Back to Rulers page
Rulers free download for Mac

Rulers Reviews

2.11.8
20 May 2013

Screen rulers with many features.

RC62
02 September 2011

Most helpful

Now that this is App Store only, how does one update their existing version 2? Going into the program setup and clicking update does not find the new version and the update is not available on the developers web page (not that I can find). I'm not an App Store hater but this is one thing that annoys me about it... i. e. when I have an existing license and can not get updates (or have to jump through hoops to do so). It would be nice if the App Store recognized existing licensed software on my Mac and would allow updates (or upgrades). Guess I am asking too much...
Like (9)
Version 2.11.7

Read 12 Rulers User Reviews

Rate this app:

RC62
02 September 2011
Now that this is App Store only, how does one update their existing version 2? Going into the program setup and clicking update does not find the new version and the update is not available on the developers web page (not that I can find). I'm not an App Store hater but this is one thing that annoys me about it... i. e. when I have an existing license and can not get updates (or have to jump through hoops to do so). It would be nice if the App Store recognized existing licensed software on my Mac and would allow updates (or upgrades). Guess I am asking too much...
Like (9)
Version 2.11.7
Drdul
12 January 2010
Couldn't even try this out, as it crashed after about 15 seconds (when i tried to drag a guide). This is on a Mac Pro with 10.6.2
Like
Version 2.9
Macsmiley
02 October 2008
FreeRuler is, uh, free.
Like (5)
Version 2.3
Pat320
01 October 2008
Nice application, crash a few times (An exception of class NilObjectExeption was not handled) on my macbook CD1/tiger but very easy to use, that's the most important! My wishes for the future: Be able to magnet a window in the ruler's corner and Be able to save rulers setting and switch between these settings. Thanks
Like
Version 2.3
Natuzzone
05 August 2008
I've recently discovered Rulers and I think it's a great tool. It's the easiest way to measure everything is on the screen and take screenshots. The interface is simple and cool. Rulers can be created and moved both thru drag and drop and shortcut (making adjustments more accurate). I'm using it on a dual monitor configuration, with different size monitors, and it works perfectly. There is also a Windows version available.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
Bill-Clinton
05 August 2008
Still doesn't work correctly with dual vertical monitors. Horizontal lines now display on the upper monitor but not the lower one. Vertical lines are the same: the line ends at the border between the two monitors, displaying on the top one but not the bottom one.
Like
Version 2.2
Bill-Clinton
18 July 2008
This thing kind of goes belly up on my set-up--two monitors, one above the other. Vertical lines appear only on the upper monitor and horizontal lines don't appear at all.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
3mors
3mors
05 August 2008
I use dual monitor setup and Rulers works perfectly. There's a pair of rulers on each display. If you want to create a line on a display, you need to drag it out from the ruler on that display. This is why you can't move horizontal lines from display 0 to display 1 or you see vertical lines only on display 0.
Like
Version 2.2
Picon
07 July 2008
I was using the previous version: 1.1.194 without problem. Then I updated to this version: 2.0.290. On startup, this message appears: "Beta version expired: contact omnidea to receive a newer version (and it's no good to tamper your system date)." Developer, please correct with the proper file to be downloaded. Otherwise, this is an excellent application.
Like
Version 2.0.290
Ghokie
07 July 2008
This looks like exactly what I've been needing... however, when downloaded from the developer's site and launched, there is a reference that the Beta version has expired. Would love to try a working copy.
Like
Version 2.0.290
Bill-Clinton
19 September 2007
This program does not work correctly with vertically-oriented monitors of unequal size. (I can't test with monitors of equal size.) This is a common configuration for laptop users. Many programs have problems with this configuration, including Apple's window manager, so Rulers is not unique in this regard.
Like
Version 1.0.168
Theblades
10 June 2007
I think this app is very usefull and I will use it often. There is one request that I have: could there be added a way to change the zero point? Like in most page layout programs you can go to the upper left corner of the ruler section click & hold then drag your zero over to where you need to start measuring from. Thanks for such a great lil app and to make it free is exceptional!
Like
Version 1.0.132
hced
29 May 2007
This is the best screen ruler I've ever seen. Just like its product name, Rulers is free of any uncertainties as for what it can do, or can not do. No unnecessary bloat here. Compared to similar tools that I've tried, I find that Rulers is the only app worthy of being called a real pixel scalpel. Can't say for how long I've been waiting for exactly this app, but it's been long enough to say: Finally, you did it! On a side note. I have one humble request for a freature, that I'd like to see: - Undo functionality. As in, if you move a ruler and you moved it wrong, hitting Command-Z would make it even easier to set it back to where it was before. This is easily worth 5 stars from me.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.132