Back to Things page
Things free download for Mac

Things Reviews

3.10
10 October 2019

Elegant personal task management.

Soulbarn
25 May 2009

Most helpful

I don't quite get all the four and five star reviews. Things is really good. It might be the best complex, GTD-oriented task manager out there. But that's because most of them are awful. Yes, the Things creators have done their homework and are on the way to something great. But they aren't there yet. They aren't even close. The software has plenty of unimplemented features - I won't go into all of them, because even the rave reviews mention them. For my purposes, the worst among them is machine-to-machine sync. Essential for power users who carry more than once machine. (And if that's not available, then iPhone sync - and not the kludgy iPhone wifi sync. It needs to be seamless, as it is with other iPhone task managers.) (I'm revealing my biases here - a genuine five-star task manager MUST, in my view, be universally available; that means on my iPhone and at least on my travel and home machines. I believe this is a reasonable expectation, both because it is fairly standard in the category's feature set, and because the Things folks have more or less said so.) Right now, the best alternatives are a Remember The Milk or ToodleDo account, plus the ToDo, RTM, or ToodleDo native iPhone app. Neither RTM nor ToodleDo are as pretty or intuitive as Things, but both offer extraordinary feature sets, including RSS feeds, text message reminders, Google gadgets, and open APIs that may (for many users) compensate for the lack of beauty in the interface, since the feature sets - especially with ToodleDo, which allows folder-based project management - are pretty close (too bad that ToodleDo is shamefully ugly.) ToodleDo's iPhone app is $3.95, and it works quite well; ToDo is $9.95, the same as the Things app, and it syncs with both RTM or ToodleDo, or via Wifi with your desktop. I'm not saying that these are necessarily better than Things in all ways - but I do assert that they're more mature, and that it is Things' lack of maturity that is the reason it does not yet merit the accolades it is being given, and that merits a "buyer beware" at this point. I'd add that at the price for Things and the iPhone app, the bar is set very, very high. I'm not saying the product is too expensive - in fact, I'm all in favor of charging as much as the market will bear. But I believe that there's a disconnect between what people think they're getting and what they actually are. I'm also dismayed that Things recently removed their user forums from their website; again, at the price, offering such an area for comments and help - even if critical - seems near-obligatory, and it makes me suspicious. I like Things. A lot. It has the potential to be the best task manager available. But it has yet to live up to that potential, and with so many missing features at the premium we're being asked to pay, I can't possibly see it as anything more than a three-star app. Those fourth and fifth stars need to be -earned-, not offered for future promises and potential, which Things may or may not - and I hope it does - deliver. I urge anyone considering buying this to give the demo a hard, hard look.
Like (20)
Version 1.1.2

