Back to Karabiner Elements page
Karabiner Elements free download for Mac

Karabiner Elements Reviews

06 September 2021

MacBook keyboard remapper.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 7 2021
13.7.0
0.0
Sep 7 2021
0.0
Version: 13.7.0
UNINSTALLING & UPDATING: Karabiner Elements is ODD in that it root locks its two apps such that no administrator can unlock them and therefore cannot toss them into the Trash for removal. BE NOT AFRAID! If you go into the 'Misc' tab inside the app, you'll find you can 'Uninstall' from there, and it works. You'll also find under that tab the 'Update' option, which will also work, despite the app being root locked. Yes, this is unheard of in my long Mac experience! But the app itself provides access to both options.
raynerdesign
raynerdesign
Mar 16 2021
13.3.0
0.0
Mar 16 2021
0.0
Version: 13.3.0
Thanks Tony, being locked out from removing the app scares the hell out of me. I followed your tip, but now I have 2 remnants folders and apps I can't delete, but zero bytes, so no problem. However, after restarting I still have 4 (or maybe 5) Karabiner processes running: Karabiner-DriverKit-VirtualHIDDeviceClient karabiner_grabber karabiner_observer karabiner_session_monitor and maybe kdc Who knows what they're up to?
Sampler
Sampler
Mar 14 2021
13.3.0
4.0
Mar 14 2021
4.0
Version: 13.3.0
Version 12.10.1 Good for my simple needs: 1. Right Option Key -> Control key 2. Touchbar function key changes: With fn key down: f10-> sound off, f11-> sound volume down slider; , f12 -> sound volume up slider f8-> brightness down slider f9-> brightness up slider That said, I won't be updating to 13.10 as, according to the What's New list, the app will no longer change touchbar function keys.
Ttrtilley
Ttrtilley
Nov 17 2020
13.1.0
0.0
Nov 17 2020
0.0
Version: 13.1.0
Can this program remap the "Office key" on a Microsoft keyboard to a "right command key"?
khritovs-1
khritovs-1
Nov 2 2020
13.1.0
5.0
Nov 2 2020
5.0
Version: 13.1.0
Simply awesome
ying17
ying17
Jun 21 2020
12.9.0
5.0
Jun 21 2020
5.0
Version: 12.9.0
Coming from a Linux/Windows background, switching to a Macbook pro was really difficult for me becuase the keyboard shortcuts were really hard to get used to. In particular, when I had to switch between Remote Desktop and RemoteViewer (Spice) to access my other enviornments keyboard shortcuts were all messed up b/c of muscle memory on what keys I hit. So glad I found Karabiner Elements, having the ability to re-map keys (by application, by which keyboard I had plugged in) has been an absolute game changer. It's turned my Mac experience from mildly annoying to almost enjoyable!
earthwormscrawl
earthwormscrawl
Jun 8 2020
12.9.0
5.0
Jun 8 2020
5.0
Version: 12.9.0
I'm an electrical engineer who's been writing software for over 40 years, so it's hard to come up with anything that confuses me. On the other hand, I think a non-technical person could get overwhelmed by this utility. That being said, I can't live without this. I use Parallels VM manager with Windows and Linux on my MAC and I need the mapping control. The ability to program the rocker buttons on my Logitech trackball to slide between Mac desktops is addictive.
allenchiirogakutetsu
allenchiirogakutetsu
May 3 2020
12.9.0
5.0
May 3 2020
5.0
Version: 12.9.0
for non technical person it is very easy and fast to use. the software comes with online resources to download without much configuration. i installed and download the "halfqwerty" configuration within the app and got it working in less than 5 minutes!
Tony-169eda05
Tony-169eda05
Apr 25 2020
12.9.0
1.0
Apr 25 2020
1.0
Version: 12.9.0
Agreed with last poster. Impossible to install unless you do it at the command level. It's locked on install and no way to unlock it. I was going into the Contents folder of the app (right click on the app > Show Package Contents) and found everything there was locked too. I literally Got Info on every item, added myself to Permissions and then gave myself Read/Write privileges so I could at least delete those files. But I couldn't delete the app itself until I found this site: https://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/362662/how-to-delete-a-locked-app It seemed to work (the app icons were gone from the Applications folder) but if it was running before you uninstalled it, look at your status bar at top. I noticed that despite uninstalling it, it was open and active in the status bar. Found another page dealing with that issue: https://github.com/pqrs-org/Karabiner-Elements/issues/459 All in all, if an app makes it this hard to uninstall, I'm 100% suspicious. Install at your own risk. I hope I got everything off!
