Back to iMedia Browser page
iMedia Browser free download for Mac

iMedia Browser Reviews

2.0.1
04 May 2011

Browse media files, drag and drop them into apps.

Xenos
06 February 2011

Most helpful

This latest invention of the App Store system is a giant nonsense: using the link on MacUpdate, i was lead to the App Store and confronted with a page of software i didn't want to know anything about nor to see all that confusing collection of things i had no interest in. i got annoyed because i was not directed to the item i had clicked on MacUpdate, rather i had to search manually through hundreds of apps in order to find iMedia Browser which finally and despite of all visual searching was not found (what's the use of a clickable link on MacUpdate then ??); then, after using the site's search engine, App Store told me it be installed - besides all other apps that were detected installed on my PRIVATE computer. so, i closed the App Store and verified the "installed" iMedia Browser: turned out there were 3 versions on different partitions, all of which outdated and thus, after losing a quarter of an hour, i'm still without the application i was after. Conclusion: All investigation done by App Store is worthless since - despite of the intrusion - it does not recognize versions of installed apps. The raid on my computer committed through App Store is a major impertinent violation of one's privacy !!!! We must not tolerate such sneaky divestment of our personal rights just for the reason of commercial greediness and increasing Big Brother attitude ! i'll delete this spyware (App Store) on my Mac and ignore all further offers available through App Store exclusively.
Like (8)
Version 2.0

Read 22 iMedia Browser User Reviews

Rate this app:

