Back to BusySync page
BusySync free download for Mac

BusySync Reviews

2.3.1
24 July 2012

Keep iCal calendars in sync on a network.

Wintersmith
21 April 2009

Most helpful

The product itself works well. It fills a puzzling feature gap in iCal, and gets the job done. However. The price is nuts. More politely put, it's both deceptive and out of touch. First, it's not actually $25-it's $50, and that's if you're content to sync calendars on a measly TWO machines. I think 3 or 4 machines combined at home and work is pretty average for users most likely to be interested in this utility, but that takes the price up to $75-$100. And no, there's no discount until the 5-licenses mark. 10% off if you spend $125 to $225 for a shareware utility. Gee, thanks dad! When you consider that $90 will get you Adobe Photoshop Elements and $80 will buy a new 4GB iPod Shuffle, it's difficult to understand why BusyMac would insist on a price like this.
Like (7)
Version 2.1.9

Read 27 BusySync User Reviews

Rate this app:

Xanteen
16 February 2013
Still a great way to connect iCal to Google and iOS devices. Been using it for a few years and had my first issue yesterday. Emailed the logs to the dev and got a reply in minutes that helped me solve my problem.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Nick-Collingridge
28 July 2010
Great product. Works extremely well. One of those rare products where these comments are pretty much all that's needed. The only other thing to say is that I wish this product also did the same job for the Address Book.
Like
Version 2.3
Robertcoogan
28 July 2010
Definitely a must-have for those who need a quality scheduling app. Had a few very minor bugs on release, the devs have been awesome about addressing them. Well worth the price.
Like
Version 2.3
monty-3
25 September 2009
Anybody know what happened to busymac? I tried all day to log on to their site but "server not found" is all I get. Did they go out of business?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Eval
24 September 2009
Site seems to be down yesterday and today. Weird. This is the simplest and most reliable way to sync calendars among users on a network. It is expensive relative to the competition though.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
25 September 2009
True more expensive but feature list is much longer than competitors. Depending on your needs you can go with a good free sync app or get busycal and have an all in one ical. Like the dev says it's ical on steroids. Personally I think it is worth the money, especially since it is a one and done cal app which suites my needs. It is fully functional shareware for 30 days though so you get a chance to see if it is worth the $30 they are asking. Remember this is still in beta! Can only get better, unless circumstances the dev can't control prevent further development but I don't think that is the case. I like the app, I like it in conjunction with ideskcal, calendar apps are a hard thing to choose and pay for, each app has it's ups and downs but this seems to have more up's than down's... Good post though man. Definitely points out the big issue of price. +1 from me.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Eval
Eval
26 September 2009
Site is back up. They had some provider trouble, I guess. The URL http://www.busysync.com/ works if your DNS hasn't updated to the new provider.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Wintersmith
21 April 2009
The product itself works well. It fills a puzzling feature gap in iCal, and gets the job done. However. The price is nuts. More politely put, it's both deceptive and out of touch. First, it's not actually $25-it's $50, and that's if you're content to sync calendars on a measly TWO machines. I think 3 or 4 machines combined at home and work is pretty average for users most likely to be interested in this utility, but that takes the price up to $75-$100. And no, there's no discount until the 5-licenses mark. 10% off if you spend $125 to $225 for a shareware utility. Gee, thanks dad! When you consider that $90 will get you Adobe Photoshop Elements and $80 will buy a new 4GB iPod Shuffle, it's difficult to understand why BusyMac would insist on a price like this.
Like (7)
Version 2.1.9
2 answer(s)
Djc0
Djc0
01 May 2009
I have an iMac, and Air and an iPhone. I have BusySync installed on the iMac and use MobileMe to keep all my iCal's in step. Hence i only need one BusySync license. True, i needed MobileMe to do this (at ~$99/year), but there are a number of cheap or free ways to sync iCal calendars to give the same effect. The beauty of BusySync is that it syncs between **Google Calendar and iCal**, something that's much harder to do without grief. And BusySync has done this seamlessly, for me at least. I'm very happy to have purchased it, and i highly recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.9
Lee123
Lee123
20 September 2009
weird, my ical and google calendar sync fine. There are instructions on google on how to set it up and its not hard.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Andrewm
02 January 2009
