Back to FileZilla page
FileZilla free download for Mac

FileZilla Reviews3.55.0

13 July 2021

Fast and reliable FTP client.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
May 13 2021
3.54.1
0.0
May 13 2021
0.0
Version: 3.54.1
"File", I know what means the word ; but "Zilla" ???
dmike2843
dmike2843
May 13 2021
3.54.0
0.0
May 13 2021
0.0
Version: 3.54.0
Does filezilla is available for iPhone device.. because I have some important files for upload in hosting panel.
trinineverette
trinineverette
May 11 2021
3.53.1
3.0
May 11 2021
3.0
Version: 3.53.1
Too hard to use, I like FInder better
jonnpa08
jonnpa08
Oct 27 2020
3.51.0
5.0
Oct 27 2020
5.0
Version: 3.51.0
I love with Mac the FileZilla Pro version: https://filezillapro.com/
AlexReyes
AlexReyes
Jul 6 2020
3.48.1
4.0
Jul 6 2020
4.0
Version: 3.48.1
It's easy to use!
Sigsgaard
Sigsgaard
Oct 1 2019
3.45.1
1.0
Oct 1 2019
1.0
Version: 3.45.1
Probably the worst interface of any Mac app, it is Linux/Windows at it's worst. It is cumbersome and ugly. If you want a free ftp app for MacOS, then go for Cyberduck.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
May 9 2019
3.42.1
0.0
May 9 2019
0.0
Version: 3.42.1
WARNING – Filezilla is often bundled with malware that is difficult to detect. Assume that malware is present in any download, from every source.