Read 228 Things User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
14 May 2019
I really don't get the enthusiasm for Things 3 in the comments below... It's a nice Todo list, that's all — ok, I'm not a power user and I don't need mobile sync. ;-) The Tags button has gone away, the sidebar distinction between projects and areas too, except for their icon. Things 1 and 2 were a bit clearer, I think, but Things (any version) lacks colours! Nothing beats the old Finder style underlining colours for making an item jump to your eye, whatever its position in the list. One nice feature is the dark mode, though. But for the price, I'd expect a lot more options (colours; may be varying colours from green to red when the due date becomes nearer, etc.) I haven't found a much better alternative and I think, all in all, that there's not a lot of imagination deployed in the Todos business... ;-)
Like
Version 3.9
forwardleaps
22 March 2019
For years I have tried to use something simple that allows me to organize my life. I tried omnifocus (way too complicated) , todoist (just ok), and things. Things is dependable, intuitive and simple—like all my best tools.
Like
Version 3.8.2
LeroyMorrison
02 May 2018
I have never really felt that I was able to organize my life as much as I can now that I use Things. Working 40+ hours a week and being a full time student means that my schedule is always busy. I used to put everything on my calendar but that just wasn't working as it made my calendar very cluttered and using that method didn't allow me to have access to any organizational features. Things has a beautiful and elegant user interface that I enjoy using. Its soft on the eyes and the animations throughout the app actually make you feel good completing your things that you have listed. I can't recommend this app enough and you won't regret using it.
Like (4)
Version 3.5.1
Winco
19 April 2018
Things 3 is just getting better and better with every update. Keep up the great work Devs!
Like (3)
Version 3.5
1 answer(s)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
01 June 2018
It’s such a good app! I love it so much!
Like (2)
Kerry-Dawson
09 January 2018
I can only leave Things a three as it is not cross platform *(Android) and unlike Ticktick is not anywhere nearly as intuitive. I love the clean fresh look but that's as far as it goes.
Like
Version 3.3
3 answer(s)
George6
George6
19 April 2018
Ticktick has two reviews, one by him. Most likely this is a self-promotion.
Like (2)
Raddle
Raddle
09 August 2018
@George6 Need to be careful about throwing accusations like that around. I agree with this review, and I'm not a shill. TickTick is a great app.
Like
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
13 December 2018
TickTick is actually very good it has replaced Things for me, Things is far to expensive for a ToDo List app. I used Things from its first version until recently though I stuck with v2. TickTick is as good if not better and quite a bit cheaper
Like
awjvdh
15 September 2017
Hi everybody! Not so much a comment or review, but a question. I'm thinking of buying Things 3 because of the simple and beautiful design. However, as a GTD fan I'm missing out on one basic feature: delegation (i.e. the "waiting for" status in GTD speak). How does one use Things in order to assign a to-do to someone else, or give it a delegated status until a certain condition is met (when there aren't any contacts involved)?
Like
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
20 August 2018
Usually, people would say you should just make a Tag called "waiting". That said, to be honest, I was never a big fan of David Allen's "waiting"-context. I prefer to rethink waiting stuff as actions: instead of "get book from xy", I rephrase it into an action: "if book from xy not received, write e-mail to remind" and set a date which I consider the deadline for the other person to act (before I remind her/him).
Like (1)
Winco
29 August 2017
People need to get over the upgrade policy issue and move on. Yes it galled me when I had to invest (note I use the word 'invest') more $$ but believe me, it was/is worth it. Truly. The experience is so much better. Things 3 is miles better and useful than Things 2.

Additionally, I have experienced excellent technical support with (understandably) a few bugs in the earlier versions of Things 3 e.g. 3.0.1. What does one expect with a completely new version? The key is how Cultured Code dealt with these issues and communicated with their customer base. So far, they have been excellent. I have had the same customer service person liaise with me keeping me informed of bug fixes and workarounds which was very reassuring.

Both the Mac OS and iOS versions perform brilliantly now. Well done Cultured Code. I highly recommend you trial this todo/getting things done/productivity platform. Then make your decision to purchase or not.

Like (2)
Version 3.1.4
Winco
06 July 2017
Getting better all the time. Updates with refinements and bug fixes being worked on and released regularly.for MacOS and iOS.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Deibel
06 July 2017
For me, Things 3 is a major step from version 2. The clear interface and date/time reminders alone convinced me -- but there is more, and the very fast sync between Mac and mobile was already outstanding before. Therefore, I came back from 2do which I also liked a lot. This is very well made software, and considering that cultured code charges for new versions only every few years (maybe 5 or so), I believe the price for all versions to be more than fair. For me, Things 3 is the best combination of intuitive interface and power "under the hood".
Like (4)
Version 3.1
Aeschylus
03 June 2017
Warning - when you "Import" reminders from the native Apple Reminders app, Things removes these reminders from all your connected iCloud devices. There seems to be no way to get them back. This is really not right, and I've given up using Things because of this.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.3
dwp-1
28 May 2017
An update from my previous comment. After using Things 3 for the past few days. I do believe I am more productive. I believed in my previous comment I jumped to conclusion before thoroughly using the application and not giving it a true test. At the moment I am using Things 3 as my primary to do list/manager and each day I learn more about the Things on macOS & iOS and like it better. I absolutely love the importing of reminders using Siri, I forget most everything unless I write it down and dictating to Siri is very helpful. ** Thus far, I am very pleased with my purchases of all 3 versions and look forward to see how Cultured Code implements improved functionality in the future **
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
02 June 2017
You're comment reflects perfectly how I feel about the new version of Things.
Like
Winco
23 May 2017
Excellent update from V2 to V3 and about time too! Some much needed improvements to the look, feel and functionality. I won't bother listing all the brand new features but just to say go a check them out. It is worth the money (inc 20% discount) upgrading MacOS and iOS to be more productive and organised with V3. As for some of the comments listed here, it would appear some people know the price of everything and the value of nothing. ;-)
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
Frodo-life
22 May 2017
no upgrade policy for loyal long-term customs who stuck by them when for years they had no cloud syncing and it was delayed and delayed. 20% discount for everyone??? Nearly $AU70 for the update then I'm supposed to update my iOS version for another $12.99 No thanks

