Back to OmniFocus page
OmniFocus free download for Mac

OmniFocus Reviews

3.4.4
07 November 2019

GTD task manager with iOS companion app.

chongo
18 August 2019

Most helpful

I have found OmniFocus to be amazingly useful. OmniFocus is expert friendly. OmniFocus gives you a number of ways to do something so YOU decide what subset of features you need to use. HINT: You don't have to use every OmniFocus feature. Pick a subset. Even the most basic can be very useful. If your set of task management grows, OmniFocus has the features that will allow handle the growth. This is why I use the term "Expert Friendly". Unlike apps such as Todoist, OmniFocus can start simple, and grow with you as your needs grow. If you are starting out managing tasks, don't overdo it. A hyper-organized list of tasks will NOT make it easier to get them done. Start simple. Finish simple tasks. When over time, your set of tasks grow, consider adding a OmniFocus feature or two. Last, put this app front and center on your Desktop, smart phone, and tablets. Schedule tasks for dates in the future. Check on your list on a daily basis to start. If your day is too busy, reschedule tasks to a later date (life happens, this is normal). When you DO finish a task, give yourself a sense of enjoyment marking that task as done. Even saying to yourself "yay" as you check it off helps. Enjoy!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2

Read 87 OmniFocus User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bumbleb
10 November 2019
After having used Things 3 for a year, I've switched to OmniFocus. I've used previous versions of both apps for many years. Things 3 fails in key areas: 1. No way to easily see which tasks are due and overdue. Things 2 had a switch for that, but 3 doesn't. Major omission. 2. Cultured Code never listens to user feedback, let alone entice communication with their users. OmniGroup on the other hand offers EXCELLENT, attentive support AND listens to their users/customers. 3. Things has no way to save searches. This is particularly problematic since it doesn't has tabs either. Whenever you switch view from f.e. a tag-filtered Today view, to some project, and back again: your Today view is no longer filtered by that/those tag(s): it's back to its default view of everything. OmniFocus on the other hand, has Perspectives, which is like "saved searches on steroids". Immensely useful! One click, and you see your tasks from the exact perspective – filtered exactly like you've configured it. 4. Things 3's sections/headers were a nice, welcome addition to Things 2. But compared to OmniFocus' true, fantastic outlining capabilities: their usefulness is very very small. You can't collapse them, to create a less cluttered view. You can't search for them. They don't do anything else than visually divide your task list into sections. 5. OmniFocus has attachments. Even audio files. Things 3 has none of that. 6. Things 3 dumbed-down their "start-date" feature. And it's not as powerful for postponing projects, as OmniFocus' "defer-dates" feature is. 7. "next actions" in Things 3 is as bad an implementation as it was in Things 2. In OmniFocus, you have true dependencies. Projects can be set as "sequential" – and you'll only see the next action in your action lists. This is HUGE! If you have complete a given client project before you can invoice it, there's no reason that the "send invoice for the project" shows up in your list of admin-work to do. In Things it will. Things is "dumb" that way. Overall, in Things I end up with way too many tasks in the Today view, because everything I don't wanna forget ends up going there. But the result is a constant list of 50-100 tasks in "Today". OmniFocus lets me prioritize and FILTER much better – and more consistently. And OmniGroup is really, IMO, such a cool company worth supporting. For us long-time Mac users, they're one of those developers who has stuck with the Mac, listens to their customers, and develop unique applications that you just KNOW WORKS.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.4
chongo
18 August 2019
I have found OmniFocus to be amazingly useful. OmniFocus is expert friendly. OmniFocus gives you a number of ways to do something so YOU decide what subset of features you need to use. HINT: You don't have to use every OmniFocus feature. Pick a subset. Even the most basic can be very useful. If your set of task management grows, OmniFocus has the features that will allow handle the growth. This is why I use the term "Expert Friendly". Unlike apps such as Todoist, OmniFocus can start simple, and grow with you as your needs grow. If you are starting out managing tasks, don't overdo it. A hyper-organized list of tasks will NOT make it easier to get them done. Start simple. Finish simple tasks. When over time, your set of tasks grow, consider adding a OmniFocus feature or two. Last, put this app front and center on your Desktop, smart phone, and tablets. Schedule tasks for dates in the future. Check on your list on a daily basis to start. If your day is too busy, reschedule tasks to a later date (life happens, this is normal). When you DO finish a task, give yourself a sense of enjoyment marking that task as done. Even saying to yourself "yay" as you check it off helps. Enjoy!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
Detlevski
06 April 2019
So the OmniGroup is preparing their users for a subscription based service?
I don't need the webbased app and certainly don't need the $10 a month subscription to access a web function I don't need. I have paid way way too much for the Pro version on iPad, iPhone and Mac. I guess if they force their users to a subscription it is goodbye for me. Over the years I have probably paid over 300 dollars to keep OF current on all my devices.

I think I am not alone in this trend. for years I have bought more and more software and since the last year I find myself deleting more and more apps I hardly use. The subscription model has taken it's toll on me. I am in the process of dumping most of my subscription model based software. Things here I come ...

