Back to FileZilla page
FileZilla free download for Mac

FileZilla Reviews

3.45.1
02 October 2019

Fast and reliable FTP client.

Drtyrell969
09 September 2014

Most helpful

Absolute stone ages and it comes packed with Yahoo CRAP that takes over your browser default pages and search engines. Go Transmit or go home.
Like (15)
Version 3.9.0.5

Read 98 FileZilla User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sigsgaard
01 October 2019
Probably the worst interface of any Mac app, it is Linux/Windows at it's worst. It is cumbersome and ugly. If you want a free ftp app for MacOS, then go for Cyberduck.
Like
Version 3.45.1
mrsidoric
09 May 2019
WARNING – Filezilla is often bundled with malware that is difficult to detect. Assume that malware is present in any download, from every source.

Regardless of Filkezilla merits, this bundling is unacceptable.
Like (1)
Version 3.42.1
3 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
12 May 2019
Windows, OS X and Linux versions of FileZilla can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED / SIDE INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers.
https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like (1)
Beamy
Beamy
29 June 2019
The direct FileZilla download can be found here:
https://filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1
That download contains the FTP client and not the installer.
The same file can be found at Fosshub (see comment from Mcr).
:)
Like (1)
Mcr
Mcr
09 August 2019
BE VERY CAREFUL if you download from https://filezilla-project.org. There are TWO, quote "client", packages available for download at that site. One is clean, the other is bundled. If you follow the link provided by @Beamy, you want the compressed file that looks like this "FileZilla_x.yy.z_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2" . On the same site, if you go to Home page and press the red button that says "Download FileZilla Client", it ends up with a link to a DMG file, that looks like this "FileZilla_3.44.1_macosx-x86_sponsored-setup.dmg".

The DMG file comes with bundled software, hence the term "sponsored-setup". So, rule of thumb, always get the compressed TAR/BZ2 file, never the DMG file. Or use the link I provided to FOSSHUB, which hosts ONLY the TAR/BZ2 file, never the DMG file.

