Back to Purity page
Purity free download for Mac

Purity Reviews

1.10
03 July 2011

Empty caches, empty logs, and more.

Wil1113
22 December 2008

Most helpful

I just started using this app, and I must say, I have nothing to complain about. Well done! :D
Like (6)
Version 3.0

Read 34 Purity User Reviews

Rate this app:

@timi
03 February 2012
This version was released a long time ago, I updated the MacUpdate link to a mediafire download. Save it!
Like (1)
Version 1.10
1 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
03 February 2012
Thanks for making it available again!
Like
SickTeddyBear
08 December 2011
This program is dead. Here is what happened to the developer: http://timi.me/pages/about
Like (1)
Version 1.09
Ibigmac
04 September 2011
New Version Purity v1.10 since 22 August available on Developer page
Like
Version 1.09
2 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
20 November 2011
Developer page *and* download links are dead --- "This domain has expired". Is 1.09 or 1.0 available somewhere else?
Like
Ibigmac
Ibigmac
22 November 2011
@Gregm: Ups Developer page is now dead. If you like, use Firefox with Better Privacy Add-on. It will do nearly the same, perhaps better. I think, it will work for Safari too. The reason therefor I´ve forgotten.
Like
MiceLeez
04 July 2011
Is Purity the developer of CCleaner? Sounds familiar. I took a trial and decide to keep it. Handy cleaner for Mac!
Like (1)
Version 1.09
Monkeyjunkey
27 May 2011
Wanted to try this as a cookie manager, but it lacks support for Firefox 4 and Chromium and does not differentiate between cookies from websites that are e.g. in your bookmarks folder. Nice app - but lots of room for improvement.
Like (1)
Version 1.08
3 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
27 May 2011
This was supposed to be a 3 star review. MU gave it 5. Hm... review editing would be nice I guess.
Like (2)
@timi
@timi
19 June 2011
It was never intended to be a cookie manager. Purity is for quickly cleaning out large amounts of data. Giving it any kind of star rating (three or five) would be unfair from because you didn't quite grasp what the app is for. I will look into Firefox 4 cleaning, but since nobody had brought it up previously I'm starting to think all interest in this project has vanished.
Like (1)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
21 June 2011
Timi, thanks for the Firefox 4 support. And with already 350 downloads in one day it does not look like there is no interest in this project. Please keep it alive. Very helpful, imo.
Like (1)
Sgt-Bob-IE
13 January 2011
Very handy for saving a bit of space on your hard drive. Has plenty of options, and the developer always seems to adding new things to clear. Of course it is not a replacement for onyx, but I find myself running this more than onyx for clearing off the application logs.
Like (1)
Version 1.08
PorkPieHat
07 June 2010
Purity is a nice app. However, the Crash Logs section is confusing. When I click it, several crash logs are listed, but I cannot select more than one at a time, and even when I select just one I am not able to do anything with it -- neither the Save nor Delete icons change in any way, so I cannot delete or save it. It can't even display a selected crash log. What is the purpose of it?
Like
Version 1.04.2
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
08 June 2010
Which OS are you running? When you select a log, the Save and Delete buttons should become enabled and the contents of the log should be displayed in the text box to the right.
Like
Version 1.04.2
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
08 June 2010
I'm running 10.6.3 on a 2.4 GHz Core2Duo Unibody 13" MacBook with 4 GB of RAM, and Purity is working fine on it now. I guess it was just a one-off behavior the first time I ran it right after installing it, because Crash Logs works as expected now. Oddly though, all of the crash logs that appeared before but which I couldn't access are gone now, there's just one that occurred afterward and I can access it just fine. I guess all the things in Crash Logs that I was trying to do the first time actually worked (including deleting all the crash logs), but Purity or my OS was acting strangely because I had just run all the other functions of Purity. Thanks for your quick response though!
Like
Version 1.04.2
greatwave
11 May 2010
It's a freeware http://free.purityapp.com/ . Easy to use, good job Mike.
Like (1)
Version 1.04.1
Fargone
20 October 2009
I downloaded and ran this thing yesterday, and thereafter am beset with a host of problems on my MacBook (Leopard; 2008): -Yahoo mail doesn't load correctly -Ditto, Gmail -Screen colors on my favorite online game (Settlers of Catan) are now minus resolution, and with bizarre colors that I barely recognize as indicating the 5 basic Resources essential to the game -A few regularly-browsed sites will not load at all This blows large. I've resorted to using Private Browsing, as at least I can use my computer. Does anyone know what driver(s) I can load, for to fix this manifold problem? Avoid downloading/running MacDust.