$25 per computer??? For syncing utility, regardless how good, is simply unacceptable. I use 4 different macs at home and buying 4 licenses for $100 is not what I will do. $25 per home network would be a different story and fully justifiable. All those "OH's" and "AH's" here with 3 to 5 star ratings smell fishy to me too.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.9
ehd
04 December 2008
Do we still need this with Google's new FREE application called Calabration, downloaded from here: http://code.google.com/p/calaboration/downloads/list Can someone tell me why we need to pay for a third party utility? Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1.9
1 answer(s)
Spicelmf
Spicelmf
20 December 2008
http://blog.busymac.com/blog/2008/12/google-caldav-versus-busysync.html BusySync put up that comparison. I actually don't use BusySync yet but I plan to download the demo now. I was very hyped up about Google's iCal support, then I realized it only pulls your gCal down to iCal. Personally, I use iCal and would like those calendars to be pushed up to gCal. I'd basically have to delete and recreate all my calendars for this to work. Not to mention for some reason all the calendars are broken up under their each "folder". For example my appointments calendar is under Google:Appointments.. why? Call me OCD but I find it annoying.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.9
ivanovitch
20 October 2008
Works like a charm, especially now that the repeating items bug is sorted out. It's worth every cent, even for a group of users. Whilst there are free alternatives available, this offers a more comprehensive suite of tools in a better interface, and the ability to retrieve backups is a deal-maker. The developers are responsive, and helpful - making the app even more useful and understandable (setup is a bit confusing because there are numerous options). All in all, great value, and a 'set-and-forget' app that does what it promises.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
Arctos
25 September 2008
I used the trial version, and it was nice & handy. Now, spending a bit of time w/google calendar & the iCal > Preferences > accounts > add account (+), I'm not sure where I see the value in this app at $25.00 US per computer. Yes, the google calendars mean that you have to have a new account for each sub-calendar in google, but, I've saved myself $50.00, I still have security (my google calendars are not public). Hence the shorter stars. Yes, we all need to make a living, but, there are other options out there for those willing to spend the time. I suppose I'd consider buying it if I didn't need a license for every computer - I need to pay bills too! Get it for free - http://www.google.com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=99358
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
06 October 2008
You don't get it. BusySync makes possible over-the-air syncing of Google calendars AND subscribed calendars via MobileMe to the iPhone. It isn't possible otherwise.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Molamola
Molamola
20 October 2008
Google Calendars synced to iCal are Read Only when you sync them to the iPhone which means you can not enter / change anything using your iPhone. So in case you use an iPhone and want to use the free google calender instead of a terribly expensive mobile me subscription to get a Mac/iphone and Web based calendar solution, BusySync will pay of after just 3 months (compared to subscribing to mobile me). So it makes perfect sense to me, at least as long as Apple does'nt provide a way to make google calender items writable on the iPhone. Matthias
Like
Version 2.1.8
Guntis
20 August 2008
Doees what it promises. Excellent app. Little bit confusing setup in preferences, but not too much.
Like
Version 2.1.5
Christophermscott
27 June 2008
This app is simply awesome. I have been using it for over two months and have had almost no problems with it. The one problem I did have was almost instantly resolved via customer support. I highly recommend this especially after using SpanningSync
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3b2
Jadder
06 June 2008
This program works seamlessly in the background, is easy to set up and has FANTASTIC developer support.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Walruscp
06 June 2008
This is the perfect solution for those of us who need to keep our calendars synced. It works like a charm, and coupling it with Google's sync app for Outlook I can keep all of my calendars synced through Google Calendar. A must have!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
cyberbrent
31 May 2008
Service! Service! Service! I sent my third question in at 9:20am this morning and by 9:31am I had a reply from the developer John. You can't get better than this folks :-)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Winco
14 May 2008
Magnificent! Just Works. Well done chaps! When it doesn't work, sent a 'help' email to the chaps at BusySync and overnight they will provide a solution/answer. Brilliant! Not their issue. My issue. On my Macs. Their logging software provides them with the reason you may have technical issues. They ask you to email them you BusySync logs and they come back with an answer on how to solve the issue. What else could one want. Spiffing solution. Works. Works. Works. Works. Buy. Buy. Buy. Buy.