For Windows versions, the files on https://filezilla-project.org all appear to have bundled software; and are packaged as EXE's. Hence, better choice is still to use FOSSHUB, where the Windows clients are portable versions packaged as ZIP files, NO EXE executables that can contain hidden installers.
Like
RunHomeSlow
03 December 2018
Can this software be remove from here...
Still that crap in 3.39...
It will change your home page, search, will install Chromium... finish for me Filezilla goodbye.
Like (2)
Version 3.39.0
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
04 December 2018
Windows, OS X and Linux versions of FileZilla can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED / SIDE INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers.
https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like (3)
Aargl
Aargl
25 January 2019
Thanks for the tip! :-)
Like (1)
Sixbillships
29 October 2018
Malware detected in installer when downloading via MacUpdate or directly from developer's site: PUA_OSX.InstallCore
Like (2)
Version 3.38.1
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
04 December 2018
Windows, OS X and Linux versions of FileZilla can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED / SIDE INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers.
https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like (2)
danh-buigetraco
27 September 2018
good
Like
Version 3.37.1
RogerKatz
30 August 2018
Intego VirusBarrier detected the following malware: Type: Malware Name: OSX/InstallCore.fs Infected file: /Volumes/FileZilla/FileZilla.app/Contents/MacOS/dispread
Like (1)
Version 3.36.0
cubanpete
28 January 2018
Very good, easy to use and powerful app, no question about it. Filezilla works well on all platforms and is free. So thanks to the developer. I give the full rating because I like it very much, its free and I have no complaints, If you go to the developer website "Filezilla" the first download button you encounter will download FileZilla_3.30.0_macosx-x86_setup_bundled.dmg. This may contain some bundled adware. To be fair: it clearly says right below the button that "This installer may include bundled offers.". So: it does not secretly install anything without your prior knowledge of the fact. So...the second link "Show additional download options" will open a new page showing the download link for FileZilla_3.30.0_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2 Get this one. Once extracted you will have the Filezilla.app only.
Like (2)
Version 3.30.0
1 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
05 October 2018
Thanks for the rational and accurate info for all those uninformed and one paranoid delusion below.
Like
Mcr
11 January 2018
Windows, OS X and Linux versions of FileZilla can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED / SIDE INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers. https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like
Version 3.30.0
1 answer(s)
cubanpete
cubanpete
28 January 2018
I went to fosshub.com to get it. No extra junk was installed - I just got the app.
Thanks a lot for this info!
Like
iboommm
09 November 2017
shit program wtf
Like
Version 3.28.0
Volcanus
07 October 2017
Comes with an installer, which also wants to install some crapware. Just avoid to install it.
Like (2)
Version 3.27.1
warez90
05 October 2017
User-friendly utility. Updates regularly and works good. Never had a problem with it (using it for more than 5 years already since PC).
Like
Version 3.27.1
TeRRyZx
16 August 2017
Once AGAIN this crap app tried to load malware on to my Mac. I'm so sick of this constantly happening that I am removing this junk forever!!!
Like (1)
Version 3.27.1
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
04 January 2018
This is the exact reason MS software are beginning to infiltrate this site - to spread malware among Mac users.
Like
Michael-Vilain
16 August 2017
I hate that this app is distributed with a side-loader installer. I just want the app and nothing else. I had to dig in their Sourceforge repository to find the bz2 file rather than the zip setup file linked here. Don't bother with it.
Like (1)
Version 3.27.1
Baarten
23 March 2017
Currently the latest version is 3.25.1.
Like
Version 3.24.1
Pfackelmann
20 January 2017
v 3.24.0 is catched by ClamXav with Adware OS X.Spigot.
Like (1)
Version 3.24.0
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
21 January 2017
Windows and OS X and Linux can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers.
https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like (3)
MarieVezina99
08 December 2016
Nice to be here, this community is great place to learn!
Like
Version 3.23.0.2
a1lmttkuvzk4497
08 December 2016
I'm new here, and hope can learn from you guys.
Like
Version 3.23.0.2
Mcr
24 August 2016
Client and portable versions, Windows and OS X and Linux can be downloaded WITHOUT BUNDLED INSTALLERS OR MALWARE at FOSSHUB. As a a matter of principle, FOSSHUB will not host any apps with bundled installers. https://www.fosshub.com/FileZilla.html
Like (1)
Version 3.21.0
TeRRyZx
24 June 2016
THIS HAS THE MALWARE SPIGOT VIRUS included in it. AVOID
Like (1)
Version 3.19.0-rc1
1 answer(s)
Jbsientz
Jbsientz
31 July 2016
I saw the same alert the first attempt to install (from AVG Antivirus). I think it's the SourceForge version. But every version I've tried of this update refuses to load on the latest El Capitan production build. The error is "unsupported PowerPC application." Ironically, it loads fine (and does not generate an anti-virus alert from Avira) on my test MacBook with the Sierra public beta. Is anyone else encountering this?
Like
jayvyas725
11 March 2016
Best client available!
Like
Version 3.16.0
Beamy
27 October 2015
You can download FileZilla without the installer if you use a direct link (can be found on the sourceforge site). FileZilla 3.14.1 runs on MacOS 10.7.5 Direct Links for FileZilla 3.14.1 (without the annoying installer) : http://skylink.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla_Client/3.14.1/FileZilla_3.14.1_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2?nowrap& or http://heanet.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla_Client/3.14.1/FileZilla_3.14.1_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2?nowrap& :)
Like
Version 3.14.1
Scion777
18 September 2015
???? 10.7 or later? What? The installer will not run on Yosemite - got the big "NO!" slashmark thru the installer icon. This should be fixed to reflect that on MacUpdate!
Like
Version 3.14.0
Indio
19 August 2015
installs maleware and not filezilla
Like (1)
Version 3.13.0
1 answer(s)
Anotheruser
Anotheruser
17 February 2016
True. Would much rather install femaleware. #couldntResist
Like (2)
Pfackelmann
19 August 2015
From Macupdate: installed - no app to see From filezilla-project.org installed - no app to see Macbook Pro 13 mid 2012", 10.10.5
Like
Version 3.13.0
1 answer(s)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
19 August 2015
I could download it from heise.de
Like
Anotheruser
20 July 2015
What a disappointment. Somewhat begrudgingly I have to give a bad review. I have used this software in the past and found it solid. But since it is hosted on SourceForge.net, and since they have indeed introduced malware into their "installer" schemes, I have to direct your attention to Xenedar's review and give this url: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7135825 so you can delete the malware crap that now gets installed when trying to install FileZilla. What a shame. Goodbye FileZilla, goodbye SourceForge. Someone failed to fight "the good fight", or lost it.
Like (1)
Version 3.12.0.2
Xenedar
11 July 2015
DO NOT install FileZilla. NEVER.
The developer sold out to the new corrupt, malware-peddling owners of SourceForge, and as a result now pile tons of adware and malware into the installer, and Mac users are not exempt.
Some of it you can turn off, some of it you can't. Despite the FileZilla shills and astroturfers blaming the user, this is all extremely well documented, so you don't have to (and shouldn't) take my word alone - just Google "FileZilla", "malware" and "adware" and see for yourself.
This reprehensible behavior is an absolute abuse of trust.
See also:
http://www.thesafemac.com/tag/Filezilla/
http://www.thesafemac.com/tag/SourceForge/
Like (4)
Version 3.12.0
2 answer(s)
Cyborgsam
Cyborgsam
14 July 2015
Download the version without SourceForge's crapware at https://filezilla-project.org.