In the end there is only one solution to the subscription based software. Don't subscribe!
Like (8)
Version 3.3
5 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
08 May 2019
YES, you're not alone.
90% of us will never ever become zombies of paying for a "service". Other developers who're planning to take an easy way to Richies, take a note.
Like (2)
gryphonent
gryphonent
28 May 2019
With you all the way. Might switch to ToDoIst
Like (2)
zlazkow
zlazkow
29 May 2019
yes, screw them.
Like (2)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
10 November 2019
Take my word for it: Todoist SUCKS bigtime. If you sort a list by due date, priority or whatever: the task order you manually created is lost. And their underlying database tech is HORRIBLE. There's big potential for all your tasks ending up all jumbled up. It happened for me both periods I used Todoist, even though spaced by a year.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.4
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
10 November 2019
And OmniFocus is certainly not prescription-only. You can buy as you've always been able to do!
Like
Version 3.4.4
Svenster
05 April 2019
After spending years attempting to acquire specific Omni products, I recently managed to install the pro versions of two iOS and OS X Omni Apps just a month ago. Today Omni announced that if I want access to any new functions I will have to subscribe to the tune of $200 AUD a year for just one App! Such a disappointment! That’s the end of the Omni Ride for me… Just recently I rediscovered TickTick. So once again I’m going to have to spend months transferring all that data in to an other Application! So much for technology saving you time! Not Happy Jan!!!
Like (3)
Version 3.3
Scott-C-H-
13 April 2018
I used OmniFocus quite extensively for a few years. I was a fan in the beginning, but the more I used it, the more I felt like it was the kind of app that created a bunch of maintenance busywork. The UI feels busy. It takes a bunch of tutorials to figure out how to use it effectively. It's fiddly with a bunch of menu items and checkboxes to configure each entry. It's a tail-wagging app that requires a lot of your attention. I got tired of using it at some point. In my case, I found Todoist to be more flexible, cleaner UI, and minimalistic, all of which I strongly prefer, and it's what I happily use now. Besides, I found that the best way to manage tasks is not to over-track tasks and have less sh!t to do. I found that OmniFocus tended to make me overthink task management with all kinds of bells and whistles, and it made me want to add more and more.
Like (7)
Version 2.12.2
1 answer(s)
cig0
cig0
05 January 2019
My very same feelings. It was hard to accept that I'd literally lost much of my initial investment when I decided to look for an alternative instead upgrading to version 3 because of the exact points you make.
I eventually settled with Things 3 which, while not the ultimate task management solution (i.e. I'd like to see a more robust calendar management), it's dead-simple yet quite powerful to help manage your stuff while admirably staying out of the way.
A total personal choice, for sure =)
Like (2)
dwp-1
06 March 2018
If you are supposed to use due dates only for items that need to be done by the due date and set up your tasks using the deferred date, why don't they show up in the forecast view when the defer date arrives? This baffles the hell out of me. I don't get how this can be used as anything other than a project manager at best.
Like (2)
Version 2.12
Kerry-Dawson
09 January 2018
I was going to give this a 3 since it its not cross platform (Android) AND myopia dominates what is supposed to be an advanced tech company. They are not advanced in their thinking at all. Unfortunately. I like the program and am giving the system a 4 only because a third party has done a Omnifoucs app for Android. However, that it takes a third party and the idiots at Omni run it down, There are some great cross platform task managers that are more powerful than Omni suvch as 2do but Im going to give them a 4 as it's a system that allows you to get you tasks in fast but in some ways too fast as some people go way overboard on the . task entry portion and don't work on getting anything done.
Like
Version 2.11.2
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
21 March 2018
I suggest not calling folks "idiots" in a public forum. Like you, the folks at Omni work hard and must deal with the real world. It may be that an Android version is simply not feasible in their circumstances.

Thank you.
Like (8)
hugelshofer
19 October 2017
I just contacted OmniFocus Support via eMail because I need some answers concerning ongoing El Capitan Support. Normally I don't 'really read' those auto-responder eMails form any ticketing-System. But that one did catch my attention. The guys at OmniGroup definitely play in a Pro league. Ich ziehe meinen Hut. #respect __________________________ sidenote: OmniFocus 2.9.1 is rock solid on El Capitan — there be dragons at High Sierra
Like (1)
Version 2.11.1
SunWolf
29 April 2017
I used Things for quite a while until I switched to OmniFocus. OF is so much more powerful, better interface and more user friendly. Since OF is even cheaper, I do see not see any reason why anyone should get Things. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.9
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
02 May 2017
Things 3 is just around the corner …
Like
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
19 October 2017
well, this was definitely true until Things 3 changed everything.
I am a longtime GTD User of both systems (business & private life) and had purchased almost all versions (Mac, iPad, iPhone) for both Apps — since the days when OmniFocus 0.x started in Alpha state.

I used OF mainly on my iPad until they killed their best version ever. As for OF2 I do need OF2 on my Mac to do the heavy lifting. I need it, but I don't love that piece of Software. That said, I really love the iPhone version (albeit I don't use it a lot since I am mostly on fixed places where I cary my iPad with me.)

I just found out today that OmniGroup dropped Support for OS X El Capitan. As a SysAdmin I know why I only deploy the PRO version of any new macOS System at the point when it is stable (and annoying bugs have been fixed).
• OS X Lion was crap
• OS X Yosemite a joke
• macOS Sierra for Apple Fanboys
• macOS High Sierra not ready to deploy for productive Systems
—> El Capitan still the best for now and supported till summer 2018.

Whats my point? OF 2 feels very outdated compared to the new Things 3. thats OK for me. But dropping Support for the best macOS (Apple ever built) when Apple is still supporting it ...!?!