Downloaded demo and don't find new flat design super appealing Things window get's lost between all the other flat stuff so will be sticking with old version
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
itabmedia
21 May 2017
Paying 65-80$ for a suite of eye candy...Overall this is not much of an improvement over the last version IMO. There is still the same greedy pricing model essentially charging you 1.5 times more for the iPad version. Only reason this is not a universal app, is money. I don't see this scheme much anymore thankfully. Some nice additions and a wonderful interface but that is about it on additions. The biggest issue with this software is the lack of real integration with Apple reminders and calendar. You essentially have to use one or the other as far as reminders go. As for calendar, it's nice seeing entries within Things 3, but you can't edit or interact with these. If the app were able to synch back and forth with Reminders and Calendar, I might use Things 3. This app is basically a simplistic task list with a very pretty interface...For 65-80$!!
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
4 answer(s)
Winco
Winco
29 August 2017
itabmedia - seriously! Have you really spent time evaluating Things 3 to compare against Things 2? Sure, we all have our own opinion but I seriously doubt you have taken time to fully or even part evaluate V3 based on your comments. Please try again and I'm confident you will see a massive difference .
it does integrate really well with Apple Calendar and Reminders. It now has far more improved than just a pretty interface, although this too has improved.

It's not just eye candy. Give it a go again. A real go and then post your update. I bet you will be more positive this time around.
Like
Phreek
Phreek
14 February 2018
I totally agree. Probably the best looking task management app out there, but hasn't introduced a lot new features (although they worked several years on that version). It is a nice app, but is ages behind the competitors (Omnifocus, 2DO, ...).
Like
Winco
Winco
14 February 2018
Phreek - ..." It is a nice app, but is ages behind the competitors"... Is it? Why? What makes it "ages behind the competitors"? If it is a nice app, it can't be ages behind the competitors can it otherwise it would become a bad app!
Like
Phreek
Phreek
02 March 2018
@Winco - You are right! I forgot to add nice LOOKING app :-) I really like the UI but function wise, it is way behind 2DO, Omnifocus etc. I know, for some people Things will be totally sufficient, but for me, there is always something important missing. I really want to like this app and that's why I always come back and check it out again (since beta 0.8), but it is never enough. Also the problem is, that development is really slow and you never know what features are planned.
Like
bin104
21 May 2017
OK culturedcode, 20% off for everybody. I probably should wait for Omni Focus 3 to see what they offer. Omni Focus is currently version 2.9.1. By the way, I am also a long term loyal customer of Things.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
dwp-1
20 May 2017
After trying & purchasing most every To-Do app out there, I settled on 2Do and have loved it's functionality for a couple years. However, I like bling and 2Do isn't about bling it is about getting things done and it work, well! I purchased Things 3, already own Things 2. Disappointed at the lack of a real upgrade policy. Basically everyone is getting 20% off, forget the unloyal owners of version 2, they get the same 2% as everyone else. I am giving Things 3 a try anyway. I am having a difficult time with the way Things handles repeating to-do's as per version 2 did. Not even a key combo to add a new repeating to-do. Come'on, guys, how many years have you had to make repeating to-do's work in the workflow of Things 3? Alerts, another poor implementation with very few options. These 2 poorly designed features alone has almost made me want to give up already and go back to 2Do. Which BTW **easily** handles alerts and repeating to-do's. Then there is the limiting cloud services offered, oh, one right? Sad! **Very disappointed in Culture Code" but al least you have my money, enjoy it because sales could be low. I am not trying to be mean but you aren't much completion for the other to-do apps. You do not have **one** great/new feature that would differentiate you from the others to-do apps and make people want to use your app, you are just another mediocre app in the world of to-do apps. All said, I do wish you much luck and I hope you prove me wrong. It is not often that I right.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
pettifogger0712
19 May 2017
No upgrade path from v.2...pass.... :-(
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
SunWolf
19 May 2017
Their upgrade policy punishes loyal customers: I own a license for years, but now, since they decided to sell Things just via the App Store, you ned to buy it anew. No way I'll do that. Have a look at OmniFocus. I can't compare it with Things 3, but it is way better than Things 2. Time to switch. Three stars for the app, 0 for their customer loyalty program, so an average of 1.5.
Like (8)
Version 3.0.1
6 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
20 May 2017
yah truly punishes loyal customers and there were a few missing features since the old version. GOnna stick with Todoist for now
Like (1)
Gazman
Gazman
20 May 2017
I'm going to say they are offering 20% off at the moment, which isn't much, and they also have a free trial you can download from their website. I own both Things 1 & 2, but frustrated by lack of progress I switched to 2Do. However, I am so impressed by the new Things, I think it has the best UI of any task management app I've ever used, that I'm now switching back. It was years ago I purchased Things, so in comparison to a a subscription-based service like Todoist I really think I've got good value out of my purchases of Things.
Like (4)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
21 May 2017
Sorry I don't agree. Things has got free updates since 2008. Come on developers also need to eat. Are you working for free ?