Never let anything install MacKeeper, IMHO it's scamware. Sadly, money talks and nobody fact checks so MacKeeper has permeated the adware channels.
Like
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
19 July 2015
AGREED - SEE BELOW.

I really think MU should not be listing this at all. People trust MacUpdate as a brand and them mentioning this crapware can be seen as endorsement and will only damage the long-standing reputation MU has. Users beware: FileZilla is POISON!
Like
Akwarner
30 June 2015
This was a great piece of software. I just installed this version and without any heads up to or request of me, it installed MacKeeper on my MacBook Pro. I am beyond annoyed and will need to relegate this to software that is no longer fit for use and has lost its way. So sad.
Like
Version 3.12.0-rc1
1 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
09 July 2015
There was an option to Skip the installation of MacKeeper. You apparently ignored that button and just went ahead to install the application. Whose fault is that?

Why SourceForge is apparently using an installer now -- probably in an attempt to generate some revenue, since one must now wade through a couple of screens which will download and install unworthy apps like MacKeeper--is not cool.

I don't exactly respect that kind of intrusion; it's a sellout, if you ask me. But you didn't have to fall for it, if you had only hit the "Skip" button. Then FileZilla gets installed in the Applications like it should.
Like
Gregorgy
08 June 2015
Stay Away!!!! I feel that MU should even remove this from listings as it is used to distribute malware, spyware, PUPs and crippleware and the author makes no effort to conceal this. Furthermore, removal of said infections can only be achieved with am OS reinstall in many instances, especially for the naive. Be warned.
Like (1)
Version 3.11.0.2
gbsaab
23 March 2015
WARNING - the SourceForge download for Mac OS X does not install FileZilla. All it seems to do is offer adware and MacKeeper for installation. The Wiki says there are versions for Intel and PPC Macs. However, I could not find them. There is only the one stable download offered.

The current beta on offer in MacUpdate is the same. It does not install the app - only offers to install other apps including MacKeeper.

There are warnings on the SourceForge forum but I couldn't find a warning here so, I'm posting this alert.