Revco
04 May 2011
Crashes A LOT. Can we have the Libraries/Folders panel down the left side instead of across the top.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Jazzyguy
04 May 2011
Real Garbage! Unlike Karelia and its well known App WATSON! This thing unexpectantly quit 4 times on me. It is going to the trash!
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
Penguirl
04 May 2011
C'mon Karelia Software, not you too. Another App Store only app relegated to my dustbin.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Rondfranks
06 February 2011
I can't find what exactly is different in the new 2.0 AppStore only version compared to the previous version. Would be nice to know the differences, or if it's only an AppStore update with a 2.0 label.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
06 February 2011
One thing I did notice was the app from the AppStore crashed when I clicked on the Pictures folder. Not a good sign when the app crashes less than a minute after launching it.
Like (2)
Trance
06 February 2011
why are appstore only products even posted here??
Like (3)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
21 February 2011
I think they should be listed here to enable discussions. But I agree, the constellation is unfortunate. Btw, another bad sign they don't bother to explain their requirements. Shouldn't this be the other way round? "(Requires Mac OS X 10.4 "Tiger" or 10.5 "Leopard.") REQUIREMENTS Intel, Mac OS X 10.6.6 or later."
Like (1)
Xenos
06 February 2011
This latest invention of the App Store system is a giant nonsense: using the link on MacUpdate, i was lead to the App Store and confronted with a page of software i didn't want to know anything about nor to see all that confusing collection of things i had no interest in. i got annoyed because i was not directed to the item i had clicked on MacUpdate, rather i had to search manually through hundreds of apps in order to find iMedia Browser which finally and despite of all visual searching was not found (what's the use of a clickable link on MacUpdate then ??); then, after using the site's search engine, App Store told me it be installed - besides all other apps that were detected installed on my PRIVATE computer. so, i closed the App Store and verified the "installed" iMedia Browser: turned out there were 3 versions on different partitions, all of which outdated and thus, after losing a quarter of an hour, i'm still without the application i was after. Conclusion: All investigation done by App Store is worthless since - despite of the intrusion - it does not recognize versions of installed apps. The raid on my computer committed through App Store is a major impertinent violation of one's privacy !!!! We must not tolerate such sneaky divestment of our personal rights just for the reason of commercial greediness and increasing Big Brother attitude ! i'll delete this spyware (App Store) on my Mac and ignore all further offers available through App Store exclusively.
Like (8)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
06 February 2011
I've noticed that accessing the AppStore using FireFox instead of Safari does not direct you to the app you are looking for.
Like
Zx81
Zx81
04 May 2011
I agree with every word! Some developers are even starting to drop their own site considering the app store is enough information...
Like
Anon-Bud
06 February 2011
Unfortunately yet another fine app which developer has decided to completely alienate those of us who either have not upgraded to 10.6.6 or who refuse to use the App Store. Karelia, count me as completely over you. No more paid business from me...
Like (2)
Version 2.0
sjk
26 January 2011
v2.0 is available, though only through the Mac App Store.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Sachi
Sachi
27 January 2011
its sucks :(
Like
Yazarim
18 March 2010
Ooops, sorry. The third time I opened it, everything went smoothly. No "force quit", my Aperture 3 library is there, not exactly fast, but I have more than 20.000 photos. Let's hope... let's hope... Ah, iMac 27 with 10.6.2, 4Gb memory
Like
Version 1.2.2
Yazarim
18 March 2010
Did you try and use this thing with your Aperture Library? Impossibile. It begings "loading" and then it stalls there until the end of the time. Only one solution: "Force quit", and f***k away with your iMovie, FotoMagico, RapidWeaver and so on and so on...
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Jtrwallace
11 September 2009
I cannot describe how useful this application is. I use it multiple times per day. Say all of your photos are in iPhoto and you are chatting with someone on Skype. You can just click iMedia browser in the menu bar and see all your events and drag a photo right from an event. It works everywhere and is the easiest way to get at your media without opening the apps themselves (which can take a long time). Very highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Pablito
23 April 2009
A new version is available. 1.2 This app works great. It's a amazing piece of software. I strongly recommend!
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3
Jay-Teo
11 December 2008
Repeatedly crashes on my Intel Mac running Mac OS X 10.5. When it does run, it quickly gets into a state where the preview shows question marks instead of thumbnails. Select a different media type and I get the spinning beach ball followed by a crash. :-( Karelia is a reputable company. I believe (and hope!) they will fix this soon.
Like
Version 1.1.2
stefhan
01 November 2008
Bug on Mac OS 10.5.5.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Babyfett
30 October 2008
Same here. 1.1.2 doesn't work on the Leopard 10.5.5. When it doesn't crash it doesn't show any pictures and the info page is all gibberish. Had to reinstall 1.1.1.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Jpietrangelo
29 October 2008
Running Leopard 10.5.5 on Intel iMac. Tried running this multiple times, but no luck. It comes up with a dialog box where you decide whether or not you want it to check for updates and/or sign up for emails from the developer, but as soon as you click the OK button, the application crashes. I have to assume we'll see a fix today from Karelia. Looking forward to it since it'll be a nice app to have at the ready.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Guntis
29 October 2008
When I launched it first time, it started to load Aperture library and immediately crashed. Then I launched it again, but now I can see no images in Aperture library - instead of images it shows only question marks on the blue rectangles. When I click on Prefernces in the application menu, they don't open. When I click Send Feedback... - also nothing happens. Is this a joke on users? Have they tested their app before making it publicly available? MacBook Pro 17" 2.33GHz 2 GB RAM, 160 GB free on HDD, Mac OS X 10.5.5 with all the latest updates. Aperture library contains 40.000+ referenced images.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
29 October 2008
Agree, this update is corrupt. It doesn't show any pics or music, mostly question marks. I quickly picked up the previous version from the Trash and threw away the update.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
29 October 2008
Exact same experience - question marks for photos, prefs won't load, can't send feedback. Really bad build. 24" iMac, 4 GB SDRAM, 3.08 Ghz Core 2 Duo, OSX 10.5.5
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Onton
02 May 2008
Nice idea, but it starts very very slow and crashes immediately everytime I try to open the preferences. Maybe needs a fix for Tiger? Or is it Leo only? Mac OS 10.4.11, PowerBook G4 1Ghz, 1GB RAM
Like
Version 1.1
Babyfett
01 May 2008
I've been waiting for this update and was very disappointed that they didn't implement the ability to search for your photos via "event." "Last Import" and "Last Twelve Months" are too extremes, we need something in the middle so we don't have to wade through every picture to find the one we're looking for. And the search bar is pointless for most picture searches because unless you name each individual picture and remember that name they're just a number that the camera assigns and it's hard to search for.
Like
Version 1.1
Mhoutman
01 May 2008
what a wondeful app and it is free. the people from watson made my day !
Like
Version 1.1
Jedik
18 October 2007
Great idea. Almost there, needs a few features to be 'the' (free) choice for media browsing on Mac IMO: - double click opens in external viewer/editor (option) - more info for items (maybe a floating window when you mouse over or CONTROL+click) - more control for media playing (volume, etc) - and slideshow for pics would be awesome! =)
Like
Version 1.0
zx
16 October 2007
brilliant idea..keep on improving.
Like
Version 1.0