@OmniGroup: that is NOT OK.
Like
ANDRESson
07 October 2016
OmniFocus is a good tool for planning and managing daily tasks. Good-looking interface, easy to install. Bugs fixed and it works nice with Mac OS Sierra.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
Radus
02 August 2016
was great when apple was the only System usable, but meanwhile there is Windows 10 and Linux .. and better PC Hardware with Ink and touch ... when you want to use different Systems there is Wunderlist the better one
Like
Version 2.6.1
1 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
19 October 2017
this is comparing Apples with all kind of flying fruits ...
Like
Simply the best GTD app out there for Mac. I've tried so many (Things, Todoist, The Hit List, etc.) and always come back to OmniFocus.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
01 August 2016
But it's useless for teams, isn't it?
Like
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
01 August 2016
Depends how you use it. If I require something for a bigger project, I use OmniPlan.
Like (2)
MePx
23 October 2015
I was an OF user from 1.x through 2.x, including their iPhone and iPad apps. Frustrated with the change in the Mac UI in 2.x, the continued lack of support for tags, and the inability to share lists with others, I went first to Asana, then Todoist, and now Wunderlist. Things I discounted early on as not sufficient for my needs. Wunderlist has limitations in terms of specificity with due dates and viewing subtasks, but its UI is clean, offers tag support, and lists can be shared instantly. So far it's my favorite of the bunch, though I understand todo lists are a personal thing. That said, if OF could update to bring the folder panel back at all times (for dragging and dropping tasks quickly from the Inbox), support for tags, and allow list sharing, I would quiet easily return to it.
Like (5)
Version 2.2.5
JohnF1664
31 July 2015
Best GTD software ever. I love the hierarchical lists
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
cjred
28 March 2015
Nothing to say..It's a full GTD app! having tried Things, Todoist and Wunderlist, I settled with OmniFocus because of the customizable workflow, start dates etc. I just hope syncing will be the same as Things, Todoist and Wunderlist which is very very solid!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Protenge
22 March 2015
About the attachment, it doesn't work between my Desktop and iPhone or iPad. Why?? There is few videos to teach us how it works.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Macbookpro
20 February 2015
OmniFocus 2.1 is out. Go to Check for Updates in app. Developer states: OmniFocus 2.1 is the first of several planned OmniFocus releases in 2015. It features a new look and new features for OS X Yosemite, as well as a few bug fixes. The file format and syncing remain compatible with all previous versions of OmniFocus, on Mac and iOS. OmniFocus 2.1 requires Mac OS X 10.10 or higher.
Like
Version 2.0.4
dwp-1
14 January 2015
I've purchased every major to do list out there from the simple to the advance. Including The Hit List, Things, Clear, To Do Cloud, Wunderlist and OmniFocus. Finally I have come to the realization that the best application for GTD or a To Do list is subjective. What application works wonders for one, is despised by another. I have physically spent hours upon hours transferring data from one application to another because I like some new feature or the looks of the application. Only to find out that it is missing a feature I needed and end up back with the original application. ### Somehow I always end up back at OmniFocus but that would change if the location services on some iOS app's worked better or didn't drain your battery. ### > Anyone looking for a beta tester for their next big release let me know, I am still looking for the perfect application and I use it hard and daily.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
Essadee
29 July 2014
Best-in-class software for GTD.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.2
4 answer(s)
Ozron
Ozron
02 October 2014
Tell us why. That is a completely useless and uninformative statement.
Like (4)
larrymcj
larrymcj
01 December 2014
I would also like to know how you came to this conclusion? I've spent the past three months using and evaluating Things and OmniFocus (I own them both) and for me the bottom line is Things is VERY easy to use and a beautifully designed app. While OmniFocus is very complex (yes, it does a few more things as well...at the cost of being complex), and the user interface is not nearly as clean and simple as Things.
Like
Essadee
Essadee
04 December 2014
I don't have to qualify my rating beyond what I've already said. There are dozens of reviewers more qualified than us that have come to the same conclusion — it's easily the standard that other software aspires to.

