Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Winclone page
Winclone free download for Mac

Winclone Reviews

15 November 2020

Clone your Boot Camp partition.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Barry5p
Barry5p
Mar 1 2020
8.0.2
5.0
Mar 1 2020
5.0
Version: 8.0.2
Works perfectly. Restored from my backup image and Bootcamp worked as it should. This app is worth every cent.
Rolandnl
Rolandnl
Nov 22 2019
8.0.1
0.0
Nov 22 2019
0.0
Version: 8.0.1
Version 8 A total waste of money and time, it is faster reinstalling Windows10 and everything from scratch. Bought it because I was in a rush, but my cloned Bootcamp partition would not mount. Now I need to make some USB Win10 usb stick to load ssd drivers and then it might work. Ah off course, I bought this software to avoid stuff like that obviously. Zero star. Completely useless software.
seena
seena
Sep 28 2018
7.2
4.0
Sep 28 2018
4.0
Version: 7.2
It is best....

J-michael-pinc
J-michael-pinc
Sep 25 2018
7.2
4.0
Sep 25 2018
4.0
Version: 7.2
A good solution for transfering your Bootcamp partition, though I can't find out if there's an upgrade path from 6 to 7 anywhere.
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Apr 25 2018
6.2.1
0.5
Apr 25 2018
0.5
Version: 6.2.1
Show Backup Menu Item in Winclone (6.2.1) Preferences was causing extremely CPU Usage in Activity Monitor on 2011 Mac Mini (core i7) after installing 10.13.4 Mac OS update, causing constantly high fan speed. Turned off and problem stopped. Please correct problem.
stevengregory2007
stevengregory2007
Oct 12 2017
6.1.7
0.5
Oct 12 2017
0.5
Version: 6.1.7
The most awful Support ever. Not worth the money
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Sep 30 2017
6.1.5
0.5
Sep 30 2017
0.5
Version: 6.1.5
Developer did not provide LICENSE KEY upon payment.
Radus
Radus
Sep 13 2017
6.1.4
0.5
Sep 13 2017
0.5
Version: 6.1.4
Was good but 6.1.4 does not clone at all: Cloning Error: Error reading partition
curlypaws
curlypaws
Feb 19 2016
5.0
5.0
Feb 19 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0
Like jreffner, I'm happy to pay the extra for a piece of software that makes a tedious task easier. The software works very well indeed for transferring Boot Camp partitions between drives and there are various strategies for tackling a change in image size (for instance, moving a partition to an SSD as I was doing). Russell at Twocanoes was very helpful and patient in his explanations and also obliged with some additional suggestions to tackle what I was trying (despite some 'operator error' on my part initially). Very much appreciated.
jreffner
jreffner
Dec 17 2015
5.0
5.0
Dec 17 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0
Well, personally, I'm thrilled to pay $40.00 for not only saving me DAYS of rebuilding my Windows drive, but it also ensures that I don't loose anything either. Plus the piece of mind knowing it is always backed up is well worth the cost as well. Winclone (and SuperDuper!) are critical for me. Finally, I have to give credit where it is due. I just finished using Winclone and had to utilize the tech support to restore my drive correctly. Russell was extremely kind and patient as he helped me get through my own mistakes so that my Windows could be restored. In these days, where most large companies blow you off and blame some other software rather than help you fix your problem, Russell was superb in his assistance. So, not only is the product easy to use, versatile, and effective, the tech support is wonderful too. I highly recommend this piece of software.
dakpoli
dakpoli
Nov 22 2015
5.0
2.0
Nov 22 2015
2.0
Version: 5.0
Well it works. But I'm using a very old (and free) version of it quite fine. 40$ for this tool? Go to hell
Guest
Guest
Oct 23 2015
5.0
0.0
Oct 23 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0
Good but the price is ridiculous
joshosborne
joshosborne
Aug 15 2015
5.0
2.0
Aug 15 2015
2.0
Version: 5.0
In my opinion, way too expensive for what it provides. I thought it was great until I had to pay to upgrade so it'd run on later OS X versions. I didn't see any compelling new features that I thought were worth paying for again. Using Paragon Boot Camp Backup now.
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
OnAir2650
OnAir2650
May 21 2015
5.0
4.0
May 21 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
The perfect companion for Boot Camp partition!
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Mar 20 2015
5.0
5.0
Mar 20 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0
Is there cost to upgrade to 5.0 from 4.4?
