Back to Sequential page
Sequential free download for Mac

Sequential Reviews

2.1.2
23 January 2010

Full-screen image viewer, good for comics and manga.

Pascalpp
03 November 2007

Most helpful

Wish it would open images in nested subfolders...
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2

Read 21 Sequential User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mlbkxbx
21 October 2018
To all who are experiencing sequential freezing up, it's probably because it's trying to scan folders parallell to the one with the images you're trying to view. For example, if you're opening a jpeg in your Pictures folder, it's gonna try to scan all folders in your home folder (recursively) and i guess at some point it chokes (or takes avery long time) if you have lots of files laying around. It's a feature i wish i could turn of, because other than that it actually works very well even in recent versions of OSX. It seems it's not actively developed any more so i guess that's not going to happen though.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Mlbkxbx
Mlbkxbx
21 October 2018
Correction: i said i tries to scan folder parallell to the one you're opening a jpeg in. My bad. It scans every folder IN the folder you're trying to view, recursively. It also scans archives.
Like
mpiekielnik
29 June 2014
Would like to to test it, but... It doesn't work. At all. It starts, but can't open any JPG I have.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Mrtomato
26 May 2014
I liked this app, but it doesn't work well on 10.9 if you have dual displays. You can enlarge and scroll down to the bottom of an image on a smaller display when in fullscreen view and, less of an issue, you can't call the menubar from fullscreen view. Shame. This is one of the better image viewers I've come across.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Robk
23 February 2014
Sequential freezes on my Mac running 10.8.5 Mountain Lion when opening ANY type of image (JPG, etc). I hope developer can fix bug,
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Robk
Robk
25 February 2014
Just out of the blue, Sequential started to work on my Mac running 10.8.5. Very Strange.
Like
Filp
18 November 2013
On 10.9, and good as ever.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Raja-Ravi-Teja
21 July 2012
Nice&Intuitive-Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Alexander1994
22 May 2012
very good
Like
Version 2.1.2
Werty
20 September 2011
This is one of those applications that I never forget to install as soon as I format my mac or I buy a new one. Sequential provides the best user experience among all the image viewers I tried on a mac. Its interface is clean and simple, but it's still quite configurable to better fit your taste. It's an app that does its job seamlessly, and gives its best when used to read comics or manga. Great job, developer! :)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Kraftaktuell
03 May 2011
Awesome! You can watch pictures which may only fit vertical screens so easily and intuitive. Zoom the picture so it fills your whole screen or beyond and navigate through easily with your arrowkeys.... Also an awesome feature for reading mangas! Just one example what you can do with Sequential. Fullscreen works seamless! One thing I am missing or did not yet found it: Open multiple folders in one Sequential window.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Tamriel
23 March 2011
I simply love this peace of software. It is really fast, intuitive and so easy to use. Thanks so much!
Like
Version 2.1.2
Mlbkxbx
23 January 2010
Sequential is among the most widely used applications on my computer. It's fast, stable and quite configurable. It's also regularly updated. It's an image *viewer* first and foremost. So it's very convenient to have around when browsing directories full of pictures. Life wouldn't be as pleasant without it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Macsterdam
21 January 2010
First and for most, I'm amazed this is still free. Sequential is a truly outstanding when it comes to previewing images. Sure, Preview in (Snow) Leopard ain't bad either, but for me, Sequential is faster, easier, more versatile and a lot slicker. Thanks for keeping this updated!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Tianissimo
06 November 2009
Thanks for all.
Like
Version 2.1.1
cobold
05 November 2009
Mac OS 10.5.8, Sequential version 2.1 crached at start, version 2.0.3 works fine...
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Werty
Werty
06 November 2009
now it works with 10.5 too ^^
Like
Version 2.1.1
adno
04 May 2009
Looks great, very nice look and feel. I've tried several other browsers and none was as good as this.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Cassiotones
12 December 2008
Very good, clean and light. And also intuitive. The only think I wish I could have control of would be the mouse scroll. It has this fancy feature that makes the page keep scrolling a bit after you scroll over it with the mouse. I wish I could turn it off, I like precision when using the scroll.
Like
Version 2.0.2v2
badabing
11 December 2008
It's a bit slow here, the app "Footagehead" is much faster. Sequential looks better but I go with the faster one.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2v2
Crsp
06 December 2007
I used this application to view a comic in zipped format and it works well. I like the scaling options, with keyboard shortcuts. I would like an option to make the mouse clicks do the opposite. What I mean is that at the moment, if you click left mouse button, the page goes forward to next, and clicking right mouse button makes the page go backwards to previous. It would be more intuitive for me to have Left Mouse as Back and Right Mouse as Forward. Much like left point arrows take you back on a webpage or document, and right pointing take you forward. Right now it's suited for Japanese who read their manga the opposite way. That's why I would like it to be an option you can set - so everyone gets what suits them best. Also, if possible, I would like it so that if you press both left and right mouse buttons at the same time, Sequential quits itself. This would make it more convenient as a quick image browser, as when I'm done I don't need to go to the menubar to quit the app. If not possible with the tow button combination, then it could be mapped onto the middle click - which at this time duplicates what the right button does. That would be nice. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Pascalpp
03 November 2007
Wish it would open images in nested subfolders...
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
8oo8
01 June 2007
Really nice.....the new feature to choose a particular image from a list in the menu bar is quite handy. Clicking anywhere on the screen to advance to the next image is sweet, but why not allow a another mouse click to reverse direction? True, one can use option-space on one's keyboard to do that but allowing one's mouse to both advance and go backward would be really handy. I've got two buttons on my mouse assigned to go forward and backward but it doesn't work with "Sequential", strangely. I've been using "Xee", another excellent image viewer, and my mouse's forward and back buttons DO work there. Perhaps "Sequential"s developer could allow for the user to assign any hot keys to go forward and backward, as well as perform other functions. Both "Sequential" and "Xee" each have useful features not offered by the other. Perhaps the developers of each could join forces and combine the best features of both; then we would have an even better image viewer called "Xeequential"! (Oh, I'm so pleased with myself for that cute idea....I think I'll just kick back and gloat for little while.....excuse me, I'll be back a little later...)
Like
Version 1.0.5
Bob-tm
19 May 2007
This is a good attempt to remedy the awkwardness of Preview when going through pictures, an area in which Windows XP does things better than OSX. I really like this app - it is snappy and a great way to go through a directory of pictures in sequence. What surprised me was that I could not open just a single pictures with this app. It must surely be possible??? I would like to associate picture viewing with this application rather than Preview, as I have done for PDF files with PDFview. The possibility of, after opening a single, particular image, being able to skip to the next in the directory would also be nice (like XP preview).
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Minilo
Minilo
08 June 2007
For what you are asking for (selecting a few files to view), the Finder already supports that out of the box: You just select the files you want to see in the Finder, right-click and select Slideshow from the pop-up menu.
Like
Version 1.0.6