Back to XMind Pro page
XMind Pro free download for Mac

XMind Pro Reviews

8 Update 8
24 July 2019

Popular mind mapping and project management app.

Espiridion
16 December 2008

Most helpful

I don't mind that they made it free. However, with each release the program seems to be losing some functionality and since I did purchase the Pro version of XMIND 2008 (2.3.0), these latest releases have been a disappointment. With version 2.3.0 I imported many custom markers. I've been unable to export them and import them to XMIND 3. XMIND 3.0 had the options to export as MindJet MindManager Map, PDF Document, and RTF File (Word Compatible). I did not see these options anymore under 3.0.1's Export menu, although it now has the option to export as an XMIND 2008 Workbook. Under the View Menu, 3.0 had a Gantt Chart option. This is not present under 3.0.1 The same applies to Task Info. The application's size has gone from 67.4 MB (2.3.0) to 34 MB (3.0) to 31.2 MB (3.0.1). I don't know whether this is a reflection of more efficient coding or just loss of features. I used to recommend XMIND, and for people who have no similar software this free version is pretty good. I would probably rate it with 4 stars. But as someone who paid for the Pro version I'm not happy with the direction the company is taking. Their focus seems similar to MindMeister http://www.mindmeister.com/ but I have no need for online mind mapping. MindMeister recently had an attractive offer at MacZot, by the way. Mindjet also has an online feature that users can buy, but this is in addition to the actual software. I prefer that approach. For now I'll use XMIND 2.3.0 and 3.0, as well as my old copy of NovaMind. Eventually I may go with MindJet MindManager, although the development of their Mac version always seems to lag behind the Windows version. For people getting this for free, it's certainly a great value. For me, it's obviously not. At least I got it at a discounted price. I can't even imagine how people who actually paid $300 -if there are any- feel about these changes.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1

Read 35 XMind Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

sektor1992
13 February 2018
Cool
Like
Version 8 Update 6
hodredofye
13 October 2017
Simple to use (i didn't need any tutorials to start working), nice design. The product is pretty cool.
Like (3)
Version 8 Update 4
Aargl
25 February 2014
Trying it on 10.6.8, I notice that it kinda hijack MindManager! Yes it opens MM maps and that's great, but having both apps installed prohibits me from saving files in MindManager! I've lost hours trying to fix permissions, erasing prefs and the like, and in the end, when I erased Xmind, all was working again! I don't know how it does this trick, but this doesn't allow you to compare both apps, you soon have to choose which one you'll use... :-/ Otherwise, If you start from scratch, it's a real bargain compared to MindManager. ;-)
Like (1)
Version 3.4.1
Kihoalu
12 December 2013
Had an earlier version - though I didn’t really use it. That one launched, the new one comes up with this: XMind 2013 Beta has expired. Thank you for helping us evaluate it. You can download the latest version at http://www.xmind.net/ .
Like (4)
Version 3.4.0
Aargl
08 April 2013
I won't rate it for now 'cos I haven't used it enough, but I can say that having problems under my 10.6.8 config with MindManager and MindNode Pro, Xmind seems to work ok instead (probably due to Java) and imports MindManager maps and a lot of other formats (for exporting, you need the Pro version). My problems are surely due to my old system, copied and upgraded through the years, but I have no time to reinstall OSX from scratch so Xmind is an alternative, for the time being. ;-)
Like
Version 3.3.1
Ferg
26 December 2012
This software is SUPERB. I love this app!
Like
Version 3.3.1
Manuel-Fernandez-Vazquez
28 November 2011
Probably the best quality/value.