Like (3)
Version 3.16
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
12 November 2009
MacDust could not have caused any of these problems. Cleaning cookies, history, or any other browser related item can not cause Yahoo and/or Gmail to act up, these webmail services would merely replace their cookie. All cleaning functions are hard-coded, so to remove a file MacDust must be told where it is. I've never heard of these two games (Settlers of Catan) and as such MacDust would not be able to touch them. Your problems have not been caused by MacDust as they are impossible due to permissions, or just not programmed in.
Like (5)
Version 3.16
JohnnyFave
17 August 2009
This is a nice little app. Cleanly designed, functional, and to the point. I really like the fact it gives me ONE place to clean up & delete wasteful files and caches. The developer seems to be on top of this one, and is doing updates. I do know this, it's a STUPENDOUS BUY for only $9!
Like (2)
Version 3.14
Mcd3
13 April 2009
Cache-Out is also free and does the same Applejack does a complete system repair AND removes caches, logs and swap files free Not everyone knows you can reset browsers-BUT-if an app does it-one should be warned- esp if both cookies AND bookmarks go away
Like (4)
Version 3.08
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
20 April 2009
I looked up Cache Out, it doesn't do anywhere close to as much as MacDust does. Cache Out also requires admin authentication, which MacDust does not - because MacDust is more safe. MacDust is meant to clean out local files and save you space, not clean out system files. I also looked up AppleJack. That's not even close to what MacDust is for. Please stop going around giving everyone who makes shareware negative ratings.
Like (7)
Version 3.09
Akrobat
Akrobat
05 May 2009
"Please stop going around giving everyone who makes shareware negative ratings. " Quite funny coming from you. Your own reviews of shareware, especially those that compete with your dusty app are pretty harsh.
Like (6)
Version 3.09
dajonel
26 March 2009
Oh my gosh... These stupid reviews by some people drive me insane. The only reason to give this app two stars is if you're jealous and too stupid to write your own app. Lay off. While $10 may be steep, this guy has accomplished stuff I still haven't figured out to do. (By the way, developer, I have some questions if you'd be willing to answer them. Email would probably be best.) Again. Cut these ridiculous ratings. Just comment and move on!
Like (6)
Version 3.06
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
26 March 2009
Feel free to email me any questions: admin [at] theapplegeek [dot] com
Like (2)
Version 3.06
@timi
19 January 2009
Reset Safari means Reset Safari. When you Reset Safari, you deleted all preferences, all bookmarks, everything. Because you Reset Safari. This was no fault of MacDust, but a lack of understanding by what the word RESET means. MacHeist had the same issue, which is why in 3.02 the wording was changed. MacDust did NOT permanently set your cookie settings, you just kept erasing what you had set as the settings.
Like (4)
Version 3.04
KatNova
18 January 2009
Crap! Screwed up Safari so that it will no longer accept ANY cookies!
Like (1)
Version 3.04
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
19 January 2009
I'd be interested to hear how MacDust did this. Because I'm positive it didn't. Open your Safari Preferences, Click the Security tab (the lock picture), and check what you've got your Accept Cookies setting set to.
Like (2)
Version 3.04
KatNova
KatNova
19 January 2009
Uhhh, yeah it did! I kept going into the security tab and changing the pref, then restarting Safari. The only way I was able to solve this issue was to back up my bookmarks and delete all system files related to Safari. What a headache you've caused me!
Like (1)
Version 3.04
Saszka
31 December 2008
Unfortunately old licenses from ver. 2 won't work anymore on ver. 3. I remember developer telling that licenses from v.2 would be updated for free to v.3. I hope developer will issue free licenses for old users. Unfortunately on his webpage developer contact info is missing.
Like (3)
Version 3.01
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
01 January 2009
Not all version 2 licenses were eligible for free upgrades to MacDust 3. Any license purchased during or after February 2008 (to the best of my ability, I might have missed some) were added to the automatic upgrade list. If you have your MacDust 2 license installed, an Upgrade tab should be available on the opening nag screen, this tab will allow you to connect to the internet and check for your upgrade license. If you believe your license was eligible for the free upgrade and the online check did not return anything, you are more than welcome to email me. My email address is on the About window for the app.