I don't understand why they moved to MAS only, but at least you now have the 20% discount for one week.

I also have OmniFocus both on iOS and macOS but never got used to it and keep coming back to Things. Fr some lists I also use Wunderlist and Due (for reminders only)
Like (6)
Macd
Macd
05 June 2017
As a long-time OmniFocus user, I actually just jumped the ship and can't be happier. OmniFocus constant issues with pushing updates between devices, rather non-lickable UI, and did I mention flaky sync between devices?…, which is a MUST in our digital world - let's just say you probably don't want to switch to OmniFocus. Especially considering the price of this jump doesn't really differ that much from buying Things 3. So just my 2 cents.
Like (2)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
13 April 2018
It merely means that you don't need it enough to value the development effort. Has nothing to do with being loyal.
Like
Broz
Broz
25 July 2018
I have earlier versions, and can kinda justify the $50 for the macOS version, BUT add on the cost for the iPhone version AND the iPad version, and this is just too much money. $80 all in? If my days were packed with stuff to do and get done, the price might be justified. I do love the UI!
Like
Mhoutman
19 May 2017
Awesome implementation of a long existing app. Love it both on iOS and macOS and for me so much better to understand than OmniFocus. Note: I was beta tester and knew what to expect, but for me it a great delivery.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
OhEssex
19 May 2017
I looked everywhere on their website and there is no mention of any syncing alternatives to their own Things Cloud. Anybody know if iCloud or local wifi syncing is an option? I am opposed to being data mined for profit and targeted advertising.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
21 May 2017
The developers just confirmed that Things Cloud is the *only* sync service they offer :-(.
Like
Rochade
18 May 2017
Well, what should I say: I really liked the Cultured Code products (first XyleScope then Things) but I don't like cloud services as the only option to sync data. I left Things many months ago because of this and moved over to 2Do which syncs perfectly with caldav (using owncloud).
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
TCalhau
18 May 2017
The best GTD App I've ever used! I LOVE!
Like
Version 2.8.12
Jan-rybar
26 April 2017
Dead app. No development for several years, only micro-updates. It used to be a great app. What a pity.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.12
1 answer(s)
mostlyjack
mostlyjack
08 May 2017
True! But they did announce that after some 4-6 years of development the next iteration (version 3) will finally by launched on May 18th. I would not purchase this version now. Version 3 will be a paid-for update for all platforms with a 20% discount for the initial launch.
Like
eraddio
25 April 2017
Among other tasking apps I decided to stay with Things as I like its structure the most. It is well-built and clear for me. This helps me to perform my to-do list as fast as possible. The interface is perfect. Thumbs up!
Like (1)
Version 2.8.12
Sonnendeck
15 April 2017
After 7 years of using Things I switched to "2Do", which has lots of important features that I always missed.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.11
1 answer(s)
dwp-1
dwp-1
20 May 2017
2Do is a such an underrated application, unbeatable in features.
Like
Creidenouer
03 April 2017
Disappointed in it's lack of development. Feel there was more promised. Switched to omnifocus over a year ago and have not looked back. Too bad, b/c I had appreciated the UI of this and really wanted to like it.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.11
Mindplay
17 February 2017
Mostly nice but lacking basic features like calendar integration, due time, and overall cannot think of a todo application taking more time than a whole operating system to update. The application is really really good at what it does, but missing features and a forever-long list of invisible bugfix updates make it frustrating to me to stick to. I think developers are taking themselves way too seriously... It's a todo app... a private beta lasting how much is that, months?? years?? can't tell... but makes little sense.
