Back to Numbers page
Numbers free download for Mac

Numbers Reviews

6.2
02 October 2019

Apple's spreadsheet app from the iWork suite.

xcoxco
30 October 2013

Most helpful

Dear Apple, The latest Pages, Keynote and Numbers applications violate a core principle of good computer-human interface design. The new interface design increases the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It now takes more thought, hand motions, mouse clicks, and eye movements to accomplish the same task than with the prior versions. That adds up to a whole lot of lost productivity day in and day out. As business users, while the new versions may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Consider the loss of the floating tool pallet. The floating pallet or "inspector" was an innovation. The new fixed "inspector" at the right-hand of the screen is not. A well designed pallet not only reduces the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It also allows one to see the relationship in *real-time* between cause & effect in a single clear line of sight; between acting upon an object (text, table, chart, etc) and the results of such action. With the new fixed inspector, on a 27" Mac screen, one's eyes must move about 12" to the right to select the tool, and then move 12" or more to the left, to see the results of any such action. One must constantly take one's sight off the "ball." The floating pallet obviates this problem. That is why, as an invention, it was so useful. That is partly why we started to migrate our work from Powerpoint to Keynote, about 10 years ago, and later from Excel and Word to Numbers and Pages. Apple's novel implementation of dynamic floating pallets increased our productivity over the sort of semi-static floating pallets that characterized Microsoft Office (and still do). Needless to say, we are now migrating back to the prior iWork version to stem the productivity loss. Whether we give up on Apple and return to the Microsoft fold remains to be seen. While the new applications may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Yours sincerely, A Long-Time Loyal Business User
Like (9)
Version 3.0