Filou53
Filou53
Jan 20 2020
12.8.0
0.0
Jan 20 2020
0.0
Version: 12.8.0
it's now 12 9 0...
numberer6
numberer6
Oct 18 2019
12.7.0
5.0
Oct 18 2019
5.0
Version: 12.7.0
Using IBM Model M keyboard with 2019 Macbook pro. Needed Karabiner to create a keyboard mapping for "command" key. Sacrificed F5/F6 to left/right command keys; works. I'm not using complex mappings, but for this simple, but essential mapping, no issues.
Sleav
Sleav
Jul 9 2019
12.5.0
0.5
Jul 9 2019
0.5
Version: 12.5.0
I would recommend that unless you are a very experienced Mac user you steer clear - this software may do what it says it will do re keyboard remapping, but when it comes time you dont want it on your system anymore, good luck! The app is installed with something called an Immutable Flag. it will ask permission to bypass your security settings, install itself, locked, and almost nothing you can do as a User will allow you to get rid of it. I had log in as a Root user and then use several Terminal commands to change the locked flag just to allow me to delete it.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jun 10 2019
12.5.0
5.0
Jun 10 2019
5.0
Version: 12.5.0
Recommended! Highly useful and versatile key mapper - I have mapped the back slash to a forward delete function on my MacBook's keyboard. Huge numbers of options for any remapping you want to do to customise your work flow. 5 stars!
Drdul
Drdul
Apr 18 2019
12.2.0
5.0
Apr 18 2019
5.0
Version: 12.2.0
Skip 12.2.0 if you have a 15-inch 2018 MacBook Pro. On mine, 12.2.0 disabled the keyboard backlight and at one point completely disabled the keyboard until I restarted. There are similar reports from several others on Github.
Lumac52
Lumac52
Nov 12 2017
10.22.0
0.0
Nov 12 2017
0.0
Version: 10.22.0
The developer has now released version 11 of Karabiner and it works on macOS High Sierra! I am looking forward to trying it out, as it used to be one of my indispensable apps.
jrtmanmd
jrtmanmd
Jun 15 2017
10.22.0
3.0
Jun 15 2017
3.0
Version: 10.22.0
This was great, until OSx 10.12. Has this been updated to work properly with Sierra (10.12)? :-(
kingsj0405
kingsj0405
Oct 6 2016
10.21.0
5.0
Oct 6 2016
5.0
Version: 10.21.0
I hear switch fn and ctrl_l is impossible from some anwser on stack overflow. But it well done with this app.
jfblagden
jfblagden
Jul 12 2016
10.21.0
0.0
Jul 12 2016
0.0
Version: 10.21.0
1. How do you use Karabiner to map the keys of a gamepad? 2. How do you make Karabiner map the button under the scroll wheel to the play/pause button on the keyboard so you can play or pause a song just by depressing the button under the scroll wheel?
Grubengold
Grubengold
Jun 11 2016
10.19.0
5.0
Jun 11 2016
5.0
Version: 10.19.0
I use karabiner for Microsoft remote desktop to have the missing INS-Key in a remote desktop session while pressing fn+Return (Change Return Key (Fn+Return to Shift_L+Insert)). So great!
kamil-stachowski
kamil-stachowski
Feb 18 2016
10.11.0
5.0
Feb 18 2016
5.0
Version: 10.11.0
A life saver. Fantastic. Thank you so much for this program!
barmacj
barmacj
Oct 3 2015
10.9.0
0.0
Oct 3 2015
0.0
Version: 10.9.0
I need to use a wireless presenter with Preview. But all presenters send Up_Arrow and Down_Arrow signals. Preview needs Left_Arrow and Right_Arrow signals. The Karabiner standard key remap list does not include this option. How can I make this remap? I'm not confident to dive into code.
centzon
centzon
Jul 24 2015
10.6
5.0
Jul 24 2015
5.0
Version: 10.6
This really is a top-notch application. I came to it in order to get a keyboard shortcut for a right-mouse-click to get contextual menu (now Fn+C), and now I think I have gone a little bit crazy following some of the examples at http://osxnotes.net/karabiner.html What really does it for me is the ability to create whole new "key spaces", for example map caps lock to cmd+opt+ctrl as a modifier key for every other key and you have a wealth of options that likely do not conflict with anything else on the system. Cannot praise this app highly enough!
