Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to AppTrap page
AppTrap free download for Mac

AppTrap Reviews

15 July 2020

Delete all files associated with trashed applications.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Sep 12 2020
1.2.4
0.0
Sep 12 2020
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
WARNING ABOUT ABANDONWARE! — I read at the top of this page: "AppTrap—1.2.4 —15 July 2020". This is not correct. The version 1.2.4 that downloads here is dated February 15, 2016. Moreover, at the developer's site (http://onnati.net/apptrap) the latest version is 1.2.3, dated December 28, 2015.
amaloney
amaloney
Jul 22 2020
1.2.4
1.0
Jul 22 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
The author of version 1.2.3 (in an email to me) denies writing the listed version (1.2.4). What is going on here?
amaloney
amaloney
Jul 16 2020
1.2.4
1.0
Jul 16 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
Cannot download it. Developer's site does not list v 1.2.4. Current prefpane on my Mac is 1.2.3. Checking for latest version says I have it (1.2.3)
nobody2011
nobody2011
Jul 16 2020
1.2.4
5.0
Jul 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.2.4
I'm using this app since many years. But whats new? AppTrap 1.2.4 (posted here on MU) was published on Feb. 15th 2016
Vitaly
Vitaly
Jul 15 2020
1.2.4
5.0
Jul 15 2020
5.0
Version: 1.2.4
it's a great app. I wish the developed could fix just one bug that annoys me: when the app is running it manifests as an external volume connected to the computer.
CODE_ASH
CODE_ASH
Jul 20 2018
1.2.3
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 1.2.3
Dada
CODE_ASH
CODE_ASH
Jul 20 2018
1.2.3
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 1.2.3
needs improvements in UI
cig0
cig0
Sep 13 2017
1.2.3
0.0
Sep 13 2017
0.0
Version: 1.2.3
It's a trap! (Sorry, I had too)
Sleek
Sleek
May 18 2013
1.1.7
5.0
May 18 2013
5.0
Version: 1.1.7
This AppTrap is one of those Mac's Lil Gem's that is a must for Mac User. AppTrap Does its job without Shining. Simple and easy and FREE.
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Nov 15 2012
1.1.7
5.0
Nov 15 2012
5.0
Version: 1.1.7
This little Preferences Pane is still chugging along behind the scenes in Mountain Lion, OS X 10.8.2, working perfectly.
the-ray-man
the-ray-man
Dec 1 2011
1.1.7
3.0
Dec 1 2011
3.0
Version: 1.1.7
I installed this on my iMac & laptop (both Snow Leopard)to uninstall older versions of Microsoft Office, and I never recieved the "delete associated files?" warning when I emptied the trash. I had App Trap on when I did it. Did I do something wrong?
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Aug 15 2011
1.1.7
0.0
Aug 15 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.7
The developer's website is down, but there is a Google Group up for the app: http://groups.google.com/group/apptrap
JacobsIvan
JacobsIvan
Jul 1 2011
1.1.7
0.0
Jul 1 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.7
It seems Apptrap has problems when a macbook goes to sleep. On recovery it uses an insanely amount of memory. Happens every time.
Pripyat
Pripyat
Jul 1 2011
1.1.7
4.5
Jul 1 2011
4.5
Version: 1.1.7
Great little application, saves me opening CleanMyMac. I am worried about its memory usage (390MB Virtual Memory), so the developer should look into this. Other than that, I am very satisfied with this software!
Gary30
Gary30
Mar 2 2011
1.1.6
4.0
Mar 2 2011
4.0
Version: 1.1.6
I like this Preference Pane/App and hardly ever think about it. However, I have been thinking about adding memory and began studying the apps that are using memory. This one uses about 256MB. That seems like a lot to me. I don't think it needs to be open all the time, but I could be wrong. Is it accumulating data? I am going to try turning it off and just activating it when I delete an app, which is seldom.
Macatak
Macatak
Jan 4 2011
1.1.6
0.0
Jan 4 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.6
Great app, thank you. Since the update, the dialog box now says 'move button' and 'leave button' instead of 'leave files' and 'move files' and a bunch of other code gibberish. Anyone else seeing that?
Dspencer3491
Dspencer3491
Mar 28 2010
1.1.5
5.0
Mar 28 2010
5.0
Version: 1.1.5
What makes this application so attractive is that you don't have to open up an application like AppDelete every time you want to delete a program making it very convenient to simply just move an application to the trash then ask you if you want to delete it's associated files. It feels like a feature built in to OS X rather than something secondary
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Feb 19 2010
1.1.5
0.0
Feb 19 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1.5
Formica and CreativeGuy: Thanks!!! AppCleaner does it with class! It is a great piece of Freeware!