At present I don't know how to get a copy of FileZilla. Hopefully someone at SourceForge will fix things soon.
Like (3)
Version 3.10.3-beta1
3 answer(s)
flamegoes
flamegoes
24 March 2015
On this page, click on the link "botg" (below the word "Free" near the top right corner). This brings you to "https://filezilla-project.org/"

Click the grey box "Download Filezilla Client, All Platforms". This brings you to "Client Download".

DO NOT click the green box "Download Now, Sourceforge - Trusted for Open Source" as this will brings you to download the "SourceForge installer". It is a small-sized dmg file (FileZilla_3.10.2_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2.dmg) of about 456KB which includes bundled offers.

But instead look 3 lines down and you will see these lines:

More download options
Not what you are looking for?
Show additional download options

Click on "Show additional download options" and the page will show you all the different platforms: Max OS X, Windows, Linux, Source Code, Checksums.

Click the file you want and it will still brings you to Sourceforge, but the files downloaded are REAL files, not the "SourceForge installer". And it's not a dmg file. The file (FileZilla_3.10.2_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2) has a filesize 7.3MB.

Hope this helps.
Like (1)
gbsaab
gbsaab
24 March 2015
Yes, thanks that download link works.

Cheers.
Like
Dgeo
Dgeo
08 June 2015
As lame as SourceForge has become, I also blame MacUpdate for this #$T!#$@T. They should upgrade their links. You insert "?nowrap&" (without the quotes) at the end of the URL (e.g. hxxp://sourceforge.net/projects/filezilla/files/latest/download?nowrap& ) or just press "Direct Download" UNDER the green button which says "Download Installer Enabled". The green button, as the Download button in MacUpdate, links to an "add supported installer", do NOT use it.