Read 38 Numbers User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lvdoc
26 June 2019
If this has "greatly improved accuracy," then what, exactly, was I getting before this?
Like (1)
Version 6.1
Derekcurrie
18 September 2018
Numbers v5.2 requires macOS 10.13 High Sierra.. It is NOT compatible with 10.12, Sierra, which can run v5.1.
Like
Version 5.2
Eric•Woehler
04 May 2018
Dumbed-down, stripped down version of earlier Numbers version. Still using Numbers 2.3 from iWork 09 bundle. "Streamlined" app means loss of features, and a more challenging GUI and UX when using the latest versions of Pages/Keynote/Numbers. I am assuming loss of features etc is to ensure compatability with iPad versions of the same apps. A pity - Apple dumbed down the OSX versions rather than beefing up the iOS versions. Sticking with iWork 09 apps for as long as OSX allows! 5 stars for '09 apps, 1 star for current.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
xraydoug
29 March 2018
Apple still has not returned the capability of changing the size, shape, and layout of worksheet elements in print view. They seem to have convinced themselves that no one could possible want to print anymore, so why bother giving the ability to format sheets to fit a page? I need to provide my spreadsheets as pdf reports, which most of the world wants to see in 8.5 x 11. I live in fear of the day when my '09 version of Numbers, the last that let us format in print view, is no longer compatible.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
Mitchismo
26 April 2017
I love this app. It's my favorite Spreadsheet app. Different sheets on different pages—freedom of creation—easy to copy styles. This is the king of Apple's Suite. I run my business using it and have for years.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Alvin-H
28 March 2017
easy , and it's fit for me, check your requirement before buy...
Like
Version 4.1
trim262
14 March 2016
A good choose.
Like
Version 3.6.1
Johninsapporo
12 November 2015
Doesn't make coffee, probably couldn't use it to track a trajectory to the moon, but it does everything I want and probably loads more. Good, reliable software that's easy to use. Syncs perfectly and seamlessly with iOS devices. I don't like iTunes these days, but I do like Pages, Numbers and Keynote.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.1
Thorgrim
27 October 2015
3.6. Try copying a table from one document to another. It was easy in the past. Now you have to set the size of the destination table EXACTLY the same size BEFORE pasting the data or the data duplicates or is just missing. Oh, and all column sizing is lost.
Like
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
Johninsapporo
Johninsapporo
12 November 2015
I can't reproduce this problem. It works fine on Numbers 3.6.1 on a 2009 iMac running 10.11.1.
Like
Holmemoss
25 October 2015
Numbers 3.6 frequently crashes. The work around which works for most people is to make a copy and then export the copy to Numbers 09; the formatting is lost though. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7294477 It seems the crashes are caused if Language & Region are set to something other than US English!!!! I have been using Mac since the late 1980s but Apple has lost the plot. P.S. I used to have numerous 'pluses' which have disappeared with MacUpdate's 'upgrade'.
Like
Version 3.6
lp_1
20 October 2015
Numbers 3.6 sucks. All number formats are wrong and it takes up all of my time. No commas separating thousands and instead a comma separating commodity from cents.... Tried everything to change the format with no luck!!! I hate apple!! Wish my company would change to microsoft!
Like
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
29 March 2018
Then best you go jump off a cliff like all the other lemmings, mate.
Like
ABC123YouAndMe
28 August 2015
Can't export to OpenDocumentFormat. That's a no-no, dear apple.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.3
resmontanari
31 March 2015
ok
Like
Version 3.5.2
Eyeless
18 October 2014
Had to install the same version twice (3.5) -- seem like they had forgot to include the new look the first time around ... huh :-/. I had hoped the file size would have decreased from the ridiculously big size before, but the file size got even bigger now. I have a file both in Excel format and in Numbers 3.5 format and the Excel file (which is quite clumsy) is 11.8 MB, while the Numbers file version is 21.8 MB - nearly the double size - is that really necessary? Searching for something still takes half a minute before getting a result ... unlike Excel where it is like always near instantaneous ... .
Like
Version 3.5
Ali-Egypt
03 April 2014
3.2 fixed several problems I had (even not listed bug fixes). And it is now actually very usable and stable.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Powercc
03 April 2014
The current version 3.2 looks and works fine and fixed lot of the first loosing function. For home office it is ok and it is for free, for business user not really serious alternative to MS Excel
Like (2)
Version 3.2
Appledogx
25 January 2014
Apple must be sleeping or struggling to bring back features they killed off in this fiasco. No page headers yet in Numbers 3.1? You've got to be kidding. Apple should have fired the whole group that did the iWork 13 apps and replaced them with real programmers or the group that did iWork 09 so well. They really had a clue, but ones that did these 'improvements' don't even have a clue of what users actually want and need. And REAL PROGRAMMERS don't kill off features that users depend upon then add them back at a trickle. If this is the post-Steve Jobs Apple, they're in for lots of trouble.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
4 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
28 January 2014
Of course they did this same kind of thing under Steve many times before. The original OS X killed off many important OS 9 features, iMovie 7 killed off many iMovie 6 features, Final Cut X killed off many Final Cut 7 features.
Like (5)
mrmrz5892
mrmrz5892
21 July 2014
dvsdgfgfdgfs
Like
Pik80
Pik80
22 July 2014
rewqpoiucvn.m,d
Like
claybrowne
claybrowne
22 August 2014
Of course there are page headers! HIT "Print" to see the document parameters on the right. Make sure the box(es) are checked to enable Headers (and/or Footers). move the cursor to that area of the thumbnail, and you should see the box appear that contains the Header itself. Click in it and start typing! all the text settings (font, size, justification...) are there, too. All of this is available to see on Apple's Numbers Help website.
