Back to Acorn page
Acorn free download for Mac

Acorn Reviews

02 September 2021

Bitmap image editor.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Odysseus
Odysseus
Mar 23 2021
7.0.1
0.0
Mar 23 2021
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
How does this compare to Pixelmator Pro?
zlazkow
zlazkow
Mar 22 2021
7.0
5.0
Mar 22 2021
5.0
Version: 7.0
I kept an eye on Acorn for a very long time, while using GraphicConverter. Then few days what suddenly the price dropped. So I immediately grabbed it. It is sill number two behind GC, but has a different structure, I'd say a different character. And it is quite good.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 22 2021
7.0
4.0
Mar 22 2021
4.0
Version: 7.0
$20 on sale at half price. $40 when the sale is over. Loads of new features. It's always been one of the easiest image editors to use.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
6.6.3
5.0
Dec 7 2020
5.0
Version: 6.6.3
Simple and cute little editor that does the job well.
JohnB7119
JohnB7119
Mar 7 2019
6.3.2
4.5
Mar 7 2019
4.5
Version: 6.3.2
For $30 I don't see how anyone can go wrong with Acorn. It may not do "everything" but it does way more than the price page reflects. Good stuff.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Jan 7 2019
6.3
5.0
Jan 7 2019
5.0
Version: 6.3
One of my favourite graphic programs. It is fast, small and has many features (more than I could ever use). I use it since years, never have had any problems and it runs on El Capitan, Sierra, high Sierra and Mojave. And the price is really good, compared with other apps like Adobe PS. The support is great, always get an answer after a few hours and they help me really. In short: a real good and cheap program. Thank you.
brightonpete
brightonpete
Jan 6 2019
6.3
5.0
Jan 6 2019
5.0
Version: 6.3
Great graphics app. I've been using this since it first came out.

Support is excellent, even when I ask dumb questions. They answer back right away, probably cursing me for asking such dumb questions. Gotta like that!
Kris-nx
Kris-nx
Oct 9 2018
6.2.2
0.0
Oct 9 2018
0.0
Version: 6.2.2
Acorn was part of a bundle I purchased about 5 years ago. I didn't think I'd use it but installed it to try it out - all these years later it has become my goto image editor. I own Affinity Photo, Pixelmator, and Photoshop (CS6) but I still find myself launching Acorn for quick edits as it has all the tools I need. Its quick, rarely crashes (on me), and just does the job I need done. I rarely reach out to support but the few times I have the turn around was fast and friendly. This, of course, is just my experience with Acorn. I've recommended it to friends - some love it and others have moved on to something else. I highly recommend giving it a try.
Jayaii
Jayaii
Jun 13 2018
6.1.2
0.0
Jun 13 2018
0.0
Version: 6.1.2
Version 6.1.2 was released back in March, yet it's appearing here again with a June release date.
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
Mar 16 2018
6.1.1
5.0
Mar 16 2018
5.0
Version: 6.1.1
This must be the most underappreciated app for the Mac ever. Acorn doesn't look like much, but when you use it you'll notice how quickly and easily you just get stuff done. All the layer filters for non destructive editing are super handy. The layered screenshot is super cool.
And the developers. Dude. Fling them a bug report and they'll be back to you in no time. I've been put on beta versions just for that so I could test the fixed bug. Flying Meat deserve your money.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Dec 5 2017
6.0.3
0.0
Dec 5 2017
0.0
Version: 6.0.3
The current version is 6.0.4
fiery12
fiery12
Jul 27 2017
6.0
5.0
Jul 27 2017
5.0
Version: 6.0
I tried the new Acorn 6 and for me these features immediately stand out:
- Layered screenshots - great feature where you can make a screenshot of your Desktop and hide any window layer you don't like (including Dock, system clock, etc.)
- Anti-aliasing Text
- The new Path Text Tool

These features are missing from Affinity Photo, so Acorn performs better with text. Of course, it misses a lot of Affinity features (i.e. action history), but for its price tag it does a lot.