Regardless of Filkezilla merits, this bundling is unacceptable.
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
Dec 3 2018
3.39.0
0.0
Dec 3 2018
0.0
Version: 3.39.0
Can this software be remove from here...
Still that crap in 3.39...
It will change your home page, search, will install Chromium... finish for me Filezilla goodbye.
Sixbillships
Sixbillships
Oct 29 2018
3.38.1
2.5
Oct 29 2018
2.5
Version: 3.38.1
Malware detected in installer when downloading via MacUpdate or directly from developer's site: PUA_OSX.InstallCore
danh-buigetraco
danh-buigetraco
Sep 27 2018
3.37.1
5.0
Sep 27 2018
5.0
Version: 3.37.1
good
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Aug 30 2018
3.36.0
0.0
Aug 30 2018
0.0
Version: 3.36.0
Intego VirusBarrier detected the following malware: Type: Malware Name: OSX/InstallCore.fs Infected file: /Volumes/FileZilla/FileZilla.app/Contents/MacOS/dispread
cubanpete
cubanpete
Jan 28 2018
3.30.0
5.0
Jan 28 2018
5.0
Version: 3.30.0
Very good, easy to use and powerful app, no question about it. Filezilla works well on all platforms and is free. So thanks to the developer. I give the full rating because I like it very much, its free and I have no complaints, If you go to the developer website "Filezilla" the first download button you encounter will download FileZilla_3.30.0_macosx-x86_setup_bundled.dmg. This may contain some bundled adware. To be fair: it clearly says right below the button that "This installer may include bundled offers.". So: it does not secretly install anything without your prior knowledge of the fact. So...the second link "Show additional download options" will open a new page showing the download link for FileZilla_3.30.0_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2 Get this one. Once extracted you will have the Filezilla.app only.
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 11 2018
3.30.0
0.0
Jan 11 2018
0.0
Version: 3.30.0
Windows, OS X and Linux versions of FileZilla can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED / SIDE INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers. https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
iboommm
iboommm
Nov 9 2017
3.28.0
1.0
Nov 9 2017
1.0
Version: 3.28.0
shit program wtf
Volcanus
Volcanus
Oct 7 2017
3.27.1
0.0
Oct 7 2017
0.0
Version: 3.27.1
Comes with an installer, which also wants to install some crapware. Just avoid to install it.
warez90
warez90
Oct 5 2017
3.27.1
5.0
Oct 5 2017
5.0
Version: 3.27.1
User-friendly utility. Updates regularly and works good. Never had a problem with it (using it for more than 5 years already since PC).
TeRRyZx
TeRRyZx
Aug 16 2017
3.27.1
0.5
Aug 16 2017
0.5
Version: 3.27.1
Once AGAIN this crap app tried to load malware on to my Mac. I'm so sick of this constantly happening that I am removing this junk forever!!!
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Aug 16 2017
3.27.1
2.0
Aug 16 2017
2.0
Version: 3.27.1
I hate that this app is distributed with a side-loader installer. I just want the app and nothing else. I had to dig in their Sourceforge repository to find the bz2 file rather than the zip setup file linked here. Don't bother with it.
Baarten
Baarten
Mar 23 2017
3.24.1
0.0
Mar 23 2017
0.0
Version: 3.24.1
Currently the latest version is 3.25.1.
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Jan 20 2017
3.24.0
0.0
Jan 20 2017
0.0
Version: 3.24.0
v 3.24.0 is catched by ClamXav with Adware OS X.Spigot.
MarieVezina99
MarieVezina99
Dec 8 2016
3.23.0.2
4.0
Dec 8 2016
4.0
Version: 3.23.0.2
Nice to be here, this community is great place to learn!
a1lmttkuvzk4497
a1lmttkuvzk4497
Dec 8 2016
3.23.0.2
5.0
Dec 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.23.0.2
I'm new here, and hope can learn from you guys.
Mcr
Mcr
Aug 24 2016
3.21.0
0.0
Aug 24 2016
0.0
Version: 3.21.0
Client and portable versions, Windows and OS X and Linux can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers. https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
TeRRyZx
TeRRyZx
Jun 24 2016
3.19.0-rc1
0.5
Jun 24 2016
0.5
Version: 3.19.0-rc1
THIS HAS THE MALWARE SPIGOT VIRUS included in it. AVOID
jayvyas725
jayvyas725
Mar 11 2016
3.16.0
5.0
Mar 11 2016
5.0
Version: 3.16.0
Best client available!
Beamy
Beamy
Oct 27 2015
3.14.1
0.0
Oct 27 2015
0.0
Version: 3.14.1
You can download FileZilla without the installer if you use a direct link (can be found on the sourceforge site). FileZilla 3.14.1 runs on MacOS 10.7.5 Direct Links for FileZilla 3.14.1 (without the annoying installer) : http://skylink.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla_Client/3.14.1/FileZilla_3.14.1_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2?nowrap& or http://heanet.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla_Client/3.14.1/FileZilla_3.14.1_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2?nowrap& :)
Scion777
Scion777
Sep 18 2015
3.14.0
1.0
Sep 18 2015
1.0
Version: 3.14.0
???? 10.7 or later? What? The installer will not run on Yosemite - got the big "NO!" slashmark thru the installer icon. This should be fixed to reflect that on MacUpdate!
Indio
Indio
Aug 19 2015
3.13.0
0.0
Aug 19 2015
0.0
Version: 3.13.0
installs maleware and not filezilla
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Aug 19 2015
3.13.0
0.0
Aug 19 2015
0.0
Version: 3.13.0
From Macupdate: installed - no app to see From filezilla-project.org installed - no app to see Macbook Pro 13 mid 2012", 10.10.5
Anotheruser
Anotheruser
Jul 20 2015
3.12.0.2
1.0
Jul 20 2015
1.0
Version: 3.12.0.2
What a disappointment. Somewhat begrudgingly I have to give a bad review. I have used this software in the past and found it solid. But since it is hosted on SourceForge.net, and since they have indeed introduced malware into their "installer" schemes, I have to direct your attention to Xenedar's review and give this url: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7135825 so you can delete the malware crap that now gets installed when trying to install FileZilla. What a shame. Goodbye FileZilla, goodbye SourceForge. Someone failed to fight "the good fight", or lost it.
Xenedar
Xenedar
Jul 11 2015
3.12.0
0.0
Jul 11 2015
0.0
Version: 3.12.0
DO NOT install FileZilla. NEVER.
The developer sold out to the new corrupt, malware-peddling owners of SourceForge, and as a result now pile tons of adware and malware into the installer, and Mac users are not exempt.
Some of it you can turn off, some of it you can't. Despite the FileZilla shills and astroturfers blaming the user, this is all extremely well documented, so you don't have to (and shouldn't) take my word alone - just Google "FileZilla", "malware" and "adware" and see for yourself.
This reprehensible behavior is an absolute abuse of trust.
See also:
http://www.thesafemac.com/tag/Filezilla/
http://www.thesafemac.com/tag/SourceForge/
Akwarner
Akwarner
Jun 30 2015
3.12.0-rc1
0.0
Jun 30 2015
0.0
Version: 3.12.0-rc1
This was a great piece of software. I just installed this version and without any heads up to or request of me, it installed MacKeeper on my MacBook Pro. I am beyond annoyed and will need to relegate this to software that is no longer fit for use and has lost its way. So sad.
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
Jun 8 2015
3.11.0.2
0.0
Jun 8 2015
0.0
Version: 3.11.0.2
Stay Away!!!! I feel that MU should even remove this from listings as it is used to distribute malware, spyware, PUPs and crippleware and the author makes no effort to conceal this. Furthermore, removal of said infections can only be achieved with am OS reinstall in many instances, especially for the naive. Be warned.
gbsaab
gbsaab
Mar 23 2015
3.10.3-beta1
0.0
Mar 23 2015
0.0
Version: 3.10.3-beta1
WARNING - the SourceForge download for Mac OS X does not install FileZilla. All it seems to do is offer adware and MacKeeper for installation. The Wiki says there are versions for Intel and PPC Macs. However, I could not find them. There is only the one stable download offered.

The current beta on offer in MacUpdate is the same. It does not install the app - only offers to install other apps including MacKeeper.

There are warnings on the SourceForge forum but I couldn't find a warning here so, I'm posting this alert.