Welandr
Welandr
Mar 1 2015
4.4
3.0
Mar 1 2015
3.0
Version: 4.4
good app somehow ...but only in the beginning it was i think....but veeery confusing now with app updates ..mean while..the new bootcamp bkp´s and old bkp´s won't work with the new app version and so on and back...come on ..whats wrong with ..and you want a bit much money for that confused work.... sorry
Heymini
Heymini
Nov 7 2014
4.4
2.5
Nov 7 2014
2.5
Version: 4.4
Looked good at first and managed to make an image of my Bootcamp drive but couldnt manage to re install it on my new SSD. After several emails to the developer, some useful advice and several attempts at reinstalling Win7 i had to give up and start from scratch. This may work for some people and the developers are helpful but it just wouldn't work for me. Possibly something to do with the Apricorn Veolicty X2 in my Mac Pro. Developer did however refund the purchase price
Patman162
Patman162
Sep 20 2014
4.4
3.0
Sep 20 2014
3.0
Version: 4.4
Will this work for installing Windows 8.1 Pro on a Macbook Pro Mid 2012 running Mavericks (OS X 10.9.5)?
James-Learner
James-Learner
Jun 18 2014
4.4
0.0
Jun 18 2014
0.0
Version: 4.4
I only have Snow Leopard. Can I buy Winclone 3 ? Would it work ?
sjhain
sjhain
Mar 5 2014
4.4
5.0
Mar 5 2014
5.0
Version: 4.4
incredible perfect
Phillat5dock
Phillat5dock
Mar 1 2014
4.4
5.0
Mar 1 2014
5.0
Version: 4.4
This software just gets better and better. I have had few problems creating an image of my Bootcamp partition. It is then a no-brainer to restore the image. I recently upgraded my Mac to include an SSD and created a Core Storage volume. Then I created a NTFS partition for Windows. Winclone rebuilt the image and I was able to boot into Windows, albeit with a generic BSD (Vista ??) I have yet to rebuild an image with Winclone 4.4. Maybe it has an updated BSD., but with 4.3 I just used Easy BSD to rebuild BSD for Windows 7. Hope this makes sense. The developer is very supportive. For some strange reason I can only give 4½ stars for Value, but I really want to give 5 stars.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Dec 31 2013
4.2.2
5.0
Dec 31 2013
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
There is a new version 4.3.1; in fact 4.3 was released awhile ago.
Macs-Pain
Macs-Pain
Dec 25 2013
4.2.2
1.0
Dec 25 2013
1.0
Version: 4.2.2
Does not work. Ok, it clones the bootcamp partition and is able to restore it back. But there is no chance that Windows will start up. There ALWAYS is a black screen with "error loading operating system". So this app just costs money and has no value because installing windows completely new is the only chance to make windows start up again.
Frank-O'Connor
Frank-O'Connor
Aug 12 2013
4.2
4.0
Aug 12 2013
4.0
Version: 4.2
Does what it says. One minor gripe ... version 4.0 fails to register the new version(s) at the developer site and won't update to later versions ... and thanks to the update scheme you can't update by downloading the updated version manually.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jun 11 2013
4.0
5.0
Jun 11 2013
5.0
Version: 4.0
Great program, though, apparently the information on this web page is not correct. Winclone 4 is intended for 10.7 or higher.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jun 11 2013
4.0
5.0
Jun 11 2013
5.0
Version: 4.0
I downloaded Winclone 4.0 but keeps crashing on snow leopard 10.6.8. Anyone else have this problem? sent crash report to Twocanoes support.......
dvh
dvh
Jun 10 2013
4.0
0.0
Jun 10 2013
0.0
Version: 4.0
Developer announced $14.99 upgrade for owners of Winclone 3 (and refund/rebate if you paid full price when upgrading previously)
Acuraice
Acuraice
Jun 6 2013
3.7
5.0
Jun 6 2013
5.0
Version: 3.7
Version 4.0 is out !!! $29.99 ,maybr cheaper for upgrade
fvdgeestdtp
fvdgeestdtp
Feb 25 2013
3.7
1.0
Feb 25 2013
1.0
Version: 3.7
Simply fails to restore... I waited for 8 hours, the progess bar just stayed at the beginning. I could cancel so the app did not crash or hang... Making a backup was done in 25 miniutes or so, restore did, well, nothing at all...
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Oct 20 2012
3.5
5.0
Oct 20 2012
5.0
Version: 3.5
I agree! This is without a doubt the BEST BOOT CAMP CLONING app for OSX
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Oct 20 2012
3.5
5.0
Oct 20 2012
5.0
Version: 3.5
Winclone and C C Cloner are absolute necessities for Mac owners. This program performs flawlessly. I like to experiment and well...when things do not go well as I expect...... I have a safety net with Winclone. It had never failed me and consider how long it would take you to re-load Windows 7 and with Winclone I can reload Windows 7 in about 25 minutes (120 GB). This is useful/necessary and with a minimal investment. Quality always prevails/rocks:)
Acuraice
Acuraice
Aug 12 2012
3.4
5.0
Aug 12 2012
5.0
Version: 3.4
Winclone is the only and absolute BEST bootcamp cloning utility for mac. After a few years of no support,twocanoes is back in business and Winclone is better than ever. Works flawlessly!! the support from Tim the developer is excellent if you should have any questions or concerns. Version 3.4 for ML has been out for almost 2 weeks,not sure why its hitting macupdate so late.
