ToMacs
ToMacs 2.0.4
Your rating: Now say why...

0

Copy files from one Mac to another.   Shareware ($8.00)
Add to my Watch List
Email me when discounted
ToMacs is your new data manager. It can manage data for a lot of applications, like your mail, your signets (Safari, Firefox...), your Adium logs, your keychains, addresses or calendars. It can also take care of your most sensible folders. You can use it to make archives on your hard drive, on a USB flash drive or on a remote mac of your network, and even over the Internet using SSH (see the Starting guide of the help below). It offers a panel to manage some profiles so that you can schedule your copies.
What's New
Version 2.0.4: Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated.
Requirements
Intel/PPC, Mac OS X 10.4 or later



MacUpdate - ToMacs



ToMacs User Discussion (Write a Review)
ver. 2.x:
Your rating: Now say why...
Overall:
(5)

sort: smiles | time
burypromote

+75

Jeff-H. reviewed on 08 May 2008
Kinda' sorta' works. Not polished at all though.
You can only do one computer at a time, and if you click on another, or un-highlight the one that you were working on, any progress is lost (REALLY counter productive!).
In fact, after I've done just that I can't get it to work again (lost another star 4 that!).

Needs work. good enough for a beta, but should have been cleaned-up before it saw light.
[Version 1.6.2]


burypromote

+70
Matthew Green commented on 02 May 2008
still a rather glaring flaw when using a folder as opposed to other user account, to be able to get it to work you have to tick all the modules then adjust the settings you want (either home directory or folder)

or start with home account to other user, select your options then change it to folder
[Version 1.6.2]


burypromote

+19
akrobat commented on 29 Apr 2008
I'm a bit confused here. The app used to work but now I can't seem to get anything out of it.

It is faster which is a good thing.
The implementation of choosing your icon size is good, unfortunatley that's about it.

For a start it simply does not copy the files - even though it says so. It only states 'connecting to the remote computer'. Press 'ok' and it states 'logging in' and then 'copy completed'. Of course nothing is copied and there's no progress window.

I wanted to like this app, but I've tried dozens of times to no avail. Finally I gave up...and deleted it. Next!
[Version 1.6.1]


burypromote

+19

akrobat reviewed on 07 Apr 2008
The update is a little better. It now works fine on Tiger AND Leopard. I agree with the post below as to the slowness of scrolling in the main window.

I still think the icons are overly huge and it would be nice to be able to configure/delete the application icons you dont use, instead of having to scroll (slowly) down to the one you want. Smaller things like a GOOD translation would help.

Still, that said I still use it and find it satisfactory.
For simple syncs it's worth using.
[Version 1.5.5]


burypromote

+77

Tomis reviewed on 26 Mar 2008
A great idea implemented very poorly.

Oddly slow scrolling of the main list, weird design choices, buttons that appear disabled when they aren't, the main window isn't resizable. I could go on.

If the developer takes the interface back to the drawing board I think they could have a winner.

Additionally it couldn't find one of my filesharing Leopard machines that appears in the Finder sidebar with no problem. Though it found my Tiger system fine.
[Version 1.5.5]


burypromote

+75
Jeff-H. commented on 09 Mar 2008
could this thing possibly be any SLOWER?
[Version 1.5.4]


burypromote

-18

MikaelF reviewed on 02 Mar 2008
I like the idea behind this program and it could be a hit but...

The first issue seems to be an error or a misunderstanding. The manual says it will overwrite the remote mac's data. In my case it seems to merge the address book I'm sending with the one existing on the remote mac. The result is a mess on the remote mac with lots of duplicates in the address book.

Second issue is the UI. The tasks that this program does are so simple that there should not be a need for a manual. Why not have two panes in the UI. Local mac on the left, remote on the right. List the application in each pane and an arrow between each app. All you need to do is to point the arrow in the direction you want to send the data and check an option check box next to the app if you also want to do a backup. "My mother" would understand. The "session with folder" does not show up for me.

Third...when I did the copy there was no feedback on the copy process. The progress bar was not showing anything and after a few seconds it updated the UI and showed the next app being copied. Also with a "dead" progress bar.

