Back to EVE Online page
EVE Online free download for Mac

EVE Online Reviews

1456374
12 February 2019

Massive multiplayer online game set in outer space; demo available.

Section8
04 April 2008

Most helpful

This game is the most extensive MMORPG I have ever seen. Its economic aspect has been the subject of numerous WSJ articles and is widely regarded as a completely accurate economic model. The PVP of this game is a lot of fun as well. The universe is extremely expansive as well and the possibilities are endless. This game makes WoW looks like childs-play (this is coming from a former hardcore raider) The current stability of the client is slightly buggy though. I have confidence in CCP that they will iron out all the issues soon, considering they just released an enormous expansion. oh yeah, did i mention all expansions are free?! WOOT :D
Like (5)
Version 4.10.51200

Read 16 EVE Online User Reviews

Rate this app:

BobbyThompsonRocks
31 July 2013
The game has a massive learning curve, but I found when taking it very slowly it's not so bad to figure out. Don't expect to be flying massive ships in huge battles any time soon. The client runs well on my Mac (MacBook Air) though it does tax the CPU (the top corner of the keyboard gets hot after a while). Graphics look great and I've not had any technical issues.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Woodjoe
26 August 2012
One of the best MMO games out there. The learning curve is indeed very steep! But there is no other game as realistic as EVE Online.
Like (2)
Version 3.7
ben-marko
21 December 2011
Overall a big disappointment. Graphics are suburb - the only positive quality of this game. The interface is screaming for simplicity...twice I "lost" my ship, and had to resort to chat to get help in finding it. Chat community was borderline hostile, with many not only not offering help, but instead treating my requests for help with acerbic and obnoxious commentary. But my main complaint (as if the chat wasn't enough) is that there are too many buttons!!! There are drawers, folders, icons galore in the main interface. Too confusing, it requires more than the 14 days my trail was limited to. It would be vastly improved if it were not for that one glaring problem. I should have to buy a book just to pick up the basics...MMORPG should be "jump right in" with skills picked up along the way, rather than the gameplay hindered often and frequently with searches on Google for how to do this, and how to do that. Pretty disappointing!
Like (4)
Version 6.10.327748
2 answer(s)
Dualie
Dualie
21 February 2012
I'm probably wrong, but I equate people who play this as the same ones who still use IRC.
Like (4)
ben-marko
ben-marko
22 February 2012
LOL!!!!
Like (2)
Heymini
22 June 2011
Dont worry if this dosent download or work at the moment. EVE have taken the servers off line due to a DDoS attack. Lulzsec strike again?
Like
Version 6.10.271273
big-rod
31 May 2011
For what it is, a space trading and PvP strategy game, it is unsurpassed. It is actively developed and consistently improving. It grows on you and before long one is delving deeper and deeper into adventure and riches. Good stuff.
Like (3)
Version 6.10.264377
Orion-Mk-V
17 March 2009
Apocrypha is running very well, considering the forced graphics upgrade from the classic client. I'm running 10.4.11 on a 2.33GHz iMac (upgraded 256meg 7600 card) and it's still quite playable with all graphics setting turned to high -- though for big battles I'll probably need to lower some settings.
Like (3)
Version 6.10.84609
Zuulito
11 December 2008
I couldn't find how to create a FREE demo account, all links point to paying with a credit card or entering a prepaid card number... nice...
Like (1)
Version 5.20.71655
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
11 December 2008
Try this link: https://secure.eve-online.com/ft/FreeTrialSignup.aspx?aid=103559
Like (2)
Version 5.20.71655
Zuulito
Zuulito
11 December 2008
alright, I found it via the download page, it's here : https://secure.eve-online.com/ft/FreeTrialLanding.aspx
Like (1)
Version 5.20.71655
Orion-Mk-V
11 December 2008
New version updated and runs great. Awesome game if this type of gaming is your thing.
Like (1)
Version 5.20.71655
Section8
04 April 2008
This game is the most extensive MMORPG I have ever seen. Its economic aspect has been the subject of numerous WSJ articles and is widely regarded as a completely accurate economic model. The PVP of this game is a lot of fun as well. The universe is extremely expansive as well and the possibilities are endless. This game makes WoW looks like childs-play (this is coming from a former hardcore raider) The current stability of the client is slightly buggy though. I have confidence in CCP that they will iron out all the issues soon, considering they just released an enormous expansion. oh yeah, did i mention all expansions are free?! WOOT :D
Like (5)
Version 4.10.51200
5 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
08 May 2008
Isn't comparing EVE to WoW a bit like comparing apples and oranges? Sure, they're both MMORPG's, but quite different still, no? Why does everything have to be compared all the time. Why choose one thing when one can have all? :)
Like (2)
Version 4.12.53162
Section8
Section8
08 May 2008