Like
Version 2.8.9
Rochade
30 September 2016
Again I tried out Things. It was my first choice before I switched to 2Do many months ago. But I instantly returned back to 2Do especially for one main reason: sync. I don't want to be bound to any custom sync service. I want to be able to access my tasks even I don't have my mac or iDevice with me. With 2Do I can use my existing owncloud installation (using webcal) and access my task list from everywhere. I also can set what calendars (or lists) to share with others. I simply can't see any reason why to not use the webcal protocol for sync. If Things will support it, I may consider switching back again. If not, I stay with 2Do.
Like
Version 2.8.8
Odysseus
18 September 2016
When can we hope for Things 3.0? It's wonderful that they've updated Things 2 for Sierra, but the program itself has changed very little over the past several years.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.7
jpl373
15 March 2015
Time for my annual trial of other task management apps. I just tried 2Do, and I noticed one important feature that Things has that 2Do does not. Specifically, when I create a task using quick entry, i can select an email, contact, file, url, etc., and a link to that email, contact, file, url is included as part of the new task. That obviously saves a lot of time when picking a task back up. Also, it seems to me that more applications integrate with Things than any other, in terms of creating quick entries from other applications.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.3
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
29 September 2016
The Hit List also has this feature.
Like
Winco
09 February 2015
I previously have left a 4.5 star review of Things but feel it has not developed refinement for sometime. Key issues still not resolved is UNDO functionality and syncing with REMINDERS. The latter is key if you have other apps that do link/sync with Apple's todo functionality such as BusyCal, etc. This makes Things a very much standalone app. A very good standalone app I may add.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.2
Winco
09 February 2015
I previously have left a 4.5 star review of Things but feel it has not developed refinement for sometime. Key issues still not resolved is UNDO functionality and syncing with REMINDERS. The latter is key if you have other apps that do link/sync with Apple's todo functionality such as BusyCal, etc. This makes Things a very much standalone app. A very good standalone app I may add.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.2
minimal-blue-sky
03 February 2015
Great app. I use it almost daily.
Like
Version 2.5.2
trickyboy
01 February 2015
They claim to be a GTD app, and they don't even have a "Waiting for" list.
And this feature has been asked since 092010 ( see https://culturedcode.com/forums/read.php?7,33221 ), so even more serious, they don't mind their users.
Just forget this app.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.2
2 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
02 February 2015
Umm… Actually there is… Just assign contacts to "waiting for" actions (a.k.a. delegated actions), and there you go. Your "waiting for" list you'll find in the sidebar, it's called "Contacts", sorted by people/companies. You can also schedule those delegated actions, which is a great way to keep track ("review waiting list", tickler file). In my opinion, those delegated-actions are in Things nicely solved, much better than in most other apps. Here the Things-Guide: http://support.culturedcode.com/customer/portal/articles/174789-using-contacts

Maybe it helps if you just stop "thinking in lists" to understand the beauty of Things – I know that's confusing for some in the beginning, but in ultimately it'll help your productivity. GTD was written in 2001 for a pen and paper / Palm -work environment, and while many GTD-apps (OmniFocus, TheHitList, etc.) still use the list-concept, Things offers a different, more "digital" approach to the GTD-methodology without static lists. It's actually a five-star app…
Like (7)
awjvdh
awjvdh
15 September 2017
Agree with trickyboy. I've sent CC exactly the same feedback in 2014, and this was their response back then. I leave it to you whether (or not) this offers a solution.