四点
四点
Jun 1 2015
10.6
5.0
Jun 1 2015
5.0
Version: 10.6
necessary.
xzc1988
xzc1988
Apr 20 2015
10.6
5.0
Apr 20 2015
5.0
Version: 10.6
Awesome app. It greatly increases my productivity. Keep on going!
oferinbar1
oferinbar1
Apr 19 2015
10.6
5.0
Apr 19 2015
5.0
Version: 10.6
awesome. allowed me to turn my logitech k400r windows usb wireless keyboard into an osx keyboard in 10 minutes (change the control key on the keyboard to the command key).
slamet-kristanto
slamet-kristanto
Jan 17 2015
10.6
5.0
Jan 17 2015
5.0
Version: 10.6
very useful app ... recommended ....
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Oct 8 2014
10.3.0
5.0
Oct 8 2014
5.0
Version: 10.3.0
I installed to use back slash key as Forward Delete. It works nicely. But, appears to conflict with Key Cue - prevents Key Cue from starting. Every time I try to start Key Cue (double tap Command key), I get message asking me to allow Key Cue to control the computer using Accessibility section of System Preferences. Key Cue is set to do so and so I need to turn Karabiner off to use Key Cue. Happy to work with Dev (send logs etc) to solve this.
Drdul
Drdul
Aug 31 2014
10.2.0
5.0
Aug 31 2014
5.0
Version: 10.2.0
I keep discovering new uses for this app. I originally installed it to map the backslash key on my MacBook Pro to forward delete. Then I discovered a bunch more uses for it, the latest of which is to add a delay to Command-Q. I was always accidentally pressing Cmd-Q and quitting apps when I just wanted to press Cmd-W to close a window. Now I have to press and hold Cmd-Q in order to quit an app. Love it!
grsc3p0
grsc3p0
Aug 24 2014
10.2.0
5.0
Aug 24 2014
5.0
Version: 10.2.0
An essential app for me. It allows me to use a wireless ISO PC illuminated keyboard on my Mac mini. Strongly recommended.
Fotodivr
Fotodivr
Jul 22 2014
10.1.0
5.0
Jul 22 2014
5.0
Version: 10.1.0
does what it says it does... like that
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
Jul 10 2014
10.0.0
0.0
Jul 10 2014
0.0
Version: 10.0.0
Why this new name?! What is the connection between its functions and a carabineer? even a German one.
SMcCandlish
SMcCandlish
Feb 17 2014
9.3.0
0.0
Feb 17 2014
0.0
Version: 9.3.0
This really only works with the MacBook, not other Macs? I run Mavericks on a 2010 Mac Pro, and this would be useful for me, if it works. If it's not limited to MacBooks in particular, I'd suggest a rename. If it really only work on MacBooks, how hard would be it be to broaden this app to include other Macs? I'm guessing not too bad, since you're also making something similar for PCs. :-)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Dec 2 2013
9.2.0
5.0
Dec 2 2013
5.0
Version: 9.2.0
Brilliant app. I use it to speed up the repeat rate on any OS X keyboard. It seems I'm not alone in finding the max repeat rate too slow in OS X.
John-Sawyer-CJS
John-Sawyer-CJS
Nov 16 2013
9.0.0
0.0
Nov 16 2013
0.0
Version: 9.0.0
For people not running Mavericks, it would be nice for this listing to have a link to the immediately prior version of KeyRemap4MacBook, version 8.4.0--as it is, the "Download Older Version" link will download 5.1.0, which is for versions of OS X through 10.4.11. With the posting of KR4MB 9.0, we can no longer download versions for OS X 10.5.x-10.8.x.
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Nov 15 2013
9.0.0
0.0
Nov 15 2013
0.0
Version: 9.0.0
Link above is downloading v 8.4 v9 link is https://pqrs.org/macosx/keyremap4macbook/files/KeyRemap4MacBook-9.0.0.dmg
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Sep 24 2013
8.4.0
5.0
Sep 24 2013
5.0
Version: 8.4.0
Read through the online documentation to get a feel for how powerful this is: https://pqrs.org/macosx/keyremap4macbook/document.html.en Also of note is PCKeyboardHack by the same author -- I finally use my CAPS LOCK for something useful!!! Excellent utility all round...
OhEssex
OhEssex
May 17 2013
8.2.0
0.0
May 17 2013
0.0
Version: 8.2.0
I don't like the installer for this thing! The installer guides you through the process and, without any notification beforehand, you're left with a dialog box asking you to restart the machine. I wish software that did this would indicate this up front (Apple's software update does) because when I've got a zillion things open on my machine the last thing I need is to have a rogue window in my environment that just needs to receive an errant carriage return to just completely hose my workflow. I'm never clear about quitting these installers at the point they ask for a restart in case that breaks something about the installation process...