Like
Version 3
Pripyat
30 March 2011
Very nice app, but if my mindmap is large it wont fit on a page without being zoomed to an unreadable size :/
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
Rubaiyat
30 May 2009
What is it with this XMind ID? I own a copy of XMind and just want to get an update and can't get past the log-in. Frustrated occupant of the real world trying to get into this "Members Only Enclave". Is XMind "Restricted"?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Dragonce
24 March 2009
Xmind Pro is an excellent product - but some important features are missing on the mac version : export to powerpoint is the main miss... export to Word also and export to opml format is also missing. Stangely the same feature are also missing on Mindjet Mac. Novamind is the only mindmap witch is able to export to powerpoint or keynote...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Mark97
15 February 2009
I use XMIND Pro 08 and love it. I looked at XMIND 3 and decided to back away. If or when my 08 version breaks, I will probably move to one of the “big boys” even though it will cost me more money. I don't subscribe to software. The 08 versions still works great and does everything I need. It doesn't work and play as well with other as I would wish, but at least I have something to show for my investment. Subscribing to software, like music, is a suckers bet.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
Espiridion
16 December 2008
I don't mind that they made it free. However, with each release the program seems to be losing some functionality and since I did purchase the Pro version of XMIND 2008 (2.3.0), these latest releases have been a disappointment. With version 2.3.0 I imported many custom markers. I've been unable to export them and import them to XMIND 3. XMIND 3.0 had the options to export as MindJet MindManager Map, PDF Document, and RTF File (Word Compatible). I did not see these options anymore under 3.0.1's Export menu, although it now has the option to export as an XMIND 2008 Workbook. Under the View Menu, 3.0 had a Gantt Chart option. This is not present under 3.0.1 The same applies to Task Info. The application's size has gone from 67.4 MB (2.3.0) to 34 MB (3.0) to 31.2 MB (3.0.1). I don't know whether this is a reflection of more efficient coding or just loss of features. I used to recommend XMIND, and for people who have no similar software this free version is pretty good. I would probably rate it with 4 stars. But as someone who paid for the Pro version I'm not happy with the direction the company is taking. Their focus seems similar to MindMeister http://www.mindmeister.com/ but I have no need for online mind mapping. MindMeister recently had an attractive offer at MacZot, by the way. Mindjet also has an online feature that users can buy, but this is in addition to the actual software. I prefer that approach. For now I'll use XMIND 2.3.0 and 3.0, as well as my old copy of NovaMind. Eventually I may go with MindJet MindManager, although the development of their Mac version always seems to lag behind the Windows version. For people getting this for free, it's certainly a great value. For me, it's obviously not. At least I got it at a discounted price. I can't even imagine how people who actually paid $300 -if there are any- feel about these changes.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
ehd
07 December 2008
Unlike others, I have had no problems with XMIND and I am amazed that it is free. It by far better than Freemind and the free version of MindNode. It easily rivals ConceptMind, NovaMind, and others paid version except that it is more elegant. I strongly recommend it before pay money for application.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Kaidoh
17 November 2008
I really like Xmind and was looking forward for further refinement in this upgrade. Unfortunately this update seems not yet ready for prime time: I tried to open a workbook created with the previous version and I'm only getting an completely empty sheet. This is an absolute show stopper for me and it seems I'll have to wait a little further.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Stephen0928
Stephen0928
19 November 2008
Can you send us an email to tell us more details about your questions? Our email is support@xmind.net All your XMind 2008 files can not be opened by XMind 3? If not, it will be better if you can share the one which can not be opened. Thank you in advance.
Like
Version 3.0
Kaidoh
Kaidoh
19 November 2008
The problem with this file mysteriously disappeared and I'm now able to use that file with Xmind 3. It shall be mentioned that the support compartment is really fast in replying.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Elsamiro
14 November 2008
I was looking forward to another version, that would be more useable, faster, with some UI imporvements (freemind rules by far because its simplicity to use) However, i couldn't try it, because it hangs up while loading the current available fonts. spinnig beachball ... imac intel alu 24" os 10.4.11 uptodate of all tried deleting prefs files, helped nothing. On dev site no system requirements.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Deerskin
Deerskin
14 November 2008
I have the same problem on an Intel Macbook.