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
Feb 16 2010
1.1.5
0.0
Feb 16 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1.5
I like AppCleaner better. It's also free, works in the background, and is just as good at removing all those extra app files. But it also shows you what it's going to delete and offers you the ability to not delete selective files if you choose. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25276/appcleaner
Mahojas
Mahojas
Feb 15 2010
1.1.5
5.0
Feb 15 2010
5.0
Version: 1.1.5
For me this has been the most dependable and easy to use utility of its kind for a long time now. Transparently it runs in the background as a preference pane. Its icon does not take up space in the dock nor in the menu bar. Kudos for the developer.
Hi-ram
Hi-ram
Feb 15 2010
1.1.5
0.0
Feb 15 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1.5
Last version for 10.4 is 1.1 !
Veryvito
Veryvito
Jan 6 2010
1.1.4
5.0
Jan 6 2010
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
Been using this forever now, and can't understand why anyone would use anything else. Absolutely fantastic utility that requires zero effort on the user's part.
Dspencer3491
Dspencer3491
Jan 2 2010
1.1.4
5.0
Jan 2 2010
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
I find the whole concept of this utility to be much more attractive than other applications that delete associated files with the application. It's very convenient because all you have to do is delete the application and it asks you if you want to remove the files associated with the program which makes it more convenient and productive than having to open up an application like appzapper every time you want to remove something.
Jozgta
Jozgta
Dec 27 2009
1.1.4
5.0
Dec 27 2009
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
Excellent utility. I'm using it for a while now (6+ months) and it has always worked flawlessly. There are other good utilities out there (sometimes also free) that do more or less the same. Have tried a couple but prefer this one because it is simple (no unnecessary bells & whistles) and it runs in the background; I don't have to launch anything before I can safely drag an application to the waste bin. Big thanks to the developer!
Locutisofbored
Locutisofbored
Dec 24 2009
1.1.4
0.0
Dec 24 2009
0.0
Version: 1.1.4
Installed over older version using OSX 10.4.11. Now I get the Preferences Error "Could not load AppTrap preference pane." What a pane. Am I the only one experiencing this?
GeogProf
GeogProf
Aug 6 2009
1.0.5
0.0
Aug 6 2009
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
I have tried AppTrap, and it's OK. However, when compared with AppCleaner 1.2.2, the difference is STRIKING. AppCleaner does most of the things that all of the reviewers below ask for, it finds ALL of the files associated with the main app you are deleting - EVEN FILES THAT ALL OTHER SUCH APPS OFTEN MISS - it is totally unobtrusive and doesn't impact your CPU or memory AT ALL as far as I can tell, IT WORKS AUTOMATICALLY when you maybe forget to startup AppCleaner and just toss an app into the trash ITS SmartDelete CATCHES IT AND ALSO AUTOMATICALLY CATCHES ALL ITS ASSOCIATED FILES AND OFFERS TO TRASH THEM FOR YOU! And perhaps most amazing is that it is so superior to all other such apps but it too is FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE! If you don't believe me, just check out the comments and reviews on AppCleaner's MacUpdate.com (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25276) and VersionTracker.com pages (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/32740&mode=feedback). That level of user satisfaction is far, far higher than all other such apps, illustrating that people love it for all its capabilities and performance - not just its price (which, again, is FREE!). When you try AppCleaner, set the preferences to "Protect launched apps," "Protect default apps," and "Enable 3D transitions," don't forget to turn on SmartDelete, then one-by-one select the "Applications," "Widgets" and "Others" icons at the top of AppCleaner's main window, and with each one select the "Options" menu (in the Menubar) then "Select All" to instruct AppCleaner to protect all those apps, widgets and other resources from being accidentally deleted, then you can uncheck one-by-one all the ones that you don't want AppCleaner to protect. Trust me, you'll love this app with it set this way! Enjoy! (Oh, and BTW, I am in no way affiliated with the makers of AppCleaner - I don't even know them. I just LOVE IT when truly great software is made available for FREE, and I feel such magnanimous developers should be promoted whenever possible, even when it's a bit annoying (as this comment is because it's in another app's MacUpdate space).
dajonel
dajonel
Jan 13 2009
1.0.5
4.0
Jan 13 2009
4.0
Version: 1.0.5
Developer, can we have an update?
Rgmenke
Rgmenke
Nov 25 2008
1.0.5
5.0
Nov 25 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.5
Like many OS X users, I've lamented the lack of a deinstaller built into the OS. From the beginning I've used Deinstaller to remove demo or no longer needed apps. The process worked as long as pkgs were installed, otherwise they don't appear on the list. Then I stumbled upon AppTrap. Wow! Apple should pay the developer for the code and implement it now. The program loads as a Preference Pane an that's it. Anytime you drag an application into the trash AppTrap locates the associated files and deletes them as well. What could be easier?
