Back to The Tube page
The Tube free download for Mac

The Tube Reviews

2.11.2
26 July 2012

Watch, timeshift live TV.

Maclornebeyn
17 May 2010

Most helpful

I recently bought a Hauppauge USB stick that was bundled with TheTube and I deeply regret not having checked on the software first. Of all video/TV solutions I have used so far (which are quite a few) this is the worst. First of all, the software needs to be registered and activated online and is bound to a single hardware - if you want to use the software on another machine, you have to deactivate it for the current hardware first and activate it again on the other computer. This might be acceptable for a PCI card, but for a portable solution (what USB is usually supposed to be) this is nothing but a joke. Then the format of the recordings is more than proprietary - I have not found a single software except TheTube itself that can handle it. To export a recording to a usable format, you are forced to use one of only a handful of presets (e.g. for preparing videos to be watched on a computer with a decent screen size, there are only "Best Quality", "Smallest Size" and "Fastest Export"), none of them are explained anywhere in detail, none of them give any hint what the final video might look like or what size it will approximately have. After choosing the "right" preset, you are presented a mask to edit every detail of the video's metadata, but you are not able to select the range of the video you actually want to export (let alone cut out pieces in the middle, e.g. commercials) which means you have to use a second software to cut the exported video down to the final length. With a probability of about 80% the export works flawlessly; if not, the resulting video is unusable, TheTube reports an "unknown error" or TheTube crashes. Although the software looks shiny and Mac-like, it is IMO not very intuitive to use: e.g. the EPG is a simple list of thousand of entries with only very limited options to sort and filter and the timeshift feature is almost unusable due to the infinitesimal controls and entire absence of keyboard shortcuts. Last but not least, TheTube tends to be not as stable as a Mac user expects from a software - on my MacPro it crashes approx. once a week, sometimes taking one or two scheduled recordings with it.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.6