At present I don't know how to get a copy of FileZilla. Hopefully someone at SourceForge will fix things soon.
wmh
wmh
Jan 27 2015
3.10.1-rc1
4.0
Jan 27 2015
4.0
Version: 3.10.1-rc1
3.10 no longer connects to my GoDaddy server. Last working version is 3.9.0.6 for me. I have tried each new version of 3.10 but still no connection. Be sure not to replace your older working versions before testing for yourself. As for 3.9.0.6 (four stars), I have no complaints!
darqaz01
darqaz01
Jan 9 2015
3.10.0-rc2
4.0
Jan 9 2015
4.0
Version: 3.10.0-rc2
It is the most helpful ftp app in my Mac since the SBM protocol sometimes not work with inputting domain account in office.
darqaz01
darqaz01
Jan 9 2015
3.10.0-rc2
4.0
Jan 9 2015
4.0
Version: 3.10.0-rc2
It is the most helpful ftp app in my Mac since the SBM protocol sometimes not work with inputting domain account in office.
Misterc
Misterc
Jan 7 2015
3.10.0-rc2
0.5
Jan 7 2015
0.5
Version: 3.10.0-rc2
Incapable of basic OS X fundamentals like drag and drop to the Desktop in 2015?? And uses 100% cpu during transfers. And oh my god my eyes hurt, that UI is horrendous. Even for free, no thanks!
MuchMac
MuchMac
Dec 23 2014
3.9.0.6
4.0
Dec 23 2014
4.0
Version: 3.9.0.6
Capable and free FTP client. This has been a workhorse application for me on both Mac and Windows. Like everyone else, I have an opinion on how it could be better, but mostly I wish to express my thanks to the developers for their continuing work on FileZilla. FWIW, I had zero issues with extra software. Any hint of that would be an immediate deal-killer for me. There was no installer at all with the MU download. All I had to do was uncompress the download file and drag the uncompressed file to my Applications folder.
pat9-1
pat9-1
Dec 4 2014
3.9.0.6
1.0
Dec 4 2014
1.0
Version: 3.9.0.6
Now installs malware that makes it impossible for you to use Google, and if you fix it, it reinstalls itself.
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Sep 9 2014
3.9.0.5
1.0
Sep 9 2014
1.0
Version: 3.9.0.5
Absolute stone ages and it comes packed with Yahoo CRAP that takes over your browser default pages and search engines. Go Transmit or go home.
jdfesta7
jdfesta7
Sep 1 2014
3.9.0.3
3.5
Sep 1 2014
3.5
Version: 3.9.0.3
I'm really sad. I loved FileZilla and used it all the time for backups but the new version won't work with my version of Mac anymore. Is there anyway to still use the old download for Mac 10. 6.8?
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Aug 18 2014
3.9.0.3
0.0
Aug 18 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.0.3
The new default download warns you that "This installer may include bundled offers." If you want the original full drag & drop download without an installer, get it here: https://filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1
jc-lau
jc-lau
Aug 17 2014
3.9.0.3
0.0
Aug 17 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.0.3
System requirements raised up to Mac OS X 10.7.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Aug 17 2014
3.9.0.3
4.0
Aug 17 2014
4.0
Version: 3.9.0.3
Retina support of the main interface (namely fonts) on this incarnation, not the icons, still it looks a lot better (and "almost" Mac-like). I have it only for when I need to explain how it works to a Windows user/client (so I don't have to launch Parallels). For Mac users I advise Yummy FTP Lite, it's cheap and sufficient usually, and shows a double panel.. which people seem to understand better than single-Cyberduck-window. It's always good to make clients understand that they can use their web-hosting plan as a sort of DropBox etc etc. But ftp software scares the layman/woman generally. "Oh I wont0 understand how to use it). Hence why cuter interfaces are a better choice IMO.
Pereubu
Pereubu
Aug 17 2014
3.9.0.3
2.0
Aug 17 2014
2.0
Version: 3.9.0.3
Curiously the installer for FileZilla installs a suspect software ZipCloud if one forget to skip its installation
BDeal
BDeal
Jul 30 2014
3.9.0.1
3.0
Jul 30 2014
3.0
Version: 3.9.0.1
For years, I've used Filezilla; first on Windows, then (and currently) on Mac OS. Always been happy with the interface: I don't need pretty, I need function. My complaint is this latest update (3.9.0.1) has changed some functions I've grown used to. For example, I usually minimize the app using the default Mac OS keyboard shortcut, Command-M, but now this brings up the manual transfer window. Visiting the Filezilla forums yields comments from the developers like, "be glad we even offer a Mac version". Hmm, and it just crashed as I am writing this.
umaromc
umaromc
Jul 24 2014
3.9.0.1
0.5
Jul 24 2014
0.5
Version: 3.9.0.1
Installer (yes, no dragging the app to your Applications folder anymore because...) won't complete without being able to phone home and you will be prompted to install and agree to or skip a couple of adware services. I think I'll be trashing this app.
aniello-mrt
aniello-mrt
Jun 1 2014
3.8.1
4.0
Jun 1 2014
4.0
Version: 3.8.1
Good.. but when drag&drop support for OSX will be added?
Sd-robert
Sd-robert
Mar 30 2014
3.8.0
5.0
Mar 30 2014
5.0
Version: 3.8.0
awesome software! The best FTP client for Mac OS X! 5 stars!