not at all, the two may be different, but when mac gamers look for an alternative MMORPG to play and all they know of is WoW, it helps to have a comparison. Having played this game for about 2 months now, i cannot describe the level of relief it gives me that I quit WoW, and EVE Online provides a great alternative to the rampant 13 yr olds and massive time consumption. Not to mention the issue of item escalation that has left raiders in the dust. EVE concentrates more on actual player skill and fleet tactics rather then who has more purplz.
Like (4)
Version 4.12.53162
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
12 June 2008
Well said Section8.
Like (2)
Version 4.12.53162
Meego
Meego
12 June 2008
As a former beta tester of EVE Online, I feel you overlooked a few things about EVE which ought to be mentioned. First, it should be said that the learning curve is quite steep. Think Battlecruiser 3000AD.. Also, unlike WoW, this game is a lot less focused on instant fun. The game is slower paced and it takes a long time and a good ship+stats before one can venture in 0.0 and get a taste of PVP, the core of EVE imo. In a nutshell, you can't just drop in a few times a week, play an hour or two, and still have fun. The stats system reduces that problem a bit though. That said, EVE is great if you dig complexity and depth over instant gratification. You just need to be unemployed or something to enjoy it I guess :p
Like (6)
Version 5.10.56866
star-affinity
star-affinity
12 June 2008
"That said, EVE is great if you dig complexity and depth over instant gratification. You just need to be unemployed or something to enjoy it I guess :p" That's exactly what I feel. I know WoW also requires a lot of time, but I call myself a fairly casual player (with a few monthly "breaks" here and there) and I still think I can enjoy WoW even if I don't have "all purple" gear. It's easy to get into and the battle grounds make it easy for a quick "game in game". I really want to try EVE (and probably will when I think I have time) but still it feels a bit too complicated. But I guess that's also (as people has been sayiing) what makes it good.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.56866
Chigaze
03 April 2008
It is not $20 per month to play. It is $20 to set up an account and get one month of play. After that at is $15 per month. Month to Month 71.70 for 6 months 131.41 for 12 months. When setting up a new account you can also get a 14 day free trial. I believe this pricing is virtually identical to WOW.
Like (1)
Version 4.10.51200
Brighton-Pete
03 April 2008
After starting the download (slow high speed,) I checked their website. It is $20 a month - is any game worth $240 a year to play? On downloading the game, this file is just a patch. Now to find the game to see if it is worth it.
Like
Version 4.10.51200
1 answer(s)
Brighton-Pete
Brighton-Pete
03 April 2008
803mbs! I won't be downloading that from my connection! Just as well - I save myself all that money!
Like (1)
Version 4.10.51200
star-affinity
03 April 2008
For Windows there's a version with "Premium Graphics Content": "The same game software as Classic, plus the Premium Graphics Content for all ships, stations and stargates." Mac and Linux users can't currently download this it seems. :( I guess there aren't any affordable graphics cards for the Mac that are capable to run the game with that detail anyway... >:( I'm tired of being a "second class citizen" when it comes to gaming just because I prefer the Mac OS. Apple: do something! :)
Like (1)
Version 4.10.51200
2 answer(s)
Greenie
Greenie
09 May 2008
The reason there is no premium graphics is because it's a cider port. One they work out the issues with cider it will come to the mac. Its not a graphics card issue if you can use bootcamp to use the premium graphics...
Like (1)
Version 4.12.53162
star-affinity
star-affinity
12 November 2008
I just meant that Apple should do something about the gaming situation on the Mac platform. I'm tired of often having to live with third grade solutions when gaming on a Mac. Or play three year old titles with frame rate penalties because of the porting from DirectX to OpenGL (or whatever the reason is).
Like (1)
Version 5.20.69477
Lectrick
29 November 2007
Just an FYI- The Mac client will time out without warning (or any indication that it did, for that matter) if you take too long to make your character (and why wouldn't you?) The only solution at this time is to take a screenshot and start over and try to duplicate your choices. Not exactly a great new-user experience... LAME! Please fix!
Like
Version 1.0
Dslund
20 November 2007
I played this game a couple of years ago on a PC. Now I'm playing it on my Intel iMac 2.4. Very smooth graphics at the highest resolution of 1680x1050. Very excellent game in my opinion.
Like
Version 1.0
Qaitakalnin
08 November 2007
I was always a bit curious about this game, although I never had a computer capable of running it natively. Having played it previously, I was highly interested in the Mac version, even if it was merely a wrapper around the original Windows version. Sadly, the game has proven completely unusable for me. In the first few minutes of designing a character, I was disconnected three times and crashed another two. When I finally got into the game with a character, I crashed again with a runtime error. Although others are having a good time right now with it, it's my feeling currently that I was trying to run an alpha version of a product, not a final release. Perhaps a future version will do better.
Like
Version 1.0
Cal6n
07 November 2007
NOooo!!! There goes the rest of my spare time! I'd managed to tell myself that it wasn't worth getting a PC to play this game. But now...
Like
Version 1.0