Like
Version 3.0
iGaucho
14 November 2008
XMind is a pretty darn good mind mapping app in terms of features. I got the last version from a MU Promo. The UI may not be the greatest and it is Java based, but it allows you to do a lot with great flexibility. I'm amazed how it went from $299 retail to only $50 a year for the Pro version. The basic version is free now. Good job! That was one of my major complaints about it. It's certainly worth it for people interested in organizing their ideas with mind maps.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Espiridion
13 November 2008
I downloaded and installed the file. When I tried to get my free XMind ID apparently I got the "Captcha" wrong. Now I can't use the user name I chose or my email address since they "already exist" I downloaded the PRO version, but the "About" information says it's version 3.0.0. My previous copy of XMIND says 2.3.0 Professional. What are the differences between 2.3 and 3? Is it just the online subscription? Or have there been improvements based on user feedback? I'm surprised to see the jump from 2.3 to 3.0. This has been frustrating so far.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
13 November 2008
In spite of my previous comment, I was able to Sign In to My Account at XMIND. Strange...
Like
Version 3.0
Alfie
15 May 2008
I have used Xmind for about 6 months on a daily basis, and I love it. It really works to create easy and fast mind maps that allows me to visualize a concept within our team or to a customer. Also I can expand and create tabs to further analyze any of the ideas or to make a more thoroughly explanation of a branch if needed and avaoid messing up the original map. The shortcomings are the print options, they are a bit limited, so make sure that all aspects and also colors are retained before shipping it of.
Like (3)
Version 2.3
Espiridion
20 January 2008
frodo_life, what do you mean by "ages"? Have you contacted support? For me both 2.1 and 2.2 load in 35 seconds, while having 9 other programs running, and at least 2 dozen background applications. OS X 10.4.11, G5 Dual 2GHz.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
iGaucho
02 January 2008
If any of you have tried XMIND or got it from the MU Promo, please take this survey that Mango Software put up. Anyone who loves or hates it please let them know what you think! http://www.xmind.org/us/survey1.html I've already let them know some of my complaints about it and what I want to see in the future.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Frodo-life
19 December 2007
Loaded xmind which took ages then entered my BU password which did not work, the java interface I saw in demo was slow and ugly uninstalled xmind. wast of time and money
Like
Version 2.1
Bylr
19 December 2007
I've kicked the tires on XMind for a few weeks now. Some thoughts: Pros: - Extremely robust mapping options - Responsive customer support - Strikingly adept Java implementation on the Mac Cons: - Printing is extremely frustrating - Java-based means no Mac OS Services; no AppleScript support - No industry-standard export options - Quirky More thorough review (with screenshots) here (I hope this is acceptable to post): http://www.bylr.net/3/?p=28
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Kaidoh
19 December 2007
A lot about the non-macness of this app was already said. I personally find it easy to use and it didn't take me long to achieve the feeling that the app is under my control. But there are a lot of downsides to this app: - Printing is a pain - Instable, instable, instable: Palettes freeze or won't show up after you click the appropriate icon. Only restarts seem to help this. And unknown combinations of formatings seem to drive the program crazy: Too often the fans of my macbook go wild and the activity monitor tells me that XMIND is eating up all the CPU it can lay it's hands on. Again only restarting the app (and deleting the last changes after that) helps. My conclusion: XMIND could be a nice and easy programm to boost your mindmapping, Unfortunately the stability issues overlay that potential. With the (non-MU-bundle) price of XMIND one could expect a stable, usable app. XMIND does not deliver in this regard and can't be recommended in it's current state.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Techwriter
14 December 2007
I can't agree that a good mind-mapping program is of limited interest, but I'd have to agree with TRYSOFTWARE that this program is very Windows-like. XMIND is a bit of a dog, and no way worth $300. Try out Novamind instead, which comes in three versions (the cheapest of which is only $50, and the most advanced of which runs rings around XMIND and is only $250 - and it's a SERIOUS business tool).
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
iGaucho
iGaucho
01 January 2008
Actually it's only $50 at the cheapest for NovaMind Express!
Like
Version 2.1
Trysoftware
13 December 2007
What a waste to put this in the bundle. This software appeals to such a narrow audience. And the serial number provided does not work. Operation and functionality feels like a windows app.
