Back to PhoneView page
PhoneView free download for Mac

PhoneView Reviews2.14.4

15 January 2021

Use your iPhone for file storage, data syncing, and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
katetx2001
katetx2001
Sep 2 2021
2.14.4
0.0
Sep 2 2021
0.0
Version: 2.14.4
It looks as though a lot of people have had problems getting any support from Ecomm. I used and loved Phone view from the beginning, but had gotten lazy and only used TimeMachine the last couple of years, during which time I switched to Mojave 10.14.6 now with roughly 43 gb available and my phone is an OLD SE 9.3.3 with roughly 48 gb used. But since I don't back up everything into Phoneview, I'd think there would be enough room. I clicked Notes, and it started spinning before I could click "copy to phone" which is grey and unclickable anyway. About to change to new phone, and I sure wish I had it backed up.
hlmoser11
hlmoser11
Mar 30 2021
2.14.4
4.0
Mar 30 2021
4.0
Version: 2.14.4
I'm really happy with PhoneView. I am using Catalina, and no difficulty connecting to the backups which other people have mentioned. I have NOT upgraded to Big Sur. PhoneView makes it so much easier to create documents from text messages rather than dozens of screen shots. I would give it a 5, but I think it should have more options for layout of printouts. This makes document preparation of text messages for any sort of legal issue so much simpler.
swwrites
swwrites
Dec 10 2020
2.14.3
4.0
Dec 10 2020
4.0
Version: 2.14.3
Four Stars, I'll update to 5 if I can get in touch with the Dev and resolve my dilemma - I purchased the full version many years ago and it won't launch on my current system (El Cap) and I need help getting an update, but their website link from here doesn't offer a way to Contact in "Support" link. Aieee! Dev, please provide instrux on how to get me up and running again as I need to use PhoneView ASAP for a phone trade-in / port. THANKS!
annasarahcoussons
annasarahcoussons
May 6 2020
2.14.2
2.0
May 6 2020
2.0
Version: 2.14.2
The App was awesome until my Mac upgraded to Catalina and Itunes was gone. Phoneview runs through Itunes so if you do not have Itunes then don't waste your money. If they would fix it I would give them a 5 star!
paulwalden
paulwalden
Apr 11 2020
2.14.2
5.0
Apr 11 2020
5.0
Version: 2.14.2
Highly recommended! Bought it many years ago and still getting free updates. Worth the one-time expense.
kristina-8
kristina-8
Jan 8 2020
2.14.2
1.0
Jan 8 2020
1.0
Version: 2.14.2
Terrible support, the program never worked, I followed all the instructions. They were super slow at getting back to me. When they responded they would tell me to get an external usb/external drive and i did and there was still an error.
jimmapel
jimmapel
Nov 28 2019
2.14.2
2.0
Nov 28 2019
2.0
Version: 2.14.2
PhoneView has been a great program. But it is now broken when I updated to MacOS Catalina 10.15. PhoneView hangs looking for a version of iTunes which no longer exists in Catalina. Please fix this!
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
May 19 2018
2.13.7
5.0
May 19 2018
5.0
Version: 2.13.7
Invaluable. Lets you do essential things like save text conversations to PDF, and so, so much more. Actively developed (not sure about the guy who called it abandonware). Bear in mind that iPhones have a lot of storage space, for a lot of data, so it needs to transfer to your Mac and that, unavoidably, takes time. Expect the first-time load to take quite a while.
screen_name
screen_name
Mar 12 2018
2.13.6
4.0
Mar 12 2018
4.0
Version: 2.13.6
works
Visible-Evidence
Visible-Evidence
Dec 27 2017
2.13.6
2.0
Dec 27 2017
2.0
Version: 2.13.6
This feels like abandonware which is a shame. It barely works anymore and takes FOREVER to load. One trick I realized is that you cannot let your phone sleep while Phoneview laboriously takes its time to transfer your phone's list of messages, email, etc. So you have to sit there and use your finger to wiggle the screen back and forth for almost fifteen minutes until the app to completes its scan. Ugh. Theoretically you could just play a half hour YouTube video but Phoneview doesn't recognize my iPhone 5s with iOS 10.3.3 via USB but it will by wifi, so choking up my wifi downloading a YouTube video will just take longer.

I've been using Phoneview for years, since version one, but it's probably time to move on. It seems like the developer already has.