NOV 12, 2014 | 01:41PM CET
Julia (Cultured Code) replied:
Hi Alex,

Thanks for getting in touch! We recommend using the tag “waiting for”, for example, to indicate that a to-do is dependent on someone else. By using a tag, you can apply this “status” on any to-do in any list, any project, or any area without taking the task out of context.

Tags can be searched for across the entire app if you want to see all delegated or “waiting” to-dos at once, or you can filter for them in a given list and focus on them exclusively.

If you create a shortcut for a tag, you can apply it quickly to to-dos without even having to open them (on the Mac). To do this, open the tag window. At the end of a tag’s row, double-click to reveal a text field and press a key and hit Return. Now, if you select multiple to-dos and press that shortcut key, the tag will be applied to all of the to-dos.

Julia.
Things Support
Cultured Code
Like
Anon-Bud
26 December 2014
The only thing that keeps this from getting five stars is the inability to add subtasks. Otherwise, Things is hands-down the best task management app out there. And the syncing is heads above the rest!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Stormchild
31 October 2014
Still no undo support. Unacceptable. Deleted immediately.
Like (7)
Version 2.5
Aargl
18 October 2014
I'm still using Things 1.5.6 on OS 10.9.5 and don't need any sync feature so, each time I try the latest version to date, I'm amazed how little changes were made across all versions (as many people said before me). Only icons, it seems. Well, as another user said, I'm too lazy to port all the data over to a new app, and all in all, Things does what I want (except for undos). There's also a good reason for sticking to version 1: I put the library in the Shared folder and can use it on OS 10.6 or 10.9. And if I ever need to go back to my PPC Mac, I can edit the library to make it compatible with version 1.4.7. ;-)
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Dorpjeman
14 September 2014
This is a very useful application, and it's extremely intuitive and easy to use. It also synchronizes very well between OS X and iOS. It's adaptable so it can be used as a relatively simple task manager or as a more complex system. It's use creates very little friction, so one spends less time managing tasks and more time getting them done.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Rocket9887
15 April 2014
Warning: Things for Mac, iPhone and iPad does not function as advertised for customers based in China. There is no warning from the company about the product not working in China so customers cannot make an informed decision before purchase. No fix is being made available and no refund is offered. What is the issue? You need to sync Things along your Mac - iPad - iPhone devices to let it work properly. With the release of Things2 a "cloud sync" feature is implemented and the lan wifi sync feature is disabled. The cloud sync feature does not work in China. Customers cannot use the lan wifi sync as an alternative. Hence Things cannot be synced across devices and is therefore rendered pretty much useless in China. The company responded to my product complaint with “apologies for any confusion our product description may have caused”, which is very kind but does not address the issue that China customers have US$ 90 worth of products sitting on their devices that don’t work in China (US$ 50 for the Mac version, and US$ 20 for the iPhone and iPad versions in case you bought all three). Hope this information helps customers make an informed purchase decision before moving to or while living in China. Cheers PS - I have invited Cultured Code to respond to this post.
Like (12)
Version 2.2.5
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
21 December 2014
A somewhat related issue to yours is that Things does not sync using Apple's iCloud system, instead relying on CulturedCode's own proprietary sync method on their own servers. Thus if CulturedCode goes bust then users will no longer be able to sync Things - even if Things continues to work on new OS versions.