Some of the alternatives are fine if you have modest needs or need collaboration beyond delegating tasks to others. Some people like web-based services, some people like free software. Things has always been an also-ran and will never be anything but runner-up.
Like (3)
WetNet
WetNet
01 March 2015
You sir, Are a moron. Others would like to know why they would invest in an app that you says "B.I.C. software for GTD". YOUR reason why. . .
Like
A-Wedlake
19 June 2014
A solid application, if it was released two years ago. There are now a LOT of alternatives out there, and a lot of them have more compelling feature set. Just take a look at Todist, OrganizePro, Pagico, Wunderlist, etc My biggest gripe is probably it's cross-platform support. This is an application build solidly and primarily for the desktop in mind. It's comfortably self-contained (and maybe that's an asset for some). Yes it "does" sync, and it does have mobile apps too (I've used both). But sync in OmniFocus 2 world still relies on clicking buttons, or watching the sync buttons spin. Occasionally (because it's happened to me), OF/OF2 will get confused if you migrate from your desktop to your mobile device before it's finished syncing. You'll then have to make a "version" choice (override server or device). This is OLD school sync issues, and not modern Cloud based thinking. Yes, it's a pretty desktop application to work in, and it gets the job done. It documents projects in a nested format reasonably well. But task/project tracking requirements and needs have moved on. Improvement requests: Improved visual timeline options for projects. Collaboration tools (hey maybe in the "pro" version one day?), improved output (like printing, or emailing projects to people), updated modern cloud sync with no conflict sync errors between devices. More visual options to tighten up the UI. Wow is there a lot of wasted open space).
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1
Stormchild
29 May 2014
Quite frankly, OF2 is a turd. Instead of addressing the many workflow problems that make OF a chore to use, all they've really done is a makeover, and unfortunately it's mostly for the worse. Everything is spaced out way too much, and the style settings are completely removed, so you can't do a damn thing about it. The window no longer fits on one half of my 13" Air display (OmniOutliner uses the other half, and I've used them that way for years), and I now see less than half as many tasks as I did before. In short, there's no way I can use this crippled, superficial makeover, nor can I recommend it to anyone. Swing and a miss.
Like (18)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
01 June 2014
"Turd"?
Like (2)
Xenophile
Xenophile
11 July 2014
"Turd" is another word for fecal matter, and more acceptable to use on places like MacUpdate since it's not as obscene as the "S word". Note that unlike the "S-word," which may refer to any amount of feces, "turd" refers only to a single nugget of poop. Thus it is utterly worthless, unlike a vast load of poop which has the redeeming value of being good fertilizer.
Like (7)
Kihoalu
28 May 2014
I bought the new version. Right now you get a free upgrade to the Pro version as a repeat user!!!? Good improvements for the largest part. The new interface is pretty good & convenient. There are a few improvements, I’d still like to see - a dark background would be nice. Some of the highlighting goes from unobtrusive, to a little too light. OmniFocus is a stress reducer & easy entry - has nearly as many complex options as you could want to add, whether up front, or in subsequent processing. Its at your fingertips. Definitely worth a robust test drive of the demo to see if it makes your life easier. I think if you give a proper try, you will find it hard to pass up.
Like
Version 2.0
Xplicit
25 May 2014
OmniFocus v1 was released on January 8, 2008 for $79 and has been on duty for 6 years and 4 months now. This means you paid per year the following amount: • 6 years used: $13.17 • 5 years used: $15.80 • 4 years used: $19.75 • 3 years used: $26.34 • 2 years used (on sale for $39): $19.50 • 1 year used: free upgrade to OmniFocus v2 Am I the only one to think OmniFocus isn't really overpriced? PS: Please don't forget, you get what you for.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
25 May 2014
SPOT ON... :p
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
20 June 2014
Yup, totally agree with you. Unfortunately lots of people don't see all the free updates they get when they make their purchase. One thing I would add to your pricing, however, is the cost of the mobile versions. If you bought OF for Mac, iPhone, and iPad there would be a bit of an increase to your prices. I doubt that are very many people who only buy the desktop version.
Like
Cocoanut
24 May 2014
No alerts? What's the point of a task management system that doesn't offer alerts as a feature? Especially one which costs $80!!! It's a beautiful app, no doubt, but it's remarkably expensive even with an alert system and without, well....you figure it out.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
30 May 2014
Maybe this helps: go to OmniFocus>Preferences>Notifications and there your can choose if you want to get a reminder if a task is due, or due soon (what "due soon" means you can define at OmniFocus>Preferences>Notifications). These reminders can be Dock icon badges or notifications: at >System Preferences>Notifications you can choose if you want OmniFocus to alert you with banners, alerts, notifications in Notification Center (and how many recent items), if it should play a sound for the notifications, etc. Also, at OmniFocus>Preferences>Notifications you can publish due items as calendar alarms. And well, of course you can get alerted by your iPhone as well (via OmniFocus 2 for iPhone)
Like (2)
gryphonent
24 May 2014
After half a decade we’ve eventually OmniFocus 2!!! But what a crippled update it is. While the layout looks nicer and more organised, the standard version does not allow for any perspective view. You got to upgrade to the $40 more expensive “Pro” version at $80 to get what you’re used to from version 1, i.e. soon due activities, remaining activities and the like. Is it worth $40 more? Definitely not… but without soon due or available the app is cumbersome to handle. Caveat Emptor!
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Monkeyjunkey
23 May 2014
Finally, after an insanely long wait, OmniFocus 2 is here: http://www.omnigroup.com/omnifocus/#omnifocus-mac-info Pls update this listing accordingly.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.6
Libertyforall1776
01 March 2014
Great app, but WAY overpriced! Try iProcrastinate for a great free app...
Like (3)
Version 1.10.6
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
26 April 2014