Scotty321
Scotty321
Nov 7 2017
2.13.6
0.5
Nov 7 2017
0.5
Version: 2.13.6
The developer of this app has clearly stopped caring about this app. Trying to use this app to archive your Messages onto your computer is a ridiculous exercise in frustration, because this app hasn't improved a bit since all the way back in iOS 8!! It doesn't support any of the newer IOS 9 or iOS 10 or iOS 11 features, such as "tapping back" on a message with a thumbs up, a thumbs down, or a heart symbol. It actually TYPES THE WORDS of what you did, instead of showing the symbol! Another example: this app doesn't show the URL previews in the Messages archives, even though that is now supported in iOS 9, iOS 10, and iOS 11. This app even shows many of your Message comments in the WRONG ORDER ALTOGETHER within the Messages thread, because this app doesn't seem to evaluate the "full timestamp" of when each message was sent -- it just looks at the hour and time. The developer of this app has clearly checked out altogether.... he doesn't seem to care about improving this app anymore. Terrible lack of care & attention from the developer of this app. Seriously, Mr. Developer -- just discontinue this app if you're not going to keep it up-to-date, instead of frustrating your users!! THIS APP IS A WASTE OF MONEY.
AshBP
AshBP
Sep 18 2017
2.13.5
5.0
Sep 18 2017
5.0
Version: 2.13.5
Been using since this app came out. Still my fav!
Uncoy
Uncoy
Sep 6 2017
2.13.5
5.0
Sep 6 2017
5.0
Version: 2.13.5
Works great, no expensive upgrades like iMazing.. Compatible with latest versions of iOS (10 at time of this writing). No hassle install. Ecamm is doing some great work taking care of their customers by minimising friction.. Buy with confidence.

We didn't test the third party apps but wanted quick access to photos and music without going through the Apple nightmare apps (like Photos).
Van.
Van.
Mar 15 2017
2.13.3
5.0
Mar 15 2017
5.0
Version: 2.13.3
great message archiving app
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Feb 23 2017
2.13.3
2.0
Feb 23 2017
2.0
Version: 2.13.3
Used to be very good. Now it doesn't recognise 90% of the apps installed in t iPhone 7 Plus. The old iPad (1st gen, 64GB) I'm trying to extract app data from to import into My iPhone - isn't supported altogether - doesn't even show up in PhoneView.
Almana
Almana
Oct 8 2016
2.12.5
3.0
Oct 8 2016
3.0
Version: 2.12.5
Recent version doesn't download messages
Jayaii
Jayaii
Sep 13 2016
2.12.3
0.0
Sep 13 2016
0.0
Version: 2.12.3
Working fine with iOS 10 on an iPhone 5.
vpbhuitingm
vpbhuitingm
Aug 1 2016
2.12.2
4.0
Aug 1 2016
4.0
Version: 2.12.2
Good to manage idevices, so great I can view every piece of information there.
christian-36
christian-36
Jul 25 2016
2.12.1
3.5
Jul 25 2016
3.5
Version: 2.12.1
I have been using PhoneView for my Mac for many year but i just got a new iPhone and want to export everything before I set up the new iPhone but for some reason I can not get anything to load, it just spins.
Baccaroeja
Baccaroeja
May 9 2016
2.11.6
5.0
May 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.11.6
For me it is plain simple. If you need access to your iDevice, you need PhoneView. I used iExplorer for a long time but after two lockups rendering my iPad useless, I switch to PhoneView and never looked back. The GUI is a bit out dated for OSX10.11 but works as expected. A top-notch highly recommended tool for your iDevices.
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Sep 26 2015
2.11.3
5.0
Sep 26 2015
5.0
Version: 2.11.3
Before i amazing there was PhoneView and have been using It for years . compared with i-Amazing I find PhoneView to be a very simple strait forward app which doesn't threaten to move and screw up your iPhone library at start up which Is a big Plus to me. Both Companies have very good customer service however when my 8 year old iMac bit the dust I was pleasantly surprised that the folks at Ecamm offered to extend my old license to my new iMac which Is quite rare these days. so five stars to PhoneView and Ecamm!
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Sep 26 2015
2.11.3
5.0
Sep 26 2015
5.0
Version: 2.11.3
Before i amazing there was PhoneView and have been using It for years . compared with i-Amazing I find PhoneView to be a very simple strait forward app which doesn't threaten to move and screw up your iPhone library at start up which Is a big Plus to me. Both Companies have very good customer service however when my 8 year old iMac bit the dust I was pleasantly surprised that the folks at Ecamm offered to extend my old license to my new iMac which Is quite rare these days. so five stars to PhoneView and Ecamm!