Even better, don't trust anyone, use your mind, and take it slow :(
Like (1)
wmh
27 January 2015
3.10 no longer connects to my GoDaddy server. Last working version is 3.9.0.6 for me. I have tried each new version of 3.10 but still no connection. Be sure not to replace your older working versions before testing for yourself. As for 3.9.0.6 (four stars), I have no complaints!
Like
Version 3.10.1-rc1
1 answer(s)
wmh
wmh
31 January 2015
Newest version on the developer website is 3.10.1 was released today. It works fine with my GoDaddy server. :)
Like
darqaz01
09 January 2015
It is the most helpful ftp app in my Mac since the SBM protocol sometimes not work with inputting domain account in office.
Like
Version 3.10.0-rc2
darqaz01
09 January 2015
It is the most helpful ftp app in my Mac since the SBM protocol sometimes not work with inputting domain account in office.
Like
Version 3.10.0-rc2
Misterc
07 January 2015
Incapable of basic OS X fundamentals like drag and drop to the Desktop in 2015?? And uses 100% cpu during transfers. And oh my god my eyes hurt, that UI is horrendous. Even for free, no thanks!
Like (6)
Version 3.10.0-rc2
MuchMac
23 December 2014
Capable and free FTP client. This has been a workhorse application for me on both Mac and Windows. Like everyone else, I have an opinion on how it could be better, but mostly I wish to express my thanks to the developers for their continuing work on FileZilla. FWIW, I had zero issues with extra software. Any hint of that would be an immediate deal-killer for me. There was no installer at all with the MU download. All I had to do was uncompress the download file and drag the uncompressed file to my Applications folder.
Like
Version 3.9.0.6
pat9-1
04 December 2014
Now installs malware that makes it impossible for you to use Google, and if you fix it, it reinstalls itself.
Like (2)
Version 3.9.0.6
1 answer(s)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
26 January 2015
What are you talking about? There isn't even an installer, just a zip archive...never seen any malware coming with FileZilla.
Like (1)
Drtyrell969
09 September 2014
Absolute stone ages and it comes packed with Yahoo CRAP that takes over your browser default pages and search engines. Go Transmit or go home.
Like (15)
Version 3.9.0.5
3 answer(s)
pat9-1
pat9-1
04 December 2014
100% right, and if you try to get rid of it, it reinstalls itself. PURE EVIL.
Like (2)
Talaatharb
Talaatharb
05 January 2015
not right as of version 3.10 and to my knowledge before too.
you can download just the app w/o installer from http://sourceforge.net/projects/filezilla/files/FileZilla_Client/3.9.0.6/FileZilla_3.9.0.6_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2/download?nowrap. filezilla is free while transmit is $35
its your choice.
Like
WaylandTWashington9730
WaylandTWashington9730
05 March 2015
I consider this practice to be a sad case of underhanded "dirty pool". If they are going to offer up a "crapware" installation, the least that could be done is to give the end user a way to opt out before proceeding.
Like (1)
jdfesta7
01 September 2014
I'm really sad. I loved FileZilla and used it all the time for backups but the new version won't work with my version of Mac anymore. Is there anyway to still use the old download for Mac 10. 6.8?
Like (1)
Version 3.9.0.3
2 answer(s)
BradMacPro
BradMacPro
07 September 2014
Version 3.8.1 was the last for (Intel) Snow Leopard
http://sourceforge.net/projects/filezilla/files/FileZilla_Client/3.8.1/FileZilla_3.8.1_macosx-x86.app.tar.bz2/download
Like
jdfesta7
jdfesta7
08 September 2014
I'm a bit confused -- does that mean it should be working for my Mac if I use the link you provided?
Like
SickTeddyBear
18 August 2014
The new default download warns you that "This installer may include bundled offers." If you want the original full drag & drop download without an installer, get it here: https://filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1
Like (3)
Version 3.9.0.3
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
08 September 2014
That works! Thanks.
Like (1)
jc-lau
17 August 2014
System requirements raised up to Mac OS X 10.7.
Like
Version 3.9.0.3
Maclover1-1
17 August 2014
Retina support of the main interface (namely fonts) on this incarnation, not the icons, still it looks a lot better (and "almost" Mac-like). I have it only for when I need to explain how it works to a Windows user/client (so I don't have to launch Parallels). For Mac users I advise Yummy FTP Lite, it's cheap and sufficient usually, and shows a double panel.. which people seem to understand better than single-Cyberduck-window. It's always good to make clients understand that they can use their web-hosting plan as a sort of DropBox etc etc. But ftp software scares the layman/woman generally. "Oh I wont0 understand how to use it). Hence why cuter interfaces are a better choice IMO.
Like
Version 3.9.0.3
Pereubu
17 August 2014
Curiously the installer for FileZilla installs a suspect software ZipCloud if one forget to skip its installation
Like
Version 3.9.0.3
1 answer(s)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
17 August 2014
No more "suspect" than DropBox, it can just be annoying to have commercial offers by partners intercede with the installation process. On Windows you get that a lot. Maybe it's one way oto be able to propose a free app: having commercial partnerships. People gotta eat.
Like
BDeal
30 July 2014
For years, I've used Filezilla; first on Windows, then (and currently) on Mac OS. Always been happy with the interface: I don't need pretty, I need function. My complaint is this latest update (3.9.0.1) has changed some functions I've grown used to. For example, I usually minimize the app using the default Mac OS keyboard shortcut, Command-M, but now this brings up the manual transfer window. Visiting the Filezilla forums yields comments from the developers like, "be glad we even offer a Mac version". Hmm, and it just crashed as I am writing this.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.0.1
1 answer(s)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
17 August 2014
Okay, the link on this page runs an installer too. That's it, I'm uninstalling. I don't use it that much anymore anyway.
Like
umaromc
24 July 2014
Installer (yes, no dragging the app to your Applications folder anymore because...) won't complete without being able to phone home and you will be prompted to install and agree to or skip a couple of adware services. I think I'll be trashing this app.
Like
Version 3.9.0.1
6 answer(s)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
27 July 2014
Worse yet, I told it to not install Yahoo toolbar change my home page, and guess what? I changed my home page anyway, in both Safari and FireFox. This is a very stable and reliable cross platform FTP client, but they just borked the show for me. I've been using FireFTP 95% of the time anyway. I'll probably go back to the previous version until it stops working.
Like (1)
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
04 August 2014
Either this was just changed back, or you downloaded FileZilla from a source that bundles other apps and junk with it. I just downloaded the current RC as shown on MacUpdate, and what I got was a bzipped tarball (.tar.bz2) containing only the app. I downloaded from Sourceforge. Hope that helps.
Like (1)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
04 August 2014
Looks like a slightly different version. Up from 3.9.0.1 to 3.9.0.2. Maybe they took it out. I'll try from Sourceforge next time.
Like (1)
umaromc
umaromc
05 August 2014
Yeah, Skippy, this one's a regular download. I don't know what the hell was up with 3.9.0.1
Like
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
17 August 2014
Using MacUpdate Desktop still brings up opt out choices for software/services that I don't want or need. Suggest downloading via the link on this page but checking that something else doesn't get installed in the process.
Like
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
17 August 2014
Okay. The Sourceforge version for this particular rev of Filezilla downloads as a .tar.bz2 but unpacks to a dmg with an installer. The file size is very small (791k vs the 6.6mb of a standalone Filezilla bzipped tarball), so I'm guessing that this installer is a downloader app that "helpfully" offers other applications. Thanks, Sourceforge! :-/