I use several - probably too many apps like this. OmniFocus is pricey, but if you REALLY use it - is pretty darn nice. For solid management - OmniFocus is great. Its a legitimate & useful office application & when the next version hits the street - should be stellar. I’ve bounced around on both sides of the fence when it comes to OmniFocus. At entry level management, it feels overpriced, as do many apps until you learn them & discover whether you can depend on them to actually manage your muddle. At the end of the day - its worth an intensive trial, to see if you have a robust enough workflow to use it. iProcrastinate is a very good app for people around the house. Just not as office-ready as OmniFocus.
Like (4)
lemon-kun
07 January 2013
Well this is a great app… Just a comment, after reading the discussion here about OmniFocus and alternatives, regarding "learning curve", "complicated", etc. etc. etc. – not everybody needs an app like OmniFocus. If you do only errands and your "projects" are things like buying Christmas presents or cleaning up the attic, then OmniFocus probably feels bloated to you and it really is a waste of time and money and you should get another, simpler app. However, if you work as a freelancer, in the creative business, as a scientist – then you've probably made the experience that sometimes one has to neglect errands to focus on large projects (focussing is about saying "no", a wise man said). The usual to-do-apps are potentially dangerous, because they are especially good at errands, and this can lead to procrastination – instead of working on the "big" project, one does just some errands, goes through the to-do-list and has the feeling of "wow, I am productive!", while actually, one isn't touching the really important, harder (because more complicated) work. For managing multiple larger projects OmniFocus proved immensely helpful to me. The key is to split up the projects into smaller tasks, sub-tasks, sub-sub-tasks, because these are easier to approach – this way you don't lose oversight nor run danger of getting blockades (and going back to your to-do-list-procrastination-routine). OmniFocus allows for a maximum of flexibility for splitting up tasks, and offers a clean view with its "outline-like"-layout. The limitation of being able to add only one context is actually a very good thing: if you have more than one context, most probably you should split up your task into sub-tasks. Now some may think it is a waste to spend that much time planing tasks. But for me this helps to decide what tasks are most important and which I can do later (=never). Usually it's the errands that allow for being late or even simply not doing them (well, not a good strategy for paying your taxes of course). Having oversight over your tasks helps freeing up blockades – only that makes research/inventive work possible. For my needs, OmniFocus really isn't too complicated or bloated. Actually quite the opposite, it's cleanly designed and if anything, it could offer some more features (more options for perspective building)… And well, yes, one has to mention it: OmniFocus never crashes, you never lose data, it's just rock stable. Version 2 is scheduled for end of this month, by the way…
Like (8)
Version 1.10.4
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
05 April 2013
Clearly, you've become a power user. I can't say that I have. I agree about "errand-driven" organization. GTD & organization is a tough area to compete in. Generally people who need organizers may not be good maintainers & if one doesn't dive in seriously up front, defeat themselves. The product is useful, but it needs a substantial facelift. A few of its competitors do have the symbology down better - insofar as they divide the functions with strong icons that keep the task divisions clear & directed. Its an interesting tool & I own it & like it. It is robust. You don't want to dumb down tasks to suit a tool, but you don't want the feeling that you must unclutter your organizer. What it also needs is a lot more information about how best to utilize the tool for people who aren't that intense. I'm hoping for some grand improvements in the next cut, if the upgrade price is not prohibitive. I wouldn't drop $80 for it, however.
Like (3)
anonymous-parakeet-3167
27 November 2012
I wrote an earlier review which I stand by. BTW @Mathias-Rhein, I found your comments personally insulting. I have been waiting for OF 2 to see if anything has improved, but it is still in the works. In the meantime, I found an alternative that isn't even listed on Macupdate yet: 2do (2doapp.com - I am not affiliated). It has a Mac and an iOS version, syncs for free using iCloud, Dropbox or any WebDAV server you like, and is both powerful and easy to use. It doesn't have all of OF's features, but it also doesn't have the bloat and confusion. Bye-bye OF. BTW, it's half the price of OF.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.4
1 answer(s)
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
04 December 2012
I have been an Omni Focus user for a long while. I struggled through the learning curve and came to find OF an amazing app although sometimes a little cumbersome and never intuitive. The more you understand the GTD processes the easier it is to understand OF. Then I tried 2do.app. It is downright easy and intuitive to use, the UI is pleasant, the learning curve is non existent and you do not need to understand or care about GTD principles. It integrates well with the Calendar app and notifications, etc. Initially they only had a IOS app but they recently released a desktop version. Sync just works with options and always has. However the desktop app is nowhere near as strong as OF's desks top app. Remember OF was built on the GTD principles and take that seriously. It's the type of program suitable for people who rely on it to earn a living and I do not mean assistance in remembering trash day or to pick up the kids or whens your next meeting and what to bring like most of use use these apps. I've already paid $$$ to get OF as we'll as investing the time to learn OF and if the update brings a more usable interface (and the price is right) I would for sure try it. But my observations of 2do are in line with yours just not as condemning of OF as they pioneered this kind of app and there may not have been a good 2do app without the prior work done by the Omni group!
Like (3)
Robotank
16 October 2012
Just a heads-up: It would appear that the price of OmniFocus, for both MAS and direct download versions, has returned to $79.99.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.3
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
16 October 2012
Thanks for the info. The listing's been updated.
Like (1)
Monkeyjunkey
14 October 2012
Sorry OmniGroup, but as much as I applaud OFs functionality, the interface by now just looks outdated. I know 2.0 is in the works, but you are starting to fall behind the iOS interface. It's very annoying coming from the iPad and then firing up OF on the mac desktop and see that old interface. Functionality wise I have to say: I have tried many and always came back to OF since competitors keep lacking important functionality.
Like (6)
Version 1.10.3
Kihoalu
13 October 2012