Thomas-Svendsen
Thomas-Svendsen
May 13 2013
8.1.0
5.0
May 13 2013
5.0
Version: 8.1.0
Solved my big problem!
Osxi
Osxi
May 13 2013
8.1.0
1.0
May 13 2013
1.0
Version: 8.1.0
Hi, looks like a great app. Why does it phone home when you first launch it?
Apikoros
Apikoros
Mar 17 2013
8.0.30
0.0
Mar 17 2013
0.0
Version: 8.0.30
Won't work for me with an Apple wireless keyboard and late 2012 iMac, running 10.8.2. I was trying to remap forward slash to forward delete. It worked immediately after I made the setting, but the setting doesn't persist after restart, whether or not I enter KeyRemap4MacBook as a startup item.
Aikousha
Aikousha
Feb 20 2013
8.0.0
0.0
Feb 20 2013
0.0
Version: 8.0.0
Can this work in such a way as to modify only the keys on an external numeric keypad, without altering the numeric keypad on the main keyboard? If so, that should probably be part of the main description, as that could have hundreds of uses (including the ability to have a boardroom table with a dozen keypads, each programmed differently, to use as a feedback method, for gaming, etc.).
VictorPrijker
VictorPrijker
Jan 30 2013
8.0.0
5.0
Jan 30 2013
5.0
Version: 8.0.0
This is the best free utility for OSX ever. Ever. I can't recommend it enough to anyone using a Mac. Takayama Fumihiko did a splendid job since the beginning (for me, since version 5), adding more and more valuable remaping and programming options to the Mac keyboard. I can't imagine using my MBP without it. I will try version 8, but, as before, I am sure it will be another great version of this invaluable piece of software. Apple should seriously consider to integrate such an amazing keyboard programming utility in the core of OSX.
nctyb
nctyb
Oct 1 2012
7.8.0
0.0
Oct 1 2012
0.0
Version: 7.8.0
I have a MBA 3,1 which has an "Eject" button on "F12". KeyRemap4MacBook is great and allowed me to shift the volume and itunes control buttons over one and replace the eject button. I am experiencing a bit of difficulty with the new "F12" key that is remapped as "Volume up". They key works every time I press it, however, whey I press and hold the key it does not continue to increase the volume. Meanwhile, the "Volume Down" button ("F11") does continue to decrease the volume when held. I believe it has something to do with the key refresh rate. I welcome any suggestions. THANKS!
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
May 31 2012
7.7.0
0.0
May 31 2012
0.0
Version: 7.7.0
UKELELE is inappropriately quoted here, as is this app quoted under UKELELE, as they have completely different uses: KeyRemap changes the system assignments to various command keys, where as UKELELE creates custom keyboard layouts (keylayouts). The admins should remove this confusing reference under both apps.
Wcody
Wcody
May 25 2012
7.7.0
5.0
May 25 2012
5.0
Version: 7.7.0
Incredibly capable and comprehensive. Creating your own xml is pretty easy. Extremely well done and thoughtful app! I used this with a Logitech R400 Wireless Presenter to have the "." key remapped to a "b" key (for the "black screen button") so Keynote and Powerpoint simply black out, and not quit.
Guest
Guest
May 10 2012
7.7.0
3.5
May 10 2012
3.5
Version: 7.7.0
nic that u can customize the keyboard and that too for free
VictorPrijker
VictorPrijker
May 9 2012
7.6.0
5.0
May 9 2012
5.0
Version: 7.6.0
The best is getting better. Thank you so much for this wonderful piece of software, amazingly free!
Lolita
Lolita
Feb 2 2012
7.5.0
0.0
Feb 2 2012
0.0
Version: 7.5.0
Is this a kernel extension?
Oxo-design
Oxo-design
Nov 17 2011
7.5.0
4.0
Nov 17 2011
4.0
Version: 7.5.0
Hi! v. 7.5.7 is on :)
VictorPrijker
VictorPrijker
Nov 2 2011
7.5.0
5.0
Nov 2 2011
5.0
Version: 7.5.0
This is an amazing OSX utility. I always install it any OS I use and couldn't work without it. It should be part of the Apple MacOS system itself. A brillant piece of software, kudos to the programmer(s)!