Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to iStat Menus page
iStat Menus free download for Mac

iStat Menus Reviews

15 July 2021

Monitor your system right from the menubar.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Vitaly
Vitaly
Jul 16 2021
6.60
0.0
Jul 16 2021
0.0
Version: 6.60
very useful app. I think they charge too much for the weather (I paid but not very happily). and 6.60 has glitches with mOS 12 beta 3 (e.g., battery icon always shows full charge whereas the % and time remaining show correct numbers)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Jul 14 2021
6.60
0.0
Jul 14 2021
0.0
Version: 6.60
6.6 autoupdated last night. It's supposedly 10.11 only, but it runs on my 10.13 system. The Weather feature requires a subscription which I've turned off. Meterologist works just fine and is free.
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Nov 2 2020
6.50
5.0
Nov 2 2020
5.0
Version: 6.50
This is a crucial plugin for anyone doing development or heavy use of their Mac. I've owned this for a decade. It's the biggest thing I miss when using my Windows machine.
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Oct 30 2020
6.40
3.0
Oct 30 2020
3.0
Version: 6.40
Hasn't been updated in a year. The only sensor info it shows is my SSD temp, but I'm positive the the new iMac 27" has many more sensors that that.
Weaztek
Weaztek
Aug 27 2020
6.40
5.0
Aug 27 2020
5.0
Version: 6.40
Super nice app for the advanced user. Personally, I just use 2 menus; sensors (to watch the overall temp) and GPU to watch my eGPU temp and CPU processes.
actfoole
actfoole
May 31 2020
6.40
2.0
May 31 2020
2.0
Version: 6.40
The dollar signs, when your free trial runs out, say it all about this company Bjango. App works the best in class, so you will buy every version. No upgrade price, just buy it again. DON'T buy the multi-license, it will never work on more than one machine with ONE OS. Pity the greed...
rafabass05
rafabass05
Jan 18 2020
6.40
5.0
Jan 18 2020
5.0
Version: 6.40
muy buena esta aplicacion, es la mejor en cuestion de informacion para nuestras macbook pro...
mikeabdoll
mikeabdoll
Feb 25 2019
6.31
5.0
Feb 25 2019
5.0
Version: 6.31
I had tried other monitors.I gave them 2 stars.This one really did a good job, and I gave 5 stars.
This software turned on my fan that was not working.Other softwares could not.Thanks
TVieceli
TVieceli
Dec 4 2018
6.30
4.0
Dec 4 2018
4.0
Version: 6.30
Handy app for quick monitoring of my system.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Nov 23 2018
6.30
5.0
Nov 23 2018
5.0
Version: 6.30
The addition of spacers is a nice touch. They are subtle but effective.
vincent-oudin
vincent-oudin
Sep 3 2018
6.20
4.0
Sep 3 2018
4.0
Version: 6.20
Pas mal du tout en plus il est possible de contrôler les ventilateurs !
cheltenham
cheltenham
Aug 29 2018
6.20
5.0
Aug 29 2018
5.0
Version: 6.20
really convenient software !!
Leesa
Leesa
Aug 14 2018
6.20
0.0
Aug 14 2018
0.0
Version: 6.20
One of the New Features is Weather Info. It's advertised as part of the Package here, but my understanding is you Pay Extra for it.
cameronclark
cameronclark
Aug 14 2018
6.20
5.0
Aug 14 2018
5.0
Version: 6.20
Have benign using for years, excellent, no problems ever.
june8
june8
Jul 23 2018
6.20
5.0
Jul 23 2018
5.0
Version: 6.20
Best monitor utility.
Fhall1
Fhall1
Jul 21 2018
6.20
0.0
Jul 21 2018
0.0
Version: 6.20
I have it set to check and automatically install updates, but I'm still at 6.11 - it's not seeing 6.2 as an update.
unrealdeal
unrealdeal
Jul 21 2018
6.20
0.5
Jul 21 2018
0.5
Version: 6.20
iStat Menus 6.2 completely breaks S.M.A.R.T. support in macOS (10.13.5 and 10.13.6) on Macs with non-NVMe drives. After iStat Menus 6.2 installation Apple Disk Utility shows "S.M.A.R.T. status: Not supported". After iStat Menus 6.2 uninstallation - Apple Disk Utility shows "S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified".
Pypo
Pypo
Jul 20 2018
6.20
1.0
Jul 20 2018
1.0
Version: 6.20
Problem with V6.20 when using DiskWarrior with macOS 10.11.6 & 10.12.6 on Mac Pro 2008 & 2013
drebaboe
drebaboe
Jul 20 2018
6.20
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 6.20
With OS 10.13.6 and iStat Menus 6.11 or 6.20 SMART status was not supported (see Apple Disk Utility).