I own it. The price is competitive finally. That was a big part of why I bought it - and the fact that I like OmniOutliner, having used it for a decade. Frankly, its a little restrictive to use OmniFocus, in my mind. OmniOutliner would require more set-up, but is more versatile in a lot of ways, though OF is still good & has some built-in tracking modalities that OmniOutliner could not handle as well. I think it could use a make-over to be more useful. I use a lot of GTD tools, but its hard to stick to them or dwell in an environment that meshes well. When I want to write something down - I don't want to futz around with database creation or to think how to design the recording framework in the midst of an idea or when a task needs to be listed. This gets you past that quite well. Although not all the way home if there are more complicated actions or procedures to eventually nuance a task.
Like
Version 1.10.3
SchmittM
07 September 2012
If you prefer manage your life with all details somewhere on paper, this is good alternative for the old school. Price high, but not so high as for Things.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Xplicit
11 June 2012
Price is currently 39.99$
Like (1)
Version 1.10.2
3 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
11 June 2012
AppStore and store.omnigroup.com as well
Like (1)
zorbanerd
zorbanerd
20 June 2012
I started to go over the demo on June 9th and I thought the price was much higher. How much did it drop?
Like
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
07 August 2012
I bought OF quite a while ago [3-5 years?] at $79. Seems that the Omni folk have decided to be more competitive, price-wise. Good for them!
Like
Monkeyjunkey
21 May 2012
I'd love to see some of the beauty of the iPad UI reflected in the OF desktop version.
Like (5)
Version 1.10.1
Sien
23 April 2012
I tested different programs like Things (nice and clean interface) and The Hit List (superb input methods) to see which one would fit my personal task organizing needs. Neither did. When I tried OmniFocus its interface looked quite complex and seemed to lack some polish at first, but after some time I realized how mighty and well-thought-out it this program is. I don't use the GTD methodology but a different approach. Nevertheless OmniFocus is perfectly able to handle it (- unlike Things and THL). IMHO its flexibility is the reason why it's the superior task organizing tool for Mac: I can group tasks into different folders (in my case these are my different "roles" in life) and create endlessly nested subtasks (breaking down big tasks into manageable pieces). Contexts allow to further refine the task structure. Different "views" can be configured, saved and reused in order to quickly gain the perfect overview in different situations. The syncing with the iPhone App works flawlessly, smoothly and reliably. For me this app is almost perfect and really helps me to keep up with a bunch of different tasks and duties using my own methods. The only thing I'm still missing is the possibility to create subtasks within subtasks using the iPhone app. It can show and edit those nested subtasks, but I have to create the nested structure on the desktop app. But that's rather a concern with the iPhone app than with the desktop app. All in all I love this program. Yes, it is relatively expensive but its flexibility makes up for it. It really helped me to increase my productivity.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.1
Tschigg
18 March 2012
Software functionality is nice, thought the UI seems to be from the 90s. Needs overhaul. Minor problem for latest version: To use the new "repeating actions" you need OF for iPhone 1.14 (which is not available in the store, yet). Fail. Full Release Notes: v1.10.1: March 16 2012 * OmniFocus 1.10.1 for Mac corrects a problem which resulted in repeated keychain access prompts on OS X 10.6 and earlier. * OmniFocus 1.10 for Mac adds flexible weekly repeats, updates the application icon, and fixes a handful of reported issues. Repeating Actions * Added flexible weekly repeats. When a project or action repeats every week, you can specify the days of the week the item should repeat on. For example: repeat every week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. * Important: Please update to OmniFocus 1.14 for iPhone and OmniFocus 1.5 for iPad before using these new weekday repeats. Older releases of OmniFocus do not understand this new repeat data. If you edit or complete one of these items using a previous release of OmniFocus, you will lose the weekday repeat specification. Miscellaneous * Updated the application icon. * Fixed a bug which resulted in a “Cannot overwrite file” error for some users when adding items to OmniFocus on OS X Lion. * Fixed date parsing in the Inspector for users with a custom time format using period as the delimiter.
Like (4)
Version 1.10.1
Sheagirl
12 March 2012
This is odd because Mathias-Rhein and I seem to be passing each other on the highway to GTD happiness. I love OF. It has been a life saver for me and I was orig one of the ones who thought it was just to difficult. However with a little attention it became very intuitive and the best thing of all I kept finding new ways to do what I needed to do. But now it seems OF has (without a formal final statement) decided to no longer sync with ical and ical reminders. I use Busy Cal but needed the ical sync to populate my calendar. Of seems to believe that all one needs is their software to operate and that is just not true for many. I am very busy as a parent, manager, wife member of several organization, etc. And while I use OF to plan projects and other things it doe not work as an appointment scheduler. When I could sync my OF tasks into my calendar scheduling was a breeze. Now it back and forth between he two programs or double scheduling and having to fix later. The program that was designed to keep me organized had made it impossible for me to quickly respond to an appointment request??? I should not have to check OF before I can schedule a meeting of my sons soccer team. Many other (especially those that are iPad/iPhone based) programs offer calendar/reminder sync in iCloud. Not sure why this seems to be a deal breaker with OF. There is a life outside OF! And as much as I love this program I may have to drop it if they do not become more responsive to this need. Very sad about this as like I said I love this program or at least I used to. It is also in desperate need of a UI upgrade. MacUpdate: Why or Why can I not change my rating before I submit???? So Annoying!! This should be a 4.5 rating
Like (1)
Version 1.9.4
4 answer(s)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
17 March 2012
@Llongley iCal [and BusyCal] syncing works fine for me. I'm still using Snow Leopard, though. Maybe it doesn't work in Lion?
Like
Tschigg
Tschigg
18 March 2012
iCal sync via webdav works just fine for me. Agree with your MU rant ;)
Like
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
18 March 2012
