Back to MovieConverter-Studio page
MovieConverter-Studio free download for Mac

MovieConverter-Studio Reviews

3.09
27 June 2015

Easy and advanced video converter.

Mcherve
08 October 2008

Most helpful

a progressive PAL will be converted to NTSC FILM with a slowdown (reverse the process of transferring a movie from theater to PAL video) an interlaced PAL will be converted to NTSC Video without duration change (but with calculation of new fields) ...just try it ;)
Like (2)
Version 1.3

Read 21 MovieConverter-Studio User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
27 May 2015
The current version is 3.070
Like
Version 3.01
Herve-flores-Rupu
22 September 2014
2 versions of the app are available onto the site: - 64-bit version : for OS X.7 (Lion) and more - 32-bit version: for OS X.5 (Leopard, PPC or Intel processors) and more Both versions have the same features, but each one is optimized for your old or new computer!
Like
Version 2.51
GeogProf
18 June 2013
Am I wrong, or is this app not capable of converting to any formats other than .mpg or editable formats like .dv? It cannot convert a DVD or any other type of movie file to H.264 .mp4/.mkv, or .avi (which sucks anyway), or Flash, or QuickTime, etc.?
Like
Version 1.999
1 answer(s)
Herve-flores-Rupu
Herve-flores-Rupu
09 October 2013
Hi, the old version 1 was limited to standard definition. Here is the new version 2 … fully rewrite and no longer limited to just a few -old- outputs ;)
Like
GeogProf
18 June 2013
The splitting of this app into 2 different output 'modules' — Editing and Broadcasting — has always annoyed me. These functional categorizations are not organic, and no other apps use such distinctions. I like to have all of an app's capabilities available to me all the time so I can select the one I want without having to search through its weird modules to find it. And if I complete one function and want to use a completely different one, I don't want to then search through the modules again to find it. And it's particularly frustrating that there's no easy way to go back and select between the two modules (at least none that I can discern, since the icons make no sense). Maybe that's why I have used this a total of perhaps 5 times since getting a 1.6 license several years ago, and I actually encoded files with it only twice because I got frustrated and switched to another program the other 3 times. Unfortunately, the new version continues with the Editing and Broadcasting organizational scheme, so I won't be updating my license for this new version.
Like
Version 1.999
Herve-flores-Rupu
19 August 2012
The app is not "abandonware", but the old 1.6 version is ;-) The final 2.0 version will come soon, a beta is available onto the site. The 2.0 version is -of course- compliant with OSX: Mountain Lion (10.8), Lion (10.7), Snow Leopard (10.6) and Leopard (10.5) …and compliant with old computer PPC (on Mac Os X 10.5) too. good videos
Like (1)
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
11 September 2012
I’m very pleased to hear that! Glad we haven’t lost another good developer to the vagaries of Lion. In any case, OS X is again a good platform for video production (since Mountain Lion), but a number of apps have not yet made the leap — Good on ‘ya.
Like
GeogProf
23 May 2012
Is a new version still in the works, or is this abandonware?
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
02 July 2012
The dev's website says he's working at a 2.0 béta version... On my first attempt, version 1.6 crashed...
Like (1)
PorkPieHat
26 November 2011
Although the UI is pretty, it's confusing as hell and the Help files are impossible to understand. But it's one of only 2 apps I know of that get PAL to NTSC standards conversion right (the other is the free JES Deinterlacer). It needs MUCH better Help files and UI clarification, better file format support (it doesn't accept Matroska and other common file types), and an update of all the open source code it uses. But if the dev did all that, I'd buy it AGAIN. However, with iFFmpeg at $10, he'd really have to get everything right this time.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
3 answer(s)
MovieConverter
MovieConverter
29 November 2011
you are -partialy- right :-D …about UI clarification and some updates (but not about mkv files: the app already accept them, if it does not accept YOUT file, contact me directly to see what happened) A brand-new-(but beta) version will be released soon: with a better ergonomy ;-) At first time, they will be no new visible features in this app (new features will be available in the release version only) bye
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
11 June 2012
Please let us know when that's available. I haven't been able to use this app in a long while, but I look forward to its resuscitation.
Like
Herve-flores-Rupu
Herve-flores-Rupu
09 October 2013
"when that's available" ? now ;) good videos
Like
GeogProf
25 November 2011
I've owned this app for nearly 3 years, and I still can't get used to its bizarre interface. When I occasionally (and accidentally) hit upon the correct settings, it produces wonderful results, but it's just too confusing to consistently set it up right, especially if you don't use it regularly. It desperately needs an update, so hopefully the dev will take that opportunity to rework its UI to follow more standard guidelines, or at the very least have the Help files rewritten by a native English speaker to make them more intelligible (I speak fluent French and English but still struggle with it). It's even difficult to determine what it can and cannot do - partly because of the UI and partly because of its very poorly written Help files. Developer, please don't dismiss my comments about your UI. That is a consistent complaint of many commenters here, so please reconsider MCS's design.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
MovieConverter
MovieConverter
29 November 2011