Warmfuzzygecko
Warmfuzzygecko
Apr 25 2015
2.11
5.0
Apr 25 2015
5.0
Version: 2.11
2.11's added ability to view messages, call logs, and voicemail from encrypted iTunes backups is a much welcomed feature, thanks Ken and Glen (Ecamm Network founders)! :)
aSocrate
aSocrate
Apr 13 2015
2.10.8
0.0
Apr 13 2015
0.0
Version: 2.10.8
Since updating to iOS 8.3, the available Mac version of PhoneView 2.10.8 (demo) appears to be unable to access the App files directory content. Urgent fix needed !
heatdal1388
heatdal1388
Dec 28 2014
2.10.5
0.0
Dec 28 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.5
I am running into a time sensative problem. When trying to connect my phone, it says unable to download because possibly not enough storage on mac. I have 24gigs on my mac. What can I do to resolve this issue? I am current on updates as well.
Panico
Panico
Dec 1 2014
2.10.5
0.0
Dec 1 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.5
Trying to update from 2.10.4 to 2.10.5 Download is a demo, nowhere to register Update from within the app does not work No desire to trash all settings Please advise Thanks, great App Paul
Macintalkpro
Macintalkpro
Aug 23 2014
2.10.2
5.0
Aug 23 2014
5.0
Version: 2.10.2
This program, like the rest of Ecamm's software is top-notch. It works very well with every iPhone that I've ever owned and they keep updating it for free to keep it working properly with the latest OS updates. It is a great alternative method of getting your data off your phone and backing it up.
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Aug 20 2014
2.10.2
5.0
Aug 20 2014
5.0
Version: 2.10.2
I'd been using PhoneView since 2011 then abruptly stopped 2012 because I mistakenly thought It would cost me to upgrade to the new version. Was going to uninstall It today when It occurred to me to check Ecamm's website to inquire about the cost of an update. Well Imagine my shock when they said upgrades were free to registered customers! I also found out today ecamm makes one of my all time favorite iOS to Mac printing utilities Printopia which allows anyone to print or send photos wireless from iPhone to mac without a hitch.
AshBP
AshBP
Jan 8 2014
2.9.8
5.0
Jan 8 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.8
This app is still my favorite for accessing stuff on my iphone. Is great to be able to export entire message text into xls (or pdf)... It is a bit expensive, but upgrades have been free since the beginning, so it's been cheap overall.
IMRAN™
IMRAN™
Jul 23 2013
2.9.2
1.0
Jul 23 2013
1.0
Version: 2.9.2
I have had this app for a while, have updated every time, but to this day it has not been able to show, much less export, the iMessages/SMS or Voicemail files on my iPhone 4S 64GB. With the latest update it actually continually shows a spinning icon next to Messages in the sidebar but keeps rebooting the iPhone. Alas, even though the features may be 4-5 stars, I am yet to have any luck with it. I emailed the developers at their web site and hope there is some resolution to this because messages and voicemails are things I cannot get to from iTunes where I have all my music etc. Safely stored and backed up. Imran
leoofborg
leoofborg
May 8 2013
2.9
5.0
May 8 2013
5.0
Version: 2.9
Wow. eCamm really did a UI makeover with PhoneView 2.9. It looks modern, now supports Lion fullscreen, and of course bugfixes. MUCH better than using iTunes USB sharing, and gives you access to all Apps if you need it. Highly recommended.
Scoops98
Scoops98
Feb 3 2013
2.8.6
5.0
Feb 3 2013
5.0
Version: 2.8.6
Invaluable application!
Scotty321
Scotty321
Oct 27 2012
2.8.4
0.5
Oct 27 2012
0.5
Version: 2.8.4
This is a great program when it works. The problem is that it rarely works. It almost never automatically launches itself when you plug your iPhone into your Mac, even if you've checked the checkbox for it to automatically launch itself. So therefore, your PhoneView data is usually out-of-date for a very long time until you manually remember to launch PhoneView, which copies your data from your phone.
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
Oct 6 2012
2.8.4
4.0
Oct 6 2012
4.0
Version: 2.8.4
The GUI isn't cool as iExplorer but it surely works as advertised! I had very bad experiences with iExplorer and glad to find Phoneview!
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
Jul 23 2012
2.7.8
4.0
Jul 23 2012
4.0
Version: 2.7.8
I use it with my iPod touch (4th Gen.) and iOS 5. works very well. It's very handy to explore the stuff from Apps that dont use "iTunes file sharing" and to copy files from my iPod on to my Mac. For those who like to browse the "Library" folders it is a very cool tool.
Bottacco
Bottacco
Apr 20 2012
2.7.6
5.0
Apr 20 2012
5.0
Version: 2.7.6
Great utility... and more now that I have an iPad with the camera connection kit, which creates events with the photos downloaded from the camera and once synced to the Mac the events remain empty like ghosts on the iPad and there is no way to delete them directly from the iPad. With this utility I can see the folder structure in the iPad, get to the pictures folder and delete the empty events folders that remain there. I hope Apple solves this problem soon, but even once solved, PhoneView will be an essential utility in my arsenal.
