Back to MoveCM page
MoveCM free download for Mac

MoveCM Reviews

1.2.3
17 March 2011

Contextual menu to move/archive files/folders to common folders.

Donmontalvo
26 May 2010

Most helpful

I'm sorry, what does MoveCM do that a simple service can't? Automator provides all of this and more. For free. Try it. It's quite simple. Don Montalvo, TX
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1

Read 15 MoveCM User Reviews

Rate this app:

RJC.NJNYC
06 November 2014
AVOID. This developer is useless, as well as their website. I have their "Limit Point Software Utilities Bundle" (even their link on this page is useless) where you get all of their apps with updates forever. Yeah, good luck. Anyone else having problems? Leave a comment, and maybe I'll start legal action to get them to honor their comments.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Derekcurrie
01 May 2014
The provided link only dumps you at the Limit Point website, where you will NOT find MoveCM. Limit Point has, ahem, limited what they offer these days and essentially scoured out their website to a dead minimum. Therefore, HUH?
Like
Version 1.2.3
Jacques-971
17 July 2013
MoveMBI works like a charm, under Mac OS X 10.6. I use it more than 10 times each day. My only grief is that sometimes, MoveMBI "looses" its destination folders… not all folders, not always the same, but they are gone from the Menu. It's not a big work to put them back again, but maybe this could be changed in a future version… Thanks for the good work, keep goin'
Like
Version 1.2.3
Dickc
12 July 2010
I downloaded the application this morming to demo it. After a couple of hours of using it I decided that this was exactly what I was looking for; especially the MOVE TO functionality. I made my donation and received my password within minutes. I'm on an iMac and using OS X (10.6.4)
Like (2)
Version 1.1.8
Shallowp
10 June 2010
Why paying for this when there a dozen free AND better alternatives?
Like (2)
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
10 June 2010
Unfortunately, QuickAccessCM has not been updated since November 2007. Which means it won't work in Snow Leopard. Remarkably, FinderPop still does work in OS X 10.6.x, which makes it an excellent alternative to QuickAccessCM and MoveCM. Unlike other contextual menu items adapted to use the Services menu in SL, FinderPop still works inline in the contextual menu and invisibly in the menu bar (by clicking on any open space). I recommend it highly.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
andreasZys
04 June 2010
  Do NOT download this... until you have tried the marvellous QuickAccessCM from http://free.abracode.com/cmworkshop/quick_access.html which does a heck of a lot more than just move things, is beautiful to use, and is free! BTW, be aware that Snow Leopard has no Contextual Menus. Andreas  
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
10 June 2010
"BTW, be aware that Snow Leopard has no Contextual Menus." This is not exactly true. Snow Leopard does have contextual menus; but, unlike earlier versions of OS X, it does not directly support third-party contextual menu items. Developers are getting around this handicap by making the features of their no longer functional contextual menu items available through the Services menu, which is now an OS X supported contextual menu item and, in some cases, like MoveCM, through Menu Bar items. In my opinion, neither of these options is as convenient as the old contextual menu versions, but developers are to be commended for finding a workaround solution to the problem Apple, in its infinite wisdom, created for them and for us.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
andreasZys
andreasZys
10 June 2010
Thanks, BJ, for picking that up. I pruned a longer paragraph (saying “...has no facility for... in Contextual menus”) just before I posted and obviously didn't notice that I had over-pruned to create an an untruth. Thanks! The warning about this “MoveCM” remains unchanged!! Andreas
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
Donmontalvo
26 May 2010
I'm sorry, what does MoveCM do that a simple service can't? Automator provides all of this and more. For free. Try it. It's quite simple. Don Montalvo, TX
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1
Brooksie1
16 June 2009
I made a "one time" donation to Move CM about 2 years ago with Kagi, got a password and am now getting a message that it requires a password. Kagi doesn't answer emails sent to confirm I purchased the software. Bummer. Don't know what to do but pay again to get this very good piece of software.
Like
Version 1.0.14
Mystery-Tramp
03 November 2008
This is exactly the kind of thing I needed. Works well. Also, you should check the web site for the marketing. Make a one-time donation, and you get a password good for all this utilities. That's definitely WAY COOL. Hope he gets way rich.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.11
smtips
28 April 2008
Finderpop still does this better than anything else, no menu, no "common" folder, sinply select, click, choose folder all in one fluid motion and click...your choice of move copy or alias appears on the screen. None compare to Finderpop's ease of use and simple elegance. And it's FREE.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Jamacal
07 February 2008
Didn't really think there was anything to make this better. I was wrong. The Put in Place feature is a very useful addition. Great work!
Like
Version 1.0.4
Flash1296
07 February 2008
Excellent productivity enhancer. Running a 24/7 File Server means that I shuffle about a LOT of files. I combine this with "One Finger Click" and "Lazy Mouse" This troika means that with one finger and one click I am moving folders / files with ease. Newest added feature is a very fine addition to the feature set.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Jamacal
11 December 2007
This application keeps getting better and better. The author is very responsive and replies immediately and the options available just go to make working that much easier. Pity Apple didn't include this functionality with the OS. Yes, you can do the same sort of thing with Automator but not as cleanly and not as fast. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
11 December 2007
Thanks for the nice review!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Yangzone
Yangzone
16 February 2012
No good. I need it to Move To: and I get to then select the folder.
Like
Jamacal
26 November 2007
Just installed on 10.0.1 and it works exactly as it says. As this does exactly what I've been looking for, I have high hopes for it.
Like
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Jamacal
Jamacal
26 November 2007
Just as an addition to my earlier post, MoveCM only seems to copy files to new folder when the Move To commend is selected. At least when moving to a defined folder on an external drive. Of course, it's early days and this may be my problem but is anyone else experiencing this?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
26 November 2007
As I explained previously the way the "move" operation works is via an AppleScript that says "tell Finder move file xxx to file yyy" Therefore if this is really a copy on your system there seems to be a bug in AppleScript :-) If you would contact me via email perhaps we can get this resolved. It's hard to resolve the issue via this feedback channel on MacUpdate. Finally, no one else has reported this problem to me, and it certainly isn't occurring on any of my machines, running various OSes. But I do believe you. So please contact me at: joe@limit-point.com if you want to help solve the problem. Maybe I can implement another mechanism for the move. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
26 November 2007
Hell JAMACAL, Thank you! I have several ideas for future updates. If you want to share any of your own, please contact me at: joe@limit-point.com And this offer, of course, is being made to all others as well. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Tice
06 November 2007
Doesn't do QuickAccess the same (at least for PPC)? http://free.abracode.com/cmworkshop/
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
06 November 2007
Hi, Yes, QuickAccess does perform the same move operation. The current differences, from the MoveCM side is, so far as I can see is: a) A system preference pane is used to specify options, as opposed to an application (which is accessible from the MoveCM menu) b) There is an option to display the path to the folder, and not use its name in the menu. (Menu item names will be editable eventually) c) One less menu level to navigate to perform the move. The whole menu is simpler, with just a "move" operation. I often write software because I want it, and I like using what I write as opposed to someone else's. I figured it would make a nice addition to my Utilities suite at: http://www.limit-point.com/Utilities.html So that's why I posted it. MoveCM is only at version 1.0, and there is more to come. Thanks for the feedback.
Like
Version 1.0
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
26 November 2007
Hi Tice, As version 1.01 exhibits I have plans for MoveCM that aren't included in that other program. I hope that these programs can compliment one another, and I don't want to reproduce its feature set. If you have any suggestions for features please let me know at: joe@limit-point.com Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.1