Back to CocoaSlideShow page
CocoaSlideShow free download for Mac

CocoaSlideShow Reviews

0.6
12 February 2013

Fast simple image viewer.

Kedos
10 October 2008

Most helpful

out of all the image viewers i've tried, this has been my favorite for what i need. the icon is butt ugly and the interface could use some enhancing, but it does the job. also, those rotate icons confuse me. they're different in every other imaging program on the mac and i always accidentally rotate images the wrong way in cocoaslideshow. i'd also like to be able to get info on an image, and maybe even have a little more functionality (crop, straighten). overall, great software.
Like (2)
Version 0.4.6

Read 19 CocoaSlideShow User Reviews

Rate this app:

Frank-O'Connor
28 January 2014
It's OK, but on my late 2012 iMac running Maverick it won't recognise my internal HD. Recognises the Bootcamp volume. Finds external volumes. But only presents me with rigid list of locations on my Macintosh HD volume rather than the volume itself. I find that a tad annoying. On the upside ... it's quick, responsive and presents most photo collections very well
Like
Version 0.6
Cherrypie
07 December 2009
Still a great app, always one of my first downloads when I set up a new Mac. As much as I don't want to sound ungrateful, because I'm totally not, I'm going to go into what I'd like out of this app in future. It's an awesome peice of software and when a dev goes to this effort for the good of everyone it's greatly appreciated. I just hope for more improvements to make the app more universally useful. Firstly this is more a bug, the slideshow speed setting seems locked at 1 second (has been like this for a few revisons), changing the value in preferences doesn't seem to alter the slideshow speed. Now onto the good stuff. I run on a 1920x1080 screen, so being able to enable image "scale to fit" in windowed mode would be handy (perhaps with a "do not auto-scale beyond xxx% option) as lower resolution images are quite tiny on my display and I'm often using the program to not only browse photos but images used in development (having +/- zoom control in windowed mode would be nice too). I do work on a linux based cell phone os, typically this involves little buttons, touch screen keyboards, icons etc. all of relatively small resolutions (as would be expected when limited by a pocket sized touch screen). Cocoaslideshow for the most part allows me to quickly flick through these and find the appropriate base item to work on or a revision I'm happy with, but having these auto zoomed in windowed mode would allow detecting differences much faster as by default most of these items take up only a few cm of on screen real estate. Ability to display animated gifs would also be very handy. It's not a great format I know, but it refuses to die and I'm always needing to work with them. I suspect if that's the case for me, it's the case for others, plus missing support of a relatively common format is always going to stick out like a sore thumb on an app like this. Once again, great app, and many thanks to the developer, hope my criticism is constructive and not too blunt.
Like
Version 0.5.7
Barry-Coony
14 August 2009
Is there a zoom feature? In general a good app !
Like
Version 0.5.7
Talaatharb
14 July 2009
Now runs on PPC G4
Like (1)
Version 0.5.4
Jaherz
23 June 2009
Does not run a PowerPC G5 4 x 2.5 GHz - OS X 10.5.7. Downloads but the icon (universl circle qith a line thru it) indicates athat it is the wrong version and will not run PowerPC.
Like
Version 0.5.2
Talaatharb
23 June 2009
Doesn't run on G4; only for x86?
Like
Version 0.5.2
4 answer(s)
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
23 June 2009
Yes it does, at at least it should! CocoaSlideShow is compiled as a 10.4 Universal application so it should run gracefully on 10.4 / 10.5 and PPC and Intel. If you do not experience the expected behaviour, please describe what happens. Does it crash? Can you see something in Console.log? What is your machine?
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
Talaatharb
Talaatharb
23 June 2009
The error message is "Sie können das Programm „CocoaSlideShow_0_5_2“ nicht öffnen, da es nicht auf dieser Architektur unterstützt wird."
Like
Version 0.5.2
Talaatharb
Talaatharb
23 June 2009
ah, macupdate and diacritical characters :-( The message just says application not supported on this architecture. My Mac is a PowerPC G4
Like
Version 0.5.2
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
25 June 2009
It seems that version 0.5.2 doesn't work on several PPC machines. The binary is actually compiled for both architectures (proof below). Moreover, I tested version 0.5.2 successfully on a MacMini with PowerPC. I'll release a new version quite soon and I hope it will fix the problem. $ curl -O http://cocoaslideshow.googlecode.com/files/CocoaSlideShow_0_5_2.app.zip $ unzip CocoaSlideShow_0_5_2.app.zip $ file CocoaSlideShow.app/Contents/MacOS/CocoaSlideShow [...]/CocoaSlideShow: Mach-O universal binary with 2 architectures [...]/CocoaSlideShow (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc [...]/CocoaSlideShow (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386
Like (2)
Version 0.5.2
Cherrypie
30 November 2008
Great app, has been a favorite of mine for ages now, very quickly allows me to work through large folders of images and find what I want. The one thing I'd love is better integration with Mac OS, so I can drag and drop images listed in the app to other locations, Mail.app etc.
Like (2)
Version 0.5
2 answer(s)
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
01 December 2008
What an excellent idea! I must admit I had never thought of it. I'll try to implement it some day. Best regards, Nicolas
Like (2)
Version 0.5
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
04 March 2009
Ok, drag and drop is implemented in 0.5.1. Multiple file drag and drop is still to be implemented.
Like (3)
Version 0.5.1
Kedos
10 October 2008
