Back to LogMeIn Pro page
LogMeIn Pro free download for Mac

LogMeIn Pro Reviews

4.1.10331
13 June 2019

Connect to your Mac computers from anywhere in the world.

Neo979
22 January 2014

Most helpful

There are multiple instances, as recently as last year, where LogMeIn said the free service would remain free. Although the desktop client is free, many of us paid $30 for the mobile app to use the free service. Now, with zero notice, LogMeIn is breaking their promise and eliminating the free service. So far, they have not offered refunds to people who wasted money on the expensive and now-worthless app. This company has no ethics and is rumored to be desperate and on the verge of bankruptcy.
Like (8)
Version 4.1.4141

Read 21 LogMeIn Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

ravenmoye
23 February 2018
Great for professional use
Like
Version 4.1.9129
mrsidoric
24 January 2018
ABSOLUTELY NOT FREE. LogMeIn is also a malware delivery vector – AVOID THIS APP
Like
Version 4.1.8963
Rickzeman
21 June 2014
Shouldn't "Free" be taken out of the description?
Like (3)
Version 4.1.4401
MichaelFrankel
22 January 2014
WORD TO THE WISE: In some cases, after you install this latest LogMeIn update, it will completely fail to work until you restart the computer. I discovered this after having various problems on my desktop (Mac Pro running 10.8.5), including not being able to connect to it from other computers on my same local network AND noticing literally hundreds of log messages about something going wrong. A restart stopped all of this from happening.
Like
Version 4.1.4141
Neo979
22 January 2014
There are multiple instances, as recently as last year, where LogMeIn said the free service would remain free. Although the desktop client is free, many of us paid $30 for the mobile app to use the free service. Now, with zero notice, LogMeIn is breaking their promise and eliminating the free service. So far, they have not offered refunds to people who wasted money on the expensive and now-worthless app. This company has no ethics and is rumored to be desperate and on the verge of bankruptcy.
Like (8)
Version 4.1.4141
Orytek
22 January 2014
Here's why they are eliminating free mode and going to pay only. Q: Why are you making this change? A: In order to address the evolving needs of our customers, we will be unifying our portfolio of free and premium remote access products into a paid-only offering. We believe this offering to be the best premium desktop, cloud and mobile access experience available in the market today. Make any sense of this? They could at least give us a straight answer.
Like
Version 4.1.4141
MichaelFrankel
22 January 2014
Latest version looks very nice. Only one bug (on Mac). the "Connect To Computers" DOES NOT store the account password. Works fine on Windows. Please fix this bug guys. Now that the service is moving to a paid-only subscription model, this kind of stuff will not fly.
Like
Version 4.1.4141
Mcr
01 December 2013
I'm using client version 4.1.0.3257 from May 17, 2013. (note this is later than the one posted here on MacUpdate). Since installing this on boot up I receive a OS X pop up confirmation EVERY time at boot asking to allow incoming connections to LogMeIn. Yes, LogMeIn is already Allowed in Firewall, and always has been.I have researched this, steps I've already taken: 1) Yes, LogMeIn is already Allowed in the OS X Firewall, and always has been. 2) LogMeIn is Allowed all connections in Little Snitch, and always has been. 3) Per an old thread from 2010 about the exact same problem, the recommendation in that thread was to uninstall and reinstall. I have uninstalled and resinstalled 3 times. After each reinstall, the pop up stops for a few boots, and then reappears. Due to this problem, I can't boot up remote unattended because user input is required at the host to confirm the pop up, otherwise the connection is blocked. I opened a ticket #02971799, after a few email exchanges, Support promptly closed the ticket with no other explanation other than due to my not being a Pro user, support was not provided (ignoring the fact that if this is a bug, it probably exists in the Pro version too). Anyone else having this issue? There are some references on the web that some other people who have looked into this feel it is an issue with the client not being signed properly relative to Gatekeeper/Sandbox, etc, hence on startup, OS X feels it isn't trusted, despite the Firewall setting, and wants reconfirmation. I'm running 10.8.5. this didn't start until I upgraded to 4.1.0.3257, but even after trying to downgrade back to 4.1.2324, the problem persists, so something is not being cleared.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2324
Amcarter3
03 July 2012