In OF when using Lion you would go to the preferences section and select the ical tab to link OF to a calendar. Now when you go there there is no ability to link to an ical calendar. There has been discussions agnosium on the Forums about this and the developer has responded and confirmed the change. It has something to do with the new way iCal / iCloud handles calendars? Anyway if it is working for you great…but that would also make the developer not as good at working with his program as you? or maybe...
Like
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
18 March 2012
Sorry hit reply to soon. First forgive my spelling. And I really wasn't meaning to rant rather to plead with the developer to not remove one of the many functions in this great program that contribute to its greatness. Thats the thing with OF it can do so many things so well that we all use it differently and I think that that is what makes it so good it can be adapted to your work style, flow etc. And because it is so flexible I guess anything the dev tries to change will affect someones workflow. Still a great program though.
Like
Mathias-Rhein
09 November 2011
Well. If You have seen my older rants about OF, take this as a humble apology- Going through the process of what software is fitting my organization concept best I compared OF with Things and THL- the latter has some neat input options but lacks good (and affordable) syncing, Things has the most beautiful interface and looks a lot cleaner compared to OF, but is simply not possible to handle the complexity of my planning efforts, especially at work. The biggest advantages of this not-so-easy-to-get-started-with software is the robust syncing option through any WebDAV and the complexity one can apply to the structure. Sync is fast and robust, no data loss ever until now. Actions can be divided into subtasks and on the top level Folders enable You to group things into logical groups. The view is the most versatile and flexible piece of work: You set all the parameters and then simply save the perspective- this way You can create VERY individual filters that suit the need of the advanced and serious planner. Supposedly, for everyone else the interface is to confusing, as you can also see from the reviews below- these people might be better off with Things... but You will have to settle with mediocre syncing and less power, when the tasks are getting bigger and more complex.
Like (5)
Version 1.9.4
If you're looking for a program with a complicated, unintuitive interface. then this is the one for you. If you're looking for a program that you still won't understand after 6 months of use, then this is it. Go ahead and try to sort your tasks by due date, for example. Nothing happens. Want to sync with iCal? iCal has calendars. OmniFocus has contexts. Are these comparable? No, but OmniFocus requires you to match them up in order to sync. Want to see what's due each day of the coming weeks? Forget it. You can see what's due today and tomorrow, plus "Within the Next Week" and "Within the Next Month" etc. Want to see and arrange tasks on a calendar? No can do. This is the most aggravating piece of software on my Mac.
Like (7)
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Mathias-Rhein
Mathias-Rhein
09 November 2011
Although I can agree on the learning curve, this post is not doing OmniFocus justice. OF syncing respective contexts to certain calendars gives you more flexibility to e.g. Sync your work places and context with Your work calendar, same for Personal and other calendar setups- so actually it not only makes a lot of sense when you consider it, it‘s also the most customizable syncing option you will find out there. The remarks concerning the calendar integration are a bit two-edged cause basically, OmniFocus is not about events but task organization. I am always having iCal and OF simultaneously in horizontal split which gives me the opportunity to edit my events according to my task outlines. Surely better integration would be nice but since You can even just drag and drop tasks onto the calendar, this is as feasible as it gets. For tasks with a due date you can activate a special OF task calendar in iCal which synchronizes with OF and displays due tasks at their according time. Further cross- integration is currently being implemented as You look at the iOS versions of OF- the company already stated that Forecast view (which beats anything I have to date seen in terms of task planning) will be an integral part of OF 2. All in all your post is a perfect example of what happens if someone espects OF to reduce chaos in Your life- instead it adapts so perfectly that it reflects your chaos to you... this might be sobering but that‘s actually the hallmark of good software- it shapes around you not the other way around.
Like (3)
Dillinger-63
20 September 2011
Greta program, but does have a bit of a learning curve.
Like (5)
Version 1.9.3
Gazman
07 September 2011
Anyone know when 2.0 is coming out? I really want to buy this, but don't want to buy this now and then have to pay another $40 to $50 to upgrade in a few months time.
Like
Version 1.9.3
2 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
08 September 2011
> Anyone know when 2.0 is coming out? Has OminGroup publicly announced when 2.0 will/might be available, or have you contacted them directly to ask?
Like
Gazman
Gazman
08 September 2011
@sjk They haven't publicly announced it as far as I know. I was basing my conjecture on the fact that the version number is up to 1.9.3 and that they recently released 2.0 of OmniPlan. Haven't asked them directly yet, but if I don't get a response here I'll try that.
Like
Maclover1-1
28 July 2011
I think OmniFocus is the best out there.. however it could definitely benefit from a facelift to be more in line with what we "expect" mac apps to feel like.. namely like say "Things"... all in one window.. and feeling simpler.. even if under the hood it idoes not have to be. I really don't like having floating panels "all over the place".. but it'd be mostly ergonomic.. I'm afraid otherwise OmniFocus will lose clients and possibly scare off the new ones and throw them into the arms of "Things" etc.. I almost did go there..
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Xplicit
22 June 2011
1. Works 2. Syncs 3. Not that complicated to use as I thought 4. A little expensive, but A) see 1. and B) it has several sync choices, some for free
Like (7)
Version 1.9
FTBZ
10 June 2011
I was an OmniFocus user, but I just migrate to a concurrent software. Why migrating all my data to an other software ? — Because OmniFocus have an interface that's no longer pleasant (the NeXT style is descending, it's grey and the toolbar is outdated in my opinion). — Because the price for getting all apps (iPhone/iPad/Mac) is very high and it's very sad But OmniFocus stays a good software, but perhaps a little outdated when checking the competitor.
Like (2)
Version 1.9
2 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
15 June 2011