Like (3)
Beto-Boton
24 January 2014
I would prefer to pay for a decent application. This is not for adults...
Like (4)
Version 3.1
Pfackelmann
27 December 2013
The App Store updates show a discrepancy: App Version File info ------- ------- --------- Keynote 6.0.1 5.0.3 Numbers 3.0.1 2.0.3 Pages 5.0.1 4.3 Couldn't send a simple message. Phone support asked many silly questions then told me I have to pay 49 Euros to get an answer. Ridiculous.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
AlexHughy
01 November 2013
Great this is now free with all new Macs. But it still struggles with CSV files when tabs are used for spacings. Pity.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
24 January 2014
Did you try to exchange tabs by coma for example with text edit?
Like
Macedward
31 October 2013
The new path of iWorks that Apple has taken, are simple put a very wrong turn. Hope they will be back on track with a new update, an update without the sacrifice of the old principles of Apple. The way of iOS is not the way Apple should go regarding the software of MacOSX. I do not want to play with toys, I want to and need to work with real tools.
Like (6)
Version 3.0
xcoxco
30 October 2013
Dear Apple, The latest Pages, Keynote and Numbers applications violate a core principle of good computer-human interface design. The new interface design increases the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It now takes more thought, hand motions, mouse clicks, and eye movements to accomplish the same task than with the prior versions. That adds up to a whole lot of lost productivity day in and day out. As business users, while the new versions may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Consider the loss of the floating tool pallet. The floating pallet or "inspector" was an innovation. The new fixed "inspector" at the right-hand of the screen is not. A well designed pallet not only reduces the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It also allows one to see the relationship in *real-time* between cause & effect in a single clear line of sight; between acting upon an object (text, table, chart, etc) and the results of such action. With the new fixed inspector, on a 27" Mac screen, one's eyes must move about 12" to the right to select the tool, and then move 12" or more to the left, to see the results of any such action. One must constantly take one's sight off the "ball." The floating pallet obviates this problem. That is why, as an invention, it was so useful. That is partly why we started to migrate our work from Powerpoint to Keynote, about 10 years ago, and later from Excel and Word to Numbers and Pages. Apple's novel implementation of dynamic floating pallets increased our productivity over the sort of semi-static floating pallets that characterized Microsoft Office (and still do). Needless to say, we are now migrating back to the prior iWork version to stem the productivity loss. Whether we give up on Apple and return to the Microsoft fold remains to be seen. While the new applications may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Yours sincerely, A Long-Time Loyal Business User
Like (9)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
mrmrz5892
mrmrz5892
21 July 2014
xsds
Like
xcoxco
27 October 2013
iWork (Pages, Numbers and Keynote ) *were* a traffic package. No more. Not my prior positive review, below. Yes, these applications are now "free." But "free" has no value for us if we cannot get the work that needs to be done, done. In any case, the 2013 Pages, Keynote and Numbers are a big step backwards in many ways for business users. The interface, such as the lack of the Inspector and the inability to customize the menubar, is problematic for productivity. And key features are missing. We abandoned MS-Office for iWorks in 2008. Unfortunately, we will have no choice but to return to MS-Office if Apple does not issue significant improvements soon. Frankly, the iPad (and iPhone) are not at present appropriate platforms for doing real work in Pages, Numbers and Keynote. So why castrate a good set of Mac applications in the name of uniformity across platforms. How does that help users?? As for Numbers, I am livid. A long-time colleague wrote me today: "Apple may have built the best possible spreadsheet for the iPhone, but it never should have been made available for the iMac. To anyone that has used a computer spreadsheet, even for a few minutes, the new Numbers is a nightmare. Nothing is intuitive. I must have spent a half an hour trying to modify a formula in a cell —hint, you have to double click on the cell. Who would have thought? Even a relatively simple spreadsheet revealed formatting problems that I was never able to solve. The more work I did, the madder I got. If Apple hopes that this program will help them in the business community, they are wrong. The Microsoft guy who laughed at the new iWork is right. I don’t know what Apple should do, other than realize that computers and tablets are fundamentally different. Each does some things very well, but not the same things." We have built financial models professionally for years, and pioneered early uses of spreadsheets (VisiCalc) in the early 1980's. Apple has taken a worthy competitor to Excel, and taken it out of the game altogether. Why? Only Apple knows for sure.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Rubaiyat
20 August 2013
The correct link for the updater is: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1563
Like
Version 2.3
xcoxco
09 August 2013
Dear Apple, iWork is a terrific package: Keynote, Pages and Numbers. Yes these have almost fully replaced MS-Office in my work. But, as so often occurs with Apple, the package progresses little. I am a power-user. So I am less concerned about iWork apps on iOS or the web. I am also an older user. So I recall when MacWrite, MacDraw and MacProject led the field in software innovation. I also recall how Apple let these great products in their time languish and die. Apple was in its heart, after all, a hardware company. The software had done its job. Finito. And what about Filemaker Pro, which languishes even more? Will the same fate best the iWorks apps? If so, who will take up the slack? The problem is, no investor with $$$ will take up the slack. Only small under-resourced developers are left. The web-based SAS model, still in so many ways flawed (not to mention inherently insecure), has driven investors out of the desktop application space. And who wants to compete against the likes of Google, Yahoo, SalesForce, Apple, etc in that space? We live in a world where software development is all too often driven by a mass market, lowest common denominator mentality. Those of us who are power users find our needs are met less and less. There is just not enough net revenue after the less power-needy users are taken care of. So it seems. I do hope I am proved wrong, and a significant iWorks apps feature upgrade appears this fall. But I am skeptical. Yours sincerely ...