I've had Logmein on our 3 computers for quite awhile. Seemed like a good idea, but never did use it. When I began having a lot of slow down issues, I spent quite a bit of time trying to find the source. When I un-installed Logmein, things started working better on our computers. AND, I found that Logmein places over 30 sub-files all over my operating system and user folder. Some are hidden files. They do NOT offer an uninstall utility. I had to manually find and delete each of these files. Big pain.
Like (5)
Version 4.1.2239
1 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
05 November 2013
There's an uninstall here: http://help.logmein.com/selfserviceknowledgerenderer?type=FAQ&id=kA030000000DGFwCAO Also, please explain what was wrong with your computers in more detail. What actions were slow, etc.?
Like
drbroom
11 April 2012
With out a doubt the best support system out there for a tech. As someone who spend a lot of time working on "OPN" (Other Peoples Networks) I could not live with out this useful tool. I have also spent a lot of time comparing the other products like ARD, Timbuk2 and Go2MyPC and with out any hesitation I can tell you it's the best. While I use ARD when I need some additional Apple related feature I mostly use LMI because I can work on any type of machine (Windows. Mac and soon Linux) from my Mac, iPad or even iPhone. This is with just the "Free" version of the client. If I were willing to pat for the Pro version I would also be able to do file transfers; and the pro client is still cheaper the paying for TB2. As a work around if I need to transfer a file I just boot up iChat or Google Docs and then use that as a go between, not a real headache. Now let's talk about the security of the product... LMI uses a full 256bit AES encrypted tunnel between my machine and the "target". They also offer 2 factor authentication when I log in to my account. For this and many more reasons I don;t have time to add here I recently upgraded my account to the LMI Central service which I would recommend to any tech or someone who has a lot of machines to support on many OPN. Just my $0.02
Like (2)
Version 4.1.2239
Joypebble
26 March 2012
Easy to set up and resolves dynamic IP issues BUT it is jerky, imprecise and delivers a picture of the remote desktop that's smaller and with seemingly harder to control cursor movement. My comparison for these thoughts is my Timbuktu which is now tangled in a Verizon FIOS's modem's security tentacles. Timbuktu's new owner (Motorola) is completely out of the helpful support mode. LogMeIn's free version doesn't allow file transfers so what's the point unless all you ant to do is see if the cat's sleeping or not? So, even though LogMeIn has good support, the product lacks the elegance and same-size controllability of Timbuktu which runs free after purchase. I'm going back and just shake a stick at Verizon's modem mentors.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1940
1 answer(s)
Joypebble
Joypebble
29 December 2012
I said, "Timbuktu's new owner (Motorola) is completely out of the helpful support mode." Well, Timbuktu 8.8.4 has come through with fixes for waking Lion when it is sleeping. The best is still working. Thanks, guys!
Like (1)
BradMacPro
28 February 2012
Now up to version 4.00.1940
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Hanspoot
Hanspoot
28 February 2012
NOW? since 2011 July 4.00.1940 was current... And LogMeIn is by far the best.
Like
Anderson-Oliveira
11 January 2012
Very good... Support very easy.
Like
Version 1.0
Cowicide
10 March 2011
Ugh.. with Safari 5.0.3 on Mac OS 10.6.6 with latest LogMeIn it asks me EVERY TIME if "do you want to save the password" in Safari every time I log into someone's computer. This is with the Pro version. It ignores whichever response I choose and does it over and over and over.... again... incredibly annoying and time wasting when working on large projects with many computers (as I am now).
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0.1452
Jeff-Wholeman
29 March 2010
Overall LogMeIn is very stable decent product with only issue - its designed for Windows. You can do remote print, share you local hard drives with remote, manage multiple computers with ease and so on - all of these without headache of installing loads of software and in a blink of an eye... But.... On Mac its has weakness when it come to control Windows machine from Mac - logmein remote client for Mac STILL using java and this solution consume a lot of system resources and not that stable and fast as ActiveX in Windows version. Please, remind your developers that current generation of macs have very decent graphics cards as standard - so we all expect some hardware acceleration, QuarzGL, etc As for now - excellent must have solution for Windows, and potentially useful tool for mac in a future