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
May 21 2018
6.11
5.0
May 21 2018
5.0
Version: 6.11
iStat Menus is just a MUST have app for me – installed on every Mac I work with since years!
robfol
robfol
Apr 28 2018
6.11
5.0
Apr 28 2018
5.0
Version: 6.11
An incredibly useful app that lets me customise the menu bar with info I want, in that way I want. Plus a much better choice of clock, power etc formats than Apple gives you. Been using it for years and could not recommend more highly.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Apr 27 2018
6.11
4.5
Apr 27 2018
4.5
Version: 6.11
Long-time user (I suspect v2.1 or about there). HIGHLY recommended - excellent suite of monitoring options, I use as replacement for Apple's date/time, memory and battery level display sin menu bar; also monitoring network traffic etc etc. Well worth the investment in my opinion - I use it on my MB Pro and Mini and never had any issues with it - does what it says it will do.
june8
june8
Mar 11 2018
6.10
5.0
Mar 11 2018
5.0
Version: 6.10
Best!
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
6.10
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 6.10
The best…
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
6.10
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 6.10
The best stats monitor I have ever used, very recommended.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Mar 1 2018
6.10
4.5
Mar 1 2018
4.5
Version: 6.10
Just installed 6.1. A tad worried that the update installed "some components" without asking for admin or user password - hope nothing nasty went onto my machine...
Shk747
Shk747
Mar 1 2018
6.10
0.0
Mar 1 2018
0.0
Version: 6.10
magic, just auto-updated ;-)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 1 2018
6.10
0.0
Mar 1 2018
0.0
Version: 6.10
Seeing as version 5.3.2 ended on a buggy note, with its daemon frequently CRASHING, I'm concerned about bothering to upgrade to version 6. If the bugs in 5.3.2 have been fixed, I'd be buying the upgrade. But at this point, I've uninstalled iStat Menus, don't miss it, don't care. [I'm on a 2014 MBP and MOS 10.12.6, 16 GB RAM].
wboweng10
wboweng10
Feb 27 2018
6.00
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 6.00
This is a killer utility for displaying all sorts of status information about your Mac and comes in very handy sometimes. I confess I don't always have it turned on, but occasionally need to checkout network activity, temperature and fan status, confirm IP address, check drive/volume usage, etc., etc., etc. Big help when I need it. Developers are quick to update it to keep it current with changes to the macOS and hardware lines.
iguan2001
iguan2001
Feb 1 2018
6.00
1.0
Feb 1 2018
1.0
Version: 6.00
This kind of software is very useful to me. But Istat Menus has very few updates, has a lot of bugs and lacks of optimisation is obvious. It used to be good, but it became expensive the developpers are very lazy for the money asked....each year ! I advise MENUBARS STATS which is good, cheaper update and less greedy in term of ressources.
mladen-1
mladen-1
Jan 2 2018
6.00
0.5
Jan 2 2018
0.5
Version: 6.00
This is dangerous and bad software. After the trial period has ended I deleted the app. However It pops up in the status bar in 5 instances and can't be force killed. I can't get it off my mac. Don't install this!!!
Thuring
Thuring
Dec 30 2017
6.00
4.0
Dec 30 2017
4.0
Version: 6.00
A very nice app. However, for my iMac Pro with 10.13.2, iStat does not show in the menu any activity for the GPU. Can't blame it .. a lot of apps seem to be having difficulty with the new OS.
iguan2001
iguan2001
Dec 25 2017
6.00
1.0
Dec 25 2017
1.0
Version: 6.00
Hello, I stat Menus is a very useful software for years. This 6th version has a big memory leak on High Sierra, it would be nice to launch an update (6.0 since septembre....) !
M clamat
M clamat
Oct 13 2017
6.00
0.0
Oct 13 2017
0.0
Version: 6.00
I do not understand why I need to upgrade, I want to stay in the previous version but not possible !!! says my SN is not valid even if I paid it !!!!
Wafa-Kamel-vuvy
Wafa-Kamel-vuvy
Sep 30 2017
6.00
2.0
Sep 30 2017
2.0
Version: 6.00
I upgraded from version 5 to version 6.0 but it seems it stills buggy as there no icon Shows in the menu but it creates an empty space on the menu where you can click to access iStat menu bar. I contacted the developers who requested some more information which I promptly provided and since then I never heard from them any more and the problem stills persist. I am running iStat Manus on a MacBook Pro with High Sierra
Gary30
Gary30
Sep 27 2017
6.00
5.0
Sep 27 2017
5.0
Version: 6.00
So, version 6 requires macOS High Sierra. Got it. But does version 5 work under High Sierra? This is a question left dangling on Bjango's website as best I can determine. To be candid, I am near the end of my interest in this app. I still like it, but much of what was said in Scott whatshisname's review is also applicable to me, and I suspect, other users at this point in macOS history.