Updating directly from the Filezilla app works as people here want it to by downloading only the .tar.bz2 of the app, not the multi-app installer bundled in a .dmg. To update, go to the "?" menu and choose "Check for updates..." to get to a window with changes listed and a button to "install" (really just download) the new version.
Like (2)
aniello-mrt
01 June 2014
Good.. but when drag&drop support for OSX will be added?
Like
Version 3.8.1
2 answer(s)
Cmarkn
Cmarkn
17 August 2014
Cyberduck is free and has drag & drop.
Like
BradMacPro
BradMacPro
07 September 2014
You may not know the Finder already has FTP support. Just use the Go menu Connect to Server... and enter ftp://<IP address> and then a dialog box should come up with username and password fields. It should mount on the desktop like any other server. You can make and alias or drag to the Dock, to make it easier in the future.
Like
Sd-robert
30 March 2014
awesome software! The best FTP client for Mac OS X! 5 stars!
Like (2)
Version 3.8.0
Jazzyguy
22 March 2014
GREAT SOFTWARE!
Like (2)
Version 3.8.0-beta2
Jazzyguy
18 March 2014
GREAT SOFTWARE!
Like (2)
Version 3.8.0-beta2
Jazzyguy
14 March 2014
Excellent!Great FTP Client
Like (3)
Version 3.8.0-beta1
creed3
11 March 2014
This has been my go-to FTP for years. I've tried most of the others, and while some are more pretty and have a more Mac-like app appearance, this does what I want and how I want more than any of the others.
Like (3)
Version 3.7.4.1
TravisC4518
10 February 2014
It makes no sense to use this after using cyberduck. FileZilla has a poor interface and the file transfer cant be scheduled. But it is comparatively faster than cyberduck.
Like (3)
Version 3.7.4
3 answer(s)
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
10 February 2014
Cyberduck looks nicer and is very capable, but it required Java when I tried it last, and I won't install Java on my Macs. So, I use FileZilla.
Like (2)
VansT5924
VansT5924
11 February 2014
Contrary to ur beliefs, java is actually safe! You might wanna look up on that and do proper research before commenting.
Like (4)
Dualie
Dualie
13 February 2014
Cyberduck has serious issues handling certain types of file names containing unrecognized characters, whereas FileZilla typically does not. Further, FileZilla can manage PuTTY keys better and without throwing an error with some server configurations like Cyberduck does. However, for straight ahead basic FTP use Cyberduck is fine. It certainly has a better interface.
Like (1)