I also wonder if CulturedCode's servers are as secure as Apple's. Along with syncing ability in China, an option for WLAN syncing could enable greater security, although I do understand why the developers would choose not to attempt to master two different forms of sync behavior in Things - even one sync method is too much for some developers with far more resources than CC.
Like
Cookie08
09 December 2013
Why can they not implement alerts in the app on all platforms. Everybody else can manage this with no reminder notifications the app is not very useful Todo Pro works in a very similar interface all alarms work so you can at least be reminded if a meeting or something is coming up it also has a great iPhone app sync is just as good. Until the alarms are implemented the app is less than useful Cheers
Like (7)
Version 2.2.4
2 answer(s)
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
21 December 2013
Yes, alarms would very helpful and important!!
Like (2)
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
04 March 2014
Not just alarms, but with snooze, and not just any snooze, but snooze like MS Outlook for Mac, which is the best snooze available on any platform! In my opinion, none of these task management programs are useful at all without snooze.
Like (2)
YalitaS4648
05 November 2013
Just like it, and worth recommendation! Nice Job!
Like
Version 2.2.3
anonymous-deer-2515
02 November 2013
I use Things on both OS X and iOS. The application is reasonably flexible in how the the information can be structured. The interface and actions are efficient and fast. The desktop to iOS synchronization is reliable. This application is worth anyone's consideration as a personal task manager. However, there are still areas where the product can be improved: 1. UNDO. Actions can be so efficient and fast that mistakes are made; and, you miss what actually happened. While items are retained (not lost) in the log and trash ... an UNDO of the last N actions would be a time saver. 2. DAILY REVIEW TAGS. Tags should also show in the Daily Review section. 3. CONTACTS/DELEGATION. The iOS version should support the use of contact for tracking delegation to contacts similar to the laptop version. 4. PROJECTS IN AREAS. Project should also be able to be associated to and viewed under areas of responsibilities. Right now Projects and Areas are mutually exclusive. For example a "Home Maintenance" Area of Responsibility might have and Exterior Paint Project and a Re-Landscape project.
Like (5)
Version 2.2.2
Kenbotwinick
10 October 2013
I love how in the latest version if you delete something by accident you can get it back by Undo... Oh, wait... You actually can't. Epic fail... I'm sure they'll fix this in their next update 7 years from now.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.1
10 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
24 October 2013
Next update appears to be today, two weeks later. Can you confirm if this bug is still there?
Like
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
24 October 2013
Of course the bug is still there... And by "update", I didn't mean some pissant, meaningless, "2 bullet item release note", "feeding you with an empty spoon", "whole bunch of nothing" "update" like this one... I meant a substantive, meaningful UPDATE that actually fixes issues that have existed for 6+ months, or adds functionality that has been requested for YEARS. That's an update....
Like (1)
Islandmike
Islandmike
25 October 2013
I don't use Things -- but I bought it a long time ago and still have it in my applications. Can't you just get the deleted item out of the Things trash? When I bring up the program, put in a test item, delete it -- it is in the trash and can be pulled out back of the trash to wherever you want it.
Like (1)
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
26 October 2013
IslandMike, it's actually the case that "delete" is not the problem so much as the lack of a robust "undo" system. If you expand a task, accidentally change/delete the title, and then click out of the task, that title is gone. No undo. No undo for screwing up/deleting tags. No undo for pretty much anything at all... That's the problem.
Like (1)
Islandmike
Islandmike
26 October 2013
The Hit List has undo (at least the last 3 steps when I tested) even if you click out of the field -- have you looked at that?
Like
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
27 October 2013
Yes, but thanks for trying to help... I constantly re-evaluate all of the solutions but come back to Things as the one that best fits my workflow. I require it's Applescript support for extensive customizations. But just because it's currently the best solution for me, doesn't mean I'm going to be complacent about it's defects. The lazy ass developers need to get off their ass and innovate at less than a glacially slow pace.
Like (2)
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
31 October 2013
This is an "update": https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/46259/2do. That company has innovated more in the past 6 months than Things has in 6 years. Let's hope it'll finally be good enough to let me leave Things in the dust.
Like (1)
JasonE
JasonE
04 November 2013
So, in other words, you are stumping for another competing product. Half a star for one feature with a bug? That is really constructive and helpful for others, not.
Like (1)
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
04 November 2013
