Back to BetterZip Quick Look Generator page
BetterZip Quick Look Generator free download for Mac

BetterZip Quick Look Generator Reviews

1.6
13 February 2015

Lets you view the contents of compressed archives.

Fishscale
05 October 2010

Most helpful

Thank you, thank you, thank you! If your don't use this QL plugin your missing out, most QL plugins died on SL but this kept on kicking and now is even updated. The dev could have made this plugin only compatible with betterzip but allows even those who don't own betterzip to use it, and function fully. I would definitely thank the developer with a donation or buy betterzip or at least an email of appreciation. No I am not affiliated with the dev, I just think we should help the dev keep making our computers handle archives easier, taking less time, and a lot less headaches. Good mac software at a good price.
Like (5)
Version 1.2

Read 19 BetterZip Quick Look Generator User Reviews

Rate this app:

Virtualruffy
31 May 2018
For whatever reason macupdate doesn't show the direct download link. I prefer to not download through the apple store so here it is https://macitbetter.com/BetterZip.zip
Like
Version 1.6
Steve K
22 September 2016
Working great on El Capitan. Hope it works with Sierra when I upgrade soon. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.6
baxsur
13 February 2015
Great...Thanks!
Like
Version 1.6
Mdewakanton
17 December 2014
Can't get it to work on 10.6.8 (I logged out and in, restarted the Mac, reset Quick Look framework etc). I wonder if the issue lies with this bundle being created with Mavericks SDK. I did never use it before, so I can't say anything about previous versions.
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
17 December 2014
Too late for editing my post. I solved the issue moving to Trash the file /Users/me/Library/Caches/QCCompositionRepository-com.apple.QuickLookDaemon.cache. Now it works fine.
Like
CC933
CC933
25 December 2014
I also tried "everything" including resetting QL framework, clearing caches, deleting prefs, to make v. 1.5 work in Lion and couldn't.
I reinstalled v. 1.2
Like
sdcr
16 December 2014
New v1.5 stopped working on Mountain Lion (actually it worked once after just replaced the old v1.2 file, and stopped working at all after a quick look reset). 3 stars for now, meant to be 5.
Like
Version 1.5
pablomelo
16 December 2014
I really love it, but version 1.5 is not saving preferences under Mavericks 10.9.5. Four stars for now, five when fixed.
Like
Version 1.5
cubanpete
05 December 2014
Wow. A life save and a must-have. Thank you so much. Works on Mountain Lion 10.8.5 - tested with zip, rar, 7zip archives NOTE: Contrary to the instruction file I had no QuickLook folder in the Library. So I had to create a folder named QuickLook in /Library. Easy. Then I put the generator package there. Pressing tab on a selected archive worked right away. Try this method.
Like
Version 1.2
Theguy
21 October 2014
Is it just me, or has this groovy plugin stopped working in OS X 10.9.x ???
Like
Version 1.2
izeta
10 April 2013
Simple & lightweight and works with 10.8 MOuntain Lion
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Jimw
12 August 2012
Does not seem to work in Mountain Lion
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
12 August 2012
I take that back. Had a copy error when adding it to my library. Works fine. Sorry about that!
Like
RodrigoT7166
RodrigoT7166
04 December 2013
working perfect on mavericks 10.9
Like
Blamanche
17 June 2012
Big help! Thanks, I have had no problems. Does exactly what is says but I agree w/ Richtheone. Merci Beaucoup Fishscale!
Like
Version 1.2
rtheone
16 October 2011
The rows in the displayed list of files are too far apart (too much spacing). Only about 15 files can be seen in a standard view. I think the line density should be at least three times higher. Also, I really miss the ability to close and open folders hierarchically.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
31 December 2011
I don't know if this is what you want but I have found a modded version of this excellent quicklook plugin. By examining what this user did to modify the plugin you can probably make one that suits your needs. I prefer the old style but maybe some of you want everything to look lion... https://github.com/farfanoide/BetterZ-QuickLook-plugin-theme-for-Lion This plugin deserves much more than 1 1/2 stars. Do you know of any plugin that does anything close to this? I sure as heck don't. Be grateful for something, you could have nothing.
Like (2)
rtheone
16 October 2011
Invisible files are showing up in the list even if they are ticked off in the "Configuration" section of BetterZip!!! (The same thing goes for package contents.)
Like
Version 1.2
GeogProf
25 September 2011
Works with Lion AND 7-Zip, Woohoo! Thanks, developer!
Like
Version 1.2
Istra
18 August 2011
one word: fan-ta-stic!
Like
Version 1.2
Roro01
24 February 2011
The best of its kind
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Fishscale
05 October 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you! If your don't use this QL plugin your missing out, most QL plugins died on SL but this kept on kicking and now is even updated. The dev could have made this plugin only compatible with betterzip but allows even those who don't own betterzip to use it, and function fully. I would definitely thank the developer with a donation or buy betterzip or at least an email of appreciation. No I am not affiliated with the dev, I just think we should help the dev keep making our computers handle archives easier, taking less time, and a lot less headaches. Good mac software at a good price.
Like (5)
Version 1.2
BrentB
18 September 2010
Was great when it worked, but really needs to be updated. The list it displays is jumbled at the top, as shown in this pic: http://i47.tinypic.com/33degir.jpg
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Bruce-y
17 September 2008
Just gave this a whirl - Wow! Cool add-on for QuickLook! Great work Robert Rezabek. Fabulously handy to see quickly what files are inside the zip (etc) without having to actually decompress the whole archive. Apple should license this from developer! (with appropriate compensation) . (Now if only Apple would provide similar quicklook into pkg files...) One suggestion for BZQLG (minor): allow column width adjustment, if possible. I had already been a registered user of BetterZip, but had been on Tiger/PPC so never had a chance till recently to even check this out. IMO it's a must-have for any who work with lots of downloads or archiving data in zip format. Well, at least for major-geek-types (like moi) ;-)
Like (1)
Version 1.1