Hi "please reconsider MCS's design" : yes, and I reconsidered it yet (the app wasn't ergonomic enough) But I don't understand your complain about Help (an native english speaker corrected help). But the help is still too technical, so too boring (so, not very functional for lambda users) See you after the new version ;)
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
11 June 2012
Please understand that I am anything BUT a "lambda" user (a term not really used in American English). As an academic documentary filmmaker, I have over 20 applications for various types of video transcoding and manipulation, and I use them at least a couple of times per week, though iFFmpeg has replaced several of the older ones. My criticism about MCS's organization — with respect — comes from someone with over 11 years of experience using FFMPEG via CLI on 3 different flavors of UNIX and 9 years on OS X, not to mention many years with QT Pro, Final Cut Pro and Compressor, Sorenson Squeeze, MainConcept Reference, Episode Pro and several others.
Like
NinaWalker
26 September 2011
Help! for some reason, when i use the converter it only converts the first 2 minutes of my video. why is this happening?
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
MovieConverter
MovieConverter
28 September 2011
Hi, Did you read the description on this page? (aka the app is Shareware) Did you read the "splash screen" at launch time? (saying that -whitout registration- this app limits encoding to 3 minutes long) And if the concern was elsewhere, so contact me directly and explain what happened ;-). PS: thanks for the "no feedback" but the 2 stars bye
Like
Bob115
23 August 2011
Still one of the best out there. I find I try all the programmes but if I ever have problems this always sorts them out 9 times out of 10. Great little programme.
Like
Version 1.6
Grhsvo
17 August 2011
I'm confused. On launch, the app asks if I want to download some additional tools. When I click agree it says "the app will now quit. Next time, accept the license." It stops just short of saying "hey moron, accept the license will ya" but...where? How?
Like (1)
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
MovieConverter
MovieConverter
28 September 2011
Hi, that's weird (it means that the app detected that you clicked on the "cancel button" …instead of?) If you will manage to reproduce it, so it's a bug (and contact me directly to correct it) bye bye
Like
Donkey'S-Butt
06 February 2010
It's quite impressive to the extent that this app uses an army of at least 35 command-line tools. I have never seen so many in one app. But where do they come from? The ReadMe file doesn't mention anything about them.
Like (1)
Version 1.54
1 answer(s)
Mcherve
Mcherve
06 February 2010
hello, credits of these great unix tools are available in the "about box" (in the app). Click on the button to access to full credits and sources (you will reach the site). PS: You could only find sources from unix tools on the site, you will find no credit nor sources from tools I specially made for the app ;). bye
Like (1)
Version 1.54
Mcherve
14 August 2009
helo, I didn't saw your review/concern gimme news (by mail) about this file bye
Like
Version 1.51
1 answer(s)
Barry-Coony
Barry-Coony
16 August 2009
Don't bother. It only happened ones. No worries.
Like (1)
Version 1.52
Barry-Coony
14 August 2009
Strange interface but in it does the works. Although I had a problem with one NTSC movie. The result was a squashed aspect ratio. Other movies are converted nicely. Good app
Like
Version 1.51
1 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
26 November 2011
Unquestionably the weirdest interface of any en/transcoding app available on MacUpdate. Confusing as hell, and written in unintelligible English. But if you can figure it out, it does good work — IF you can figure it out.
Like (1)
Robotank
26 April 2009
Overall, I think this is an excellent application. It works as advertised, making the conversion and authoring process (with menus and chapters) quick and mostly automated. For those who want a little more control, you can tweak encoding quality and some advanced options, as well as add custom pictures and audio to menus. The default settings for encoding produce good results, and PAL to NTSC conversions look great. It does have a non-standard interface, which I realize is an issue for some people, but it's very intuitive and fairly uncluttered. The only quibble I have is a minor one: the appearance of the default DVD menus could be better (I don't like the way they always display 6 little thumbnail boxes even if there's only one title). Give this app a try; and don't worry: it's not one of the numerous scamware converters that have popped up over the last few months (Aimersoft, iSkySoft, Wondershare, etc.).
Like
Version 1.501
3 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
26 April 2009
Actually, there's something about the demo version of this app that maybe I should have mentioned in my review. I encountered a bug when attempting to convert a couple of PAL AVIs. It gave an error message after synchronizing the audio saying something about the length of the audio stream not being what it should (the error message was in French, which I can read/speak only moderately well). I assumed the problem was related to the known bug the developer mentions on his web site regarding certain types of movie files where the video and audio are offset. However, I tried the conversion again after registering the software, and it worked fine. Whatever the problem was, it appears to be confined to the demo version. I'll email the dev with this bug too, but I thought it may be useful to post it here in case anyone else encounters it.
Like
Version 1.501
Mcherve
Mcherve
26 April 2009