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Mtcobra
26 July 2012
I have Ver. 2.1 of this (and iWorks '09), but this upgrade to Ver. 2.2 is marked for OS X 10.7.4 or later. I assume then, that those of us still using Snow Leopard (as in my case, my early Intel iMac doesn't have the memory needed to run Lion or MT) that I've seen the last of any upgrades/improvements to iWork '09 programs? Wonder why they didn't come out with iWorks '11 or ’12 before cutting SL users off.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
02 January 2013
Because Apple wants you and me to upgrade hardware. I'm using the dreaded 2006 1,1 MacPro and I'm also SOL regarding 10.8. Luckily 10.7 works but that's the end of the line. I think Apple would have released iWorks '12 or '13 or something to delineate supported hardware. I think it's clear Apple don't care.
Like (1)
dododonald
29 February 2012
This could definitely replace excel, you just have to let go of the way you are used to doing things in excel. Definitely should check this out.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Chris-Walken
20 February 2012
If they ever give it a real update, it could be a good app and could replace Excel for many users. Just improve the performance and stability and add a few Excel features that are missing. But right now forget about using it for spreadsheets that even moderately large -- it becomes unusable.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
kirbypuff
03 January 2012
Just switched over to numbers from Excel with the purchase of Lion. I'm a light spreadsheet user and am very happy with the general appearance of the program. Unfortunately, this product is super slow and have had to force quit many times.
Like
Version 2.1
walkerjo74
30 November 2011
Even though this app has some good ideas and is pretty simple to use, it just doesn't do it for me. For many years, I've stored my financial information in excel spreadsheets. Tons of database functions, linked cells, graphs, etc. I took some time to convert my spreadsheets into Numbers, and it was extremely slow. The most basic functions took very long to load. Not very satisfied with this product.
Like
Version 2.1
Uncoy
12 December 2009
Another vote here for Tables. Numbers looks nice but come on: where did my processors go and what happened to my 6 GB of memory. Extremely sloppy wasteful programming (think Microsoft Word). On the other hand, back to basics Tables uses almost no memory and no processor in background. So you can keep a spreadsheet open all day (if you have lots of spreadsheet type info, basic calculations to do).
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
Rx8pilot
01 July 2009
Numbers is cheap for a reason. It is a marginal piece of software that is certainly a fraction of it's inspiration XCEL. I generally love the simple Apple approach, but in this case it's not working. I have been trying a very basic layout that would take me 10 minutes in MS. For Numbers (I've been using it for a about 4 months), it's simply not working at all. For now, I'm sticking with MS for business. I don't have time in my day to learn a new way of doing on of the few things MS does very well---spreadsheets.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Richard-Taytor
20 June 2009
If you like jelly beans and Jobs, you probably like Numbers. I find the interface to be somewhat unfinished, though I'd probably use it if it weren't such a pig. The idle processor usage runs beyond 10% and it's ever-increasing/leaking memory allocation is already at a ridiculous 113MB RPVT (for a very simple table); more bloatware from Apple. Pathetic. Alternatively, Tables is fast and uses system resources responsibly.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anon-Bud
30 January 2008
Fabulous for my needs and with the full purchase of iWork '08, much cheaper than MS Office. Translates Excel spreadsheets just fine.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Orion-Mk-V
30 January 2008
This update installed and runs no prob. Numbers really is a nice "lite" version of a spreadsheets. It's no number crunching powerhouse, but light number and easy integration with layout/graphic elements it's quite slick. Not surprisingly, it cut-n-pastes into the other iWork apps beautifully, and it's great to have a cell-based tool that can be used for charts/tables that it's so focused on massive number crunching, but more on usability.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Thirstyrobot
02 December 2007
While not as refined as the other two apps that comprise the iWork suite, Numbers is adequate for basic spreadsheet needs. Given its performance problems when crunching large spreadsheets, I have my doubts about whether I can dump Excel quite yet. I would not have bought this app on its own, so I consider this one a freebie add-on to the very reasonably priced iWork suite. I'm hoping that the new version brings the same kind of performance refinements that we've seen with Pages and Keynote to date. I'd also like to see a better selection of expense-related templates. Can anyone recommend a good one that's currently out there?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Neuron
12 October 2007
Although I greatly appreciate the design and usability (far better than Excel), Numbers is absolutely too slow when working with large datasets (>10,000 rows of data). Specifically, Find and Save are much, much slower than Excel 2004 (MacBook 2.16 GHz with 2 GB RAM, OSX 10.4.10). Its nice for making and formatting lots of small tables, but for analyzing large datasets... unusable.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Orion-Mk-V
28 September 2007
Noticeable speed improvement on large tables, or when you have multiple tables that are text heavy. Some rendering problems with fonts occasionally now that weren't there before.
Like
Version 1.0.1