Jeffne-Schelin
Jeffne-Schelin
Aug 21 2008
1.0.5
5.0
Aug 21 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.5
The best uninstaller in my opinion. Doesn't requires me to launch it at all. Big up to the developers.
garrych
garrych
Aug 16 2008
1.0.5
4.0
Aug 16 2008
4.0
Version: 1.0.5
Nice tiny util. Very helpful
Kzx72
Kzx72
Aug 15 2008
1.0.5
0.0
Aug 15 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
This program (not Cleanapp, Appzapper, Appdelete etc) is the uninstaller Apple forgot... Keep updating it!
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Jul 13 2008
1.0.5
5.0
Jul 13 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.5
This is definitely a 5 star utility - a pref pane, actually. But it functions perfectly: behind the scenes, catching most everything I delete, asking if I want associated files deleted too. 99% of the time, I do. What a time and work saver!
Algos
Algos
Jun 30 2008
1.0.5
4.0
Jun 30 2008
4.0
Version: 1.0.5
I love this little prefpane. Helps just a bit to keep your system somewhat more clean. As said before, it only sometimes misses out on the fact that it is a Sparkle update. I also would like something like an exception list, so that you never see the warning for specific apps.
Tice
Tice
Feb 11 2008
1.0.5
5.0
Feb 11 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.5
Great little helper! Unless all others, this thingy ask to help, so you don't forget to get rid of that junk files when you trash an app.
dajonel
dajonel
Feb 11 2008
1.0.5
4.0
Feb 11 2008
4.0
Version: 1.0.5
After upgrading to 1.0.5, System Preferences gives me an error: Could not load AppTrap Is this version for 10.5 only or something? I have 10.4.11.
dajonel
dajonel
Jan 27 2008
1.0.4
4.0
Jan 27 2008
4.0
Version: 1.0.4
This app has saved me nearly an hour in total from searching for PLIST files and caches. It's truly amazing! Okay, there is one negative: it only SOMETIMES ignores Sparkle updates. About half the time I have to tell it "No".
Tofi
Tofi
Jan 20 2008
1.0.4
0.0
Jan 20 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
watch out. It put all my bookmarks and needed cookies and cache in trash, as I updated my browser.
Etartakoff
Etartakoff
Jan 11 2008
1.0.4
0.0
Jan 11 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
Is this at least as good as "cleanapp" because thats what I have been using and it seems to do a good job
Mail21
Mail21
Nov 17 2007
1.0.3
0.0
Nov 17 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.3
Actually it worked quite well for me under Tiger...! So are there any plans of bringing this back for Leopard...?!?
Micware
Micware
Aug 31 2007
1.0.2
0.0
Aug 31 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.2
Do nothing for me on iMac 24" OX.4.10
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Aug 2 2007
1.0.1
5.0
Aug 2 2007
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
IT WORKS FOR ME... However I send my app tot the tras.. by itself or within a folder structure.. by drag and drop or by keyboard keys.. AppTrap pops up a dialog asking me if I want to trash the associated files as well.
Aljuk
Aljuk
Jul 11 2007
1.0.1
1.0
Jul 11 2007
1.0
Version: 1.0.1
It doesn't work. Yet another app which claims to get rid of application associated files but doesn't do a thorough job. It left preference files behind on all the installations with which I tested it.
Adi2
Adi2
Jul 10 2007
1.0.1
0.0
Jul 10 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
if you Cmd+Delete an application, AppTrap doesnt do anything.
Aggo
Aggo
Jul 10 2007
1.0.1
0.0
Jul 10 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
It gives you the option to not having it running in the background. You can go to System Preferences to start/stop it.
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
Jul 8 2007
1.0
0.0
Jul 8 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
My question is: Do you need a background process that runs permanently on your computer (taking 15 Mb of memory) it's only purpose is to get rid of other apps ? How often do you need to trash apps ???
Francola
Francola
Jul 7 2007
1.0
0.0
Jul 7 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
It worked on a couple of apps, but ironically, it did not find anything when I moved "AppDelete" to the trash. Maybe needs a little more work. Nice idea though.
Adi2
Adi2
Jul 7 2007
1.0
0.0
Jul 7 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
This is by far the best implementation of uninstalling application on osx. Using this app, you dont have to drag an app to the a window to uninstall it. You just have to drag it to the trash bin(just like the osx way!) and then you get a nice window warning that youre deleting/uninstalling an app and it asks you if you want to move the prefs files and other files also to the thrash. very nice! better than appcleaner
Elegraphy
Elegraphy
Jul 7 2007
1.0
0.0
Jul 7 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
I have try to test dump with some applications and see how AppTrap will respond. Nothing happend. How do you use this app, or did I miss something?