I run 10.5.2 on both macs and ToMac 1.5.3.

/Mikael
[Version 1.5.3]


burypromote

+19

akrobat reviewed on 12 Jan 2008
Well it's now in English and it seems to work fine.
Would be nice to be able to delete the 'default' folders/apps such as iCal etc which I never use and perhaps a choice in the preferences to make the icons much smaller. Apart from that I'm using it and am quite happy. Actually better than many of the more complicated apps out there - and it's free.

PS. Time for a Leopard update.
[Version 1.5.2]

4 Replies

burypromote

+3
Philou309 (developer) replied on 20 Jan 2008
What do you mean by "Time for a Leopard update".
I note the rest of your suggests. Thank you.
burypromote

+19
akrobat commented on 20 Jan 2008
I've 2 Macs (eMac running Tiger & MacBook running Leopard). It runs fine on the eMac with Tiger but for some reason when running on my MacBook with Leopard it displays shows 10 or more computers. When I click on them they disappear. Additionally it can't connect to the eMac for some reason.
burypromote

+3
Philou309 (developer) replied on 16 Feb 2008
Could you contact me by mail so I will be able to fix the problems?
Thank you
burypromote

+3
Philou309 (developer) replied on 01 Mar 2008
Your problems should be solved with version 1.5.3
burypromote

+19
akrobat commented on 12 Jan 2008
Well it's now in English and it seems to work fine.
Would be nice to be able to delete the 'default' folders/apps such as iCal etc which I never use and perhaps a choice in the preferences to make the icons much smaller. Apart from that I'm using it and am quite happy. Actually better than many of the more complicated apps out there - and it's free.

PS. Time for a Leopard update.
[Version 1.5.2]


burypromote

+26
Syed Ali commented on 01 Dec 2007
What the heck? It's only in French. I guess developer doesn't care if anyone uses this application or not.
[Version 1.5.1]

5 Replies

burypromote
LordArthas replied on 05 Dec 2007
I don't speak French, but not being in English I don't think it's a big problem for using this great program.

Thanx a lot, Philou309!
burypromote

+3
Philou309 (developer) replied on 09 Dec 2007
The website and the documentation are in French, but the software is translated in English (I'm translating the help and my website, but it's not easy as I'm French and as I can't spend all my time into my softwares).
burypromote

+26
Syed Ali replied on 09 Dec 2007
Thank you for the comments. The application is indeed in English, but without proper instructions, I am at a loss. I hope someone on this board can help translate the instructions / help files in English.
burypromote

+3
Philou309 (developer) replied on 13 Dec 2007
I translated the help in english, but I'm afraid it won't be a good english
burypromote

+26
Syed Ali replied on 13 Dec 2007
Thank you very much for the translation. I will surely look into it.
burypromote

+19
akrobat had trouble on 09 Apr 2008
Indeed Macs with Leopard installed only display intermitently... sometimes they do, other times not.

This means you have to use the app from the Leopard machine only.

Also whenever adding a folder, the app states that it's going to shut down to 'reload the modules'. However it only hangs and you have to shut it down yourself.
[Version 1.5.5]


There are currently no ratings. Write a comment or review now.

Downloads:13,993
Version Downloads:2,704
Type:Utilities : File Management
License:Shareware
Date:10 Sep 2009
Platform:PPC 32 / Intel 32 / OS X
Price: $8.00
Overall (Version 2.x):
Features:
Ease of Use:
Value:
Stability:
Displaying 1-10 of 11
1 2 >
Displaying 1-1 of 1
-
-
-
Please login or create a new
MacUpdate Member account
to use this feature
Watch Lists are available to
MacUpdate Desktop Members
Upgrade Now
Install with MacUpdate Desktop.
Save time moving files & cleaning
up space wasting archives.
ToMacs is your new data manager. It can manage data for a lot of applications, like your mail, your signets (Safari, Firefox...), your Adium logs, your keychains, addresses or calendars. It can also take care of your most sensible folders. You can use it to make archives on your hard drive, on a USB flash drive or on a remote mac of your network, and even over the Internet using SSH (see the Starting guide of the help below). It offers a panel to manage some profiles so that you can schedule your copies.


- -