Like
Version 2.0
Kalvink
20 April 2008
BusySync is absolutely spectacular-- I've been running it for over a month to sync with Google Calendar and it *just works*. I was using Spanning Sync for six months prior to that but it has various issues (duplicated events, events refusing to sync) and is incredibly slow at syncing... BusySync is instant and hasn't had *a single issue*. It's got a little checkbox if you want to use https, so it's pretty secure too. Spanning Sync = awesome support, mediocre product BusySync = awesome PRODUCT
Like
Version 2.0
Femigh
11 April 2008
Flawless, and fast, as in 'it just works' with Google calendar. SpanningSync looks good, and they are certainly trying hard enough. But it often stalls, or does just a partial sync (I typically have about 12 calendars active), or syncs only in one direction. They blame it on Google protocols, but BusySync sidesteps all that, and is very quick at automatically updating. No hiccups whatever. The odd thing about BusySync documentation is that it appears as if the .prefPane merely automates iCal's publish and subscribe protocols. But all one has to do is publish to Google calendar from iCal (via BusySync), and then a change at _either_ end will update on the other. So after a couple of days with BusySync I am about to break a personal rule not to buy software until the full trial period has been exercised. Well, maybe a few more days. And hoping that BusySync will in future extend to synchronizing Address Book with Google contacts . . . .
Like
Version 2.0b8
dan-friml
21 March 2008
After one week of using I had NO problem with this application. It works great, does everything I need (and much more) and it's reliable. And the latest update brings some new features which make this even better. 20 dollars well spent.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Macevangelist
16 March 2008
This software is apparently designed for Macs that are being restarted regularly. On servers and notebooks, that are put to sleep over night, BusySync stops working after a few days and will not update until it is restarted. Don't plan to be able to share a single calendar with your workmates. Only your Mac will sync events with all the others. If your on leave none of your colleagues will be able to sync that calendar among each other. If your Mac is not available one coworker will make appointments on days on which another coworker already scheduled one for you, just because there's no syncing among them. When using Mac OS X 10.4 you cannot specify to remove alarms of a shared calendar.
Like
Version 2.0b6
Wim-Waman
03 March 2008
This app is a nightmare. Deleted all of my wife's calendars. She had to start from scratch. Beware and stay away from this app!
Like
Version 1.5
TomEck
08 January 2008
Fantastic app! -- I bought it today (8 January 2008) from macZOT, and it works fine on my tiger system!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
cyberbrent
06 December 2007
WOW - 5 years on and waiting for Apple - I could not believe it when I stumbled upon this simple app that would sync our office iCal calendars. We've tried them all (Spanning Sync) had the highest hopes but deleted all our "custom repeats" - should have backed up better - and that cost for that mistake was over $10,000 in repeating customers striped of their reminders. So with hesitancy we tried BusySync - first with 1 calendar and when that went well we kept adding them (at 8 now with over 20,000 events spanning over 5 years) all syncing PERFECT. This app is from a longtime mac programmer and I can see they brought their excellent skills to the table to finally give us iCAL SYNCING!!!! Great app.
Like
Version 1.07
Shaun-Rowe
28 November 2007
This program solved our office problems. The only problem lies not with busySync but with iCal itself. you would think it would be a built in thing to synch up a network of computers with iCal.
Like
Version 1.06
Netdiving
23 November 2007
$40 to sync between 2 macs is steep. Might otherwise be useful for syncing two macs (laptop and desktop) without dot mac. At this price, too steep for my home network of two users with four computers.
Like
Version 1.06
Winco
22 November 2007
Currently trialling this with 2 macs. Very easy to set up and use. Works very well as advertised. To sync iCal calendars on different macs you need Leopard server pack. No need to invest in this with this solution. If you have Tiger, it won't stop other peoples alarms coming up on your computer though. This feature is only available to Leopard iCal users. Would be very useful to have this feature in BusySync for those of us still on Tiger. Highly recommended product all the same. 30 day trial is ample time to use it too and their email response to questions is exemplary.
Like
Version 1.06
Sanjinko
31 October 2007
Pricing starts from $19.95 per user, and minimum 2 users are required, hence $39 are required for syncing 2 Macs.
Like
Version 1.0.3