers - you have a problem. what's the deal? Reported this several versions back.
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
Apr 2 2020
2.3.1
0.0
Apr 2 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.1
"This app is compatible with your macOS" - no, version 2.3.1 is not - crashes on launch. I don't understand how a release designed to fix this issue gets released still with the bug?? Either something is wrong with your test bed, or you've loaded the wrong version.
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
Apr 1 2020
2.3.1
0.0
Apr 1 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.1
Still has a problem - "Picard is damaged - move to the trash" when trying to launch latest version under 10.12.6 .... if the developer could post beta versions here we'd be willing to send crash logs
Scion777
Scion777
Mar 25 2020
2.2.3
0.0
Mar 25 2020
0.0
Version: 2.2.3
MacUpdate Admins - version 2.3.1 is out
Scion777
Scion777
Nov 6 2019
2.2.2
0.0
Nov 6 2019
0.0
Version: 2.2.2
MacUpdate Admins! - version 2.2.3 is out .......
kingjj
kingjj
Nov 16 2015
1.3.2
5.0
Nov 16 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
LOVE this program! LOVE this program! LOVE this program! So may screwed up tags -- fixed! No typing, copying, pasting, searching for cover art, etc, etc, etc. Free and works beautifully. One complaint, I didn't download it years ago.
pasion-beso
pasion-beso
Aug 19 2015
1.3.2
5.0
Aug 19 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
Open source, and free. This is the way it should be. Thank you!!!!!
tom-37
tom-37
May 1 2015
1.3.2
5.0
May 1 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
I just reorganized and tagged a pretty messy 25000+ tracks collection with it. It detected about 2/3 correctly, half of the rest was just picking another release - the other half of the rest was in fact hard work with manual searching or filling in data from discogs. But it did the job well. Some minor flaws (not loading all files from a large folder, not matching tracks that have "featuring" stuff in the title), but not a showstopper.
Max-Decroix
Max-Decroix
Mar 11 2015
1.3.2
5.0
Mar 11 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
I use this all the time but I'm pretty sure I don't know how to use it. I probably only use 10% of its features.
CyberSkull
CyberSkull
Jan 5 2015
1.3
5.0
Jan 5 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3
A great tagger backed by the the best public music database. Several caveats: If your music is very esoteric or obscure, then it may not be found with a fingerprint search or tag search. In which case you should add it to the MusicBrainz database. ;) The only quibbling with the application itself is that it's not very Mac-like in the interface.
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Nov 21 2014
1.3
5.0
Nov 21 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3
Great to see development on this. Very handy software and useful database behind it. Thanks for offering this!
MightyBoo
MightyBoo
Oct 26 2014
1.2
5.0
Oct 26 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
v1.4 is up: http://picard.musicbrainz.org/changelog/
TobyS8650
TobyS8650
Aug 1 2014
1.2
3.0
Aug 1 2014
3.0
Version: 1.2
This is a good but flawed app, used judiciously it can match your songs accurately from the muscbrainz site. But it is difficult and confusing to use, only uses muscbrainz, crashes if you use it on more than a 1000 songs and looks very very ugly.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Nov 4 2013
1.2
1.0
Nov 4 2013
1.0
Version: 1.2
This looks good but give too much wrong info (98% or so is wrong as in totally wrong destruction) and couldn't identify a majority of tracks at all without acoustic id (which doesn't seem to work in practice). In addition you can't block correct tags from being "corrected" in any sane way. I went with MPFreaker that at $10 is certainly worth the fee as it actually works · for at least 30% of my files but nothing wrong  — and let's you tell which tags to leave alone.
Gaberdine
Gaberdine
Sep 11 2013
1.2
4.0
Sep 11 2013
4.0
Version: 1.2
Great work by the dev! This outperforms paid for apps like TuneUp. I would love to be able to add tracks from iTunes but I can live with creating a custom folder and opening that folder in Picard. It isn't entirely intuitive but it still outperforms the overpriced commercial bloatware I just trialled. Be aware that it seems to stall if you scan too many tunes at once for acoustic fingerprints.
bbw7
bbw7
May 21 2013
1.1
0.0
May 21 2013
0.0
Version: 1.1
The newest version is 1.2, which has branched into a 10.7+ bundle and a 10.4-10.6 bundle; the source code is also available at the dev's site.
I-Love-Techno
I-Love-Techno
Jan 21 2013
1.1
4.0
Jan 21 2013
4.0
Version: 1.1
The Best Renaming Software I Have Found Will rename all your tracks the same as your tags so saves a lot of time. I have a code that gives me 01 Artist - Trackname and that's just how I like it. Would absolutely love it if it had the option to make all tags TitleCase - maybe it does if you know the right codes but that makes it difficult to use if you're a non coder. Sometimes a little buggy but not too bad really Prefer to do tagging in Itunes though as here you can only do one track at a time I think.
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
Feb 5 2012
0.15.0beta2
0.0
Feb 5 2012
0.0
Version: 0.15.0beta2
Under http://wiki.musicbrainz.org/PicardTagger you can downloads version 0.16 final !!! (Macupdate should update this entry)
Boulinguiez-Benoit
Boulinguiez-Benoit
Aug 24 2011
0.15.0beta2
4.5
Aug 24 2011
4.5
Version: 0.15.0beta2
Great and turn-key program to tag your music files, all format ogg, mp3, flac ...
Michael-Baeumer
Michael-Baeumer
Oct 31 2010
0.11
0.0
Oct 31 2010
0.0
Version: 0.11
I am just happy to find some renaming ID3 Stuff with so many possibilities. Please get on that work! My wishes are preferences for genres or other infos- just to get that info inside my ID3. And support for viewing more fields, and please let me decide which one I will save. Some that are o.K. i can not save - so have to do by hand second time - that is not so helpful... o.K. sound like some input... come on I will support this - if you make a step in to now!
Brionybob
Brionybob
Feb 28 2009
0.11
0.0
Feb 28 2009
0.0
Version: 0.11
Fifty megabytes?!?
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
Oct 17 2008
0.9b1
0.0
Oct 17 2008
0.0
Version: 0.9b1
I second that last review. Is this proceeding at all toward a 1.0?
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
Sep 6 2008
0.9b1
0.0
Sep 6 2008
0.0
Version: 0.9b1
I hesitate to use software that hasn't had an update in almost a year.
Serhij
Serhij
Aug 8 2008
0.9b1
4.0
Aug 8 2008
4.0
Version: 0.9b1
First of all I would like to thank to the developers of this tool for the great work! Now let's start to give some feed-back to let others to give a try to this piece of good software. I had a lot of work to do with my library of music since I moved from PC to Apple and I was looking for some good tool to sort-out my music archive. After it was imported to iTunes it was nightmare %( I tried many of tools (Corripio, iMusicBrainz, etc.) to tag my music and found Picard is the BEST. As the conclusion, give it a try and you will be impressed the trick you can have with this tool. In the same time it have to be improved. Below is points i was missing in the beta: 1. Drag&Drop track from iTunes does not work. It use me to use finder in a middle 2. At macbook there is no [Del.] key and wil be better to map Delete to to Back Delete key as well. 3. In general, key-shortcuts very poor, what gives to a lot of mouse work :( 4. Cover art matching looks like does not work in this beta. 5. It looks like the process of tag matching require wizard style to work. It will be good for the newbies to use this tool with wizard. It takes a time to get to know how to match tracks (user manual a little complicated). 6. I missing tool ("magic wand") to match the set of tracks which have to be in the same album. Picard often proposed a different albums for the tracks expected to be in one. Many thanks to developers and good lack!