Like (3)
Version 3.01
Wil1113
22 December 2008
I just started using this app, and I must say, I have nothing to complain about. Well done! :D
Like (6)
Version 3.0
@timi
22 December 2008
You do not need 2.48 for Tiger Support, MacDust 3 was rewritten from the ground up (twice) for Tiger Compatibility.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Akrobat
02 August 2008
Well, it's been a while since I last reviewed this. It's first incarnation was somewhat dangerous to use... so I'm glad to see it no longer trashes the System Receipts and mess up your Mac. On opening the app you're presented with a number of tabs from which you can choose your cleaning options. SYSTEM - Ok. But this basic cleaning can all be done by Onyx or Ice Clean or Main Menu. BROWSER- Ditto. Can be done by free apps. However there is a choice of browsers which is handy. CHATS - Again, these are just logs. Nothing special there. Easily cleaned by free alternatives. TORRENT - Can either be cleaned by a free app or you simply remove the Torrents yourself with a few clicks. More window dressing than anything else. OTHER - Just a bunch of caches... again easy to re move with any free application. MacDust is not a 'specialised cleaning' app. It simply cleans out caches, log files and temporary files. What it does is divide the cleaning between certain applications you may or may not have on your system... this is the 'specialised' part. I'll be honest: it's not a bad application, but far too limited to ask for money especially since the likes of Onyx, IceClean and Main Menu (to name a few) do the same job and much more, such as removing .DS files, updating prebindings etc, etc. Still, for people who don't have much Mac knowledge it probably ideal.
Like (4)
Version 2.73
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
07 August 2008
MacDust never deleted System Receipts, it deleted your local ones - which are in fact safe to remove, but this feature was removed due to confusion. There aren't any other free apps that clean out your torrents, MacDust doesn't delete the content you downloaded via torrent, it deletes the .torrent that many torrent applications such as Azureus keep unnecessary copies around. Very few of the Other category can be done by any other application. Many people feel more secure with Shareware than Freeware because Shareware is a product, it is much more heavily tested and solid than freeware. Not everything in life is free, so just get over it. Just because you _think_ there are free alternatives doesn't mean there are. MacDust is on top of the other system cleaning apps, for price and useful features.
Like (2)
Version 2.73
Akrobat
Akrobat
12 August 2008
Indeed. Though I would pay for the free apps I mentioned... simply because they're good, solid, tried and tested software. I simply wouldn't pay for yours as there's really no comparison.
Like (1)
Version 2.74
Mac-Man
21 July 2008
Tried this thing but must honestly say I was not impressed. There are many free apps out there that are far better and do a lot more. Why he tries to charge for this is a mystery. MainMenu, for example which is also featured on this site is 5x better and does a lot more including serious deep (and safe) cleaning. I personally don't find MacDust an 'oustanding' tool as the Developer states, but that's my opinion.
Like (1)
Version 2.73
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
21 July 2008
MainMenu isn't designed to do specialized application cleaning the way MacDust is.
Like
Version 2.73
@timi
13 July 2008
Please note that Onyx and MacDust fall into very different categories. I most certainly recommend Onyx for your system maintenance! MacDust is for cleaning and you can to give it a try for free to see the difference between these two outstanding tools.
Like (1)
Version 2.73
@timi
09 February 2008
The bug where MacDust did nothing has been found! It is now fixed in MacDust 2.61 I'm sorry for any inconvenience! Happy Cleaning, Tim Parnell
Like
Version 2.60
dajonel
13 January 2008
Sparkle wants me to update to the Leopard-only version. Since I have Tiger, it would ruin it on my system. I would suggest using a different app-cast URL for the Leopard version so that us Tiger users aren't bothered anymore.
Like
Version 2.52
4 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
13 January 2008
It is recommended that Tiger users turn off the "Check for updates at launch." preference. I'm not sure I can ever make a Tiger version again =\
Like
Version 2.52
dajonel
dajonel
13 January 2008
I see... That is a disappointment... Some of my favorite apps are leaving...