Masterminter
Masterminter
Jul 26 2017
6.0
3.0
Jul 26 2017
3.0
Version: 6.0
Tried this new version and it still isn't my cup of tea. It doesn't look great and things are confusing. Pixelmator is way more easy to use imo.
ggt667
ggt667
Sep 17 2016
5.5.2
5.0
Sep 17 2016
5.0
Version: 5.5.2
This app is amazing for on screen graphics; especially in combination with Apple's Pixie( There is also https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/14390/pygmy ) Acorn does everything I ever did in Photoshop but better. However when I'm to work with larger images for print I do use Affinity Photo.
Bart-Pans
Bart-Pans
Sep 6 2015
5.0.1
3.0
Sep 6 2015
3.0
Version: 5.0.1
Tried this several times. It far too basic and has an awkward workflow. It just doesn't work like I want it to. Pixelmator is much better imo
Cortig
Cortig
Aug 20 2015
5.0
5.0
Aug 20 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0
Fantastic new version. The version 5 is extremely reactive on my Mac and the shape operations work great for me :-)
zumrywahid
zumrywahid
Apr 20 2015
4.5.4
5.0
Apr 20 2015
5.0
Version: 4.5.4
I love this tool .Someone Please provide me a Reg key.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
Jul 29 2014
4.5
5.0
Jul 29 2014
5.0
Version: 4.5
Acorn is fantastic for those who want a graphics editor modeled after Photoshop which does 90% of what a person needs without all the heavy duty features and price that Photoshop gives you. I HATE Pixelmator because Pixelmator has too dark of an interface that makes it harder to use and unappealing to start. I would rather use Photoshop any time than Pixelmator. Sure Pixelmator's interface is "cool" but it isn't as useful nor as easy to use as Acorn's interface. Pixelmator also has some arcane ways of doing things. Acorn is much more straight forward to use. For heavy lifting, I love Photoshop. There simply is no other substitute - particularly with the 3rd party plug-ins that GIMP will never have. But for quick rides around town - like on a sports car - Acorn wins. And its price is about the same or less expensive than Pixelmator's price.
SoaponaRope
SoaponaRope
Jul 18 2014
4.4
4.0
Jul 18 2014
4.0
Version: 4.4
Acorn is on sale only 29.99 right now. I just bought it and am so happy I've solved my Photoshop problem with this simple intuitive software. This is exactly what I've needed for like.....5 yrs
Tom-Fulery
Tom-Fulery
Jun 21 2014
4.4
3.5
Jun 21 2014
3.5
Version: 4.4
For complex creative work I use Gimp (2.8 Partha build), the free open-source powerhouse image editor that rivals Photoshop. But although I also have Pixelmator & Elements, for most routine jobs I rely on Acorn. Acorn, Pixelmator & Elements have slightly different features, but they all perform similar non-destructive image editing functions, with many tools, layers, effects, blending & opacity controls, editable brushes & file support. Elements is the oldest of the three, as its features show. Pixelmator has a trendy black interface, but Acorn's is simpler & more functional. They both use Apple's Core Image plugins, while Elements uses photoshop filters. Functionally, I find Acorn to have the most useful tools & effects, including Quartz FX, plus the ability to combine them in uniquely different ways to produce an almost infinite variety of different results. Acorn can also use 3rd-party plugins like Java & Python scripts. Acorn's creator, Gus Meuller, often creates new Acorn plugins, and you can even make your own. But a major factor is how they compare in terms of simplicity & speed. Acorn's simpler architecture not only makes it easier to use, it also makes it faster & more efficient; key features in any serious image editor, since imaging operations can involve many steps. While Pixelmator isn't hard to use, Acorn often requires fewer steps. But it's not only faster, it's also more precise, since I've noticed that Pixelmator can blur edges slightly, often requiring extra work to fix. Also, I find Pixelmator's filter palette full of jiggling, animated tools to be silly & amateurish; appealing to children perhaps, but not useful in a serious image editor. Of the three, Elements is the least efficient, hampered mainly by a clunky, antiquated color system, requiring multiple steps to choose colors. Acorn & Pixelmator both use Apple's great Color Picker, which is way simpler & more versatile than the Adobe system. As you might expect, Pixelmator is the cheapest, at $29, making the aging Elements seem rather spendy at $99. But as the simplest, fastest, most useful & professional of the three, Acorn is easily the best deal at $49.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jun 19 2014
4.4
0.0
Jun 19 2014
0.0
Version: 4.4
Does Acorn do LAB colorspace?