Actually, what I'm doing is making a comparison to demonstrate the fact that before you buy this developer's product for $50.00 you might like to know that they don't actually "develop". For all intents and purposes this product is the exact same as when I started using it 6 years ago. When 1Password removed local wifi sync, people complained and they put it back. When these people removed local wifi sync, people complained, and they ignored them. When people say they'd really like to be able to "undo" like on, oh, I don't know, EVERY other pieces of software, they ignore them. They ignore all of the customers. They don't improve the product. They charge $50.00 for that. You've been warned. And that IS helpful to prospective buyers.
Like (3)
APBerlin
APBerlin
04 November 2013
I agree with Kenbotwinick here... Using Things since 1 or 2 years, and the development pace is very very slow, especially for the price tag. I just still use it because i paid for it, i prefer the native desktop app vs. web interfaces of other products and i'm too lazy to port all the data over to a new app. I wrote them in march this year asking about the lack of undo. They responded that can't estimate when they implement it... Quite surprising... As you point out, EVERY other app on my mac has that. It's pretty annoying—so essential. Would be a top priority to fix, but it's obviously not to them. Also the iOS app feels more and more dated. No use of gestures, the UI could be improved so much, everything takes 2 or more steps than it should (jumping from "today" to a project for example). Let's hope they have something coming up as they write in their blog: http://culturedcode.com/things/blog/2013/09/things-and-ios-7.html Thanks also for the link to "2Do", looks very good... maybe an alternative, if they continue to develop that slow. For any new customer of Things i'd seriously recommend to check alternatives before spending so much money on this product.
Like (1)
Mondele
27 July 2013
I got a copy of Things from MacHeist. I understand the developer not offering updates for a free program, but they've also decided that it "expires". Beware if you expect a program that you've purchased to remain yours.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Frankns
17 May 2013
I'm confused by the "Today" function. Seemingly, it should show all the items due ... today. But this doesn't appear to be the case. Items due in other "areas of responsibility" don't appear in my Daily Review/Today area on the day they are due. To see them, I have to navigate to their specific "areas." Twice now, I've missed due items because of this. On the other hand, I find Tags very helpful and they work well. The interface is clean and the iOS app is very useable.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Frankns
17 May 2013
I'm confused by the "Today" function. Seemingly, it should show all the items due ... today. But this doesn't appear to be the case. Items due in other "areas of responsibility" don't appear in my Daily Review/Today area on the day they are due. To see them, I have to navigate to their specific "areas." Twice now, I've missed due items because of this. On the other hand, I find Tags very helpful and they work well. The interface is clean and the iOS app is very useable.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Frankns
17 May 2013
I'm confused by the "Today" function. Seemingly, it should show all the items due ... today. But this doesn't appear to be the case. Items due in other "areas of responsibility" don't appear in my Daily Review/Today area on the day they are due. To see them, I have to navigate to their specific "areas." Twice now, I've missed due items because of this. On the other hand, I find Tags very helpful and they work well. The interface is clean and the iOS app is very useable.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Benzi
Benzi
04 June 2013
Most probably there is something wrong with your app itself, try to uninstall and reinstall it again. because the concept of "Today" in things is to show the due and overdue of all over your app, no matter tasks are placed in Area or projects...
Like
Frankns
17 May 2013
I'm confused by the "Today" function. Seemingly, it should show all the items due ... today. But this doesn't appear to be the case. Items due in other "areas of responsibility" don't appear in my Daily Review/Today area on the day they are due. To see them, I have to navigate to their specific "areas." Twice now, I've missed due items because of this. On the other hand, I find Tags very helpful and they work well. The interface is clean and the iOS app is very useable.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Frankns
17 May 2013
I'm confused by the "Today" function. Seemingly, it should show all the items due ... today. But this doesn't appear to be the case. Items due in other "areas of responsibility" don't appear in my Daily Review/Today area on the day they are due. To see them, I have to navigate to their specific "areas." Twice now, I've missed due items because of this. On the other hand, I find Tags very helpful and they work well. The interface is clean and the iOS app is very useable.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Dana-Sutton
25 January 2013
Things has a lot going for it. But it's got a couple of problems too. a.) Why doesn't it communicate with Apple's Notifications? b.) Why can't run in the background as a daemon with a badged menu icon, so that it doesn't have to be running in order to work (I don't like clutter in my Dock)? I think both of these features would make it more Mac-like.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1