Like
Version 2.52
@timi
@timi
17 February 2008
I will be working hard on trying to make MacDust 3 work with Tiger systems. I hope you will be ready to give MacDust 3 a try!
Like
Version 2.62
dajonel
dajonel
17 February 2008
I will be. :)
Like
Version 2.62
Fonix
08 October 2007
This application improves with each update, and it was great to begin with. The interface is clean, and the list of applications it cleans grows every few weeks. The developer actually listens to the users, and does what he can to accommodate our requests--including mine for a more thorough cleaning of some straggling Acquisition files. He is fast to respond, intelligent, and humorous. Frankly, we need more Mac developers like him. There is a trial of the software, so try it out and see if it meets your needs. And give the developer at least a few hours to reply to your email or purchase. This is not McDonald's, you know. ;-) P.S. Tim, thanks for the smart code for adding AIM online status to RapidWeaver. That was cool!
Like
Version 2.31
Ben-marko
22 September 2007
A lot of what this app can do can be done also by free apps out there.
Like
Version 2.2
ZV
06 September 2007
Don't buy this. Bought this during the promo. Two weeks later, the developer updated it to version 2.0 and rendered my purchase useless. Asked what's going on and the developer said he made a mistake in pricing and begged me to buy for this upgrade. I luv to help and support developing software. But his reply is simply inexcusable and ridiculous, and his method is despicable.
Like
Version 2.0.2
iGaucho
31 August 2007
I just updated to 2.0 and found out the hard way that this is a paid upgrade if you had the previous version. The good thing is that it's only $3.95 to upgrade.
Like
Version 2.0
Sachi
11 August 2007
Nice App. Works quick. But it will be nice to add options for reset Safari, it not allways need to reset all stuff. Thanks alex
Like
Version 1.46
dajonel
26 July 2007
Despite the bad comments I gave this little app before, it seems pretty good even though it only cleans a few programs. I can see this program doing a lot more in the future. One thing that bugs me like other people: Do NOT use DivShare! People don't like it! SourceForge is okay, but not ideal. The smartest thing would be to host it on your own website. If you don't have one, I'd be happy to loan you some space for some DMGs on my server. I can't really give you the password, but I'm sure there is some way it would work. If you are interested, I'll look into seeing if that is possible.
Like
Version 1.41
3 answer(s)
dajonel
dajonel
26 July 2007
Wait! I just remembered. You do have a website! Why don't you host it there? That would be way easier than anything else!
Like
Version 1.41
@timi
@timi
31 July 2007
When I host on my website, a good majority of people seem to have issues getting good download speeds, some not at all.
Like
Version 1.41
dajonel
dajonel
31 July 2007
People also don't like DivShare. My server is pretty fast, though it would be very inconvenient for you to have to send me an email with an attachment (the DMG) and have me upload it. Mine's fast, but very inconvenient for you.
Like
Version 1.42
Macgurl
25 July 2007
/Library/Receipts, huh? Delete? If you delete those files, you'll be lucky to even boot on your start-up disc. DO NOT DELETE ANYTHING in /Library/Receipts!!! Whoever wrote this "script" has NO knowledge of OSX.
Like
Version 1.41
3 answer(s)
8oo8
8oo8
26 July 2007
Where does it say anything about deleting receipts???? I just checked MacDust carefully and couldn't find ANY reference to deleting receipts. Are you delusional?
Like
Version 1.41
@timi
@timi
26 July 2007
I can't believe how dumb some people really are. Reading other reviews from versions PRIOR TO 1.0! and then writing their own WITHOUT trying the software? You can't even download the versions that did that anymore! And it's not /Library/Receipts for the last time, it _was_ ~/Library/Receipts which is in fact, perfectly safe to remove. I can almost guarantee I've been using Mac longer than you, MacGurl so please don't question my knowledge of how things work.
Like
Version 1.41
dajonel
dajonel
26 July 2007
"I can't believe how dumb some people really are. Reading other reviews from versions PRIOR TO 1.0! and then writing their own WITHOUT trying the software?" Yeah, really. Who could be so inconsiderate to not even try the application, see someone else's review, and say it's bad yourself, when you haven't even used it. Even though we had a few disagreements early, I do not doubt that person1229 has more experience than you, and I'm sure he wouldn't write something that would destroy your computer.
Like
Version 1.41
@timi
05 June 2007
No, it can't. MacDust does it's own little thing, any other application listed may do some kind of cleaning, but MacDust is specialized for certian applications.