Rpmurray
Rpmurray
Apr 10 2014
4.3.1
0.0
Apr 10 2014
0.0
Version: 4.3.1
Flying Meat is putting Acorn on sale for $14.99 for a limited time. http://flyingmeat.com/newsletter/archive/2014.4.html
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Feb 25 2014
4.3
0.0
Feb 25 2014
0.0
Version: 4.3
The download is actually version 4.3.1, not 4.3
Waveman
Waveman
Jan 5 2014
4.2.3
2.5
Jan 5 2014
2.5
Version: 4.2.3
Acorn will now default to whatever you have set in your preferences for a default color space (by default it's sRGB). Well that's poor judgment on the developers part—sRGB is a very limiting color space—why not Wide Gamut RGB or Adobe 1998 RGB? At least if you open an sRGB image you won't lose anything, can't say the same for the current approach. Leave sRGB in the waste bin of history, it's just a bad idea all around.
Parkerbennett
Parkerbennett
Dec 7 2013
4.2
5.0
Dec 7 2013
5.0
Version: 4.2
One thing Acorn has over many other graphics programs is screen color accuracy. If you specify a color in Photoshop then use a tool like xScope to sample the color off the screen it's not exact. Same goes for Pixelmator, Sketch, GraphicConverter. Acorn gets it right.
-=someone=-
-=someone=-
Jul 19 2013
4.0.5
4.0
Jul 19 2013
4.0
Version: 4.0.5
Acorn appeals to me because the interface is essentially modeled after Photoshop 7. I do very basic tasks with it and have grown to prefer this app over others. It does bother me that the newest version is now 10.8+ only. Apple continues to create serious segmentation amongst their installed user base. I have some machines that need to be 10.6 for compatibility reasons, others are fine with 10.8. Pixelmator is probably the best value for the money, but their developers refuse to even talk to those of us who don't like the darker UI elements. Acorn could get more users on that count by lowering their price quite a bit.
MaxWilders
MaxWilders
May 14 2013
4.0.3
1.0
May 14 2013
1.0
Version: 4.0.3
I am probably the only one disliking this. Tried it for editing a small banner for our site. The undo did some weird things when using the layers and the transparency settings in the layers are buggy. They sometimes lost the value I set it to. I never had this with Pixelmator. At this level I cannot recommend Acorn at all. Its just too buggy.
Stef-Vandenabele
Stef-Vandenabele
May 9 2013
4.0.3
1.5
May 9 2013
1.5
Version: 4.0.3
I never liked Acorn but the current buzz for v2 did trigger me to try it out again. But .. it is still a dead wrong image editor. It just doesn't feel right. All the GUI windows are a mess and you get lost pretty soon. The layering system is better compared to the previous versions though. Sorry, Pixelmator is still way better.
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
May 9 2013
4.0.3
0.0
May 9 2013
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
Now, that Adobe has decided to put an end to its Creative Suite (never mind its Cloud-based brethren), I'd like to know the following; - Will Acorn (v.4) be any use to serious photographers & retouchers? Namely, are Frequency Separation techniques, Calculations & Apply Image commands, a Liquify filter, advanced selections (such as Content-Aware and Colour Range), Layer Styles, actions, etc., possible in the current version of Acorn. If not, does the developer plan to incorporate these into any of the more or less imminent (sub-)versions of the app? I certainly do like the new interface, but at this point, to me, the question is rather, how powerful is the app? Thank you.
ylluminate
ylluminate
May 7 2013
4.0.2
0.0
May 7 2013
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
I sure would like to see the developers take on Adobe Fireworks head on. It's about time for Adobe to get a run for it's money with a tool that is purely Obj-C and offers the integrated vector + bitmap functionality that make Fireworks such an amazing UI/UX design and development tool.
BearTracks
BearTracks
May 3 2013
4.0.2
5.0
May 3 2013
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
I think I like Acorn 4 very much. I might use it over Pixelmator now.
