Back to Menuola page
Menuola free download for Mac

Menuola Reviews

2.0
21 January 2009

Reveals your menu items.

Davidfreels
21 January 2009

Most helpful

The download link from MacUpdate is incorrect. It should be http://www.geocom.co.nz/downloads/Menuolav2.dmg.zip?1232491057
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 13 Menuola User Reviews

Rate this app:

Krioni
31 January 2009
Does what it says, simply. I didn't think I would need it. Then, when I was hooked to a TV screen and using the mirrored-displays setting, I was at 1024x768 resolution. Needless to say, that meant I didn't have a lot of menu bar in Safari (watching something on Hulu). I went to hit Caffeine (to keep the screen from dimming), but it wasn't visible. Same thing in the Finder. Then I remembered this app, Menuola. Downloaded it, fired it up, and voila! Nice to have when you need it.
Like
Version 2.0
Zzamboni
21 January 2009
I actually find this a very nice idea. When I don't have my external monitor connected, I often find that some of my menubar extras get hidden by the application menus, thus becoming inaccessible. For those who keep asking what this program does: it's simply a do-nothing application with a single one-letter menu: "M". What this achieves is freeing most of the menubar, so that all your menubar extras are accessible on the right.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
GrenadeBait
21 January 2009
If I understand this correctly this is just a menu bar overflow utility. So if I'm running a MacBook Pro 17 and a 26-inch monitor both at a high resolution then this will not be of much use unless i have a ridiculous amount of menu items added. I like the idea and it make sense on my partner's MacBook Pro 15 but she doesn't have much in the way of menu items added but maybe with this little utility she will start :-) The price is right and it has some function so we should not complain too much LOL.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
gcoghill
gcoghill
21 January 2009
For MacBook users with lots of menu items, this looks like it might be handy. Some time the app menus hide the left-most items.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Flash1296
21 January 2009
I still cannot fathom what this is supposed to do. I was the Prez' of an Apple chartered Mac User Group (M.U.G.) for years, and have been a Mac fanatic since 1985. I have even done a little Mac consulting. I am a power-user. I assume that English is not the primary language of the software developer. Perhaps s/he can find someone fluent in English to translate some notes re: the function and use of Menuola2.0
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Davidfreels
21 January 2009
The download link from MacUpdate is incorrect. It should be http://www.geocom.co.nz/downloads/Menuolav2.dmg.zip?1232491057
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Geo-Com-Ltd
Geo-Com-Ltd
21 January 2009
I have fixed it now i updated my site and updated the link but left out the s in downloads should be working as soon as mac update changes the listing
Like
Version 2.0
Musubana
09 November 2007
Sometimes the simplest things are the most ingenious ones. People may laugh and say ”So what? It's just a menu!” - but someone had to breathe life into this idea. Works like a charm. When I combine it with CornerClick ( http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12413/cornerclick ), all I have to do is to click the menu's corner to get uncluttered access to all those small icons… The only thing lacking is a way to hide the Menuola icon from the doc… Menuola is worth 5 stars, but I give it only 4 for now, to encourage the developer to think about what I just wrote… ;-)
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Geo-Com-Ltd
Geo-Com-Ltd
15 November 2007
I would love to do this but given the current state of Mac OS X you can hide any apps icon from the dock but it will also remove the Menu for the app which Menuola relies on If any one does know how to do this without removing the Menu i would like to know how Contact Me http://www.geocom.co.nz/contact/index.php
Like
Version 2.0
Sixer-2
30 October 2007
The description is a little vague. The developers means Menu Extras. The little icons that you have to the right of your menubar.
Like
Version 2.0
sjk
29 August 2007
Re: Really Menuola is just an application with a single letter for the app name, and no menus - correct? And surely it can be done with something smaller than a 5.9MB(!) download.
Like
Version 1.2
gcoghill
28 August 2007
This is kind of cool, I am a menubar junkie as well. I always wished a developer would make some sort of menubar overflow utility, and this is pretty close. I would like to see something where you can choose which items appear on the "main" menubar, and which appear on the "overflow" menubar. Anyways… Really Menuola is just an application with a single letter for the app name, and no menus - correct? Dev should consider making the hotkey customizable, as I already use f7 for other applications. Otherwise kinda handy.
Like
Version 1.2
Elegraphy
10 August 2007
I like the idea of this app, because I am totally a menu item junkie. Unfortunately, I don't see anything happen when I restart my powerbook when this is set as a login item, only the splash window act up. There's no document comes with the app that explains what it does with my menu items, or how it'll work inside my computer. For now, I have to trash it until the devoloper can come out the working version.
Like
Version 1.1
Geo-Com-Ltd
25 July 2007
it is just a app for which there is a very small menu item i made it for myself because i have a 12" screen but lot's and lots of menu item i released it to the public as i thought that someone else will find it useful like i did
Like
Version 1.1
Morjovy
25 July 2007
i dont understand what is the function of this program, who knows? maybe fake?
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Morjovy
Morjovy
25 July 2007
3MB of what?
Like
Version 1.1
Schmye-Bubbula
25 July 2007
What exactly does this app do? Am I to understand that all it does is be an app that has a short menu bar, so that if one has a lot of menu extras, they otherwise won't be covered up by apps with long menu bars?
Like
Version 1.1