Like
Version 2.1
Nalts
13 December 2007
This app was not on my radar for the promo, but wanted to give it a fair shake. I have to say, it smells like a Windows port, in a Mac Microsoft Office '98 sort of way. As others have stated, this is a non-standard application that isn't logical to use. There is little that is Mac-like. I will say that the drill-down feature was nice and worked well. The templates and eye-candy weren't too bad either. One feature that is missing, and a deal breaker for me, is export to HTML. I tend to use a mind map program to lay out my clients Web sites and site maps. If XMIND cannot handle this very basic function, it is of little use to me. I'll stick to the free OpenSource program, FreeMind.
Like
Version 2.1
Cscarney
09 December 2007
XMind is probably the most powerful mindmapping app on the market, but the app has so many nonstandard behaviors that it's just plain annoying to use. It doesn't use the standard print dialog, and the custom replacement doesn't support printing to PDF. It doesn't use standard text boxes, and the custom replacement doesn't support spell checking or drag-and-drop. It doesn't use the standard toolbar, and the custom one doesn't support rearranging the icons. It doesn't use the standard pane splitter, and the custom replacement doesn't support double-click collapsing. I could go on, but you probably get the idea by now. I mean, come on, guys. A mindmapping app is *all* about the interface. It's not like there's much complex logic involved; if they're going to charge this price, the developer needs to take the time to make the app work like the rest of the system. I'm not going to re-learn how to use my computer just to use XMIND.
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
iGaucho
iGaucho
01 January 2008
You actually can export to PDF in an indirect way. Just select print and when the print dialog comes up, you can select "Print to PDF".
Like
Version 2.1
Cscarney
Cscarney
01 January 2008
You can't use the Print > Print to PDF feature because XMIND doesn't use the standard OS X Print dialog. It uses its own custom print window that doesn't have the "Print to PDF" option.
Like
Version 2.1
iGaucho
iGaucho
01 January 2008
It does have it. It's just slightly hidden. (Sorry I forgot that by default it does not use the standard print dialog). When XMIND's print dialog opens, click on "Option" next to the name of your printer. It will open the standard OS X print setup dialog. Then you can print to PDF when you close that by clicking "OK".
Like
Version 2.1
globetrotterdk
08 December 2007
A heads up on this app in connection with the promotion. I have experienced problems exporting to .rtf Responses from the developer have vascilated between defending the performance of the app to stating that MS Word is needed to read the data exported to an .rtf file. Expored data has been opened in both TextEdit and MS Word, as well as other text editors supporting .rtf files with a lack of consistency in the results and with the same basic problem. While responses were prompt and friendly, a response to a technical problem must consist of more than an assertation that "exporting to RTF works well here". I can provide screenshots for anyone interested in my being able to document the lack of performance of the .rtf export feature. I actually think that this app could be one of the top contenders for mind mapping on the Mac. That just makes the apparent lack of willingness to help diagnose the problem look more and more like the developer(s) shooting themselves in the foot.