Rpmurray
Rpmurray
May 2 2013
4.0.2
0.0
May 2 2013
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
I'd love to try it but unfortunately it requires iOS X 10.8 or later. I'm not interested in downgrading from OS X 10.6.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jan 22 2013
3.5.1
5.0
Jan 22 2013
5.0
Version: 3.5.1
I have both Acorn and Graphic Converter. I like both of them as they both display and edit my photos the way I choose to display them. I prefer Graphic Converter for many of its tools. But Acorn is used by me when I am in a rush.
CFrag
CFrag
Jul 25 2012
3.3
4.0
Jul 25 2012
4.0
Version: 3.3
Nice, quite capable pixel-based image editor. I especially like the fact that you can work in layers. I've seen people compare this app to Graphic Converter. I own both and have to say that comparing these two helps neither. Acorn is much nicer when you draw pixel images. GCon is *the* file conversion standard that just happens to also allow you to edit some pixels. When you compare GCon's pixel editing interface to Acorn, the latter wins hands down. I mainly use Acorn when I need to do some minor image touch up and don't want to break out PS (which I hate due to it's cumbersomeness).
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 15 2012
3.3
0.0
Jul 15 2012
0.0
Version: 3.3
This is not a negative review of Acorn, which is a worthy program, but for anyone evaluating products, note GraphicConverter is only $39.99 ($10 less) and would seem to have many more features. Acorn is slightly better if you do a lot of pixel by pixel level editing though. At a higher level, the brush options in GraphicConverter are very good. Also, the new GIMP 2.8 for OSX (free) is superb.
Macs007
Macs007
Apr 18 2012
3.2.1
0.0
Apr 18 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2.1
Why is a image editor named at a well known computer? :)
zuluwarrior
zuluwarrior
Jan 27 2012
3.2
0.0
Jan 27 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
I like many parts of this app but I really hate that oversized toolbox. I'm constantly fiddling with this damn toolbox. Moving it to the other side, opening it, closing it, half hiding it on the side etc. I think on the small screens of MacBooks this is quite a serious flaw.
freiheit
freiheit
Dec 3 2011
3.2
4.5
Dec 3 2011
4.5
Version: 3.2
As a basic image editor or paint program, Acorn is quick and easy and gets the job done well. It's just missing some features like rotating shapes to arbitrary angles. I use Acorn mainly for cropping and resizing photos. I like the real-time preview of filters.
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
Nov 17 2011
3.1.2
4.5
Nov 17 2011
4.5
Version: 3.1.2
I'm a Pixelmator guy, but I like Acorn very much. People who write it isn't as powerful as Pixelmator just haven't played around with it enough. There are some things Pixelmator does better, and some where Acorn has the edge. I think it depends how you use the app. For me, Pixelmator is great because I usually work on a 13" screen, so I don't have much screen estate. With Acorn, I am less flexible because of the big main tool palette, and every time I want to use a filter, another Window pops up showing me a preview of the effect, so I can't see the picture behind it (which changes in real time too). However, I have tried Acorn on an iMac, and wow, that is so cool. The other special thing about Acorn is the very clean, tidy interface where all the tools are like in one toolbox, everything on its place. Some like that, some don't. I'm more of a chaotic guy when it comes to creativity, so I prefer the sometimes messy, cluttered but fluid interface of Pixelmator, but I have friends who like Acorns interface better. Same with the effects. Unlike Pixelmator, Acorn has layer effects, so you can tweak the effects during your work, and adjust them at any time, non-destructive. There is also the nice (above mentioned) filter window, where you can combine as many filters as you like until you decide how you want it. You can also save that as layer styles. Cool stuff, but depends what kind of guy you are; for me, that ends in a never ending series of tweaking so I never settle on a solution – for me, the limited functionality in Pixelmator is better suited, where I have to decide for a filter and boom! it's there and I can't really change it later. I also like to merge layers and forget about it. This way I put more effort in working precisely, taking decisions. Well, everyone is different, and there is lots of great functionality in Acorn. Don't believe those "Pixelmator is much better"-comments, that is non-sense. Before you decide for one or the other app, give both a fair chance, do some work with those, so you can find what app covers your workflow the best, what features you really need. Sorry, it's a long review, but one more thing I have to mention: the developer is very, very responsive, and really nice and understanding, it's like a dream. If you have a good feature request, it will be heard and implemented as soon as possible. You won't see that with Pixelmator (which has albeit the larger community, more tutorials and stuff). Anyway, have fun testing those apps!