Read 22 The Tube User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mextex
19 January 2012
The GUI is really nice, but that's the only positive aspect about this. It crashes randomly in Leopard, Snow Leopard and Lion. Nothing changed. So if you like crashes, lousy customer support and any kind of trouble: this app should be your choice. The most annoying thing is that this app is spying your keychain: if you don't allow access to the keychain, the app is not working. To me Equinux is the black sheep of the mac community: never had such a bad user experience with any other app/ developer
Like
Version 2.10.2
hwgray
18 November 2011
Version 10.1 is not (yet?) available for download on Equinux's site. So, don't bother.
Like
Version 2.10.1
fnerg
27 March 2011
Terrible, terrible software. It crashes randomly, the export feature doesn't work at all, and doesn't give useful error messages.
Like
Version 2.9.7
Darealgreg
03 October 2010
This is the worst product I have ever bought. Save your money. It is a pain to set up. I have a cable box so I only need channel 3 and it was a night mare to set up. After recording 3 shows it no longer opens. I dumped the prefs and was able to re register and watch what was in my library, but it will no longer see a channel and crashes when I scan for them. There is no way of setting it to record every week so you must enter all recordings manually. I have tried to download the software and reinstall but they send me a stationary pack instead. I even tried to set up the recommended 3rd party TV guide that cost extra $, but it too failed. Also there is no fast forward or rewind other than clicking on a small bar wher you may jump any where from 2 min to 6 minutes with the shortest click. i just want my money back.
Like
Version 2.9.7
Maclornebeyn
17 May 2010
I recently bought a Hauppauge USB stick that was bundled with TheTube and I deeply regret not having checked on the software first. Of all video/TV solutions I have used so far (which are quite a few) this is the worst. First of all, the software needs to be registered and activated online and is bound to a single hardware - if you want to use the software on another machine, you have to deactivate it for the current hardware first and activate it again on the other computer. This might be acceptable for a PCI card, but for a portable solution (what USB is usually supposed to be) this is nothing but a joke. Then the format of the recordings is more than proprietary - I have not found a single software except TheTube itself that can handle it. To export a recording to a usable format, you are forced to use one of only a handful of presets (e.g. for preparing videos to be watched on a computer with a decent screen size, there are only "Best Quality", "Smallest Size" and "Fastest Export"), none of them are explained anywhere in detail, none of them give any hint what the final video might look like or what size it will approximately have. After choosing the "right" preset, you are presented a mask to edit every detail of the video's metadata, but you are not able to select the range of the video you actually want to export (let alone cut out pieces in the middle, e.g. commercials) which means you have to use a second software to cut the exported video down to the final length. With a probability of about 80% the export works flawlessly; if not, the resulting video is unusable, TheTube reports an "unknown error" or TheTube crashes. Although the software looks shiny and Mac-like, it is IMO not very intuitive to use: e.g. the EPG is a simple list of thousand of entries with only very limited options to sort and filter and the timeshift feature is almost unusable due to the infinitesimal controls and entire absence of keyboard shortcuts. Last but not least, TheTube tends to be not as stable as a Mac user expects from a software - on my MacPro it crashes approx. once a week, sometimes taking one or two scheduled recordings with it.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.6
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
05 September 2010
Can't agree with you more. This software is just TERRIBLE! Check EyeTV...one of the best pieces of software that I've ever used. Been using it for years and I can report a handful of times its had a hiccup.
Like
Version 2.9.7
Kenshin3it
23 April 2010
Poor channels research on Hauppauge WinTV900H. With previous version (2.9.5)it can find 12 channels on DVB-T(in Italy),now zero(version 2.9.6). i've tried all kind of research.
Like
Version 2.9.6
Jeff-H-
23 April 2010
Even though this has had s 4 star rating, MOST of the comments have been pretty terrible
Like
Version 2.9.6
Jeff-H-
23 April 2010
All I can say is EyeTV! Excellent software!
Like
Version 2.9.6
Werfblau
20 March 2010
It‘s more than a nightmare to try it - I didn't succeed at all to get a demo key. But I think, I don't need it anymore - I do not understand and accept at all, that an application insists on the first launch to be granted access to the keychain: For what the heck do they want to access password protected features of my system without proper request for it? This application stuck in an infinite loop requesting access to the keychain - which was not granted, of course!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.5
Jeff-H-
08 January 2010
Trying to try this software again (absolute GLUTTON for pain I guess!). These guys make it an absolute friggin' nightmare to activate a demo...I think I just may scrap it and stay with eyetv!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.5
Scrivens
04 September 2009
I have a Miglia Mini2 and an EyeTV DTT Deluxe and both The Tube and EyeTV - both have good features that are missing in the other, but neither is particularly brilliant on its own. The main problems I have with The Tube are the lack of double-clicking to go to full screen, the very clunky 12 hour EPG update, what appears to be a total failure to work with IceTV EPG in Australia and (huge one) the fact that Closed Captioning (Teletext) also doesn't work at all in Australia. The sidebar menu appears to only be able to be activated/deactivated by selecting a menu choice, not with the usual toolbar icon or popup menu. All these features work in EyeTV - but then it doesn't keep the selected screen size constant when going between normal and HD channels, has various "can't get there from here" traps in its popup menus, doesn't work with the Miglia TVMini2 and so on. I know these apps are generally supplied free with TV sticks, but the cost if you have to buy them is far beyond their actual worth as they are really not particularly good as far as function and Apple UI consistency when it comes down to it. The licensing rigmarole for both is quite ridiculous - one of the points of using a USB TV stick should be the ability to swap it over between a laptop and a desktop and with both these apps this cannot be done without deactivating and reactivating the software - and a lot of stuffing around. Hence the two TV sticks; the cost of the second wasn't much more than the cost of having to buy a second licence for either app to use on the other machine.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.4
Techchick99
19 May 2009
The latest version of The Tube works really well on my MacBook. I am really satisfied with the ease-of-use of this product as well as the many great features, that The Tube offers. I really like the TubeToGo feature, where you can schedule and record your favorite shows from your iPhone. They even offer a free-of-charge iPhone App, with which you can stream live TV on your iPhone. Never miss a second of your favorite show again, just take TV with you on the balcony.
Like
Version 2.9.3
Pedrobal
08 March 2009
Impossible product. A mess to install and it does not have a program guide for USA. Apparently, Equinux has some sort of guide deal but it is buried in their website (typical German style with 10 times too much text, duplicated information but structured in such a bizarre way that you will never find what you are looking for). This product will not be useful to anybody at least not in the US. They have half a dozen other products too but, again, it's too messy to understand. They'd betted bundle it all up in 2-3 product and make them work properly. It's such a shame to see good engineering disappear by bad UI and marketing.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.3
Jeff-H-
18 February 2009
This has been hands down the most intensely unpleasant time I''ve had trying to instal a demo EVER! Its taken up over 15 minutes of my life, but thats all it'll EVER take up! I have a Miglia HD device running EyeTV on my G5 and its THE BEST! I have the same on my older Mini but it runs a little jerky/framey when it comes to any HD shows so I wanted to see if The Tube was any better. Well I'll never know...I can see being protective of your intellectual properties but you should at least let people try it out first! I installed it a while ago but never got the chance to use it...whiped it off my mini and attempted to reinstall it, but that doesn't appear to be happening. Oh well, from what I hear it isn't all that anyway so maybe they DON'T want you to demo it in hopes that you'll just say screw it and plunk down the $40...well bite me! I try before I buy...always. Do yourself favor and go with Eyetv...its great software...this might be good too, but I guess I'll never know
Like
Version 2.9.2
Pdlillie
03 December 2008
This is a great product at a great price and I found Equiniux to be a wonderful company to deal with - buy with confidence!
Like (1)
Version 2.9
loftreklam
13 May 2008
Now with 2.7, I can't choose any Audio track in the Control menu. For me in Sweden that means - I dån't hear any sound at all!!!! Please fix this ASAP.
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
T7
T7
14 May 2008
They are working on it. An update will be out asap.
Like
Version 2.7
Mahojas
22 February 2008
I bought The Tube recently and comparing it to the Eye TV of a friend, I was disappointed. There are not as many channels and the reception is not as good. Although EyeTV costs more than twice the price of the Tube, both the Eye TV hardware and software are well worth it. For me the Tube still has too many bugs,(I'm using OSX 10.5.2) such as registering each channel twice during the search, errors in deleting unneeded channels, insufficient signal strength. I'm happy that the developers agree that software and hardware need more work though, and are still in their fledgeling stages. Good luck! If you are satifisfied with only a basic product, without a lot of channels, for less money then this may be for you.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Kobalt
07 February 2008
And when can we expect support for the ABC in Australia?
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Matteth
20 December 2007
Doesn't support H.264 HD, i e Swedish SVT HD channel. EyeTV does.
Like
Version 2.0
Xypher
22 November 2007
So they've updated channel search. Hope this means I can get, 'The Hits' on Freeview.
Like
Version 1.5.5
db
31 August 2007
odd... updating to 1.5.1 (from 1.5) downgraded my MediaCentral to 2.6.2 (from 2.6.3) ... wtf?
Like
Version 1.5.1
Santab
03 August 2007
DOes not wok as expected in Germany. The epg shows programmes only for a couple of channels. Others are simply not listed. Otherwise ok. Eats a lot of CPU.
Like
Version 1.5b1