Like
Version 1.2
5 answer(s)
dajonel
dajonel
25 July 2007
How about freeware? This $5 thing is unnecessary! Listen to these people! They expect more out of freeware, let alone SHAREWARE!!! I loved the little application UNTIL it turned shareware.
Like
Version 1.4
@timi
@timi
25 July 2007
I have listened to the people. More than one user (I have no idea what they were thinking) told me that they don't trust freeware to clean their computer. Five dollars is all I ask, it isn't much, I don't see why people are making such a big deal over it. Many people have told me that it's quite the deal for the level of support and the constant (free) updates.
Like
Version 1.4
dajonel
dajonel
25 July 2007
True. But, for us who want maintenance and aren't old enough for a credit card, etc. can't buy any of these products. Freeware is just as good, and if you think so too, so these people by making a really good product without charge! There are MANY GREAT freeware programs!
Like
Version 1.41
@timi
@timi
26 July 2007
I know the feeling of being too young or just completely out of money to buy an application you really have your eye on. Just send me an email if you really want a license, and I'll be happy to help you.
Like
Version 1.41
dajonel
dajonel
26 July 2007
I'd love a license, but it'd be wasted on me. I already have TinkerTool System (about $9) and it already does the stuff that MacDust does (as far as the browsers and caches) and more. Of course I had to have someone else buy the license for me... One catchy name I thought up is "MacVac" instead of "MacDust". Your choice, but as far as I know it's not taken. I wanted to come up with kind of a freeware version of MacDust, but I don't have the smarts. For what it says it's going to do, and does, 5 stars.
Like
Version 1.41
Bobster
05 June 2007
WTH? The freeware program Main Menu can do what this program does, and lots lots more!
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
05 June 2007
MacDust does not do system maintainance cleaning by running the scripts included with Mac OS X by apple. MacDust cleans specific applications in a specialized way. MacDust is not, and should not be used for system maintainance. MacDust is designed for cleaning up after specific applications.
Like
Version 1.2
Jimw
14 May 2007
This might have been cute and handy, abet somewhat dangerous when it was beta, but not worth the nuisance fee, at least to me, when their are other free or full featured products out such as Onyx.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Akrobat
26 April 2007
The following is from the Apple.com website: Can I get rid of receipts in the /Library/Receipts folder? If you remove receipts from /Library/Receipts, the Mac OS X 10.3, 10.4: Disk Utility shows a "No Valid Packages" alert Disk Utility can't verify or repair permissions on the Mac OS X 10.3 or 10.4 volume if the "BaseSystem.pkg" file is not in /Library/Receipts. This alert appears when you try to repair permissions with Disk Utility: "First Aid failed "Disk Utility stopped repairing permissions on '(volume name)' because the following error was encountered: No valid packages" In the Disk Utility text window, this message appears in red text: "Error: No valid packages (-9997)" This happens when the BaseSystem.pkg file is not in /Library/Receipts. Solution If you've moved this file, move it back to /Library/Receipts. You shouldn't normally remove any files from /Library/Receipts. If the file has been deleted, replace it by copying it from a different computer that uses Mac OS X 10.3 or 10.4, or by reinstalling Mac OS X 10.3/10.4 from an installation disc. "Reinstall" means you can install 10.3 or 10.4 from a disc, if it's the same version of 10.3/10.4 (such as 10.3.3 on both the installation disc and computer). If the version of 10.3/10.4 on the computer is newer than what's on the install disc, then use the install disc to perform an Archive and Install installation instead, then update to a later version of Mac OS X. ------------------------------------------ In short: NEVER DELETE THE PERMISSIONS. Your Mac System uses them. I suggest the developer first learn about basic Mac OS before he attempts to make applications such as this.
Like
Version 0.6
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
29 April 2007
MacDust will never delete anything from the computer that a normal user will not have access to. It will only delete receipts in your local user ~/Library/Reciepts folder. Which most of the time, for lack of a better word, is filled with crap. I do agree, /Library/Recipets should not be emptied.
Like
Version 0.7
Titanium1
26 April 2007
Hi, Empty caches, ok. Empty Logs, ok. ...but empty Receipts file is not a good idea. After deleting them, you cannot repair permissions! Please, don't delete the Apple's Receipts files!!
Like
Version 0.6