Jlock
Jlock
Sep 27 2017
6.00
5.0
Sep 27 2017
5.0
Version: 6.00
I really like this app and when they said that they added weather integration I was interested to see how well they would implement it and they knocked it out of the park! Version 6 is the best yet and is for sure worth trying out.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Sep 26 2017
6.00
5.0
Sep 26 2017
5.0
Version: 6.00
I'm still on an old MacBook Pro, running El Capitan, but iStat Menus version 6 is dope compared to version 5. They seem to have done a lot under the hood; maybe it just has to do with reduced OS compatibility (10.11+), but it feels fast, snappy.
cig0
cig0
Sep 20 2017
5.32
0.0
Sep 20 2017
0.0
Version: 5.32
Great app indeed.

However I recently switched to FIPLAB's StatsCenter mainly because it runs as a Notifications sidebar widget so instead consuming CPU cycles all the time to update stats and constantly show stuff, it only shows the metrics (cute graphics included) when I need to see them.
The information shown isn't as thorough as the one presented by iStat Menus but it covers all my needs. If I need more in-depth metrics I just switch to the terminal and run $ top -S -u
Dan-D
Dan-D
Aug 2 2017
5.32
0.0
Aug 2 2017
0.0
Version: 5.32
Version 5.32 is neither available via app update nor the developers website. It is not even listed in the apps version history. Was anybody able to install this current version actually or has it been pulled already by the developer for some unknown reason?
Shk747
Shk747
Aug 2 2017
5.32
0.0
Aug 2 2017
0.0
Version: 5.32
@istat devs: what goes on, why is here at macupdate the 5.32 version earlier online than on the payed istat on the mac's ?!
Localboy56
Localboy56
Aug 1 2017
5.32
0.0
Aug 1 2017
0.0
Version: 5.32
I was wondering why my iStat 5.3.1 didn't notify me of an update. According to Bjango's website, which I checked just now, the latest version is still 5.3.1 so 5.3.2 may have been pulled.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Aug 1 2017
5.32
0.0
Aug 1 2017
0.0
Version: 5.32
Good tool to keep an eye on your systems stats. Except .. it uses a lot of CPU resources when doing nothing. That's not good imo
Fced
Fced
Jul 27 2017
5.31
4.0
Jul 27 2017
4.0
Version: 5.31
Very useful, I use it since menu meters stopped to be compatible with Snow Leopard, but iStat Menus have more functionalities. A must have ..
Zukan
Zukan
Apr 23 2017
5.31
4.0
Apr 23 2017
4.0
Version: 5.31
Beautiful system monitor app, has every thing you would ever want to monitor your computer, appealing for the eyes and well optimised. As someone who deals with a lot of bandwidth going through the mainboard, this tool is invaluable to me as I can track any bottlenecks that are occurring on my system with ease. Works perfectly with non-Apple hardware too, currently measuring on a hackintosh system. Only one issue, I wish the menus would stay when I click outside of them. I need to measure bandwidth as it goes from one place to the next during playback of large videofiles and the dropdown menus keep disappearing whenever you click outside of them, please include an option to make them STAY up. This is one thing XRG has an advantage over iStat Menus, you can set it to float on top of all other windows regardless of what you are doing, the monitor and the graphs will always remain visible as long as you need it to. I wish iStat Menus had this option too!
nered
nered
Apr 7 2017
5.31
4.5
Apr 7 2017
4.5
Version: 5.31
Seems to be really good app monitoring everything on my Mac. It is worth 18 dollars. Nice. Really nice.
rockangel
rockangel
Jan 5 2017
5.31
4.0
Jan 5 2017
4.0
Version: 5.31
Awesome application. It is worth your attention.
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
Nov 10 2016
5.30
0.0
Nov 10 2016
0.0
Version: 5.30
istatmenusdaemon appears to have a memory leak or something. Over time it gets to using over 2 GB of memory. Luckily I can just quit it in Activity Monitor where it comes back using only 14 MB. I'm using 5.3. Don't recall this issue with previous versions.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Nov 7 2016
5.30
5.0
Nov 7 2016
5.0
Version: 5.30
Menubar icon ordering, which was broken in macOS 10.12, seems to have been fixed in v. 5.30! Love this app.
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
Nov 6 2016
5.30
5.0
Nov 6 2016
5.0
Version: 5.30
Thanks for fixing the menu bar icon order in Sierra after restarting. You guys are awesome!