hello, about the "error message [...] in French" please send me a mail :) About audio and synch (chapter FAQ on the site), the audio could be out of synch if it begins after the video & extracted from ffmpeg (this is not the most commun case, usually audio DVB-T, mts, etc begins before video). So if the audio is not extracted with QuickTime or mplayer, I don't have enough controls to compensate it yet (this is very complicated, I want to handle it in all modules, so …in a future version). About DVD-Video menus "6 little thumbnail boxes", in fact they is 9 thumbnails ;) The aim of this module is to produce not ugly menus automatically. Actually, these fixed thumbnails are a "little boring", next major revision will introduce some cooler menus (animated thumbnails, display in full screen for all tv 4:3 or widescreen, easier organization of tracks, etc). But I will keep the thumbnails principle. iDVD and MovieGate can produce some personnalised menus. The aim of my module is "don't waste time, some clics and it's OK, maybe not perfect but no 'taste error' and very functional"). Actually I'm making a DVD with trailers on my PPC (test purpose): 79 files, 1 naviguation menu, 9 submenus to access to all tracks, all of them with animated thumbs. It's not speed (PPC!) but it works ( and not too ugly for my FullHD TV ;)) bye waiting for your mail
Like
Version 1.501
GeogProf
GeogProf
26 November 2011
Huh?
Like
Mcherve
19 March 2009
Hello, a few comments, although I'm not sure I completely understood your "ticket mood/comments". MovieConverter changed its name to MC Studio since version 1.4 (kept it with the 2 minor updates, and will keep it in the next major update - soon). The name has changed due the additional features: MCS handles HighDefiniton videos for editing. Before, MCS outputs only to StandardDefinition for editing, or DVD-Video(SD too). Seems you readed and didn't like my bogus testimonials on the site, sorry if you didn't find it fun enough. I could write real feedbacks by some real users: like "Arte" or "France3" national broadcasters, director "Mathieu Kassovitz", "Capa Tv" movies production, etc but I prefer my funny ones ;-). PS: for h264, uses the free Handbrake (even one x264/FFmpeg developper on Mac uses it) to wrap it for BluRay, uses the free tsMuxeR Mac application and if you want standard conversion you can use the free JESdeinterlacer (great soft too) The aim of MovieConverter studio is only DVD-Video and editing. So, if I well understood, your only concerns with my app are: new name and not enough feedback on the net? great :-)
Like
Version 1.41
GeogProf
01 March 2009
This developer is a little flaky - released MovieConverter 1.41 but didn't get much interest. So, s/he changed the name and a couple days later released MovieConverter Studio 1.411, still to lukewarm response (which shocked me, because who wouldn't be thrilled about video software that can make ALL decisions for you?). I'm a little leery of these new-name movie converters that suddenly appear, because somebody has been low-renting the same useless piece-of-crap converter to a whole bunch of different get-rich-quick goombahs, who then rename it, maybe splash on a different skin, then try to sell it to all the people in the world who suddenly discovered they can rip, convert, compress and burn their own version of "The Fountain" to play on their dad's widescreen and impress their girlfriends' pants off with their mad skills and decidedly cosmopolitan taste in film. I'm not saying that MovieConverter Studio-Mixer-Betamax 1.41112136 is one of those! How could I know, since it's completely hobbled and therefore incapable of expressing its capabilities? So, like many (I'm sure), I just trashed it rather than pay $20 for a license to something with NO street cred, because everything about it on the web -- very little, indeed -- was clearly written by the same French rockin', renamin' code warrior who wrote it, and the same person who hasn't yet heard about x264). Of course, it's possible that I'm utterly wrong about this app, and to my chagrin it turns out that MovieTransmogrifier-Spa Edition v. Pi is actually the new pro bono, open source, developer-pays-YOU-ware, bane of the MPAA, mutant SorensonToastFairBrake-the-Ripper-MounterDVD2None-for-Dummies, well then my bad ;)
Like (1)
Version 1.41
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
23 April 2009
A funny and well-written comment. Thanks for that. I have no opinion on this software, but I always appreciate good writing!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Mcherve
08 October 2008
a progressive PAL will be converted to NTSC FILM with a slowdown (reverse the process of transferring a movie from theater to PAL video) an interlaced PAL will be converted to NTSC Video without duration change (but with calculation of new fields) ...just try it ;)
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Corpsecorps
08 October 2008
CONVERTS cleanly between PAL and NTSC? I'm very skeptical!
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Quietzapple
04 February 2008
Why are there no reviews if there have been 1,000 + downloads? I need to know if a tyro can use this to convert PAL Eye TV files (1.8.6 I think) to NTSC vid files.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Mcherve
Mcherve
07 February 2008
Hello, I don't know why nobody reviewed it (but I have "some" users, and broadcasters too ;) ) I don't have an eyetv, so I cannot verify it by myself. But users reported me good behavior with the files in .eyetv package without exporting to mpeg. the only pb (with .eyetv packaged files without export): the announced duration will be wrong (so will be the progress bar). But collect the real duration is tooooo slow (almost 1 minute for 1 hour duration on my Core2Duo) If you encounter a problem with your file, export it (from Eyetv) to a regular MPEG. If there is another problem(???), feel free to contact me directly. PS: sorry but I don't understand the word "tyro" (I'm french) PSS: next version will add compatibility with QuickTime 7.4(and more). bye
Like
Version 1.1
Quietzapple
04 February 2008
Why are there no reviews if there have been 1,000 + downloads? I need to know if a tyro can use this to convert PAL Eye TV files (1.8.6 I think) to NTSC vid files.
Like
Version 1.1