Naoh
Naoh
Aug 12 2012
3.3
0.0
Aug 12 2012
0.0
Version: 3.3
And Winclone 3.4 is now available. One new feature is Mountain Lion compatibility.
BiL-C
BiL-C
May 14 2012
3.3
4.5
May 14 2012
4.5
Version: 3.3
Changes to 3.3 (from the update notes) • Better detection of failed imaging due to disk errors • Warning added (with information button) about doing a chkdsk prior to imaging
Kzx72
Kzx72
May 13 2012
3.2
0.0
May 13 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
What are some of the changes? Is cloning / copying a partition from one HD to another any faster?
Acuraice
Acuraice
Mar 26 2012
3.1
5.0
Mar 26 2012
5.0
Version: 3.1
HANDS DOWN THE BEST BOOTCAMP CLONING UTILITY EVER!! Back form the dead !! Please buy this app if you haven't already,you will not be disappointed. It does exactly what it claims to and even more. It will save you hours of windows frustration and preserve all of your work saved in windows on your macs. It is the only software of its kind and is priced so very reasonable. The developer is an amazingly brilliant man who cares deeply about his customers. He has always responded to me personally on the forums on his site as well as personal responses to email in super fast return times. Please i cant say it enough,if you have bootcamp installed on your macs,please make the purchase of the app a staple in your mac arsenal!
Boni
Boni
Mar 15 2012
3.0.2
0.0
Mar 15 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
'Operation failed! - Error: Cluster 4367576 referenced twice! You didn't shutdown your Windowsproperly?' Tried using Winclone 3.0.2 with OS X Lion 10.7.3. Nothing wrong with windows 7 under bootcamp as far as i can see. Tried it three times. Doesn't work for me. :-(
THEE:LEE
THEE:LEE
Mar 12 2012
3.0.2
4.0
Mar 12 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0.2
Very useful!
Strob
Strob
Mar 3 2012
3.0.1
0.0
Mar 3 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
Developer: Please explain what besides Lion compatibility does this paid version do that the freeware 2.3 can't. I am using Snow Leopard. MU: The developer link is broken.
jreffner
jreffner
Mar 3 2012
3.0.1
5.0
Mar 3 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
There is no better way to back up and especially restore your Windows drive/partition than with WinClone. I've tried backing up from within Windows. It Sucks. Yes, even Acronis. It's not consistent. WinClone is the only way you can easily restore your entire Windows drive in one swift process. I've restore three times with this app and it has never failed. $20.00 is a bargain for what it does.
MisterE
MisterE
Mar 2 2012
3.0
0.0
Mar 2 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0
MU is still out of date. The developer's site link doesn't even work anymore. Current version is 3.0.1. http://twocanoes.com/winclone.php
crowley5
crowley5
Feb 28 2012
2.3.1
4.5
Feb 28 2012
4.5
Version: 2.3.1
The site here is out of date, winclone is now a paid app ($19.99) and has a new developer. It's at version 3.0 now and is supported under 10.6 and 10.7. A shame it now costs, but it is a valuable app and if it supports it's development then why not!
Pacmanen
Pacmanen
Jan 25 2012
2.3.2
5.0
Jan 25 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
So far so good, now it is just to wait to see if it works for me on 2.3.3 which you can get from the website... I really hope it works and if it do I will for sure donate to the developer since been looking for something like this for so long... I love it all ready so give 5 stars since I am sure it works :-) thx in advance... I will write again if went bad some way if not then it will be the last word for me. THX
Kzx72
Kzx72
Dec 15 2011
2.3.2
0.0
Dec 15 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
For unknown reasons, Bootcamp support & VMware tools needed to be reinstalled when my partition was cloned from the main hard drive to secondary. After running Winclone and copying Bootcamp partition, it took two restarts for the operating system to fully recognized Windows - CHKDSK cycled through a couple times. The right mouse button wouldn't work initially until the support software off Snow Leopard was reinstalled. To anyone looking to use this program, I highly recommended downloading the CNET link user Tempel provided in an earlier post (many of the others download links were incompatible with my version of OS X; 10.6.5)
Kzx72
Kzx72
Dec 14 2011
2.3.2
0.0
Dec 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
Can someone help me out with this one? I've been trying to create a clone of my BootCamp partition for a while now and Winclone just won't do it. Every time I attempt to create an image, the program finishes in like 4 seconds and gives a blue screen like error of death in the message log. I've tried switching options under, "When cloning an NTFS partition" in preferences and it still won't go. Is there like a combination of boxes I need to check in preferences to get this application to operate correctly? Has anyone else had similar issues? Would appreciate any feedback as it's an application I would like to use...