Guizmo85
Guizmo85
Feb 14 2012
2.7.5
4.0
Feb 14 2012
4.0
Version: 2.7.5
I've used this little app to access some iPad at work that had cache problems in some applications. Very useful, BUT, if more than one iOS device was connected to the computer while I was using this software, the software was crashing. Last time I used this software was this summer and the version I was using was 2.7.1. Since then, maybe a software update did correct this issue.
Revco
Revco
Oct 26 2011
2.7.4
0.0
Oct 26 2011
0.0
Version: 2.7.4
Does this back up email as well?
Bottacco
Bottacco
Oct 14 2011
2.7.3
5.0
Oct 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.7.3
I've tried several similar apps and this is the most polished one. I use it everyday.
madeforipod
madeforipod
Sep 17 2011
2.7.2
4.0
Sep 17 2011
4.0
Version: 2.7.2
Fantastic app for iOS 3.1.3 users, since you can fully manage you iDevice. Still a great app for 4.0.+ users, although there are some limitations.
Daniele-Leoni
Daniele-Leoni
Sep 14 2011
2.7.1
4.0
Sep 14 2011
4.0
Version: 2.7.1
Good app, I am very happy because I've searched for long time a good way to perform a complete backup of my iPhone, now I've found! Easy to use, good graphics and cheap! Thank you!
Rc5
Rc5
Sep 10 2011
2.7.1
3.0
Sep 10 2011
3.0
Version: 2.7.1
The advertisement above says, "store any type of data", but I discovered the following notes in the manual after I bought the product. :( Note: Adding notes is not available for iOS 4 devices. Note: The edit feature is not available for iOS 4 devices. Note: The delete feature is not available for iOS 4 devices.
Baannongdong-Kap
Baannongdong-Kap
Aug 31 2011
2.7.1
5.0
Aug 31 2011
5.0
Version: 2.7.1
Perfect for saving text messages, call logs, for which I need constantly and update regularly. My iPhone went and had to be replaced. I only lost the day I had the phone replaced.
star9ho
star9ho
Mar 22 2011
2.6.3
4.5
Mar 22 2011
4.5
Version: 2.6.3
I purchased PhoneView because I was trading in my old crippled iPhone for a new one, and didn't want to lose my text messages. When I hooked up my new iPhone - PhoneView put everything on it automatically. All my text messages live on. Other than that, I haven't used it much - but out of the box I am really impressed. Worth the 14.95! And I love that you can save individual text conversations to PDF files for posterity. - As far as the demo version complaints, it was a tad confusing where I was supposed to download from, so I ended up with the demo version at first, but there is a link to the paid version somewhere on the email.
Wehmuth
Wehmuth
Mar 9 2011
2.6.3
5.0
Mar 9 2011
5.0
Version: 2.6.3
Best app ever!
Drdul
Drdul
Nov 20 2010
2.6
5.0
Nov 20 2010
5.0
Version: 2.6
With this version, PhoneView is able to delete photos from the Camera Roll, and I no longer need to use Image Capture. I now use PhoneView exclusively to transfer media from my phone, and store stuff on my phone in "disk mode." Unlike competing free and paid apps (I've tried them all), PhoneView works flawlessly, is easy to use, and looks good.
Aeon
Aeon
Nov 8 2010
2.6
0.0
Nov 8 2010
0.0
Version: 2.6
"This download is the demo only. To get the latest update of the full version, registered users should use the same link received after purchasing. Registered users will receive an upgrade notification via email shortly." I have only ever received one upgrade notification by email and the link has now stopped working without warning. The product is excellent but the customer support could do with some more work.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Sep 14 2010
2.5.4
5.0
Sep 14 2010
5.0
Version: 2.5.4
Of all the app for accessing the iphone this has always been the best giving access to all the phone.
Ry-ma
Ry-ma
Sep 10 2010
2.5.4
0.0
Sep 10 2010
0.0
Version: 2.5.4
I miss the Preview function. Quicklook e.g. But otherwise the application is indispensable.
Marioz
Marioz
Aug 19 2010
2.5.3
5.0
Aug 19 2010
5.0
Version: 2.5.3
I agree 1000% w/h the the comment above, FINALLY a direct access to my iPhone and my iPad w/out the problems of Fuse or others mess around! I ready paid the fee and I am very happy w/h all the features....... :-) Thnks to the developers.