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
Nov 4 2011
3.1.2
4.5
Nov 4 2011
4.5
Version: 3.1.2
This is an incredibly handy little app!
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
Sep 23 2011
3.1.1
0.0
Sep 23 2011
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
I hope that this update works.
D9
D9
Jul 16 2011
3.0.3
0.0
Jul 16 2011
0.0
Version: 3.0.3
One of the bigger complaints about Pixelmator is that it doesn't support the CMYK color mode. Yet no where here or even within the software documentation/web site do I see it noted that Acorn also does not support CMYK. (Had to find it within the Acorn user forum.) Now I know a good portion of today's graphics are going to be portrayed and consumed on the internet, an RGB mode, but still a great bit of 4-color items are created everyday, including photo prints on the home inkjet printer. Why is it such an obstacle for these programs to incorporate the CMYK mode?
anonymous-chicken-4879
anonymous-chicken-4879
Jun 1 2011
3.0.2
5.0
Jun 1 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
• Fixed a problem with certain blend modes and shape layers. • Layer styles are now scaled when you resize your image. Thank you! :-) I'm still finding the layer styles a little difficult to work with. I think if there was an easier way to enable/disable the layer style (maybe add more buttons to the bottom of the palette) and to delete an effect from the styles window (say, with the delete key or maybe cmd+delete) then it would be a great improvement.
Filipp
Filipp
May 6 2011
3.0.1
5.0
May 6 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Insanely great.
BearTracks
BearTracks
Apr 12 2011
3.0
5.0
Apr 12 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0
Acorn 3 doesn't look different compared to Acorn 2, but it has a lot more under the hood. My favorite new feature is the layered screen capture; I see lots of use for that in the future. Great work Flying Meat, keep up the awesome work! Only suggestion I wish for would be the option to resize a selection, but I'm sure that can come in an update.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Apr 12 2011
3.0
2.0
Apr 12 2011
2.0
Version: 3.0
Acorn 3 gives Pixelmator a run for it's money. I now prefer Acorn 3 over Pixelmator. The interface in Acorn is much more intuitive and appears to have most every feature that Pixelmator does. Pixelmator users should definitely give Acorn 3 a try.
mpiekielnik
mpiekielnik
Mar 10 2011
2.6.4
4.0
Mar 10 2011
4.0
Version: 2.6.4
I must say that Acorn is a little gem constantly omitted when someone makes a "image editors" list. That's so wrong! Acorn is a compact but powerful graphics processor taking much of its power from the same source as over hyped Pixelmator does: Mac OS X Quartz Extreme. It features user interface not seen in any other app which takes some time to familiarize with, but is instantly easy to operate (but takes too much screen space in my opinion). What I experienced using Acorn is that it seems far more stable and polished compared to Pixelmator. It may be true (but I am not 100% sure) that Acorn doesn't have all Pixelmator's fancy tools, but what I know for sure is that Acorn's implementation ALWAYS work as expected. It is far more important. If you ask me what you should choose: Pixelmator or Acorn - I would say that the best "do all" image manipulation package is Adobe Photoshop Elements, but if you already got it and want to buy something smart and quick to do all those everyday little image editing for your web designs - you do better by choosing Acorn.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Feb 4 2011
2.6.4
2.0
Feb 4 2011
2.0
Version: 2.6.4
Was using for simple editing & nice interface. However, lacks so many features that Pixelmator provides and Pixelmator is currently $10 cheaper. Also Pixelmator 2 is free when you purchase from the Mac App Store.
Shooters
Shooters
Jan 16 2011
2.6.3
2.0
Jan 16 2011
2.0
Version: 2.6.3
It offers too little features for what you are paying. Try Pixelmator instead. It looks and works much better.
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
Oct 29 2010
2.6.2
0.0
Oct 29 2010
0.0
Version: 2.6.2
Any chance to get Acorn working with Photoshop-plugins? On PCs even freeware viewer (e.g. Irfanview) are able to do so!