out of all the image viewers i've tried, this has been my favorite for what i need. the icon is butt ugly and the interface could use some enhancing, but it does the job. also, those rotate icons confuse me. they're different in every other imaging program on the mac and i always accidentally rotate images the wrong way in cocoaslideshow. i'd also like to be able to get info on an image, and maybe even have a little more functionality (crop, straighten). overall, great software.
Like (2)
Version 0.4.6
1 answer(s)
Kedos
Kedos
10 October 2008
i forgot to mention, something else i would really love to see is the option for different views. thumbnail view would be great to have.
Like
Version 0.4.6
Syharris
01 August 2008
Generally works ok with my Mac's 10.4.11(no crashing). Slideshow speed is unstable....regardless of what speed I set, images change at about once every 1/2 second and even faster. Would be nice if image info could be shown along with image itself. I much prefer Xee, also free.
Like
Version 0.4.6
G-I-
07 May 2008
Crashes on start on 10.4.11.
Like
Version 0.4.4
CityOnFire
14 February 2008
Thank you very much for making this great application! I'm a professional photographer and I've used FFView to quickly look through and edit down a shoot's worth of images but this app is my default now. I'd love to see the ability to simply move a selected set of images into a new folder rather than only being able to Export (copy the images). Secondly, I'd love to be able to have the app remember that I've rotated images and display them that way (at least for that one session) after having moved onto another image. And also to be able to select multiple images and perform a rotate function on them at once. Keep up the great work... with the above features I would gladly be a long-term paying customer. Daniel Perlaky City On Fire
Like (1)
Version 0.4.3
Philipz
04 January 2008
This is really going the right direction. Add zoom and iPhoto library support (I wouldn't expect this to be very hard) and it is a killer app. It would replace Frontrow for me. Very nice!
Like
Version 0.4.3
Cherrypie
26 December 2007
Yes I would love scaling to fit in the windowed view also, as I usually rapidly flick through images of varied resolution in windowed view, it'd be nice to view them at a uniform size. Thanks for your response and the software.
Like
Version 0.4.3
Cherrypie
12 September 2007
This seems to be the image viewer I have been waiting for, many thanks to the developer. Feature wise it's a little immature, but the implementation of what has been done so far is near perfect. I'll be glad to see zoom when it comes, I hope the developer integrates an auto "size-to-fit" feature, so that smaller images can be automatically scaled up to fit the view area. A search field would be nice also, so if looking through a large directory of unsorted images, one could type in a keyword and show all image filenames that have a partial match. Overall this is a great app which makes scanning through large groups of images a breeze, I eagerly await future versions.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.3
1 answer(s)
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
12 September 2007
"I hope the developer integrates an auto "size-to-fit" feature, so that smaller images can be automatically scaled up to fit the view area." I'm not sure I understand this request. Images already scale up in fullscreen mode since 0.4.2. Do you mean you would also like them to fill up the view area in "window" mode (not fullscreen)? Thanks for your feedback.
Like
Version 0.4.3
Dwette
09 September 2007
This doesn't support camera RAW files (i.e. Nikon NEF), which is all I shoot. That really limits its usefulness. I can select RAW files in the Finder and select Slideshow from the context menu -- that works with RAW files.
Like
Version 0.4.2
2 answer(s)
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
10 September 2007
This is fixed in 0.4.3.
Like
Version 0.4.2
Dwette
Dwette
10 September 2007
I tried 0.4.3 with NEF files. Looks like all it does is display the tiny imbedded jpeg preview. The Finder Slideshow feature renders a high res full screen image.
Like
Version 0.4.3
Sethadam1
07 September 2007
How about you add to CocoaSlideshow... an actual slideshow? This is a great image viewer, but there's no slideshow that I see, just the ability to cycle through images with a keystroke. Am I missing something??
Like
Version 0.4.2
2 answer(s)
Sethadam1
Sethadam1
07 September 2007
The question is, can it run a "slideshow" without arrow keys? Can I show someone my photos without manually cycling through by hitting arrow keys?
Like
Version 0.4.2
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
10 September 2007
An actual slideshow was added in 0.4.3.
Like
Version 0.4.2
Philipz
20 August 2007
Drag'nDrop doesn't work. Dropping pics on the icon (whether in the dock or on the desktop) doesn't do anything, doesn't even highlight the icon. Keep up the good work; very good idea (from the developer of SimpleView, a similar but older application).
Like
Version 0.2
2 answer(s)
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
20 August 2007
You're right. For now CocoaSlideShow only handles *folders* dropping on its icon, not singles files. This will be fixed in the next release.
Like
Version 0.2
Nicolas-Seriot
Nicolas-Seriot
20 August 2007
If you can't wait the next release, you can change the file info.plist inside the bundle for this one : http://seriot.ch/temp/Info.plist.zip, CocoaSlideShow will then open any image file you drop on it.
Like
Version 0.2
Caslon
18 August 2007
How's one supposed to access "Broken Circle With Northwest Arrow" on the keyboard? ? PopChar doesn't give a keyboard equivalent.
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Caslon
Caslon
19 August 2007
It's the Escape key.
Like
Version 0.2
Zetsurin
17 August 2007
Happy to be the first to say great job! This app is a very nice start to an image viewer. All it really needs is zoom and an icon of it's own. Please don't bloat it out like a lot of image viewer developers tend to do. Keep it lean and mean. Thanks for releasing it.
Like
Version 0.1