Back to DOT.iPhone page
DOT.iPhone free download for Mac

DOT.iPhone Reviews

2.0
11 July 2008

Access your entire iTunes library using your iPhone from anywhere.

Sigil
25 September 2008

Most helpful

Simple Media is free and it works, but this has more features and is simply the best!
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 7 DOT.iPhone User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sigil
25 September 2008
Simple Media is free and it works, but this has more features and is simply the best!
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Noahsd
16 July 2008
Very cool, but for 20$ it is more of a hassle with the long load times when your service is not full. Overall great, but not worth the waits, get a 16 gig iphone.
Like
Version 2.0
M-Chang
21 September 2007
After update, it still reads v1.0.0.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Nate-Houle
05 September 2007
Have it, love it, no complaints. Does exactly what it says, plus the interface rocks! Great work DOT.TUNES! BTW, customer support is very responsive.
Like
Version 1.0
Dgtlsnpr
03 September 2007
I've been using the iPhone plug-in for a few days, and my experience has been exceptional. I have an Airport wireless network in my house, and I've been able to watch movies, videos and stream music without having to wait or any delays. Outside of an initial load delay (which was seconds at the most), I have been able to listen to music, which uploaded and streamed completely end-to-end without interruption. I have watched videos and movies (again over wifi) from 4:30 minutes through 20 minutes (got bored), but again without any choppiness or loading issues whatsoever. Going from playlist to playlist, or from song to song, and back-and-forth between pages also has not resulted in any significant delays in either the loading of pages or the loading of the content behind those pages (although I suspect that a feature which allows you to turn off artwork would definitely increase the speed that pages load regardless). Over the edge network, things are definitely different. Depending upon where you are on the network, you may get inconsistent results. In some places, I've been able to stream music and my songs loaded fairly quickly, but in others, it took a while. That said, this application is best when over wifi, but passable (location dependent of course), over Edge. All in all, I think that the iPhone plug-in is well worth the price of admission. Moreover, the DOT.TUNES application itself is a great deal especially since even without the iPhone plug-in, you can get at your music from wherever you are. If the developer is reading any of these comments, I would suggest a feature which allows you to stream one song after another, and the ability to turn off artwork. Get those down, and I'd buy it again!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Freedman
Freedman
15 September 2007
I have the same setup, but even with the developer's help cannot access my iTunes library outside of my local Airport wireless network. I have set a static IP for my comouter, enabled port forwarding to that IP address for 9998 and 9999. Nada. In addition, the Playlist menu on the iPhone simply will not display any selections. I just get searching spins. Artists and Albums work, however. Right now, this software is all but useless to me. Can anyone advise how to properly set up an AIrport configuration for this app to work? Maybe post it on the developer's site.
Like
Version 1.0
D9
01 September 2007
First and foremost, it is SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW! Even when accessing the local LAN network via Airport Ex n, the time to actually get to listen to a single song can take a couple of minutes. Then it takes time to actually cache the song; otherwise, it will pause the song in play until it can get ahead on the download; often the song will time out and you have to start over again. If you take the external route (WAN), it takes upwards of 2-4 minutes to go to each level (Playlists, Artists, etc.) and play a song. The interface is clean and straightforward, much like the iPod's UI. But there are a few bugs like the activation area for playing a song is minute to the actual area shown for the song (album cover, song title, song length area), calling songs "movies" when selecting to play (because QuickTime is the plugin that plays the song). "Buttons" for Add to Favorites/Delete from Favorites are distorted and indistinguishable. There is no playing of playlists meaning once you select a song in a playlist, Dot.iPhone only plays that song, not continuing to play other tunes in the list. There are no settings available w/in Dot.iPhone such as an option to turn off artwork (which would greatly speed up listings & selections), no equalizer option, no Shuffle, or Ratings. Still, at the end of the day, it does deliver your iTunes library to your iPhone w/out having to fill up the memory. It's just that at this stage Dot.iPhone is only a good start...it has a good ways to go before it becomes the blockbuster app that every iPhone user will want.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
M-Chang
M-Chang
02 September 2007
I agree 100% with the comments written here. At first I thought I was doing something wrong, but after over two hours of experimentation, I have realized this app/plugin isn't quite ready for primetime. It is very slow, doesn't play more than one song at a time, and can't turn off pics or playlist listings to speed things up. It also has very inflexible install rules (I had to get a new code when installing on home and work machines, and had to email the dev to reset my iPhone plugin code after swapping to 2nd Mac. I'm glad I only paid $10. On the plus side, the dev seems very responsive. Maybe this app/plugin will come around.
Like
Version 1.0
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
31 August 2007
I'm massively impressed by this software. At first, I thought it would just stream your music over Wifi. That's cool, but it does so much more. You can actually stream both your music AND videos. And not just over your local Wifi network, but over the EDGE network (which is what you use to get the internet on your iPhone). Music streams great using the EDGE network. Video is a little choppy. Also, the developers made DOT.TUNES free. It used to cost $30, but since it's required to connect the streaming of your iTunes library, they made it free. Killer cool! Lastly, you can actually send other people the link to your music and THEY can listen to your iTunes library collections if you want.
Like (1)
Version 1.0