Like
Version 2.1
Zx81
04 December 2007
Can anyone answer my question , I could not find an outline view in XMIND (as in Inspiration) where text can be edited and items rearranged. Did I miss something ? Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1
Brian-Sun
04 December 2007
Softpedia.com guarantees that XMIND 2008 Pro 2.1 is 100% CLEAN, too. See: http://mac.softpedia.com/progClean/XMIND-Clean-24959.html
Like
Version 2.1
Paladino
03 December 2007
ClamXav, my anti-virus program, found what it says is an infected file; it's the "iTextAsian.jar" file. The path to it is: /Applications/xmind.app/Contents/Resources/plugins/com.lowagie.itext_2.0.4/iTextAsian.jar. Dunno if it's a false positive or not. If it is an infected file, it's likely a PC/Windows virus....but ya never know. Check it out.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Brian-Sun
Brian-Sun
04 December 2007
Dear Paladino, This is Brian, developer of XMIND. Thank you for your review about XMIND 2008 V2.1. After checking carefully, we reply your review to clarify the situation you have met. You can see the details about it following: Firstly, "iTextAsian.jar" is a open source font library for iText which is the most popular Java-PDF toolkit. The official download page of iTextAsian.jar is: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=15255 on which you can download it again. And ClamXav would also report the same information on the new downloaded one. We have scanned the file with both Norton Anti-Virus and McAfee Anti-Virus. The results are the same--no virus. Softpedia.com guarantees that XMIND 2008 Pro 2.1 is 100% CLEAN, too. See: http://mac.softpedia.com/progClean/XMIND-Clean-24959.html Secondly, ClamXav is a clamav-based open source anti-virus software for Mac OS X port. The reason that ClamXav notices you when you scan XMIND, is just because it can not analyze the compression file correctly. See the FAQ of ClamXav: http://www.clamav.net/support/faq (go to the page and look for "oversized") And, you can change the preference to make ClamXav to do things right, the steps are: a) Open ClamXav, Open Preference/General b) Change "Archive max-ratio" to "631", see the screenshot in attachment. c) Scan again. You'll find no warnings! By the way, "Oversized.zip" is not a virus. Thirdly, if our solution has not met your requirements, you can DELETE it! iTextAsian.jar is just used to generate Asian characters in PDF file for XMIND 2008. So users can delete this file without any other problems if there is no usage for exporting mind maps with Asian language to PDF file. Thank You and Best Regards, ================================ Brian Sun brian@xmind.org
Like
Version 2.1
Nate-Houle
01 December 2007
Overall, this is the best mind mapping software I've used. "Presentation Mode" is one of many strong points this app has to offer. You can edit on the fly, and add voice notes while operating in presentation mode, super efficient! Also, the "Drilldown / Drillup", and "Audio Notes" are really cool features. Compatibility with MS Office worked seamlessly. Support is great, very prompt, very helpful. All in all, its obvious the developers truly value their customers. BTW, you can register XMIND Pro on two computers, and one of them can be a whatchamacallit... Oh yeah, pc ;-)
Like
Version 2.0.4
Summer
16 October 2007
We have been reviewing multiple mind mapping software packages for the past few weeks to use at work & at home. Visual Mind is my second favorite next to XMIND, but it failed too many times in trail. What's the sense of having all the bells & whistles in a product that won't work or having more features than you'll ever use? XMIND is a product you can use to quickly create mind maps (it's intuitive and does not slow down the thought process). Other's we have trailed include Visio/Smart Draw, MindMapper 2008, Mind Manager/Mind jet, Inspiration, and even web-based programs including MindMeister. XMIND is a good product at an affordable price. It may be limited in colors, and does not currently have reminders, but it is a solid program & now at a absolutely unbeatable price! You will not find a comparable program at this promo price! I have been Skyping the support rep. @ XMIND who is very informative and responsive. He even logged in this morning to make sure I saw this promo! Imagine that! He also explained that this is a one person PRO license that can be loaded on up to two of your computers (home & work) and the license is good for both platforms (MAC & dare I say it on this site PC). All XMIND 2008 updates will be included free - until the next big-name-changing upgrade. I also appreciate their honesty on the features they are working on and when they expect them to be available. Just ask and they will tell you. Chances are if you thought about it - they have to and they seem very dedicated to improving the product and open to suggestions. The product has been upgraded twice during my current trail. Glad to finally have this search over with.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Stephen0928
11 October 2007
I am impressed much by the powerful features of XMIND 2008 Pro, Esp. 'Audio Notes‘, 'Drilldown&drillup',etc. These features let my meeting be easy. I can structure the meeting now. When taking the team discussion, drilldown will let us focus on the particular branch soon.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Bt72118
13 September 2007
This software produces very pretty charts, but the documentation is poor and the program is not intuitive and not Mac-like. Through September 2007 they are offering a new version at the old price - very good value - but realize you're going to have to figure this one out for yourself. Try the demo before buying.
Like
Version 1.1