Like (3)
Version 4.00.1162
waipepe
24 January 2010
I have tried Logmein free and was testing to see if it do what it says it seems to, however without my permission they upgraded me to the PRO version (30 day trial) which has now expired and of course now cannot access my account I have emailed "Manny Kalra|Account Manager" at Logmein many times from as far back as 01 December 1009 "NO REPLY" was the loud response I am disappointed Harry
Like (3)
Version 4.0.966
Ward
08 December 2009
Yesterday a friend suggested LogMeIn as an alternative to VNC for screen sharing. This morning, Macworld Member Benefit delivered a LogMeIn ad to my Inbox. It seemed like the universe was telling to to give it a try. I downloaded the "latest" version from LogMeIn.com and installed it on my iBook. On the first launch it wanted to updated from 4.0.966 to 4.0.994 -- first small red flag. I created my account at LogMeIn.com and finished the iBook setup. (Along the way, Little Snitch reported numerous links back to the mothership -- second small red flag.) Then I switched to my desktop Mac to see what screen sharing was like. When I tried connecting to my iBook, the site encouraged me to install a browser plug-in. Hmmm. Returning to my browser, I'm at a LogMeIn login screen from https://my-ibook-tlpbyidbfn.app10.logmein.com/ asking me for my iBook user name and password -- HUGE RED FLAG. A website is asking me to provide my iBook admin username and password??? No way. Now my only question is how to remove every trace of LogMeIn from both of my Macs.
Like (7)
Version 4.0.966
2 answer(s)
Kukkis
Kukkis
13 December 2009
Use the uninstaller. BTW. How do you think you can log into your Mac without using your password?!?!?
Like (7)
Version 4.0.966
Ward
Ward
14 December 2009
I eventually found the uninstaller to remove LogMeIn from my iBook. And I wound up using CleanApp to remove the browser plug-in from my desktop Mac. > How do you think you can log into your Mac without using your password?!?!? As I mentioned at the beginning of my review, I was looking at LogMeIn as an alternative to VNC screen sharing. I should have realized from the name that LogMeIn is more than screen sharing. I've used a variety of screensharing techniques (VNC, TeamViewer, GoToAssist Express, Timbuktu). All offer password-protected access, but none require divulging my account name & password to a public website -- that's my reason for abandoning LogMeIn.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.966
Arctos
28 July 2009
This app is GREAT. My bookkeeper uses it to update my books since my Mac Quickbooks is not really compatible with her PC version. So she logs in & keeps my books up-to-date. She never got around to downloading the Pro version for printing, so, sometimes there's a stack of reports on my printer when I get into office - but, that's ok. Saves me on delivery charges. I love it when there's something on my desktop that's not on my laptop & I need to email it to myself. It really WOWS the clients. Now if the iPhone app would just go on special. I just can't see spending 30 bucks on software that I really just use occasionally. I know they need to recoup the free versions, but, it's just too difficult to run my computer from my iPhone for more than just the occasional use. I'd spend $15 in a heartbeat, tho. They also need a Pro version for Mac - then I'd think about the iPhone app a bit harder, esp. w/Print & Share installed.
Like
Version 4.00.697
Tournesol
29 May 2008
Works just as great as back to my mac, but is free! Speed is perhaps not the best, but you get your things done, and like .Mac you don't have to configure firewalls or anything else.
Like
Version 4.00.697
ivanovitch
17 February 2008
Why do we have to negotiate through a third device each time we wish to connect? Whilst logmein has a page devoted to security, there is no mention made of what data is kept at logmein.com. What does this offer that the OS 10.5. 'share screen' does not offer? Or ARD?
Like
Version 4.00.697
1 answer(s)
Ackee
Ackee
18 February 2008
LogMeIn just works with no fuss. It resolves IP address issues for those of us who aren't on a static IP. I believe that it also enables control of multiple computers behind a firewall/router with only one external IP address - no port forwarding required. It also enables control via a web browser, so while I'm at work on a Windows PC I can control my home iMac.
Like
Version 4.00.697
Revs
14 June 2007
I have always hoped LogMeIn would make it to the mac. The preview version is superb, no issues so far! At first the menu bar icon was very ugly, but the app updated itself today and lo and behold - we have a nice mac-like menubar icon now :D
Like
Version Preview