So what's outdated exactly? After trying Things, waiting for The Hit List for a long time and having longer looks at a ton of other To Do apps I finally chose OmniFocus. It's the best concept out there, Sync with the iPhone works perfectly with MobileMe and doesn't cost. Ok, the price could be a little lower, but considering how long v1 has been out it's not that expensive anymore.
Like (4)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
12 July 2011
I've got OF looking great—very minimalist-like TaskPaper, without the toolbar showing. Have you seen the iPad app? It is the most beautiful app on my iPad! It is the standard that all apps should imitate. All this is to say that this is all relative. What looks ugly to one, may be beautiful to another. I've got all three OF apps and love them all and the synching is FREE! Over the life of those pay-to-synch apps, you'll spend much more than what you spent on OF.
Like (2)
ongrie
13 May 2011
It's simply the best GTD app out there! Sync perfectly with WebDAV, the iPhone App is awesome and it really helps you to manage your daily work and life.
Like (3)
Version 1.9
Caye
29 April 2011
Just about everything in life involves a tension between various elements. For instance, in cars there is safety vs cost. For Omnifocus to be useful, it has to have some complexity. However, this complexity apparently puts many people off. I think that if people gave themselves a little time to learn and experiment with Omnifocus, they would find that it is very learnable. For Omnifocus to have the necessary complexity and yet be so learnable, it has to be well thought-out; with that comes expense. Omnifocus has made all the difference in my worklife, and for that I say thank you to the Omni group. It makes me want to tell everyone about it and encourage everyone to take the time to get to know it. Often those things with you can get *now* (instantaneously) have low value; those things which have great value you must cultivate over time.
Like (4)
Version 1.9
Macmath17
12 April 2011
I find OmniFocus to be indispensable to my daily life. It permits me to keep track of a host of individual duties together with as much associated information as I would like. The information is quickly entered, particularly as the information can be input via contextual menu from other applications. These duties can also be scheduled regarding start- and due-dates, to reoccur or not, and how long they are expected to take. The resulting task-data can be sorted and viewed in many different ways, and these ways can be saved as 'perspectives'. These can be synced among computers at different locations, iPhones, and iPads by various means. I am more productive and with such less stress because I no longer have to hold future responsibilities and their timetables in my head. I won't attempt to review its features further because it has enough facets that to describe them any further would be information overload. A few more things I will say: (1) it will become more useful to you as time goes on because you'll learn how to use it better. This is a testimony to the capabilities of the application rather than to design flaws. Watch it on twitter and visit its forums occasionally after you've started to use it and you'll soon become a power-user. Give yourself some time to learn more about it. (2) Yes, it is expensive, particularly if you also get an iPhone and an iPad version. However, you usually get what you pay for and with Omnifocus you certainly do. I work at a university and like many people have to watch my budget. I could have gotten an educational license for $50, but I paid the full $80 because I appreciate things that are done well. My wife wouldn't like to hear that I paid $30 more than I had to, but I still consider it to be an excellent purchase. (3) You might have noticed that the ratings of both Things and Omnifocus have been falling. Any application of this type takes awhile to learn how to use, and the fact that you need such an application means that you don't have a lot of free time to spend in that way. Also, in order to fit the needs of many different people it has to be designed very well and equipped with a multitude of features. This will add to both the learning curve and the price-tag. Neither are cheap. (4) I once tried Things and The Hit List alongside OmniFocus, and OmniFocus felt more truly organized to me. I like tagging, but there comes a point when you've over-tagged to the point of scattering your focus. With OmniFocus I felt that more structure was available to me, and that it had capabilities that would be there as my needs increased and my tasks grew. I was correct about that. A mitten and a glove do the same thing, but the with the glove one is so much more nimble. OmniFocus is the glove. (5) We're all individuals and the style of some will be matched better by Things or The Hit List. Vive la différence! We can express our appreciation of our favorites without lambasting the others (or without going to their MacUpdate pages and posting negative ratings).
Like (9)
Version 1.8.2
Frodo-life
12 March 2011
pricing just absolutely unrealistic $79 for single licence then to operate it with my Iphone and Ipad I would need to fork out $49 for Ipad and $29 for iPhone so $159 for a task manager????? That's what Apple charges for OS X or Apple Number $23 + $12 for iPad version omni get real with your pricing
Like (9)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
16 March 2011
I think likewise about the price. but comparing it to Apple Software is not the point. they can profit from scale-effects. You have to compare it to similar Products, like "Things" OR "Midnight Inbox". But still, there should be a remarkable discount (for loyal customers) on the mobile iOS versions. I have the Mac version (since v.1.0) and bought the iPhone version a year ago. But I am not sure if I will pay full price again for the iPad version. looking for Alternatives...
Like (2)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
03 April 2011
I agree. Downloaded the trial, having misread the price as $19.99 until I started looking at the comments & realized I needed to put contacts in!!! Insane price. Omni makes good stuff, Outliner, for example. But really, there's no way I'm buying OmniFocus at this price!!! Let alone a similar price for an iPad version. The metaphor is pretty good, though I think tabs for some of the items feels more intuitive than just buttons in some cases. Growl utilization is nice. ThinkingRock does mostly the same thing. Has a slightly steeper learning curve. Its more cluttered than Things or OmniFocus in their true outline interface, which hinders the concept of a visual GTD or To Do database, but you can't beat the price. Haven't tried HitList. Can do much of the same in a nested outliner.
Like (1)
Sigil
27 January 2011
This is an excellent productivity app. I use all three versions of OmniFocus in concert and I couldn't be happier or more productive. Yep, the price is steep, but I don't have an "I wish it did this list" for OmniFocus like I have for my other todo apps.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.2